Skip to main content

Full text of "History of Johnson County, Missouri"

See other formats


QEa) 



m, 



3 1833 02579 9161 

Gc 977.801 J63CD 

Cockreil, Ewing 

History o-f Johnson County, 

Missouri 



HISTORY 



OF 



Johnson County 

MISSOURI 



BY 

EWING COCKRELL 



ILLUSTRATED 



HISTORICAL PUBLISHING COMPANY, 

TOPEKA CLEVELAND 

I918 



THIS VOLUME IS DEDICATED TO THE MEM- 
ORY OF SENATOR FRANCIS M. COCKRELL. 
THE AUTHOR. 



PREFACE. 133312S 



Men come and go. They perform tlieir allotted work upon this earth 
and then depart. Others follow to take up the work left unfinished by those 
who have preceded them. It was ordained by an omnipotent and omniscient 
Providence that it should be the task of His creatures here below to go 
forth into, subdue, and people the waste places of the earth, the forests, and 
the plains ; to change the wide spaces of land into fertile areas so as to pro- 
vide sustenance for mankind. The vanguard were the pioneers, men and 
women accustomed to simple methods of living, inured to hardships, bred 
to a life which required that they wrest a livelihood from the soil, and im- 
bued with the spirit of generations of pioneers. They accomplished their 
self-imposed task and subdued the prairie lands of what is now known as 
Johnson county. They paved the pathway for others who followed to re- 
sume the task of making a happy and prosperous community. Their work 
was well and faithfully done and this volume of Johnson county history 
might fittingly be dedicated to the memory of those brave men and women. 

Lest we forget, lest the children of today and of the tomorrows know 
not the deeds of tfieir progenitors, this history has been written and pul)- 
lished — afifording an authentic and readable record for all time to come, 
the story of the settlement and upbuilding of Johnson county. 

History has been and is now being made. The great task of founding 
and creating an important section of the great commonwealth of Missouri 
has been accomplished. The future will bring forth still greater develop- 
ment. That this is possible is due to the bravery and hardihood of that 
nolsle race who have preceded the present citizenry and who lie sleeping 
peacefully beneath the sod they lo\-ed so well. 

The following pages present a true and accurate history of Johnson 
county, based upon personal narratives, research, compilation, and official 
records. Inasmuch as history in the aggregate is a record of the composite 
achievements of all the people in a community during a course of many 
years, it is necessary to present much personal history in a work of this 
kind. 

True history is based upon personal achievement. True history, then, 
in its wider sense is but biography. .The biographical department of this 
(2) 



history of Johnson county, therefore, is important, as presenting a record 
of the leading families of Johnson county and recording the personal 
achievements of the men and women who have made Johnson county what 
it is today. In the publishing of this important department which is destined 
for the enlightenment of the present and future generations as to the best 
information available concerning their forebears, the publishers desire to 
state that no effort has been spared to insure accuracy without exaggeration, 
to produce a department which is readable and interesting from the stand- 
points of both the student and the reader. 

Thanks and appreciation are due the people of Johnson county for the 
excellent patronage afforded this worthy project. This book is truly and 
sincerely a Johnson county project, made for and by the people of this 
countv. 

THE PUBLISHERS. 

Warrensburg, Missouri, May i, 1918. 



ILLUSTRATIONS. 



Adams, John 584 

Adams, Susan E. (Marshall) 584 

Anderson, Dr. James I 464 

Behm, Mr. and Mrs. Frank 640 

Bell, Mr. and Mrs. D. L 752 

Boyles, Charles A. 856 

Bush. Andrew Jackson 592 

Bush, Mary (Fuller) 592 

Caldwell, William E., and Family.., 792 

Cockrell, Ewing Frontispiece 

Cockrell, Senator Francis M. 317 

Court House. Johnson County 65 

Crissey. William E. 448 

Davis, W. O. 616 

Dawson, J. T. 744 

Dawson, Luther W. 744 

Des Combes, Mr. and Mrs. Thomas 

L., and Family 496 

Doak. Mr. and Mrs. John A. 488 

Draper, M. C. 728 

Draper, Mrs. M. C. 728 

Fewel, Henry E. 512 

Fickas, John L., and Wife 800 

Fitch, Albert Crawford, and Family. 696 

Fulkerson, Dr. James Monroe 268 

Fulkerson, Mrs. James Monroe 268 

Gillilan, Mr. and Mrs. John M 504 

Hall, J. E. 688 

Halsey, Thomas Jefferson 528 

Hanthorn, Isaac W. 624 

Hering. James H. 560 

Home, Johnson County 153 

House, First Built in Johnson 

County 266 

Houx, George W. 552 

Houx, Reverend J. H. 472 

Howerton, Dr. R. H. 600 



Hunter, Samuel F. 648 

Hutchinson. James E. 608 

Hutchinson, Mary 608 

Kauftman, Isaac 632 

Kimzey, Judge T. L., and Wife 656 

Littlelield, E. C. 664 

McDougal. W. Clark 1136 

Mayes, Wm. J. 441 

Morton, H. C. 736 

Morton, Mrs. H. C. 736 

Uzias. Elmer J. 536 

Patterson, Minerva (Poindexter)... 568 

Patterson, Thomas Alexander, Sr... 568 

Pemberton, H. L. 544 

Pcmberton, L. W. 544 

Residence of Mr. and Mrs. Frank 

Behm 640 

Rigg. Mrs. T. E. 760 

Rigg, T. E. 760 

Robbins, Mr. and Mrs. Thomas S... 720 

Sanders. S. Y. 776 

Senior. John Granderson 576 

Senior, Mrs. John Granderson 576 

Sprague, William Truman 784 

Stillwell, Orl 816 

Summers, Judge B. F. 824 

Sutherland. Mr. and Mrs. D. L 520 

Theiss. Peter, Residence of 832 

Tompkins. Stephen E., and Family.. 768 
Tracy. E. F. 456 

Williams, Thomas Eugene, and Fam- 
ily 672 

Young, Elijah W., and Family 704 

Youngs, Mr. and Mrs. George 712 



CONTENTS 



CHAPTER I— GEOLOGY. 

FORMATION— GEOLOGICAL DIVISIONS— DRILLINGS IN JOHNSON COUNTY— SHAFT 
AT SUTHERLAND, JOHNSON COUNTY— PLEASANTON FORMATION IN JOHNSON. 
CASS AND JACKSON COUNTIES— THE WARRENSBURG SANDSTONE— GEOLOGY 
AND SOIL — AUTHORITIES PAGES 65-72 

CHAPTER H.— INDIANS. 

THE COUNTRY OF THE OSAGES— EARLY RELATIONS BETWEEN THE WHITE SET- 
TLERS AND THE INDIANS— TREATY OF NOVEMBER. 1S08— PURCHASE PRICE 
OF JOHNSON COUNTY— CHARACTER OF OSAGES— THE INDIANS' YEARLY 
CIRCLE PAGES 73-76 

CHAPTER III.— TRAILS AND ROADS. 

ORIGIN OF TR.A.ILS AND ROADS— INDIAN TRAILS— THE OLD INDIAN TRAIL — EARLY . 
ROADS— FIRST PUBLIC ROADS— STAGE COACHES— ROAD DEVELOPMENT- 
ROADS TODAY"— ROAD CONDITIONS IN GENERAL — ROAD IMPROVEMENTS- 
COUNTY GRADES— INTER-COUNTYSEAT HIGHWAY'S— CONCRETE CULVERTS- 
STEEL BRIDGES- INTEREST IN ROAD WORK PAGES 77-84 

CHAPTER IV.— EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 

PRIMITIVE MODES OF TRAVEI^SANTA FE TRAI I.— EXTRACT FROM "PIONEER 
FAMILIES OF MISSOURI"— FIRST SETTLEMENTS IN JOHNSON COUNTY- 
PLEASANT RICE— NICHOLAS HOUX— JOHN H. INGRAM— JONATHAN AND 
BALDWIN FINE — WILLIAM CHEEK — WILLIAM NORRIS — JUDGE HARVEY 
HARRISON— STEPHEN BLEVINS— LIST OF HEADS OF FAMILIES IN MARCH. 
1831— REMINISCENCES— CHILHOWEE OLD SETTLERS' REUNION—PAGES 85-91 

CHAPTER v.— ORGANIZATION AND OFFICERS. 

TERRITORY — STATE — COUNTY" — TOWNSHIPS — COUNTY COURT BUSINESS — COUNTY' 
SEAT— CIRCUIT CLERKS— CIRCUIT JUDGES— COMMON PLEAS JUDGES— CRIM- 
INAL JUDGES — COUNTY- COURT JUDGES— SUPERVISORS AND JUSTICES— 
JUDGES— COLLECTORS— COUNTY' CLERKS— CORONERS — PROSECUTING AT- 
TORNEYS — PUBLIC ADMINISTRATORS — PROBATE JUDGES — RECORDERS — 
REPRESENTATIVES — SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS — SHERIFFS — STATE SENA- 
TORS FROM JOHNSON COUNTY — SURVEYORS — TREASURERS — COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS' SALARIES OR FEES ,-PAGES 112-101 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER VI.— RAILROADS. 

RELATION OF RAILROADS TO DEVELOPMENT OF WEST— CONSERVATISM OF A 
CENTURY AGO— RAILROAD CONVENTION AT ST. LOUIS IN 18.36— ADOPTION 
OF RESOLUTIONS AFFECTING JOHNSON COUNTY— FIRST LOCOMOTIVE ON 
PACIFIC RAILROAD— FIRST RAILROADS IN MISSOURI— LEGISLATION AFFECT- 
ING JOHNSON COUNTY IN 1S52— EXTENSION OF PACIFIC RAILROAD IN 1865— 
OPPOSITION— INFLUENCE OF COLONEL B. W. GROVER, MAJOR N. B. HOLDEN. 
AND W. H. ANDERSON— BONDS— "THE QUARRY SWITCH"— ST. LOUIS & S.ANTA 
FE— ST. LOUIS & SAN FRANCISCO— MISSOURI, KANSAS & TEXAS— CHICAGO. 
ROCK ISLAND & PACIFIC— "WILD-CATTING"— PROPOSED ROAD FROM WAR- 
RENSBURG TO MARSHALL PAGES 102-105 

CHAPTER VII.— MILITARY. 

THE MORMON WAR— THE CIVIL WAR— TWO PHASES OF THE MILITARY HISTORY 
OF JOHNSON COUNTY: (1) JOHNSON COUNTY ORGANIZATIONS WITH THE 
MAIN UNION AND CONFEDERATE ARMIES— THE FIRST COMPANIES — CON- 
FEDERATE ORGANIZATIONS— UNION ORGANIZATIONS— (2) THE WAR IN 
JOHNSON COUNTY— BLACKENED POST MARKS FOUR SOLDIERS' GRAVES — 
SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR PAGES 106-118 



CHAPTER VIII.— REIGN OF TERROR. 

JOHNSON COUNTY THE SCENE OF LAWLESSNESS AND ORGANIZED CRIME— GEN- 
ERAL FRANK P. BLAIR— MEETING ON JUNE 1, 1866— "OLD BILL STEVENS"— 
MURDER OF DAVID SWEITZER— CALL MEETING AT COUNTY COURT HOUSE 
—ADDRESSES BY PROFESSOR BIGGER AND REVEREND J. W. NEWCOMB— 
COMMITTEE APPOINTED— ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS— THE VIGILANTES 
AT WORK— "DICK" SANDERS— "BILL" STEVENS— "JEFF" COLLINS— THOMAS 
STEVENS— I'MORG" ANDREWS— HALL— THOMAS W. LITTLE— JAMES M. SIMS 
—THE COMMITTEE'S WORK ENDED PAGES 110-127 

CHAPTER IX.— PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

PROGRESSIVE SPIRIT OF JOHNSON COUNTY— EARLY SCH0OL.S— E.VRLY STUDIES 
AND METHODS OF TEACHING— PRESENT STUDIES AND METHODS— RESULTS 
OF EARLY AND PRESENT EDUCATION — SPECIAL HIGH SCHOOLS — RURAL 
HIGH SCHOOLS— THE ELM HIGH SCHOOI^-FARMERS' (FAYETTEVILLE) 
HIGH SCHOOI^THE FIRST SCHOOL BOARD OF FAYETTEVILLE— THE JOHN- 
SON COUNTY PUBLIC SCHOOLS OP TODAY PAGES 12S-141 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER X.— STATE NORMAL SCHOOL. 
District No. 2. 

EFFORTS TO ESTABLISH XORMAL SCHOOLS IN MISSOURI— ORIGIN OF THE WAR- 
RENSBURG STATE NORMAL SCHOOL— HOW THE NORMAL SCHOOL OPENED — 
THE NORMAL SCHOOL SINCE THE FIRE— OUTLINE OF COURSE IN DIDACTICS 
BY PRESIDENT BEARD: CULTURE, INSTRUCTION, MANAGEMENT— TRAINING 
SCHOOL— SUMMER SCHOOL — ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT — TECHNICAL DE- 
PARTMENT PAGES 142-150 

CHAPTER XI.— COUNTY FINANCES. 

CONSERVATIVE MANAGEMENT— UNSETTLED CONDITIONS DUE TO CIVIL WAR- 
SMALL EXPENDITURES AND REVENUE IN EARLY DAYS— DEBTS DUE JOHN- 
SON COUNTY— INTERNAL IMPROVEMENT FUND — BONDS— COURT HOUSE- 
COUNTY HOME— COUNTY REVENUE— DISBURSEMENTS — SPECIAL ACCOUNTS 
—VALUATIONS AND TAX RATES PAGES 151-155 

CHAPTER XII.— WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 

r.OCATION, ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GEOGRAPHY AND SOILS — THE KNOBS — 
EARLY" SETTLEMENTS— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY SCHOOLS— JUSTICES- 
COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS- 
COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATIONS— KNOB NOSTER 

PAGES 156-163 

CHAPTER XIIL— JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION, ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GEOGRAPHY AND SOIL— EARLY SETTLE- 
MENTS—EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— EARLY 
TEACHERS— EARLY STORES AND POSTOFFICES— JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS—POPULATION, PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS — ORGANIZA- 
TIONS PAGES 164-169 

CHAPTER XIV.— MADISON TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION. ORGANIZATION, NAMING— GBOGRAPHY—SOILS—EARLY SETTLE- 
MENTS—EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY' SCHOOLS— JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS—POPULATION—PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD 
IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATIONS PAGES 170-176 

CHAPTER XV.— HOLDEN. 

LOCATION AND NAMING— FIRST BUILDINGS— ORGANIZATION— FIRST SCHOOLS- 
FIRST POSTOFFICE — EARLY CEMETERY — EARLY CHURCHES — BANKS — 
HOLDEN TODAY— MAYORS— COUNCILMEN — ATTORNEYS — CLERKS — MAR- 
SHALS—TREASURERS—STREET COMMISSIONERS— POLICE JUDGES— ASSESS- 
ORS— COLLECTORS PAGES 177-1S4 



CHAPTER XVI.— JACKSON TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION. LOCATION. ORGANIZATION—NAMING — GEOGRAPHY — SOIL — EARLY 
SETTLEMENTS— EARLY CHLIRCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS 
—EARLY TEACHERS— FIRST POSTOPFICE— OFFICIAL RECORDS AND STA- 
TISTICS, JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS- PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PROD- 
UCTS—ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— POPULATION— ORGANIZATIONS— PITTS- 
VILLE PAGES 185-191 

CHAPTER XVII.— WARRENSBURG TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION, NAMING— GEOGRAPHY— SOII^EARLY SETTLEMENTS— EARLY 
CHURCHES— EARLY SCHOOLS— PERTLE SPRINGS— WARRENSBURG QUAR- 
RIES— .lUSTICES— COUNTY" OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY 

AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY' ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATIONS 

PAGES 192-200 



CHAPTER XVIII.— WARRENSBURG. 

"OLD WARRENSBURG" (By Mel. P. Moody)— DESCRIPTION. NAMING — EARLY ESTAB- 
LISHMENTS—MARTIN WARREN'S LOG HOUSE— FIRES OF DECEMBER 24, 
1866, AND NOVEMBER 29, 1873— EARLY HOTELS— EARLY SCHOOLS— AFTER 
THE CIVIL WAR— CHURCHES— CEMETERIES— SCHOOLS AFTER THE CIVIL 
WAR— MILLS— ODD MISCELLANEOUS INDUSTRIES— POSTOFFICE— INCORPOR- 
ATION — MAYORS — COUNCILMEN — ASSESSORS — ATTORNEYS — CLERKS 
—COLLECTORS— ENGINEERS— MARSHALS— ASSISTANT MARSHALS — POLICE 
JUDGES— SEXTONS— STREET COMMISSIONERS— TREASURERS — EARLY MEN 
AND THINGS OF WARRENSBURG IN EXISTENCE TODAY: BUILDINGS, MEN, 
WOMEN — POPULATION — WARRENSBURG, 1910: (Sex, Color, and Nativity), 
DWELLINGS AND FAMILIES. ILLITERACY, SCHOOL AGE AND ATTENDANCE, 

—MALES OF VOTING AGE— THE WARRENSBURG COMMERCIAL CLUB 

P.\GES 201-22.3 



CHAPTER XIX.— POST OAK TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION, LOCATION, NAMING— GEOGR.VPHY— SOIL— EARLY SETTLEMENTS 
—MILLS— E.\RLY CHURCHES— EARLY' CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— EARLY' 
POSTOFFICES— JUSTICES — COUNTY OFFICERS — POPULATION — PERSO.NAL 
PROPERTY AND PRODUCT.S— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORG.VNIZA- 
TIONS— LEETON PAGES 224-2:51 

CHAPTER XX.— HAZEL HILL TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION, ORGANIZATION, NAMING— GEOGRAPHY A.\D SOILS— EARLY SET- 
TLEMENTS—EARLY CHURCHI?S— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— 
TEACHERS— EARLY POSTOFFICE— JUSTICES OF THE PEACE— COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS-PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COLTNTY' ROAD IMPROVE- 
MENTS— POPULATION— ORG ANIZ.VTIONS P.\GES 232-238 



COXTENTS. 

CHAPTER XXI.— CHILHOWEE TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATION. ORGANIZATION. NAMING — GEOGRArHY — SOILS — INDIAN MOUNDS- 
EARLY SETTLEMENTS — EARLY PHYSICIANS — EARLY CHURCHES — CEME- 
TERIES—EARLY SCHOOLS— OFFICIAL RECORDS, STATISTICS— JUSTICES- 
COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY. EARLY' PRODUCTS 
—ROAD IMPROVEMENTS — ORGANIZATIONS — CHILHOWEE VILLAGE — CHIL- 
HOWEE TOWN— MAGNOLIA— DENTON PAGES 239-247 



CHAPTER XXII.— GROVER TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATION. ORGANIZATION. DESCRIPTION— ESTABLISHMENT OF PRESENT BOUND- 
ARIES—NAMING—GEOGRAPHY—SOILS—EARLY SETTLEMENTS — EARLY 
PHYSICIANS— POSTOFFICE AND POSTMASTERS— EARLY' CHURCHES— EARLY' 
CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— TEACHERS— OFFICIAL RECORDS — STATIS- 
TICS, JUSTICES— PERSONAL PROPERTY'. PRODUCTS— ROAD IMPROVEMENTS 
—POPULATION— ORGANIZATIONS PAGES 248-255 



CHAPTER XXIIL— ROSE HILL TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATION, ORGANIZATION. NAMING— GEOGRAPHY— SOILS— EARLY SETTLEMENTS 
—FIRST MILLS— FIRST ENTERPRISES— FIRST SETTLEMENT— FIRST POST- 
OFFICE — EARLY TOWNS — EARLY' CHURCHES — EARLY CEMETERIES- 
EARLY SCHOOLS— JUSTICES— COL'NTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL 
PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZA- 
TIONS PAGES 25C-2B4 



CHAPTER XXIV.— COLUMBUS TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION. ORGANIZATION — CJEOGRAI'UV AXIi SOILS — FIRST SETTLERS — FIRST 
MILL— EARLY PHYSICI ANS — FIRST COURT — FIRST POSTOFFICE — FIRST 
STORE— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— JUS- 
TICES— COUNTY OFFICERS- PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY 
ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— POPULATION— ORGANIZATIONS PAGES 265-273 



CHAPTER XXV.— KINGSVILLE TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION. NAMING— GEOGRAPHY AND SOIL— EARLY SETTLEMENTS— FIRST 
POSTOFFICE— EARLY CHURCHES— E.4RLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS- 
EARLY TEACHERS— JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS— POPU'LATION— PERSONAL 
PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZA- 
TIONS— KINGSVILLE PAGES 274-279 



CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER XXVI.— CENTERVIEW TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION AND NAMING— GEOGRAPHY, SOILS— EARLY SETTLERS— EARLY 
I SCHOOLS— EARLY CHURCHES— OFFICIAL RECORDS, STATISTICS— JUSTICES- 
COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY— ROAD IMPROVE- 
MENTS— ORGANIZATIONS— CENTERVIEW TOWN PAGES 280-286 

CHAPTER XXVII.— SIMPSON TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GEOGRAPHY— SOIL — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — EARLY 
PHYSICIANS- EARLY POSTOFFICES— EARLY SCHOOLS— EARLY CEMETERIES 
— EARLY CHURCHES— JUSTICES — COUNTY OFFICERS — POPULATION — PER- 
SONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— OR- 
GANIZATIONS , PAGES 287-294 

CHAPTER XXVIIL— MONTSERRAT TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION— GEOGRAPHY— SOIL— EARLY SETTLEMENTS— EARLY CHURCHES 
• —EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY MILL: GALLAHER'S MILL — EARLY SCHOOLS 
—JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY AND 
PRODUCTS — COUNTY" ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATION— MONTSER- 
RAT PAGES 295-300 

CHAPTER XXIX.— POLITICAL. 

POLITICAL TEMPERATURE OF JOHNSON COUNTY— BEFORE THE CIVIL WAR- 
CIVIL WAR— AFTER THE CIVIL WAR— SPECIAL SERVICE— DEVELOP- 
MENT PAGES 301-303 

CHAPTER XXX.— MEDICINE. 

WORK OF PHYSICIANS IN DEVELOPMENT OF JOHNSON COUNTY— CHANGES IN 
MEDICAL AND SURGICAL PRACTICES SINCE 1834— NEW METHODS OF COM- 
BATING DISEASES— EARLY PHYSICIANS— THE JOHNSON COUNTY MEDICAL 
ASSOCIATION- HOSPITALS— <1STEOPATHY PAGES 304-312 

CHAPTER XXXI.— BENCH AND BAR. 

FIRST SESSION OF CIRCUIT COURT— FIRST RECORDS— FIRST CASE— FIRST AR- 
REST—FIRST SESSIONS AT WARRENSBURG— JOHN F. RYLAND — RUSSELL 
HICKS— FIRST LAWYERS— FEW RESIDENT LAWYERS IN EARLY DAYS- 
LEGAL BUSINESS BEFORE CIVIL WAR— SAVING RECORDS DURING- WAR- 
LEGAL BUSINESS AFTER THE CIVIL WAR— PERSONNEL OF LOC.\L BAR IN 
ANTE-BELLUM PERIOD— GENERATIONS OF ATTORNEYS— PRACTICING ATTOR- 
NEYS OF JOHNSON COUNTY— COURT STENOGRAPHERS— LITIGATION SINCE 
ISilR- "THE OLD COURT HOUSE" (By Mel. P. Moody)— THE TRUE STORY OF 
"OLD DRUM" PAGES 313-327 



CHAPTER XXXIL— BANKS AND BANKING. 

IN EARLY DAYS— EARLY WARRENSBURG BANKS— EARLY KNOB NOSTBR BANKS 
—EARLY HOLDEN BANKS— B.\NKS TODAY— BANK OF HOLDEN— BANK OF 
KNOB NOSTER— FARMERS & COMMERCIAL BANK— CITIZENS BANK— BANK 
OF KINGSVILLE— BANK OP CENTERVIEW— PEOPLES NATIONAL BANK— BANK 
OF LATOUR— BANK OF LEETON— COMMERCI.\L BANK— CHILHOWEE BANK- 
BANK OF MAGNOLIA— FARMERS BANK OF CHILHOWEE— AMERICAN TRUST 
COMPANY— PEOPLES STATE BANK— FARilERS BANK OF LEETON — FIRST 
NATIONAL BANK— SUMMARY PAGES 328-331) 

CHAPTER XXXni.— JOHNSON COUNTY NEWSPAPERS. 

(By .Mel. P. Moody.) 

FIRST ATTEMPTS AT JOURNALISM IX JOH.NSON COUNTY— "STANDARD-HERALD", 
1865— "STAR JOURNAL", 1S65— "HOLDEN ENTERPRISE", 1867— "KNOB NOSTER 
GEM". 1878- "CHILHOWEE BLADE", 1894— "LEETON TIMES", 1897- "HOLDEN 
PROGRESS", 1903— "NORMAL STUDENT", 1911 — "JOHNSON COUNTY DEMO- 
CRAT", 1913— JOHNSON COUNTY NEWSPAPER FILES— OLD PAPERS 

PAGES 337-342 

CHAPTER XXXIV.— AGRICULTURE. 

CLIMATE— WEATHER— METHODS OF SOIL CULTIVATION DETERMINED BY EARLY 
CONDITIONS— ADAPTATION TO NEW CONDITIONS— RELATION OF STOCK 
RAISING TO GRAIN PRODUCTION — CORN — WHEAT— OATS— RYE— HAY— AL- 
FALFA— SWEET CLOVER— SORGHUM— TOBACCO— FRUIT— NUTS — IRISH PO- 
TATOES, STRAWBERRIES, ONIONS. TOMATOES— LIVE STOCK— CREAMERIES 
—HORSES AND JIULES— HOGS— SHEEP— POULTRY— PREVAILING SYSTEM OF 
LAND TENURE— DAMS AND TILE DRAINS— AVERAGE SIZE AND VALUE OF 
FARMS— FARJI LABOR — GENERAL PROSPERITY— CO-OPERATION— DATA ON 

AGRICULTURAL CO.NDITIONS IN 1010— EXPORTS— HORTICULTURE 

PAGES 343-357 

CHAPTER XXXV.— LIVE STOCK. 

DEVELOPMENT OF LIVE STOCK INTERESTS— REGISTERED LIVE STOCK BREED- 
ERS' ASSOCIATION— NUMBER OF BREEDERS AND POULTRYMEN— MEMBER- 
SHIP AND OFFICERS OF ASSOCIATION — SHORTHORNS— HEREFORDS— PO- 
LAND CHINAS— BREEDING IN JOHNSON COUNTY— MULES— JACKS 

PAGES 35S-364 



CHAPTER XXXVI.— SOILS. 

(iENERAL- GEOGRAPHY — CLASSIFICATION OF SOILS — AREAS OF DIFFERENT 
SOILS— SUMMIT SILT LOAM— SUMMIT SILTY CLAY LOAM— PETTIS SERIES— 
PETTIS SILT LOAM— CRAWFORD SERIES— CRAWFORD SILT LOAM— CRAW- 
FORD STONY LOAM— BOONE SERIES — BOONE SILT LOAM — BOONE FINE 
SANDY LOAM— BOONE GRAVELLY LOAM— BATES SERIES— BATES SILT LOAM 
—OSWEGO SILT LOAM— CHEROKEE SILT LOAM— OSAGE SERIES— OSAGE SILT 
LOAM— OSAGE SILTY CLAY LOAM— OSAGE CLAY— CHARITON SILT LOAM— 
ROBERTSVILLE SILT LOAM . PAGES 365-375 

CHAPTER XXXVII.— CHURCHES. 

CHRISTIAN— BAPTIST— METHODIST EPISCOPAl^BRETHREN— THE REORGANIZED 
CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER DAY' SAINTS— CUMBERLAND PRES- 
BYTERIAN—PRESBYTERIAN—METHODIST EPISCOPAL, SOUTH— CATHOLIC— 
lIIsrEI>LAXEOUS— GERMAN LI'THER AN— NEGRO PAGES 37fi-414 

CHAPTER XXXVIII— LODGES AND OTHER ORGANIZATIONS. 

MASONS— ORDER OP EASTERN STAR— KNIGHTS OF PY'THIAS— MODERN WOOD- 
MEN OF AMERICA— THE ROYAL NEIGHBORS— ODD FELLOWS— REBEKAHS— 
THE BENEVOLENT AND PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS— OTHER FRATERNAL 
ORGANIZATIONS— WOMEN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION— CIVIL WAR 
ORGANIZATIONS PAGES 4 15-4 2(1 

CHAPTER XXXIX.— MISCELLANEOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 

THE HOME MAKERS' CLUBS— FARMERS' ORGANIZATIONS— JOHNSON COUNTY 
FARM BUREAU— COMMUNITY WORK CLLTBS PAGES 427-432 

CHAPTER XL.— THE WORLD WAR. 

EFFECTIVE WORK DONE IN JOHNSON COUNTY— REGISTRATION BOARD— COUNTY 
COUNCIL OF DEFENSE— THIRD LIBERTY LOAN ORGANIZATION— SPEAKERS' 
ORGANIZATIONS— THE HOME GUARDS— AMERICAN RED CROSS— JUNIOR RED 
CROSS— WORK OF THE RED CROSS IN JOHNSON COUNTY PAGES 433-440 



CHAPTER XLL— BIOGRAPHICAL. 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Abcr, M. D. 451 

Adams, George 1074 

Adams, John 584 

Adams John A. 970 

Adams, J. W. 636 

Alexander, Patrick H. 848 

Allen, Dr. Forrest C 914 

Ames, Frank N. . 840 

Anderson, Dr. James I. 464 

Anderson, Dr. John T. 997 

Andruss, Dr. Edward 625 

Atkins, Judge Charles C. 756 

Atkins, R. T. 940 

Ayler, John P. 962 

Ayler, William H. 962 

Ayres, Jacob 1000 

Baile, Cliff A. 884 

Baird, John B. 556 

Baird, Mrs. Hannah (Broyles) 555 

Baker, Charles A. 990 

Baker, Charles A. 1030 

Baker, John F. 1013 

Baldwin, T. S. 725 

Ball. Frank D. 604 

Bank of Holden 1015 

Barnett, Lee 1023 

Beall. Charles H. 810 

Beard, Noah 706 

Behm, Frank 640 

Bell, D. L. 752 

Belt, S. F. 1003 

Bills, Dr. R. L. 774 

Blacksten,Eli 822 

Blevins, Ezekiel 1066 

Boisseau, Oscar Gilliland 1017 

Boosinger, Samuel Dudley 1002 

Bozarth, G. B. 650 

Bradbury, T. J. 1113 

Bradley, Dr. T. L. 461 

Bradley, James H. 981 

Bradley. R. D. 960 

Bradley, R. J. 960 



Bridges, Charles R. 599 

Boone, Robert F. 892 

Bowman, John W. 588 

Boyd, George M. 596 

Boyles, Charles A. 856 

Brown, R. L. 910 

Browning, W. T. 955 

Burford, Humphrey M. 987 

Buente, H. B. 1121 

Bunn, Mrs. Mary J. (Mints) 1027 

Bunn, Thomas J. 1028 

Burkarth, G. F. 573 

Burns, W. F. 1124 

Burris, Charles T. 1142 

Burris, Lewis L. 845 

Burriss, Warrick P. 825 

Bush. Oren J. 592 

Byram. T. C. 751 

Caldwell, Joseph W. 710 

Caldwell, William E. 792 

Campbell, James J. 924 

Carpenter, J. L. 73S 

Carter, L. H. 1063 

Chapman. Xelson 743 

Cheatham, Thomas E. 1050 

Christian, Col. S. M. 1061 

Clark, Harry T. 535 

Clark. H. F. 509 

Clark, W. S. 539 

Coats. Riley 837 

Cockefair, William R. 581 

Coleman, J. E. 1103 

Collins, C. R. 1122 

Collins, P. B. 818 

Colster, John 1111 

Cooper, A. D. 701 

Cooper, George 879 

Cooper, J. L. 685 

Cooper, R. C. 1085 

Corum, D. D. 578 

Corum. Mrs. Delia B. (Smith) 580 

Craig, A. M. 646 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Crissey, William E. 448 

Crossley, Wallace 1137 

Crutcher, James, Jr. 598 

Culp, Jesse J. 517 

Gulp. Peter Howell 906 

Curnutt, C. A. 923 

Dalhouse, Samuel M. 814 

Dalton, J. F. 844 

Davis, Holt 801 

Davis, J. J. 1021 

Davis, M. H. 963 

Davis, W. O. 616 

Dawson, Luther W. 744 

Dennis, W. S. 1087 

Des Combes, John L. 901 

Des Combes, Lonna L. 895 

Des Combes, Thomas L. 496 

Dixon, Charles W. 1037 

Dixon, Mrs. Ella (Duffield) 1038 

Doak, John A. 488 

Dofflemycr, John T. 969 

Douglass, Granville A. 873 

Douglass, Pulaski N. 122 

Draper, Mrs. M. C. 728 

Drinkwater, William Henry 1072 

Drummond, James Theodore 478 

Dudley, Thomas D. 980 

Duffey, James 1094 

Dutcher, Charles Henry 828 

Dyer, Alex J. 911 

Early, W. S. ___: 741 

Eldredge, E. A. 1004 

Elliott, Hubert 747 

Elliott, J. B. 546 

Elliott, John Frizzell 571 

Eppright, Charles S. 121 

Eppright, G. W. 1096 

Eppright, Mrs. Mary Jane (Stone). 740 

Farnsworth, C. L. 762 

Farnsworth, R. A. 945 

Farnsworth, W. R. 764 

Fewel, Henry E. 512 

Fickas, Adam 808 

Fickas, John L. 800 

Fitch, Albert Crawford 696 

Fulkerson, Honorable Reuben B.__- 806 
Fulkerson, Nicholas Houx 789 



Garrett, W. A. 691 

Garrison, H. R 839 

Garvey, John M. 9tl4 

Gibson, S. P. 622 

Gibson, W. T. 684 

Gillilan, C. L. 454 

GiUilan, J. G. 1139 

Gillilan, John M. .504 

Gilbert, G. Allen 894 

Gilkeson, John M. 916 

Golladay, M. L. 610 

Goodnight, Charles G. 450 

Goodwin, W. F. 689 

Gore, L. C, Jr. 927 

Graham, George B. 772 

Graham, John S. 865 

Graves, Thomas 974 

Gray, Charles A. 1030 

Greenlee, Mary C. (Divers) 514 

Greenwell, C. G. 1045 

Greenwell, Mrs. Nancy (Williams )-_1047 

Greenwell, Robert W. 1048 

Greenwood. J. W. 634 

Gregg, L. L. 1134 

Greim, Barbara (Brunner) 534 

Greim, James B. 533 

Greim, John K. 882 

Greim, Walter R. 458 

Grinstead, J. Ransom 462 

Hall. Dr. O. B. 669 

Hall, J. E. 688 

Haller. James A. 1100 

Halley, W. P. 958 

Halsey, Thomas Jefferson 528 

Hamisfar. Dr. M. D. 670 

Hamisfar, James M. 585 

Hammond, Wyatt H. 630 

Hanthorn, Isaac W. 624 

Harmon, Bradford 606 

Harris, A. B. 718 

Harris, C. H., Jr. 948 

Harris, J. C. 949 

Harrison, C. H 893 

Harrison, Charles Andrew 851 

Harrison, J. Wesley 468 

Hartnell, William G. 1019 

Harwood, Walter S. 993 

Hatfield, Robert E. L. 875 

Heberling, Jacob 486 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Hedges, W. L., M. D 491 

Heizer, David E. SIO 

Helderbrand, G. W. 1091 

Henderson, Thomas 842 

Hering, James H. 560 

Herndon, W. T. 1084 

Henerman, J. \V. 1126 

Hickman, Mrs. Mollie M. (Tyler)__ 889 

Hilke. Otto 999 

Hobbs, Millard 798 

Hodges, Reverend J. S. 769 

Hoefner, Dr. J. H. B. 674 

Holden Milling & Elevator Co.. The 575 

Holloway, Reverend J. T. 1108 

Houts, Mrs. Fanita (Baldwin) 899 

Houx, Charles 480 

Houx, George W. 552 

Houx, Mrs. J. H. 472 

Howard, Robert L. 453 

Howerton, J. B. H. 600 

Hull, Calvin T. 668 

Hull. Mrs. Margaret (Clifton) 1105 

Hull. R. C. 1104 

Hunt. William P. 730 

Hunter, Mrs. Belle A. (Post) 648 

Hunter, Z. B. 791 

Hume, J. T. 707 

Hussey, R. D. 1097 

Hutchinson, James E, 608 

Hyer, William L. 1129 

Irwin. Mrs. Maude (Maxwell) 498 

Jacoby, Isaiah 9U7 

Jacoby, Levi 929 

James, Elbert S. 991 

Jennings, Edwin 1058 

Johnson, Christopher 891 

Johnson. William E., M. D 487 

Jones, Will R. 925 

Jordan. J. W. 888 

Kauffman, Isaac 632 

Kendrick, E. E. 665 

Kern, Stever Y. 734 

Kimzey, Judge T. L. 656 

Kinney, Ivan J. 986 

Kitterman, Z, T. 934 

Knaus, John 931 



Laml), Thomas C. 913 

l-anipkin. James Harvey 594 

I.axenliy. William 5(l7 

Lee, John A. 1015 

Lemley. John 709 

Lewis, E. E. 1008 

Lewis, Simeon Thomas 1006 

Little, Edwin B. 746 

Littlefield, E. C. 664 

Lobban, Carl P 919 

Lobban. Charles 920 

Lobban, G. A. 918 

Lol>ban, James 920 

Loelienstein. Rudolph 835 

Long, James C 645 

Lowe, Charles 551 

Lowry, D. E. 714 

McBride, U. A. 859 

McCann. Dr. J. P. 667 

McCardle, Reverend Frank S. 1123 

McClean. Erskine 589 

McDonald, Mrs. Carrie (Peak) 877 

McDougal, Richard T. 735 

McDougal. W. Clark 1136 

McKay, B. D. 952 

McKeehan, P. H. 1081 

McMahan, W. J. 921 

McMurphy, Levi 984 

McXair. S. F. 1057 

McWethy. F. A. 1005 

Marr. J. W. 724 

Martin. Dr. W. L. 939 

Martin. R. E. 1114 

May. Henry 708 

Mayes, F. L. 444 

Mayes, Wm. J. 441 

Merritt, L. C. 638 

Middleton, George A. 1054 

Miller, Fred F. 503 

Miller. John W. 1079 

Miller, Joseph M. 643 

Miller. Sibert A. 881 

Minor, Edwin P. 653 

Mitchell, B. F. 794 

Mohler, David 466 

Mohler, James M. 992 

Moody. Melville P. 447 

Moore. James M., Jr. 1010 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Morton, H. C. 736 

Moseley, George Franklin, hsq 694 

Murphy, John B. 973 

Murray, Thomas P. 953 

Musser, Adolphus. Jr. 620 

Neil, M. R. 967 

Newton, Jasper F. 1033 

Noland, C. . 965 

Noland, Levi 1071 

Orsborn. J. G. 475 

Ozias, .\rthur W. 783 

Ozias, Elmer J. 536 

Ozias, Jesse K. 781 

Ozias, J. P 886 

Ozias, Mrs. Lavina R. 782 

Pare, Dr. E. Y. 716 

Park. Henry, M. D. 655 

Parker. H. F., M. D. 494 

Parsons, .\rthur 1043 

Parsons, W. B. 1034 

Patterson, Thomas .Alexander. Sr.__ 568 

Pemberton, H. L. 544 

Pendleton, E. N. 1098 

Phillips. J. J. 698 

Pickel, Jacob 862 

Piper. Kim 1077 

Piper, S. P. 1076 

Pollock, -Alpha E. 838 

Pollock, Geo F. 838 

Pollock, William G. 826 

Porter. Birch D. 932 

Porter, Dr. J. E. 660 

Porter, Ernest L. 932 

Raber. J. S. 943 

Raber, S. \V. 755 

Raker, G. V. 771 

Reavis, Mrs. Lorretta (Warren) 666 

Redford, J. E. 1039 

Reichle, Charles .August 1138 

Renick, R. F. 45') 

Reynolds, J. O. - — 524 

Reynolds, William F. 531 

Rice, Pleasant 1053 

Rice, Pleasant, Jr. 1052 

Rice, T. E. K'78 

Rice, Tompkins 1051 

Riddle, James 758 



kigg. T. E. 760 

Rittnian, John 1044 

Rittman, William Edward 1055 

Robbins, Thomas S. 720 

Robbins, W'. L. 1041 

Roberts. Dr. Ira A. 677 

Roberts, F. Allen 1140 

Robey, W. A. 796 

Robinson, Jas. L. 521 

Robinson, Mrs. Mary M. (Hocker)__ 510 

Roop, A. B. 1088 

Roop, Mrs. Nancy J. (Baile) 885 

Rothwell, Joseph H. 661 

Rowland, R. H. 1116 

Rucker, Clinton J. 548 

Runyon, Laura L. 557 

Russell, Harvey 867 

Russell, J. W. 693 

Ryan, Rev. Thomas 1060 

Sammons, S. P. 1069 

Sams, Ben T. 564 

Samuel, J. F. 1029 

Sanders, S. Y. 776 

Saults. Dr. Harlowe A. 659 

Senior, John Granderson 576 

Schofield, Linn J.. M. D. 501 

Scott, Benoia 484 

Scott, W. Emery 985 

Scruggs, C. M. 979 

Shackleford, H. H. 1035 

Shanoyfelt, Dr. Joshua N 870 

Shaneyfclt, Mrs. Bettie (Logan) 1067 

Shannon, S. L. 936 

Sharp, J. C. 1095 

Sheller, John 1102 

Shepherd, James M. 799 

Shei)herd, James P. B. 574 

Shepherd. John W. 681 

Shimel, Alexander 972 

Shockey, W^iUiam 561 

Shy. Dr. David E. 1080 

Sibcrt, Francis L. 682 

Simmerman, Joe 785 

Simpson, James 812 

Smith, G. W. V. 1131 

Snyder. M. R. 950 

Sprayvie, William Truman 784 

Sproat, Truman E. 976 

S(iiMrcs. B. M. 941 

Stacv, Ilenlv 526 



BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 



Starkey, C. E. 612 

Steele, Dougald 538 

Steele. E. K. 1026 

Stevens, John T. 67,^ 

Stewart, John E. 812 

Stillwell, Orl 816 

Stirling, L. D. 982 

Stitt, H. A. 1110 

Stockton, E. B. 1128 

Stockton & Lampkin 59,t 

Strange, J. W. 614 

Stratton, H. B. 1133 

Strickland, G. W. 935 

Summers, Judge B. F. 824 

Surber, David C. 947 

Surber, Mrs. Mary (Stigall) 947 

Sutherland D. L. 520 

Sutherland, E. E. 1082 

Sutherland, J. O. 686 

Sutton, William E. 558 

Swearingen. J. Harvey 989 

Sweeney, William 732 

Swift, D. B. 641 

Tatlow, Richard Henry 1142 

Tempel, K. G. 897 

Terrell, James J. 628 

Tevis, C. C 601 

Theiss, Peter 832 

Thiele, John C. 500 

Thompson, Emery. M. D. 603 

Thompson. Fred X. 938 

Thompson, John A. 951 

Thomson. Mrs. Xancy B. (Warren) 541 

Thomson. W. F. 546 

Thrailkill, John M 864 

Tompkins, W. A. 768 

Townsend, H. S. 505 

Tracy, E. F. 456 

Turnbow, Dr. W. B. 959 



\'ernaz, Adam 474 

\-itt. H. E. 872 

\'itt-Mayes Manufacturing Co 855 

Wall, Adrian M. 767 

Wall. Dr. Robert Z. R. 765 

Wall, R. W. R. 750 

Wallace, C. D. 1093 

Warnick, E. X. 443 

Warnick. Major James N. 847 

Warnick, Oscar D. 854 

Warnick. S. F. 787 

Wash, C. A. 1090 

Wayman, James B. 976 

Wells, John Frank, Sr 779 

Werling, John H 566 

White, Dr. W. L. 1107 

White. L. X. 1106 

Wingtield, Judge J. C. 699 

Wilco.xon, J. D 8,50 

Wilkinson, J. C. 1119 

Williams, Cyrus 802 

Williams, Elmer Eugene 680 

Williams, J. M. 802 

Williams, J. N. 804 

Williams, Thomas Eugene 672 

Wilson, John H. 499 

Wilson, Mrs. W. T. 519 

Wolf, August 995 

Wolfenbarger, W. M. 1117 

Wood, R. H. 481 

Yoder. L. X. 753 

Young. George S. 618 

Young. Mrs. Belle (Carter) 704 

Youngs, George 712 

Youngs, Marcus 442 

Zimmerman, John --Xdam 470 

Zion, W. H. 1064 




.Ktii.xso.x cor.xTV coruT imrsi:. w 



;<;. .MissoiKi. 



History of Johnson County 



CHAPTER I— GEOLOGY. 

FORM.-VTIOX— GEOLOGICAL DIVISIONS— DRILLINGS IN JOHNSON COUNTY— SHAFT 
AT SUTHERLAND, JOHNSON COUNTY— PLEASANTON FORMATION IN JOHNSON, 
CASS AND JACKSON COUNTIES— THE WARRENSBURG SANDSTONE— GEOLOGY 
AND SOII^AUTHORITIES. 

Formation. — Back of the liistorv of the people of Johnson county, 
of the men and women who have Hved on its soil and dug in its earth, 
is the history of that earth and soil itself. What is more, the history of 
that earth has actually determined to a remarkable extent the history of 
these men and women. The crops we raise to feed our bodies, the habita- 
tions we build to shelter them and the fuel we burn to warm them were, 
for us, predetermined thousands and millions of years ago. 

When the earth "was without form and void,"" it was probably a hot 
unorganized mass of material. Under the operation of the force of grav- 
ity, the heavier materials drew together in the center, and the lighter 
ones went to the outside. At the outer edge were the lightest gases 
forming the atmosphere. Next came the heavier gases forming the 
oceans that evidently first covered the globe. Then came the outer 
layer of the solid earth coinposed of rocks two to three times the weight 
of the water. While in the center of the earth are materials, probably 
metalic, proved to be five and a half times the weight of water. 

Gradually this molten mass, with its oceans of boiling water began 
to cool, and as it did so. it formed a crust on the outside. As it kept 
on cooling, it became smaller, and the solid crust in endeavoring to 
accommodate itself to the diminishing interior would wrinkle. The ridges 
of these wrinkles became the dry land and the hollows the oceans. 
Some of the wrinkles would break or become too thin and the pent up 
hot materials underneath the crust would break through in volcanoes. 

As the earth continued to cool, new w-rinkles would be formed and 

(3) 



66 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

sometimes a former ridge or uplift would become a hollow under the sea 
and the sea bottom would be raised to thousands of feet above the water, 
and smaller wrinkles would come in the ridges and hollows themselves. 
Thus we have two great ridges, the eastern and western hemispheres, 
and two great hollows the oceans between. The western hemisphere 
is itself wrinkled into the ridges of its mountains, and the hollows of 
the plains between. 

Johnson county is on one of the earliest formed ridges in the United 
States. This is the Ozark ridge or uplift, which is said to be far older 
than the Rocky mountains. In eastern Kansas this uplift divides into 
two sections as it goes eastward, a northern one beginning in Cass county 
and continuing east down to the Lamine district, and a southern part 
lying in southern Missouri and Arkansas. The northern section contains 
Johnson county. 

After this Ozark uplift arose from the ocean, the crust composing 
it became exposed to all the "weathering" we see now going on. Under 
the heat of the sun, the freezing of winter and the washing of the rains, 
the rocks disintegrated, and soil was formed. Then organic life entered 
the world, and on this soil, plants grew and developed, and animal life 
came in the water and on the land. 

For a long time, Johnson county, like many parts of the earth that 
had been lifted above the oceans, was very low and close to or partly 
covered by the water. The trees and ferns and other plants dropped 
their leaves and branches into the water, and thus accumulated a great 
mass of vegetation, underneath the water. Then a new, probably small, 
wrinkle in the earth's crust was so formed or some shift in the crust 
so made that the county and all the neighboring shore of the then great 
sea went down into the water. 

As the ages went by, the dry land surrounding Johnson county 
was gradually washed down into the sea and covered this county and 
the neighboring sunken area. The mass of vegetation that had accumu- 
lated was thus buried, compressed and decomposed and became the 
earliest or lowest coal vein in the county. 

In course of time the filling up of this sunken area or another uplift 
in the earth's crust or both these causes resulted in the surface of the 
county again being above or near the surface of the water. The nearest 
vegetation gradually spread until again the county was covered with it. 
Again the surface and all this mass of vegetation was submerged, covered 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 67 

again by washings from the uplands, and Johnson county's second coal 
vein was formed. This process was repeated till the land finally emerged 
for good, with its numerous coal veining and stores of fuel for its future 
inhabitants. 

At different periods of the county's submergence, conditions were 
favorable for sea life, and millions of primitive sea animals lived and 
died and their bones dropped to the bottom till the floor of the sea was 
covered thick with their remains. These remains became covered in 
the same way as the vegetation that made the coal, were decomposed 
and compressed and formed limestone rock. 

Geological Divisions. — The age at which these processes went on 
is called by the geologists the Carboniferous, and the layers of the earth's 
crust formed at this time have been divided in the United States into 
three series, called the Mississippian, (at the base) the Pennsylvanian (in 
the middle) and the Permian (at the top). The Mississippian of Missouri 
contains a very large portion of crystalline limestone, in strong litho- 
logic contrast to the Pennsylvanian, in which shale is preponderate, 
sandstone common and the limestone chiefly of the fine-grain type. The 
Permian series does not differ markedly from the Pennsylvanian, but it 
has not been found in Missouri. 

The Pennsylvanian series in Missouri is composed of about 1,900 
feet of shale, sandstone, limestone, clay and coal. It is the only formation 
containing commercially important coal beds and is the youngest con- 
solidated formation in the area in which it outcrops. It includes beds 
that are contemporaneous with formations of the Appalachian region. 

In Missouri the Pennsylvanian series is subdivided into the Missouri 
and Des Moines groups. The Missouri group is divided into five 
formations, which outcrop in the northwestern part of the state and in 
Jackson and Cass counties. The Des Moines group consists of the 
Pleasanton, Henrietta, and Cherokee formations which outcrop in John- 
son county and over a strip of territory extending from Clark county 
in the northeast corner of the state to Barton county in the southwest 
part of the state, varying in width from thirty to about one hundred 
miles. The United States Soil Survey also gives a Bethany Falls lime- 
stone which occurs in the northwest part of the county. 

The Pleasanton formation, the outcrop of which reaches the western 
part of Johnson county varies in thickness from one hundred to two 
hundred and twentv-five feet. The Henrietta formation, which takes 



68 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

its name from a former Johnson county postof^ce, varies in thickness 
from twenty-six to one hundred and ten feet. This formation outcrops 
over a considerable portion of Johnson county. Underlying the Henrietta 
formation and extending to the Mississippian limestone is the Cherokee 
formation, which varies from seventy-five to seven hundred and ten 
feet in thickness. This formation outcrops in the eastern portion of 
Johnson county, and it is in this formation that the thickest beds of 
coal are found in this county. All these formations are composed of 
shale, sandstone, limestones and coal beds. 

The most important economic deposits are in the Cherokee forma- 
tion. Here we find coal, shales and clays used for firebrick, pottery, 
common brick, tile, and other ceramic products, sandstone and other 
building stones. Judging by analogy from the composition of this 
formation, from the Kansas fields, and from the rather meager results 
from drilling in Missouri, it is considered probable that any gas and oil 
accumulations that may exist in this state also lie in this formation. 

Drillings in Johnson County. — In central Johnson and neighboring 
counties on the north and northeast, most of the upper Cherokee strata 
assume characters that are persistent as far north as the Iowa line. 

Typical sections of Cherokee shale in central Johnson county, from 
outcrops and drillings near Montserrat. 

Thickness. Deptli. 
Number. Stratum. Feet. Feet. 

1 Shale, soft and argillaceous at top, black and slaty 

at bottom 3 3 

2 Coal (Lexington) 1 4 

3 Clay, with nodular limestone at base 4 8 

4 Shale, yellow 10 18 

5 Interval, chiefly shale; very varialjle in thickness — • 

average 20 38 

6 Limestone, dark gray; compact; vertically jointed 2 40 

7 Shale, in part slaty 8 48 

8 Oial (Mulky) 2 50 

9 Interval, chiefly shale 10 60 

10 Shale, with a few thin limestone bands at top; black, 

slaty, and with small nodules at base 21 81 

11 Limestone, bluish-black, very fossiliferous 1 S2 

12 Coal fBevier) 2 84 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 69 

13 Clay, white 4 88 

14 Limestone, blue to gray: irregularly bedded; 

nodular 3 91 

15 Shale 2 93 

16 Coal (Tebo) 2 95 

17 Shale 1" 112 

18 Sandstone. reddish-Iirown ; in part massive; in part 

thin-bedded H 123 

19 Shale, dark lielow, light above 15 138 

20 Coal (Brushy Hill) _. 1 139 

21 Clav 5 144 

22 Shale 8 152 

23 Coal 1 153 

24 Clay 4 157 

25 Shale 12 169 

26 Coal 1 170 

27 Clay 6 176 

28 Shale 9 185 

29 Coal y2 185^ 

30 Clay AVi , 190 

31 Shale, lilack, slaty, present only in places __ 

32 Coal (Montserrat) 5 195 

33 Clay, sandy 10 205 

34 Shale, sandy at top. black at base 25 230 

35 Sandstone ; thin-bedded; firmly cemented 20 250 

36 Mississippian flint and limestone __ 

On the divide in southern Johnson county there are many outcrops 

of the Henrietta formation and practically the full formation extends east 

to Sutherland. The following record was furnished by Mr. J- B. Scott. 

Shaft at Sutherland, Johnson County. 

Thickness. Depth. 

Number. Stratum. Feet. Feet. 

1 Dirt 9 9 

2 Rock (Pa\\'nee limestone) 8 17 

3 "Soapstone" ] f 20 37 

\ "]"T" (L.be.,e shale) — - '' « 

J Coal 1 41 

6 Clay 2 43 



70 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

7 Rock (upper limestone of Fort Scott member) 11 54 

8 Black clay 5 59 

9 "Soapstone" 11 70 

10 Rock (lower limestone of Fort Scott member) 4 74 

11 "Slate" (top of Cherokee shale) 3 77 

12 Coal 1 1/6 78 

13 "Soapstone, fire-clay and boulders" 61 139 

14 Rock (Marbut's base of Henrietta) 14 153 

15 "Slate" 2 155 

16 "Soapstone" 12 167 

17 Coal 2 169 

Pleasanton Formation in Johnson, Cass, and Jackson Counties. — 
Broadhead determined the thickness of the Pleasanton formation in John- 
son, Cass, and Jackson counties to be one hundred seventy-six feet and 
constructed the generalized section given below in modified form: 

Distance 

Thickness, from Top. 

Number. Stratum. Feet. Feet. 

1 Shale, bituminous \Yz 13^ 

2 Shale, argillaceous, or porous sandstone 13^ 15 

3 Limestone, sandy 1 16 

4 Sandstone, calcareous; 3 inches of coal at base_ XYz 17}^ 

5 Shale, sandy 35^ 53 

6 Coal, a few inches — 

7 Shale, clayey 15 68 

8 Sandstone, bufY 4 72 

9 Sandstone and shale 45-55 117 

10 Limestone 2 168 

11 Shale, marly, and limestone nodules 7 126 

12 Shale, olive and purple 10 136 

13 Shale, sandy, and shaly sandstone 22 158 

14 Coal (Holden) 1 159 

15 Shale 6 165 

16 Limestone 2 167 

17 Shale 9 176 

The Warrensburg Sandstone. — Among the most unique geological 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY "Jl 

features of the state are two long narrow channels filled with sandstone 
and shale wdiich have been eroded in Cherokee, Henrietta and some Pleas- 
anton strata. One of these is in Henry, Johnson and Lafayette counties 
and the other in Randolph county. 

The length of the Warrensburg channel of sandstone is more than 
fifty miles and is believed to have been made by water flowing from 
higher country on the Ozark dome bringing with it sands, and muds. 

It extends from north of Louis station, Henry county, northward 
to the north bluffs of the Missouri river. It passes through Johnson 
county from the south line near the village of Post Oak directly north 
into Lafayette county. The city of Warrensburg is about in the middle 
of the channel. 

The Warrensburg sandstone is well exposed in the northwestern 
quarter of the Calhoun quadrangle (Sections 28 and 29, T. 43, N., R. 
25 W), where over one hundred and six feet of it outcropped. 

West of Post Oak village in Johnson county, the top of the channel 
of sandstone is on the level with the top of the Henrietta formation, but 
nothing is known of its depth. It contains rather large specimens of 
silicified wood. Between this and Warrensburg a number of wells that 
do not reach the bottom of the sandstone show it to be at least ninety 
feet thick. 

At Warrensburg the channel is one to two miles wide and at least 
eighty-seven feet and possibly 175 feet deep. A drilling two and one- 
half miles north of Warrensburg penetrated 75 feet of sandstone and 
100 feet of soft, dark sandy shale, the former a channel deposit and the 
latter of either Warrensburg or Cherokee Age. The bottom of this 
drilling is at least 105 feet above the horizons of limestones of the Hen- 
rietta formation in neighboring counties. 

A description of the sandstone quarries north of Warrensburg is 
given elsewhere in this volume. The sandstone here has a light gray or 
gray-blue color, is crossbedded in places and contains films of Carbona- 
ceous material in the bedding planes and irregularly distributed frag- 
ments of coal. Microscopic examination showed it to consist of small 
roundish to subangular quartz grains in a calcarious and ferreugenious 
cement with subordinate amounts of calcide, mica, chlorite, ionoxide, 
bitumen, feldspar and clay. 

Several outcrops in the vicinity of Warrensburg show the valley- 



.y2 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

like shape of the bottom of the channel. Irregular deposits of coal have 
been found just below the sandstone, and in the bed of the branch in 
the northwest quarter of section 26, township 46, range 26, there are 
two beds of limestone dipping at a high angle and overlaid by arena- 
ceous channel deposits. 

North of Warrensburg the channel averages probably one and a 
half miles wide. 

In northern Henry county the base of the sandstone in the lowest 
point yet found is at least 77 feet and at Warrensburg 105 feet below 
the base of the Henrietta formation. The fall south of Warrensburg, 
according to these figures is 1.4 feet per mile, and north of Warrens- 
burg about two feet per mile. The apparent diiiference in fall is due 
possibly to the greater amount of limestone through which the channel 
was cut at the southern end. The hypothesis of northward flow obtained 
from the data given above rests on the very probable assumption that 
at the time of the making of the channel, the beds through which it 
was excavated were horizontal or nearly so. 

Geology and Soil. — All the soil of Johnson county is derived from 
the decomposition of these immediately underlying limestones, shales 
and sandstones, which were formed in the long geological ages of the 
past. They fall in the five groups, described — the Pleasanton 
shales, the Henrietta limestones, the Cherokee shales and sandstones, 
the Bethany Falls limestone and the Warrensburg sandstone. Their 
characteristics are given elsewhere under the chapter on Agriculture. 

Authorities. — Hinds and Greene, stratigraphy of the Pennsylvania 
Series in Missouri; U. S. Department of Agriculture, Soil Survey of 
Johnson County, Missouri (1914) : John A. Gallaher (of Johnson county) 
in Encyclopedia of History of Missouri, Vol. Ill ( 19()1 ) ; Standard Texts 
on Geology. 



CHAPTER II.— INDIANS. 

THE COUNTRY OF THE OSAGES— EARLY RELATIONS BETWEEN THE WHITE SET- 
TLERS AND THE INDIANS— TREATY OF NOVEMBER. 1808— PURCHASE PRICE 
OP JOHNSON COUNTY— CHARACTER OF OSAGES — THE INDIANS' TEARLT 
CIRCLE. 

Johnson county before the advent of the white man was the country 
of the Osage Indians. Here the Indian was complete master and hunted 
or roamed at will through the timber and over the prairie and raised 
his lodge or pitched his barbaric tent or buffalo skin. 

Before the nineteenth century, when the white settlements were 
few in number and scattered over a wide expanse of country, the question 
of land ownership was hardly considered. Early treaties between the 
French and Spanish and the Indians were in the most part merely 
for the purpose of establishing friendly relations with the natives, and 
the question of land cession rarely, if ever, entered into the negotia- 
tions. Such treaties were made by Iberville, Bienville and Cadillac as 
governors of the colony and also by explorers in behalf of their govern- 
ments. 

However the British go\ernment. especially after the peace of 
1763, prohibited the whites from settling on Indian lands and after the 
Revolution the same policy was pursued by the United States for several 
years. The Federal goxernment during this time recognized the several 
tribes and confederacies as quasi nation, with a right to the soil, and 
the right to dispose of same. 

Following the Louisiana purchase settlers began to infringe on the 
lands of the Osages in portions of what is now the state of Missouri 
and other relations arose between the whites and the Indians. Hence 
a treaty was made between the Great and Little Osages and the Lhiited 
States in November, 1808. 

This treaty occupies an important place in the real history of John- 
son county. Beginning in 1682, with France, who by reason of the 
explorations of La Salle, claimed all the territory drained by the Mis- 
sissippi river, France, Spain and the United States, had at different 



74 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

times, claimed the same territory by virtue of treaties and agreements 
between themselves. But none of these nations either occupied by 
settlement or otherwise the actual territory. The actual inhabitants of 
that much of the territory now comprising this county were these 
Indians. And it was by this treaty that their right passed to the United 
States, and the country of the Great and Little Osages became the 
country of the Rices and the Houxs and the other pioneers, who came 
and, in the name of the United States of America, remained, and whose 
lineal descendants are here to this day. 

This treaty was entitled : 

"Articles of a treaty made and concluded at Fort Clark, on the 
right bank of the Missouri, about five miles above the fire prairie, in 
the territory of Louisiana, the tenth day of November, in the year of 
our Lord one thousand eight hundred and eight, between Peter Chou- 
teau, Esquire, agent for the Osage, and especially commissioned and 
instructed to enter into the same by his excellency Meriwether Lewis, 
governor and superintendent of Indian affairs for the territory afore- 
said, in behalf of the United States of America, of the one part, and 
the chiefs and warriors of the Great and Little Osage, for themselves 
and their nations respectively, on the other part." 

The treaty was signed by "P. Chouteau; E. B. Clemson, Captain 
First Regiment Infantry ; L. Lorimer, Lieutenant First Regiment 
Infantry; Reazen Lewis, sub-agent Indian Affairs," for the United 
States, and on behalf of the Indians by "Papuisea, the grand chief of 
the Big Osage, his (x) mark; Nichu Malli, the grand chief of the Little 
Osage, his (x) mark," and by one "second chief" each of the Big and 
Little Osage, by ten "little chiefs" of the Big Osage and seven "little 
chiefs" of the Little Osage, by three "war chiefs" of the Big Osage and 
two war chiefs of the Little Osage and by forty-two "warriors" of 
the Big Osage and forty-two "warriors" of the Little Osage. 

Thus when our children ask us who ruled over this county before 
the President and the governor of Missouri, we can tell them P-ipuisea 
and Nichu Malli. 

Fort Clark was located on the Missouri river between the present 
city of Lexington and Independence, and by Lewis and Clark while 
on their expedition to the Pacific coast in 1804. It was at first named 
Clark in honor of one of the two leaders. After this treatv the name 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 75 

was changed to Fort Osage. Later it was changed to Fort Sibley in 
honor of George C. Sibley, an army officer. 

By this treaty with the Osage Indians, a line was established 
"beginning at Fort Clark on the Missouri, five miles above Fire Prairie, 
and running thence a due south course to the Arkansas river, thence 
down the same to the Mississippi." All east of this line was relinquished 
by the Osages to the United States. For sometime thereafter there 
was some uncertainty as to just where the real line was intended to be. 
However, there is no question but what it was miles west of the western 
boundary of Johnson county, perhaps about ten miles, and thus ceded 
Johnson county to the United States. 

Other provisions of the treaty provided for a store of goods and a 
blacksmith to be kept at the point for the protection of the Indians' 
hunting grounds and for general relations between the United States 
and the Indians. 

The total purchase price for "the lands relinquished by the Great 
and Little Osage was $1200 in money already paid and the yearly pay- 
ment at Fire Prairie of $1500 in merchandise at .the first cost thereof." 
Thus was Johnson county bought at a cost of less than four cents a 
square mile cash and five cents a square mile annually in trade. 

After this treaty the Osages for a number of years frequently 
returned on hunting expeditions. Many of the old settlers now living 
in Johnson county often saw Indians here. They were peaceable and 
friendly and on these return trips were never known to do any greater 
wrong than to sell baskets and to beg. 

The character of the Indians was like that of tiie white men, the 
black men, the brown men and the yellow men. There were good 
Indians and bad Indians. Physically, Morse says, the Osages were 
of remarkable height, not many being less than six feet tall, and said 
to be athletic, well formed and robust, and it is said on good authority 
that they frequently walked from their villages to trading posts, a 
distance of sixty miles a day. 

They talked little, in conversation did not interrupt each other, 
and except when intoxicated were not noisy. They were not drunkards 
and were greatly and favorably distinguished from other Indians in 
their sobriety. 

Insanity was not known among them. They bore sickness and pain 



76 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

with great fortitude, and were more skilled in medicine than most other 
Indian tribes. 

Their chief dependence was hunting but they raised small crops of 
corn, beans and pumpkins. They entered upon the summer hunt in 
May and returned about the first of August to gather their crops which 
had been unattended, unfenced and uncultivated throughout the summer. 
Each family raised from fifteen to thirty bushels of corn and from one 
to two bushels of beans and a quantity of dried pumpkins. After the 
harvest of their crops, about September, they started on another hunt- 
ing expedition which lasted until about Christmas. They then returned 
to the villages, where they remained until February or March and 
during that time they would make frequent short hunting trips. In 
February or March the spring hunt would begin. It started with bear 
hunting and ended with the beaver hunt. Then the Osage returned 
to his primitive farm, planted his corn, beans and pumpkin seeds, and 
began again his yearly circle. 



CHAPTER III.— TRAILS AND ROADS. 

ORIGIN OP TRAILS AND ROADS— INDIAN TRAILS— THE OLD INDIAN TRAIL — KARLY 
ROADS— FIRST PUBLIC ROADS— STAGE COACHES— ROAD DEVELOPMENT- 
ROADS TODAY— ROAD CONDITIONS IN GENERAI. — ROAD IMPROVEMENTS- 
COUNTY GRADES— INTER-COUNTYSEAT HIGHWAYS— CONCRETE CULVERTS- 
STEEL BRIDGES— INTEREST IN ROAD WORK. 

Origin of Trails and Roads. — Man follows the beaten track. As 
these words tell the story of much of our lives, they also tell the story of 
our early roads. Very early there were recognized lines of travel by 
the Indians between distant points. Their particular location is due to 
the interesting but not widely known fact, viz.: A man can travel from 
two to live miles on smooth, le\el ground easier than one mile on 
rough or steep ground. This is also true of most animals. And beyond 
doubt many of the Indian trails followed paths made by the buffalo and 
other wild animals, and for the reason given these usually followed the 
level ridges, crossed streams at the most accessible fords, passed from 
low land to high land by gradual grades and generally avoided difficult 
places of all kinds. And as the Indian f(illowed in the track of wild 
animals so the white man followed the path of the Indian where there 
was one. Where there was none, he located his early roads on the 
same principle — the easiest way. It is interesting to note that later 
this principle was changed and modified for other reasons in the case 
of our dirt roads, but never in the case of the railroads, and the mighty 
engines and long trains still follow substantially the tracks of the buffalo 
and Indian. 

Indian Trails. — There appears to be reliable proof of two Indian 
trails in Johnson county. Mrs. Ben W. Grover. who moved to Warrens- 
burg in 1844 and lived here till her death many years after the Civil 
War, remembered an Indian trail that passed close to their house, 
which stood within a few feet of the present Grover residence. Mr. 
W. E. Crissey was much interested in these trails and from Mrs. Grover 
and others secured much valuable information. The following inter- 
esting account is from Mr. Crissey direct. 



78 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

The Old Indian TraU.— (By W. E. Crissey.) 

Probably very few know that an old Indian trail once traversed 
Johnson county. It ran from south to north in a northwesterly course, 
entering the county southeast of the city of Warrensburg, and passing 
through the city at Gay street near the Grover dwelling just east of 
Miller street, thence north toward Lexington on the Missouri river. 
This trail was from the Osage river at or near where the city of Warsaw 
now is, and following the line of least resistance avoiding difficult hills, 
marshy spots and bad fording places, made its way to Lexington, a bare 
trail with room for but one at a time. * * * When in the dim and 
misty past the selection of this trail was made will remain a mystery 
locked in prehistoric silence. 

When the white man came he desired a roadway from Warsaw to 
Lexington. At that time Lafayette county extended south from the 
Missouri river to the Osage river, in shape a long ribbon. Part of it 
had been surveyed, but not all of it; there were no farm lines, no fence- 
rows to interfere and the old trail seeming to be well adapted for ease 
of travel, the state highway was located on the trail. 

A small part of this old road is at the west end of the farm owned 
by W. L. and P. A. Jones, about a mile southeast of \\"arrensburg. 
Other stretches of the road ran angling across tracts of land now en- 
closed and in cultivation. 

Two other well identified parts of this road and frequently traveled 
by Mr. Crissey many years ago are: First, the present public road from 
the southeast corner of section 18, township 46, range 25 north, east to 
the north line of the section and about one-fourth mile west of the 
northeast corner, and second, the present public road as it climbs around 
and up the hill by the old James M. Shepherd (now owned by T. J. 
Trapp) place, about one-fourth mile north of Warrensburg on the Lex- 
ington road, and we who now whirl over these bits of road are today 
following the path of the red man for no telling how many centuries 
before us. 

Another Indian trail was the Sliawnee Indian trail in tbe southwest 
part of the county, and is described in the Johnson county history of 
1881. Shawnee mound in Henry county was one of the favorite Indian 
resting places. From this mound the trail passed by the old residence of 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 79 

Wilson D. Carpenter in Chilhowee township and thence northwest 
through Rose Hill township to Center Knob near Kingsville. The old 
Clinton and Independence road followed this trail, and for many years 
those who traveled it shared the hospitality of Wilson D. Carpenter. 

Early Roads. — Before there was any permanent settlement within 
the present borders of Johnson county, there was a recognized line of 
travel across the county from east to west although there was very little 
regular travel over this road as the line of main travel was farther north, 
along the river. (This north road extended from Old Franklin to 
Santa Fe, New Mexico, and was known as the Santa Fe trail, and is 
well marked out today.) J_333JLJ25 

The first main-traveled roads connected the frontier settlements 
of Johnson county with the nearest trading points, grist mills and other 
places where the settlers made infrequent but necessary trips. At that 
time, of course, the section lines were not laid out and these roads were 
trails directly across the country following the straightest and easiest 
lines. 

First Public Roads. — The first public road established by law in 
the county was that running northwest "from Warrensburg to the Inde- 
pendence road." To us who are familiar with the square turns and the 
description of our roads by sectional lines, the order of court establish- 
ing this early road presents an interesting contrast. This is the order 
verbatim : 

"December, Monday, the 13th day, eighteen hundred and thirty-six. 

Jester Cocke, Joseph Cockrell, viewers appointed to lay out a road 
from Warrensburg in a Direction to Independence. The aforesaid view- 
ers having been appointed at the October term of this court and having 
failed to make report at the last term of the court now comes at this 
day and makes the following report, to-wit : Beginning at Warrens- 
burg, running down the ridge with the same road that now runs down. 
Crossing Post Oak at the upper crossing thence through the bottom run- 
ning up a Point between a little lake and Post Oak, thence crossing 
Devil branch at same bottom woods, thence through the Perrari leaving 
the high point of Perrari East of Jack Houxes to the left thence Cross- 
ing Black Water below Wade's mill, thence the direct road to Jester 
Cocke, thence the direct road leading to Thomas Windsor's so far as 
to the divide leading by the right hand corner of McMin's field, thence 



80 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

intersect the Road leading from Columbus to Independence, the 
nearest rout & the Brushy Knobs. 

Joseph Cockrell, Jester Cocke, Viewers, 
which report being seen and examined by the court and approved of. 
Therefore, it is ordered that the said view as marked and laid out be 
opened twenty feet wide, cleaned of limbs and trees and be bridged as 
the law directs and from thenceforth be a public highway." (Book A, 
page 15.) 

At the same time two other roads were located, one from Honey 
Creek to Independence and the other from W'arrensburg to Blackwater 
town (about a mile south of Columbus). (See book A, December 13, 
1836.) 

The following are other early roads in the county: In 1836 there 
were three recognized highways leading from Warrensburg, one ran 
north to Lexington (following the Indian trail): another one south to 
Clinton, the county seat of Henry county, and the third to Jonesboro 
by way of Gallaher's mill. 

An early public road running east and west was established from 
Warrensburg to BlufT Spring in Kingsville township. Henry Colbern. 
the saddler, father of George Colbern, the early banker, traveled this 
road to Benjamin Longacre's tanyard. This road was discontinued in 
1856. 

An old road, located about 1852. ran from Knob Noster to Inde- 
pendence through Grover and Simpson townships crossing Blackwater 
at the old Davis, or Kirkpatrick mill near what is now Valley City. 

Stage Coaches. — One of the principal highways that became what 
was known as stage routes in the early days when the mail was carried 
by that means was the Georgetown-Lexington road. A mail route 
was established on this road in 1857. It ran through the northeastern 
corner of the county and served Bee Branch postoffice or what was later 
known as Dunksburg. The Jefferson City-Independence road was an- 
other recognized stage line. Stage lines also ran from Warrensburg to 
Lexington and from Warrensburg to Clinton. The regular schedule 
trips of the stage coach over these lines varied from daily to weekly. 
As the country through which these lines passed became more thickly 
settled the frequency of the regular mail delivery was increased. 

Johnson county depended altogether upon the stage coach for its 
mail delivery prior to the Civil War. .'Knd. even after the Pacific 
Railroad was built in 1865. many parts of the county continued to re- 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY Si 

ceive their mail through the medium of the old stage coach. But with 
the building of other railroads, after the completion of the Pacific, and 
the introduction of the rural delivery, the stage coach as a star route 
performer made its final bow and disappeared. 

Road Development. — Systematic improvement of the public roads 
of tlie county began some time after the Civil War. These improve- 
ments were of five distinct classes: First, leveling and widening; sec- 
ond, straightening and squaring: third, steel bridges: fourth, concrete 
culverts : and fifth, "county" grades. 

1. The cutting down of the hills and filling of the hollows was the 
first step in regular road impro\-ements. It has been going on steadily 
all the time, and today more than ever. Hills that the writer knew as 
famous long, steep pulls are today merely gentle inclines. 

2. As the land became more cultivated the owners natttrally did 
not care to have their fields cut up by roads streaking across them. 
This has resulted in the roads gradually being put on the lines of the 
sections or subdivisions, and has put them in straight lines. It has also 
resulted, however, in making them considerably longer. And the loss 
entailed on a whole communit_\- traveling around these corners, instead 
of in a diagonal road, has imdoubtedly been a great deal, and will in- 
crease as travel increases. Toda}-. of the old roads that ran the nearest 
and best way. there is only one of any length left in the county. This 
is the road from the old Masonic hall in Chilhowee township northeast 
to Warrensburg. for a distance of about five to six miles. It follows 
the watershed betw'een the two main branches of Post Oak creek and 
has good natural advantages of shortness and grade. A shorter road 
of the same character runs south from Montserrat along Bristle ridge. 

3. Steel bridges have been gradually put in over the larger streams 
ever since the reconstruction period following the war. Today these, 
wherever feasible, have concrete floors. Today there are 583 steel 
bridges in the county. (See report of County Engineer McGuire fol- 
lowing for full details.) 

4. The history of the concrete culverts and "county road grades" 
in Johnson county is given in the following extracts from the report of 
February 1, 1917. of David Mohler. on his retirement from eight years 
ser\-ice as county engineer: 

"W. A. Stephens was presiding judge of the cotmty court, and R. 
H. Wood and ^^^ B. Pemberton. associate judges, and J. R. Grinstead, 
county clerk. These men began to look around to see if the road and 



82 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

bridge conditions could not be improved. * * * The question of 
building concrete culverts was introduced by Judge Stephens and was 
soon put into effect by ordering the engineer to build four-foot concrete 
culverts in order to ascertain their cost in a practical way. Finding the 
price was reasonable and the culverts good they let a contract for sixty 
four-foot culverts to be built in the year 1908. In the next eight years 
they built 896 concrete culverts equally distributed throughout the county. 

"In 1911, the question of building what were named county grades 
was taken up by the court. The members were Presiding Judge Tracy, 
B. F. Summers and D. L. Day, associate judges, with J. R. Grinstead 
as county clerk. A plan was formulated to build sixty miles per year 
for five years, and to distribute the work over the main roads of the 
county. This part of the agreement is now finished and we have three 
hundred miles of county grades. 

"Five years ago the county court did for this county what the state 
is now taking up, under the Hawes bill (a system of roads for the 
state). No project can be successfully carried out without a definite 
system, and I attribute our marked success to having a definite system 
and impartially following it up." 

Roads Today. — The best description of road conditions today is 
found in the following specific and complete report made by County 
Engineer Joseph F. McGuire, at the end of 1917. 

Road Conditions in General. — Road work in a general way has 
progressed nicely. The greater portion of our mileage has been graded, 
culverts kept in repair and in certain localities, bad stretches have been 
thoroughly worked that had not been worked for years. 

Road Improvements. — There were forty-five road improvements in 
1917. where citizens of a neighborhood deposited with the county treas- 
urer $50 or more and the court added $50 to improve a mile or more 
of road. 

County Grades. — There \\ere built within the year forty-five miles 
of county grade, which gives us 345 miles of this class of road, and one 
more year's work will finish up the total number of miles outlined some 
five years ago by our county court. When completed, no farmer or 
taxpayer need live farther than three miles from one of these special 
grades. 

Inter-Countyseat Highways. — We have 105 miles of this class of 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 83 

roads in the county, as has been located by the Inter-countyseat Road 
Board. These roads have been kept well dragged under their manage- 
ment by funds appropriated by the state. 

Concrete Culverts. — There were built in 1917, 112 concrete cul- 
verts, eighty-two of which are three or four-foot openings and twenty 
feet long, five-foot wing walls and concrete floors, arch top ; twenty-four 
are from twelve to sixteen feet, flat top, with fourteen-foot roadway, 
five-foot wing walls; six are two-foot openings, twenty feet long, with 
flat top and wing walls. We also built eleven retaining walls and repair 
jobs. W'e now have 997 concrete culverts equally distributed through- 
out the county. 

Steel Bridges. — In the year 1917 there were built sixteen steel 
bridges; all have concrete abutments and concrete floors, with fourteen- 
foot roadways. There are now 583 steel bridges in the county, of which 
281 have wood floors and wood backing; 122 have concrete abutments, 
with wood floors; 123 have concrete abutments and concrete floors; 
thirty-three are on tubes and twenty-four on stone abutments. 

County Bridges Refloored. — There were in the year 1917 fourteen 
bridges (spans ranging in length from eighteen feet up to fifty feet) 
refloored with wooden floors; also one thirty-six-foot span (wooden 
floor) replaced with concrete floor. 

There was, in the year 1917, some special work done in the form 
of straightening creeks, where they crossed or menaced our public roads. 

Johnson county's general road system is undoubtedly one of the 
best in the state. It has not yet decided the next step it shall take. 
Rock, oiled and other roads are being considered. Whatever is selected 
will probably be carried on in the same systematic way as heretofore. 

The forty road overseers have 1,494 miles of roads to take care 
of and do their work with forty-nine graders, thirty-eight plows, ninety- 
three scrapers, seven wheelers, twenty-five spades and shovels, thirty- 
nine picks and mattocks, thirteen crow bars, eleven axes, thirty chains 
and many other tools that are furnished by the overseers and their 
people. In many of the rural districts the amount of donated work 
equaled or surpassed the amount set aside by the court for the dift'erent 
districts. 

Interest in Road Work. — The vast amount of volunteer work done 



84 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

throughout tlie county e\ idences the fact that our people want to keep 
pushing forward in the interest of better roads. 

District, Township, Overseer and Receipts follow: 

1, Grover, H. F. Dittmers, receipts, $362.95: 2, Grover. C. D 
Hulse, $477.39: 3, Simpson, J. H. Reggers, $ii5.75: 4. Simpson, M. D, 
L. Jones. $361.95: 5, Simpson, Ben F. Bell. $633.44: 6, Hazel Hill, J. J 
Fox, $260.25: 7, Hazel Hill, J. L. Smith, $544.50; 8, Columbus, D. Brock- 
man, $571.34: 9, Columbus, Geo. Brockhaus, $250.00: 10, Columbus, 
Charles R. Smith, $375.00: 11, Jackson. C. S. Hampton, $629.90: 12, 
Jackson, S. E. Ballard, $600.87: 13, G. E. Shanhan. S557.84: 14, Kings 
ville, Russell Talley, $398.08: 15, Kingsville, R. E. L. Sanders, $605.88 
16. Rose Hill, Levi Surber, $525.85: 17, Rose Hill, R. G. Nichols 
$885.59; 18, B. L. Whiteman, $631.68; 19. Chilhowee, T. A. McCormack 
$451.51; 20, Chilhowee, T. S. Doak, $676.13; 21. Chilhowee. J. E. Rob- 
bins, $832.78; 22. A. B. Bills. $465.00; 23, Centerview. D. S. Smith 
$1,570.50; 24, Post Oak, H. H. Howard, $499.59: 25. Post Oak. J. X 
Livingston, $466.14; 26, Post Oak, Frank Langham. $1,111.35: 2 
Jefiferson, Leonard Clear, $351.41: 28, Jefferson, D. E. Powell, $606.15 
29, Jefferson, J. D. Cooper, $431.87; 30, Jefferson, J. O. Sutherland, 
$595.80; 31, Washington. L. S. Conner. $873.96; 32. Washington, A. L, 
Berry. $777.89: 3i. Montserrat, John H. Owens. $486.91; 34. W. H 
Drinkwater. $476.50: 35, W'arrensburg. R. D. Mohler. $2,370.80; 36, 
Warrensburg, G. S. Carter, $2,369.25; i7. Madison, J. P. Sherlock 
$2,569.48: 38. Hazel Hill, J. W. Workman, $288.37: 39, Grover, F. A 
Lazenby. $432.64; 40, Centerview. Perry Fulkerson. $633.50; total. $2S.- 
339.79. 

The disl)nrsements are practically the same as the receipts. Total 
road expenditures by the county for 1917 are: 

Bridges (countv revenue fund), $10,027.38; common road fund. 
$11,655.46; road improvements, $4,592.00; concrete culverts, $16,815.87; 
county special road work. $18,947.97; roads and bridges fund, $38,992.92; 
inter-county seat fund, $1,362.40; forty road districts. $28,339.79; total, 
$130,733.79. 



CHAPTER IV.— EARLY SETTLEMENTS. 

PRIMITIVE MOHES OF TRAVEL— SANTA FE TRAIL— EXTRACT FROJl 'TIOXEF-R 
FAMILIES OF MISSOURI"— FIRST SETTLEMENTS IN JOHNSON COUNTY- 
PLEASANT RICE— NICHOLAS HOUX— JOHN H, INGRAM— JONATHAN AND 
BALDWIN FINE — WILLIAM CHEEK — WILLIAM NORRIS — JUDGE HARVEY 
HARRISON— STEPHEN BLEVINS— LIST OF HEADS OF FAMILIES IN MARCH, 
1S31— REMINISCENCES— CHILHOWEE OLD SETTLERS' REUNION. 

Early Settlements. — The early settlers in Johnson county came by 
flatboats. keelboats and steamboats, in wagons, on horseback and on 
foot. The first steamboat on the Missouri river made its first trip 
to Franklin. Missouri, about 1819. 

About this time there were prospects rapidly developing for a 
large trade in the Southwest, and the Santa Fe trail was established by 
act of Congress. 

Along this road came many of the early settlers of Johnson county 
until they reached points north of this county and there struck south 
to the places \\ here they finally settled. 

The following from "Pioneer Families of Missouri" is one of the 
best summaries of early settlements that the writer has seen 

"In the early days there were no railroads or steamboats or even 
stage coaches, and the early settlers had to provide their own means of 
travel. Some built flatboats and keelboats. into which they loaded their 
goods and families, and floated down the Ohio and its tributaries, to 
the ]\Iississip])i and then toiled up that stream and the Missouri, and 
up the latter to their destination, dragging their clumsy boats by tow- 
lines or forcing them along with oars and poles. Others packed their 
goods, wives and children on horses and came through the wilderness, 
supplying themselves with meat from the wild game which they killed 
with their rifles as they came along and still others, too poor to own 
horses or build boats, shouldered what few articles of worldly goods 
they possessed and came on foot. 

"Thev all located in the woods, near the water courses, and built 
their houses near some nice cool, bubbling spring. The idea of set- 
tling on the rich prairies never occurred to them. They imagined that 



86 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

the prairies never could be cultivated, because there was no water on 
them and no timber to fence them. 

"Their houses were built of rough logs, with puncheon floors, clap- 
board roofs, and great broad flaring chimneys, composed of sticks and 
mud. Sometimes they had no floors in their houses, except the ground, 
beaten smooth and hard and swept clean every day. Iron nails were 
not to be had, and the boards of their roofs were fastened with wooden 
pins or weighted with poles and stones." 

The first buildings were not like the log cabins which required 
some help and considerable labor to build — they were a cross between 
"hoop cabins" and Indian sack huts. Many pioneers lived in these 
round-pole cabins for the first few years before enough men could be 
gotten together for building a log house. 

Very few, e\en of the log cabins, had a window with a sash and 
glass. Sometimes they made a window with greased paper, but more 
often there was nothing over the window, or the inmate omitted the 
window altogether and depended for light on such as came through 
the cracks between the logs where there was no chinking or daubing. 
The doors were fastened with wooden latches and swung on wooden 
hinges. The chinking was done with blocks of wood and the daubing 
with mud made from the top soil.' 

.\ cupboard was built in the side of the wall and a "one-legged 
bedsteatl" erected. The latter was a primitive article of furniture, which 
as its name would suggest, was necessarily built in the corner. Clap- 
boards were laid in the rude frame, or hickory bark woven from side 
to side. Upon this rested the feather-bed. There was no such thing 
as a cookstove in those days. 

The cooking was all done at the big wood fire with a few iron 
pots, skillets, ovens and kettles. Before the mills were accessible 
"hominv blocks" were used. A log 18 to 28 inches in diameter and 
from four to five feet long was made square at both ends, then stood on 
one end and a cavity chopped in the other. When the cavity was 
large enough a fire was built in it to burn the surface off smooth. It 
was now complete and resembled a large druggist's mortar. The pestle 
was made of a suitable piece of timber. In the "hominy block" corn 
was pounded, and one block often accommodated an entire neighbor- 
hood. Sometimes a family ground their meal in a coffee mill and some- 
times a grater was made by pricking holes in a piece of tin, and after 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 87 

the corn was softened somewhat by boiling on the ear, meal could be 
grated. Wheat flour was very scarce and in many families practically 
unknown. 

The following extract from "Pioneer Days in Johnson County," 
published by the Elizabeth Randolph Chapter, D. A. R., in the "Holden 
Enterprise," is a fine account of early farming: 

"A few acres fenced the first year for a corn patch, and a few 
vegetables, with the hunting that was expected to be done (for deer, 
elk and bear abounded), was all that was contemplated. This was 
enough, however, as the land must be grubbed, planted and cultivated 
and the only implements used were a 'bull-tongue' Colter plow and 
grubbing hoe. The plow was drawn by a pair of oxen, steady but sure. 
.\ rudely constructerl wooden harrow and the top of a tree for a brush, 
were often used to level the pulverized ground. Each succeeding year 
more land was opened up. and by the time a farmer owned twenty- 
five to fifty acres of cultivated land he had more than he could man- 
age. 

"But few employed help, except in making rails. Rail-splitting was 
an avocation in which numbers of young men of poor parentage engaged. 
They were paid on the average one dollar per hundred rails and their 
board. At this business some saved money and became free-holders." 

In the early days, fruits and vegetables raised by the settlers were 
never sold. If a man raised more than he needed and his neighbor 
wanted any, he gave them to him. The writer's father, who was born 
in the county in 1834, said that potatoes, apples, and such products 
were given away in this manner for many years, and a sale was unknown 
until long after he was a grown man. 

The first permanent settlement in Johnson county was made in 
1828 by Pleasant Rice or Nicholas Houx, in what became Columbus 
township. The Johnson County History of 1881 contains the following: 

"Several writers have disagreed concerning the date of the first 
settlement. AA^e ha\e, by close investigation, searched every avenue 
for a correct record of the first man who settled in the county. For a 
long time, the honor of the first settlement has been given to Columbus 
township, and a few from his prominence, have believed the esteemed 
pioneer, Nicholas Houx, to have l)een the first permanent settler. Not 
plucking any honors from this honored and respected pioneer, we find 
that Pleasant Rice settled in this township in the spring, and Nicholas 



im HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Houx came \\ ilh hi*, family the following- fall. This was in the year 
1828. 

"It has been reported that a few hunters had camped in various 
parts of the county prior to this time and that a hut by John Leeper 
was erected in the woods on Walnut creek in that part of the county 
now called Grover township. Even if this be so, Indian like, they 
passed away before permanent settlements were made. 

"The honor of being the first permanent settler belongs to Pleasant 
Rice. He is still living and shows proof of his precedence." 

On the other hand, Mrs. Rachel Fulkerson Martin, daughter of 
Dr. James Monroe Fulkerson and grand-daughter of Nicholas Houx, 
says that her family was always told and believed that Nicholas Houx 
was the first settler, and was immediately followed by Pleasant Rice. 
Other members of the Houx family have the same understanding. 

The record of land entries in the government plat book show that 
Pleasant Rice, Nicholas Houx and John H. Ingram all entered land 
the same day. Ma}' 1, 1828, the earliest authentic record of land entry 
in the county. 

Following these Columbus settlements were those in the neighbor- 
ing community of Jackson township around Basin Knob. Jonathan 
and Baldwin Fine came in 1829 and settled here. Other early settlers 
were : 

\\'illiam Cheek, in 1831, built a water mill and sawed lumber on 
Clear Fork near the line of Grover and AWishington townships. He 
sold to James A. Gallaher in 1834, and this became Gallaher's Mill, 
and one of the first two voting places in the county. 

The Johnson County History of 1881, under the history of Chilhowee 
township, says that William Norris settled near Walnut Grove ceme- 
tery, sometimes called the Carpenter graveyard, in 1829. and that year 
planted twenty seedling apple trees in the brush thicket, and also that he 
built the first grist-mill in the county. The editor has no reason to 
doul)t this date, but has been unable to corroborate it. 

In March, 1831, Judge Harvey Harrison and his wife, and his 
father ;in<l all his father's family settled about two and a half miles 
west of the present site of Fayetteville. 

In Sini])S()n lownship, Stephen Blcvins h;ul alreaily settled and was 
here when the Harrisons came. 

The otlier earlv settlements are given luTcatter in detail in the 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 89 

history of each township. 

In ]\Iarch, 1831. there were almut fifteen heads of families in the 
county. The following is a list, given liy Judge Harvey Harrison to 
Mr. \\. E. Crissey in 1889: 

"There were at this time but about fifteen heads of families in the 
(Johnson) county and they were named as follow: Nicholas Houx, 
at Columbus; Pleasant Rice, southeast of Columlius; Richard Bradley, 
Uriel Murray, Richard Huntsman, father of John Huntsman, of Hunts- 
man's favorite apple fame. Dr. Rankin. Robert King. 

Whitsett. father of T. Jett Whitsett. James .Matthews. Joseph Mat- 
thews, Morgan Cockrell, Isaac Xoland. Mrs. .\ndrews. widow. 

with her two sons, Thomas Evans. Daniel Blevins. Sr.. Daniel Blevins. 
Jr.. Johnson Mulkey, Andrew Blevins, .'Stephen Blevins. single man. 
and Martin Warren. Jr. The Martin ^\■arren, Jr., was not the Martin 
A\'arren. Sr.. after whom the city, or town of Warrenslnn-g was named. 
These were all living in the county (now Johnson) when we came 
here in 1831. For about two years after that I kept track of those that 
came to the county and knew them all, but after that tlie\- came too 
fast and I was unable to know everybody." 

Reminiscences. — The following edited account of our early settle- 
ments and history was given to W. E. Crissey by Harvey Harrison 
(Judge Harrison) in March. 1889. Judge Harrison said in his statement: 

"I was born in Blount county. East Tennessee, March 7, 1806. 
and can remember incidents of eighty years ago. ^^d^en I was six months 
old, my father moved to .\labaina. I was married on the 12th da\- of 
March. 1829. This year, father and our family and m\- wife started for 
Missouri. My father had an old-fashioned \'irginia wagon hauled bv six 
horses and he had it full of his goods. He also had a one-horse buggv and 
besides this a two-wheeled gig. stout and strong. This gig I rigged up 
with a sort of body to it large enough to get the stuf¥ of myself and wife 
in it, and in this myself and wife rode, lived and slept in all the journey. 
We reached the Mississippi river at St. Louis and crossed it there. I 
would say it was a town then about as large, perhaps a little larger, than 
^^'arrensburg is now. In 1831, my father and his entire family, including 
myself and wife, moved to what is now Johnson county. Missouri. W'e 
settled about two and a half or three miles west of what is now Favette- 
ville. We unloaded on the 22nd day of March. 1831. In two davs 
we had a shelter, or camp, rigged up and in two weeks each familv bad 



90 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

a cabin of poles or logs with ground floor and clap-board roof, very com- 
fortable. When we arrived at this place there was but one house south 
of Blackwater creek and that was a cabin at High Point of Tebo in the 
southeastern part of Johnson county as it now is. This was the house 
of John Brummett, a squatter. 

"The country was most delightful. It was one vast expanse of 
undulating prairie and in mid-summer covered with tall waving grass, 
interspersed here and there with strips or belts of timber along the 
courses of the little streams. The choicest variety of game abounded. 
Absolutely beautiful. 

"Every autumn when the prairie grasses had withered and dried, 
about the month of November usually, the prairies were burned. Prob- 
ably these fires were started by the Indians for the purpose of driving 
game, or from some other unknown cause, the fires originated. The 
prairies would then become a vast sea of flames and woe be to the 
settler that had not taken the precautions to guard against them. While 
these fires were raging we had for from about four to six weeks what 
was known as Indian summer and for weeks at a time the smoke 
would be so dense that we could not see the sun. In the spring the 
ground would be free from grass and the wild flowers would spring up 
in endless variety and profusion and for some weeks, until the grass 
had hidden them from view, the prairies \\'ould be one vast flower gar- 
den. Constantly as one variety would cease to bloom others would 
take their places with ever changing colors and perfumes. I cannot 
describe these scenes in all their beauty and delight. 

"After the site of Warrensburg was selected and before the ground 
could be platted, John Evans and James S. Raynols built a round 
pole cabin on the ground north of Gay street, where Joseph E. Lightner 
now lives, for a store house. This in 1835. This was the first merchant's 
store in or near Warrensburg. 

"As well as I can remember, John Evans built the first store house 
in the corporate limits. It was at the northeast corner of Main and 
Gay streets, where William Brammer's house now stands." 

Old Settlers' Reunion. — There are today living but few^ of the early 
settlers of the county. The largest gathering of them is at the Chilhowee 
Old Settlers' Reunion, which has been held annually for twelve years now. 
The following is the list of those present at the reunion in 1917. who have 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 9I 

been here for years. The list gives in order, name, age, place of birth. 
and number of years in Johnson county: 

Mrs. Frank M. Albin, 54; Missouri; 54. Mrs. P. H. Alexander, 
76; Missouri; 76. P. H. Alexander, 84; Missouri; 54. Mrs. Mary 
Anderson, 61; Missouri: 61. H. A. Borthick, 70; Missouri; 70. J. M. 
Caldwell, 65; Missouri; 65. Lewis Corson, 57; Missouri; 50. J. B. 
Cull, 72; Missouri: 72. J. C. Culley, 64; Missouri; 64. Mrs. Smith Cor- 
son, 62; Illinois: 58. Smith Corson, 72\ Ohio; 59. Mrs. Emma Crum- 
baugh, 70; Missouri; 70. D. L. Day, 66: Missouri: 66. Mrs. T. L. 
DesCombes, 72>: Missouri: 67. J. L. Duncan, 76; 70. T. S. Dunham, 
63; Missouri; 63. Noah Edwards, 71; Missouri; 50. Mrs. M. J. Epp- 
right, 76; Missouri: 76. R. F. Graham. 61; Missouri; 61. Mrs. Sarah 
Graham, 63: Missouri: 63. Mrs. Ellen Harris, 74: Missouri; 72. J. 
Heberling, 76: Missouri: 50. Mrs. G. W. Hilterbrand, 77. G. W. 
Hilterbrand, 79; Missouri; 51. Miss Mary Houx, 60; Missouri; 60. 
G. W. Houx, 77; Missouri; 77. William P. Hunt, 70; Missouri; 70. 
W. E. Jerome, 67; Missouri; 50. J. F. Knight, 81; Missouri; 65. J. S. 
Montague, 69; Kentucky: 55. Mrs. C. N. Pollock, 66; Missouri; 64. 
Mrs. W. P. Pollock, 65; Missouri: 63. W. P. Pollock, 70: Pennsylvania; 
50. J. H. Russell, 74; Missouri: 51. Mrs. J. A. Slifer, 57; Missouri: 57. 
Mrs. William Sweeney, 74; Missouri; 74. William Sweeney, 75; Mis- 
souri; 75. Mrs. M. L. Taylor, 86; Missouri; 69. J. M. Taylor, 84; Ten- 
nessee ; 60. Joe Taylor, 65 ; Missouri ; 65. George Taylor, 62 ; ^lis- 
souri; 62. Mrs. Isabelle Thompson, 81; Ohio; 67. F. N. Thompson, 
59; Missouri: 58. Mrs. I. M. Vance, 72; Illinois: 58. I. M. Vance, 
73; Ohio; 69. H. R. Warnick, 60: Missouri: 60. Mrs. J. W., Wright, 
71; Kentucky: 52. John Wantland, 66: Kentucky: 59. 

The foregoing names are naturally chiefly of those who live near 
Chilhowee. In the two townships where the first settlements were 
made, Cobb Rice is said to have resided longest in Columbus town- 
ship, having been born there and Airs. Lizzie Reese longest in lackson 
township. 



CHAPTER v.— ORGANIZATION AND OFFICERS. 

TERRITORY— STATE— COUNTY— TOWNSHIPS— COUNTY COURT BUSINESS— COUNTY 
SEAT— CIRCUIT CLERKS— CIRCUIT JUDGES— COMMON PLEAS JUDGES— CRIM- 
INAL JUDGES — COUNTY COURT JUDGES — SUPERVISORS AND JUSTICES — 
JUDGES — COLLECTORS — COUNTY CLERKS— CORONERS — PROSECUTING AT- 
TORNEYS—PUBLIC ADMINISTRATORS— PROBATE JUDGES — RECORDERS- 
REPRESENTATIVES — SCHOOL COMMISSIONERS— SHERIFFS — STATE SENA- 
TORS FROM JOHNSON COUNTY — SURVEYORS — TREASURERS — COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS' SAI^ARIES OR FEES. 

Territory. — That portion of "The District of Louisiana." composed 
of the country ceded by France to the United States, lying north of the 
33rd degree of north latitude, was organized as a territory of the United 
States by an Act of Congress approved March 24, 1804, and put under 
the jurisdiction of Louisiana Territory for governmental purposes. The 
"District of Louisiana" was changed to the "Territory of Louisiana" by 
Act of Congress approved March 3, 1805. The name of 'T^ouisiana Ter- 
ritory" was changed to "Missouri Territory" by Act of Congress ap- 
proved June 4, 1812. This act also provided for the government of 
said territory and established the seat of territorial government at St. 
Louis. 

State. — The state of Missouri was created by act of Congress, with 
certain conditions. These conditions were approved by the I^egislature 
of Missouri Territory, June 26, 1821, and August 10. 1821. President 
Monroe issued proclamation announcing the admission of Missouri to 
be completed. 

County. — Johnson county was organized by act of the Ceneral 
Assembly, December 13, 1834, out of Lafayette count}-, which at that 
time included all of what is now Lafa^^ette, Johnson and Henry counties, 
the northwest half of St. Clair, and a narrow strip on the east side of 
Bates and Cass counties, al)out 1,600,000 acres. Johnson countv Ixnm- 
(laries were as at present. 

.\t the organization of a county, il was cusiomai-y tor the gover- 
nor to ,-ip])oint a county court of three judges and a sheritt, and the 
count\- court would then aiiiioint the other officers. In lohu'^on cotintv's 



Illi.TOkY OF JOHXSON COUXTY 93 

case, Governor Dunklin had a preliminary election held to recommend 
persons for county judges and sheriff. The polls were at Columbus 
and Gallaher's Mill (on Clear Fork). About sixty votes were polled 
at Columbus and thirty at Gallaher's Mill, and Amos Horn, Robert W . 
Rankin and Uriel Murray were recommended as judges and Joseph 
Cockrell as sheriff". These men were then appointed by the governor. 

The first county court was held at the residence of Mrs. Rachel 
Houx, near Columbus, on April 13, 1835. Amos Horn was made presi- 
dent of the court; John H. Townsend, appointed clerk pro tempore: 
James Carmichael, appointed assessor, and court then "adjourned until 
court in course." which was the following May. 

Townships. — At the second court on IMay 4. 1835, Richard Hancock 
was appointed collector for the county, and the county was divided 
into four townships, Jackson. Washington, Jeff"erson and Madison. 

Jackson township extended fifteen miles east and twelve miles 
south from the northwest corner of the county, and included all of 
congressional townships 46 and 47. in ranges 17. 1%, and east three 
miles of 29. The site of Centerview town was in the southeast corner. 

Madison township lay exactly south of Jackson, and included town- 
ships 44 and 45. in the same ranges, being twelve miles north and 
south and fifteen miles east and west. The site of Chilhowee town 
was near the southwest corner. 

Jefferson township embraced the southeast part of the county imme- 
diately east of Madison, and aLso ran three miles further north, ft 
included townships 44 and 45 and the south half of 46. in ranges 24, 
25 and 26. It included the present site of W'arrensburg and nearly 
all of Knob Xoster. It was fifteen miles north and south by eighteen 
miles east and west. 

Washington township was the balance of the county, containing 
the north half of township 46. all of 47 and the south two miles of 48, 
in ranges 24. 25 and 26. It was eleven miles north and south by 
eighteen miles east and west. 

\\'. E. Cocke was appointed constable of Jackson township, and 
W. H. Anderson, constable of ^^'ashington township. S. Wliitsett was 
appointed surveyor. 

At the first election, August, 1835. in Jackson township. Moses 
Pinkston. Samuel Wilson and S. Rowdon were elected justices of tlie 
peace. 



94 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

In Jefferson township, Moses Owsley, Benjamin Snelling and James 
Harris were elected justices, and James McWilliams, constable. 

In Washington township, George McMahan and Joseph Robert- 
son were elected justices. 

In Madison township, William Conway and Hiram Helm were 
elected justices and Nicholas Turner, constable. 

County Court Business. — The first regular petition to the court 
was by J. B. Morrow to organize township 47, range 27, into a school 
district. This was granted by the court, July 16, 1835, and the town- 
ship was incorporated as Franklin school district No. 1. Robert Craig, 
Samuel Wilson and William Kincaid were appointed trustees. 

June 8, 1835, Prince L. Hudgins deposited in the clerk's office 
"the sum of five dollars, in order to obtain at the next county court 
a grocer's license for the purpose of retailing spirituous liquors in said 
county." 

P. L. Hudgins was also appointed commissioner to sell school 
lands, and August 4, 1835, his petition to sell section 16, township 47, 
range 26, was granted. 

llie first road overseer in the county was Joseph Di.xon, appointed 
in December, 1835. He was succeeded by William Flannery, William 
K. Reeves, James Borthick, and J. H. Evans. 

The first petition for a road was presented December 20, 1835, 
by William M. Kincaid. 

James Warren was appointed clerk of the court September 12, 

1835, to succeed John H. Townsend, who resigned. William Flannery 
was appointed constable of Jefferson township to succeed James McWil- 
liams, who resigned November 2, 1835. James Carmichael was allowed 
$1.50 a day for thirty-two days' work as assessor and Richard Han- 
cock presented his delinquent tax list amounting to $17.10. 

The foregoing is a synopsis of all the business of the county court 
for the first year. 

The first general election was held in August, 1836, when there 
was an election of governor, lieutenant governor. Legislature, mem- 
bers of Congress, sheriff and coroner. 

County Seat. — The county seat was located at Warrensburg in 

1836, and the first county court held there was at the residence of 
Henry Colbern, with Uriel Murray presiding. 

Warrensburg has continued the county seat so long that few know 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 95 

tliat it was originally estaljlished in Hazel Hill township and later at 
one time a regular campaign was opened to move it to Centerview. 

Judge Harvey Harrison, who came here in 1831, and died in 1890, 
gave the following account of the county seat location to Mr. W. E. 
Crissey in 1889: 

"In 1835 the county court appointed commissioners to select a 
site for the future county seat. The commissioners first selected a 
place about a mile west of where Judge William McMahan now lives. 
Some people had moved into the county and settled near Shanghai 
(or Cornelia) and these bitterly opposed the site selected because it 
was on one side of the center of the county. This commission 
reconsidered its work and selected the original site of the town of 
\\^arrensburg as being as near the geographical center of the county 
as it was possible to get it. The county then bought the land of 
the owners and laid out the town of Warrensburg, now known as Old 
Town and appointed James Carmichael, commissioner to sell the lots." 

In the campaign to move the county seat to Centerview, a news- 
paper was published in Holden especially to promote the move, and 
on August 14, 1872, the records of the county court show the following: 
George Washington, Elhanan Roop, and others ifiled 'the5r petition 
praying the court to submit to the voters at the next general election, 
November 5, 1872, the proposition "for the removal of the seat of 
justice of the county of Johnson from the town of AVarrensburg to 
the town of Centerview." It was taken under advisement till 1 p. m. 
Later in the day "George Washington, on behalf of the petitioners, 
withdrew the petition." 

From 1873 to 1877, the township system was in force and officers 
elected by the township did much of the work done by county officers, 
especially in the assessment, collection and disbursement of the revenue. 
But the county system was re-established and seems to be much pre- 
ferred. 

The following is a complete list of county officers. Since the Civil 
War, their township residence is also given. 

Assessors. — 1835, James Carmichael; 1836-1841, Robert Graham; 
1842, William Smith; 1843-47, Isham Reese; 1848-49, John G. Gibbons; 
1850-53, G. W. Houts; 1854-58, Newton Walker; 1859, Arthur Kirkpat- 
rick; 1860-1861, David W. Johnson; 1863-64, S. D. Foulke ; 1865, John 
Cheek; 1866-67, Daniel C. Quick, Rose Hill township: 1868, G." W. 



96 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Short; 1869-1872, ^^^ C. Rowland, Warrensburg township: 1873-77, town- 
ship system; 1877, Benjamin E. Lemmon, Warrensburg township; 1878- 
1882, W. R. Bowen, Post Oak township; 1882-1886. Robert I. Moses. 
Post Oak township; 1886-1890, W. M. Hamilton, Madison township; 1890- 
1894, Andrew S. Campbell, Madison township; 1894-1900, L. B. Thomas, 
Washington townsiiip : 1900-1908, T. J- Summers. \\'ashington town- 
ship; 1908-1916, Charles Gillilan, Columbus township: 1916, R. F. Boone, 
Simpson township. 

Circuit Clerks. — Circuit clerks and ex-officio recorders since 1836: 
1836-1840, James D. Warren; 1840-47. Z. T. Davis: 1848-1860, James 
McCown; 1861-63, no circuit court; 1861-64, S. P. Williams, Warrens- 
burg township: 1865-1870, Mel. U. Foster, W^arrensburg township; 
1871-73, C. C. Morrow, Warrensburg township; 1874-1881, H. S. Wither- 
spoon, Warrensburg township; 1882-1890, ^^^ K. Morrow, Warrens- 
burg township: 1890-98, John M. Caldwell, Jefferson township: 1898- 
1906, William H. Henshaw. Warrensburg township; 1906-1910, Eura 
J. McCormack, Montserrat township: 1910-1913. William H. Henshaw. 
Warrensburg township ; 1913-14. ^I. P. Moody, ^^'arrensln^-g townsiiip ; 
1914 to present. J. M. Caldwell. Warrensburg township. 

Circuit Judges.— 1835-1848, J. F. Ryland; 1849-1853. Henderson 
Young: 1854-55, William T. \\-ood ; 1856-58, Russell Hicks; 1859-1860, 
Robert G. Smart: 1861-62 no circuit court; 1863-67, J. A. S. Tutt ; 1868- 
1872, David McGaughey; 1873-76, Foster P. Wright ; 1877-1886, Noah M. 
Givan; 1886-1892, Charles W'. Sloan; 1892-98. ^^'iIliam \\'. Wood; 1898- 
1904. William L. Jarrett ; 1904-1910. Nick M. Bradley; 1910-16. Andrew 
A. Whitsett: 1916 to present. Ewing Cockrell. 

Ccvnmon Pleas Judges.— 1867, G. N. Elliott: 1868, to June 21. 1872. 
A. R. Conklin. 

Criminal Judges.— 1875-1880. \\". FI. H. Hill: 1880-1892. J. F. Ryland. 

County Court — Judges. — 1835. A. Florn. presiding; R. Rankin, U. 
Murray; 1836, U. Murray P. L. Hudgins. G. Gallaher; 1837. P. L. Hud- 
gins. U. Murray, George Gallaher; 1838, P. L. Hudgins, Uriel Murray, 
George Gallaher: 1839. Uriel Murray presiding. John Thornton. George 
Gallaher. P. L. Hudgins: 1840. Robert Graham. Uriel Alurray. John 
Price: 1841, Robert Graham. Uriel Murray. John Price; 1842. I'riel 
Murray. Jnlm Thorntim, Robert Graham. John Price; 1843-44, Uriel' 
Murray, Robert Graham. John Thornton; 1843-47. L'riel Murray. Rob- 
erl Graham, Jehn R(.l)inson; 1848, J. K. F.-irr, William Trajip, Jacob 
Knaus; 1849, Wm. Trapp. Jno. A. McSpaddcn. Jacob Kuans. J. K. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 97 

Farr; 1850-51, \\'m. Trapp, Jacob Knaus, John A. McSpadden; 1852- 
55, W'm. Trapp. W'm. Kirkpatrick, Joseph L. Gaut ; 1855, W'm. Trapp, 
Richard M. King, Wm. Kirkpatrick; 1856 to 1861, Wm. Trapp, Sam- 
uel Craig, J. K. Farr; 1862, W'm. Trapp, J. J. Welshans, J. K. Farr; 
1863, Wm. Trapp, J. J. Welshans, J. K. Farr; 1864, Wm. Trapp, J. J. 
Welshans, Harvey Harrison; 1865, Harvey Harrison (H. H.), J. J. 
Welshans (Wbg.), John Windsor (Jack.); 1866, Daniel Adams, 
(Wash.), John Windsor (Jack.), Thomas lams (Simp.); 1867-69, G. 
Will Houts (Wbg.), Daniel Adams (Wash.), John Windsor (Jack.); 
1870, G. Will Houts, Thomas lams (Simp.), John W^indsor; 1871, J. 
K. Farr (Wbg.), Thomas lams (Simp.), John Windsor (Jack.); 
1872, J. K. Farr (Wbg.), Thomas lams (Simp.), Geo. S. Walton 
(Mad.). 

Supervisors and Justices.— 1872-73 \Y. McClean (Wbg.), J. W. C. 
Hulse (Mad.), I. B. Smith. P. E. Gowdy (Wbg.). John Lay (Wash.), W. 
B. Ames. Thos. A. Marshall (P. O.), John Umstadt (Mad.), J. M. Wall 
(Jeff.), W. H. Crumbaugh (Chil.), Cyrus McDonald (Jack.), T. J. Cald- 
well (P. O.) ; 1872-1874, G. B. Mayes (Wash.). W. McMahan (H. H.). B. 
E. Morrow (Col.), G. Washington (Cent.). D. B. Reavis (King.); 1876, 
G. B. Mayes (Wash.), W. McMahan (H. H.), G. Umstadt (Mad.), Geo. 
AVashington (Cent.), D. B. Reavis (King); 1877, Geo. Washington 
(Cent.), J. Umstadt (Mad.), G. B. Mayes (Wash.), Wm. McMahan 
(H. H.), J. W. C. Hulse (Mad.). 

Judges.— 1878. W. McMahan (H. H.). J. B. Mayes (Wash.). J. Um- 
stadt (Mad.); 1879, W. McMahan (H. H.), J. B. Mayes (Wash.), Arch. 
G. Beard; 1880, W. C. A'lcClung (Mont.), C. H. Bothwell (R. H.), 
Wm. McMahan (H. H.) ; 1881, Wm. McMahan (H. H.), C. H. Both- 
well (R. H.), J. B. Mayes (Mont.); 1882-83, W. P. Hunt (A¥bg.), D. 
L. Sutherland (Jeft'.), R. T. Fryer (King.); 1884-85, W. P. Hunt 
(Wbg.), R. T. Fryer (King.), Sidney Jarvis (Jeff.); 1888, R. T. Fryer 
(King). Sidney Jarvis (Jeff.). H. Long (King.); 1888. Lsaiah 
Hanna (Mont.). H. Long (King.); 1890. William P. Gibson 
(King.). Isaiah Hanna (Mont.), Jas. A. Anderson (Col.); 1892. Isaiah 
Hanna (Mont.). Jas. A. Anderson (Col.); 1894. Jas. A. Anderson 
(Col.). Geo. R. Hindman (Chil.). Jas. A. Wingfield (Jeff.); 1896. W. 
H. Burford (P. O.). R. H. Tatlow (Mad.); 1898, Jas. A. Anderson 
(Col). W. H. Burford (P. O.). Robt. B. Graham (Cent.); 1900. P. 
D. Fitch (Mont.). Robt. B. Graham (Cent.); 1902. \Vm. A. Stephens 

(4) 



95 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

(P. O.), P. D- Fitch (Mont.), I. J. Farnsworth (R. H.) ; 1904, I. J. 
Farnsworth (R. H.), R- H. Wood (Simp.); 1906, R. H. (Wood.), 
Wm. B. Pemberton (Jack.); 1908, B. F. Summers (Wash.); Wm. B. 
Pembei-ton (Jack.); 1910, E. F. Tracy (H. H.), B. F. Sitmmers (Wash.); 
1912, Edw. S. Harte (Wash.); 1914, Edw. S. Harte (Wash.) C. C. 
Atkins (R. H.); 1916, T. L. Kimzey (Jeff.), C. C. Atkins (R. H.). 

Note. — From 1836 to 1872 the sheriff was also collector. From 
1873 to 1877 there were township collectors. 

Collectors. — 1835, Richard Hancock; 1877, Wm. P. Hunt (King.), 
appointed by county court; 1878 to 1880, W. P. Hunt, elected; 1880 to 
1884. S. P. Williams (Wbg.) ; 1884 to 1890, G. W. Lemmon (Wbg.) ; 1890 
to 1892, Wm. L. Embree (Wbg.); 1892 to 1896, E. T. Pennington 
(Wbg.); 1896 to 1900, Franklin Miller (Wbg.); 1900 to 1904, Robt. F. 
Gillum (Mont.); 1904 to 1910, M. C. Draper (Jeff'.); 1910 to 1918, 
Grover C. Gillum (Mont.). [Note.— From 1836 to 1872 the sheriff was 
also collector. From 1873 to 1877 there were township collectors.] 

County Clerks.— 1835. John H. Townsend; 1836 to 1840. J. D. War- 
ren; 1840, Dr. W. Calhoun; 1841 to 1847, Zachariah T. Davis; 1848 to 
1859, J. McCowan; 1860 to 1861, Marsh Foster. E. S. Foster (Wbg.); 
1862 to 1864, Emory S. Foster; 1865 to 1870, Geo. W. Houts 
(Wbg.); 1871 to 1873, S. P. Sparks (Wbg.); 1874 to 1882, R. B. Har- 
wood (P. O.); 1882 to 1894, Jno. M. Rice (Col.); 1894 to 1898, Geo. 
G. Valentine (King.); 1898 .to 1906, C. A. Boyles (Wbg.); 1906 to 
1914, J. R. Grinstead (P. O. ) ; 1914 to present, Theo. Hyatt (Wbg.). 

Coroners.— 1866-68, D. P. Bigger (Wbg.); 1868-72, A. W. Reese 
(Wbg.); 1872-74, C. W. Robinson (Wbg.); 1874-78, Geo. R. Hunt 
(Wbg.);1878-80, W. V. Smith (Wbg.); 1880, J. W. Wright (Wbg.); 
1881. T. J. Wright (Wbg.); 1881-85, W. V. Smith (Wbg.); 1885-90, 
James I. Anderson (Wbg.) 1890-92, L. F. Murray (Mad.) ; 1892-94, G. W. 
Bennett (King.); 1894-96, Dr. J. A. Houston (Wbg.); 1896-1900, Dr. 
L. M. Horn (Mad.); 1900-04, Dr. R. L. Bills (Chil.); 1904-06, Dr. G. L. 
Calloway (Wbg.); 1906-12, Thos. L. Bradley (Wbg.); 1912-16, Emery 
Thompson (Mad.); 1916 to present, S. A. Murray (Mad.). 

Prosecuting Attorneys.— 1870, John W. Brown; 1872, A. M. Geer 
(Wash.); 1874, A. W. Rogers (Wbg.); 1876, W. H. Brinker (Wbg.); 
1878, W. H. Brinker (Wbg.) ; 1880, Wm. H. Brinker (Wbg.) ; 1882, W. 
W. Wood (Wbg.) ; 1884, W. W. Wood (Wbg.) ; 1886, R. M. Robertson 
(Wbg.) ; 1888, J. W. Suddath (Wbg.) ; 1890, J. W. Suddath (Wbg.) ; 1892, 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 99 

T. C. Hornbuckle (Mad.); 1894, Frank B. Fulkerson (Alad.); 1896, Nick. 
M. Bradley (Wbg.) ; 1898, Nick .M. Bradley (Wbg.); 1900, Chas. E. 
Morrow (Wbg.); 1902. Chas. E. Morrow (Wbg.); 1904, Ewing Cock- 
rell (Wbg.); 1906, Ewing Cockrell (Wbg.): 1908, W. L. Chaney 
(Mad.); 1910. W. L. Chaney (Mad.); 1912. Walter C. McDonald 
(Wbg.); 1914. Waiter C. McDonald (Wbg.); 1916, Jas. R. Rotlnvell 
(Wbg.). 

Public Administrators.— 1856 to 1859. A. M. Perry; 1864-65, W. Zoll 
(Wbg.); 1868-1871, Josiah Smith (Jeff.); 1874-75, Joseph Logsdon 
(Wbg.) ; 1876-78. W. W. Wood (Wbg.) ; 1880-81, O. D. Hawkins (Wbg); 
1892. B. F. McCluney (Wbg.) ; 1896 to 1904, S. J. Caudle (Wbg.) ; 1904 to 
1916, A. M. Craig (Wash.); 1916, E. A. Williams (Wbg.). 

Probate Judges.— 1866 to 1870, G. Will Houts (Wbg.) ; 1871-1872, 
J. K. Farr (Wbg.); 1874 to 1890, W. L. Hornbuckle (H. H.); 1890 to 
1894, Robert N. Warnick (P. O.) ; 1894 to 1902, W. P. Gibson (Wbg.); 
1902 to 1910, C. A. Harrison (H. H.) ; 1910 to 1918, P. D. Fitch (Wbg.). 

Recorders.— 1866 to 1872, C. Snow (Wbg.) ; 1874 to 1882, J. R. Kelly 
(Col.); 1882 to 1886. G. W. Patton (Alad.); 1886 to 1890, W. A. Porter 
(Cent.); 1890 to 1896, Jerome B. Pemberton ( R. H.) ; 1896-98. Mary 

A. Pemberton (Whg.) : 1898 to 1902, E. D. Frost (H. H.); 1906 to 
1914, Jas. L. Robinson (AVbg.); 1914 to present, Chas. G. Goodnight 
(Mont.). 

Representatives.— 1836, Dr. J. M. Fulkerson; 1838. Dr. J. M. Fulker- 
son; 1840, Dr. J. M. Fulkerson; 1842, John Price; 1844, Nathaniel B. 
Holden; 1846, Nathaniel B. Holden ; 1848, J. B. Greer; 1850, Reuben 

B. Fulkerson; 1852, N. B. Holden; 1854, Logan Clark; 1856, Love S. 
Cornwell; 1858, Aikman Welch; 1860, Aikman Welch; 1862, G. W. 
Houts (Wbg.); 1864. G. W. Houts (Wbg.) (resigned), Thos. M. Houts 
(Wbg.); 1866. Wells H. Blodgett (Wbg.); 1868, Nicholas B. Klaine 
(Wbg.); 1870, W. F. Ralston (Mad.); 1872. Wm. P. Greenlee (Jeff.); 
1874. R. T. Fryer (King.); 1876, M. C. Draper (Jeff.), C. C. Tevis, 
(Mad.); 1878, Finis C. Farr (Wbg.), C. C. Tevis (Mad.); 1880. John 
P. Harmon (Mad.), Samuel P. Sparks (Wbg.), W. J. Workman 
(Wash.); 1882, John P. Harmon (Mad.). A. W. Rogers (Wbg.); 1884, 
T. J. Whitsett (Cent.); S. G. Kelly (W^^sh.); 1886. H. G. Conner 
(Mad.). S. G. Kelly (Wash.); 1888. H. B. Coleman (Mad.), S. G. 
Kelly (Wash.); 1890, Jas. H. Parker (Simp.), Robt. McLin (Mad.); 



lOO HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

1892. Geo. N. Hocker (P. O.); 1894, R. M. Robertson (Wbg.): 1896, 
Wm. M. Hamilton (Wbg.); 1898, Wm. M. Hamilton (Wbg.); 1900, 
Geo. S. Young (Mad.); 1902, Geo. S. Young (Mad.); 1904-1906-1908, 
Wallace Crossley (Wbg.); 1910, Alex C. Crank (Jack.); 1912-14, W. 
A. Stephens (Wbg.), Jas. O. Sutherland (Jeff.). 

School Commissioners.— 1853-55, M. Thompson; 1856-57, J. T. Gib- 
son ; 1858 to 1861, Z. T. Davis ; 1866, W. P. Parker ; 1868 to 1870 M. Henry 
Smith (Wbg.); 1871, G. H. Slack (Wbg.); 1872, W. T. DeWitt (Col.); 
1875, J. W. McGiven (Wbg.); 1877, A. VanAusdol (Jack.); 1879-80, J. 
W. McGiven (Wbg.); 1881, W. L. Berry (P. O.) 1881-85, W. L. Berry 
(P. O.) ; 1885-89, Robert L. Dunn (Wbg.) ; 1889-93, B. F. Pettis (Wbg.) ; 
1893-96, A. VanAusdol (Jack.) ; 1896, W. Selvidge (6 months) (^^■ash.) ; 
1902-11, W. L. Shipp (Cent.) ; 1911, R. H. Boston (R. H.). 

Sheriffs— 1835, J. Cockrell; 1836-1840, W. Smith; 1840-44, Isham 
Reese; 1844-48. John Price; 1848-52, Benj. W. Grover; 1852-56. Philip 
S. Houx; 1856-60, G. W. Houts; 1860-61. Jonathan Graves; 1862. Chas. 
E. Cunningham; 1863-64, A. M. Christian (Wbg.); 1865-67. Thos. ^^^ 
Williams (P. O.) ; 1868-70. B. F. Griffith (Wbg.); 1871, J. H. Smith. 
(Wbg.); 1872-76, O. D. Williams (Wbg.); 1876-80, Z. H. Emer- 
son (Wbg.); 1880-81, John A. Shaw (Mad.); 1882-86. Henry H. Rus- 
sell (H. H.); 1886-90, David M. Baker (Chil.); 1890-94. Wm. H. H. 
Collins (Simp.); 1894-96. W. S. Dunham (Mad.); 1896-1900, Robt. M. 
Lear (P. O.) ; 1900-04, Jas. H. Koch (Wbg.); 1904-08. H. H. Hudson 
(Jeff.); 1908-12. Robt. L. Faulconer (H. H.) ; 1912-16. J. \\-. Millar 
(Wbg.); 1916 to present, Jno. F. Norman (\\'bg. ). 

State Senators from Johnson County. — 1844-48, Dr. Wm. Calhoun; 
1852-56, Benj. W. Grover; 1858-62, M. C. Goodlet ; 1868, Wells H. 
Blodgett; 1888-92, S. P. Sparks; 1900-04. N. M. Bradley; 1912-16, Wallace 
Crossley. 

Surveyors.— 1836, G. Tibbs; 1838-41, J. Stirling; 1841, J. Gibbons; 
1842-43 N. B. Holden; 1844-50, Joseph L. Gaut ; 1850-51, J. G. Gibbons; 
1853-57, Amos M. Perry; 1857-63. John Craig; 1863-66. Geo. Gallaher 
(Wash.); 1866-68, Lott Coffman (Whs.): 1868-70. Jesse Trai)p (IT. 
H.); 1870-72, Geo. Gallaher (Wash.): 1872-76, Lott Coffman ( Wlig. ) : 
1876 to 1881. Jasper N. Ferguson (Jack.): 1888 to 1900. Geo. Gallaher 
(Wash.): 1900-08. Wm. H. Burford (P. O. ) : 1908-16. David Mohlcr 
(P. O.); 1916 to present, Jos. F. McGuire (Mont.L 

Treasurers.— 1835. P. L. Hudgins; 1836-44, John i-.vans: 1844-48. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY lOI 

J. S. Raynols; 1848-56, W. H. Anderson; 1856-63, W. S. Hume; 1863-66, 
b. W. Raid (Wbg.); 1866-68, J. H. Smith (Wbg.) ; 1868-72, G. S. 
Grover (Wbg.); 1872-76. Joseph P. Henshaw (Cent.); 1876-80, H. Y. 
Hughes (R. H.); 1880-84, Jas. K. Tyler (Grov.); 1884-88, Geo. R. 
Hunt (Wbg.); 1888-92. Robt. F. Dalton (Wbg.); 1892-96. Y. W. 
Whitsett (Wbg.); 1896 to 1900. Jno. B. Lampkin (King.); 1900-04, 
Henry H. Russell (Wbg.); 1904-08, Pleasant L. Ferguson (Mad.); 
1908-1914, Wm. E. Seamonds (Wbg.); 1915-16, Lida B. Seamonds 
(Wbg.); 1916 to present. R. L. Howard (Jack.). 

The following is a complete list of county officers with their sal- 
aries, or approximate fees : 

Assessor, fees about $3,300 gross: circuit clerk, $2,000; collector, 
fees about $5,000 gross; county clerk, fees ecjual $3,750 gross; county 
judges, $5 a day; probate judge, fees about $3,000 gross; prosecuting 
attorney, $2,500; public administrator, fees about $500; recorder, fees 
about $3,000 gross; representative, $5 a day. about $350; school super- 
intendent, $1,500; sheriff, fees al)Out $1,600 net; surveyor, fees about 
$400; treasurer, $1,500. Out of above "gross" fees all officers must pay 
their deputies or clerks. 

The county also participates in the election of the following officers 
(in addition to the regular state administration) ; Circuit judge. $3,200; 
state senator. $5 a day, about $350 for two years; United States repre- 
sentative, $7,500; United States senator, $7,500. 



CHAPTER VI.— RAILROADS. 

RELATION OF RAILROADS TO DEVELOPMENT OF WEST — CONSERVATISM OF A 
CENTURY AGO— RAILROAD CONVENTION AT ST. LOUIS IN 1836— ADOPTION 
OF RESOLUTIONS AFFECTING JOHNSON COUNTY— FIRST LOCOMOTIVE ON 
PACIFIC RAILROAD— FIRST RAILROADS IN MISSOURI— LEGISLATION AFFECT- 
ING JOHNSON COUNTY IN 1SS2— EXTENSION OF PACIFIC RAILROAD IN 1S65— 
OPPOSITION— INFLUENCE OF COLONEL B. W. GROVER. MAJOR N. B. HOLDEN. 
AND W. H. ANDERSON— BONDS— "THE QUARRY' SWITCH"— ST. LOUIS & SANTA 
FE— ST. LOUIS & SAN FRANCISCO— MISSOURI, KANSAS & TEXAS— CHICAGO, 
ROCK ISLAND & PACIFIC— "WILD-CATTING"— PROPOSED ROAD FROM WAR- 
RENSBURG TO MARSHALL. 

No single agent of modern ci\-iliation has had more to do witli 
the development of the west than the building of railroads. The 
question of transportation has always been an important one and 
while Missouri was better supplied with great national water ways 
along her borders and across the state, }'et we find that it was one of 
the first western states to agitate the question of railroad building. 

We, of this age, can hardly conceive of a people being so conserva- 
ti\e that considerably less than a century ago they regarded railroads 
as impossible, or at least impracticable. Yet as late as 1828, the school 
board of Lancaster. Ohio, replied as follows to some young men who 
asked for the use of the school house in which they desired to debate 
the railroad problem. ''You are welcome to use the school house to 
debate all proper questions in, l)Ut such things as railroads and tele- 
graphs are impossibilities and rank infidelit_\". There is nothing in the 
Word of God about them. If God had designed tliat his intelligent 
creatures should tra\el at the frightful speed of fifteen miles an hour, 
by steam, he would have foretold it through his liol\- prophets. It is 
a device of Satan to lead immortal souls down to hell." 

As early as 1836 a railroad convention was held at St. Louis. .\ 
committee consisting of Messrs. Rollins. Bates and (lamble was 
appointed to negotiate with Congress for grants of land lo aid proposed 
railroads. 

Resolutions were ;idoptcd; th;it it was expedient to ;ul(ipt measures 
for a railroad from St. Louis to i''avette and l>e\ond. also from St. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY IO3 

Louis, ill a southwestern direction, to the valley of Bellevue in \\ ash- 
ington county to traverse the rich mineral regions there and to extend 
through Cooper county to a point on the Missouri river in Jackson 
county. The proposed railroad to h^a^^ette was to cross the Missouri 
river at the town of St. Charles, and go through or within one mile of 
Warrenton, Danville. Fulton, and Columbia. 

The first locomotive west of the Mississippi river was operated on 
the Pacific railroad at St. Louis late in 1852. Three years later the 
Pacific railroad had almost reached Jefterson City. In 1861, when the 
Civil War broke out, it was built as far west as Sedalia. The first rail- 
road to reach the western boundary of the state was the Hannibal 
& St. Joseph which was completed to St. Joseph in 1859. However, 
the Pacific railroad was the first road that was in operation in the state, 
because as it was built westward from St. Louis it was put in operation 
as fast as it was completed and the terminal of an actively operated rail- 
road followed the construction gang, as it were, across the state to 
Kansas City. 

The state Legislature located the Pacific railroad through Johnson 
county in 1852, and shortly afterward the construction of this line 
was started westward from St. Louis. It was built as far west as 
Warrensburg in 1864. For about one year Warrensburg was the end 
of the division and also the terminus for about a year. This being the 
nearest railroad connection it was the shipping point over a wide scope 
of country during that time. Six or eight cars of merchandise per day 
were received here and twenty or more freight teams could frequently 
be seen hauling freight from the Warrensburg station to trading points 
farther west and south, including Clinton, Butler, Harrisonville, Nevada, 
Fort Scott, and other points. 

In 1865 the railroad was extended on west through Centerview, 
Holden and Kingsville and was completed to Kansas City, Missouri, 
in the fall of that year. 

Thus the Pacific railroad was the first railroad to be completed 
in Johnson county. Like all other railroad projects in the early days 
in the West, the question as to the location of this road aroused fierce 
opposition between the towns along different proposed routes. The 
question of the location of this road began to agitate the people as early 
as 1850. There was a fierce struggle which developed much animosity 
and bitterness. The fight was carried to the state Legislature to decide 



I04 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

wliether the road should be located where it now is, which was called 
the inland route or through the river counties north of the present 
route, which was called the river route. 

Col. B. W. Grover, of Warrensburg, who at the time was a mem- 
ber of the state senate, is perhaps entitled to more credit than any other 
man for giving Johnson county the Pacific railroad. Among others, the 
work of Major N. B. Holden, a member of the lower house, and W. H. 
Anderson was vigorous and effective. Mr. Anderson was the father of 
Dr. James I. Anderson. He made several trips to St. Louis for the road 
and helped much to get Col. Grover elected a director of the road. 
Col. Grover and Major Holden were both victims of the Civil War. 
Colonel Grover became a Union colonel and was mortally wounded 
at the battle of Lexington and died at St. Louis, October 30, 186L 
Major Holden was called from his bed and assassinated at his resi- 
dence in Warrensburg, September 21, 1862. 

Johnson county voted $50,000 bonds to have, the Pacific railroad 
built through this county but owing to the intensity of the struggle 
which the river counties made to get the railroad. Johnson county citi- 
zens subscribed to $100,000. This was necessary to complete the million 
dollars required to be subscribed by the counties of the state through 
which the railroad was to run. 

A branch locally called "The Quarry Switch" runs two miles north 
of Warrensburg to the Sandstone quarries. 

The Pacific railroad is now part of the Missouri Pacific system and 
is its main line between Kailsas City and St. Louis. 

The second railroad to be built in Johnson county was constructed 
under the name of the St. Louis & Santa Fe railroad. This road runs 
from Holden southwest through parts of Madison, Kingsville and Rose 
Hill townships, and through Harrisonville to Paola, Kansas. This 
road was built in 1870 and for a number of years was operated by 
the Missouri Pacific and is now a part of the M., K. iS: T. 

The next road to pass through Johnson county was the St. Louis 
& San Francisco railroad. This road passes through the southwestern 
corner of the county and Rose Hill is the only township which it 
intersects. It was liuilt in 1886. There are two stations on this line 
in Johnson county, Latour and Quick City. 

The next railroad was the Missouri, Kansas & Texas railro.id, 
which was built from Holden to the main line of the ^lissouri, Kansas 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY IO5 

& Texas at Bryson in Pettis count_v. This road runs in a south- 
easterly direction from Holden to Chilhowee and thence east through 
Leeton into Pettis county. It was built in 1895. It now joins the old 
St. Louis & Santa Fe railroad at Holden. Thus the Missouri, Kansas & 
Texas has a line across the county from east to west. Its stations in 
this county are Holden, Magnolia, Chilhowee, Leeton and Sutherland. 

The last railroad to be built in this county was the Chicago, Rock 
Island & Pacific which runs from St. Louis to Kansas City. This road 
enters the county on the west in the southern part of Kingsville town- 
ship and runs in an easterh' direction through the townships of Rose 
Hill, Chilhowee. Post Oak, and Jefferson, leaving the county in the lat- 
ter township, where it crosses into Henry county at Bowen. It was 
completed in 1906. Its stations are Medford. Denton, Chilhowee, Lee- 
ton and Bowen. 

This makes six railroad lines in the county. Of the fifteen townships 
in the county, ten of them are intersected 1)y one or more railroads 
and of the other townships not one is more than five miles from a 
railroad. 

Johnson county, like many other sections of the \\'est, had its epi- 
demic of railroad projects. In the days of railroad "wild-catting" there 
were many railroad rumors and railroad booms that never reached the 
stage of steel rails and many of them never even got as far as the 
preliminary survey. 

One of these projects seemed a probability. This was a railroad 
from W'arrensburg to Marshall, in Saline county. In 1870 Johnson 
county voted $100,000 for the construction of this road. The road 
was surveyed and graded from ^^'arrensburg northeast, for a distance 
of thirteen miles. It was then discovered that the balance of the money 
necessary to complete the construction of the road could not be raised 
and tlie project had to l)e abandoned. There was also $40,000 raised 
in the county l)y pri\-ate subscription. 

The old grade running down Post Oak creek and thence north- 
east along the north side of Blackwater bottom still remains and is a 
well-known landmark in that part of the county. At some places its 
cuts have been dammed and make fine ponds, and at one place in the 
bottom the public road runs on one of its fills. 



CHAPTER VII.— MILITARY. 

THE MORMON WAR— THE CIVIL WAR— TWO PHASES OF THE JIILITART HISTORY 
OP JOHNSON COUNTY: (1) JOHNSON COUNTY ORGANIZATIONS WITH THE 
MAIN UNION AND CONFEDERATE ARMIE.S — THE FIRST COMPANIES — CON- 
FEDERATE ORGANIZATIONS — UNION ORGANIZATIONS— (2) THE WAR IN 
JOHNSON COUNTY— BLACKENED POST MARKS FOUR SOLDIERS' GRAVES— 
SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 

The Mormon War. — The first record of Johnson county in war 
is one but little known. This was the "Mormon War." 

In 1831 the Latter Day Saints under what was claimed by their 
leader, Joseph Smith, as divine revelation began coming to Jackson 
county. There trouble arose between them and the other settlers, and 
they moved to Caldwell county. Trouble arose again and by 1838 
both sides were armed, and an anti-Mormon army of 450 men had 
come in from outside counties, and later Governor Boggs called out 
the state militia against them. Eventually, on October 30, 1838. eight- 
een of the Saints were killed or massacred by the militia, and the 
balance of the large and prosperous settlement in Caldwell county 
driven from the state. During this trouble Johnson county's participa- 
tion is shown in the following record copied from the Johnson county 
history of 1881, page 508: 

"In 1837, during the Mormon war in Missouri. Lieutenant Colonel 
Jehu Robinson commanded a battalion. James Warnick was captain. 
The following constitutes a list of his privates: William Thornton. 
Jerome B. Greer, Henry Hayes, Daniel Marr, Elmer Marr, William 
Marr, Joseph Di.xon, James Borthick, Charles Oglesby." 

The Civil War. — When the Civil War broke out all shades of opin- 
ion on union and secession could be found in Jolmsdii count}-. Lincoln 
well expressed it when he said, of the political situation at that time in 
Missouri, "It was a perplexing compound of Lnion and slavery, even 
for those who were for the union, to say nothing of those wiio were 
against it." There were "those who were for tJie union, witli but not 
without slavery; those for it without, but not with: those for it with 
or without, but preferred with: and those who were for it with or 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY IO7 

without, but preferred it without. Among these, again, was a sub- 
division of those who were for the gradual but not for immediate, and 
those who were for immediate, but not for gradual, extinction of slav- 
ery." The above fairly represented Johnson county at that time. 

At the election in February. 1861, to elect delegates to a state 
constitutional convention to declare Missouri's status in the union, the 
union sentiment prevailed and Aikman A\'elch of Johnson county was 
elected delegate. 

The military history of Johnson county during the Civil War is 
reallv divided into two parts: I. That of the organizations and men 
who enlisted in the regular armies and fought outside of Johnson 
county, and II. that of the war as it was fought by regular and irregu- 
lar organizations and individuals within Johnson county. 

I. Johnson County Organizations with the Main Union and 
Confederate Armies. 

The First Companies. — Early in 1861, Emory S. Foster organized 
a union company, and F. Af. Cockrell, a confederate one. 

Thomas A\'. Houts was first lieutenant of the Union company. They 
had no military clothing, and wore for a uniform black pants and red 
shirts, and came to be called the "Red Shirt Company." 

A remarkable condition existed in regard to these two companies. 
The following fact was personally stated to the writer by Captain 
George S. Grover, who was a member of Foster's company at the 
time, and also by Dan D. \Villiams, of Warrensburg, who was an eye- 
witness. Foster's company drilled on the east side of town, and Cock- 
rell's company on the west side, each preparing itself for the time when 
they would perhaps be in mortal combat with eacli other. At different 
times, Foster and his men went over and drilled with Cockrell and 
his company, and the latter came over and drilled with Foster and his 
company. ]\Ien who were fighting for principle and what they believed 
to be right could do tliis. ( It was this same spirit that after the war 
led the union colonel, T. T. Crittenden, and the confederate general, 
F. M. Cockrell, to become partners in the law practice.) 

Confederate Organizations. — Another confederate company was 
organized early in 1861. wliich was commanded by Lieutenants Barney 
Atkinson and William ]\IcCarty. and Captain King and then by O. A. 
\A'addell. A third confederate company was organized in June. 1861, 



108 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

by Captain H. Mize, at Holden, in response to Governor Jackson's 
call for state militia. B. Jeanes, Robert Pruitt and W. J. Lea were 
first, second and third lieutenants. It had fifty men. 

These three companies (Cockrell's, A\'addeirs and Mize's) in- 
eluded the bulk of all those that early went into the regular confederate 
service. These three companies were together in the battle of Car- 
thage, the camp and mobilization at Cowskin Prairie and the Ijattles of 
Wilson's Creek and Lexington. All went south then. 

Some of Cockrell's company were also men who enlisted under 
Colonel Elliott in February, 1862, fought in Elk Horn battle and then 
joined Company H. William H. Drue, the only Confederate now liv- 
ing in Hazel Hill township, was among this number. 

The lieutenants of Cockrell's company were: James Selby, 1st lieu- 
tenant, killed at Corinth, Mississippi: James Douglas. 2nd lieutenant, 
and Samuel Rice, 3rd lieutenant, all now dead. 

Waddell's company became Company "A", Fifth Missouri Regi- 
ment, and Cockrell's company, "H", Second Missouri Regiment. Both 
went east of the Mississippi river, and were in the Ijattles of Corinth, 
luka. Champion Hills, Big Black and were captured in the surrender 
of Vicksburg. July 4, 1863. 

After the surrender at Vicksburg and their sul)sequent exchange, 
the men in Company ".\"' (Waddell's company) divided and alwut half 
the men crossed the river and served the balance of the war umlcr ' 
General Marmaduke. and finally surrendered June 5, 1865. at Shreve- 
port. Louisiana. The remainder of the company and also Company 
"H" remained east of the river and served there till the end of the war. 
They were under Gen. Joe Johnston in his retreat liefore Sherman and 
the battles accompanying, in the bloody battles of h'ranklin and Nash- 
ville, and were finally captured at Fort Blakely, .\lal)ama, several days 
after Lee's surrender. l)ut before the news had readied them. 

l^he men in Captain Mize's company, after the\- went soulh from 
Lexington, were mustered out at Osceola and most of them then went 
into the confederate service under Col. Jcremiaii X'ardaman Cockreil, 
(a l)rother of F. M. Cockreil) and served there till the end of tiie war. 

In addition to the foregoing, there was another Confederate com- 
pany formed from Fayetteville and Columlnis neigliborhoods. wliicli 
afterwards consolidated with other companies. Mack .Vewlon was tlie 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY IO9 

captain and Charles Tracy and Thomas Tracy (uncles of Judge E. F. 
Tracy), lieutenants. 

Union Organizations. — March ,t, 1861, State Senator Benjamin W. 
Grover was conmiissioned by Gen. Nathaniel Lyon, lieutenant-colonel 
of the Johnson County Home Guards, the name then given to the 
volunteers, and authorized to recruit a regiment. He and James D. 
Eads, a Douglas Democrat, who had served in the Mexican War, can- 
vassed the county for volunteers and by May 1, 1861, had organized a 
full regiment with ten companies, nine from Johnson county and one 
from Pettis. Colonel Groxer was twice elected colonel, but declined 
each time on account of his lack of previous military experience, and 
Jacob Knaus was the first and James D. Eads the second colonel. 

The following are the ofTicers of this regiment (27th Mounted 
Infantry, Missouri Volunteers), the commanders of the companies and 
their locations in the county : 

]\Iajors, Emory S. Foster and ^^'illiam Beck. 

Quartermaster, Lieut. Thomas W. Houts (son of George W. 
Houts). 

Commissary, Lieut. John J. Welshans. I 

Adjutants, Lieut. George S. Grover and Samuel K. Hall. 

Surgeon, Dr. Logan Clark, of Sedalia. 

Assistant Surgeon, Dr. Hill, of Warrensburg. 

Chaplain, Rev. R. A. Foster. 

Company A, Grover township. Captain, Maguire ; Company B, 
S. C. Clear Fork, Captain. Lsaminger; Company C, Warrensburg, Cap- 
tain, 'SI. v. Foster; Company D, Kingsville, Captain, Duncan; Com- 
pany E, Grover township. Captains, Applegate, Turley ; Company F, 
Fayetteville, Captain, McCluney; Company G, Windsor, Captain, Cun- 
ningham; Company H, Cornelia, Captain, lams; Company L Chil- 
howee. Captain, Brown; Company J, Rose Hill. Captain, Taylor; Com- 
pany K, Sedalia, Captain, Parker. 

Lieutenants — (List of lieutenants follows, but cannot be arranged 
by companies) : Shanks, Box. Baird, Barnett, Gallaher, McCabe, Van 
Beek, Peak, Marr, Maguire, Hall, Starkey, Pease, W. L. Christian, 
Keaton, Smiley, A. W. Christian, Jewell, Daly. 

The regiment did active service in scouting between the Osage 
and ^lissouri rivers, had minor skirmishes and September 20, 1861, 
were captured at Lexington under Colonel ^lulligan and Gen. Sterling 



no HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Price, after an eight-days' battle. In the battle Colonel Grover and 
Captain McCluney were mortally wounded, and Captains Maguire. 
Duncan, Applegate and Parker also were wounded. Three hundred 
men of the regiment were in the battle, and only one hundred thirty 
surrendered, the rest being killed or wounded. 

After this battle, four of the companies under Capts. T. W. Houts, 
M. U. Foster, Maguire and Box, and Lieutenants Jewell. Peak. ^^'. L. 
and A. W. Christian, Marr, Maguire and Daly enlisted for three years 
in the Seventh Cavalry Missouri State Militia; part of them were at 
the battle of Lone Jack. Another detachment enlisted in the Fiftieth 
Enrolled Missouri Militia; another in Company A, Thirty-third Mis- 
souri Volunteers; others were on the plains in the Thirteenth and 
Fourteenth Missouri Cavalry under Captain Turley. Some served 
from the Cumberland to the Gulf for three years, came back to \X^v- 
rensburg and enlisted in Foster's Cavalry Battallion. 

(The editor's authority for the foregoing history of the Twenty- 
seventh Mounted Infantry, is Capt. George S. Grover, a son of Col. 
B. W. Grover, in the article "Civil War in Missouri," Missouri Histor- 
ical Review, Vol. 8, No. 1, October, 1913. Complete rosters of Cap- 
tain Mize's company from Holden is in the files of the Holden "Enter- 
prise" for February 1, 1906, and of Cockrell's company is in the Spring- 
field, Missouri, "Leader," for May 21, 1916, and also in the Warrensburg 
"Star-Journal" for December, 1915.) 

II. The War in Johnson County. — There was never any engage- 
ment of importance between the union and confederate armies in John- 
son county. Both armies were in this section at various times, and 
various commands and detachments of the union troops were here 
most of the time during the war. 

Gen. Sterling Price's army passed through Jnhnson county to Lex- 
ington and Colonel Grover, with his union command, retre.itcd to Lex- 
ington, which fell into the hands of General Price's army. 

Owing to the dix'ided sentiment in Johnson count\- and the prox- 
imity of the county to the Kansas border, with its hotlicd <if liitter con- 
tentions, much nuirder, pillage and dc\-astation \\;is conimitled in the 
cf)unt\- by men who rangcrl all tlie way from irresponsible criminals to 
soldiers in iItc regular military serxice. 'I'here were some minor mili- 
tary actions, but with not many men engaged. I'.ut nnich ]iroperty 
was destrovcd and stolen, in addition to the loss of life; m;in\- houses. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY III 

churches and school houses were burned, fences destro3-ed, and at the 
close of the war the county was in poor condition generally. 

]\Iost of the fighting in Johnson county was done by the Missouri 
State Militia and the bushwhackers. The enrolled militia did consid- 
erable elYective service, but they were only called into service occasion- 
ally and were not really trained or experienced soldiers. 

]\Iarch 8, 1862, Company A, Seventh Regiment Missouri State 
Militia, was mustered into service. The commissioned officers of this 
company were Capt. Thomas W. Houts, First Lieut. J. AI. Jewell, Sec- 
ond Lieutenant, Christian. About the 1st of February, 1862, Com- 
pany G, Seventh Regiment Missouri State Militia, was organized with 
the following ofificers: Captain, Melville L". Foster; first lieutenant, 
Dick Box, and second lieutenant, Sandy Law. These two companies 
played the most conspicuous part in the military operations which fol- 
lowed in this county. Emory S. Foster was the first major of the regi- 
ment and commanded both companies. 

The following is a list of the skirmishes and engagements in 
the county, as far as can be learned: 

1. In the eastern part of the county, between a squad of the Home 
Guards under Colonel Knaus, and a small detachment of Confederates. 
One of the first skirmishes. No casualties, if any, ever officially re- 
ported. 

2. About September L 1861. Union pickets south of Warrensburg 
fired on by Confederates, two killed. A few days later a Union man, Jake 
Sams, who resided near Holden, was taken prisoner by the Confeder- 
ates and no trace of him was ever found afterward. 

About this time General Price passed through this county on his 
way from Springfield to Lexington, with his command, which consisted 
of about twenty thousand men. 

3. On October 16, General Jim Lane, of Kansas, sacked Kingsville, 
killed eight men, confiscated several horses and other property, and 
burned several houses of Southern sympathisers. 

4. In November, 1861, a government train of ox wagons was cap- 
tured near ^^'arrensburg by the Confederates, recaptured by six hundred 
Federal cavalry from Sedalia. On their road to Fort Leavenworth with 
prisoners and cattle and Matt Hou.x with about a hundred men ambushed 
Federals near Blackwater church. Houx's men opened fire on advanced 
guard and then both the Federals and Confederates ran in opposite di- 



112, HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

rections. Federals reformed but could not find any trace of Houx or 
his men. 

5. In January, 1862, about two hundred of Jamison's men from 
Kansas, under Major Herrick, came to Holden, and with former Johnson 
county Union men for guides, burned forty or fifty homes of the most 
prominent Southern men in the western part of the county. The raid- 
ers carried everything they did not burn. About two days later about 
fifty of this command destroyed and carried ofif much property at Colum- 
bus. Captain Elliott, of Lafayette county, with his company and quite 
a number of Johnson county men, met this detachment and killed five and 
captured two. The Jayhawkers retreated, joined the main body under 
Major Herrick, and Captain Elliott retreated. The Kansans entered 
Columbus again and burned nearly every house in town. 

6. Early in 1862 ten or twelve men, formerly from Johnson county, 
came from Kansas, camped on Big creek, not far from Rose Hill, and 
were attacked by a small squad of men under Dr. Jones and two or three 
of them wounded. 

7. Twenty-four of Foster's men, under Lieutenant Christian, after 
a foraging trip in the northwestern part of the county, about five miles 
from Warrensburg near Ingal's Mill, were fired upon by concealed Con- 
federates and four wounded. 

8. An old gentleman, named Raker, of Chilhowee township, father 
of Capt. D. M. Raker, who later became sheriff of Johnson county, 
a man named Piper, seven miles southwest of Warrensburg, a Mr. 
Greenlet, in Warrensburg, were all killed by Foster's men. A man 
named Keene near Pittsville, killed by bushwhackers under Ross. 

9. Scouts under Captain Houts, captured Bill Stewart at Cornelia 
and decided to hang him, but some of the boys who were well acquainted 
with him used their influence in his behalf and the officer finally decided 
to take Stuart to camp. On the way he escaped and later became one 
of the most noted bushwhackers of that period. In 1864 Stuart was 
killed north of the Missouri river. 

10. A detail of Foster's men surroundeil a house where John 
Brinker and Frank Burgess were, a short distance south of A\'arrens- 
burg. Brinker and Burgess made a sudden dash, killed and wounded 
two of Foster's men and escaped. Foster's men burned the house and 
killed the owner for harboring Brinker and Burgess. 

11. A skirmish took place between Foster's command and the Con- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY I I3 

federates a few miles south of Centerview. Foster's men ambushed; 
Confederates escaped. Eight of the Federals wounded, two mortally. 

12. The Confederates planned to organize on a systematic basis to 
drive Federals out. They notified their friends in Johnson, Jackson and 
Lafayette counties to meet at Craig's old mill on Blackwater Creek, 
about ten miles northeast of Holden. 

Foster learned their plans and sent to Sedalia for reinforcements, 
and two companies of the First Iowa Cavalry reached Warrensburg 
about daylight of the very morning that the Confederates had planned 
to attack. Through some misunderstanding the Confederates did not 
all meet ; the attack was given up and they disbanded. 

Foster, with two hundred of his men and the Iowa troops, started 
out in search of the Confederates. He encountered the belated command 
of Colonel Parker with fifty-six Jackson county men. Colonel Parker 
immediately began a retreat and a running fight was kept up for a mile 
or so, when Colonel Parker's command scattered and most of them 
escaped. The Federals captured Colonel Parker and ten of his men, two 
of the Confederates and two Federals were killed and mortally wounded. 
In Colonel Parker's hasty retreat he was thrown from his horse and 
the Federals overtook him. He fell prone on the ground and played 
dead. Some of the Iowa soldiers came up and examined him. They 
rolled him over and looked for the wound that caused his death, but not 
even a drop of blood could be found. At this perplexing juncture one 
of them said, 'T think we'd better empty a load into him and finish the 
job. If he's not already dead that will help him along, and if he is 
dead it won't hurt him." This was enough for Parker. He bounded to 
his feet just in time to surrender alive. He was released in a few days, 
and a few months later was killed near Wellington, Lafayette county. 

Later Major Curley, of Sedalia, was transferred and took command 
of the Warrensburg post. He issued a proclamation calling on all the 
Confederates to come in and lay down their arms, promising them pro- 
tection. Many by this time were sick and tired of fighting and quite a 
number went to Warrensburg and took the oath of allegiance. This 
move met with strong condemnation of their former comrades and they 
became afraid and many left immediately for Illinois and elsewhere. 
Those who dropped out of the conflict on account of taking the oath of 
allegiance w-ere succeeded by others and local operations were kept up 
with as much intensity as ever. 



114 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

13. Shortly after this a Union man named \\'ilham Barton, who 
lived two miles west of Holden. was killed, then a man named Brown, 
who lived near Chilhowee, and had a son in Captain Hotits" company, 
was killed on his way to \\'arrensburg. A man named Potts, who had 
been in the confederate army. He had been captured and after being 
released started home. Two of Foster's men followed him and killed 
him near Devil's Branch, west of Warrensburg. 

14. Shortly after this Captain Houts, with forty men, encountered 
a party of Confederates northeast of Hazel Hill, one Confederate was 
killed. 

15. The following story of war-time days comes from Columbus 
township and is from the Johnson County history of 1881 : On the night 
of January 8, 1865, two men requested admission at the home of an 
old gentleman named Bedichek, near Columbus. Bedichek's daughter, 
a girl of nineteen, upon looking out the window, saw that the men were 
armed with double-barreled shotguns. They stated that they wanted 
to come in to get warm. The girl told them one might come in unarmed. 
He did so. After entering the house he found the old gentleman and 
the girl were the only inmates, and upon being told that they were, 
he drew a revolver and started to kill the old man. The latter seized 
the pistol with one hand and the girl drew a lieavy corn knife, which 
she had concealed 1)}' her side and struck the intruder several times, 
cutting off one of his ears and nearl_\- se\'ering his pistol hand. The 
intruder then tried to escape and the man on the outside came to the 
rescue. The girl met him at the door and drove him off with her corn- 
knife. Later in the night a couple of shots were fired through the 
window, but with no damage. Colonel Crittenden, who commanded 
the post, upon receiving the report of this girl's bra\-ery, presented her 
with a i-egulation Colt's revoher. The heroine of this occasion was 
Mary M. Bedichek. Later she married S. ^^■. Campbell. In 1879 she 
came into public notice by fasting forty-one days. 

During the last part of the Civil War the Union state troops and 
enrolled militia practically dominated the situation in Jdhnsdu cmmty. 
However, minor outbreaks and insignificant clashes fre(!iicntly occurred. 
May 5. 1865, Rill .Anderson, Arch Clemments and Dave Pool with about 
two hundred bushwhackers appeared in Kingsville and began firing on 
the inhabitants. The citizens tried unsuccessfully to defend themselves 
under Carit. Lcro\- C. Duncan and soon the bushwhackers had robbed 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON' COUNTY II5 

the inhabitants and burned the town. After the war had officially 
closed, April 9, 1865, man\- desperate characters in organized bands 
continued their guerilla warfare and terrorized this section of the state 
for some time. They came from both sides and seemingly had become 
accustomed to this method of living and were unwilling to return to 
ordinary civil life. The Jesse James gang and others came from these 
bands. 

On the other hand when Grant and Lee agreed upon the closing 
chapter of the great struggle, the real soldiers of both the Union and 
the Confederacy had had enough of war and returned to retrieve their 
lost fortunes and rebuild their homes. They were both anxious to make 
their county a safe place where life and property would be secure and 
civil authority supreme. It was through the combined efforts of these 
men. who had bravely fought on opposite sides for four years, that 
Johnson county eventually rid itself of those who had become outlaws. 
(See Chapter on Reign of Terror.) 

Of the marks of the Civil \\'ar and its remains in Johnson county 
today, nearly all have disappeared. Of the men who went into the 
armies but a handful are still living in the county. A full list as far as 
known is gi\en hereafter, under the chapters on the Grand Armv of the 
Republic and the Confederate Veterans. Of the material remains the 
writer has been able to find only a decayed post. Its story is best told 
b\' the following extracts from an article in the "Warrensburg Daily 
Star-Journal" of February 18, 1918, by James M. Shepherd. 

Blackened Post Marks Four Soldiers' Graves. — Remains of First 
Blackwater Bridge on Lexington Road Reminder of Price's Raid. — Just 
west of the bridge which spans Blackwater, on the road that leads from 
\\'arrensburg to Lexington, and only a few yards from the place where 
Post Oak empties into the mother stream, one may, by creeping down 
the steep bank, and peering into the water, see the top of a blackened 
post. The wood is old and decayed, for murky floods have flown over 
and around it for seventy years. It is a part of the pioneer liridge which 
spanned the stream. 

A few yards to the east traffic from the north thunders o\-er a steel 
bridge and gay parties pass in automobiles who never dream that hidden 
near are the remains of the old causeway wdiose blackened stump stands 
as a monument to the first four Johnson county boys wdio gave up their 



Il6 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

lives that the nation might Hve. Even the names of these martyred 
heroes liave lieen forgotten and perliaps their liones rest yet in the 
mold beside the blackened post, for their comrades left them where they 
fell and hastened on. For at the heels of the retreating Federals were 
the victorions hordes of General Price. 

'It was late in the summer of '61 that refugees from the South began 
to pour into Warrensburg. They all brought the same news. General 
Price with his army was marching victoriously through Missouri from 
Springfield, where he had defeated General Lyons at Wilson Creek. 
One evening couriers rode into Warrensburg with the news that the 
advance guard of the Southern army was camped near Chilhowee. There 
was quick action among the companies then stationed here. They 
were mustered and started on their retreat to Lexington wdiere Colonel 
Mulligan was in command. Just as the sun rose they arrived at Black- 
water bridge three miles north. This bridge was built of wood, and tim- 
bers of white oak sunk deep in the mud, upheld the framework and the 
floor. Surmounting the floor was another framework some twenty feet 
high with rafters and roofed with shingles. Taken altogether, it was 
a massive structure, all built of heavy timbers. 

After the little army of recruits had passed over the bridge, Colonel 
J^Iarshall decided it must be burned to stop the progress of the pursuing 
enemy. Torches were applied and the great structure was soon burn- 
ing. Colonel Marshall then ordered a company to stay at the bridge 
and defend it while the balance continued their long march north to 
Lexington. 

The smoke of the burning structure was seen rolling over the hills 
to the south by the advance guard of Price's army who hastened for- 
ward in order to save the bridge. They reached the bluff to the south 
of the bridge and saw the little company in the bottom beyond guard- 
ing their work of destruction. .\ rifle Idast swept the line of l)lue, and 
six men fell. Their comrades replied, firing into the dense underbrush 
which covered the blufif, with such vigor that the advance guard retired. 
But again advancing the rebels poured a deadly fire into the little com- 
pany who slowly retreated with their faces to the foe across the broad 
Blackwater bottom. But four of their men lay at the edge of the 
burning bridge. 

They had given their lives for their cause and ihey did not die in 
vain, for the bridge at I'lackwatcr burned to the water's edge and the 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 11/ 

soldiers of General Price were delayed many hours in their victorious 
march on Lexington. J. M. S. 

Spanish-American War. — In 1898. during the war between the United 
States and Spain, a company was organized at Warrensburg, which was 
mustered into the United States service at Jefferson Barracks, Missouri. 
May 12. 1898. as Company L. Fourth Regiment. This company, with 
other Missouri troops, was mobilized at Jefferson City, Missouri, where 
they remained until May 6, 1898. when they were transferred to Jeffer- 
son Barracks. Here they remained until after being mustered into the 
United States service, then they were at different camps until Novem- 
ber 8, 1898, when they proceeded by rail to Camp Churchman, two 
miles from Albany, Georgia. Here they remained until mustered out. 
March 3, 1899. 

The following is a list of the officers and men taken from the mus- 
ter roll: Captain Henry R Peed, journalist, 1st lieutenant; Charles E. 
DeGroft", photographer, ind lieutenant; G. E. Huggins. resigned, cadet; 
orderly sergeant. R. W. Selvidge, teacher; quartermaster-sergeant, C. 
L. Carter, comedian: sergeant. Frank Hyatt, clerk; Charles H. Palmer, 
clerk; Richard H. Gaines, miller; corporals. Oscar R. Stone, farmer; 
James Van Matre, journalist; Ralph W. Smith, farmer; William E. 
Pennington, clerk; Guy Graham, farmer: \\'esley B. L\'tell, farmer; 
musicians, Walter S. Stillwell, student: William C. Colver, artificer; 
Gns S. Shidenberger, painter. Privates, Frank Adams, farmer: Rolla 
J. Alexander, teacher; George W. Ashley, salesman ; Frank Baird, machin- 
ist : Fred \\'. Bertram, musician; Perry S. Braden, farmer; Rolla L. 
Blevins, farmer: Frederick Bradley, laborer: John E. Bradley, miner: 
William C. Cadey. farmer; Raymond C. Christopher, farmer: Charles 
E. Clay, farmer: Frederic G. Clements, clerk; Roscoe H. Clarey. laborer: 
Warren T. Courtney, farmer: John \\'. Donaldson, blacksmith: Earl 
Edwards, farmer; Walter C. Elliott clerk: \\'illiam H. Faulconer. l)aker: 
Paul P. Floyd, teamster; Benjamin Fry, farmer: John A. Fulks. farmer: 
Henry Funk, farmer; Frank L. Ferguson, teamster; Charles O. Gates, 
laborer; William H. Glenn, farmer; William F. Hayes, farmer; Clinton 
M. Hayes, farmer; Harry L. Hartman, laborer; George E. Heberling, 
laborer; Edward Holden, apprentice; Samuel H. Lindsey, stone mason: 
Hugh S. Longbnttom, farmer; George \\'. Mason, liricklayer ; ^^'illiam 
E. Mason, farmer: John j\I. McCutcheon. teacher: Archie McMahan, 
teacher: Frank C. ]\IcClellan. machinist: George A. Moyer. farmer: 



Il8 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Charles H. Xarron, laborer; Ivan Pickering, farmer; Willis Phillips, 
miner; Harry L. Platter, farmer; John H. Reeves, farmer; Duncan K. 
Shafer, farmer; ^^'illiam Smith, farmer; Robert M. Smith, farmer; Henry 
J. Smith, farmer; John H. Smith, farmer; James N. Smithson, clerk; 
Victor E. Short, lawyer; Archie T. Stewart, clerk; James W. Selvidge, 
printer; William F. Sutton, farmer; William O. Tackett, carpenter; 
George W. Tackett, machinist; Glenn S. Thompson, farmer; Martin 
E. Wood, farmer; Frank M. Wade, farmer; Edd A. Wolfif, farmer; 
John F. \A'illiams, farmer; John J. Goss. farmer; James W^ Andruss, 
moulder; Thomas L. Besley, moulder; Richard A\'eekly. 



CHAPTER VIIL— REIGN OF TERROR. 

JOHNSON COUNTY THE SCENIC OF LAWLESSNESS AND ORGANIZED CRIME— GEN- 
ERAL FRANK P. BLAIR — MEETING ON JUNE 1, 1866— "OLD BILL STEVENS"— 
MURDER OF DAVID SWEITZER— CALL MEETING AT COUNTY COURT HOUSE 
—ADDRESSES BY PROFESSOR BIGGER AND REVEREND J. W. NEWCOMB— 
COMMITTEE APPOINTED— ADOPTION OF RESOLUTIONS— THE VIGILANTES 
AT WORK— "DICK" SANDERS— "BILL" STEVENS— "JEFF" COLLINS — THOMAS 
STEVENS— "MORG" ANDREWS— HALL— THOMAS W. LITTLE— JAMES M. SIMS 
—THE cnilMITTEE-S WORK ENDED. 

Vigilantes. — F'ollowing the close of the Civil War, Johnson county 
became the scene of much lawlessness and what appeared to be organized 
crime. The law was apparently helpless to bring offenders to justice, 
^lurders and robberies were repeatedly committed. The offenders 
became generally known but were not punished. This lawlessness may 
have been carried on for the love of plunder and murder or by habit 
acquired by these desperadoes during the long period of the Civil War, 
or both. 

Apparently they had their own way for a time. They rode into 
business houses shooting articles of merchandise from the walls, sniffing 
lights out of people's houses with pistol shots, or shot promiscuously 
into public gatherings. Religious and political meetings we're ifre- 
quently broken up and the peaceable citizens were terrified generally. 

Opposition to this condition was aroused and encouraged at War- 
rensburg in June, 1866. on the occasion of a speecli delivered there 
by General Frank P. Blair. Blair was well known in Missouri as a 
brave and able Union soldier, and after the war was over he became 
one of the leaders in the struggle for the re-enfranchisement of South- 
erners and rehabilitation of the state. 

Blair was adxertised to speak at Warrensliurg June 1. 1866. A 
brush arbor was built just north of the court house where Blair was 
expected to speak. TIic extremists among the Union men hated Blair 
for the stand that he had taken and denounced him as a traitor It was 
anticipated for weeks before the meeting that there would be trouble 



I20 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

and bloodshed if Blair spoke in denunciation of the Radicals at War- 
rensburg. 

Blair arrived on the day advertised. A delegation of the more 
peace-loving citizens \'isited him at the old ^ling Hotel, and 
informed him that if he attempted to speak they feared that there would 
be bloodshed. He answered that he would talk "if they will let me 
live." 

At the place of meeting he was met by an enthusiastic audience, 
but among them were fifty or more of the opposition crowd, all armed, 
who expected to make trouble. This gang had had as their leader "Old 
Bill Stevens," a giant in stature and reputed to be a dangerous man. 
Blair in his typical forceful manner plunged into the arraignment of the 
Radical rule in Missouri. 

He had not gone far when "Old Bill Stevens" arose and called 
him a liar. Amid confusion Stevens was ejected. He came back, again 
called Blair a liar and was again put out. Meanwhile his son. Jim Stev- 
ens, had been knifed to death and another man nearly so, and with his 
dead son, followed by his gang, withdrew. General Blair continued and 
finished his speech at six o'clock, after having talked between fcnir and 
fi\-e hours. 

On February 2, \S()7. Daxid Sweitzer. a respected farmer who lived 
about eight miles north of W'arrensburg, was murdered and rolibed in 
his home among his family and friends by two men who though par- 
tially disguised were easily recognized. This act seemed to have been 
the final one necessary to arouse the comnumity. The news of the 
murder reached town early the next morning. That day a meeting 
was held at the court house, at which about four hundred of the leading 
citizens were present. They proceeded in a cool, dignified, parlia- 
mentary manner. Colonel Isaminger was elected temporary chairman 
and N. B. Klaine acted as secretary of the meeting. 

Professor Bigger addressed the meeting and among other things 
said, "It is our duty to ferret out the nnirdcrers of our jieaceable citi- 
zen who has so lately been killed, and bring them to justice. * * * 
I am opposed to summary vengeance, but when law can not l)c enforcetl 
and the violators brought to justice, it is necessary for the people to 
take the matter in hand. The right of the people to take care of them- 
selves if the law does not is an indisputable right. \\'c must unite 
and put down lawlessness." 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 121 

The meeting was then addressed by Rev. J. \V. Newcomb, who 
said in part: "The meeting has my hearty approval. The sentiments 
expressed by Mr. Bigger are my own. 'He that draweth the sword 
shall perish by the sword," and as exemplified by this case, men who 
disregard law and order, have to be met on their own grounds. It is 
the duty of the people to protect one another and ferret out the offenders." 
Colonel Eads, General Shedd, J. AI. Shepiierd, General Cockrell and 
Colonel Elliott, men of all parties and \iews. also spoke and all endorsed 
the meeting. 

Major Davis, Colonel Eads, Captain Harmon and Colonel Elliott 
were appointed a committee and reported the following resolutions, 
which were adopted by unanimous vote, ex-ery one present rising to 
his feet in approval : 

"Whereas, in the opinion of the comnumil}-. crime of all kinds has 
become so prevalent and criminals of the worst type so numerous that 
life and property are unsafe, and 

"Whereas, the courts of the county have failed to luring the perpe- 
trators of the murders and robberies to justice, and 

"Whereas, the greatest of crimes are becoming more and more fre- 
quent and punishment less and less certain, therefore 

Resolved, that we, the people of the town of Warrensburg, and of 
the county of Johnson, without distinction of party, do pledge our- 
selves that we w'ill, to the extent of our ability, assist in the discovery 
of the perpetrators of all murders and robberies, and will assist the 
officers of justice in detecting and punishing them ; and as the civil 
law proves inadequate to bring such criminals to justice, therefore 

"Resolved, that we will support a vigilance committee in executing 
summarily, all murderers, robljers. horse-thieves. where\er t'ney can be 
identified with certaint}-, lielie\ing, as we do. that self-preser\-ation is 
the first law of nature, and that the citizens of a county are justified 
in administering justice to such criminal, wherever the duly constituted 
authorities from any cause whatever, are unable or fail to do so." 

The vigilance committee began at the top and the first desperado 
whom the}' dealt with was the notorious "Dick" Sanders, the recognized 
leader of the band that murdered Sweitzer. A posse of about one hun- 
dred men went to Eayette\ille one niglit, where they were joined by 
a committee from that town and a delegation went to the Sanders 
house. After a short parley "Dick" Sanders and his brother, Br.'ickett 



122 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Sanders, surrendered. Another detachment of the posse of vigilantes 
captured anotiier desperado near Fayetteville that same night. The 
tln-ee outLiws were taken to a place in the woods about a mile north 
of the Sanders home on Honey creek. 

Here the main body of the vigilance committee were awaiting the 
arrival of the prisoners. It was about midnight. The committee elected 
a judge and proceeded in a systematic way to confront the prisoner 
with the accusations against him. 

"Dick" Sanders was brought forward, taking a position in front 
of the judge who addressed him as follows: "Richard Sanders, you 
are charged with one of the most infamous crimes known to law, not 
one but many. You are charged with murder and to make it still more 
infamous on your part and more horrible to a fine community I will 
add assassination." 

Sanders interrupted the judge, saying "It's a d lie." 

The judge, without noticing the interruption, continuetl; "You 
are charged with horse stealing; you are charged with murder and 
robbery, in the broadest sense of the word ; you are charged with being 
at the head of a band of murderers and marauders who have for years 
made Johnson county the scene of death and destruction. And to 
crown your long reign of infamy I charge you with being the murderer 
of David Sweitzer. You have again spilled blood without any just 
provocation. The man whom you assassinated came to you in confidence 
not suspecting your murderous intentions. He asked you what you 
wanted. You said 'your money and your life," and you shot him dead." 

"This was the story of Mrs. Groninger," said a man in the crowd. 

Sanders said that it was false and that Mrs. Groninger lied. 

"Mrs. Groninger didn't lie," said the judge coldly, "for tlie crimes 
you have committed you must die. If we turn you over to the civil 
authorities you will escape or by some of your comrades in infamy 
prove an alibi and be turned loose again upon society. If perchance 
you were tried, found guilty and sentenced to death by a civil court 
there would be a chance for you to escape justice or you would stand 
on the scaffold if found guilty and jest with the hangman, or I fear 
profane the name of God with your dying breath. This must not be. 

"^■ou must die in secret, tonight, now. It will save your mother 
the shame of a son dying on the scaffold and she can say. Tic was 
murdered, killed bv a mob." You are not the onl\- one. 



HISTORY OF JdllXSOX CdrN-lY I23 

"Many of your companions will follow and that soon. This last 
outrage is more than we can bear. Your crimes demand an extraordi- 
nary reparation. You have broken in the houses with arms in your 
hands; you have committed another murder. You must die here. 

"I now sentence you to hang by the neck until dead." 

The prisoner seemed stupefied and did not utter a word. He was 
placed upon a horse with the noose adjusted about his neck and the 
rope tied to a limb above. The judge again asked Sanders who killed 
Sweitzer and he replied. "I don't know. I think Morg Andrews." Some 
one in the crowd said, "Oh, hell, Dick ! Drive up the mule." The horse 
was driven from the prisoner and "Dick" Sanders swung into eternity. 
His brother and the other captive were released and the committee 
quietly dispersed. 

The outlaws met at the home of "Bill" Stevens the following night 
as near as can be ascertained and decided to lie low and cease operations 
for the time being. The Stevens home was about five miles southeast 
of Warrensburg. Stevens was the logical successor of the fallen chief. 
"Dick" Sanders, and was now the recognized leader of the gang. He 
was known as a "bad man" and always went heavily armed. 

The next important work for the committee was to get "liill" 
Stevens. They proposed to take no chances in a conflict with him and 
planned to kill him outright. 

Accordingly, about twenty men surrounded the Stevens house one 
night, each armed with a revolver and a double-barreled shotgun loaded 
with buckshot. They secreted themselves outside the house and there, 
quietly awaited dawn, and the appearance of Stevens. 

About daylight Stevens appeared unsuspectingly at the door in his 
shirt sleeves. The committee fired and Ste\'ens fell riddled with Inick- 
shot. He was taken into his house by members of his family and died 
about twelve o'clock that day. 

This work of the vigilance committee had now so terrified the other 
members of the gang that they left the country with the exception of 
a few of the more daring ones. With these the committee went on 
with its work. 

The next man taken was "Jeff" Collins, wdio made his head<|uarters 
in W'arrensburg. 

Some members of the committee became convinced that Collins 
was about to leave the countrv. Late in the afternoon Collins went to 



124 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

the house on Ming or South street, where lie temporarily made his 
home, and sliortiv afterward about fifteen or twenty men secreted them- 
selves around the house awaiting the exit of Collins. In a short time 
Collins stepped outside and discovered about twenty double-barreled 
shotguns leveled at his breast. The commander of the party said, "Jeff 
Collins, we want you. Surrender!" 

Collins was no coward, but he saw no escape. He raised his hands 
and said, "I surrender." 

The captain conmianfled: "Drop your pistols." 

Collins made a motion as though he were going to draw them from 
the scabbard wdien the captain commanded him: "Stop. Unbuckle 
your belt and drop them." Collins did as directed. The pistols dropped 
to the ground and the prisoner stood unarmed. 

That night the committee met in a livery stable that stood in the 
rear of the old Ming Hotel. Here they organized a court at about 
nine o'clock. The judge was seated on a stool in a stall and the jitry 
stood in a line across the floor of the livery stable. "Jefif" Collins, with 
his arms tightly liound behind him, was brought before this court for 
trial. The prisoner was cool and defiant. There appeared to be no 
positive i^roof of his ever having committed a murder, but circumstances 
and his general reputation were all against him. The accusation of 
the judge was similar to that Ijrought against Sanders with the excep- 
tion of the Sweitzer murder. 

At the conclusion Collins simply replied. "Well." 

The judge then continued, "You are charged with being a member 
of a band of robbers that have for so long infested this country." Col- 
lins' only reply was, "Well." 

The judge continued, "What have you to say in defense of these 
charges ?" 

"Nothing." 

"Are you guilty as charged?" 

"You are the judge, not I." 

"Then you have no defense to make." 

"No, it would be of no use. Your covn-t sits to convict, not to try." 

"Confess your crimes and it may not go hard with you." 

"I confess nothing." 

The judge then addressed the jin\': "Cicntlemen. what shall be done 
with the i)risoner?" 

The jury rejjlied unanimously, "Hang him." 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 1 25 

Tlie court then said: "Jeff C\)llins, I sentence you to l)e liansjed 
by the neck until dead." 

The party then started with the prisoner, leading him with a rope, 
out East Culton street to McGuire, then soutli along the railroad bridge 
to a black jack tree, where Collins was lianged. 

Before the final word was gi\en the judge asked liim if he had any- 
thing to say. His answer was, "\'es; tell my mother that I died a l)ra\-e 
but innocent boy." 

The next two individuals to fall into the hands of the committee 
were Thomas Stevens, son of "Bill" Stevens, and Morg Andrews. The 
authorities of Johnson county were informed that these two men were 
in jail at Lawrence. Kansas, and sent for them. They were delivered 
to the officers, the governor of Kansas having honored requisition 
papers of the governor of Missouri. The prisoners were both young 
men, about eighteen years of age. 

The train, in charge of the officers, which brought the prisoners 
to Warrensburg was met at the depot by probalily four hundrefl men. 
most of whom were from the \-icinity of Fayetteville. .\fter the officers 
had taken their prisoners from the train they started for the county jail 
by a circuitous route as they anticipated trouble. They had not gone 
far, however, when they were confronted by about fifty armed men. 
who overpowered the officers and took charge of the prisoners. 

The committee then assembled on the north and east sides of the 
public square. The prisoners were placed in a carriage or hack, the 
committee formed in line and the procession moved in the direction of 
Post Oak bridge out Gay street. In the vicinity of the bridge was a 
large elm tree, one limb of which extended across the road about thirty 
feet above. Two ropes were suspended from this limb, and hung down 
to within about six feet of the ground. 

The hack containing the prisoners was dri\-en under these ropes. 
Andrews begged for mercy and his life. Ste\'ens gazed cooll}- and 
unflinchingly at his surroundings. 

A man stepped from the crowd and preferred charges against 
the prisoners. He said, "You were with the party that killed and 
robbed Sweitzer; your comrades are disappearing one b}- one. You 
go tonight: your last hour has cnmc. Prepare for death. If you have 
a prayer to offer to your God, pra}-." 

Stevens stood erect and answered in a firm but boyish voice, saying: 
"I have never in all my life spilled a drop of human blood. The charge 



126 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

of my killing Sweitzer is false. I know that you are going to kill me 
and there is no use in my wasting your time in talking." He then 
quietly drew a small purse from his pocket which contained a few pieces 
of money and a few trinkets and asked: "Is there one man in this crowd 
who will do me the kindness to deliver this to my young sister. It is 
small but all I have." A man stepped forward and took it and promised 
to deliver it. "Tell her," said Stevens, "to accept this from her brother 
who dies an innocent boy. You will find her in the city." 

The rope was then adjusted about his neck and the driver ordered to 
drive forward, but Stevens anticipating this, sprang from where he 
stood, the force of the jump caused his neck to be broken. He died 
instantly. 

Andrews' nerve failed him and he begged for mercy. But the 
noose was adjusted, the command given to the driver to move forward, 
and soon the lifeless body of Andrews also swung over the highway. 

The ne.xt o])eration of the committee was the hanging of a man 
named Hall. This was done by the Fayetteville committee. Details 
are lacking in this case, but it appears that Hall was arrested and con- 
fessed to the killing of several men and the Fayetteville vigilance 
committee did the rest. 

'J'he committee was next heard from in the case of Thomas W. 
Little at W'arrensburg. The charge against him was that someone had 
been robbed near Post Oak bridge. Little was tried by the committee 
and ac(|uitted, there being no evidence against him. However, it appears 
that he was held in jail. 

A few nights afterward, the committee tried him again in a billiard 
hall in Old Town. Several prominent men from Dover were present 
and established a complete alibi for the prisoner. The committee voted 
as to whether they should hang the accused or not and the vote stood 
three hundred forty-four for acquittal and twenty-eight for conviction. 

Notwithstanding the second acquittal of Little, about twenty men 
battered down the jail door that night, took Little out and hanged him 
to an elm tree on Main street. 

This hanging was denounced by the men who had been identified 
with the earlier activities of the vigilance coniniittce and it was well 
established tliat the regular committee had nothing to do with it. 

.\ short time after the hanging of Little, James M. Sims, an irre- 
sponsil)le youth, was accused of stealing a horse from a boy near Post 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 12/ 

Oak bridge. Sims was captured southeast of Clinton on the Grand 
river. The officers having the prisoner in charge anticipated troul)le 
and tried to get their prisoner safely into Warrensburg, but were met 
at Smith's Mill on the west side of town by about fifty armed men. 
The prisoner was taken from the officers and hanged from a tree in. 
that vicinity. Sims was the ninth and last man executed.. 



CHAPTER IX.— PUBLIC SCHOOLS. 

PROGRESSIVE SPIRIT OF JOHNSON COUNTY— EARLY SCHOOLS— EARLY STT'DIES 
AND METHODS OP TEACHING— PRESENT STUDIES AND METHODS— RESULTS 
OF EARLY' AND PRESENT EDUCATION— SPECIAL HIGH SCHOOLS— RURAL 
HIGH SCHOOLS — THE ELM HIGH SCHOOL — FARMERS' (FAY'ETTEVILLE) 
HIGH SCHOOI^THE FIRST SCHOOL BOARD OF FAYETTEVILLE— THE JOHN- 
SON COUNTY' PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF TODAY'. 

The story of the beginning, struggles and achievements of the 
public schools of Johnson county, is not unlike that of the average 
progressive community of the West, ^^'hile the educational system 
of this county at times has met with discouraging conditions, the spirit 
of the people of Johnson county has been for better schools since the 
organization of the county, and they have gone on and improved when- 
ever possible. 

The spirit of the people was best shown nearly fifty years ago when 
they came forward and voted bonds to the extent of $173,000 to secure 
the Normal School. This was in 1871, only seven years after the close 
of the Civil \\'ar, and the county was still suffering from the wreck of 
those four years. That amount of indebtedness meant many times more 
than it would now. 

Early Schools. — For a number of years after the first settlement of 
this county was made, there was no such a thing as a public school 
maintained by public taxation. However, as the country was settled, 
the pioneers provided schools by what was known as the "Subscrip- 
tion School" system. The plan was to employ a teacher and each family 
who lived within a reasonable distance to pay a certain amount for 
each member of the family who attended school. The early teachers 
were generally men, or as tliey were known in those days, "school 
masters." Tlierc was no fixed standard as to their (|ualific;itions other 
than an ambition to teach school. But among these early teachers of 
Johnson county were many very well-qualified men, college graduates 
and those who were otherwise well educated. 

At first there were no distinct buildings for school purposes, and 
the first "sul)scrii)lioii schools" were held at tlie residence or lotr cabin 



HISTORY OF JOHXSON COUNTY I2g 

of some pioneer. It was not long, however, until the log school house 
began to make its appearance. In architectural design these primitive 
temples of knowledge did not differ materially from the average pioneer 
cabin of those days. They were usually built of hewn logs, with a 
fire-place at one end, with puncheon floors and usually a portion of one 
of the logs on the side of the building sawed out to admit light. There 
was no such a thing as a blackboard, and the benches were made of 
split logs, supported by wooden legs, driven into auger holes. We 
still have with us a number of Johnson county pioneers who attended 
school in the old log school houses. 

The following is a verbatim copy of an early Missouri teacher's 
contract and school rules made in 1836. (It was not in Johnson county, 
but conditions here were the same.) See "Warrensburg StandaiM- 
Herald," February 9. 1917. 

"The said Noland doth agree upon his part to teach a common 
school in a school house in the neighborhood of John H. Stone's. 
Branches taught : spelling, reading, writing and arithmetic. The term 
proposed to be taught is three months, or one quarter, containing sixty- 
five days, fi\e days in a week. The hours of school for commencing, at 
an hour by sun in the morning: dismiss at an hour by sun in the even- 
ing, and allow a reasonable time at the middle of each day for recreation. 

"Said Noland binds himself to keep good order in school to the 
best of his power and ability. If it should be the desire of the sub- 
scribers that the school be under the inspection of trustees, the teacher 
has no objection on his part. The trustees are to I;e three disinterested 
men, two chosen by employees and one by the teacher. 

"The subscribers on their part bind themselves by these presents 
to pay said Nolan two dollars per scholar per quarter at end of said 
quarter, which may be discharged in corn, pork, oats or beans, to be 
delivered at said Nolan's house that is to say, if paid in corn, on or 
before the first of November next ; or if the pork, on or before the 
first day of December next. Both articles will be recei\ed at the market 
price. The subscribers doth also bind themselves to furnish their schol- 
ars with necessary books and paper and to keep school house in good 
repair during said term. The school shall not consist of less than 
eighteen nor more than twenty-five scholars, and to commence the 
sixth day of June. 1836. In testimony whereof we have here set our 
hands this 31st dav of Mav. 1836." 

(5) 



130 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

SCHOOL RULES. 

"The ones that come first in the morning say first. No scholar 
will be allowed to swear or make use of any profane language. 

"There will not be allowed any singing, wrestling, quarreling or 
fighting among any of the scholars. 

"No scholar will be allowed to tag, nickname, or make fun of 
the clothing of any other scholar. 

"When any person not belonging to the school comes into the 
school house, the scholars will rise from their seats and make a gentle 
bow. 

"Large scholars will be allowed no more privileges than small ones. 

"The boys and girls will not be allowed to play together. 

"The scholars will not be allowed to cut or grease the benches. 

"There shall but one go out at a time without permission. No 
scholar will be allowed to go out more than twice liefore and twice 
after play-time, without permission. 

"M. D. Nolan." 

The following are literal copies, first of a receipt by Catherine I. 
Baker, teacher of Murray school, in Johnson county, in 1848, for lier 
salary of $42: and, second, of a report made by .\lfred Hocker, teacher 
of the same school, made in 1849. The originals of these papers, together 
with many other interesting early papers, now belong to Mr. Thomas 
Porter Murray, a relative of Uriel Murray, one of the first county 
judges, and for whom the school was named. They show the small 
amount of money paid the teachers, its source both in public and jirivate 
funds, as well as the simplicity of the whole transactions: 

"Received of Uriel Murray one of the trustees of Murray district, 
townshi]) 46, range 27, forty-two dollars in full for teaching a district 
school, this 7th August, 1848. Catherine T. Baker." 

"An account of a school taught by .Mfred Hocker. cpialified as the 
law directs in Murray destrict No. 1, townshi]) No. 46, r.ange No. 47, 
in the county of Johnson, state of Missouri, in the year 1849. for the 
term of six months (viz) : 

Amount of public money recei\cd $ .xvhO 

Number of children taught who reside in said destrict (was)__ 32 

Whole number of children taught at said school (was) 35 

At $5.no per scholar, amounting to $173.00 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY J3I 

Bv puljlic funds 53.60 



Pd. by private funds $121.40 

The Brandies Tauglit was English Ciramniar. Natural Pliilosopliy, As- 
tronomy, Arithmetic. Orthograpliy. Reading & Writing. Book used was 
Smith (S: Murrays Grammar, Comstocks Philosophy, Smith Smiley Ray 
& Fowlers .Arithmetics, W'ebsters spellers, McGuffeys Readers, &c. 
••18th Sept., 1849. Alfred Hocker, Teacher." 

In time the old log scliool house was succeeded by the more con- 
venient and commodious frame liuildings. and the subscription school 
became a thing of the past. Howe\'er, tlie public schools of Johnson 
county were not out of the struggling stage wdien the great Ci\il War 
came on and paralyzed the public school system of the state. Many 
schools in this county were suspended and a number of school houses 
in the county were burned In- invaders and irresponsible marauders. 

Upon the return of peace in 1865. attention was again turned to 
the building up and the Ijetterment of tiie schools and of education in 
general. School houses were rebuilt, where they had been rlestroyed. 
New school districts iiave been created and JTigii schools established 
in the principal towns of the county. 

Early Studies and Methods of Teaching. — The course of study in the 
first elementary schools varied largely with what the teacher was able 
to teach, but in general it was about as follows: 

Spelling; from a '•Speller," studies for several years. 

Reading: chieflv from '•Readers," with much grammar. 

Arithmetic : chiefly for the boys. 

United States History. 

Penmanship: sometimes taught by special ••writing schools." 

There was little or no geography, physiology or go\ernment. Music 
was also taught, largely by ••singing schools." Tlie writing and singing 
schools were separate schools, conducted Ijy men anrl women wiio were 
specialists in these branches. 

The above curriculum was extended almost indefinitely when there 
would be students in a community who wanted more education and 
they could find a teacher who could give it to them. The first uni- 
form course of study suggested for the public elementary schools of 



132 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

the State was that made by State Superintendent of Schools Edwin C. 
Davis. In a circular dated September 20. 1855, he provided for five 
classes, and the "Fifth or High Class" should, he said, be ready to 
"continue orthography, reading, writing, mental and written arithme- 
tic, English composition, declamation, English grammar, history and 
algebra. This class is now prepared to study, in addition to the above 
branches, chemistry, geology, mineralog}% geometry, surveying, rhetoric, 
intellectual philosophy, logic and astronomy." 

While such a course of study could not have been generally extended 
to the elementary schools, no doubt there were some schools that did 
study, to some degree, all these subjects. 

Early Methods. — The methods of instruction involved chiefly memo- 
rizing. Spelling, geography, and all other subjects were, as far as 
possible, learned by rote. Names of things to be learned were often 
grouped so that when recited aloud, they would have a swing to them, 
sometimes rhyme, and would be given in a sing-song. 

The school hours were "from sun to sun." The term was short, 
four months being the longest up to the Civil War, except that some- 
times the subscription schools would be three months' fall school and 
then an additional two months in the spring. 

Present Studies and Methods. — The development and changes in 
our public elementary schools have been: 

1. In the course of study: (a) In the elementary schools; a greatly 
increased amount of reading, both in and out of school, and both of 
general literature and also of collateral reading in connection with 
other studies. Every first-class country school is now required to have 
a library containing more volumes than could have been found in the 
early days in all the elementary schools of the state put together. 
(1)) In the high schools; a great increase in vocational subjects and 
training. 

2. In the methods of instruction: (a) In the elementary schools; 
the development of and ap])eal to the interest of the student in the 
work, instead of the rote system, (b) In the high schools: the adapta- 
tion of the school work to the student's individual character and talents. 

Results of Early and Present Education. — Our forefathers in this 
county had meager school facilities of all kinds. But their appreciation 
of them, together with the struggles they necessarily encountered in 



rflSTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 133 

their daily lives under pioneer conditions, resulted in an actual training 
of a high value. Further, on account of the very fact that the things 
they learned were so few, compared witii today, and that fewer things 
made up their whole lives, their judgment about these things and their 
"common sense" was probably better than ours today. 

Today any good high school graduate has more information than 
the college graduate of early days. By this knowledge he avoids much 
of the waste of all kinds, mental and material, due in the old days to 
ignorance, and can, and usually does, achieve far more material results. 

The writer believes that the next great step will be one that is 
already going on, and that is to train our children in actually doing 
things, instead of merely learning about things. 

How to convert the knowledge he acquires in the class room 
into actual results in his life, however, the student learns after he 
leaves school, and often very poorly, slowly and sometimes practically 
never at all. Our schools do not train the students in the actual getting 
of results, but only gives them the preliminary knowledge. 

Special High Schools. — The Jackson township high school at Elm 
is a pri\ate high school, and the Fayetteville high school was started 
by pri\-ate subscription. The history of these schools follow: 

Rural High Schools.— ( By Paul A\'. Osborne.) 

[Editor's Xote : This history is obtained through 'Sir. J. N. Hutchin- 
son, one of the scliool's active organizers, and Mr. Paul W. Osborne, 
its present principal, and is written by Mr. Osborne.] 

The rural high school will be one of the main educational institutions 
of the future. 

It is not possible for everyone to secure a college education but it 
is possible for everyone to secure a good high school etlucation. 

We have quite a few consolidated high schools in INIissouri and 
they are doing a great work. However, it is not always possible to 
vote consolidation, and where this condition prevails something must 
be done. It is not always possible to do what the peojile of Elm have 
done, but it goes to show what a few entJTUsiastic school workers can 
do if they try. AVe belie\-e that what Elm has done, any community 
can do if the people will just put their shoulders to the wheel. 

The Elm High School. — The Elm high school was organized in 
April, 1913. Two thousand dollars worth of stock was subscribed at 



134 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

twenty-five dollars per share, and a building committee appointed. This 
committee constructed the present two-room building and began school 
work the following September. 

The plan was to begin with the ninth grade and add an additional 
year's work each year until the school was doing four (4) years" high 
school work. 

The stockholders elected the following first board of directors: 
I. W. Phillips, J. N. Hutchinson, T. J. Haile, J. E. Snow, Urias Carlyle, 
and William Kephart. At a meeting of the directors, A. L. Burks was 
elected as teacher. A tuition fee of thirty dollars per year was agreed 
upon. 

The school opened with twenty-four students, twehe girls and 
twehe boys. 

The second year forty-two students were enrolled, with A. L. Burks 
as teacher. In the fall of this year a barn was built for the students' 
horses. 

C. O. Williams and his sister, Miss Pearl Williams, were the teach- 
ers the third year, and forty-eight students enrolled. 

The fourth year started with fifty-six (56) enrolled, with Paul W. 
Osborne as principal and Miss Pearl Williams as assistant. During 
this year, the full four (4) years' work was done. 

The first graduation was April 18, 1917, of nine girls and nine boys. 

The fifth year, 1917-18, Paul \W Osborne was re-elected principal 
and Miss Lee Druna ?liatt made assistant. The enrollment for this 
year was thirty-three {33). The entire enrollment for the five (5) 
years, is eighty-two (82) students. 

The university and normal allows the school fourteen units credit 
on work done. 

Farmers' (Fayetteville) High School.— ( By W . I.. Robbins.) 

[h'ditor's Note: Mr. Robbins is one of the active workers of Ha;'.el 
Hill township and for Hazel Hill township, and has done and is doing 
nuich for his community. He was one of the organizers of this school. J 

Consolidated District No. 3 is composed of four districts in lla/el 
Hill townsliip, — Salem, Coleman, Fayetteville. and Neflf districts. A 
meeting was held of the districts and there was cast an almost unanimous 
vote for consolidation, but later the two-thirds vote for bonds for 1)uild- 
ing failed, .\loncv to run the school, however, was voted. So ;i building 
was ])Ut up, for tcmporar_\- use, by a popular subscription of four hun- 



HISTORY (IF JOHNSON COUNTY 135 

dred dollars. School opened September. 1916. Another bond election 
was held December 24. 1916. and $6,000 liond issue was then voted, by 
two votes over two-thirds. 

The contract was let in the fall of 1917, and the building is now 
almost completed, costing about $8,000, $2,000 being from state aid. 
Pupils were enrolled the first year: forty-one are enrolled now. There 
are two teachers, an eight months" term, and a three years' course 
approved by the state. 

First Board. — George Young, president ; \\'. E. Allworth, vice- 
president : W. O. Redford, clerk; A. J. Dyer, treasurer; Joseph Roach 
and \\'. I. Robbins. all directors, h^irst teacher. R. G. Bigelow: present 
teachers. JMiss Bessie Day. principal; and Williams. 

The chief workers for the consolidation at first were Mrs. B. D. 
Schooling and JMrs. Charles Cobb, joined by present board and Mr. 
Robert J. Martin. The temporary building was from contributions by 
everybody, large and small, the first contribution of fifty dollars being 
from Mr. Martin. The merchants of Odessa and \\'arrensburg also 
assisted. 

The building is 30 by 64. divisible into three rooms, or can be 
used as a single assembly room with stage on one side. A basement is 
underneath the whole building. There are six acres of land. 

This is the first pul)lic. strictl}- rural, consolidation with a high school 
in the county. 

The Johnson County Public Schools of Today. 

( B}' R. H. Boston. Count\- Superintendent of Schools.) 

(Editor's Note: Air. Boston was born in Johnson county, of pio- 
neer parents; first taught school here twenty-two j-ears ago, was elected 
county superintendent in 1911, and has been re-elected ever since.) 

The public school system of Johnson county consists of 115 dis- 
tricts, each with one elementary school; two districts, each with one ele- 
mentary school and one two-year high school; si.x districts, each with 
one four-year high school, and from four to six elementary schools. 

The above elementary schools include for negroes, one in Warrens- 
burg, one in Holden. one in Centerview. one in Montserrat. one in Dis- 
trict 42 (Lynn in Simpson township), and one in District 71 (Murray in 
Columbus township). 

The school term is seven to eight months in the countrv. except one 



136 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

school has only six months. All town schools have nine months. The 
school hours are from 9 to 12 and 1 to 4, with tAvo 15 minute recess 
periods. 

The qualifications of the teachers raqge from third grade count)' cer- 
tificates to "90-hour" diplomas from the Normal School. About one- 
third of the teachers have county certificates and two-thirds have normal 
or university certificates. The salaries of teachers are from $35 to $70, 
in the country, with an average of $53. In the town grades they are from 
$40 to $50; in the high schools, from $60 to $100. The town superin- 
tendents receive from $900 to $1,800 a year. 

The course of study is the regular state course. It consists of read- 
ing and arithmetic from first to eighth grades ; geography, history and 
language work from third to eighth grades; nature study from third to 
si.xth grade, and agriculture in seventh and eighth grades; civil govern- 
ment in seventh and eighth grades. 

A complete list of the school houses of the county, their location in 
the township, enrollment of pupils, 1916-17, volumes in library, and name 
and address of clerk, is as follows: 

(Abbreviations: SW, southwest; SC, south central: SE, southeast; 
NW, northwest; NC. north central; NE, northeast; EC, east central: XC, 
north central; WC, west central: SC, south central.) 

Centerview Township. 

Name. Pupils. Libl-ary. Clerk. Address. 

Fulkerson 18 50 Willnir Hunter Centerview 

Centerview 90 200 E. P. Hering Centerview 

Houx 30 100 E. P. Hering Centerview 

Scroggs 13 75 E. P. Hering Centerview 

Glenwood 14 85 E. P. Hering Centerview 

Stony Point 14 100 E. P. Hering Centerview 

Gowan 27 75 E. P. Hering Centerview 

Briscoe 20 40 Thomas Dunn Centerview 

Chilhowee Tov^mship. 

C. Con. 2 Chilhowee 120 300 j. IT. Russoll. Jr Chilhowee 

EC. " 2 Rocky Point 21 70 j. 11. Russell. Jr Chilhowee 

WC. " 2 Carpenter 14 120 J. H. Russell. Jr. .--Chilliowce 



tion. 


Dlst. 


NX. 


82 


C. Con. 1 


NC. 


" 


EC. 


" 


SC. 


" 


SW. 


" 


WC. 


" 


SW. 


72 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 



m 



NC. 

NC. 

NE. 

NE. 

NC. 

NW. 

NW. 

S\V. 



68 
51 
56 
54 
75 
143 
67 
C4 



Old Chilhowee. 

Science Hill 

Hazel Mound __ 
Locust Grove- - 

Masonic Hall 

Barthick 

Magnolia 

Denton 

Carrington 



plls. Lllirary. Clerk. Address. 

13 50 J. H. Russell, Jr Chilhowee 

6 25 Harry Kilmer Chilhowee 

30 10 Chas. Hamilton Chilhowee 

21 50 O. Bird Warrensburg 

17 75 F. P. Cleland Centerview 

18 100 R. L. Raker Holden 

14 200 Geo. B. Graham Magnolia 

11 100 Frank Evans Denton 

Blairstown 



Columbus Township. 



C. 

NE. 
WC. 
EC. 

SE. 

NE. 

NW. 

SW. 

SW. 



85 
83 
87 
88 
84 
83 
89 



Columbus 31 

McCoy 14 

Cross Roads 22 

Shilo 13 

Waldon 11 

McCoy 14 

Highland 13 

Murray 20 

Preuss 20 



I'h Asa Hyatt Columbus 

SO R. W. Greenwell Columbus 

115 J. H. Fitzgerald Pittsville 

40 E. W. Henr)^ Centerview 

2z> Thompkins Rice-Warrensburg 

100 Mrs. Faust \\'ilson_Centerview 

50 H. C. Vance Odessa 

20 Henry Hilke Holden 

30 R. J. Cheatham Columbus 



Grover. 



C. 

NW. 

NE. 

NE. 

SC. 

EC. 

WC. 

SW. 

WC. 



18 
22 
21 
19 
20 
15 
16 
17 
129 



Lowland 18 

Oak Ridge 14 

County Line 30 

Woodland 18 

Cana 16 

Brush Hill 21 

Sunny Side 20 

Hepsidam 35 

Maple Grove 12 



100 
250 



40 



F. Lebbencamp__Knob Noster 

D. A. Borgstadt Concordia 

Wm. Wolf rum Concordia 

C. E. Maddox Knob Noster 

J. E. Foster Knob Noster 

O. C. Forsythe Knob Noster 

R. N. Cox Knob Noster 

Chas. D. Hulse — Knob Noster 
Otto Baldwin Knob Noster 



Hazel Hill. 



NW. Con. 3 Farmers H. S. 41 300 

NW. Con. 3 Coleman 25 50 

WC. Con. 3 Salem 30 100 

NE. Con. 3 Neff 28 50 

EC. Con. 3 Favetteville _- i2 150 



W. O. Redford— Fayetteville 

W. O. Redford___Fayetteville 

W. O. Redford-__Fayetteville 

W. O. Redford___Fayetteville 

W. O. Redford_-_Favetteville 



138 




HISTORY 


OF J0HNS( 


Loca- 
tion. 


No. of 
Dist. 


Vols, in 
Name. Pupils. Library. 


SE. 


62 


Liberty 


14 100 


SE. 


63 


Walkei- 


22 250 


SW. 


64 


Green Door 


9 20 


SC. 


136 


Pleasant \ie\v- 


28 52 


SW. 


59 


Mt. Moriah 


14 100 



NW. 


119 


Liberty 


21 


100 


^^'c. 


121 


Basin Knob 


24 


75 


\vc. 


120 


Fair view 


22 


100 


c. 


106 


Elm 


31 


200 


NC. 


105 


Pleasant Grove.- 


29 


25 


NE. 


104 


Rockv Ford 


39 


200 


EC. 


107 


Pittsville 


30 


150 


SE. 


103 


Douglas 


24 


50 


SC. 


100 


Lincoln 


37 


200 


SW. 


117 


Lone Walnut 


15 


150 



W'. L. Newton Warrensburg 

D. R. Camron Warrensburg 

Joe Simmerman_W^arrensburg 

J. L. Hedges Warrensburg 

D. E. Hizer W^arrensburg 



Jackson Township. 

J. C. Wilkerson Bates City 

R. H. Carter Kingsville 

J. W. Phillips Kingsville 

S. W. Beali Kingsville 

A. R. Wollenberger.Pittsville 

Lloyd Helm Pittsville 

J. L. Patterson Pittsville 

C. M. Geltner Holden 

D. J. Connell Kingsville 

Calvin Hale Pleasant Hill 



Jefferson Township. 

1 Valley Grove 25 50 Eugene Herndon Leeton 

Pleasant Greene 26 75 Perrin Gibson Windsor 

Hillside 20 100 L. B. Sutherland Windsor 

Sunny Side 60 50 G. M. Flerndon Windsor 

Flardonia 16 J. L. Johnson Knob Noster 

Brushy 13 20 J. R. Stevens Knob Xoste'r 

Eldorado 20 50 F. D. Wolfe Green Ridge 

XW. 135 Crab Orchard.., 40 10 H. Sterling Leeton 



Kingsville Township. 

Sankey 9 125 .\lex Long Kingsville 

Everett 20 150 J. K. Denny Kingsville 

Duncan 11 75 J. H. I'itzgcrald ..Kingsville 

Ralston 17 150 M. M. Council Kingsville 

116 Howard 17 20 Raymond Hill Kingsville 

Kingsville 120 300 l'".lmcr .\iigcl Kingsville 



wc. 


1 


EC. 


2 


SE. 


3 


SW. 


4 


NW. 


5. 


NC. 


6 


NE. 


9 



1".C. 


95 


N F. 


101 


SW. 


111 


WC. 


115 


NW. 


116 


c. 


127 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY I39 

Madison Township. 

Loca- No. of Vols, in 

tion. Dist. Name. Pupils. Librair. Clerk. Address. 

SE. 74 King 24 150 R. L. King Holden 

\\'C. 95 Sankey 7 114 Alex Long Kingsville 

EC. 98 Flynn 16 50 C. H. Skerlock Holden 

NC. 99 Grant 41 150 B. H. Vaughn Holden 

NC. 102 Roberts 23 250 Chas. Christenson Holden 

C. 126 Holden __ _._ A. E. Mayhew Holden 

NE. 79 Round Grove ___ 16 150 Allen Roberts Holden 

Montserrat Township. 

SC. 12 Diamond Point _ 11 Airs. Edw. Rieber Knob Xoster 

SE. 30 Pleasant Point _ 20 150 Geo. W. Adams.Warrensburg 

S\\'. 31 Adams 16 75 \\". J. Kinsey __Warrensburg 

SW. 2,7 Dawson 18 100 Frank Haller __Warrensburg 

X'C. 38 Valley View 19 7S D. M. Hedges -__Montserrat 

C. 40 Alontserrat 9 50 C. M. Scroggs Montserrat 

C. 40 Alontserrat Col._ 20 C. AI. Scroggs Montserrat 

NC. 137 Oak Grove 30 150 C. M. Pfeffer Montserrat 

Rose Hill Township. 

Scaly Bark 24 120 M. A. Reed Holden 

Doak 29 150 J. C. Rab,er Holden 

Star 9 Blairstown 

Stout 20 100 A. Rehder Holden 

Cass 20 150 C. G. Voder Holden 

Pleasant Shade. 16 50 J. H. McDougal Holden 

Mt. Xenia 31 200 Roljt. Wtn Latour 

Rose Hill 25 115 Chas. Sheller Latour 

Latour 34 7S \V. A. Smith Latour 

Orr 16 10 B. D. McKay Kingsville 

Quick City 17 150 C. F. Lawson Blairstown 

Simpson Township. 

EC. 21 Valley City 21 50 P. M. Estes Knol) Xoster 

SW. 41 Mason 18 7-:< R. H. Wood. Jr. _Warrensburg 

C. 42 Lynn 22 50 W. R. Reynolds Warrensburg 

SE. 43 Victor 20 40 D. L. Jones Warrensburg 



c. 


90 


EC. 


91 


SE. 


4 


NC. 


93 


XE. 


96 


EC. 


97 


SW. 


108 


WC. 


109 


WC. 


110 


NW 


114 


SC. 


120 



I40 



Loca- No. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 
Vols, in 



NC. 44 Bowman 18 

NE. 45 Eureka 27 

S\V. 133 Foster 21 



30 Gustav Ferking Aullville 

100 Alven Zumbehl Aullville 

7^ Will Benton Warrensburg 



Warrensburg Township. 



SE. 


i2 


Valley 


14 


100 


J. W. Bowman 


-Warrensburg 


EC. 


36 


Union Prairie __ 


17 


150 


H. T- Sbuniate 


-Warrensburg 


SE 


39 


Grove 


10 


j- 


Miles Murphy _ 
J. C. Leary __. 


-Warrensburg 
-Warrensburg 


SC. 


55 


Oakland 


2>i 


150 


c. 


125 


Warrensburg 


__ 





L. C. Gore 


-Warrensburg 


NE. 


140 


Prairie View 


10 


25 


Frank Pick ___ 


.-Warrensburg 






Washingtoi 


n Township. 




SW. 


7 


Leniley 


30 


50 


Geo. Lyle 


.-Knob Noster 


SE. 


8 


Prairie Home __ 


17 


100 


F. S. Jarvis ... 


-Knob Noster 


NE. 


10 


Oak Grove 


14 


150 


W. F. Redd __. 


.-Knob Noster 


NC. 


11 


Brushville 


24 


50 


G. W. Knaus . 


-Knob Noster 


EC. 


13 


Pleasant Prairie. 


12 


100 


H. A. Werner . 


.-Knob Noster 


SC. 


14 


Woolery 


20 


200 


E. W. Brim ... 


.-Knob Noster 


c. 


124 


Knob Noster 


__ 





J. C. Metts — . 


.-Knob Noster 



School Attendance and Illiteracy. 
The following official statistics are from the United States cer 
for 1870 and 1910: 

1870. 
Attended School. 

Total 4.759 

Native 4,727 

I'oreign i2 

White- 
Male 2,357 

Female 2,231 

Colored — 

Male 82 

Female 89 

Cannot read. 10 and over 1,326 

Cannot write, total 1,668 

Native 1.577 





91 


White. 10 to 15 — 

Male _ 


63 




51 


White, 15 to 21— 

Male 


90 


Female 


67 


White. 21 and over — 
.Male 


297 


I'cniale 


361 


C-(4orcd, 10 to 15— 
Male 


z,-) 


I'cmale 


41 



Colored, 15 to 21 — 

Male 69 

Female 110 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

21 and over — 



Colored, 

Male 197 

Female 270 



Illiteracy, 1910. 
Illiterate Males of Voting Age. 

Total number illiterate 363 

Per cent, illiterate 4.7 

Per cent, in 1900 6.0 

Native white, number illiterate_206 
Per cent, illiterate 6.3 

Foreign-born white number il- 
literate 18 

Per cent, illiterate 2.9 

Negro, number illiterate 139 

Per cent, illiterate 35.4 

Persons 10 Years Old and Over. 

Total number 20,976 

Number illiterate 662 

Per cent, illiterate 3.2 

Native white, number 19,447 

Number illiterate 354 

Per cent, illiterate 1.8 

Foreign-born white, number 500 

Number illiterate 35 

Per cent, illiterate 7.0 

Negro, number 1,029 

Number illiterate 273 

Per cent, illiterate 26.5 

Persons 10 to 20 Years, Inclusive. 

Total number 5,885 

Number illiterate 36 

Per cent, illiterate 0.6 



School Age and Attendance. 

Total number. 6 to 20 years, 

inclusive 7,963 

Numl)er attending school _5,930 
Per cent, attending school _ 74.5 

Number 6 to 9 years 2,078 

Number attending school _1,738 

Number 10 to 14 years 2,721 

Number attending school _2,612 

Number 15 to 17 years 1,556 

Number attending school _1,119 

Number 18 to 20 years 1,608 

Number attending school _ 461 
Persons 6 to 14 Years, Inclusive. 

Total number 4,799 

Numl)er attending school _4,350 
Per cent, attending school _ 90.6 

Native white, native parent- 
age, number 4,356 

Number attending school _3,98C 
Per cent, attending school _ 91.4 

Native white, foreign or 

mixed parentage 223 

Number attending school _ 201 
Per cent, attending school _ 90.1 

Foreign-born white, number. 5 
Number attending school _ 1 

Negro, number 215 

Number attending school _ 168 
Per cent, attending school _ 78.1 



CHAPTER X.— STATE NORMAL SCHOOL. 
District No. 2. 

KFFOUTS TO ESTABMSH NORMAL SCHOOLS IN MISSOURI— ORIGIN OF THE WAR- 
RENSBURG STATE NORMAL SCHOOL— HOW THE NORMAL SCHOOL OPENED— 
THE NORMAL SCHOOL SINCE THE FIRE— OUTLINE OF COURSE IN DIDACTICS 
BY PRESIDENT BEARD: CULTURE, INSTRUCTION, MANAGEMENT— TRAINING 
SCHOOL — SUMMER SCHOOL — ACADEMIC DEPARTMENT — TECHNICAL DE- 
PARTMENT. 

It is said that the first normal scliool in tlie countr)- was opened 
July 3, 18.'>9, at Lexington, Massachusetts, upon a joint under- 
takinj;- of tile state and Timothy Dwiglit, a "merchant prince"; that by 
1854, four normal schools were endowed by Massachusetts and that 
she was followed by New York, Maine, Vermont, and by 1869 by a 
dozen other states. 

In Missouri, the official record of the efforts to cstaljlish normal 
schools, is briefly as follows; 

In 1842, State Superintendent of Schools James L. Minor called atten- 
tion In normal schools abroad, esi)ccially Holland and Prussia, and urged 
their establishment here as the best single agencv towards efficiency 
in the common schools. 

November 16, 1846, Superintendent Faidkland M. Martin called 
attention to "the prevalent opinion that a school for the education of 
young men to be employed hereafter as teachers would l)e of almost 
incalculable benefit to our common school system." 

December 30. 1850, Supcrinlcndent b.phraim 1',. b.wing (grand- 
father of the writer) called attention to ;i provision made in 184'', to 
establisi) ;i professorship of "Theory and Practice of Teaching" :it the 
State riii\ersil)-, and expressed the o])imon that the ]ilan would fail 
because prospective teachers would not go so far, uov ])Ut in as much 
time as was rciinired and urged that norm;ds be established nearer the 
people. 

e.x-ollicio superintendents. In 1854, a sejiarrite school .superintendent 
w-as again established, .-nid from that time on ;dl the superintendents 
urged the establishment of the normals. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY T43 

Origin of the Warrensburg State Normal School. — (By Capt. 
George S. Grover.) 

[Editor's Note: Captain Grover is a son of Col. Benj. W. Grover, 
who settled in Warrensburg in 1844 and who was one of the county's 
leaders till his death in 1861 at the Battle of Lexington. Captain 
Grover is one of the few now living of tlie leaders in the fight to estab- 
lish the normal school in Warrenslturg. and wliat he writes is of his 
own knowledge.] 

The public school systeni of \\'arrenslnn-g was reorganized imme- 
diately after the Civil ^^'ar. In 1869, a school board was elected, pledged 
to introduce modern methods of instruction, 'i'he new memliers were : 
Dr. A. W. Reese, president : Col. A. W. Rogers, Gen. Warren Shedd, 
and Capt. George S. Grover, secretary and treasurer. All these men 
were college graduates and Ci\il War veterans. Messrs. Rogers and 
Shedd were enthusiastic achocates of normal school training for teachers 
in the public schools. 

The new school board elected jMadison Baljcock superintendent of 
the public schools of Warrensburg. Mr. Babcock was a graduate of 
the Oswego, New York. Normal School. He secured as far as then 
possible normal school graduates for teachers in the Warrensburg pub- 
lic schools, and very soon introduced modern methods of teaching in 
them. 

At that time Capt. M. U. Foster and Col. Wells H. Blodgett were 
living in W'arrensburg. Captain Foster was then circuit clerk of John- 
son county and was a leading member of the Republican party, then 
in control of the state. Colonel Blodgett was also a prominent Repub- 
lican and was then a state senator from Johnson and Henry counties. 

At the earnest request of Messrs. Reese, Rogers, Shedd and Bab- 
cock, Messrs. Foster and Blodgett, after a careful study of the subject, 
prepared, and secured, the passage through the Legislature of Mis- 
souri of an act, approved March 20, 1870, authorizing the location and 
operation of normal schools in Missouri as state institutions. 

This excellent statute is the law in Missouri, at this time, practically 
unchanged, .^t that time (1870) a great and controlling sentiment was 
created in Johnson county in favor of state normal schools by active 
missionary work by Messrs. Reese, Rogers, Shedd, Babcock, Foster, 
and Blodgett. The question soon became non-partisan, and Capt. H. C. 
Fike, Major R. Baldwin, then editor and part proprietor of the "War- 



144 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

rensburg Standard," and John W. Brown, Republican, and Gen. F. M. 
Cockrell, Col. T. T. Crittenden, A. W. Ridings, and I. M. Cruce. all 
leading Democrats in Warrensburg, were active supporters of such 
schools. 

Maj. E. A. Xickerson, a leading Democrat in Warrensburg, became, 
after his arri\'al there, tlie personal legal ad\iser of Capt. AI. U. Foster. 

A state board of normal school regents was then appointed by the 
go\ernor to locate a normal school in central Missouri. Sedalia and 
Warrensburg became active competitors. Both offered substantial bond 
issues for the new school. The regents first decided in favor of Sedalia. 
Then Captain Foster made a thorough examination of the Sedalia offer 
and convinced the state board that there was a fatal defect in such 
offer. The board, therefore, rescinded its action, and located the school 
at \Varrensburg. Capt. M. U. Foster executed a deed to the new 
school of the land, twenty acres in extent, his chief possession, for a 
nominal sum, and on it the present normal school in Warrensburg 
now stands. 

Captain Foster, Messrs. Beard, Johonnot, Babcock, Reese, Rogers, 
Shedd, Baldwin, Ridings, Cruce, Cockrell, and Crittenden are no longer 
living. They have gone to their reward, and "their good works do follow 
them." Captain Fike, John W. Brown, H. T. Clark, and Maj. E. A. 
Nickerson are still living in \\'arrensburg. Col. W. H. Blodgett lives 
in St. Louis. 

May the future years be successful and prosperous for the State 
Normal School at Warrensburg, as well as for the beautiful city of 
that name, is the earnest wish and hope of the writer. 

How the Normad School Opened. — (By Mrs. Sarah J. Williams.) 

[Editor's Note: Mrs. Williams, with her husband, \. Martin 
Williams, came to Johnson count}' in 1869. Her husliantl was promi- 
nent in the newspaper field and politics of that time. Mrs. Williams, 
of unusual natural ability, became especially conversant with public 
.ilTairs. She was matron of the normal school from 1882 to 1886, and 
liijrarian and reference teacher from 1882 to 1897.] 

.\])ril 27, 1871, the normal school was finally located at Warrens- 
burg. \\';irrcnsburg received the news late nne evening. 'i"hc church 
bells were rung all night, bands played, bonfires were lightetl. and 
people, hundreds of them, beat tinpans or anxlhing they could find to 
beat that would make a noise. Fourteen davs after this the school was 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 145 

Opened in the Foster public school liuihling. May 10, 1870. The grounds 
upon which this building stands was also given by M. U. Foster, so 
let us always remember that, whatever his faults, Warrensburg is 
eternally indebted to him for its educational progress. Miss Sally Land, 
afterwards Mrs. Isaac Markward, paid $250 for the first incidental 
ticket. There were forty students in attendance the first day. George 
P. Beard was the president the first year. James Johonnot was elected 
the next year and ser\ed for three years. 

During the second year occurred the great grasshopper invasion 
of this part of the state and almost broke up the school. Professor 
Johonnot, out of his own purse, and with private help, established club 
rooms and cheap eating places to help the enterprise along. John the 
Baptist was said to have relished locusts, and the school gave a grass- 
hopper soup supper at fifty cents a plate in the old Fads Hotel, where 
Cohn's store now stands. The grasshopper soup was made by pulling 
the legs oS the hoppers and breaking the feet off at the knee, using 
only the hams of the hoppers for the soup. Roasted grasshoppers were 
also served. The proceeds of this supper went to help the students in 
the school until later in the summer the hoppers took their flight and 
good crops were raised. 

Professor Johonnot was in many respects a remarkable man. He 
brought the best methods of the East and organized the entire workings 
of the school, building for it a sure foundation. 

In June, 1872, the school moved into the new building, with only 
the lower floor finished, the rest not being completed for ten years. In 
1875, George L. Osborne was elected president. He came as a Chris- 
tian gentleman, an experienced educator, and won success where few 
could have succeeded. He was president twenty-four years, and to 
him belongs the honor of making the best normal school in the state. 

On Tuesday, May 16, 1871, the grounds for the building were sur- 
veyed and work soon began. August 16, 1871, the corner stone of 
the first building was laid. The occasion was celebrated with a big 
meeting, four bands, a long procession and impressive ceremonies. Among 
the speakers were William T. Harris, afterward United States superin- 
tendent of Education, and Norman J. Coleman, afterward the first secre- 
tary of agriculture, both Missourians. 

The first faculty consisted of George P. Beard, president; E. A. 
Angel and Miss Lucy Jane Maltby, instructors. Capt. H. C. Fike. 



146 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

now living, was treasurer of the first board of regents. On June 22, 
1871, Beard was re-elected for the ensuing year. 1871-72. Among the 
early teachers from 1872 to 1876 were Mrs. Mary V. Neet, Capt. W. F. 
Bahlman and Miss Ida M. Carhart, all now living. During the first ten 
years tlie school labored under great difficulties. 

The appropriations made by the Legislature were inadequate for 
the completion and proper equipment of the building and for the employ- 
ment of the needed teachers for a number of years. Yet in spite of 
tliese conditions, the attendance was good and steadily increased. The 
average attendance has been as follows: 1871 to 1881, three hundred and 
eighty-one: 1881 to 1891. five hundred and forty-two; 1891 to 1901. eight 
Inmdred and sixtv-five : 1901 to 1911, one thousand four hundred sixty: 
1915-1916, one thousand eight hundred forty-eight. The faculty has 
grown from three members, in 1871, to fifty-three, and has constantly 
increased in standard of scholarship and ability. It is now a member 
of the North Central Association of Colleges in the United States, and 
gives the degree of Bachelor of Pedagogy for four years' college work, 
which is recognized as the equivalent of the Bachelor's degrees of Chi- 
cago. Wisconsin, and the other colleges in the association. 

Seventy-two hundred and fifty men and women have been licensed 
bv the normal to teach in the public schools of Missouri. Of this num- 
ber, forty-one hundred and seventy-three have received their regents' 
certificate, a two-years' license to teach in Missouri. Twenty-nine hun- 
dred and eight have received diplomas, which give a life license to teach 
in tlie public schools of Missouri, and one hundred and sixty-nine have 
recei\c(l the rural school certificate. 

The presidents of the school have been George P. Beard. 1871-72: 
James Johonnot, 1872-73: George L. Osborne. 1875-98: George H. 
Howe. 1898-1901; E. B. Craighead, 1901-04; James R. Anient, 1904-06; 
W". J. Hawkins, 1906-1915; E. L. Hendricks. 1915. to present. 

In Tune. 1872, tlie first story of the main Imilding was ready for 
occupancv. However, the building as at first planned was completed 
in 1881. in 1885 and 1886 a wing was erected south of the center of 
the main l)nilding and connected with it by a corridor. .\ppro])rialions 
were made in 1S''5 for a Science building, in 10(1.> for a g-ynmasium 
and a new healing pl.-mt with a second story for the manual training 
department, and in l'.i()7 for a training school building, 'i'he gynmasium 
and training sclioi,! were built of \\'arrensbnrg sandstone. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 147 

The Normal School Since the Fire.— On March 6. 1915, occurred 
an event that showed what the normal school was really made of. Early 
that morning every building was destroyed by fire, except the gym- 
nasium and power plant. The following clipping from the "Normal 
Student" of March 9, 1918, on the third anniversary of the fire, tells 
what happened: 

"The enrollment of the normal school at this time was about 650. 
This mass of people, young men antl women, just as we are, were here 
for educational purposes and had no buildings to shelter them. What 
were the)' to do? 

"Bills were strewn throughout the town. Daily editions of news- 
papers were gotten out to arouse everybody. There were great mass 
meetings held for students, faculty, men and women and conferences 
of business and professional men of the city. A board of regents" meet- 
ing was called and held on the shortest of notice. 

"At these \arious meetings it was decided not to let the loss of 
buildings hinder or in anyway interfere with the progress of anyone 
concerned. Arrangements were made for all classes by Monday morn- 
ing at the beginning of the first hour and the fire was only Saturday 
morning. 

"Some predicted that the majority of students would leave and 
go home in a dav or two, that Warrensburg would be dead, and that 
some other town would raise a subscription toward the rebuilding of 
the buildings and get them there. They predicted that everything in 
general would lose its pep. These were the pessimists, a very small 
percentage. 

"The optimists who were large in number were the ones who did 
things. A student mass meeting was held at 2:30 p. m. the same day 
of the fire at which the students made resolutions to the effect that 
they were willing to help do their part, that they were not discouraged, 
and they s3'mpathized with the faculty, board of regents and people of 
Warrensburg. They recognized that the buildings did not make the 
school and that they were a small part of it. The students did help. 
They did their part conscientiously and energetically in keeping Normal 
No. 2 and Warrensburg alive. That is the reason the cause was won 
and that we students are here now." 

The Legislature then in session and its successor appropriated 



148 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

$305,000 at once for new buildings, and work began at once. The 
Training ScItooI building was rebuilt at once at a cost of $53,964.61. 
It is of stone and concrete throughout, has forced ventilation, hard- 
wood floors, slate blackboards, and sanitary drinking fountains on each 
floor. 

Science Hall was completed July 20. 1916, at a cost of $69,120.24. 
This building, like the new training school building, represents the 
best that is known to modern school architecture in construction, heat- 
ing, lighting and ventilation. It is devoted to agriculture, physical and 
biological science and home economics. The main, or Administration 
building, was ready for the opening of the school year. 1917-18. It 
is built of Carthage limestone and Warrensburg sandstone, at a cost of 
$168,042.72. The entire building is equipped with a modern combined 
heating and ventilating system. This building is occupied by the 
administrative offices, the Academic Department and the Library. The 
literary societies also have commodious quarters here. 

The Revised Statutes of 1899 declare the normal schools to be 
esta])lished to fit young men and young women to be 'competent teachers 
in the public schools of the state' (elementary schools and high schools). 
The dominant interest centers in that training which the school afifords 
to those preparing to be teachers. This school is especially organized 
for a professional work in its departments of psychology, pedagogy and 
the training school. 

"Academic and technical preparations must of a necessity, proceed 
along with or before professional instruction. The academic 
instruction of a normal school must be exact, though broad. The student 
of normal school is thoroughly grounded in the subjects he is to teach, 
and inore, his course must extend beyond the public school subjects, 
to give the broader outlook for sources of material and clearer insight 
into methods and means of investigation." 

The course of study when the school was first established was: 
Natural science, mathematics, elocution, vocal nui<ic, instrumental 
music, didactics. The latter was given by President Beard .-md consti- 
tuted the professional course and was outlined in detail as follows: 

Methods of Culture— Classification of mental powers: nature and 
office of each faculty: laws of development and discipline: methods of 
cultivating each faculty: normal science: methods of cultivating our moral 
nature: domestic and social culture. 



HISTORY OK .FOUNSOX COL'NTY 149 

Methods of Instruction — Principles of instruction; forms of instruc- 
tion: classification of knowledge; order of studying the branches; 
methods of teaching; history of methods antl biography of educators. 

School Management — Preparatory work ; school organization ; class 
management; school government; school authorities; science of govern- 
ment and ^Missouri school laws; school hygiene; teachers' institutes. 

Training School. — The training school, first designated as "Model 
Department," and commonly called "practice school," first embraced in 
Warrensburg public schools and was under Prof. J- J. Campbell, for 
many years the beloved head of the English department. This did not 
prove satisfactory and was discontinued, a training school in connection 
with the normal established and it also discontinued, and the school 
finally established in 1881-82. 

Summer School. — The summer school was organized in 1896. as 
a sort of private enterprise until 1901. when an appropriation was made 
for it. Since then, it has grown until now its enrollment much exceeds 
that of any other period of the year. It is composed of the highest 
class students, chiefly teachers of experience taking ad\anced work. In 
1916-17, tliere were 300 students taking senior college work. 

The present departments of the school are grouped as two, the 
Academic and Dei)artment of Technical Subjects. The following is a 
complete list of the subjects in each department with the amount of 
college courses given under them, measured in hours. A course of five 
hours means a course in wdiich five hours of lecture or class-room instruc- 
tion is given for a period of half a school year. After a student has 
graduated from a first-class high school. 120 hours of such college work 
is required in the leading unixersities and in the normal for the Bache- 
lor's degree; 60 hours is rec|uired for the diploma, conferring life-time 
license to teach in the Missouri public schools: 

Academic Department. 

Agriculture, physiography and geography 32}^ hours 

Biology 20 hours 

Chemistry, physiology and hygiene 20 hours 

Economics 22J^ hours 

Education 42_i/2 hours 

English 80 hours 

French 22^ hours 

German 38-;4 hours 



150 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

History 50 hours 

Latin 35 liours 

Alatheniatics 32y2 hours 

Physics 22y2 hours 

Training school 45 liours 

Total -l-63-'4 hours 

Department of Technical Subjects. 

Commerce 2314 hours 

Fine arts 32y2 hours 

Home economics 37y2 hours 

Industrial arts 51 '4 hours 

Music 43;'4 hours 

Physical education \2y hours 

Total 200-;4 hours 

The Agricultural Department emphasizes the raising of dairy stock, 
hogs and poultry. I'his department is well equipped in the class room 
and on the farm. There is close co-operation with the State College 
of Agriculture in carrying on co-operati\'e demonstration i)lats of alfalfa, 
corn, wheat, oats, forage crops for hogs and ornamental and fruit 
planting. 

The normal demonstration farm, which is located within a short 
distance from the campus, consists of thirty-six acres, which are owned 
liy the state, hesides sixty acres which the state rents. This farm is 
well adai)ted to experimental and demonstration work and it is fairly 
equipped with farm machinery for crop production. The general fields 
are used to illustrate the methods of crop production that shouhl exist 
in the vicinity of Warrensburg, 



CHAPTER XL— COUNTY FINANCES. 

CONSERVATIVE JIANAGEXTENT— UNSETTLED CONDITIONS DUE TO CIVIL WAR- 
SMALL EXPENDITURES AND REVENUE IN EARLY DAYS— DEBTS DUE JOHN- 
SON COUNTY'— INTERNAL IMPROVEMENT EUND— BONDS — COURT HOUSE — 
COUNTY" HOME— COUNTY REVENUE— Dl SBURSEMENTS— SPECIAL ACCOUNTS 
—VALUATIONS AND TAX RATES. 

Johnson county bears the unusual and satisfactory distinction of 
not only being free from indebtedness but has a very satisfactory bal- 
ance to its credit. 

The management of the finances of Johnson county since its or- 
ganization in 1835 has, in the main, Iteen conservative, economical and 
businesslike. The only exception has been during and just after the 
Civil War. 

During the war public finance was unsettled and after the war and 
extending to the panic of 1873, there seems to have been mismanage- 
ment or carelessness or both. By 1873 the county had a total indebted- 
ness of $304,500, no easy burden. From 1873 to 1876 mortgages on 
over one hundred farms had been foreclosed in the countv. Then the 
county officials elected at that time introduced rigid econf)mv and con- 
servatism and this policy has been pursued e\er since. The chief com- 
plaint in recent years has been that the county has spent too little. 
However, the county courts have fairly represented the people and if 
they have been too conservati\e it is because we, the people who elected 
them, have as a whole been the same wa}-. 

Wlien the county was organized in 1835 there were few settlers and 
the amount of the county's business seems to us startlingly small. 
Tliere were no public im])ro\ements, nothing to spend public mone\- for 
and no salaried officers to speak of. The first tax assessment of which 
we have any record was July 16. 1835. The first salary paid to a public 
official in this county was at the special term of court in 1835, when 
John H. Townsend, clerk of court, received his salary which amounted 
to $32.38! At the same term of court John Beatty received $14.81 for 
books, etc.. furnished the court. 

At the September term of court. 1835. the county received its first 
revenue which consisted of $6.50 of state tax on deeds and $5 from P. L. 



132 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Hudgins for a grocer's license. John Carmichael was tlie first county 
assessor. He did his work in thirty-two days, for which he received 
$48. Richard Hancock was the tax collector for the year 1835. At 
his final settlement for that year he paid over to the county $376.85 in 
full of all taxes collected by him, including merchants' and grocers' 
licenses. His cominission for collecting the same amounted to $32.81. 
P. L. Hudgins, the first county treasurer received $10 as his salary for 
the year 1835, and $20 as commissioner of school lands and $6 for ex- 
penses for printing. 

Twenty years after the organization of the county we find the fol- 
lowing general statement of funds, revenues and expenditures of John- 
son county for the fiscal year ending with the May term of court in 1855 : 

Balance on hand on settlement, $222.84: paid in hy collector since, 
$3,240.08, total, $3,462.92; by amount paid warrants. $2,545.27; by 
amount jury scrips, $266.90, total, $2,802.17; balance in treasury, $660.75. 

Debts Due Johnson County.— Due on tax l)ook of 1854, $1,726.00; 
principal due John Price's bond, $1,203.76: interest due on same till 
May 10. 1855, $112.22; cash now in treasury, $660.75, total, $3,701.73; 
outstanding warrants. May 17, 1855, $316.55; principal due internal im- 
provement fund, $1,000.00: interest on same May 10, 1855, $41500. 
total, $1,731.55: amount in favor of county, $1,970.18. 

Internal Improvement Fund. — To amount bonds in treasury, May 
17. 1855, $328.82; to amount interest on I)onds to May 12, 1855, $89.80; 
to cash in treasury. May 12, 1855, $690.21 ; add debt' due by Johnson 
county, $1,000.00; interest on same, $415.00; total amount of fund, 
$2,523.83. Thus it will be seen that even in twenty years from the 
county's creation its total business was less than 2 per cent, of what 
it is today. 

The county officers were paid as follows in 1855: 'I'reasurcr. $1.5(M1 
plus one-half per cent, of school funds handled by him ; prosecuting 
attorney. $750 plus fees; county clerk. $1,500; circuit clerk, fees; county 
clerk deputy. $750; county judges. $3 a day each; sheriff, fees; probate 
judge, fees; coroner, fees; recorder, fees: surveyor, fees: collector, fees; 
constables, fees; scliool commissioner, fees. 

Bonds. — W'liiie Johnson county has Ih'ou ])rogressive in the way of 
promoting and encouraging ])ul)lic enterprises it has not suffered by tlie 
infliction of l)on(ie(l indebtedness to tlie extent that many counties of tlie 
West li.-ive. 'Ilie county voted $50,000 in 6 per cent. lion. Is in 1S51 to l)uil.l 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY I53 

the Pacific railroad, to be expended in Johnson county on the line of the 
railroad to aid in its construction. In addition the citizens of the county 
subscribed to about $50,000 of the railroad bonds to insure the building 
of the road through Johnson county instead of by way of the river route. 
Madison township voted $60,000 bonds to the capital stock of the St. 
Louis and Santa Fe Railroad when that road was constructed west 
from Holden in 1869. 

In 1870 Warrensburg voted $100,000 bonds for the construction of 
a railroad from Warrensburg to Marshall. Before the entire amount of 
subscriptions for building the road was obtained this $100,000 was used 
for grading the road northeast from \\'arrensl)urg for a distance of 
thirteen miles. It was then found that the rest of the money neces- 
sary for the completion of the road could not he raised. Thus the 
$100,000 already invested was lost and the railroad was never built, like 
many other railless railroads of the early days. There was considerable 
litigation over these bonds which extended over a period of years, but 
the matter was finally compromised. 

Court House. — No bonds were ever voted for the erection of any 
of the county buildings. The first court house was completed at Old 
Town Warrensburg, 1842. The county clerk's office was built there in 
1837. The old court house building at Old Town was too small to accom- 
modate the offices of the various county officials and separate buildings 
were erected for that purpose. When the court house was removed to 
New Town the citizens of Warrensburg donated a frame building to the 
county which served as the court house until 1894, when it was de- 
stroyed by fire. 

The present court house was completed in 1896 at a cost of $50,000 
to the taxpayers of the county, although the buildings really cost S500 
to $1,000 more. The difference was paid by aljout one hundred of the 
leading citizens of Warrensburg, who had long urged the erection of 
the kind of building that the county now has and gave their personal 
bonds as a guarantee that it would not cost over $50,000. The county 
paid the $50,000 by slightly raising the county tax levy for three suc- 
cessive years and by the time the building was completed it was prac- 
tically paid for. This is said to ha\'e been an unusual ])rocedure in tlie 
erection of a public building of this size. 

County Home. — The Johnson County Home is two miles east of 
Warrensburg and consists of eighty-four acres. This is one of the ideal 



154 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

county homes in the state and here the less fortunate members of 
society are well cared for through their remaining years. The home 
is supplied with city water, steam heat and electric light. A chapel is 
provided for religious ser\ices and a library, which was presented by 
Mr. Young of Chilhowee, is at the disposal of the inmates who are 
inclined to take advantage of the opportunity thus afforded. The white 
inmates and the negroes are in separate departments and eat their 
meals separately. At the time of this writing (1917) there are twenty- 
five inmates in this home, nineteen of whom are white and six colored. 

The Tenth Biennial Report of the State Board of Charities and 
Corrections of Missouri gives the following concise statement of the 
conditions found at the Johnson County Home, under date of February 
28, 1916: "Building, a large, two-story brick, well planned and beauti- 
fully located, onh- a short distance from \\'arrenslnn-g. ^Modern in all 
respects. Institution has librar}- for those who care to read. Man- 
agement, institution was scrupulously clean. Management is excellent 
in e\ery department." The institution is uufler the management of K. G. 
Tempel. 

The following is the statement of the finances of Jolmson county for 
the fiscal \'ear ending January 31, 1918: 

County Revenue. — Total receipts. $151,141.23: total disbursements, 
$86,585.10; balance, $64,556.13. 

Disbursements. — Miscellaneous. $15,384.03; county officials, salaries 
city, $17,432.60; expense of county officials, $579.08; court house ex- 
pense, $1,433.90: county jail repairs, prisoners' board, medical care and 
supplies, $1,501.82; count}- home, salary, labor, insurance, etc. $4,384.27: 
county wards, outdoor relief. $830.00; bridges, $10,027.38; printing and 
stationery, $1,485.68; insane, including care in state hospitals for the 
insane, $6,905.15; fuel, lights and water, $2,289.72; election. $86.50; in- 
quests, $162.12; grand juries, $242.30; grand jury witnesses. $113.70; 
petit juries, $1,299.55: criminal cases, 790.31; Missouri reformatory. 
$50.33; school for deaf. $62. .54: road improvement, $4,592.00; concrete 
culverts, $16,815.87: county special road work. $18,947.07. 

Special Accounts. — 

.\ccount Received Disbursed Balance 

Common road $12,617.70 .SI 1.655.46 $962.24 

Roads and bridges 73.202.56 38.992.92 34,209.64 

Intcr-countvseat fund 2.766.01 1.3(.2.40 1.403.61 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 155 

State criminal costs 1.473.71 544.81 928.90 

County criminal costs 1.048.46 669.26 379.20 

Witness fees 313.05 51.85 261.20 

Unclaimed creditors' funds 121.24 

County foreign insurance tax___ 3,020.18 3,020.18 

County school fund, principal,. 4,100.64 3,892.61 208.33 

County school fund, interest___ • 6,383.82 2>jA7j}, 2.636.09 

Swamp land fund, principal 11.869.46 9,311.71 l.V:^! .!':> 

Swamp land fund, interest 5.598.19 2,920.45 2.667.74 

Township school fund, principal 4.387.93 3,245.68 1,142.25 

Township school fund, interest. 1,931.24 1,073.28 857.96 

The total amounts in the school funds, which are loaned h\ the 
county at 5 per cent, interest and the income turned over to the schools, 
are: 

County school funds, $56,006.81; swamp land funds, $57,147.85; 
township school funds, $22,000.29; total. $135,154.95. 

Valuations and Tax Rates. — Comparative valuations and tax rates 
for the county are as follow ; 

Year, 1881; real estate. $4,876,969.00; personalty. $2,592,498.00; 
total. $7,469,467.00; per $100 state rate, 40 cents; per $100 county rate, 
$1.43. 

Year, 1917; real estate, $25,014,690.00; personalty, $8,641,170.00: 
railway, $1,975-526.00; total, $35,631,386.00; per $100 state rate, approxi- 
matelv 8 cents; per $100 county rate, approximately 45 cents. 

In 1881 there was also a tax on each $100 of $1 for Warrensburg 
township railroad bonds and $1.50 for Madison townsliip railroad bonds. 
The total county rate of $1.43 included count}' revenue. 40 cents; county 
interest, 25 cents ; school, 38 cents : state tax, 20 cents, and state interest, 
20 cents. Today there are no bonds or other indebtedness owing by the 
count}' or any of the townships. 



CHAPTER XII.—WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATION. ORGANIZATION. NAMING — GEOGRAPHY AND SOILS — THE KNOBS — 
EARLY SETTLEMENTS— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY SCHOOLS— JUSTICES- 
COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS- 
COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS — ORGANIZATIONS— KNOB NOSTER. 

Washington was one of the first four townships of the county and 
originally comprised approximately the northeast quarter of the county. 
It was organized May 4, 1835. It was named for George Washington. 

Geography and Soils. — Area, 45 square miles, or 28,800 acres. Geo- 
graphically and according to the United States Department of Agricul- 
ture's Soil Survey of 1914. Washington township is composed of a fairly 
solid area of gray soil (Oswego silt loam) in the southeast half, a mile 
wide strip of "sandy" soil (Boone silt loam) along the west side and 
patches of different soils in the northeast. 

These soils in detail are: 

Oswego silt loam, upland, about 16^ square miles or 38 per cent, 
of the township; a gray, rather compact level-lying soil. It lies in a 
large body in the southeast. 

Boone silt loam, upland, 14 square miles or about 30 per cent. It 
lies chiefly along Clear Fork creek in the west and in a strip one-ciuarter 
to one-half mile wide along Walnut headwaters in the northeast. 

Summit silt loam, "black limestone" soil, about 6 scpiare miles or 
14 per cent. It composes chiefly the smoother upland on both sides of 
and one-half to three-quarters mile back from Walnut creek in the north- 
east, and also in an irregular patch about a half mile wide and two miles 
long, extending southwesterly from a point about half a mile cast of 
Knob Noster to a point about a half mile south of town. 

Bates silt loam, upland, dark gray-brown soil, about 4 square miles 
or 9 per cent. This lies chiefly in irregular patches of tliree-t|uarters 
S(|uare mile in area l)etween the s.'indy u])l;ind next to Walnut bottom 
ancl the black limestone soil farther back. 

Cherokee silt loam, upland, light-brown soil, resembling tlie Oswego 
silt loam, about tun and a cpiartcr s(|uare miles or 5 per cent. It lies 
chiefly along Muddy creek in the southeast. 



HISTORY Ol'- JOHXSUX COL'XTY 15/ 

Osage silt loam, ordinary bottom, about one square mile or 2 per 
cent. ; lies along Walnut and Clear Fork creeks. Tbe smallest propor- 
tion of bottom land of any township in the county. 

Robertsville silt loam, gray second bottom soil, about three-cjuarters 
square mile or 134 per cent. This lies chiefly in a strip about one-half 
mile wide immediately north of the Missouri Pacific railroad on the east 
side of Clear Fork and immediately adjoining the first bottom. It runs 
north from the railroad about two miies and south about one mile, gradu- 
ally narrowing in both directions. 

Boone gravelly loam, more sand than Boone silt loam; about one- 
half square mile or three-quarters per cent. It is in a patch one mile 
west of Knob Noster, close to railroad, on the south. 

Of the foregoing, the Summit silt loam is ranked as one of the best 
three common upland soils in the county, with the Bates silt loam next. 

For further soil details, see chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Knob Noster. — One of the unusual physical features of the township 
is what is known as the Knobs, two prominent knolls located just north 
of the town of Knob Noster, from which the town derived its name. They 
both rise a considerable height above the surrounding country. Much 
conjecture and a great deal of unrelialile tradition envelop the history of 
these mounds. The early settlers for many years regarded these knobs 
as prominent land marks. An Indian tradition is that a great battle 
was fought here at one time. Human bones have been exhumed from 
these mounds but the mystery of how they came there is still unsolved. 
There is also an Indian tradition that these mounds are the hiding place 
of valuable treasure which was buried here some time in the past. Con- 
cerning the curiosity with which these mounds were viewed as late as 
1879, the following article appeared in the "Knob Noster Gem," under 
date of November 28, 1879: "Just north of Knob Noster are two hills 
known as the Knobs. For some time there has been talk of the possible 
contents of these Knobs but almost everybody laughed at the idea of 
them containing anything more than the surrounding land. However, 
there were a few who still thought there was a bonanza in the hill if 
it could only be gotten out. Last Saturday, W. L. Shockley and R. H. 
Carr shouldered a pick and struck out for the Knobs. After a few 
hours' digging they found the skeletons of several human beings, together 
with other curiosities, which were buried with the Indians, Mound Build- 
ers or whoever they were." 



158 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Early Settlements. — The first settler of the original Washington 
township of whom we have any record is said to have been John Leeper. 
who settled in what is now Grover township. Col. John Robinson states 
in the Johnson County History of 1881 : "In about 1828. John Leeper. 
son-in-law of Peter Fisher, of Pettis county, settled in tlie woods in 
section 22. t(l\\•n^lli]l 47 and range 25. and improved five or six acres. 
Just northeast of him in section 16 William Clieek settled about the 
same time and in 1831 built the old Gallaher mil! in section 6. on Clear 
l-'ork." Tlie first land entry l)y Cheek was Xo\end)er 30. 1832, in Mont- 
serrat township. 

Joseph Lapsley came from Russell countw Kentucky, in 1837 and 
died in 1854. John Coy settled here in 1833 and died in 1850. He was 
also a Kentuckian. Spencer Adams, a native of North Carolina, is said 
to ha\e settled in this township in 1835. (He made land entry in 1832.) 
He died in 1867. Ambrose Brockman. from Russell count)-, Kentucky, 
settled here in 1837 and died in 1848. James .~\. Gallaher was also a 
\erv early settler. \'all\' Hall, a Kentuckian, came here in 1835 and 
died in 1868. John Stewart, also a Kentuckian, came in 1834 and died 
in 1843. Samuel Graham from Kentucky, made his home here in 1834 
and died six years later. Thomas M. Ramsey settled on section 14. in 
1859. Jonathan Butler, Alexander and William Gregg, James Ray. and 
George Gallaher were also pioneers wdio settled here in the thirties. 
A German named Strickland settled on section 12 in 1836 but a few years 
later, when the settlers began to locate within two or three miles of 
each other, he began to feel crowded and went farther south, .\niong 
others who settled here ]irior to 1840, were \\'. .\. Williams. Jacob 
Knaus, Samuel Workman, W. H. De.Vrman, James Brown, Richard 
A'lcCombs, Henry Hayes, Fred Houck, John Reed, .\ndrcw Thompson. 
George Thornton, Samuel IMcCormack, Benjamin Howard. William 
Box, W. R. McCart. 

.\t a general election held in Knob Xoster on the first Mond.ay in 
.August, 1858. appear the names of .\. Hargraves. Samuel McKeen and 
J;icob Knaus as judges, and J. C. Corum as clerk. .\11 were sworn in 
August 2, 1858. 1)\- J. P.. Maves. justice of the peace. ( .\l this election 
two hundred and fifty votes were cast.) 

.\moug the lirst to enter government land in this township were 
Ricb.-ir.l Marsh.dl. October 4. 1833: Jame> Ray. March 1. 1834. and 
llem-v i'.dwards, jnue 13, 1834. 



in ' 


a hat is now Washingto 


iiiioi 


1 building ownetl li_\- tli 


Motl 


luidists in tlie soutli pai 


John 


P). Morrow. Tiie buiU 


le.lic 


ated by Revs. J. H. Hii 



HISTORY OF JOJIXSOX COUNTY 

Early Churches. — The earliest cluirc 
township was Pleasant Gro\e church, a 
Cumberland Presbyterians and Southern 
of the township. 

It was organized in 1853-54 l)v Re\. 
ing was erected since the Ci\il \\'ar and 
and Mr. Young. 

Early pastors of this church were \\". Gilliam, W. Compton. B. \\'. 
Pierce, E. Morgan. J. B. Morrow. J. Whitsett, B. F. Thomas, J. T. A. 
Henderson and L. H. Davis. Old nieni])ers were William Geerv and 
wife. Daniel Adams, Susan .Adams. Isaiah Kimzev and wife and C. P. 
Phillips. 

The next churches organized were in Knob Xoster town, and are 
included in the history of that town. 

Early Schools. — The first log school house erected in tlie township 
was a crude structure, 10 by 16 feet, located in the northeastern quarter 
of section 10. One log was cut out to admit light. The clapboard roof 
was held on by weight ])oles. the door swung on wooden hinges and 
was fastened by a latch made of wood. In 1837, another log school 
house was built along the same general line of architecture on the south- 
east quarter of section 11. Here Jesse Trapp and James Ford taught 
school for a time. In 1838, a log school house was built on section 23. 
This building was along the same general lines as the others with one 
log left out for a window. The seats were made of puncheons and the 
heating system consisted of a fire-place. James Cochran was the first 
teacher here. The next school house was erected in the old town of 
Knob Noster. This was built in 1856 and was of the frame t\-pe of 
building. In 1866, it was moved two miles northeast of the old town on 
the south half of section 12 in Oak Grove District No. 10. 

Among the early teachers at Oak Grove school were D. D, Duncan, 
Miss Sophia Welsh, J. R. Rainwater, J. M. Bigley. Mrs. Anna Dunn, 
Reuben Reaves, ^^'. R. DeLaney, Reuben Wade, Thomas Prather, 
William O'Bannon, W. H. Hatton, H. C. Sparrowhawk, J. P. W^alker, H. 
T. Williams, J. E. Gatewood, J. H. Allen, and Everett Miller. Prairie 
Home school, in District No. 8, succeeded an old school called Quail 
Trapp. built in 1866. The following were early teachers in this district: 
Miss AI. Brown, B. C. Stephens. Thomas FI. Jones, Miss Nellie Zim- 
merman, Charles B. Littlefield, Miss Laura Lutz, Miss Alice Wharton. 



l6o HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Frank P. Langston, Davidson Grover, Peter Lynch, Miss Sallie Zoll, 
Miss Bettie Duffield, Miss Myra Houts and Miss Mollie Guihen, John 
McKeehan, Mrs. D. A. McCormick, J. P. \\'allace, A. J. Sparks and 
John Byrne. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far back as the county court records show, with dates of their 
election: 1842, Richard C. Wariner, Samuel Workman, William H. 
Collins: 1844, Jacob Ivnaus. Jacob Raper, Henry S. Pease; 1846, Will- 
iam Kirkpatrick: 1850, Hiram C. Key, Robert M. Maxwell. Squire 
\\illiams: 1852, Zachariah Clark, John Bobbitt; 1856, WMlliam P. Mayes. 
John Bobbitt; 1860, N. Fisher, John Bobbitt; 1862, Samuel Workman; 
1870, A. E. Weidman. William Fisher; 1878, W. H. Anderson, B. R. 
Tompkins; 1882, J. W. Denison, H. J. Adams; 1886, P. D. Fitch, John 
S. Mayes; 1888, W. H. Anderson; 1890, L. B. Thomas, J. W. Mitchell. 
Taylor Kirkpatrick; 1896, John M. Kelly; 1898, A. M. Craig, A. W. 
Wheatley; 1900, J. M. Mitchell; 1902, A. M. Craig. B. F. Summers; 
1906, George L. Taylor. B. F. Summers; 1908, S. P. Caldwell. F. S. 
Denton; 1910, J. C. Metts, John T. Lay; 1914, Jacob H. Knaus, J. C. 
Metz. 

County Officers. — The following are the county oificers who iiave 
been elected from the township since 1882, with the dates of their elec- 
tion: 

1892 — George N. Hocker (Democrat), representati\-e. 

1894-96 — George T. Gallaher (Democrat), surveyor. 

1894-96— L. B. Thomas (Democrat), assessor. 

1900-190-1 — T. J. Summers (Democrat), assessor. 

1902 — C. D. Thompson (Democrat), superintendent of schools. 

1904-08-12 — .\. M. Craig (Democrat), public administrator. 

1908 — B. F. Summers (Democrat), county judge. 

1912-14— Ed. S. Harte (Democrat), county judge. 



Population. — The 


poi)ulatic. 


n of W 


ashingi 


:on 


townsl 


hip by 


l-niied 


States Census 


was: 
















—1850- 


_ 


- 


-1860— 








— 1870- 


_ 


White. Col. 


Total. 


Wliite. 


Col. 


'|-olal. 




White. 


Col. 


Total. 


890 112 


1 .002 


1.996 


243 


2.23'^^^ 




2.^2^ 


164 


2.992 


1880 




1890 




1900 






1910 




,1.166 




^.2'^ 




1.762 






1.612 




Personal 


Property 


and Products. — 


Agricul 


Itur 


e and 


porM.na 


1 prop- 



1896 


1916 


711 


772 


297 


236 


1.606 


1.511 


273 


597 


1.890 


938 


9 


■ 23 



HISTORY OF JOHNSOX COUNTY l6l 

erty statistics for Washington township, as given by Missouri State 
Report for 1877, and Johnson county assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916 
are: 

1877 1877 

Wheat, bushels 13.058 Horses 1,073 

Corn, bushels 341.000 Mules 431 

Oats, bushels 17,500 Cattle 2,179 

Rye, bushels 510 Sheep 1,803 

Tobacco, pounds A7.b2h Hogs 3,962 

Wool, pounds 3,209 Asses none 

Hay, tons 624 

Molasses, gallons 1,215 

Wine, gallons 1,000 

1896 1916 

Notes and money $ 39,560 $ 81,095 

Bank stock 22.850 45,646 

Other personalty 40,169 31,680 

All personalty 157,715 232,291 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Washington township since this system was established in 1911, were 
up to January 1, 1918, nineteen in number, and aggregated $1,224 fur- 
nished by the citizens of the township, and $1,025 by the county. In this 
particular Washington township ranks seventh among the townships of 
the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of every kind in Washington township. Full details of each organiza- 
tion are in separate chapters on the dififerent organizations. 

Churches — Baptist, Knob Noster; Catholic, Knob Noster; Christian, 
Knob Noster: Cumberland Presbyterian, Pleasant Grove: Cumberland 
Presbyterian, New Church: Latter Day Saints. Ivnob Noster: Methodist. 
Knob Noster: Methodist. South. Knob Noster: Presbyterian. Knob Nos- 
ter. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross. Knob Noster Branch. 

Fraternal Organizations — Masons. Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, 
Modern \\'ondmen, IMystic Workers. Royal Neighbors. 

Miscellaneous Organiations — Swastikas. 

Business Organiations — Bank of Knob Noster. Peoples State Bank. 

Total number (if organizations in township is nineteen. 

(6) 



lie 1 


■es 


idence 


of 


Andrew 


Otli 


er 


early 


post 


masters 


rles 


\' 


antillman. 


Robert 


nil 1 


Ch 


ester. 


Mis: 


■; Jennie 



162 HISTORY OF JOHXSON COUNTY 

KNOB NOSTER. 

Knob Noster, one of the progressive towns of the county, is on the 
main line of the Missouri Pacific railroad about three miles from the 
Pettis county line. The town is situated in sections 15. 16. 21 and 22. 
The old town of Knob Noster was located about a mile north of where 
the depot now stands and still contains a number of houses on its one 
broad street. 

The present town came into existence wlien the Pacific railroad 
was built. William Wortham was ]ierha])s the pioneer merchant in 
the old town of Knob Noster. 

The first post office was established here in 1S50 before any town 
or village was laid out. It was located at 
Thompson, who became the first postmaster, 
here were James Morrow. John Satoris. CI 
Dawson. William Mayes. John A. Pigg, W il 
Chester and C. Cobb. 

The "Knol) Noster Gem" is one of the old newspapers in the county. 
Its first issue was printed May 31. 1S7S. with Harris .K: Mcl-"arland as 
editors and proprietors. It is now unnsuall\- well edited li\' V.. T. 
Hodges. 

Other newspapers published at Knob Xoster from time to time 
were the "Farmer," 1872, the "I^egister," "Local," "Herald" and 
"Review." 

The following are the churches of the t 
tion: Cumberland Presbyterian; Bajitist. 
Civil War; Latter Day Saints, 1889; Mctln 
Presbyterian, 1867; Baptist Negro; Mctho( 

The town has electric light service, t\\ 
oiled streets, a large well established brick p 
business. 

The population. 1910. was 670. 

The following is a list of city officers: 

Chairmen.— 1877. H. C. CofTman ; 1878. P. O. Sullivan; 1879-80. H. 
]<. Tnmi)kins; 1881, J. II. Knaus. 

Mayors.— 1901-04, P.. I'. Sunnners; l')0.=i-06. C. \'. Huff. Jr.; l'>07- 
12. A. M. Craig; PM.VU. J. H. K.nhwcll; 1")1.^-18, A. M. Craig. 

Aldermen.— 1877, V. Hughes, C. Cobb, \\ (X Sullivan. C. llardey; 



nvn V 


nth d 


ates ( 


if org 


aniza- 


18.^6; 


Catl 


lolic. 


soon 


after 


dist. 


1865; 


Cliri; 


stian. 


1866; 


ist X^ 


cgro. 








1) bar 


Iks, h 


igh school. 


good 


ant at 


id .-ill 


lines 


of .ir< 


linary 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 163 

1878. \'. Hughes, C. Cdbh, H. C. Coffniau. ( i. llardey; 1879, \'. llut^he^ 
C. Cobb, P. O. Sullivan. G. Hardey ; 1880, J. C. Winkler, J. Carr, G. O, 
Talpey, W. J. A\"orknian; 1881, J. L. Winkler, C. B. Littlefield, A. D 
Wilson, J. C. Miller; 1901. J. V. Campl)ell. T.. P. Shafer, E. A. Shep- 
herd, A. G. Hunter; 1902. J. M. Kendriek. j. C. luister; 1903, C. B, 
Littlefield, G. C. .Miller; 1904, J. N. Kendriek, Ci. X. Hooker; 1903, Iv 
E. Thompson, W. W. Spiess; 1906, J. M. Kendriek, W. B. Daw, D. X 
Saults; 1907, J. C. Metts, W". B. Daw; 1908, \\m. Shoemaker, D. X 
Saults; 1909, J. T. Lay, J. C. Metts, J. C. Foster; 1910, J. T. Lay, J 
W. Mcintosh: 1911. S. A. Spiess, Hill Hunter; 1<)12, S. J. Du.lley, Jelir 
Hull: 1913, S. A, Spiess. Frank Jenks ; 1914, C. W. Weidman, C. L 
Saults; 1915. S. A. Spiess, Frank Jenks: 1916, C. W. Wiedman, C. L 
Saults: 1917, J. M. Kendriek, Wm. Ragner; 1918, C. W. Weidman 
C. L. Saults. 

Clerks.— 1901-06, George J. Taylor; 1907-09, Charles Y. Taylor 
1910-13, C. L. Saults; 1914-18, W. J. Carr. 

Police Judges.— 1901-04, J. C. Winkler; 1905-06, W. C. Knaus 
1907-08. J. M. Kinman; 1908-10, Mark Kidney; 1910-14, W. C. Knaus 
1015-18, J. C. Foster. 

Marshals.— 1881, T. E. Rigg; 1901-03, J. H. Brendel ; 1904-06. J 
W. Bailey: 1907-08. William Covey: 1909-10, George Kinman: 1910, 
W. C. Knaus; 1911-14, W. B. Arbogast ; 1915-16. R. F. Clark: 1916, 
George Kinman; 1917. H. T. Hite. Hill Hunter; 1918. Hill Hunt 
L. W. Scott. 

Collectors.— 1901-02. A. ^I. Craig: 1903. C. C. Hayes: 1904-06. J. 
W. Bailey; 1907-14. William Covey: 1915-16. R. F. Clark; 1916. George 
Kinman: 1917. H. T. Hite; 1917-18. Flill Hunter. 

Street Commissioners.— 1901. A. M. Craig: 1903-06. B. P. Michael; 
1907-15. R. F. Clark: 1916-18. George Kinman. 

Treasurers.— 1901-04, Ed S. Harte ; 1905-08. W. T. Zuber; 1909-12, 
S. L. Doggett: 1913-18. A. S. Adcock. 

Attorneys.— 1901-08. S. G. Kelly; 1909-12, E. C. Littlefield: 1913- 
16. T. H. Knaus; 1917-18. E. C. Littlefield. 



CHAPTER XIII.— JEFFERSON TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION. ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GEOGRAPHY — SOILS — EARLY SETTLE- 
MENTS—EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— EARLY' 
TEACHERS— EARLY STORES AND POSTOFFICES— JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS—POPULATION, PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS — ORGANIZA- 
TIONS. 

Jefferson township is one of the four original townships of which 
Johnson county was composed. It occupied approximately the south- 
eastern quarter of the county. It was organized May 4, 183.^. It was 
named for Thomas Jefferson. 

The organization of other townships from time to time, parts of 
which were taken from Jefferson township, has reduced it to little more 
than one-fourth its original size. Its relative geographical position is 
the same, still occupying the southeast corner of the county. 

Geography. — Area, 60 square miles, or 38.400 acres. Geographically, 
Jefferson township is a smooth body of land, with rolling country formed 
by the headwaters of Clear Fork on the west, Miukl\- creek on the east 
and Tebo creek on the south. 

Soils. — According to the Department of .\griculture's Soil Survey 
of 1914. the township is composed for the most part of Oswego silt loam 
(gray soil). This is split l)y ]\Iuddy creek from the southwest to the 
northeast corner, witli miscellaneous bottom soils adjoining it. On the 
west side of the township is a very irregular stri]) of about two miles 
wide of Boone silt loam ("sandy"' soil) in the northwest and Bates silt 
loam (dark gray-brown soil) in the southwest in an irregular strip of 
the same width. 

The details of these soils are: 

Oswego silt loam, upland, gray, compact soil; forms about 40 per 
cent, of the township. It lies all over the township, except th;it in the 
northwest eight scpiare miles of the townsliip are only two small patciies. 

Boone silt loam. u]dand. of sandstone origin ; 25 jier cent. This occu- 
])ies chiefly the eight square miles in the nortiiwest just mentioned, and 
also irre.guJar strips of ;d)out one-fourtji mile in width, adjitining the bot- 
tom l;ind .-ilone Muddv creek. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 165 

Bates silt loam, upland, dark gray-l'rown soil ; 25 per cent. This 
lies chiefly along the small branches of Muddy creek, Clear Fork and 
Other creeks, all just abo\e the Boone silt loam. 

Crawford silt loam, upland, "red limestone" soil ; 3 per cent. This 
is chiefly in an irregular body of aljout one scpiare mile, lying about 
one-half mile southeast of .Sutherland. 

Osage silt loam, the ordinary bottom soil ; 5 per cent. This lies 
chiefly along Muddy creek and Clear Fork tributaries. 

Miscellaneous: 2 per cent.; small patches, chiefly of black limestone 
soils. Summit silt loam, and second bottom soils, Robertsville silt loam. 

Of the foregoing, the Crawford silt loam and Summit silt loam are 
ranked as two of the best three conmion upland soils in the county, with 
th.e Bates silt loam next. 

For further soil details, see chapters on .Vgricullure and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The earliest permanent settlements in Jeffer- 
son township were made in the early thirties. Among the first settlers, 
John Draper. \\'illiam Davenport and Benjamin Snelling came here from 
Kentucky in 1832. Benjamin Kimzey also settled here about that time. 

Henry Divers entered government land in 1833. which is the first 
record of the kind which appears in Jefferson township, although a few 
farms, no (loul)t. were opened and settled a year or so prior to this 
date. 

Among other early settlers in this townshij) were David Cooper and 
Feldin \\'olf, \\ho came here in 1833. and Anthony Owsley. Thomas 
Smith. Early Tucker. Isaac McDonald and \\'illiam Reynolds, who came 
in the same year. Owen Cooper settled here in 1836, coming from 
Kentucky, and Robert Craig, of Tennessee, came here the same year. 
James Patrick, a Kentuckian, settled in this township in 1834 and later 
went to Henry county. In 1837 Thomas J. Davis, a native of N'irginia, 
settled in this township, but later went to Oregon. Harvey Dyer came 
about the same time anrl s])ent the remainder of his life here. 

The settlement of Jefferson townsliip, like other sections of the 
county and state, was not rapid prior to the middle of the last century. 
It was gradual and a majority of the early settlers made their permanent 
homes here. S. C. Gray settled here in 1848, coming from Boone county, 
^Missouri. He spent the remainder of his life here and was prominent in 
local affairs and served as justice of the peace of the township for a num- 
ber of years. Some of the other pioneers who made their homes here 



l66 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

and settled prior to 1850 were Kit \A'ingfield, Elbert, Henry and Frank 
Cooper, John Owsley, John Draper and his sons, William, Addison and 
Mosely; Robert Douglas and his sons, \\'illis, Alfred, John, and Allen; 
Benjamin Wall. Benjamin Farwell, Richard B. Fewel. \\'ashington Gar- 
ret, B. A. Holmes and his sons. Robert H.. John W.. James R., and 
Benjamin F. ; David White, John, Elisha, William and Addison Grison: 
Larkin Pettis, William Birch and Dr. Owsley. 

Early Churches. — Church services were held early in various pri- 
vate residences in the early days. 

Feldin Wolf is said to have preached the first sermon in the town- 
ship in his own residence in 1833. 

The oldest church organization in the townsliip is Old Fligh Point 
Baptist church, located twelve miles south of Knol) Xoster. It was 
organized in 1833 by Elders Simpson and Ricketts and preaching was 
held in school houses until 1855. when a building was erected b\- R. B. 
Craig and John Epperson at a cost of eight hundred dollars and the 
first sermon was preached here by Rev. B. F. Goodwin. Other earlv- 
day pastors of this church were Elders Simpson, Ricketts. W. P. C. Cald- 
well, A. Horn, A. M. Cockrell and T. J. Nevelle. The charter meiuliers 
of this congregation were Benjamin Snelling and wife. \'incent Snelling 
and wife, John Draper and wife, Anthony Owsle\' and wife. Aim While 
and John T. Ricketts and wife. The church building was destroved b}' 
fire in 1863, at which time the early records were destroyed. 

New High Point Baptist church was erected in the fall of 1881. 
For further details of this old church, see chapter on Baptist church. 

Many of the residents of Jefl^erson townshi]i worshiji in a union 
church just across the line in Pettis count}-, especiall)' the Methodists 
and Christians. 

Early Cemeteries. — There were no regularly established cemeteries 
in this township prior to 1840. Up to that time interment was made 
on the home place of the deceased. Cooper cemetery, (u)odwin cemetery 
and Combs cemetery were all private burial places. There was also a 
private cemetery in section 32 and one in section 35. .\. P. Iilewitt 
was the first to be buried in New High Toini cemetery. His burial 
took i)lace .August 24, 1881. There are a nimiber of graves in variou-^ 
l)arls of the township, which at this time can not be detinitely located. 

Early Schools. — Soon after the first ]iernianent settleuK'nts c;imc 
the local schools, established and manU.-iine.l bv nriv:.tc sul.scrii)iion. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 167 

The conimon branches were generally tanght and freqnenth' teachers 
were found of unusual educational qualifications and in such instances 
some of the higher branches of education were taught. 

The first schools were in log school houses. One of the early 
cabins used for school purposes was located on the Clear Fork near 
the Major Neal farm; another was just west of the old Pettis farm, and 
another between the residences of Anthony Owsley and Isaac McDonald. 
The door of this last was so low the older pupils had to stoop to enter. 

Early Teachers. — Among the pioneer school teachers of Jefiferson 
township were Dabney Pettis, a Virginian; Thab Butler, who also came 
from Virginia: Edward C. Curren, from Iventucky; Samuel Lowe, from 
Kentucky, who afterward became clerk of the state Legislature; Mrs. 
Nancy Bryant, a widow: Ep. M. Smith, from Kentucky, who was con- 
sidered one of the best teachers in the locality: William Winfrey, from 
Tennessee: Joe Goodwin, Green Reese, William Fewel and a Mr. 
Nutter. 

Early Stores and Postoffices. — Harrodsburg, according to the old 
United States Census, had a population of twenty-five, with postofifice, 
two or three stores and blacksmith shop. It was on the \\'arrensburg- 
Warsaw road. 

Eldorado, a small place not now appearing on the map, was a trad- 
ing point in the early days and Robert Irwin kept a general store there 
immediately after the war. Later he was succeeded by Robert Harris 
in the business and Dr. George Harris was engaged in the practice of 
medicine there. 

Burtville, Henrietta and 0\\'sley were early settlements, where there 
are still stores. Henrietta was made a postofhce in 1879. W. P. Green- 
lee was the first postmaster. 

Bowen is a village on the Rock Island railroad located in Jefferson 
township near the line of Henr\- count}-. It was platted April 3, 1905, 
on land owned by \\'. A. Garrett and his wife, Alice Garrett, when what 
is now the Rock Island railroad was l)eing constructed. When the coal 
mines were operating it was a very busy town. A store and a number 
of houses, many vacant, are still there. 

Sutherland is a station on the Missouri. Kansas & Texas railroad, 
with a store and other houses. 

Justices. — The justices of the peace of Jefferson township, as far 
back as the records go, with the dates of their election, are: 1836, Tosiah 



l68 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

B. Bullock, Andrew Clark; 1842, Aiglon Price. Fabius M. Butler; 1844, 
Alfred B. Shepherd, Randolph Hazelwood, Toliver W. Gresham, Charles 
Wingfield; 1846, Thomas J. Davis, Seth Stephens, Owen Cooper; 1850, 
William S. Snelling, Samuel Himes, William Jennings; 1852, Benjamin 

B. Caldwell, Daniel Allen. Randolph Hazelwood; 1856, Randolph Hazel- 
wood, Robert Embesson; 1860, O. Cheatham, G. W. Wheatley; 1878, 
John Richardson, C. T. Caldwell; 1880. J. Street: 1882, J. N. Richard- 
son, W. Y. Cross; 1890. David Cooper, Franklin Moseley; 1896, Thomas 
Johnson, J. W. Russell; 1898, J. W. Russell, Fielding Glass; 1900. M. 

C. Draper; 1902, M. C. Draper, George F. Moseley; 1906, T. M. Case. 
George F. Moseley: 1910. T. M. Case. George F. Moseley; 1914, T. M. 
Case. George F. Moseley. 

County Officers. — The following are the officers who have been 
elected from the township since 1882. with the dates of their election: 
1882 — D. L. Sutherland (Democrat), county judge. 
1884-86 — Sidney Jarvis (Democrat), county judge. 
1890-94-1914 — John M. Caldwell (Democrat), county clerk. 
189-4 — James A. Wingfield (Democrat), county judge. 
1904-06— M. C. Draper (Democrat), collector. 
1904-06— H. H. Hudson (Democrat), sheriff. 
1916 — T. L. Kimzey (Democrat), county judge. 
1916 — James O. Sutherland (Democrat), representative. 

Population. — The jjopulation of Jefferson townsliip. l\v United 
States Census, was: 

— 1850— _1S60— 

Wln'te. Colored. Total. White. Colored. Total. 

794 209 l.OO.S \J2-\- .S64 1.588 

1880 1890 IWO 1910 

1.403 1.270 1.2-12 1.296 

Personal Property and Products.— .\gricultnro and personal prop- 
erty statistics for Jefferson township as given liy Missonri State Reports 
for 1877, and Johnson county assessors" lists for ISOr. :in.l l'M6. are: 

1877 1877 isor, loir. 

\\'lieat, busliels 41.000 Horses 77? 0^7 om 

Corn, bushels 28.^,005 Mnles y?6 .^98 2.=^0 



1,977 


1,762 


2.251 


1,129 


360 


130 


.2,521 


2,042 


1,235 


none 


10 


19 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Barley, bushels 300 Cattle 

Oats, bushels 6,310 Sheep 

Rye, bushels 150 Hogs 

Tobacco, pounds 17,480 Asses 

^^■ool, pounds 2,943 

Hay, tons 1,475 

Molasses, gallons 3,108 

A\'ine, gallons 7 

1879 1916 

Notes and money $16,985 $ 27,800 

Other personalty 15.100 21,355 

All personalty 99.390 142.215 

County road impro\enients made by the township, since this sys- 
tem was established in 1911, were up to January 1, 1918, twenty-two in 
number and aggregated $1,157.50 furnished by citizens of the township, 
and $1,100 by the county. In amount of this work Jef¥erson township 
ranks nintii among the townships of the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of every kind in Jetierson township, b'ull details of each organization 
are in separate ciiapters on the ditterent organizaticjns. 

Churches — Baptist. High Point: ]\Iethodist. Xew Hope. 

Fraternal Organizations. — Modern Woodmen. Sutherland: Modern 
^^'oodmen, Owsley. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross, Sutiierland Branch. 

Total number of organizations in township is five. 



CHAPTER XIV.— MADISON TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION, ORGANIZxVTION, NAMING— GEOGRAPHY AND SOIL— EARLY SETTLE- 
MENTS—EARLY CHURCHES — EARLY SCHOOLS — JUSTICES — COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS—POPULATION—PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD 
IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATIONS. 

Madison township was one of the first four townships organized in 
the county and at that time consisted of nearly one-fourth of the area 
of the county, situated in the southwestern part. It was organized Alay 
4, 1833. It was named for President James Madison. 

Geography and Soil. — Area, 42 square miles, or 26,880 acres. Geo- 
graphically, Madison township is a smooth body of good upland (Sum- 
mit silt loam, or "black limestone" soil), gradually sloping northward to 
Blackwater creek (south fork), which runs east across its north side. 
About one mile south of Holden and running east and west, is a divide 
between the tributaries of Blackwater on the north and Big creek on 
the south, .\djoining Blackwater and its trilnitaries in the north part 
of the township is the ordinary bottom soil, tianked by an irregular strip 
about one-quarter mile wide of Boone silt loam, or "sandy" soil, while 
along the small branches of Blackwater in the south part of the township 
are irregular strips of about the same width of Bates silt loam, dark, 
gray-brown soil. 

In detail, these soils are: 

Summit silt loam, upland, composes about 6.^ ]km- cent, of the town- 
ship. This lies all over the townshi]) except in the north part. 

Boone silt loam, ujiland, of sandstone urigin. 12 per cent, 'i^his 
lies chiefly in the north, adjoining the Backwater liottoni soil. 

Bates silt loam, upland, dark, gray-brown soil; 10 jier cent. This 
lies chiefly along the upper branches of Blackw.nter east, west ;nid north 
of Holden. 

Crawford silt loam, upland, "red liiueMoue" soil. .^ iht cent. This 
lies in three jiatches of about two si|uare miles in area in the northeast. 

Osage silt loam, the ordin;iry bottom soil. 8 ])er cent. This lies 
along Blackwater and its tribiUaries in the north. There is i)r;ictically 
none of it alone the small branches, east, west or south of Holden. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY I7I 

Of the foregoing, tlie Summit silt loam and Crawford silt loam are 
ranked among the best three common u])lanil soils in the count}-, with 
the Bates silt loam next. 

For further soil details, see chapter on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The early settlers came from the east and pene- 
trated the new and unsettled country, generally, from the Missouri river 
on the north, and few, if any, located south of tlie Blackwater prior to 
1830. The Ferguson family were about the first to cross Blackwater 
and settle in what is now Madison township. Most of tiie earl_\- settlers 
lived north of the present site of Hohlen and a few located west of 
that point. The}' lixed near the two liranches of Pin Oak. Among 
the early settlers were: Samuel and .\aron Ferguson. James Bradley, 
^^'illiam Davidson, Squire A. B. Hamilton. P. H. Ray, Archy Ray, and 
their father. High Ray, Moses Tapscott, .August Demasters, Squire J. 
G. Doyle, Matthew Cummings, W^illiam Cummings, Sanford Cummings, 
Joseph Mason, John \\'indsor, Reuben Fox, John Utt, Thomas Tap- 
scott, G. Hays, Joseph Christian, Jacob Sams, Jacob Beck, Charles S, 
Ferguson, Martin Ferguson, Pleasant R. Ferguson. Joseph Matthews, 
William Burden. Sr.. and Jr., Eldridge Burden, George Conley. John 
Miller, William Miller, James Thompson, George Medlock. G. Cunning- 
ham. Barrett Duft. Squire Thompson. A\'illiamson. G. K. Roberts and 
Doctor Roberts. 

Up to 1868 Madison township retained all its original territory, 
which contained practically all of the present township of Kingsville 
and Rose Hill and a portion of Chilhowee. Early elections were held 
at the oldest settlement in the southwest part of the county in .1858. 
The following names appear on the poll books for the election held that 
year. Many are misspelled, but many will be recognized and their 
descendants are still living where their fatliers did: James L. Chinn, 
Elijah Chinn. J. W. Smith. J. J. .\rmstrong, S. J. Reed. Peyton D. HufT. C. 
C. \\dieeler. H. S. Barksdale. James PI. McCarty. E. Hocketts. J. X. Mills, 
William M. Bruce. .Ambrose England, H. H. Hale, Samuel Reed, James 
L. Wilson, D. W. Skaggs. B. F. Fisher. AVilliam Townsend, John V. 
McCarty, S<|uire .\sl)urg, AA'. T. Roberts, William J. Townsend. A\'illiam 
F. Long. William M. Harris, William C. Sharp. R. L. Jackson. Michael 
Baker, L. Jones. H. Isley. Philip Isley. Christy Gates. W. E. Temple- 
ton, John A\'. Ham. J. G. Hutson. Andrew Hinkle. Gary Elliott. Peter 
Campbell, Martin Burly. L. P. Lisk, James M. Aloore, W. W. Ham, G. 



172 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

W. Stranger, John Hinkle, G. H. Barnett. B. W'ooldridge, W. A. Camp- 
bell, Thomas Moore, S. A. Duncan. G. W. L. Bradley, J. S. Gilkey, 
William M. Tutt, R. S. Wooldridge, Edward Welch, I. L. Dye, James 

E. Summons. A. A. Doak, John M. Lurby, Joel P. Lowing, \\'illiam 
Owsley, John A. Townsend, William Smith, D. B. Reavis, E. Doman. B. 

F. Lewis, R. L. England. R. L. Elder, Davis Owsley, E. Welch. Thomas 
Hinkle. John Howard, Andrew Worth, A. C. Umstadt. A. H. Boggs. 
Noah Crual, James Bones, P. H. Duncan. R. M. Anderson, W. F. Car- 
penter, Sidney Scott, B. F. Cross. James Hinkle. William Hutson, Will- 
iam Harlow, David Bradshaw, G. W. Vowill. James Fox. William H. 
Fruners, A. G. Fulton, J. F. R. Turner, R. H. Atkins, Samuel P. Rimsy, 
John H. Bailey, John B. Bailey, W. P. Day. B. S. Durrett. J. B. Pember- 
ton. W. A. Givens, J. W. West, L. C. Camden, William Welch. Henry 
Stumpff, Matthew Cummins, E. T. Peyton, William Wiseman, John 
F. West, James D. Smith, George M. Strange, William G. King, Miles 
Bradshaw, W. L. Suart, Morris Hodges, R. L. Skillman, T. X. Car- 
penter, G. H. Duncan, B. F. Umstadt, William Allen, John Umstadt, 
James G. Atkins, Adam Thomas, William Cummins, C. P. Smith, Josiah 
Holden, Martin Orr, S. W. Pemberton, J. A. Turner. John Hughes, D. 
M. Holden, Sanford Vineen, James Alexander, Brinkley Hornsby. John 
H. Priestly, G. A. Flowon. John A. Doak, George S. Hammon, Dennis 
Dunham, N. T. Doak, Jessie Coats, John Taggart, Alfred White, J. 
Cocke, ]. C. Parsons, G. J. Farrensworth, W. D. Turner. Sanford Cum- 
mins, Porter Magor, J. B. Anderson: James Savage, iNIartin P. Foster, 
William P. Foster, William Hill, M. W. Fulton, John S. Graves, Benja- 
min Cross, D. S. W. Boston, J. G. Cocke, R. S. Gilliland, F. R. Jackson. 
John Enirson, G. B. Summons, C. H. Harris, A. G. Beard, AL P. Fisher. 
James P\irgeson. W. J. Climont. William Hodges. John Orr. H. H. 
Dobyns, W. S. Wood, John C. Gilbert, F. M. Scott, J. S. P.. Strange, 
W. P. Carrington, A. M. Potts, Samuel Smith, A. O. I'aumhiU. S. W 
Turner, William H. Reese, James Corkran, J. C. Rogers, W. II. Ander- 
son, Samuel Craig, Thomas Durrall, Thomas j. Jones, Is.-iac Jacobs, 
John W. Barsdale. George W\ Gloyd, John Baker. John W. Tackitt, 
Daniel Gloyd. S. L. Smith. James A. Wilson, Cyrus Plounian, B. E. 
McVey, William Adams, Thomas .\. Jennings, William P. llulse, A. li. 
Stout. William '!'. Kennedy. William I'.urden. S. A. Scott, W. C. Dun- 
can, William 11. Camden, Selborn Naylor, David Davenport, Xathamel 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 1/3 

Baker, A. J. Fulton, S. N. Copslaiul, William Payne, R. Z. R. Wall, 
William S. Hughes. 

At this election John Baker and John H. Bailey were clerks. The 
judges were Dennis Dunham, Alfred White, N. T. Doak, and the 
justice of the peace was Watson W. Ham. 

Few of the early pioneers of Madison township are left to tell the 
story of the trials and hardships of the settlement and development of 
this section of the county. Scjuire John A. Doak, now residing in Hol- 
den, is one of the survivors of the early pioneers, and though he is eighty- 
three years old, he is still vigorous in mind and body and remembers 
well the early conditions seventy-tive years ago. He came here with 
his parents from Lafayette county when he was eight years old, in 
184J, and settled six miles south of where Holden now stands, on 
Bear creek, ^4ley were one of the first families to settle in that locality. 
The city of Holden was then not even dreamed of. Lexington, forty- 
five miles distant, was the nearest trading point. There were no roads 
and travelers followed the trails which ran straight across the country, 
following- the most accessible routes regardless of section lines. The 
trip to Lexington, which the settlers were required to make about twice 
each year, required about four days to complete. The settlements were 
all located along the streams. The timber which grew along the creeks 
attorded both fuel and building materials, as well as natural shelter. 
There were no luxuries, but much comfort and the standards of democ- 
racy and hospitality were high. 

Early Churches. — The earliest church in the township was Rock 
Spring Cumberland Presbyterian church, which is still in existence. Ac- 
cording to the old History of Johnson County, it was organized May 
2L 1833, by Rev. R. D. Morrow. According to a very complete history 
of the church by Miss May W^indsor, taken chiefly from the records, it 
was organized May 1. 1837, as the New Hope congregation, and in 1843 
the name was changed to Rock Spring. It was the common place of 
worship for this neighborhood for many years before the Civil W^ar. 
For full history, see article by Miss W'indsor in the chapter on the 
Cumberland Presbyterian church. 

Round Grove Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organized 
^lay 16, 1879 by Rev. S. P. Cobb. They worshipped in the Round 
Grove school house. The charter members were: J. D. Ellisten, Silas 



174 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Elliston, V. K. Shepherd, J. P. Lowrey. F. Lowrey, D. P. Woodruff, 
O. W. Strange, V. Strange, C. L. Woolfolk. P. R. Ferguson, J. V. 
Tapscott, M. A. Tapscott, Sr., M. A. Tapscott, Jr.. F. L. Tapscott. 

Other early churches were in Holden town, and their early history 
is given under that of the town. 

Early Schools. — One of the early schools was Round Grove. It 
was established before the Civil War. Three generations of one family 
ha\'e attended this school, and of the last, one is now its teacher. Catherine 
Hayes, daughter of Mr. Hayes and Mary Ann ( Cockrell ) Hayes, was 
taught there by Thomas Murray. Her daughter, Ada, wife of John F. 
Baker, the stockman of Holden, went there, first to John Morrin. and 
Mrs. Baker's daughter, Catherine Baker, attended the same school under 
Charles Gauss and is now its teacher. The first building was of logs 
and located a mile west of the present location. It was moved after 
the Civil War. For other school information, see chapter on education. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far back as the county court records show, with dates of tlieir 
election: 1842, Leroy Duncan; 1844, Leroy Duncan, Peter Campbell, 
John Newton, John Umstadt ; 1852, Dennis Dunham, Watson W. Ham, 
Peter Campbell, William Deshager; 1856, Watson \\'. Ham, \\illiam 
Deshager, Andrew A. Johnson, Martin C. Randleman : 1860. Silas 
Hulett, Watson W^ Ham, F. C. Howerdin; 1864, Brinkley Hornsby : 
1870, F. L. Hobson, B. A. Craine: 1878, R. M. Burriss, W. C. Smith: 
1880, G. F. Carpenter: 1882. P. D. Brooks, G. F. Carpenter: 1886. J. 
H. Hawes, Joseph Potter, W. W. Gaunt; 1894. W. W. Gaunt, J. H. 
Hawes, J. W. C. Hulse; 1898, W. W. Gaunt, J. H. Hawes, J. W. Green- 
wood: 1902. W. W. Gaunt, John Skerlock, J. W. Greenwood: 1904. E. 
B. White, J. W. Greenwood: 1906, E. B. White, O. G. Boisseau : 1910, 
W. H. Zion, J. W. Greenwood, E. B. White; 1914. W. H. Gorge. J. 
W. Greenwood. George S. Young. 

County Officers. — The following are the county oflicers wlio lia\e 
been elected from the townshi'p since 1882. with the dates of their 
election: 

1882 — G. W. Patton (Democrat), recorder. 

1886-88— W. M. Hamilton (Democrat), assessor. 

1890 — Robert McLin (Democrat), representative. 

1890-92 — .Andrew S. Caniphel! (Democrat), assessor. 

1890— L. F. Murrav (Democr;it ), coroner. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 1/5 

1894 — Frank B. Fulkerson (Republican), prosecuting attorney. 
1894 — \V. S. Dunham (Republican), sheriff. 
1896-98— R. N. Horn (Democrat), coroner. 
1898 — R. H. Tatlow (Democrat), county judge. 
1898-1900 — George S. Young (Democrat), representative. 
1904-06 — P. L. Ferguson (Democrat), treasurer. 
1908-1910 — \\\ L. Chaney (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 
1912 — Emory Thompson (Democrat), coroner. 
1916 — S. A. Murray (Democrat), coroner. 

Population. — The population of iMadison township, by United States 
Census, was : 

—1850— —1860— —1870— 

White. Col. Total. White. Col. Total. White. Col. Total. 
673 34 707 1.492 164 1,658 3.176 153 3,329 

1880 1890 1900 1910 

3,012 3.348 3.049 2,793 

Personal Property and Products. — .Agriculture and personal prop- 
erty statistics for IMadison township, as given by Johnson county 
assessor's lists for 1896 and 1916, are: 

1881 1896 1916 

Horses 719 902 814 

Mules 191 219 337 

Cattle 2,539 1.849 1,420 

Sheep 849 498 40 

Hogs 2,833 2,056 1,604 

Asses 2 1 13 

Notes and money $115,110 $299,840 

Bank stock '- 111,650 93.205 

Other personalty _,___ 73.963 80,155 

All personalty,^ 262,930 567,410 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Madison township since this system was established in 1911 were, up 
to January, 1916, eleven in number, and aggregated $677 furnished by 
the citizens of the township, and $640 by the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of ever\- kind in Madison township. Full details of each organization 
are in this book in separate chapters on the different organizations. 
Churches — Baptist. Holden: Catholic. Holden: Christian, Holden; 



176 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Cumberland Presbyterian, Rock Spring: Latter Day Saints, Holden ; 
Methodist, Holden: Presbyterian, Holden: ^lethodist, Negro: African 
Methodist, Negro. 

Fraternal Organizations — Eastern Star, Knights of Pythias, Macca- 
bees, Masons, 266 Haggai chapter: Modern Woodmen, Odd Fellows; 
Rebekahs, Royal Neighbors, Woodmen of the World. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross, Holden Branch : Home Guards. 

Business Organizations — Bank of Holden, Farmers and Commercial 
Bank, First National Bank, Citizens Telephone Company, Home Tele- 
phone Company. 

Miscellaneous — Civic Society, Woman's Christian Temperance Un- 
ion, D. A. R., Benevolent Association, Shakespeare Club. 

Total number of organizations in township is thirty. 



CHAPTER XV.— HOLDEN. 

LOCATION' AND XAinX<",— FIRST BUILDINGS— ORGANIZATION— FIRST SCHOOLS- 
FIRST POSTOFFICE — EARLY CEMETERY — EARLY CHURCHES — BANKS — 
HOLDEN TODAY— MAYORS— COUNCILMEN— ATTORNEYS — CLERKS — MAR- 
SHALS—TREASURERS—STREET COMMISSIONERS— POLICE JUDGES— ASSESS- 
ORS— COLLECTORS. 

Location. — Holdeii is on tlie Missouri Pacific and the Missouri, 
Kansas & Texas railroads fifty miles from Kansas City. 

Holden was built in anticipation of the Pacific railroad. ■ Up to 
1857, the present site of Holden was a wild, unbroken prairie, much 
still owned by the government. During that year the Pacific railroad 
had reached Jefl:'erson City from the east and the preliminary survey 
had been made through this section. Isaac Jacobs thought the present 
site of Holden would be a favorable location for a town on the new 
railroad line. He accordingly purchased one hundred and sixty acres 
of land from the original iKitentee. Sometime after this purchase he 
associated with him Sanford Cummings and they laid off and platted 
the original town of Holden. The town was laid out in lots 11 by 144 
feet in dimensions and offered for sale at fifty dollars each. A plat of 
the town was recorded April 17 . 1858. by Isaac Jacobs. 

Mr. Jacobs was enterprising and pushed the new town vigorously, 
and had a public sale of the lots. It was said that each lot was sold 
with a condition that no spirituous liquors should be made or sold upon 
the premises except for medicinal purposes, upon violation of which the 
lot was to be forfeited to the trustees of the town, by them sold and 
the proceeds applied to the support of the schools. Mr. Jacobs also 
agreed to expend in the building up and improvement of the town all 
proceeds derived from the sale of lots. Over thirty lots were sold in one 
day at public auction for prices ranging from twenty-five to eighty 
dollars. 

Holden was named in honor of Maj. N. B. Holden. who was promi- 
nent in the early-day affairs of Johnson county. He was a member 
of the Legislature and a prominent factor in bringing the Pacific rail- 
road through Johnson county, and was identified with the early-day 
growth and development of Holden. 



1/8 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

First Buildings. — In 1858 Jacobs and Cummings erected a small 
building on the corner of Second and Olive streets and here opened a 
general store. They next built a small store building on the corner 
of Lexington and Market streets. About the same time Dr. C. L. 
Carter bought two lots on Second and Olive streets and erected the first 
frame residence in Holden. The following winter, Josepli T. Mason 
and son built a liotel, which was destroyed b}' fire during the war. 
Horatio Cox built the first blacksmith shop the same year. In the spring 
of 1859 the first school house was built on First and Livingston streets. 
This school house was also used as a church for a number of years 
and William Roop. of the Protestant Methodist church, preached here. 
In the summer of 1859, H. W. and H. H. Mize erected a building and 
engaged in the general mercantile business. Tlie first Masonic hall 
was over this store. W. C. Painter erected a 1)lacksmith shop here 
in 1860, and Doctor Bolton erected an oftice in 1860 and began the 
practice of medicine here. However, Dr. C. L. Carter was the first 
practicing physician. James Bradley built the first brick building in 
the town, which was a one-story structure, in 1860. This was burned 
in the early part of the Civil War. 

When the Civil War iM-oke out the town had sixteen families, a 
population of about one hundred. During the Civil War some of the 
best buildings were burned and the town made no progress. In 1865 
the railroad reached Holden and this, with the return of peace, gave the 
town new life. Soon a numljcr of important business houses were 
established here. Hubl)ard and Coventry established an extensive dry 
goods Inisiness. H. C. Bettes opened a liardware store. W. J. Lee 
engaged in the dry goods business and James S. Peel and W. B. Nichols 
also engaged in business here. I. Starkey and William Ciiristian estab- 
lished a lumber yard here, which at this writing is conducted by the 
son, C. E. Starkey. All these businesses were established in 1866. From 
that time on, Holden has made sul)stantial progress. 

Organization. — The first town organization of Holden was per- 
fected in 1S6S, with the following ofiicers; J. M. Huld)ard. mayor; 
George L. Wells. J. O. Parish, Abe Metzler and J. C. Richards, coun- 
cilmen; Ed. Stearns, marshal: David Nation (husband of Carrie Xalion), 
attorney, and J. W. Mack, clerk. The town was lirst incorjioratcd in 
1851 and the original charter was amended in lS7.v Since tlie original 
town of Holden was jilattcd several additions to tlie town have been 
officiallv recorded. 



HISTORY Ul' JOU.NSON COCN'IY I/O 

First Schools. — Tlie first school building was erected short!}- after 
the town was founded, in 1859. In 1867. the pubHc school system of 
Holden was established on a firm basis. In 1870, a brick school house 
was erected containing four rooms Init in a few \-ears this was found too 
small and another building, a frame one. was erected. Since that time 
tlie school accommodations ha\e kept pace with the requirements of 
the city and at present Holden has a modern high school building in 
addition to her grade schools and one school for the colored pupils. 

A complete list of the early teachers who taught in the Holden 
schools from 1870 to 1881 are the following: .Mr. S. H. Hatch, Mrs. 
E. J. Dudley. JMiss M. H. Reed. Miss Kellogg, John A. Young, Sallie 
Brooks, Sallie Hubbard, M. H. Reed, Jennie Wise, Kate Humphreys, 
John H. Lea, M. K. Beatty, P. R. Carroll, Bettie Lewis, Sallie Hubbard, 
W. A. Smith, A. L. Clothier. Carrie Gloyd, Saidie Hubbard. George W. 
Sindlinger. Ida C. Clothier, Mary Brown, Julia McGrew, M. E. Lewis, 
M. C. Halbert, E. W. Stowell, M. E, Brown. Alice B. Cline. Anna E. 
Sharp, E. W. Stowell. Lizzie Hanishaw, Anna S. Carroll, George B. 
Longan, M. Brown, R. M. Cook. Eva Hengy. Mary C. Hank. Tillie 
Stephens, Mary Bobbs, Lutie Umstadt. W. D. Guttery, M. E. Hop- 
kins, Anna P. Stark, A. C. Jones. Maggie Sparks and Clara Wise. 

Holden College was an important educational institution located in 
Holden for a number of years. It was established here in 1881 by 
Prof. \\'. \\'hite. a native of Canada, and of wide experience in college 
work. This college was successfully conducted for a numl^er of years 
when the building was sold to an order of Catholic nuns and by them 
conducted under the name of St. Celia Seminary. After being conducted 
by this order for a number of years as a successful educational insti- 
tution, the property passed into the hands of private ownership. 
Recently it has been purcliased by the Latter Day Saints church and 
after ela1)orate improvements, it is now used as a home for aged mem- 
bers of that denomination. 

First Postoffice. — The first postofiice in the vicinity of Holden was 
established here before the town was laid out. It was on the Jefferson- 
Independence stage route and kept by Isaac Jacobs. After Mr. Jacobs 
laid the town out and built a store here, the postofiice was moved to 
his store. The othce remained there during the Civil War and Mr. 
Jacobs continued to serve as postmaster although very little mail was 
handled here during the war. In the spring of 1866. William Coventry, 
who started a store here, became postmaster. Two years later he was 



lOO HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

succeeded l)y 'J'. J. Tvgart, a real estate man. and in 1869 W. J. Mack 
became postmaster, and continued at least as long as 1881. 

Early Cemetery. — For a number of years after Holden was built 
there was no regular cemetery laid out and established bv law. The 
inhabitants buried tlieir dead in what was known as the old Inirving 
ground, whicli is now occupied by the pul)lic school in the southern 
part of town. 

The Holden cemetery was regularly laid out and platted by Luther 
\\'agner. a civil engineer, and the plat recorded Alay 17, 1869, and at 
that time about one hundred and twenty-five graves were removed 
from the old burying ground to the new one. The new cemetery is 
under control and jurisdiction of the city of Holden and is located 
about one and one-fourth miles southwest of the Missouri Pacific depot 
and originally contained ten acres, but additions have since been made 
and a concrete sidewalk was built to it. 

Early Churches. — The Methodist Episcopal church was organized 
by Rev. G. H. Reed in 1867. The erection of a church building was 
begun in 1869 and was completed and dedicated in August. 1871, by 
Rev. Doctor Dant. This was known as "Coventry" chapel. The first 
Sunday school was organized in connection with this denomination by 
Mrs. J. E. Gardner at her residence in 1869. 

The Evangelical Association was organized at Holden in 1879 by 
Rev. Koepsell and Rev. Schaefer and a church edifice was erected the 
same year. The first meml^ers of tin's denomination here were William 
Kotch, Lizzie Kotch, Philip Ulrich, R. Ulrich. H. Hagemeyer. C. Hage- 
meyer, E. Henzy. J. ;\liller. Charles Hagemeyer. S. Hagemever, E. 
Scheer, F. and R. W'itzell, F. W'inkenhoeper. H. Rorman. M. Spatli. 
R. Markley, J. Rorman. Among the early pastors of this denomination 
were Reverend Messrs. Falgeht. Emmell, Harter, Koepsell and Schafer. 
This congregation has since disbanded. 

The first Baptist church was organized March 23. 1878. by C. N. 
Webster, and erected a building at the corner of Sixth and Market 
streets in 1879. 

The first Christian church was organized here in 186.^ by Elder 
Stout and erected a building shortly after the organization was effected. 
The first Presbyterian church was organized November 4, 1866, 
by Rev. S. G. Clark.' 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY l8l 

St. Patrick's Catholic church was (irganized In- Father i\I. G. Mas- 
kin in May, 1869, and a churcii erected the same year. 

The Methodist Episcopal church (colored) was organized in 1S74 
by Rev. AV'illiam Wheeler and reorganized in 1879 by Rev. R. Bush. 

The African Methodist church (colored) was organized by the 
colored people in 1876 and two years later a church was built in the 
southern part of the town by Rew P. D. Yocum. 

For histories of each of the foregoing churches, refer to appropriate 
chapter on each denomination. 

Banks. — The Bank of Holden was estal)Iished May 15, 1872. by 
I. M. Smith and Louis Chene_\\ It is the oldest bank now in existence 
in the county. 

The Farmers & Commercial F)ank was organized March 17, 1881. 
A^'illiam M. Steele was especiall}' acti\-e in its early establishment. 

Refer to chapter on Banks for details of these banks. 

Holden Today. — Today, Holden has six white and two negro 
churches, sixteen ci\ic and fraternal organizations, city-owned water- 
works, and light plant, a mill, three banks, two newspapers, first-class 
hotel, fine high school, good hosjiital and good streets, sidewalks and 
well-improved homes. 

The time was when Holden and W'arrensburg sought to Ijecome 
big towns. Tliis ambition has developed into the higher one of becom- 
ing good towns. In this Holden is achieving rapid and substantial suc- 
cess. For many years it held the largest and most successful country fair 
in Johnson county, and one of the best in the state. The old fair grounds 
still testify to the size and importance of these big gatherings. Today 
Holden in its place has the largest and best Chautauqua Association 
in the county. It not only has a fine high school building and equip- 
ment, but in that school is organized a cadet company, active and 
efficient, that is giving the students a practical and moral training they 
get nowdiere else, and this company is supported wholly by the volun- 
tary work of the superintendent — Professor Robeson — and school board 
and students. In many other ways, the strong and valuable community 
spirit of Holden has produced, and is today producing, in peace and in 
the great war, results that make the world a better place for the men 
and women who live in it. 

City Officers. — The following is a complete list of the officers of 
Holden from its organization to the present time: 



l82 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Mayors.— 1868, J. AI. Hubbard: 1869, J. C. Richards, \V. G. Finley; 

1870, Geo. S. AValton; 1871, J. W. Mack: 1872, F. B. Hawes: 1873, W. 

B. Nichols: 1874-1877, A\'. C. Smith: 1878, Al. A. Powell: 1879-1880, W. 

C. Smith: 1881, A. Van Matre: 1882, B. F. Metzler: 1883-1884, J. W. 
Kyger: 1885-1889, J. FT. Hawes: 1890-1891, G. S. Young: 1892-1893, J. H. 
Hawes: 1893, F. C. Borden: 1894-95, J. H. Hawes: 1896-1899, T. J. Hal- 
sey; 1898-1899. J. Z. Brothers: 1901-1903, W. D. Gray: 1904-1909, O. G. 
Boisseau: 1910-1913, W. G. Thompson: 1914-1917, Emery G. Thompson. 

Councilmen.— 1868, George L. AVells, J. O. Parish, Abe Metzler, 
J. C. Richards: 1869, I. Starkey, J. F. Tygard, George Young, John 
Ellis; 1870, Charles Bluhm, J. Wallace. James IMcAlullin, John Ellis; 

1871, \\'. C. Smith, G. S. Young, Edward Davis. William Hill: 1872, 
I. Nichols, J. C. Richards. L Starkey, J. G. Cope; 1873. J. G. Cope, R. 
T. Leaverton, L Starkey. W. C. Taylor; 1874. M. V. Johnson, T. M. 
-Mills, I. Starkey, John Ormsby : 1875, M V. Johnson. J. Ormsby, H. C. 
Conner, L Starkey; 1876, Al. \^ Johnson, J. Ormsby, H. C. Conner, 
S. S. Metzler; 1877. M. V. Johnson, J. Ormsby. H. C. Conner, S. S. 
Metzler; 1878, M. V. Johnson. J. H. Ormsby, S. S. Metzler, H. C. Con- 
ner; 1879. I. Starkey, J. H. Ormsby. John Gibson. H. C. Conner: 1880. 
I. Starkey. J. H. Ormsby: John Gibson, H. C. Conner: 1881. I. Starkey, 
J. H. Ormsby, H. C. Conner, John Gibson: 1882. I. Starkey, J. H. 
Ormsljy, H. C. Conner, John Gibson; 1883, H. C. Conner, J. H. Ormsby. 
John Gibson. M. T. Robinson: 1884, J. \\'. Scott. J. 11. Ormsby, John 
Gibson, M. T. Robinson; 1885. J. AV. Scott. J. M. Taylor, J. H. Blewitt, 
W. P. Baker; 1886, E. P. Tompkins. J. Al. Taylor. H. M. Garnett, W. 
P. Baker. Joseph Huber; 1887, Joseph Huber, J. M. Taylor, C. W". Etter, 
T. A. Hoffman: 1888, Joseph Huber, J. M. Taylor. T. J. Wolf. C. W. Etter, 
W. P. Baker: 1889. Joseph Huber, J. A'. Murray. C. A\'. Etter. W. P. 
Baker; 1890, J. F. Rittner, J. V. Murray, C. AA\ I'.tter. T. J. AA'olf ; 1891, J. 
F. Rittner, J. W. Murray, AV. P. Baker, T, J. AA'olf: 1892. J. L. Burris, J. 
V. Alurray, AA". P. Baker, G. S. Young: 1S<)3, O. A. Bettes. Eon Flank, 
J. F. Rittner, G. S. Young: 1894. O. A. Bettes. Eon Hank. J. F. Rittner, 
J. C. Stalzner; 1896, J. Z. Brothers, Lou Hank. J. F. Rittner. Marion 
Grubl). J. AA'. Page. AA'. F. Shields. C. H. Hartzell. J. 11. Ormsby: IS97. 
J, Brothers. Eon Hank. J. F. Rittner. C, H. Hartzell. B. Stern. W, 1'. 
ShieMs. T. Mc:\lullen, J. AA". Page: 1808. V,. Stern. W. l-. Sliiel.F. I'. 
A. Tesch. G. C. Scheer, J. H. Smith. Enn Hank. J. S. Arnold. I \\'. 
Page: 1890. J. S. Phillips. Eon Hank. J. S. Arn.dd. G. C. Scheer. W. D. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 1 83 

Gray, H. S. Gooch, Charles Bluhni, J. W. Page; 1900, J. S. Phillips, 
Lon Hank, Charles Bluhm, G. C. Scheer. A\'. D. Gray, H. S. Gooch, 

F. A. Tesch, I. Roby; 1901, J. S. Phillips, Lon Hank, Charles Bluhm, 

G. C. Scheer, W. D. Gray. H. S. Gooch, F. A. Tesch, I. Roby: 1902, 
J. S. Phillips, Lon Hank, Charles Bluhm, G. C. Scheer, W. D. Gray, 
H. S. Gooch. F. A. Tesch, R. D. Bailey: 1903, Harry Hebel. Lon Hank. 
F. A. Tesch. G. C. Scheer. Charles Gibson. C. M. Baldwin. Charles 
Bluhm, I. Roby: 1904, Harry Hebel. Lon Hank. F. A. Tesch. H. W. 
Higgins. J. W. Pierce. C. :M. Baldwin. Charles Bluhm, W. A. Caldwell; 
1905, Harry Hebel. Lon Hank, F. A. Tesch, Brad Harmon. J. W. 
Pierce. C. M. Baldwin, Charles Bluhm. W. A. Caldweh : 1906, Harry 
Hebel. Lon Hank, F. A. Tesch. A\'. A. Caldwell, AV. D. Gray. C. :\I. 
Baldwin, Charles Bluhm. Joseph Riley: 1907. Harry Hebel. Lon Hank. 
F. A. Tesch, AA". A. Caldwell, W. D. Gray. C. M. Baldwin, Charles 
Bluhm, Joseph Riley. H. E. Tesch: 1908. Harry Hebel. Lon Hank. H. 
E. Tesch, Joseph Riley, Joseph Rowell, C. 'SI. Baldwin, Charles Bluhm. 
E. BI. Golladay: 1909. L. L. Bierly. Lon Hank. H. E. Tesch. J. W. 
Riley, G. B. Kirk, C. M. Baldwin. Charles Bluhm, E. H. Golladay: 1910, 
L. L. Bierly. Lon Hank, F. R. Huber, J. AV. Riley, G. B. Kirk. C. M. 
Baldwin, Charles Bluhm, E. H. Golladay: 1911. R. AA\ Conrad, Lon 
Hank, F. R. Huber, J. AA'. Riley. G. B. Kirk. Brad Harmon. O. A\'. 
AA'hite. E. H. Golladay: 1912, R. AA'. Conrad. Lon Hank, F. R. Huber. 
J. AA'. Riley, Dr. E. Thompson. Brad Harmon, O. AA". AA bite. E. H. 
Golladay; 1913. R. AV. Conrad, Lon Hank, H. E. Tesch. E. H. Golladay. 
E. Thompson, E. K. Steele. A. G. Anderson, F. R. Huber: 1914, R. AW 
Conrad. Lon Hank. H. E. Tesch, E. H. Golladay, G. B. Raker, E. K. 
Steele, A. G. Anderson, J. F. Baker: 1915. R. AA'. Conrad, Lon Hank, 
H. E. Tesch. E. H. Golla<lay, G. B. Raker. E. K. Steele. A. G. Ander- 
son. J. F. Baker, Dr. A. B. Xewland to succeed Tesch: 1916. R. AV. 
Conrad. Lon Hank. O. G. Boisseau, E. H. Golladay. AV. A. Caldwell, 
E. K. Steele, O. AA'. AVhite. J. F. Baker: 1917. AA'. A. Caldwell. Lon 
Hank. O. G. Boisseau. E. H. Golladay. George Bleich. E. K. Steele. Dr. 
O. J. Phillips. J. F. Baker. 

Lon Hank has served twenty-five years consecutively on the city 
council, from April. 1893. This is the longest service of any elected 
citv or countv ntticers. and he was elected by the people more times 
than any other city or county officer. City elections in Hnldeii are 
non-partisan. 



184 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Attorneys.— 1868, D. Nation; 1869. D. Nation: 1870, D. Nation: 
1871-72, A. Van Matre: 1873, J. P. Orr: 1874. J. E. Johnston: 1875-78. 
J. P. On-: 1879, A. Van Matre; 1881, A. H. Carpenter: 1884, S. T. 
Allen: 1886. Joseph January; 1887, R. O. McLin ; 1888. A. Van Matre; 
1889-1890. R. O. McLin; 1891-94, J. H. January; 1895. C. C. Christian; 
1896, F. B. Fulkerson and D. T. Boisseau ; 1897-98. D. T. Boisseau; 
1900. T. C. Hornbuckle; 1902, J. P. Orr; 1904. M. D. Aber ; 1905-08, 
W. L. Chancy; 1909, H. A. Schoenwctter ; 1910, J. P. Orr; 1912. H. 
A. Schoenwctter; 1914, S. T. White. 

Clerks.— 1868, J. W. Mack; 1869. David Nation: 1870, A. P. Espen- 
scheid; 1871, H. :\Iartin WilHams; 1872, J. H. Hawes: 1873, George 
N. Richards; 1874, J. H. Hawes: 1875-76, George Patton; 1877-79, 
John W. Mittong; 1880, James Steele: 1881. J. H. Hawes: 1882. R. L. 
Narron: 1883-84. John M. Taylor; 1885-87. P. C. \'an Matre; 1889. W. G. 
Braddy; 1890, G. R. Johnson: 1893. J. H. Tevis; 1894-1917. Jesse Bower. 

Marshals.— 1868. Edward Stearns; 1869. B. F. Metzler; 1870. J. F. 
Power: 1871. T. Sharp: 1872. T. Dudley: 1873. A. B. Sparks; 1874. H. 

D. Smithson; 1875. J. M. Duke; 1876. E. A. Lucas: 1877-1881, H. H. 
Still: 1882, T. H. Moore; 1883-85. H. H. Still: 1886. Joe Hessler; 1887, 
H. H. Still: 1888-1890. D. S. Child: 1891-94, W. S. Dunham: 1895. 
James H. Nay; 1896. H. H. Still: 1898-1909. H. H. Roop : 1910. L. W. 
Grimes; 1912, H. E. Burton: 1914-16, L. \\'. Grimes. 

Treasurers.— 1871-72, D. GoUaday; 1873. E. R. Stevens; 1874-1881-. 
George V. Hall; 1881. George A^ Hall, died April 26. 1881. and David 
Golladay elected to fill vacancy: 1883-1891. Z. T. Miller; 1896. G. R. 
Johnson; 1898-1902. D. L. Eves; 1904-1906, G. C. Batsell; 1908-1916, 
C. E. Starkey. 

Street Commissioners.— 1880. R. A. Snead; 1881-1884, D. J. Har- 
lan: 1886-1890, John Wallace: 1892. Richard Watson; 1893, J. Wallace: 
1894, R. Watson; 1899, A. C. Hartman; 1O00-1903, B. F. Elliott: 
1904-1909, J. M. Haggard: 1910-1911, L. W. Grimes; 1012-1913, H. E. 
Burton: 1914-1917, L. W. Grimes. 

Police Judges.— 1896-1Q09, J. \\-. Greenwood: 1010, ]•:. B, \\'hite: 
1912-1917. J. W. Greenwood. 

Assessors.— 1896. W. L. Christian; 18OS-1O04, O. C. P.yler: 1005- 
1006. J. A. \\'ilkerson; 1908. O. C. Bylcr ; 1010-1012. Thomas X. Crih- 
bins; 1016. O. C. Byler; 1917, George F. Mullen. 

Collectors,— 1806, G. W. Estes; 1897, A. M. Sankey: 18OS-1002, C. 

E, Starkcv; 1004-1017, Jesse Bower. 



CHAPTER XVI.— JACKSON TOWNSHIP. 

PESCRIPTIDX. LOCATION. ORGANIZATION— XAMIN'C^ — GEOGRAPHY— SOIL— EARLY 
SETTLEMENTS— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS 
— EARLY TEACHERS — FIRST POSTOFFICE — OFFICIAL RECORDS AND STA- 
TISTICS. JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS— PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PROD- 
UCTS—ROAD IMPROVEMENTSf— POPULATION— ORGANIZATIONS— PITTSVILLE. 

In the original organization of Joimson cminty it consisted of four 
townsiiips of nearly the sanie area. Jackson was one and occupied the 
northwestern corner of the countw It was organized INIay 4, 1835. at 
the first county court. 

Jackson township was named in honor of President .Andrew Jack- 
son. The organization of subsequent townships in the county has taken 
considerable territory from the original Jackson townsliip. yet it still 
remains the largest township in Johnson county. 

Geography. — Area, 81 square miles, or .51,840 acres. Geographically, 
the east four-fifths of Jackson township lie between the two upper main 
forks of Blackwater creek, and the west one-fifth lies on a ridge between 
the west fork of Black\\-ater and the hea(h\'aters of Big creek. This 
ridge constitutes a watershed running north and south between the 
tributaries of the Missouri ri\er on tlie east and the Osage river on the 
west. 

Soil. — According to the Soil Survey of the United States Depart- 
ment of Agriculture for 1914. the chief soils of the township consist of 
(1) a large body of "black limestone" soil (Summit silt loam | consti- 
tuting the main upland between the two Blackwater forks and (2) of the 
ridge already described of "mulattfi" soil (Pettis silt loam ), three-quarters 
to one mile wide and about eight miles long, between the west fork of 
Blackwater and Big creek. Along the lianks of tliese streams are the 
ordinary bottom soils, chiefly Osage silt loam in narrow strips varying 
from one-eighth to one-c|uarter of a mile wide: next to the bottom soil, 
and between it and the main bodies of the Summit and Pettis silt loam 
uplands lies an irregular strip one-eighth to one mile wide of a thinner, 
lighter soil, the Boone silt loam ("sandy" soil). 

The soils in detail are; 



l86 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Summit silt loam upland, about 60 per cent, of the township. It 
lies in a fairly solid body between the two Blackwater forks as indi- 
cated and also on the west side of the west fork of Blackwater between 
the Boone silt loam, that adjoins the bottom land, and the Pettis silt 
loam that occupies the ridge on the west. 

Boone silt loam, upland, about 20 per cent. This lies next to the 
bottom soil, as indicated, the largest area consisting of about six square 
miles in the northeast. 

Pettis silt loam, upland, about 15 per cent. It consists of the eight- 
mile strip already described on the west side, and is not found elsewhere 
in the township. 

Crawford silt loam, upland, "red limestone" soil, about 3 per cent. 
It is found in irregularly shaped patches of one square mile and less 
over the southwest three-fourths of the township. 

Miscellaneous, narrow strips of first and second bottom soil along 
the creeks, Osage, Chariton and Robertsville silt loams. 

Of the foregoing, the Summit, Pettis and Crawford silt loams are 
ranked the best three common upland soils in the county. 

For further soil details, see chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The first settlement in this township was 
what was known as "Basin Knob Settlement" and was nearly as early 
as the old Columbus Settlement. Jonathan h'ine came from Tennessee 
and settled here in 1829. He was the first to be Iniried in the old 
cemetery near Blackwater church. Baldwin H. Fine, from Ray county, 
Tennessee settled here in 1829. He was killed by a maraudering 
militia band during the Civil War, wlio at the same time killed Henry 
Shaffer and a IMr. Rogers. John Ferguson was also among the first 
pioneer settlers. Hon. Reuljen B. I-"ulkerson came here from \'irginia 
about 1830. He was a staunch Democrat and was prominent in the 
affairs of the county at an early day and represented Johnson county 
in the state Legislature at one time. Macklin White, the first to repre- 
sent Johnson county in the state Legislature, was also a resident of 
Jackson township. Joseph Hooper came here in 1831 and settled on the 
Cockrell farm. A brother of his also settled on Sni creek about the 
same lime. I'^lias Lundy, a Virginian, also jdined the settlement .-it 
P.;isin Knob at a very early day. Tcnnpkins llradley came liere in 
1836. His house was burned by Kansas inv:ulers during the Civil \\;ir 
and in 1863, he removed with his familv to C.alifornia. 



iiisruKv OK .M)U.\si)\ t-(jiMv 187 

The following is a list of some of the eaii\- settlers nian\- of \\ho>c 
descendants now reside in the county and the names are familiar to 
the present generation: Jackson Longacre. John Longacre, Jerry Jame^, 
Joseph Howard. Jowell Ellis. Peter A. Hall. Charles Hood, T. JM-anklin. 
W. Franklin, Greenville Crisp. Al. lulwanls. D. Edwards, Samuel, hdias 
and Amos Lundy. Amos Roberts. James Givens, G. Coibern. lienr\- 
Colbern. Moses Ferguson. Fee l^'erguson. Frank Bradley. William 
Davidson. Squire Campbell. James Craig. Alartin and Charles Phillips, 
John Miller, Joseph Rags. laic, William Ragsdale. Thomas Ragsdale, 
William Hopper, Calvin Shore, John Y. .Martin, Daniel Spainhowcr, 
Jesse Howard, William Hays, James Briggs, Samuel Shirlev, William 
Hill, WilHam P. Paul. William P. Tucker. William Doak. David Hogan. 
John C. Sparks and Judge John Windsor. The latter served as county 
judge in an early day. 

Early Churches. — The early settlers of this section early provided 
for divine worship. Like most pioneer commuidties. preaching was helil 
in the private residences during the first few j'ears. In warm weather 
religious services were held in the groves. The first convert in the 
township is said to be Mrs. B. F. Fine. Thomas Wallace was the first 
circuit rider to \'isit the township. Soon after him came Thomas Ashb_\'. 
who was assisted by a young man named H. N. Watts, who \vas pre- 
paring for the ministry. Some of the early settlers declared that he 
was not a very promising youth, although contrary to expectations, he 
de\'eloped into a very prominent minister in later life. Re\". D. A. 
Leeper came about 1848 and remained about two years. Re\-. Samuel 
S. Colbern ministered to the spiritual wants of the community from 1852 
to 1854. He was a strong, capable, conscientious man. I'iew Henr_\- 
Farmer was prominent among the first jireachers of the Baptist denond- 
nation. 

Blackwater Methodist Episcopal Church. South, in the eastern ])arl 
of the townshi]) was the first church organized in the county, and is 
the oldest Methodist church west of Marshall, south of the Arkansas 
line (according to Rew Thomas Cobb, of I^e.xington ). Mr. Cobb states 
that the church was organized in the L'hristmas holiday's in 1829. and 
a log church built in 1834. The early [Kistors here were Thomas Wal- 
lace, Thomas T. Ashb}'. G. \\'. Beule}' Daniel A. Lapeer. Jesse Green 
D. F. Capell. E. E. Degg. Silas Williams. J. A. Chase. T. C. James. W. 
M. Pitts. James A. Gumming. R. A. Foster. R. W. Webster, R. Min- 



I«fS HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Shaw, H. X. Watts, M. Duren, W. J. Brown, T. P. Cobb. J. C. Daily. 

E. W. Woodward, John B. Wood and J. D. fl. Wooldridge. Among 
the earl}' members of this church we find the names of Thomas Winsor 
and family, James Bradley and family, Richard Bradley and family, 
John Ferguson. Henry Shaffer, Rev and ^Irs. J. Fine, Baldwin H. Fine 
and wife. Jester Cox and family, William Smith and J. T. and E. E. 
Davis. Camp meetings were held annually near this church for a 
period of over thirty years and people came from as far as Lexington 
and Independence to attend them. 

Basin Knob Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organized in 
1858. A. J. Longacre, James Sanders, Moses Mullens and William 
Hayes, with their families, and G. Christ and Polly A. Fulkerson were 
the first members. Their first building was burned in 1869 and later 
they erected another. 

Elm Spring Baptist church was organized in 1859 by Re\'. George 
Minton and Rev. J. Gott. However, this congregation erected no 
building until 1870, the war having interfered with the carrving out 
of the original plans. In 1870, a neat frame structure was erected at 
a cost of one thousand dollars, in section 30, township 47, range 48, 
near Elk Springs on the north branch of the Blackwater. Among the 
early pi.stors who served here were the Re\erends George Minton, 
Harry Farmer, I. L. Crow, J. W. Williams. 1. X. Xewman. T. Gott, 

F. M. West and J. B. Jackson. ,\mong the earl\- members of this con- 
gregation were John Winfrey. Jane Winfrew W. V. Snow and wife, 
Dorcas Hunter. Da\id Hunter, Josephus Martin and wife. X*. Williams 
and Richard T. Martin and wife. The first Sunda\- school was organized 
in 1866 and John \\'infre\- was the first superintendent. 

Pleasant Grove Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1867. 
Newton Cobb, J. C. Sparks and William Harper and their families were 
the first members. Wesley Chapel Methodist Episcopal church was 
organized in the southern part of the tdwnship in 1870. Ten years 
later they erected a building at a cost of se\en hundred dollars. 

Enon Baptist church was organized at Pitts\ille July 25. 1868, by 
.\braham \\'eaver and they erected a building in 1869 at a cost of one 
thousand dollars. The early ])astors here were .Miram Weaver. G. 
Smith, I. X, Xewman, J. B. Jackson and A. r.ai'lon. 'Hie first members 
were Levy Warford, Eouis Warford. Willi.im A. Warford. Martha J. 
Warford, ( )sborn Warford, Margaret Warlord. Dax i.l Warf..rd, Matilda 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COL'NTY 1 89 

Warford, .Michael Warford. Elizalietli Warfonl. William W'arford, Mary 
Warford, Juda E. Ryan, James M. Xohle, James K. 'McChire, Martin 
J. McClure, Joseph Crow. C. K. Crow, Louis A. Crow. ()se\ith Crow. 
William J. Crow and Martha Crow. 

Early Cemeteries. — The early cemeteries of the township were 
Lundy cemeter\- in section 31. a well-kept plat containing ■^exeral graves. 
Louis Edwards was the first to he interred here in 1855. The oldest 
cemetery in the township is Blackwater cemetery at Blackwater church, 
located in section 36. There are many graves here. The cemetery lot 
is enclosed by a stone wall and kept up and used today. There is also 
a cemetery in section 4 and one in section 15, and also in section 30. 
near the old Basin Knob church. Pittsville cemetery was established 
subsecjuent to the Civil War and j. A. McClure was the first to be 
buried here. 

Early Schools. — Prior to the establishment of the public school 
system, the earl_\- settlers of Jackson township, like the average pioneers 
of the various sections of the state, had their subscription schools and 
the first log school houses were built by the co-operation of the pioneers 
of each neighborhood. However, the first schools were held in private 
residences until provisions were made for regular school buildings such 
as they were at that time. Among the old log school houses the Tucker 
school house was one of the last. 

Early Teachers. — Many of the early-day teachers of this vicinit\- 
were capable and possessed of much common sense. Among the pio- 
neer teachers appear the names of Jasper N. Ferguson. B. McCoy, C. 
Hufif, James Briggs, Mr. Tarpley. Mr. Devasier. Mr. Slocum. Mrs. 
Catherine Craig. Miss Lizzie Emmons, Michael E. Newman, W. W. 
Sparks, Louis H. Schi\-ington, Miss Nannie P. Pitts. A. Van Ausdol. New- 
ton Cobl) and S. P. Sparks. In the early times there were fevi- women 
teachers. 

The first voting precinct was at Mr. Lund_\''s. at Basin Knob. Basin 
Knob at that time was strong!}- Democratic and seemed ti) control the 
political destinies of the county. 

First Postoffice. — The first postoffice in the township was estab- 
lished at Basin Knob and John W'infre}' served as postmaster there for 
ele\-en years. Later the postoffice was remo\'ed to Pitts\'ille. 

Official Records and Statistics, Justices. — The justices of the peace 
of Jackson township, as far back as the reconls go. \\-ith the dates of 



IQO HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

their election, are: 1842, Joseph W. Henderson, Baldwin H. Fine. 
William C. Baker; 1844. Tompkins Bradley. Dennis Dunham; 1846. 
Mumford Smith. William C. Baker; 1850. Peter H. B. Drace. Daniel 
W. Ragan; 1856, l<"inley E. Barnett. John B. Chapman; 1860. Isham 
Reece; 1862. Richard B. Bradley, William Tucker; 1870, Joseph Pat- 
terson, J. MM. Martin: 1878, J. B. Murray, R. S. Phillips; 1886, Fred 
A. Myers, Meredith Rice; 1890, Meredith Rice, Sam C. McGlathery; 
1894, 'v. Price, G. H. McGlathery; 1896, John Burns: 1898, T. A. Ed- 
wards Pat Lawson; 1902, C. C. Smith, Pat Lawson; 1906. C. C. Smith, 
R. L. Floward; 1908, T. J. Haile ; 1910, T. J. Haile. C. C. Smith; 1912, 
Robert H. Peery; 1914, R. L. Howard, C." Sam Smith; 1916. William 
A. Merrill. 

County Officers. — The following are the county officers who have 
been elected from the township since 1882. with the dates of their elec- 
tion : 

Jasper Ferguson (Democrat), surveyor.' 

1886 — Hardin Long (Democrat), county judge. 

1906-08 — William B. Pemberton (Democrat), county judge. 

1910 — Dr. .Mex. C. Crank (Democrat), representative. 

1916 — R. L. Howard (Democrat), treasurer. 

Personal Property and Products.^Agriculture and personal prop- 
erty statistics for Jackson township as given by Missouri State Reports 
for 1877. and lohnson count\- assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916, are: 





1877 




1877 


1896 


1916 


A\4ieat. bushels _ 


2KSi9 


Horses __ 


___ 937 


1,319 


1.431 


Corn. Inishels 


37.03^ 


Mules __ 


___ 391 


419 


56f) 


Oats, bushels 


7,869 


Cattle -._ 


.__2,101 


2,295 K' 


2.453 


P)arle\'. Iiushels __ 


82 


Hogs ___ 


—4,795 


3.310 


2.403 


Rve. bushels 


18,029 


As.ses ___ 




18 


53 


Tobacco, pounds _ 


14,553 


Shee]:) 


_... 1.362 


556 


540 


^\'ool, ])ounds 


3,275 










Plav, tons 


980 











asses, gallons 7,017 

1896 1916 

Xotes and money S 30.610 .S 47.675 

Otlier personalty 25.815 32,890 

All ]H'rsonalty 138.085 214.450 

Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by the town- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 



ship, since this system was established in 1911. were up to January 1. 
1918. twenty-three in number and aggregated $1,263, furnished by the 
citizens of the township, and $1,255 furnished by the county. In amount 
of tliis work Jackson ranks fiftli aiuong the townsliips of the count}'. 



Population.- 


-Population of Jackson township, by United State: 


5US. was; 




—1850- 


—1860— —1870— 


White. Col. 


Total. White. Col. Total. White. Col. Total. 


2.082 311 


2.393 2.960 477 3.437 2.150 50 2.200 


1880 


1890 1900 1910 


2,168 


2.190 1.913 1.680 



Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of every kind in Jackson township. Full details of each organization 
are in separate chapters on the different organizations. 

Churches — Baptist. Pittsville: Baptist. Elm Springs; Methodist. JMt. 
Zion; Methodist. \\'oods Chapel: Methodist. South, Baskin Knob: Metho- 
dist, South. Blackwater. 

Fraternal Organizations — Masons. Blue Lodge. Pittsville; Odd Fel- 
lows. Pittsville: Modern Woodmen. Pittsville; Royal Neighbors. Pitts- 
ville. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross. Pittsville Branch. 

Total number of organizations in township, exclusive of schools, 
is eleven. 

There are two villages in the township. Pittsville and Elm. Chapel 
Hill, site of old Chapel Hill College, is just half a mile from the north 
line in Lafayette county. 

See chapters on Organizations and Eamilies for much township his- 
tory. 

PITTSVILLE. 

Pittsville was laid out in 1858 and named in honor of Rev. ^^'illiam 
M. Pitts, a prominent Methodist devine. He was a native of Kentucky 
of English ancestry and was born January 6. 1810. He came to Jack- 
son township in 1848. Pittsville was quite a flourishing village wdien 
the Civil War broke out. During the war a part of the town was 
burned by guerillas. Now it is the center of a very progressive com- 
munity. It has stores, blacksmith shop, physician and good church and 
school house. 



CHAPTER XVIL— WARRENSBURG TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION. NAMING — GEOGRAPHY — SOIL — EARI^Y SETTLEMENTS — EARLY 
CHURCHES— EARLY SCHOOLS — PERTLE SPRINGS — WARRENSBURG QUAR- 
RIES— JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL, PROPERTY 
AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATIONS. 

The first township to be created after the four original townships 
of the county — Washington, Jefiferson, Madison and Jackson, was War- 
rensburg. 

Warrensburg township was organized October 3, 1836, about one 
year after the organiation of the county. It was named for Martin 
Warren, one of the early settlers. 

Geography. — Area, about sixty-four square miles, or 40,960 acres. 
Geographically, Warrensburg township is on a sand ridge between 
Post Oak creek on the west side and Bear creek on the east, with both 
creeks and the ridge itself all running north to Blackwater. 

Soil. — According to the United States Department of Agriculture's 
Soil Survey of 1914, the upland is chiefly "sandy" soil (Boone silt loamj, 
between these two creeks, with patches of "black limestone" soil (Sum- 
mit silt loam) along the east and west sides of the township, and ordi- 
nary bottom (Osage silt loam) along the streams.' 

These soils in detail are: 

Boone silt loam : upland, composes about twenty-seven square 
miles or 42 per cent, of the township. It is the chief upland soil between 
the creeks, and also lies immediately next to the bottom soil in a strip 
about one-fourth mile wide, between it and the patches of Summit silt 
loam. 

Summit silt loam : upland, a])out twelve and three-quarters square 
miles or 20 per cent. This lies chiefly in ( 1 ) an irregular patch of 
about one square mile beginning about one-halt mile southeast of War- 
rensburg; (2) in another patch of about two square miles touching the 
east side of the township and running west to within about one-half 
mile of Bear creek; (3) a third larger but very irregular patch extend- 
ing from tile northeast citv limits of Warrensburg norlheasteriv to 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 103 

Blackwater bottom ; and (4 ) about square miles east of Bear creek 
on the east side of tlie township. 

Boone fine sand}' loam: upland, about three and three fourths 
square miles; similar to the Boone silt loam, but with more sand; about 
6 per cent, of the township. This covers chiefly the southwest half of 
W'arrensburg town and extends to south of Pertle Springs lakes and 
about three-fourths mile east and west of the lakes. It also forms the 
blufif along the east side of Post Oak creek from VVarrensburg town 
clear north to its entrance into Blackwater and the blufif, thence down 
Blackwater on the south side for about three-fourths mile. The sand- 
stone quarries north of town are in this area. 

Bates silt loam : dark, gray-brown soil, about 3 per cent. ; lies in 
small scattered patches, about two square miles. 

Crawford silt loam : upland, "red limestone" soil about one and 
one-fourth square miles or 2 per cent., in' scattering patches over the 
township, 

Osage silt loam; ordinary bottom, about sixteen square miles or 
25 per cent, of the township. It lies along the creeks, chiefly Blackwater 
and Post Oak. 

Miscellaneous; about one and one-fourth square miles or 2 per 
cent., upland soil of Pettis silt loam. First bottom soil of Osage silty 
clay loam and lower second bottom soil of Robertsville silt loam; all 
in small patches. 

Of the foregoing. Summit silt loam, Crawford silt and Pettis silt 
loam are ranked as the best three common upland soils in the county 
and the Osage silt loam the best bottom soil. 

For further soil details see chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — One of the early settlers of Warrensburg town- 
ship was Martin Warren, from whom the township takes its name, who 
came from Kentucky about 1833 and settled on the present site of the 
city of Warrensburg, He built a log cabin and reared a large family 
here. He is described as having been a "plain, old fashioned, conser\ati\'e 
farmer and honest man; corpulent in person; without beard; in poli- 
tics a Whig, though he never sought office," He lived to an advanced 
age and died here in 1850, Other early settlers who located in this 
township prior to 1840 were : Abram Adams, Benjamin Granger, Isaac 
Granger, Thomas Granger. A, B. Granger, Madison Warren, Calvin 
Adams, John Adams, James Fletcher, Jacob Perman, Archibald Thistle, 
■ (7) 



194 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

William Perry, Elijah McCrary, Adam Fickas, David B. Wood, Andrew 
Blevins, Thomas W. Pace, Marcus A. Turner, Joseph P. Henshaw, James 
Cochran, James Marshall, James H. Marshall, G. Wilson Houts, Theo. 

F. Houts, Richard F. Page, James Hallowell, William S. Pertle, John 

G. Gibbons, Martin Greer, John Cox, James Taylor, James W. Potts, 
James Guynn, Daniel Lanier, Harrison Lanier, Adkins Powell and 
William Roop. 

Early Churches. — Among the early church organizations in W'ar- 
rensburg township outside of the city of AVarrensburg, the Regular 
Baptist church was the oldest. It was organized in 1842, four miles 
south of the city of Warrensburg, and was one of the oldest church 
organizations of the county. It was built by Adam Fickas and was said 
to have been largely sustained by him. 

The Union Prairie Baptist church was located two miles northeast 
of Warrensburg in this townsliip. It was organized December 8, 1865, 
by Elder E. H. Burchfield and the building was erected in 1867. The 
following ministers served this church during the early days: Elders 
Jonathan Gott, John Letts, P. J. Collop, J. E. AVelch and F. M. West. 
The following are the names of the first members of this organization: 
Jonathan Gott, AA'illiam Adams, Elizabeth F. Adams, Martha Adams, 
Samson Adams, Eliza J. Knight and Susan Granger. This church was 
disbanded in May, 1881, and at that time united with the Warrensburg 
Baptist church. 

The German Baptist church of Dunkards was organized August 3, 
1880, and was situated two miles south of AA'arrensburg. The original 
members of this congregation were A. W. Reese, minister ; John Bow- 
man, deacon; Joseph E. Lightner, William Mohler, Thomas Adams, 
Nancy J. Roop. Alice Hall, M. Gibson. Sarah L. Bade, Minnie C. Chris- 
topher, Susie E. Reese, Lizzie D. Mohler, Lucinda Bowman. Anna 
Bowman, Lizzie Fickas and Anna Lightner. 

Early Schools. — The schools of Warrensburg township were chietiy 
the schools of Warrensburg town and are given in the history of the 
town. Some of the teachers, after the organization of the district 
schools, were: J. W. McGiven. D. S. Redford, Miss Rosa Hooker, W. 
R. Delaney, T. P. Reid, A. F. Dunbar, Ed. H. Gilbert. W. R. Nelson, 
A. J. Sparks, Gus Coleman, Miss Rebecca Granger, G. M. Shanton, 
Miss Mary Emerson, Miss Sallie Zoll, Miss Josic Smith, Miss Sallie 
Smith, Harvey T. Williams, Miss Frankie A. Miller, Miss Nellie De 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 195 

Garmo, Miss Mattie Zoll, Aliss Lizzie Logan. Miss Kate Logan, Mrs. M. 
D. McCormack, Miss Lizzie McCluney, Miss Nannie Williams. 

Pertle Springs. — Pertle Springs, which is located about one-half 
mile south of the city limits of Warrensburg, is one of the most desir- 
able health and pleasure resorts in this section of the state. 

The land originally belonged to Mr. Pertle, from whom the resort 
takes its name. Before the ad\-ent of the white settlers in Johnson 
county, Lidians often visited this place and recognized the medicinal 
properties of the water here. 

The following is an exact analysis of the water made by Prof. P. 
Schweitzer, professor of chemistry in the University of Missouri, in 
1885. 

"One U. S. gallon left on evaporation a residue weighing when 
ignited 36.8 grains. This residue contained 2.04 grains silica, 0.56 
grains alumina, 7.01 carbonate of lime. 0.67 grains oxide of iron. 6.82 
grains magnesia, 16.61 sulphuric acid. Total, 33.71 grains. The differ- 
ence between this weight and the weight of the total residue amounting' 
to 4.09 grains, consisted of alkalies, carbonic acid, chlorine, ami prob- 
ably some other constituents in small quantities. The water on standing 
and on boiling deposits all its iron in the form of ferric oxide, and is 
true chalybeate water." 

The Pertle Springs grounds comprise eighty acres, of which thirty- 
six are now owned by Messrs. Gray and Baker. There are nine lakes 
here. One is devoted exclusively to bathing purposes. One covers 
sixteen acres and furnishes the water supply for the city of Warrens- 
burg. The other smaller lakes are well stocked with fish and afford 
excellent fishing places. There is a large and commodious hotel. 
It has a well-earned reputation for the excellency of its service. 
Garages and other conveniences for guests are supplied. In addition 
to the hotel, there are a number of cottages and flats on the grounds 
for the accommodation of those who prefer their more home-like life. 
The grounds are beautifully shaded, and there are various amusements 
for children and adults. 

Rev. Sam Jones is perhaps responsible for the erection of the large 
auditorium at Pertle Springs. While conducting a meeting here he 
realized and foresaw the possibilities of such a building and started the 
movement which culminated in the buihling of the auditorium or "Tab- 
ernacle." 



196 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Since then many important conventions and religious and political 
meetings have been held in this building. The Pertle Springs Silver 
Con\ention, one of the important political events of the West which 
began the crystallization of the campaign for free silver in Missouri, 
was held here in 1893. William J. Bryan and many other notable men 
have appeared here. 

Pertle Springs is connected with the city of Warrensburg by a 
railroad which runs from the business district of the city, near the 
Missouri Pacific depot, through the residence district, to the Springs. 
It is operated during the summer seasons by the management of Pertle 
Springs. The motor power is both steam and gasoline. 

Warrensburg Quarries. — The sandstone quarries of Warrensburg 
township are far famed. In 1870, Jacob Pickel, associated with his two 
brothers, Peter and Anton, opened at much expense and hard work the 
first sandstone quarry in Johnson county about two miles north of 
Warrensburg. A railroad switch was put in, and a steam channeling 
machine, the latter alone costing $6,000. The lifting was also done by 
machinery, run by steam. 

The first large contract was for more than $250,000 worth of stone 
to be used in the Chamber of Commerce building in St. Louis, Missouri, 
which covers an entire block. All the stone was cut at the quarry 
and shipped to St. Louis in perfect condition to be placed. 

Jacob Pickel furnished the stone for the Kansas City court house, 
the Southern Hotel, the Barr building, in St. Louis, and many other 
buildings in these cities, and also the stone used in many of the build- 
ings in Warrensburg. As many as fifteen hundred cars of stone have 
been shipped annually, or a train load a day. (See further in the family 
history of Jacob Pickel.) 

The next quarry was opened in 1871 by ^^'illiam Bruce and Com- 
pany. It was owned by General Cockrell, and leased to Mr. Bruce 
until 1880, and then sold to Jacob Pickel & Brothers. 

The third quarry was opened by Bruce & Company in 1881, when 
they gave up their old quarry and bought a tract near it. This quarry 
has been run a long time by James B. Millar and his brother, John W. 
Millar, ex-sherif-f of Johnson county. It is no longer operated. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far liack as the county court records show, with dates of their 
election: 1842, Nathaniel B. Iloldcn : 1844, Thomas J. Young, Harvey 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 197 

Harrison, George A. Roberts, John G. Gilibons; 1850, John Anderson; 
1852, William F. Marshall. John T. Neff, James Borthick, Daniel 
Rentch; 1856. Aikman Welch, Eli M. Sylvester; William S. Crammer, 
George W. Campbell; 1860, Daniel Rentch. Nathan H. Owings; George 
W. Campbell, Alex Marr; 1864, George W. Swan, David W. Reed; 
1866, Edward Corder. David ^^^ Reed; 1866, Edward Corder. David 
W. Reed; 1870, John H. Taylor. J. P. Steele; 1878, S. J. Bnrnett, O. 
D. Hawkins, W. C. Marlatt; 1882, W. C. Marlatt; S. J. Bnrnett, G. 
Wilson Houts; 1886, G. Wilson Houts. William C. Marlatt. S. J. 
Burnett; 1890, Henry Neill, Charles Anderson, John W. Brown; 1892, 
S. J. Burnett; 1894, John W. Brown, George F. Brinkerhoff. William 
Beleau; 1898. John W. Brown. J. A. Bridges. W. R. Hatfield; 1900, 
Jacob H. Knaus; 1902, John \A'. Brown. John B. Lampkin. J. H. Knaus ; 
1904. George W. Rayhill; 1906, John W. Brown. AV. H. Bunn, George 
W. Rayhill; 1910, P. B. Robinson. W. H. Bunn, J. R. Rothwell ; 1912. 
John W. McFarland; 1914. John W. McFarland. D. Aber. George W. 
Rayhill. 

County Officers. — The following are tlie county officers who have 
been elected from tlie township since 1882. witli the dates of their elec- 
tion : 

1882-90— Pitt A\'iiliam (Democrat), collector, 

1882 — W, P, Hunt (Democrat), presichng county judge. 

1882-84 — \A". W. Wood (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 

1882-84-86— W. K. Morrow (Democrat), circuit clerk. 

1884-86 — George W. Lemon (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 

1886 — R. M. Robertson (Republican), prosecuting attorney. 

1888-90— Robert F. Dalton (Democrat), treasurer. 

1888-90 — J. W. Suddath (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 

1888-90— W. L. Embree (Democrat), collector. 

1892-94 — Y. W. Whitsett (Democrat), treasurer. 

1892 — T. C. Hornbuckle (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 

1892-94 — E. T. Pennington (Democrat), collector. 

1892 — P. F. McCluney (Democrat), public administrator. 

189-1 — R. M. Robertson (Republican), representative. 

1894 — J. A. Houston (Democrat), coroner. 

1896 — W. Selvidge (Democrat), school commissioner. 

1896 — Mary A. Pennington (Democrat), recorder, appointed. 

1896-1900— S. J. Caudle (Democrat), public administrator. , 



igS HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

1896-98 — N. M. Bradley (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 
1896-98 — Franklin Miller (Democrat), collector. 
1896-98 — W. M. Hamilton (Democrat), representative. 
1898 — Jason McElvaine (Democrat), school commissioner. 
1898-1902— C. A. Boyles (Democrat) county collector. 
1898-1902— William H. Henshaw (Democrat), circuit clerk. 
1900-02— H. H. Russell (Democrat), treasurer. 
1900-1902 — C. E. Morrow (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 
190-^1 — G. L. Callaway (Democrat), coroner. 
1904-06 — Ewing Cockrell (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 
1904-06-10 — Wallace Crossley (Democrat), representative. 
1906-08— T. L. Bradley (Democrat), coroner. 
1906-10 — James L. Robinson (Democrat), recorder. 
1910-1'^ — G. C. Gillam (Democrat), collector. 
1910-1-1 — P. D. Fitch (Democrat), presiding county judge. 
1912— John \\'. Miller (Democrat), sheriff. 

1912-1-1 — W. C. McDonald (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 
191-1 — Theodore Hyatt (Democrat), collector. 
1916 — J. R. Rothwell (Democrat), prosecuting attorney. 
1916 — E. A. Williams (Democrat), public administrator. 
1913 — R. H. Boston (Democrat), school superintendent. 
Population, — The population of Warrenslnirg township, by United 
States Census, was: 

— 18.30— —1860— -1870- 



White. Col. Total. 


White. Col. 


Total. 


White. 


Col. Total. 


1,260 191 1,431 


1.808 254 


2,062 


4,131 


673 4,824 


1880 


1890 


1900 




1919 


3.778 


6.096 


6,231 




6,013 



Personal Property and Products. — Agriculture and personal prop- 

ertv statistics for Warrensburg township, as given by Missouri State 
Report or 1877, and Johnson county assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916 
are : 

1877 1877 1806 1916 

Wheat, bushels 8,532 Horses 768 1.318 1.103 

Corn, bushels 252,100 Mules 236 271 311 

Oats, bushels 9,925 Cattle 1,718 3,130 ^.M^7 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 199 

Rye, bushels 350 Sheep __.. 494 1,023 504 

robacco. pounds 25.590 Hogs 2,903 2,654 2,62b 

Wool, pounds 1,275 Asses none 3 84 

Hay, tons 1.319 

Molasses, gallons 4,995 

\\'ine, gallons 1,370 

1896 1916 

Notes and money $240,990 $481,735 

Bank stock 88,169 195,292 

Other personalty 171,825 136,370 

All personalty 596,075 939,017 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Warrenshurg township since tliis system was established in 1911, were 
up to January 1. 1918, thirteen in number, and aggregated $753 fur- 
nished by the citizens of the township and $746 by the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organiza- 
tions of every kind in \\'arrensburg township. Full details of each 
organization are in separate chapters on the different organizations: 

Churches. — Baptist: Brethren, W'arrensburg; Brethren, South, ^^'ar- 
rensburg: Catholic: Christian: Christian Science: Cumberland Presby- 
terian: Episcopal; E\angelical Association: Latter Day Saints; Metho- 
edist; Methodist, Houts' Chapel; Methodist, South; Presbyterian. 

Negro Churches. — Shiloh Baptist church: ISlethodist; African M. 
E.: Colored M. E. 

Business Organizations. — American Trust Compan}-, Citizens Bank, 
Commercial Bank, People's Bank. Home Telephone Company. 

Homemakers Clubs. — Clover Heights, Good Neighbors, Prairie 
Home. 

Fraternal Organizations. — Masons, Blue Lodge; Masons. ]\Iary 
Commandery; Knights Pythias. Odd Fellows, Modern Woodmen, 
Elks, Maccabees, Eastern Star, Royal Neighbors, Degree of Plonor, 
Rebekahs, Yeomen, Knights and L,adies of Security. 

Miscellaneous Organizations.— A. B. C. Club. D. A . R.. G. A. R., 
Confederate A^eterans, Political Equality Club, \\'. R. C, Women's 
Christian Temperance Knion, United Daughters of Confederacy. City 
Mission. P. E. O., Commercial Club, Automobile Club. 



200 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

1917 War Organizations. — County Council of Defense; Home 
Guards Committee: Red Cross. "VVarrensburg Chapter; Hospital Gar- 
ments Committee, Knitting Committee; Surgical Dressing Committee; 
Junior Red Cross; War Funds Committee: Home Guards, Warrens- 
burg Normal School. 



CHAPTER XVIII.— WARRENSBURG. 

'■OLD WARRENSBURG" (By Mel. P. Muorty)— DESCRIPTION. NAMING — EARLY ESTAB- 
LISHMENTS—MARTIN WARREN'S LOG HOUSE — FIRES OF DECEMBER 24. 
1S66, AND NOVEMBER 29, 1873— EARLY HOTELS— EARLY SCHOOLS— AFTER 
THE CIVIL WAR— CHURCHES— CEMETERIES— SCHOOLS AFTER THE CIVIL 
WAR— MILLS— OLD MISCELLANEOUS INDUSTRIES— POSTOFFICE— INCORPOR- 
ATION — MAYORS — COUNCILMEN — ASSESSORS — ATTORNEYS — CLERKS 
—COLLECTORS— ENGINEERS— MARSHALS— ASSISTANT MARSHALS — POLICE 
JUDGES— SEXTONS— STREET COMMISSIONERS- TREASURERS — EARLY MEN 
AND THINGS OF WARRENSBURG IN EXISTENCE TODATT: BUILDINGS. MEN. 
WOMEN — POPULATION — WARRENSBURG. 1910: (Sex. Color, and Nativity). 
DWELLINGS AND FAMILIES. ILLITERACY. SCHOOL AGE AND ATTENDANCE, 
—MALES OF ^■OTING AGE— THE WARRENSBURG COMMERCIAL CLUB. 

"OLD WARRENSBURG." 

(By Mel. P. Moo.ly.) 
It is just a little cit_\- upon the hills outspread. 
With trees and verdure down l)elow and blue sky overhead 
It has no ancient legends of wonders to relate. 
No ivy-covered ruins nor mausoleums of the great. 
Within its city halls are no battle flags unfurled, 
It is the home of common people, tlie sinew of the world. 

Old Warrensburg. 
And yet to me is sacred, this little city here, 
The scene of happy days, and the Gethsemane of tear, 
And here within its borders is the epitome of life. 
With its sunshine and its shadows, its pleasures and its strife. 
Here fond hopes have budded to meet misfortunes frost. 
Here awhile have sinners flourished, and sadly paid the cost 

In old Warrensburg. 
Here have happ}- children played who now are far away, 
Here the blushing bride, has had her wedding day. 
Here men have deftly schemed to gather in their gold, 
And here for love of greed have they their honor sold. 
Here have noble men and women toiled and loved and died 
And the good and bad together lie buried side by side 

In old ^^^^rrensburg, 



202 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

And from this little city have men of worth revealed, 
Been called to serve the v\-orld in a broader, grander field. 
And from its halls of learning with torch of knowledge bright. 
Are missionaries streaming to spread redeeming light. 
Here are some who may be honored and failures too as well, 
The hand of fate awaiting, while hopefully they dwell, 

In old Warrensburg. 
Here upon this little stage, is life's tragedy displayed, 
Here its flowers are blooming, and here its roses fade. 
For in eyevy land and clime human nature is the same. 
In \irtue and nobility, in sorrow and in shame. 
Here the songs of happiness and of sadness too are sung. 
And here the harp of life to every tone is strung; 
And though you. never venture beyond this little town. 
Here you may lose your soul, or here may win your crown. 

In old Warrensburg. 

A\'arrensi)urg. the county seat, is a little east of the center of the 
county. 65 miles from Kansas City. 

Warrensburg was made the county seat in 1836. It was named in 
honor of Martin Warren. (See Warrensburg township history.) 

AN'arrensburg was laid out and platted by George Tibbs. then county 
surveyor, in 1836, and the plat was recorded May 22. 1837. The lots 
were 72 feet wide and 144 feet deep, with 14-foot alleys. This was 
what is now "Old Town." 

\\'hen the Missouri Pacific railroad was liuilt. the main business 
district of the town moved east near where the depot was built and 
now stands. 

A number of additions have been otticially added. niO'^tl\- east of 
the old town until the present area of the city is sexeral times the 
size of the original town. 

Early Establishments. — In 1836 John K\ ans opened the first store 
in Old Town and for the following six years there were only two stores 
in the village. Evans conducted a general mercantile store, selling 
groceries, dry goods, hardware and wliiske>-. This store stood in the 
hollow a little cast of the center of the town. W. TI. Davis X: Co. were 
the first to open a store on the hill near the center of the old town. 
The town soon began to prosper and in a short time was an important 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 2O3 

business center and settlers came from a radius of several miles to do 
their trading here. 

The town was extended eastward into the district known as Xew 
Town by the official platting of Grover's Depot Addition. October 18, 
1857. It seems that according to a contract with the railroad company 
the depot was to be erected on Colonel Grover's land, forty acres of 
which were donated for that purpose, but by mistake or otherwise, it 
was located on Major Holden's land, one-half mile further west. Holden 
street, on the west side of which the depot is located, is the dividing 
line between Grover's and Holden's Addition. Alartin \\'arren's old 
log house stood in the Grover Addition and Colonel Grover resided 
there for a time. The memory of the old log house will be forever 
perpetual in the history of \\'arrensburg. When they came to la\- out 
Grover's Depot Addition it was seen that Gay street continued east 
past Holden street in a straight line ami would go right through the 
old log house. So, instead of moving the house. Colonel Grover moved 
the street. He dixxrted it enough south to miss the house. Every 
other street running east was correspondingly di\'erted and the north 
and south streets left north and south. And today every street from Gay 
to the railroad and east of Holden street runs at an angle southeast and 
no lot in this territory has a square corner. 

The general tendency of business was toward Xew Town ami 
when the railroad was built and the depot established here, practically 
the entire business district was established in that \icinity. This was 
in 1845. 

Fires. — ]\lost of the business buildings were frame. Among the first 
merchants to establish themselves in Xew Town prior to 1865 were ^ling 
& Cruce, Henry Xeill. A. H. Gilkeson & Co.. Henry Bros., and De 
Garmo. Schmidlap & Co. All these business houses and a large part 
of the town were burned December 24. 1866. 

On Xovember 29. 187.5. another lire destroyed the hotel, several 
business places and cost the lives of three persons. Since then, with 
the business district chiefly brick and stone, tliere have been no such 
fires. 

Early Hotels. — The first hotel in ^^■arrensburg was built in 1837 
by Young E. W. Berry. It was located on the north side of the public 
square in Old Town and was a small log house of si.x or seven rooms. 
He sold it in 1840 to John ]\Iayes, and he in 1842 sold to Joseph AIcLeary. 



204 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

and he in 1856 to John D. Smith. Smith improved it and called it 
the Mansion House. At the breaking out of the war, Smith died and 
the hotel was closed. 

The second hotel, also log, was opened in 1841 by Zacariah T. 
Davis on the southeast side of the public square. Da\'is ran the place 
for about six or sex'en years, when he sold it to W. H. Anderson, who 
afterward rented it to Daniel Rentch. Anderson finally sold it to 
Thomas Ingle, who kept hotel here during the war, and was succeeded 
by Col. J. D. Eads. In 1876 he sold it to the Germania Club. 

The third hotel was built by James Bolton in 1857 on the soutii 
side of the public square in Old Town. In 1861, it was taken by the 
soldiers and used for a hospital and guard house all during the war. 
It practically marked the end of the hotel business in Old Town. 

The first hotel in New Town was in 1865, when the Redford House 
was built south of the Missouri Pacific railroad ilepot. This was de- 
stroyed by fire in 1868 and the Simmons Hotel was built on its site. 
This was finally Isought by Mr. J. N. Christopher and ct)nverted into 
the town's first school dormitory, the Young ^^'omen's Christian Asso- 
ciation building, and is successfully running now. 

In 1870, a building at the southeast corner of Holden and Culton 
streets was erected for the Cumberland Presbyterian church. In 1875,. 
it was bought by A. W. Ridings & Company and enlarged for a hotel. 
A little later it was bought by Mrs. J. D. Eads, and became for many 
years the Eads Hole! and only recently was replaced by Cohn's store. 

Early Schools, — Maj. N. B. Holden taught what was probably 
the earliest school here during the winter of 1839-40. He afterward 
])ecame prominent in this section. He served in the Mexican War and 
during the Civil \\'ar was assassinated September 12, 1862. 

Joel H. Warren was one of the pioneer teachers of Warrensburg. 
He was a grandson of Martin Warren, from whom Warrensburg took 
its name. He studied medicine with Dr. William Calhoun and prac- 
ticed in Cass county prior to the Civil War. He served in the Union 
army and after the war practiced medicine at Knob Nostcr for a mun- 
l)er of years. 

William Harrison .Anderson taught a select or sul)Scription school 
in Warrensburg in a private house in 1842. 'i4ie instruction given by 
him included aritlmietic, geogr;iphy, raiding, writing and si)elling. His 
school mmibered twenty-five ])upils, who i)aiil a tuition of one doll.nr 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 2O5 

and fifty cents a montii. Air. An(lerst)n later engaged in the grocery 
business at \\'arrensburg and for a number of years was prominently 
identified with the commercial dexeloiunent of the city and was the 
father of Dr. James I. Anderson. 

George W. Johnson, a graduate of ^^"illiam Jewel College and a 
Baptist minister, taught a private school in Old Town from 1857 to 
1860. When the war Iiroke out he entered the Confederate army, serv- 
ing throughout the war. Later he became prominent as an educator 
in the south and at one time was president of a young ladies" seminar}- 
at Jackson, Tennessee. 

Eliza Thomas, Z. T. Davis and Robert A. Foster were also pioneer 
teachers of \\'arrensburg. A man named Jewel was teaching liere 
when the Civil War broke out. He enlisted in the Federal army and 
was killed during the war. 

After the Civil War. — During the Civil War nearly everything in 
W^arrensburg and Johnson county was at a standstill, building, schools, 
churches and business generally. After the war everything took a new 
start. The best pictures of W^arrensburg right after the war are con- 
tained in the following interview with Mr. William Lowe, written by 
W. C. Kapp and printed in the 'A\'arrensburg Star-Journal" of Alay 5, 
1916. on the fiftieth anniversary of Mr. Lowe's residence in Warrens- 
1)urg, and in the address of Maj. E. A. Nickerson at the dedication of the 
Odd Fellows Hall. November 12, 1917. Mr. Lowe said: "When I came, 
there was only one passenger train a day. It left St. Louis at 8 o'clock 
in the morning, struggletl along wit): wood fuel, managing to get to Jef- 
ferson City for dinner. The train would make Sedalia in time for supper 
and my recollection is that we got to A\'arrensburg about 8 in the eve- 
ning — just 12 hours after we pulled out of St. Louis. The fare from St. 
Louis here was $12.50. I think there were about 1,000 people here then 
and fully a third of them were negroes. I stopped the first night over 
in the west part of Old Town. I remember when I got up next morning 
I saw a regular procession of negroes going by and I asked the folks 
if the whole population were colored folks. They explained to me 
that there had been a soldiers' camp in a field west of town. The 
soldiers had built a lot of huts for winter quarters and when they left 
these the negroes took possession — that's how that section of \\'arrens- 
burg came to be called 'nigger town' and it is the favorite negro haunt 
vet. 



206 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

"I can think of only one business man who was in business then — 
Uncle Ike Rogers had a harness shop in Old Town when I arrived, and 
he is here yet. Then there's Major Nickerson, Judge Brown, Sandy 
Lobban, Doctor Griggs, W. E. Crissey, John Scroggs, Tom Lawlor, 
Bob Mears, Clint Middleton and probably others. Oh, yes. Orl Still- 
well was here. Orl wasn't selling autos then, he was selling clothing 
for Sam Rosenthal, a brother of Henry. 

"Some of the kids about town then were Ernest Johnson, Dug 
Eads, Merritt Simmons, Mel Moody, John A. Miller. 

"How big was the town then? Well, I might say it was bounded 
by the railroad on the south. Gay street on the north, Holden street 
on the east, and Old Town on the west. There were five or six houses 
east of Holden street, likely, but Gay and Holden streets were about 
the limit. The whole third ward was a brush patch. In 1868 I built the 
first house in the third ward. It stood where Frank Ross now lives. 

"Holden street stopped at North street. If you wanted to go north 
you had to go to Old Town and take tlie old Lexington road. If you 
wanted to go south, you had to cross the railroad at the depot — there 
were no bridges. 

"There was a daily stage line to Lexington and also to Clinton and 
one could travel north and south from \\'arrensburg even better than 
we can today. 

"What improvements did we have then? Nothing at all, except 
a lot of cheap frame buildings. There wasn't a brick house in New 
Town, and no bank until the fall of 1866. As for streets, all we had 
was the brush cut away so wagons could get along. Our business 
houses were all on West Pine street in the block between Nathan's 
corner and the Ross store. There were one or two little shacks on 
Holden street. They had made a little fill on Holden street in front 
of where Cohn's store is and that made a fine fish pond where the 
Cohn building stands. It was at least ten feet deep. 

"As for morals, Warrensburg was decidedly western then, and 
had plenty of saloons. Almost every store had a jug in the back room 
to treat customers. We had two little churches, and nary a school 
house. The first school house here was f(ir colored peciiile : it was l>ui!t 
in 1867 I)y the Freedmen's Aid Society. The Reece school was built 
'in 1868. I built the Foster school in 1870, 

"The town was divided between Old and New Towns, no sidewalks 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 20/ 

and streets not graded. Old Town had the court house, the postoffice, 
and all the lawyers. But of course everything gradually drifted to 
New Town. 

"As for rents, wages, etc., in 1866 rents were higher than now; 
a two-room house would rent for $15 a month, four-rooms for $30. 
Clothes were three times higher than now: overalls, $3 a pair; shoes, 
double; flour, $10 a 100. Lumber was $5 per 100 and higher. All im- 
provements were the very cheapest because everybody expected to go 
back east as soon as they got rich or skinned the other fellow. But a 
few of us are here yet and our record is open to the public. 

"T am doing business at the old stand where I located in 1868. I 
have sold lumber to several fourth generations. To the Harrison fam- 
ily I have sold to the fifth generation, 1 have seen the town of War- 
rensburg grow from a typical Western hamlet to the little city of mod- 
ern proportions. I have liad the satisfaction of seeing all the saloons 
go, and a city of schools take their place." 

Major Nickerson said: 

"The New Town was commenced at the foot of Holden street 
where a little wooden passenger and freight depot stood on the Mis- 
souri Pacific railway where the passenger depot now stands, and a 
string of one-story wooden store-houses straggled along on West Pine 
street. There were no houses south of the railway except a small frame 
hotel that stood on the corner where the Young Women's Christian 
Association building now stands. An ordinary country road ran up a 
steep hill to South street, and then ran southeast across the grounds 
where the Normal School buildings now stand, to Maguire stteet, 
which was then the main road to Clinton, and from South street onward 
towards the south there were no streets but all was brush and woods. 

"I built my residence in the woods and when I went to see the 
workmen, my only road was the center of Holden street along the 
surveyor's line, a cut of four feet with a thick brush on either side, to 
the place where the work was being done. 

"The political and social condition of the place was in a state of 
civil chaos. The camp gangs that had followed in the wake of both 
armies lingered around and about the place, many of them having 
their homes in this county, rode from Texas to Iowa, robbing the 
people of their property and murdering strangers from other states 
who came to buy land and settle amongst us. When thes-e roving 



208 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

criminals were in Texas they claimed to be Confederate soldiers, and 
when they were in Iowa they passed as discharged soldiers from the 
Union army. When any of the gang was in \\'arrensburg they made 
their headquarters at a grog shop kept by an old man whom they affec- 
tionately called 'Uncle Billy,' and when they imbibed their Uncle 
Billy's fire water and got drunk they ranged the streets of the town 
and shot it up in true cowboy's style; they urged their horses into the 
store rooms, discharged their fire arms and terrorized the owners and 
their clerks. When they met a man who had a good horse, mule or 
saddle, they forced an exchange for their worthless trappings and over- 
ridden, broken-down stock, at the point of the pistol, and if they resisted 
they insulted and beat their victim. They dominated the town in every 
way, and by their criminal, brutal force made W'arrensburg an unfit 
place for human habitation." 

Churches. — The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was the earliest 
organization of any church in Warrensburg. A small class was estab- 
lished in 1848. In 1856 a building was put up. and in 1862 it was 
burned. Regular services began again in 1870. under Rev. C. C. Woods, 
and have been continued since. The present building was dedicated 
in August, 1908. 

[Note: Full accounts of each church are given in the chapters on 
churches. The following is a list of them with dates of organization, 
etc. arranged in chronological order.] 

The Baptist church was organized in February. 1850. by Elders J. 
Farmer, D. W. Johnson, W. P. C. Caldwell and Amos Horn, in the 
Masonic Hall in Old Town, Membership was scattered during the Civil 
War; reorganized thereafter, and then progressing steadily since. The 
present building was erected in 1903. 

The Presbyterian church was organized j\lay 30. 1852. by Rev. 
A. V. C. Schenck and Elder L. Green. Met regularly during the Civil 
War, and in 1873 built a fine new brick church. United July 11. 1906 
with those members of the Cumberland Presbyterian church that ap- 
proved the union of the two churches. Built their present Iniilding in 
1910. 

The Christian church was organized in 1859. and reorganized Jan- 
uary 11, 1868. Church erected in 1867 on south side of Gay street 
between Washington avenue and Warren street. Present building 
erected. 



IlISTdRY i)F JOlIXSdX COUNTY 2O9 

Tlie Methodist church was organized August 3, 1865, Idv Rev. J. 
\\'esley Jolmson. Brick church huih in 1S71 and present church in 
1893. both on the same site. 

The Catliolic cluircli was organized in 1866 by Fatlier Calmer, of 
Sedalia. First mass was held on the first Sunday after Christmas, in 
1866, in the cimrch 1>uilding. Present building corner-stone laid in 
1883 and completed in 1886. 

The Cumberland Presbyterian church was organized Septeml)er 
23, 1866. First pastor was Rev. J. B. Morrow. Meetings were hekl 
at different places, including the Presbyterian church, until their first 
church was built in 1875. Present Imilding was erected. 

The Episcopal church, Christ Church j^arish, was organized in 
April, 1868, by Rev. W. H. D. Hatton. Inrst frame cliurch was built in 
1872. Present building completed in 1900. 

The Evangelical Association was organized in 1869. Rev. ]\I. 
Alspaugh was. the first minister. It bought and rededicated the old 
Presbyterian church on north side of Gay street between Washington 
and Warren streets in 1873 Present building was erected. 

The Reorganized Church of Latter Day Saints was organized Feb- 
ruary 21, 1893, northwest of Warrenslnirg. Dedicated their present 
church in Warrensburg, May 7, 1916. 

The Christian Science Society is represented in Johnson county 
and in 1916 permanently established itself in its o\\n building in 
\\^arrensburg at Culton and Miller streets. 

The Brethren church of \^'arrensburg was organized in 1914. The 
members originally all belonged to the church two miles south of War- 
rensburg, and built in town for their con\-enience, as their numbers 
increased. 

Of the Negro churches, tiie Baptist church was organized 1864, the 
Methodist in 1866. The African Methodists and Colored Methodists 
also have church organizations here. 

Cemeteries. — The old cemetery contained four acres and was laid 
out in 1840 by the county; bought from Martin \\'arren by the county, 
and used as a county burying ground. The first person buried there 
was I. Davenport, and his gra\-e markerl b}' slal) of red sandstone about 
four by eighteen inches. Tlie inscription was "Dead. F Davenport, 
Nov., in 1840," roughly cut as l)y an a.xe. Some other early inscriptions- 
were : 



:2IO HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

"Margaret, Dau. of William and Elizabeth Gilkeson, died August 
5. 1845: aged 8 years, 11 months, 7 days." 

"Robert F., son of W. L. and N. Poston, born Sept. 16, 1833; 
was drowned May 16, 1852." 

The new cemetery was laid out in 1868, by G. W. Colbern, and was 
his own property till he gave it to the city in 1880. The first per- 
son buried there was the infant, John Miller, Jr., aged eight months, son 
of John Miller. 

Schools After the Civil War. — The schools of \Varrensburg were 
practically at a standstill during the period of the Civil \A'ar, from 1861 
to 1865. After the war, the public school system received prompt 
attention and W'arrensburg soon gained a reputation throughout the 
state for the high standard of its schools. The first substantial public 
school was built in 1845 in Old Town. 

^^'arrensburg was organized into a separate school district April 
18, 1866. The names of the first school officers to serve under the new 
organization were: A. \Y. Reese, president: !\Ielville U. Foster, secre- 
tary; Jehu H. Smith, treasurer: Elias Stilhvell, John Rogers and Nel- 
son Dunbar. 

The new school board immediately organized the school system 
on a substantial basis, provided ample accommodations and procured 
competent teachers. The principal teachers selected were Rev. Matthew 
Bigger and S. L. Mason for the white schools, and Rev. M. Henry Smith 
for the colored schools. Each was paid $100 a month. 

The first Reese school building \\'as built in 1867 and the Foster 
school building was completed in 1870. 

The first high school was started in 1870. The present high school 
building was erected in 1896 and its first class was graduated in 1897. 
At first the work consisted of a two-years course. In 1898 this was 
changed to the three-years course and in 1904 to a four-year course. 
In 1907 it became a first-class high school, receiving full credit by the 
State University. Its graduates are admitted to the State University 
as freshmen and to the State Normal School as juniors. 

The school is well equipped and gives the choice of Latin and 
English courses. The complete list of coures given is as follows: 
English, 4 years: Latin, 4 years; mathematics, 4 years — advanced arith- 
metic, algebra, geometry, trigonometry; history, 4 years — ancient, me- 
diaeval and modern, English, American (and government) ; physical sci- 
ences, 3 years — physics, physical geography, botany and zoology. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 2[l 

The following- is a coiiiplete li;^t of Warrenslnirg school superin- 
tendents: 1870-79. J. J. Canipl.ell; 1S70-1884. J. F. Starr: 1884-1891. 
B. F. Pettis: 1891197. F, E. Holiday: 1897-1900. Leon W. Martin: 1900- 
1902. J. :Matt Gordon: 1902-10. W. 1^. Morrow: 1910 to present. Edward 
Reatty. 

Mills. — The first mill in Warrenshurg was built about 18.=;r,, l)y \\il- 
liam Dougherty about a half mile southwest of Old Town. It was a 
large three-story brick building, with stone around lower story and two 
run of burs. This mill was kept running during the war. though several 
times the soldiers took all his grain. After the war he sold to his 
brother-in-law. John Smith, who ran two or three years and then mo\-ed 
the mill to Holden, where it was running successfully in 1880. 

The "Eureka Mills." well known to many of us. was built in 
1867 by Land. Fike and Company. It was one of the largest mills in 
the \\'est, costing $40,000. Eleven hands were kept at work, besides 
eight or ten coopers making barrels for them, and shipped an average of 
a carload of 125 barrels daily. (See history of \\'. L. Hyer, who was 
with this establishment from an early day. ) The Roseland Company 
now owns the property. 

The ^^'arrensburg Grain Ele\'ator & Mill was built in 1869 ])y 
S. M. and E. C. Fitch. It has had many changes, was destroyed b\' 
fire, but its successor is still doing a large and increasing business at 
the same place. (See history of Jesse J. Culp.) 

The Magnolia yUW was completed October, 1879. and owned by 
\\'. H. Hartman and Isaac ]\Iarkward. It has had very few changes 
of ownership, has greatly increased in size and business, and is now- 
owned by the Alagnolia Milling &: In\-estment Company, a corpora- 
tion in which Messrs. Daniel Bullard and H. F. Kirk are the active 
members. It is the only mill now in Warrenshurg making flour, making 
one brand, the Crystal, w-hich is \-ery unusual and normally can always 
sell more than they can manufacture. 

Old Miscellaneous Industries. — Among tlie industries of Warrens- 
burg that hd.ve lived and gone are: 

1. The AA'arrensburg Brew-ery established in 1865 by Philip Gross; 
made as high as 2.000 barrels of beer annually: was burned down by 
the temperance forces in 1873: relniilt. and iinally last operated about 
1910 by Mr. Murche. 

2. The Edw-ard L. DeGarmo & Company, woolen mills, built in 



212 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

1867, and that used to turn out 200 yards of goods daily, l)esides buying 
annually ,^0,000 pounds of wool sold as yarn. 

3. The foundry of David and W. Y. Urie, founded in 1874. ran 
on A\ est Pine street, and used to make up 250,000 pounds of iron a 
year. .Mr. William Urie, the last proprietor, nioyed to Kansas City 
some time in tlie eighties. 

The first agricultural fair was held in 1857, on the ground owned 
by Col. Ben W. Grover and close to the house. It was soon moyed 
to twenty acres just south of town, run successfull}- till the war, reorgan- 
ized after the war, and $15,000 spent in improvements: failed financially, 
and the grounds bought by Drummond & Bros., who did a fine molasses 
business there. Subsequently fairs were held and race tracks built 
northwest of town, north of Electric Springs, there abandoned, then 
south of town between Holden and Maguire streets and there abandoned 
finally a few years ago. 

The Enoch Clark Library ^^^as founded in 1875 by a contribution 
from Enoch Clark of $200 on condition that the citizens would raise a 
like amount. They did so, and a good liljrary was established. It was 
burned January 10, 1877, insurance used to ]:)uy new books and reopened 
with 5S2 books besides papers. 

b'or history of present library, see "A. B. C. Club." 

Postoffice. — Warrensburg postof^ce was established in 1836. John 
Evans, a bachelor, was the first postmaster. The headquarters in the 
early days were in the various stores, and so continued for many years 
after the war. The chief mail from the east arrix'ed late in the e\ening, 
;md the writer remembers as a boy joining in a nightly procession of 
the citizens, most of them with lanterns, to the store where the postoffice 
was kept. While the mail was being distri]:>uted in the proper boxes, 
the crowd gradually increased and soon became a yery gay and neigh- 
borly party. This store was always distinctly the social center of the 
town. A marked deterioration was noticeable, however, when they took 
the postoffice out of the friendly setting of the store and put it in a liuild- 
ing by itself. Tlien carriers were appointed and matters became worse — 
we didn't have to go for the mail at all. Finally the present, big. hard, 
business-like government building was secured, and that was the crush- 
ing blow. The postoffice, as a social institution, became absolutely 
extinct. 

The complete list of postmasters is as follows: 1836-38, John Evans: 



HISTORY OF JO|lXSC)N COUNTY 2 1^ 

1838-1840, Harvey Dyer; 1840-44. James S. Reynolds: 1844. Fleniming H. 
Brown, Mrs. O. S. Heath, Jolm A[. Heard: 1865, Mrs. O. S. Heath: 
1865-66, D. \\'. Reed: 186f>lS7i, Stephen J. Bnrnett : 1872-76, Josiah 
Smith; 1876-88, John W. Brown, assistants Henry E. Griffith, William 
H. Beazell; 1888-1890, H. H. Russell, assistants James M. Williams, Miss 
Marie Vernaz ; 1890-95, Ira A. Day, a.i^sistants Rudolph Loel)enstein, Fred 
Day, Harry Day, Miss Mollie Heed: 1895-97, James M. Williams, assist- 
ants, Frank A. Plumer, Claud A. 1- rost : 1897-1903, Peter C. VanAIatre, 
assistants Jo. H. Smith, William T. N'anMatre; 1903-06, Mrs. Nellie 
S. VanMatre: 1906-1914. Jo. 11. Smith, assistants Jas. M. Shepherd, 
Ira A. Day, Charles \\'. Di.xon : l';n4 to |)resent, U. A. McBride, assistants 
James M. Shepherd, Charles W. Dixon. George H. Collins, Charles A. 
Bridges, T. O. Da\enport. 

City delivery was estahlislied in 1899. The first carriers were: 
William T. \"anMatre, Mark Baldwin and Alpheus Adams. The pres- 
ent carriers are: Aubrey I"". Smithson, George F. McMahan. James A. 
Fickas and Carl L. Schafi'er. 

Countj'-wide rural deli\-ery was established in 1902. ( Refer to chap- 
ter thereon.) 

The old Johnson Count}- History's comments on the enormous postal 
business in 1880, as follow: "Eight vears ago, 20,000 three-cent stamps 
were ordered each ciuarter: now 30,000 is hardly enough." Today, 
there were sold in 1917 $20,000 wo'rth of stamps, or the equivalent of 
660,000 three-cent stamps, besides $9,000 worth of stamps to the other 
seventeen postoffices in the county. In 1917, 9,000 money orders were 
issued of $36,699.94, and 4,500 paid of $27,748.88. (The excess repre- 
sents chiefly purchases of merchandise from houses outside of the 
county. ) 

Thrift and war stamps sold in 1918 to March 16 were $20,283.15. 

The total business of the postoffice has tre1)Ied since July 1, 1918. 

Incorporation. — A\'arrenslnirg was incorporated by the Eegislature, 
November 23. 1855. On the first Monday of .\pril, 1856, the first town 
election was held. A\'illiam L. Poston, Sr., Daniel Rentch and Flezekiah 
E. Depp were judges. The following were elected: John l-'oushee, mayor: 
William H. Anderson, A\'illiam Calhoun, .\lcxander Marr, and James M. 
Bratton, councilmen. The first council meeting was at the court house, 
April 9, 1856. Dr. William Calhoun was elected president pro tempore. 
Marsh Foster was appointed clerk and Paschal Cork, constable. 



214 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

The following is a complete list of citv officers from 1856 to the 
present time: 

Mayors.— 1856. John Foushee ; 1857. Daniel Rentch; 1858. M. C. 
Goodlet; 1859, David W. Reed; 1860, Piatt B. Walker (April), George 
W. Campbell (June); 1861, W. L. Upton; 1865. D. W. Reed; 1866, G. 
Will Honts; 1867-68. G. N. Elliott; 1869, George Ryan; 1870, R. Bald- 
win; 1871. W. O. Ming; 1872. H. Spore; 1873, B. E. Lemmon ; 1874, 
J. H. Smith; 1875-76, Joseph Brown; 1877, George Stepper; 1878-1881, 
W. L. Hedges; 1882-86, H. F. Clark; 1887, A. AI. Greer, E. N. Johnson; 
1888, J. D. Eads; 1889-90, George R. Hunt; 1891-94, Theodore Youngs; 
1895-98. Charles E. Clark; 1899-1900, John H. Wilson; 1901-02. George 
W. Houts, 1903-06, W. D. Faulkner; 1907-08, J. P. Ozias; 1909-10, C. 
D. Middleton: 1911-12, C. A. Harrison; 1913 to present, AV. J. Slaves. 

Councilmen. — 1856, W. H. Anderson, William Calhoun. Alex. 
Marr, James M. Bratton; 1857, W. S. Hume. W. B. Moody, A\'. L. 
Poston, Kas. P. Brooker ; 1858, W. H. Anderson. W. B. Moody. W. B. 
Farmer. James A. Harrison; 1859. AW B. Moody, \A'. S. Cramnor. A\'. G. 
Collins. James P. Brooker; 1860. Ferdinand Ruth, W. :\I. Collins. J. 

D. Smith. A\'. T. Logan; 1861, A. Meyer. AW G. Collins, W. B. Moody, 
John L. Lobban: 1865, AA'. B. Moody. James Gillilan. D. .A Johnson, 
George Reiter; 1866, I. C. Bridges, X. Dunl)ar, Thomas Evans, Charles 
Snow; 1867, B. E. Morrow, C. AA'. Robinson, E. A. Blodgett, X. B. 
Klaine; 1868, H. C. Fike, S. :\I. Fitch. S. Schmidlapp. H. AA". Harmon; 
1869. J. AA^ Brown. G. AV. Houts, H. F. Clark, H. C. Fike; 1870, H. C. 
Fike, F. F. Clark, AA'. B. Moody, John Brown; 1871. J. AA'. Rodgers, 
James AAard. AA'. L. DeGarmo, F. X. AA'agncr ; 1872. Xathan Land, 

E. L. DeGarmo, C. AA'. Robinson, F. X. AA'agner: 1873. AA". B. Moody, 
AA'arren Shedd, AA'. C. Rowland. F. X. AA'agner: 1874. J. AA". Rogers, 
J. E. Shockey, :\I. Shryack. AA". D. Buck; 1875. Levi Hyer, J. L. Rob- 
erts, M. Shryack. J. H. Kinsel: 1876. Levi Hyer, J. L. Roberts. J. A. 
Shryack, J. H. Kinsel: 1877, Levi Hyer, Josiah Smith: J. A. Shryack, 
G. F. Heath; 1878, George Reiter, J.isiah Smitli, AA'. C. Marlatt, G. F. 
Heath; 1879, George Reiter, D. T. l"anlkncr. 11. C. I"ike. AA'. C. Alar- 
lalt; 1880. George Reiter. D. T. l-aulkncr. II. C. l-ike, \A'. C. AlarLiit; 
ISSI, I'irst War.], G. X. Richards. J. .A. Shryack: Second AA'ard, Geo. 
W. I lout, II. C. I'ike. 1882. I'irsl W'ar.l, G. X. Richards. Jehu II. 
Smith; Second \Aard. George AA". 1 louts W illiam I'.. Crissey. 1SS3, I'irst 
Ward. G. X. Richards. Kdui H. Smith; Second AAar.l. George AA'. Houts, 



HISTORY OK JOnXSOX COL'NTY 215 

William E. Crissey. 1884, First Ward, G. X. Richards, Jehu H. Smith; 
Second Ward, George W. Houts, J. D. Kads. 1885, W. II. Hartman, 
Jehu H. Smith ; Second Ward. George W. Houts, J. D. Eads. 1886, First 
Ward, \\'. H. Hartman, Jacob Hyer; Second Ward, George W. Houts. 
E. X. Johnson. 1887, First Ward. W. H. Hartman, Jacob Hyer; Second 
Ward, George \W Houts, E. N. Johnson. 1888. First Ward, W. H. 
Hartman, Theodore Youngs; Second W ard, ( icorge W. Houts, William 
H. Anderson. Jr. 1889, First Ward. Aug. ( iichl. L. V. Raney : Second 
Ward, James L. Robinson. G. .\. Loliban ; Tlnrd Ward, J. .\. T3rummond, 
W^ H. McMahan; Fourth Ward, U. J. ClitT,,r.l, John G. Gilbert. 1890, 
First Ward, Aug. Ciiehl, Joseph K. Lightner; Second Ward, James L. 
Robinson. Jehu II. Snuth : Third Ward. J. A. Drunnnond. W. H. 
McMahan; Fourth Ward. Daniel J. Clifford, Theodore Youngs. 1891, 
First \\'ard, Joseph E. Eightner. M. L. Days: Second Ward. Jehu II. 
Smith, James L. Robinson; Third Ward, H. W. McMahan, J. A. Drum- 
mond; Fourth Ward, Adol]))! Spiess, D. J. Clifford. 18')J. ]-irst Ward, 
M. L. Day, Joseph E. Lightner; Second \\'ard. James L, Rol)inson, 
George ^^■. Houts; Third Ward, David Aber, S. P. \\illiams; Fourth 
Ward, D. J. Clifford, George W. Fisher. 1893, First Ward. Joseph E. 
Lightner, H. A. Cress; Second Ward. George A\'. Houts, G. .Y Lobban ; 
Third Ward. S. P. Williams, W. C. Johnson: Fourth Ward, George W. 
Fisher. John \\'. Gossett. 1894, First Ward, PI. A. Cress, J. .\. Collins: 
Second Ward, G. A. Lobban. W. L. Embree ; Third Y'ard, W. C. John- 
son, Oliver Miller; Fourth Ward. John A\'. Gossett, George \Y Fisher. 
1895, First AA'ard, J. A. Collins. C. W. Cord; Second Ward, W. L. 
Embree, G. A. Lobban ; Third Ward. Oliver Miller, J. C. Plubbard ; l'<nn-th 
Ward, George W. Fisher, AY L. Hyer. 1896, First War.l, C. W. Cor.l, 
J. A. Collins; Second AA'ard. G. A. Lobban. W. L. Eml:)ree : Thin! Ward. 
J. C. Hubbard. D. S. Redford : Fourth AA'ard. AA\ L. Hyer, .Albert Owings, 
1897, First AYard, J. A. Collins, M. F. Stilhvell ; Secon.l AAard. AA'. L. 
Embree. J. M. Davenport: Third AAard, D. S. Redford, George P. 
Ebbs: b^ourth AAard, Albert Owings J. A. Hanirick. 1898. First AA'ard, 
M. F. Stilhvell, AA". O. Davis: Second AAard, J. M. Davenport. AA'. L. 
Embree; Third AA'ard, George P. Ebbs, R. L. Denton; h'ourth AA'ard, 
J. A. Hamrick, AA'. S. Dunham. 1800. First AA'ard. AA'. F. Stewart. AA'. 
0. Davis: Second AA'ard, J. .A. Collins, AA'. L. I'.mbree. J. A. B. Adcock ; 
Third AYard, George Davenport, R. L. Denton: h'ourth AA'ard, James A. 
Hamrick, George AY. Fisher. 1900, First AA'ard. M. F. Stillwell. AA\ F. 



2l6 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Stewart: Second Ward, G. A. Gilbert. J. A. Collins; Third Ward. John 
A. Miller. B. F. Roby; Fourth Ward, George W. Pattou. J. A. Hamrick. 
1901, First Ward. M. F. Stillwell. John V. Brewer: Second Ward, G. 
A. Gilbert. J. A. Collins: Third Ward, J. A. ^Miller, J. P. Ozias : Fourth 
A\'ard, George W. Patton, R. R. Cruzen. 1902, First Ward, John \'. 
Brewer, R. A. Breeden ; Second Ward, J. A. Collins, E. B. Stockton: 
Third \\ar(l, J. P. Ozias, David Aber : Fourth \\ard, R. R. Cruzen, 
Louis iMHintain. 1903, First Ward, R. A. Breeden, W. B. Russell; 
Second A^'ard, K. B. Stockton, W. L. Hickman: Third Ward, David 
Aber, J. P. Ozias: Fourth Ward, Louis Fountain, J. C. Chambers. 
1904, First Ward, W. B. Russell, Henry Lo\e : Second Ward, \\\ L. 
Hickman, E. B. Stockton: Third Ward, J. P. Ozias, David Aber; Fourth 
A\"ard, John C. Chambers, L. Fountain. 1905, First Ward, George G. 
Shryack, Henry Love; Second A\'ard, \\'. L. Hickman, E. B. Stockton; 
Third Ward, T. C. Lauderdale, David .\ber ; Fourth Ward, L. Fountain, 
C. Chase. 1906, First A\'ard, George G. Shryack, Henry Love: Second 
Ward, F. L. Mayes, AA\ L, Hickman: Third Ward, T. C. Lauderdale, 
John A. INIiller; Fourth Ward, C. Chase, Fred L. Foster. 1907. First 
Ward, George G. Shryack. Henry Love : Second Ward, F. L. Mayes, J. 
V. Murray; Third Ward, T, C. Lauderdale, J. A. Miller: Fourth \\"ard, 
C. Chase, Fred L. Foster. 1908, First \\"ard, George G. Shryack, Dr. 
O. B. Hall; Second Ward. J. V. Murray. F. L. Mayes; Third A\'ard, 
T. C. Lauderdale, C. D. Middleton ; Fourth Ward. C. Chase. Fred L. 
Foster. 1909, First Ward. Dr. O. B. Hall. O. H. Brock: Second A\'ard, 
F. L. Mayes, R. L. Campbell; Third Ward. J. M. Caldwell. J. B. Whit- 
field; Fourth AA'ard, Fred L. Foster. J. L. Smith. 1910. First Ward. Dr. 
O. B. Hall. O. H. Brock; Second Ward, A. Lcc Smiser. R. L. Campbell; 
Third Ward. J. M. Caldwell. J. B. AA'hitfield ; Fourth Ward. J. L. Smith, 
L. Fountain. 1911, First Ward, Dr. O. B. Hall, O. FI. Brock: Second 
■Ward, A. Lee Smiser, R. L. Campbell: Third Ward. J. W. Whitfield, 
E. S. Katherman; Fourth Ward. J. L. Smith, L. i^nmtain. 1912, First 
Ward, Dr. O. B. Hah. O. FI. Brock; Second Ward, .\. Lee Smiser, R. 
L. Campbell; Third Ward, E. S. Katherman. J. B. Baird ; Fourth Ward. 
J. L. Smith. L. I'ountain. 1913. First \\ard. Dr. O. B. Hall, O. 11. 
Brock: Second AA'ard, A. Lee Smiser, R. L. Campbell; Third Ward, E. 
S. Katherman, J. B. Baird: Fourth Ward, J. 1.. Smith, L. lM.unl;iin. 1<)14. 
First Ward, S. 1 1. Coleman, O. H. Brock; Sec<ind W.anl, J. S. .\nderson, 
R. L. Cami)bell; Third Ward. E. S. Kalhcrm;in, A. D. Redtord : 1'ourth 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 21/ 

Ward, J. L. Smith, L. Fountain. 1915, First Ward, S. H. Coleman, J. O. 
W. :\Ioles: Second Ward, J. S. Anderson, L, F. Hutchens: Third Ward, 
F. S. Katherman, A. D. Redford ; Fourth \\'ard, J. L. Descombes, L. 
Fountain. 1916, First Ward. J. O. A\'. AIdIcs, S. H. Coleman: Second 
Ward, J. X. Suddath, L. F. Hutchens: Third Ward. F. S. Katherman. T. 
L. Bradley: J. L. DesCombes, L. Fountain. 1917, Inrst Ward, S. H. Cole- 
man, L. A. Davis: Second A\'ard, J. X. Suddath, L. F, Hutchens: Tliird 
Ward. C. W. Fulkerson, T. L, Bradley: I'..urtli AWard, J. F. Six, L. 
Fountain. 

Assessors. — 1856-57, AA'illiam Upton: 1S5S, William M. Poston ; 
1859, Alex. Marr: 1861, A. M. Christian: 1865, John Cheek; 1866, J. I. 
Clouch: 1867, W. S. Snow: 1868, W. C. Rowland: 1889, G. E. Bell: 
1891-92, Rolla G. Carroll: 1893-94, Jesse Baker: 1895-98, G. F. Savage; 
1899-1900, Rolla G. Carroll: 1901-02, J. M. Hill: 190.1-06, J. \A'. McFar- 
land: 1907-1910, E. A. AA'illiams; 1911-14, T. J. Summers; 1915-16. O. 
L. Peters. 

Attorneys.— 1856. Charles O. Silliman : 1857. M. C. Goodlett ; 1858, 
F. M. Cockrell; 1859, Robert L. Brooking: 1860, John Hollowell : 1861, 
O. A. Wadell and G. W. McMurran: 1866, A. R. Conklin; 1867, H. H. 
Harmon; 1868, J. P. Heath: 1869-70. S. T. White: 1871, Henry Xeill ; 
1872. A. B. Logan: 1873, A. C. Baker: 1874. A. R. Conklin: 1875-76, 
Henry Xeill: 1877, J. M. Crutchfield: 1878. (iarrett C. Land: 1879-1880. 
S. T. White: 1881-83. R. AI. Rol)ertson ; 1884-85, J. M. Crutchfield: 
1886. John J. Hyer; 1887-88, Henry Xeill; 1889-1890, A. ^I. Greer: 
1891-92, R. M. Robertson; 1893, F. B. Fulkerson; 1894, F. B. Fulker.'^on 
and M. D. Aber; 1895, X. :M. Bradley: 1896, X. M. Bradley and M. D. 
Aber: 1897-98, AI. D. Aber: 1899-1900. Harry G. Hart: 1901-02. Bow- 
man Jarrott; 1903-04, Victor Gallaher; 1905-06, W. C. McDonald; 1907- 
1908, J. K. Tuttle: 1909-12, W. C. ?^IcDonald: 1913 to present, S. J. 
Caudle. 

Clerks.— -1856, Marsh Foster; 1857, Aikan AA'elch ami F. S. Pos- 
ton: 1858, David AW Reed and F. S. Boston; 1859, F. S. Poston: 1860-61, 
Alexan.ler Marr; 1865, G. A\'. Houts; 1866, C. M. Leet, J. AA'. Brown: 
1867, J. AA'. Brown: 1868-1870, J. R. Heath: 1871, J. M. llustel, Joseph 
Zoll; 1872, Joseph Zoll ; 1873. B. .\. Fickas; 1874, H. M. Overmyer; 
1875-76, Joseph Zoll: 1877, X. B. Klaine, Joseph Zoll; 1878-79, Joseph 
Zoll; 1880-81, Ira A. Day; 1882-1890. AA". C. Marlatt: 1891-94; AA". S. 
Clark; 1895, F. G. Lunbeck ; 1896. C. D. Middieton: 1897, H. A. Xeill. 



^l8 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

JR. E. Jones. 1898, C. W. Cord; 1899. C. W. Cord. F. G. Lunbeck; 1900, 

F. G. Lunbeck: 1901-1912, S. P. Tyler; 1913 to present. D. P. Woodruff. 

Collectors.— 1874, Eli AHman; 1881-82, \\'. C. Rowland; 1883, J. 
AA'. Kerr: 1884, T. B. Montgomery : 1883, A\'. H. Bunn ; 1886, Marcellus 
Shryack; 1877, John H. Wilson: 1888, W. H. Bunn; 1892, AV. L. Hick- 
man; 1893-96, O. H. Brock: 1897-1900, James AI. Shepherd; 1901-04, 
George A. Thurljer; 1905-09, Harry Jennings: 1910-12, S, H. Coleman; 
1913-16, L. C. Gore; 1917 to present, O. L. Peters. 

Engineers.— 1899-1904, George S. Brinkerhoff; 1905, J. H. Scar- 
borough; 1906, George S. Brinkerhoff; 1907, George S. Brinkerhoff and 
H. W. Sanders; 1908, George S. Brinkerhoff: 1909-10, J. S. Scarborough; 
1911. R. P. Fitch; 1912 to present. C. L. Johnson. 

Marshals.— 1868-1870. W. S. Snow: 1871, J. K. Miller; 1872. E. H. 
Shotwell; 1873, L. Collins; 1874, Eli Allman ; 1875, O. A. Redford ; 1876, 
S. J. Jackson; 1877-1880, H. F. Clark: 1881-82, P. A. Matthews; 1883-84, 
P. A. Magoon; 1885-86. D. R. Smith: 1887. R. F. Dalton: 1888. R. F. Dai- 
ton, Thomas H. Dillard ; 1889-1894, J. E. Morrison: 1895-96, George W. 
Warnick; 1897, W. H. Welch: 1898, W. H. Welch, George F. Fisher, K. 

G. Tempel; 1899-1900, K. G. Tempel, 1901-02. Carlisle Chase: 1901-07, 
James Ryan; 1908, William Ogle; 1909-12. A\'. A. Gaubert ; 1913 to 
present, B. G. Brown. 

Assistant Marshals.— 1892, Charles Morrison; 1893, Lewis Davis; 
1894, J. A. House; 1895, W. C. Johnson; 1896, R. H. Davis: 1807, K. 
G. Tempel; 1898-1900, J. P. Hampton; 1901. J. A. Burnett and James 
Ryan; 1902. James Ryan; 1903-06. B. G. Brown; 1907. James Basham ; 
1908. George AA'. Howard; 1909-12. B. G. Brown: 1913 to present, J. 
W. Ouarles. 

Police Judges.— 1895-96, AA'. C. McDonald; 1897-98. J. K. Byers; 
1899-1900, Jehu H. Smith; 1901-02, M. J. Staley; 1903-06, AA\ H. Bunn: 
1907-08, AA'. K. Morrow; 1909-12, John AA'. McFarland : 1Q13-14, Price 
B. Robinson; 1915-16, J. Raymond Rothwell : 1017-18, John W. Mch'ar- 
land. 

Sextons.— 1881-1895. Green B. Lannoni: 1896-1900. K. H. Crook: 
1901-02. T. C. Lauderdale; 1903. A. H. Spitscr; 1904-1016, C. A\". Stew- 
art; 1917, Neal Harmon. 

Street Commissioners. — 1856. Daniel Rentch; 1857, O. S. Iloath; 
1858-59, Robert Sharp: 1860, C. F. Heath: 1861, William I'lUon ; 1866. 
S. T. Burnett: 1867, A\'. S. Snow, O. S. Heath: isr,8. (). S. Heath: 1860. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COfNTY 211) 

W. Jollandsworth : 1870. J. D. .Morris; 1871, Joel P. Jolmston; 1872. 
Adam Howenstein : 1873. John Watson: 1874. L. Collin.s; 1875. J. P. 
Johnston; 1876. Hugh McCoy; 1877, Peter Koontz ; 1878, R. L. Richey. 
John Opp: 1879-1882, J. D. Morris; 1887-88. D. R. Smith; 1889. Clifton 
Thompson; 1890. J. H. Alspaugh; 1891-04. Jolm Scott; 1895, Orlando 
Willis; 1896, John ^[. Davidson; 1897, L. E. Hawk; 1898, Z. T. Col- 
lins. J. M. Davidson; 1899. J. A. Johnson; 1900, Frank Cole; 1901-06, 
J. E. Ridg-e; 1907, Stephen Tompkins, Henry Whiteman ; 1907-08, Plenry 
\A'hitenian; 1909-10. J. E. Ridge; 191 M2, Jolm Burnett; 1913-14, W. 
A. Gauliert; 1915-16, Frank Hiebler; 1017, A. Gaubert. 

Treasurers.— 1856, J,,lin G. Davis: 1857-1861. John Fonshee ; 1865- 
1866. W. R. Wood; 1867-1870. A. W. Ridings; 1871-72. J. P. Elenshaw : 
1873-76. H. D. Russell; 1877. X. B. Johnson; 1878-1882, W. H. Lee; 
1885-87, Marcus Youngs; 1888, John Davis; 1880-1801, ( ). S, Wadell ; 
1892-94, Jo. H. Smith; 1895-96, H. A. Neill; 1897-98, Ali)hcus Adams; 
1898, Alplieus Adams and F. N. Johnson; 1899-1900, Fred C. Whitman; 
1901-04, Earl Coffman ; 1905-06. T. P. A'alentine ; 1907. T. E. Cheatham, 
G. C. Gillum; 1908, G. C. Gillum ; 1009-12. C. A. Owings ; 1913-16. 
Nick Greim ; 1917 to present. Joseph E. Belt. 

Early Men and Things of Warrensburg Living Today. — Careful 
inquiry seems to give the lionor of priority to the following of \\'ar- 
rensburg's institutions and people. 

Buildings. — The oldest building is the old court house in Old 
Town, no\\' occupied as a residence by Mr. \\'. O. Da\is. the best-known 
citizen of Old Town. It was completed about 1842. The next was the 
next house \\-est of the Reese school, a two-story frame house, which 
Daniel Rentch had built. Then came the brick house just south of the 
court house on the west side of ?\lain street, built by William Harri- 
son Anderson; then the brick house on the north side of Gay street 
just east of Main street, now the residence of Mr. S. B. McMahan; then 
the brick house on the east side of Main street just north of Gay street 
and once occupied by \\'. H. Colbert, and then the Ijrick house just 
opposite on the west side, formerly occupied as a dentist's office by 
Doctor \\'illiams. The above order is given by Miss Catherine Rentch. 
daughter of Daniel Rentch. who remembers the buildin,g of all these 
houses exce])t the court house and the frame house, and is confirmed 
by Air. \\'. O. Davis. Mr. Moody and others. 

In New Town, AA'illiam Zoll built what is now the first frame house 



220 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

on the north side of Gay street east of Hohlen street (now the resi- 
dence of -Mr. and Airs. Henry E. Griffith), in 1858. Other houses built 
before the war were Capt. H. C. Pike's house ^ which was used as a 
smallpox hospital during the war), and also the second and third houses 
west from Holden street on the north side of Gay street ( now occupied 
l)y Messrs. Joseph McJMeekin and Leslie Hutchens, respectively), and 
the house at 310 ^^'est Gay street, built by old Mrs, Marr. 

Tliere is not an old church building in town. The Christian is the 
oldest, and the Cumlierland Presbyterian ne.xt. 

Men and Women. — Of the business men "Ike" Rogers and Dan Wil- 
liams are the oldest. They were both here before the war. Mr. \\i\- 
liams came in 1857 and Mr. Rogers in 1858. (The fact that both are 
pioneer harness men seems to indicate a distinct advantage in associating 
with good leather). Those after the war are given in Mr. Lowe's 
interview preceding. 

The person who has resided in town the longest seems to be David 
P. AVoodruff. who was born in \\'arrenshurg. .\ugust 12. 1842. He is 
now city clerk and active and well. !Mrs. Martha Statiey. now aged 
eighty-five years, came here with her father, Daniel Rentch, about 1845 
or 1846. Mrs. Nannie Rose, widow of Lafayette Rose, is sevent\'-six 
years old and remembers coming here when she was six years old. which 
would make her advent 1848. Mrs. A. H. Gilkeson (mother of Mrs. W. 
L. Hedges, Dr. H. P. Gilkeson, and John M. Gilkeson, all living in this 
county) came here in 1851, and is now over eighty years of age. 

In the younger set of genuine natives, come Mel. P. Moody and 
John M. Crutclifield. Mr. Crutchfield was born here in 1858. and Mr. 
Moody claims he chose A^'arrensburg as his birlhiilace in 1854, though 
he refuses to confirm this l:>y his actions or looks. 14iose two remarkable 
women. Miss Kitty Rentch and Miss Lizzie Gro\er, both arrived in this 
world in W'arrensburg before the war. Miss Lizzie remembers going 
to Doctor Williams' office to have a tooth pulled before the war. and 
Miss Kitty was an associate of Mr. Moody's, and Jolm J. and A\'il]iam 
S. Cockrell (the writer's half-brothers), who wore l)orn in 1855 ;ind 
1857, respectively. These two spinsters, botli of unusual character and 
ability, have (possibly through keeping themselves clear of incumbrances) 
for a long time been, and still are, two of the town's most capable and 
cheerful citizens. 



HISTORY OF .lOllXSOX COUXTY 221 

Population. — The following is the population of \\'arrensl)iirg from 
1850 to 1910 by official United States Census: 

1850— White. 194: colored, 47. 1860— White. 858; colored. 124. 
1870— \\'hite. 2.447: colored. 498. 1880. 4.049: 1890. 4.706: 1900. 4.724: 
1910, white, 4.278: colored. 411. 

Additional, and very interesting- detailed information about the town 
is given by the United States Census for 1910. According to it, there 
were 1.209 dwellings in town and 1.236 families living in them. There 
were 144 people ten years old and o\er who could not read or write. 
These were chiefl}- negroes — 92 negroes, and 52 whites. Among the 
144 were 66 men o\'er 21 years old. There were 1,289 persons between 
six and twenty vears of age. of whom 1,012 were attending scliool. The 
following are the tables in full : 

Warrensburg, 1910 — Sex, Color and Nativity. 

Total population. 1910 4.689 

Total population, 1900 4,724 

Male 2.125 

Female 2,564 

Native white, native parentage 3.842 

Native white, foreign or mixed parentage 331 

Foreign-born white 105 

Negroes 411 

Dwellings and Families. 

Dwellings, number 1,209 

Families, number 1,236 

Illiteracy. 

Total number 10 years old-and o\er 4. (J/2 

Numl)er illiterate 144 

Native white 10 years old and over 3.617 

Number illiterate 48 

Foreign-born wdiite 10 years old and over 105 

Number illiterate 4 

Negroes 10 years old and oxer 3.^0 

Number illiterate 92 

Illiterate males of voting age 66 



222 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

School Age and Attendance. 

Total miinl:ier 6 to 20 _years incliisi\e 1,289 

Nunil)er atteiidino- school 1,012 

Persons 6 to 14 Years, Inclusive. 

Nati\e white, number 623 

Xuml)er attending school 585 

Foreign-horn wliite, nuni1)er 

Number attemh'ng school 

Negroes, numl^er 64 

Numl^er attending school 55 

Males of Voting Age. 

Total nund)er 1,375 

Natixe white, native parentage 1.074 

Nati\e white, foreign or mixed parentage 112 

roreign-l)orn. white 59 

Naturalized 50 

Negroes 130 

lUiterate males of voting age 66 

The Warrensburg Commercial Club prior to 1910 had existed for 
sixteen years, under the name of the "AVarrensburg and Johnson 
County Board of Trade." Its first president was Charles Shepard, who 
continued in that capacity until tiie re-organization. The first secre- 
tary was Frank Lunlieck. Tiie minutes of the "Board of Trade" have 
Ijeen lost and definite information as to the work of the Ijodv cannot 
be given, but it may lie claimed tliat it was responsilile for tlie building 
of the present court house. It was composed of the leading men of 
Warrensburg and labored for the best interests of the city. The Board 
of Trade was re-organized in January, 1910, its name was changed to 
the Warrensburg Commercial Club and the following officers and direc- 
tors were chosen : John Thrailkill, president ; Jesse J. Culp, vice-presi- 
dent ; George G. Gilkeson. treasurer; AV. E. Suddath, secretary, and 
J. H. Scarborough, P. D. Finch, Theo. S. Shock, John Thrailkill. Jesse 
J. Culp, George G. Gilkeson and W. E. Suddath. directors. New and 
commodious rooms were fitted up in the second story of the Johnson 
building on the corner of Holden and East Pine streets. During the 
past year the cluli has stood behind all worthy enterprises of tlie city. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 22T; 

It helped in the organization of the Johnson County Poultry Show and 
was instrumental in securing the meeting of the Grand Army of the 
Republic in Warrensburg. Its most important work has been that of 
encouraging street paving, four miles of which have been accomplished 
through its efforts. It has been behind all l)eneficial legislation and 
has taken the initiative in many improvements. The success of the 
"Korn Karnival" was mainly through its efforts. 

The club is now fighting the increase of light rates, making the 
telephone companies lay the wires underground, and have made the 
railroads keep up the bridges, paving and crossings. They helped get 
the county farm agent by pledging themselves for his salarv and guar- 
anteed the support of Miss Moreland, the new food demonstrator. 

The membership of the club embraces the leading business men 
of Warrensburg and it is a power for the upbuilding of the city. There 
are 100 members. The present officers are: President, Harvey Clark; 
secretary, Chester Ossingham : treasurer, E. N. Johnson. 



CHAPTER XIX.— POST OAK TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION, LOCATION, NAMING— GEOGRAPHY— SOIL — KARLY SETTLEMENTS 

—MILLS— EARLY' CHURCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— EARLY 

POSTOFFICES — JUSTICES — COUNTY' OFFICERS — POPULATION — PERSONAL 

PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPRO^'E^IENTS— ORGANIZA- 

TION.S— LEETON. 

Post Oak township was organized February 14, 1849, off of the south 
end of Warrensburg township. It was named from Post Oak creek, 
which received its name from the abundance of post oak timber adjoin- 
ing the creek. 

Geography. — Area, about 69 square miles, or 44.160 acres. Geo- 
graphically, Post Oak township composes tlie upland between Post Oak 
creek and its tributaries on the west and Clear Fork on the east, both 
these streams heading in a water shed running east and west across the 
south end of the township. The M. K. c't T. and Rock Island railroads 
occupy this water shed, and Leeton and Post Oak towns are situated 
on it. 

Soil. — .According to the United States Department of Agriculture's 
Soil Survey of 1914, Post Oak township contains more different types 
of soils in considerable amounts than any other township, and also con- 
tains less of any one type in a solid body than any other township. The 
following are the chief soils and their approximate proportions in the 
township: Bates silt loam (dark gray-brown soil), 30 per cent.: Boone 
silt loam ("sandy" soil), 25 per cent.: Oswego silt loam (gray soil). 12i/< 
per cent.: Summit silt loam ("black limestone" soil). 10 per cent.: Craw- 
ford silt loam ("red limestone" soil), 7^ per cent.: Boone fine sandy 
loam (with more sand than Boone silt loam), 5 per cent., and Osage silt 
loam (ordinary bottom soil), 6 per cent. 

The details of these soils are: 

Bates silt loam, upland, about 20'''4 scfuare miles: lies chictly in the 
southeast half of the townshi]), adjoining the Oswego and Boone silt 
loams. 

Boone silt loam, upland, about 17'/4 square miles: lies chiefly in 
the northwest one-third and east one-fourth of the township, in irregu- 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 225 

lar strips from one-ciuarter to one mile witle. adjoining tlie bottom laml 
along the creeks. 

Oswego silt loam, npland, alH)ut Sy2 s(|uare miles. It lies chietly 
in three areas; one of three to four square miles arountl and extending 
about three miles northeast of Post Oak town, another of al)out one 
square mile lying three-quarters mile northeast of Leeton and the other 
of about one scpiare mile lying about two miles north and a little west 
of Leeton. 

Summit silt loam, upland, about 7 S(|uare miles: lies in patches all 
over the township. 

Crawford silt loam, upland, a1)out 5I4 scpiare miles, upland; lies in 
patches all over the township. 

Boone fine sandy loam, upland, al)out oj'j scpiare miles. This lies 
chiefly in patches beginning about one mile northwest of Post Oak town 
and extending about six miles north, or about half way to W'arrensburg. 

Osage silt loam, the ordinary bottom soil, about 4 scpiare miles. It 
lies along Clear Fork and the tributaries of Post Oak. 

Miscellaneous, upland and bottom, about 2^ square miles, or 4 per 
cent, of township. These are small patches of Pettis silt loam, Chariton 
silt loam. Roberts\-ille silt loam. Sunmiit silt_\- cla}- loam. Crawford stony 
loam and Boone graNcll}- loam. 

Of the foregoing'. Summit silt loam, Crawford silt loam and Pettis 
silt loam are ranked as the best three common upland soils in the county, 
with the Bates silt loam next. 

For further soil details, see chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The earliest settlement in this township was 
probably in 1830. James Harris and his son, John M. Harris, came here 
that year from Tennessee. Reverends Samuel King and R. D. King also 
settled here in 1830. ^^laj. James Warnick, one of the sturdy, substan- 
tial pioneers of the county, came here from Tennessee in 1833. (Refer 
to his family history for a full sketch.) Robert Thompson settled here 
in 1832. Abner Stewart, John Marr and Daniel Alarr settled here in 
1834. Samuel Evans, a Kentuckian, came in 1837. B. F. Wall came 
from Xorth Carolina in 1839 and Ijecame a well-to-do farmer. Other 
old settlers who located in this township prior to 1840, or during th.at 
year, were, Thomas Irwin. Thomas J. Young. S. Stone. Samuel Houston, 
Edward Nichols, Philip Stone. John Stone. William Strong, Joseph 

(8) 



22b HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Stewart. B. F. Thomas, J. L. Glazebrook. John ]\Iarr, Alman ^larr. 
Owen Cooper, James Hackler. Thomas lams. James Boone, Col. U'illiam 
Johnson, Addison McSpadden and Frank Dwver. 

Mills. — \A'hen Post Oak township was lirst settled, the nearest mill 
was at Lexington, forty miles to the north. A trip there frequently 
required a week to complete, as the patrons of those pioneer mills were 
sometimes required to wait one to three days to get their grinding done. 
Booneville, about sixty-five miles distant on the Missouri river, was the 
nearest general trading point. 

Early Churches. — The early day circuit riders visited the pioneers 
in this section al)out the time the settlement became permanent and 
services were usually held in their homes. 

In the fall of 1833, the first camp meeting was held by Rev. Samuel 
King and R. D. King, of the Cumberland Presbyterian church, in the 
grove near the residence of Re\'. Samuel King. 

The first Sunday school was organized in 1S49 by Rev. Samuel 
King, who was superintendent. Maj. James W'arnick assisted in the 
school. It was taught in a little log school house near the site of Shiloli 
church. 

The Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian church was the first church 
in the townshi]). It was organized by Rev. R. D. King in 1836. Their 
first building was erected in 1875, and dedicated by the Rev. J. H. Houx. 
Some of the pioneer pastors of this denomination liere were, Rex'erends 
W. Compton, B. F. Thomas, H. R. Smith, J. R. Whitsett, G. V. Ridley, 
S. Finis King and the first elders were James Harris, John I'oster, 
Robert Thompson, Abner Stewart and R. M. King. 

Providence Baptist church was organized in .\pril. 1846, by Elder 
William P. C. Caldwell. Pioneer pastors of this denomination here 
were Reverends W. P. C. Caldwell, David W, Johnson, .Amos Horn, 
C. F. Floyd, William Lauder. L. ]M. Horn. Israel Thompson. .\. M. 
Cockrell and John S. Denton. Some of the early members were Samuel 
and Anna Evans, Benjamin and Melinda Childers. William B. and Sina 
Compton, Louis and Sarah McComb and Andrew J. Bell. The first 
bm'Iding used bv this organization was a union churcli building known 
as Shiloh. wdTicli was located eleven miles south and one and one-half 
miles west of Warrensburg. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church. South, was organized about 1853 
at Cornelia, bv Rev. Warren Pettis. Among the earlv members were 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSDX COrXTY 227 

Daniel and Charity Coal. James, l-~iizal)etli ami Mebina Hackler, Lucy 
Taylor. Doctor Love, Cornelia Love, Mark and C'harlotte Shumate. 

Mount Zion Cumlierland Presbyterian church was organized and 
erected a house oi worshi]) after the close of the Civil War. Rev. J. H. 
Houx preached here for a time, .\mong the early members were Rob- 
ert X. Warnick, David Marr. Dr. Lee D. F.wing, John P. Warnick and 
Julius \\'oodford. 

The German Baptist or Dunkanl church of Post Oak township was 
organized January 25. 1869. Their first church building was completed 
in 1871. The first members were Jolin J. Ifarshey. Catherine Harshey, 
S. S. Mobler, ^Lary .\. Mohler, D. M. Mohler. ^hu• Mohler, E. Mohler. 
Anna Mohler. Samuel Inilker and May Lnlker. l^lder John J. Harshey 
was the first minister. 

The Christian church was organized in .Kiiril. 1872. by M. D. Todd, 
an e\'angelist. and a sulistantial frame liuilding was erected the same 
year about one-half mile east of Cornelia. Dr. J. M. Ward contributed 
about half of the funds necessary for this building. The following named 
ministers preached here in the early history of this organization : l^^lder 
Hurley. George \\'. Logan, Benjamin F. Stephens and F. F. Meigs. 
Some of the original members were .\. L(juney and family. Allen Jones 
and wife. John Burnett and wife. Dr. J. Af. Ward. Woodson Reavis 
and wife, \\illiam Wiley. A\'illiam P.lakey and wife and John Daugherty 
and wife. 

Harmony Baptist church of Post (lak was organized in 1881 bv 
Re\-. .\. M. Cockrell. A suitable church building was erected the same 
year. There were thirty-li\'e original members of this chm-ch. This 
congregation \\as an offspring of old High Point church in Jefterson 
township. 

Early Cemeteries. — .\mong the old cemeteries of the township. Shi- 
loh cemeter}-. was laid out in 1840 and an infant cliikl of James Stewart 
was buried there the same year. Here also rest the remains of Rev. 
Samuel King, one of the founders of the Cumberland Presbyterian 
church. Cornelia cemetery \\as an old one. The Dunkard cemetery, 
in section 21. township 44. range 23. was started in 1869. The first 
burial was that of a child of an emigrant family who were passing 
through here. Snelling cemetery was established about 1841. Greer 
cemetery was an early-day burning ground, as was also Mount Zion. 
\\'all cemetery and Greenlee cemeter\' were family burial grounds and 



225 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

there were a number of other private burial places throughout the 
township. The first burial occurred in the township in 1837. 

Early Schools. — A man named Baker taught the first school in 
this township in 1835. He was followed by Alexander Marr. Other 
pioneer teachers of that period were Salathiel Stone, Mr. Macklin, Air. 
Townsley, J. M. Ward, Ben Thomas and Miss Mary Cull. 

Among the early district schools were Bryson. Cornelia, Culley, 
Divers. Grinstead. Holmes, Marr, Thomas, W'arnick and \\ashington. 
The following are some of the early teachers after the Civil War; John 
Farnev, Mrs. M. J. Brownlee. William Warnick, Benjamin Woodford, 
Lula Caldwell, B. F. Pettis, J. W. McGiven, Parma Wash, Cora Wash, 
Nannie Holmes, Kate Lawler, Jerome Mohler, Silas P. Cully, A. J. 
Sparks, Miss Jones, Cora Wall. 

Early Postoffices. — Cornelia was the first village and postoffice in 
the township. James K. Farr and James Morrow built the first houses 
here in 1853. The town was located in section 36. about eight miles 
south of Warrensburg. It was named by Dr. Love in honor of his wife 
who bore the name Cornelia. In the Civil War it was practically burned 
to the ground by Bill Stewart and his gang. This village was also 
known b}- the early settlers as Shanghai and is said to have been 
so called from the fact that Dr. Love, who lived here, was a chicken 
fancier and c[uite extensi\'ely engaged in raising a breed of chickens 
known as Shanghais. Cornelia was a postoffice long before the Civil 
War and remained one until establishment of rural routes. There have 
usually been there also a grocery store, blacksmith shop, a public school 
and two. churches. 

Post Oak postofiice was established in 1855, about five miles south 
of Cornelia on what was known as the ^\'arrenslnlrg and Clinton mail 
route. N. M. Irwin was first postmaster. This town is on the lines 
of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific and the Missouri, Kansas & 
Texas railroads, which were afterwards built through here, and now has 
store, blacksmith shop, school house and several residences. 

Aubrey postoifice was established in the northeast part of the town- 
ship in 1875 and J. N. Herring was the postmaster. .Stone iiostofficc, 
named for that prominent family, also gave service for a while. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far l)ack as the count}- records show, with dates of their election : 
1852, John Oliphant, Thomas McSpadden, Thomas lams, Richard M. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 22g 

King; 1856, John Oliphant. Tliomas lams, Robert Thompson, Salathiel 
Stone: 1860, John Olipliant. l^homas lanis, Robert Thompson, P. C. 
Thornton; 1862, Thomas lams; 1870, John G. Gray, George M. Rob- 
erts; 1878, R. \V. \\'arnick, Owen Cooper; 1882. R. W. Warnick, George 
Hippie; 1886, John E. Williams, \\'alter L. Stone: 1890, Adam Tusti- 
son, Walter Stone; 1894. Thomas C. :Marlatt 1898, Jaines C. Burks, 
Robert Smaltz; 1900, J. R. Grinstead; 1902. J. R. Grinstead ; 1904. J. 
W. Marshall: 1906, J. M. Lowery, F. A\'. Sweeney: 1908. Alonzo Hunt. 
John Sheller; 1910. S. B. Sturgis. C. F. Gilchrist; 1914. S. B. Sturgis. 
J. W. Slioemaker. 

County Officers. — Tlie following are the county officers who liave 
been elected from tlie townsliip since 1882, with the dates of their 
election : 

1890 — Robert X. Warnick (Democrat), proliate judge. 
. 1896-1898— Robert M. Lear (Democrat), sherifT. . 

1896-1898 — AA'illiam H. Burford (Democrat), county judge. 

1902-1906 — AA'illiam A. Stepliens (Democrat), presiding county 
judge. 

1906-1910 — J. R. Grinstead (Democrat), county clerk. 

1908-1912— David ^folder (Democrat), surveyor. 

Population. — Population of Post Oak town-^liip. liy United States 
Census, was: 

—1850— _1,960— —1870— 

AAdute. Col. Total. AAdiite. Col. Total. AAliiie. Col. Total. 

874 34 908 1.534 88 1.622 2.516 114 2.630 

1880 ■ 1890 1900 1910 

1.858 1,775 1.980 1.889 

Personal Property and Products. — Agriculture and personal property 
statistics for Post (Jak tnwnship. as given by Alissnuri State Report for 
1877, and Johnson county assessors' lists for IS'^6 and 1916. are: 

1877 1877 1806 1916 

AAdieat. bushels 28J70 Horses 882 1.034 1.307 

Corn, bushels 411.200 ?>lules 348 437 366 

Oats, bushels 10,575 Cattle 2.314 2.101 2,745 



230 



HISTORY OF TOHNSON COUNTY 



Rve. l)ushel.s 47 Sheep 1.124 220 459 

Barley none Hogs 3.412 3,499 3.392 

Tobacco, pounds 24.365 Asses none 9 10 

Wool, pounds 2,570 

Hay, tons 2,124 

Molasses, gallons 4,355 

^^'ine, gallons 5 

Money and notes $ 57.190 $161,305 

Bank Stock 36.125 

Other personalty i2.292 49,395 

All personalty 175.690 380,800 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made 
by Post Oak township since this system was established in 1911 were, 
up to January 1. 1918, twenty-four in number, and aggregated $1,320.70 
fen-nisiied b)- citizens of the township, and $1,319.70 furnished 1\v the 
county. In amount of this work. Post Oak township ranks second 
among tiie townships of tlie county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organiza- 
tions of every kind in Post Oak township. I'^ill details of each organi- 
zation are in separate chapters on the difterent organizations. 

Churches — Baptist, Harmony: Baptist, Leeton ; Baptist, Provi- 
dence; [^jrethren. Mineral Creek: Brethren. Union Mound: Christian, 
Leeton: Christian, Prairie View: Cumberland Presbyterian, Mt. Zion : 
Cumberland Presbyterian. Shiloh : Latter Day Saints. Post Oak: INIetho- 
dist, Leeton: Methodist South, Cornelia: Primitixe Baptist, Leeton. 

Fraternal Organizations — Masons, Blue Lodge, Cold Springs: Mod- 
ern Woodmen. Cornelia: Modern ^^'oodmen. Leeton: Modern Wood- 
men. Post Oak: Royal Neighbors. Cornelia: Royal Neighbors. Leeton. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross Leeton Branch. 

Business Organizations — Bank of Leeton, l-'armers Bank, \\'est 
Lawn Telephone Company. 

Homemakers Clubs — Hickory Grove. Shiloh. 

Total number of organizations in township is twenty-five. 

LEETON. 
Leeton. (By Mrs. Mary B. Hamacher. ) Leeton. one of the import- 
ant trading points in the southern part of the county, hicated on the Mis- 
souri, Kansas &- Texas and the Rock Island ntilroad, which parallel each 
other through this townshi]). came into existence with the advetit of the 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 23 1 

Missouri. Kansas & Texas railroad. The landowners here gave S715 
for a depot and four miles of right of way and finally prevailed. 

As soon as the location of the station was decided upon, J. J. I.ee, 
H. E. Fewel and R. L. Grinstead i)iu-chased ahout forty-five acres of 
land and laid out two hundred fift_\-cight lots. The plat was recorded 
October 21, 1895. 

The town his wide streets witli concrete walks, trees, and parking 
on either side, unusually well kept la\\n>, and attractive homes. 

There are five churches: The .Missionary Baptist, Primiti\e 
Baptist, Methoilist, Christian an<l I'.rctlncn: two hanks, newspaper, 
electric light plant and all lines of business. 

The population in 1910 was 42U. .\ consolulated district high >chool 
was established b_\- a vote of four ti> one. 

The town was incorporated May 14, 1900. The following is a 
complete list of town officials: 1«)06-0S, .\. C. Todd; 1909-10, H. E. 
Fewel: 1911, A. C. Todd; 1912-13, Henly Stacy. 

Mayors,— 1<»1 4-1 5, C. A. Baker: 1910-17, S. I-i. Ward. 

Trustees,— 1906, \\'. T. Baker, H. K. h'ewel, L. W. Fowler, C. .\. 
Leutz; 1907, W . T. Baker, H. E. Fewel, I4en!y Stacy, David Mohler; 
1908, C. A. Baker, W". T. Baker, Henly Stacy, S. R. Ward: l')0". C. A. 
Baker: J. AF Lowry, Henly Stacy: 1910, C. A. Baker, j. M. Fowry, 
Henly Stacy, A. C. Todd: 1911, C. A. Baker, H. F. Fewel, Henly Stacy, 
G. F. Hall: 1912-13. C. A. Baker, H. 1-:. 1-ewel, S. R. Ward. G. F. Hall: 
1914-15, Henly Stacy, H. F Fewel, S. R. Ward. G. F. Hall: 1910, Henly 
Stacy, H. F. Fewel. W. H. Walker, Ci. F. Hall: 1917. Henly Stacy. H. 
E. Fewel, W. H. Walker, P. N. Douglass. 

Clerks.— 1906. S. J. Major; 1908-11, S. B. Sturgis; 1912-l.S, S. J. 
I\Iajor: 1914-17. Jay T. Tvennedy. 

Collectors.— 1906-08, C. F. Gilchrist: 1909. J. :\F Ward: 1910. Frank 
Callison; 1912-14, S. J. Major; 1915. Jay T. Kennedy. 

Marshals.— 1906, J. C. McMillan: 1907. X. C. Jerome: 1908, J. M. 
Lowry: 1909, G. F. Callison: 1910. Frank Callison: 1911, G. F. Callison: 
1913. J. J. Stacy: 1014-15. R. P. King. 

Treasurer.— 1912-14, S. J. :\Iajor: 1915-17. Jay T. Kennedy. 

Attorney.— 1913-15. S. B. Sturgis. 

Street Commissioners.— 1906, J. C. McMillan: 1007. David Mohler; 
1908, Jacob Faughman: 1010-15. W. \A'. Famar. 

Health Officer.— 1907, Dr. F. W. Fowler; 1909, G. D. Musick; 
1910-12. Dr. E. Y. Parei 1913-16, Dr. F. Y. Pare. 



CHAPTER XX.— HAZEL HILL TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION. ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GKOGRAPHY AND SOILS — EARLY SET- 
TLEMENTS—EARLY CHURCHES — EARLY CEMETERIES — EARLY SCHOOLS — 
TEACHERS— EARLY POSTOFFICE— JUSTICES OP THE PEACE — COUNTY OFFI- 
CERS — PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS — COUNTY ROAD IMPROVE- 
MENTS—POPULATION-ORGANIZATIONS. 

The territory composing Hazel Hill township, one of the northern 
tier of townships of the county, was originally a part of "Washington 
township. Hazel Hill township was organized June 10. 1856. and its 
boundaries practically remain the same as they were at that time, except 
that a strip ofif of the eastern side was added to Simpson township upon 
the organization of that township in 1875. 

The early school at Fayetteville was built near a hill of hazel brush. 
A Sons of Temperance lodge was organized in 1884, met at the school 
house and named the lodge Hazel Hill, from this hill. The name was 
then applied in succession to the school house and the village. Today 
the village is commonly called Hazel Hill more than it is Fayetteville. 

Geography and Soils. — Geographically, Hazel Hill township is an 
upland at the headwaters of five streams and their tributaries, all enter- 
ing into Blackwater creek. According to the United States Department 
of Agriculture Soil Survey of 1914 Osage silt loam (bottom soil) lies 
next to the streams and next to it comes the silt of Boone silt loam 
("sandy" soil), and next to it and constituting the main bodies of upland 
soil in the township come the Sunmiit silt loam ("black limestone" 
soil) in the north two-fifths of the townshi]) and Pettis silt loam 
("mulatto" soil) in the south three-fifths. 

The sandstone ridge mentioned in the chapter on Cieologv extends 
through the township north and south. 

The township has been noted for its numerous good springs. .\ 
sulphur spring east of Walker school house and west of Colbern branch 
in section 36, township 47, range 26, was regardeil as possessing im- 
portant medicinal qualities by the early settlers. It is said to ha\e been 
ne\er failing and a fa\orite cam]Mng ground for the Indians. 

The soils in detail are as follow: 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUXTY 



-J," 



Summit silt loam, upland, alunit 11 per cent, of township. This 
lies in the north two-fifths, and the southwest corner of the township. 

Pettis silt loam, upland, about 23 per cent. This lies in the south 
three-fifths of the township. 

Boone silt loam, upland, 40 per cent. This lies next to the bottom 
land at the head waters of the fi\e streams. Honey creek. Little Wal- 
nut. Black Jack, Flagstaft and creek. 

Osage silt loam, bottom, 8 per cent. This is the ordinary bottom 
soil along the creek. 

Miscellaneous, upland, 2 per cent. This consists of an irregular 
patch of Crawford silt loam ( "red limestone"' ) soil, around Mt. Moriah 
church and small ])atches o\er the township of Boone fine sandy loam 
(with more sand than the Boone silt loam). 

Of the foregoing Summit silt loam and Pettis silt loam are ranked 
as two of the best soils of the ordinary upland t\'pe in the county. The 
Boone silt loam is the common soil of sandstone origin. 

For further soil details see chapter on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The section now composing Hazel Hill town- 
ship was one of the earliest settled parts of what is now Johnson county. 
This was due to the fact that it was one of the most northern sections 
of the county and earl\- immigration came from the direction of the 
Missouri river on the north. Richard and John Huntsman settled in this 
locality in 1829. Samuel Cornett located here in 1831 and William 
McMahan came the same \ear. Elijah A'oung came in 1836. He per- 
haps was one of the first to introduce fruit raising in the new country. 
He was an enterprising citizen and lixed to a ripe old age. Joseph Har- 
rison, a native of Alabama, came here in 1832 and Joseph Hobson came 
from Tennessee then, also. George ^IclMahan, from Alabama: \\'illiam 
Adams, from Xorth Carolina: Jesse Harrison, from .Mabama : Judge 
^^■illiam Trapp, from Tennessee, came here in 1832. In 1834. Judge 
Robert Graham, from \"irginia. Henr\- Brooks from Indiana, and Jacob 
Parman from Tennessee established their homes here. LeRo}- Barton, 
a Kentuckian, joined the settlement the same year. John Markham and 
John Shackleford, both Kentuckians, cast their lots here in 1835. 

Joel \\'alker came here in 1830. He was known as an industrious 
and frugal pioneer who contributed his part toward builrling up the new 
country. It is said that he improved three farms. Judge Harvey Harri- 
son settled near the headwaters of the ^^'alnut in 1831. He served as 



234 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

iustice of the peace for twelve years. The Ii\-es of tlie pioneers of this 
section were not unlike the average frontiersmen's of those days. They 
cleared away and broke land and it was not long until many had built 
comfortable although not elaborate homes. 

Early Churches. — Religious organizations were effected at an early 
day in Hazel Hill township. Liberty Baptist church was the first in 
the township. It was organized in May, I8.16, with ten members and 
about that time a log church building was erected on section 24 on the 
VVarrensburg and Lexington road near Liberty cemetery. The old 
church was built of hewn logs and puncheon floor with slab seats and 
was heated by two stoves. Amos Horn, Martin and Jonathan Gott 
were among the first to preach the gospel here. This old church build- 
ing did ser\ice for about fort}- _\-ears. when the organization was changed 
to Fayette\-ille, where a frame Iniilding was erected in 1877. Some of 
the early pastors here were Da\id M. Johnson, M. Felly. R. H. Harris. 
A. Barton and James H. Carmichael. The early memliers of the organi- 
zation were: J. A\'. \Vhite. J. Warner, William Simp'^nn. \'. Schilling. 
Sarah ^^'alker, Richard Huntsman, Alary, Xancy ami H. Huntsman. 
A\-illiam AI. Walker and Cynthia Walker. 

The Christian church of Fayettexille was organized about 1842 
and four vears later a frame building was erected which was dedicated 
by Elder Hiram Bledsoe. The early pastors of this church were Hiram 
Bleflsoe, James Randall. D. M. Grandheld, George A\'. Logan. William 
Jarrott. G. R. Hand, \Wlliam Roe, C. A. Hedrick and Samuel AI. AlcDan- 
iel. This church was reorganized in 187Ci by [•"Idcr \\ illiani jarrott with 
the following members: William Tra])p, John Trapp, Jesse Trap]), AI. 
Tra]i]j, Thomas Collins. Elijah Young, joe Seigfield. Hiram KeUo, 
William Jones, William Lemon, Samuel (iuinslead and Noah Dyer. 

The Alt. A-Ioriah church. Cumberland Presl)yierian, was organized 
here shortly after the close of the Civil War and about that time a frame 
church building was erected. This was located on section 21. .\mong 
the original members of this congregation we find William Stockton. 
\\illiam AIcAIahan. AX'illiam Brandmi and their familie-^. The first i)as- 
tor.s here were S. H. AIcElvaine and J. C. Littrell. 

Early Cemeteries. — Regular cemeteries were established \ery early 
within the present borders of Hazel Hill townshii). Liberty cemetery 
was established on section 24. on the road between Warrensburg and 
Favette\ille. at an earlv da\-. Harrison cenietei-\- w;is e'^t;d)lished in 



IIISTCIKY OF JOllXSOX COUNTY 235 

1844 and Thomas B. Harrison was the tirst to rest here. Hobson ceme- 
tery, another early bnrial place, is located on the northeast corner of 
section 15 and tlic remains of Mrs. F.lizaheth Brooks were the first 
to be interred here. 'Mt. Moriali cemetery, located on section 28. was 
another pioneer cemetery and Mrs. P. \'. Spring was the first to be 
buried here. Morgan Cockrell was the first to be interred in the Old 
Bethel cemetery, which was located on the western part of section 7. 

Early Schools. — Up to 1838 schools were held in private residences 
generally bnt al.iout that time the log school house was established in 
the northern part of the township which became known as the Benton 
school and another one in the southern part which later liecame known 
as the Pettis school, 'jdiese were of the crude t\pe of buildings usualK' 
constructed for school purposes in those da\s and here su])Scription 
schools were conducted until the present state educational system w;is 
established, or rather the beginning of it. 

Among the later school buildings, which were constructed liefore 
the war was the old McMahan log school house, built in 1853. This 
was replaced b}' a frame structure six years later, which was burned 
during the Ci\'il \\'ar and was not rebuilt until after the close of that 
conflict. Prior to the war. the old log school house |)re\-iously mentioned, 
to which the name Hazel Hill was early gi\-en. stood near the ])resent 
site of Fayetteville. 

Teachers.^Among the early school teachers of the pioneer times 
in this part of the county, we find the names of Judge Robert (iraham. 
James Borthick. Judge William L. Hornbuckle. Henry Tarplev. William 
A\'. Sparks. John G. Gibbons. Jesse Trapp and A. ^larr. 

Some of the teachers, who were among the later educators of this 
township, were Mr. Tomblin. Mr. F.dwards. .\. J. Trajip. Jesse Trapp, 
Samuel H. McEhaine. .\. B. Logan, John Randall, C. F. Greenlee, F. 1*". 
:\leigs, Mr. Babbitt, Mrs. Bedichek, Miss ^Maggie Lamar, Miss Sallie 
Young, G. H. Sack, A. C. Jones, William Rowe. Henry Gott. Miss Mattie 
Brinkerhoff, Miss Jennie Lamar, Miss Jennie Gott. Mattie Meigs, Jose])h 
Conner, J. Harrison, Lizzie McGluney. Mr. Day. Miss Kate Lamar. 1. 
M. Harrison. J. Johnson, Miss Jennie .\dams, Dora Foster. Miss Tosie 
Hart, William Talbott. Miss Jennie Gott. Miss Bertha M. Brandon, 
George Brinkerhoff. IMiss ^Maggie Nelson, Mr. Wimer, J. Crawford. V.d 
Gilbert, Thomas McDougal. G. M. Shanton. A\". H. James, Mr. Coe, 
Miss Annie Rhodes, Lot Coffman, Miss Nannie S. Dalton, Miss Melissa 



236 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Taylor, Miss Sarah Ashby. Miss Lina Barkley, Rev. Baniett. W. Payne, 
Mr. \\hitmer, Mr. Motsinger, Rev. Woodard, Samuel Moore, David Brad- 
ley, Amos Horn, John M. Christy, Mr. Shields, James Crutchfield, E. H. 
Miller, Miss Maggie Humphrey, Miss Mollie Hendricson. Will 
McElvaine, Miss Ella Redford, Miss Sallie Cook, John A. Moore. A. \'an- 
Ausdol, Dean Redford, Jason M. McElvain, Josie Smith and T. E. 
\A'illiams. 

Early Postoffice. — The first postoffice established in Hazel Hill town- 
ship was at the residence of James Borthick, who w-as the first postmaster. 
This was long before the town of Fayetteville was known and the name 
of the postoffice was Air. Later, when the new village of Fayetteville 
sprang up, the post office was given the name of Eayetteville, although 
the village was also known as Hazel Hill. The first postmaster in the 
town was Ben E. Lemmon, who held the oftice until the Ci\'il War 
broke out. He recei\'ed his commission from President Franklin Pierce. 
Later postmasters of F'ayetteNdlle were A. B. Harrison, William Ciouch, 
John Hand, M. Seamonds, A. J. Morgan, John Matthews and Wesley 
Otis. 

Fayetteville, the principal village in Hazel Hill township, is located 
about a mile east of the center of the township. The \illage took its 
name from Lafayette Collins, who was engaged in tlic mercantile l>usi- 
ness here in the early days. He went to Texas about tlie time of the 
Civil \\'ar, where he died in 1877. The land upon which tlie x'illage 
of Fayetteville stands was entered from tlie go\ernment September 17 . 
1845, b)' John Huntsman. Ben E. Lemmon kept the first store here. 
Others wdio were engaged in the mercantile business here at difi'erent 
times in the early days were Lafayette Collins, A. B. Harrison, John 
Huntsman, William Couch, George T. Herndon and A. J. Redford. 

Justices of the Peace of Hazel Hill township, as far back as the 
records go with the dates of their election, are: 1856, James P. Martin, 
Benjamin F. McCluny, William H. Narron, William L. Hornbuckle: 
1860, John Newton, Atkins Powell, W. L. Hornbuckle, \\ illiam 11. 
Harris: 1862, Calvin S. Sullivan: 1870, G, W. Winston, John L. Trc!)p: 
1878, William P. Greenlee, W. P. Glover: 1882, W . P. (irecnlee. Theo- 
dore Hyatt; 1886, William P. Greenlee. William McMahan: 1888. Theo- 
dore Hyatt: 1890, C. A. Harrison, W. P. (ireenlee: 1802. R. J. Matthews: 
1894, J. IL Collins, PL P. McGraw: 1896. J. D. Dyer, L. C. Gore: l'H)i\ 
C. A. Harrison: 1902, J. D. Dyer, George Young: 1904. J. \. .\llworth: 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 237 

1906, Frank N. Ames, A. J. Barkhurst ; 1908, William Hobbs ; 1910, 
Frank N. Ames; 1914, George Youngs. 

County Officers. — The following- are the cuunty officers who have 
been elected from the township since 1S82, with the dates of their 
election : 

1898— E. D. Frost (Democrat), recorder. 

1902-08 — C. A. Harris (Democrat), probate judge. 

1908— R. L. Falconer (Democrat), sheriff. 

1910-14 — E. F. Tracy (Democrat), presiding county judge. 

Personal Property and Products. — .Xgricultur.il and jiersonal prop- 
erty statistics for Hazel Hill tnwnshii) as given by llic .Missouri state 
reports for 1877 and Johnson ctnmty assessors' lists for 1896 and 
1916, are: 

1877 1877 1896 1916 

Wheat, bushels 50,202 Horses 632 628 738 

Corn, bushels 240,101 .Mules 271 334 432 

Oats, bushels 10,297 Cattle 1,470 1,161 2,026 

Rye bushels 731 Sheep 561 159 574 

Tobacco, pounds 28,160 Hogs 3,424 2,559 3,105 

Wool, pounds 1,019 .\sses none 15 4 

Hay, ])ounds 503 

Molasses, gallons 2,927 

1896 1916 

Money and notes $ 8,305 $ 44,830 

Other personalty 18,284 18,360 

-\]] personalty 77,210 151,855 

County Road Improvements made by the township, since this sys- 
tem was established in 1911. were up to January 1. 1918, twenty-three 
in number and aggregated $1,234.50, furnished l)y the citizens of the 
township, and $1,220 by the county. In the amount of this work Hazel 
Hill ranks sixth among the townshi])s of the county. 



ulation of Hazel Hill town 


.hip, l)y United St; 


tes Census wa 


— 1860— 


—1870— 




White. Colored. Total. 


White. Colored. 


Total. 


1,629 311 1,940 


1,798 106 


1,904 


1880 1890 


1900 


1910 


1,263 1,240 


1,154 


1,050 



238 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of every kind in Hazel Hill township. Full details of each organiza- 
tion are in separate chapters on the different organizations. 

Churches— Baptist, Liberty ; Christian, Fayetteville ; Cumberland 
Presbyterian. Mt. JMoriah; Cumt^erland Presbyterian, Salem. 

Fraternal Organizations — Modern Woodmen, Fayetteville; Modern 
Woodmen, Hoffman: Modern Brotherhood of America. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross, Fayetteville Branch. 

Miscellaneous — Homemakers Club; Fayetteville ; Homemakers Club, 
Salem; Farmers Community Club; Women's Christian Temperance Un- 
ion, Fayette\'ille ; \\'omen's Christian Temperance Union, \\'alker; Young 
Ladies Busy Bee Club. 

Total number of organizations in township, fourteen. 

There is one village in the township, Fayetteville, and also stores at 
Robbins and Hoffman, former postoffices. 

See chapters on Organizations and Families for much township 
history. 



CHAPTER XXI.— CHILHOWEE TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATIOX, ORGA.XIZATIU.X. XA.MIXC — ( ;l-:i )(_; KA I 'H V _ .SUU,8 — I.VLilA.N- MOUNDS — 
EARLY SETTLEMENTS— EARLY PHYSICLANS — EARLY CHURCHES — CEME- 
TERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS — OFFICLAL RECORDS. STATISTICS — .JUSTICES — 
COUNTY OFFICERS — POPULATION — PERSON.\L PROPERTY. EARLY PRODUCTS 
— ROAD IMPROVEMENTS — ORGANIZATIONS — CHILHOWEE VILL.\GE — CHIL- 
HOWEE TOWN— MAGNOLLA— DENTON. 

Chilhowee township, one of the southern l)order townships of the 
county, was org-anized Ma_\- 25. 1868. 

This to\\-nsliip is said to liave lieen so named l:)y Muron Perry, a 
noted sur\'e_\-or from Tennessee wlio chd considerable surveying here in 
an early day. Possil)!}' the name was suggested by a range of moun- 
tains in Tennessee whicli bears tliis appellation. 

Geography. — .\rea, 73 square miles, or 46.720 acres. Geographically. 
Chilhowee township is one of the southern border townships of the 
east, between the trilnitaries of Post Oak on the northeast and Rear 
creek and Big creek on the southwest. The Missouri Kansas & Texas 
railroad occupies the ridge of this watershed. 

Soils. — According to the United States Department of Agriculture's 
soil survey of 1914. the west two-thirds of the township is chiefly Sum- 
mit silt loam ("black limestone" soil). fli\'ided by strips of Bates silt 
loam, chiefly along the streams. The east one-third is Boone silt loam 
("sandy" soil), irregular strips of Osage silt loam (bottom land) along 
the creeks and Bates silt loam (dark gray-brown, porous soil). Over 
the whole township are patches of a square mile and less of Crawford 
silt loam ("red limestone" soil), Pettis silt loam ("mulatto" soil) and Os- 
wego silt loam ("gray" soiH. 

These soils, in detail, are found as follow: 

Summit silt loam, upland, 50 per cent, of township: lies chiefly 
in west two-thirds of township. 

Boone silt loam, upland, 20 per cent.: lies in ea^^t third, imme- 
diately adjoining Post Oak bottom in an area three-quarters to two 
miles wide. 

Bates silt loam, upland, 13 per cent.: in strips and patches over the 



240 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

whole township, chiefly at the headwaters of West Fork of Post Oak 
and Big creek tributaries. 

Crawford siU loam, upland, 5 per cent. ; al)Out one square mile in 
southwest corner, and two somewhat smaller patches, one two miles 
north of Chilhowee town and one one mile east of town. 

Oswego silt loam, upland, 2 per cent.; composes the town of Chil- 
howee and runs about one mile southeast, and forms a patch of about 
one square mile on M., K. & T. railroad about one mile south and 
three-quarters mile east of the northwest corner of the tow^nship. 

Osage silt loam, ordinary bottom soil, 5 per cent. ; chiefly along 
Post Oak creek. 

Miscellaneous soils, 3 per cent. ; patches of Pettis silt loam, Boone 
fine sandy loam, Boone gravelly loam, Chariton silt loam. Summit 
silty clay loam. 

Of the foregoing. Summit silt loam and Crawford silt loam are ranked 
in the best three common upland soils of the count}-, with Bates silt 
loam next; the Oswego silt loam is thinner and less porous; the Boone 
silt loam comprises the common soils of sandstone origin; the Osage 
silt loam is the best bottom soil. 

Por further details of soils, refer to the chapters on Agriculture and 
Soils. 

Indian Mounds. — The ancient mound Iniilders left evidence of their 
prehistoric industry in this section of the county. On section 28, town- 
sliip 44, and range 27 on a hillside are some ancient earthworks and 
near this place ha\'e been found numerous arrow lieads and a few stone 
axes. 

Early Settlements. — The first settlement that was made in what is 
now Chilhowee township was probably in 1829. Tt appears that James 
Hogard and William Norris came that year and other settlers located 
here as follow: James Arnold, in 1830: I'inis and John h'oster. from 
Kentucky, came in 1832: George D. and Howard A. \\'right. from 
Howard count}-, Missouri, canie in 1832. .\nderson Masters, from Ten- 
nessee; Thomas Cull and sons, James and Thomas }., from Iventuck\-: 
John Pelle, from Kentucky: Janies Conaway, from Tennessee, and 
George N. and Samuel H. Douglas, from Howard county, Missouri, 
all settled here in 1832. 

William Norris settled here near tlie \\'alnut Grove cemetery or Car- 
penter graveyard, on what was later known as Norris h\)rk. in 1829. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 24 1 

Tliis was before tlie land was sur\e_\eil 1)_\' the government. He had 
two daughters. There were In(hans liere when the Xorris family came 
and one of the few Indian depradations committed here was (Hrected 
against the Xorris family. One day while Mr. Xorris and his two girls 
were absent from their cabin and Mrs. Xe.irris was there alone she 
was captured by the Indians and tied on a pony and hurried out of the 
neighborhood. A company of white men immediately gathered and 
pursued the Indians. About the time the rescuing party were approach- 
ing the Indians who held Mrs. Xorris captive, she succeeded in escaj)- 
ing. as did the Indians also. 

\\'illiam Xorris built the first grist mill, which is said to have 
been the first one in the county and pioneers came from over forty 
miles to ha\'e their grain ground here. They would frequently bring" 
their guns and hunt and tisli for a few days while the tedious process 
of grinding went on. After operating the mill for a time Mr. Xorris 
sold it to Marshall and Adam Clark. It was a horse-power mill and 
they received six hundred dollars for it. In 1S37 Wilson D. Carpenter 
became the owner of this mill. 

George \A'are came from .\lal)ama in 1836, and James Douglas, 
of Tennessee, a Missouri pioneer who settled in this state in 1816, 
came froin Howard county in 1834. Thompson Chamberlain, from 
Tennessee, came here in 1S3.T. William Johnson, a native of Bedford 
county, Tennessee, settled in this locality in 1840. Samuel Brown, a 
native of Tennessee, was also an early settler in this vicinity. Wilson 
D. Carpenter, who was prominent among the pioneers here, was a 
Virginian and came here in 1837. He was a veteran of the War of 
1812 and was a pioneer schoolmaster in Iventucky. 

T. X. Carpenter was quite a noted hunter and trapper in the 
early days, although that was not his profession, and for a number 
of years he had in his possession an old wolf trap which was an inter- 
esting relic of pioneer days. Jester Cocke is said to have been the 
greatest hunter of the pioneer days in this section. 

The first marriage in the township was performed in 1831 when 
a j\Ir. Fletcher and Miss Hogard were united in marriage at the home 
of her father, James Hogard. Rev. Robert D. King performed the 
ceremony, the witnesses were William D. King and Elizabeth Gillum. 

Samuel B. Brown was the first white child born in the township. 



242 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Early Physicians. — An early physician to settle in this section of 
the county was Dr. R. Z. R. Wall. He was born in Rockingham county, 
North Carolina, March 29, 1810. He graduated from the University 
of North Carolina in 1829 and received his degree from the medical 
department of the University of Pennsylvania' in 1834. His practice 
covered a large scope of country throughout soutliern Johnson county 
and northern Henry county in the early days. He reared a large family 
and spent the latter part of his life in retirement. 

Dr. Joseph Cusick was the first physician and also tlie first school 
teaciier in tlie township. Dr. Thomas Jones practiced here as early 
as 1840 and later went to Te.xas. where he died. Other physicians 
who practiced here in the early days were Doctors J. B. Young. J. R. 
Howerton, J. G. Turk, L. M. Horn, W. J. Workman, T. J. Wright, 
R. Mann and Doctors Duncan and Morris. 

Early Churches. — The first religious meeting known to be held 
in this township was at the residence of Thomas Cull by a Methodist 
minister in 1836. The first church built in the township was by the 
Cumlierland Presbyterian denomination in 1858 and known as Pisgali 
church. Camp meetings were held in this townshij:) as early as 1841. 
CJreat preparations were made for these amuial affairs. Siieds were 
l)uilt tliat were capable of affording shelter to tliousands of people who 
came from great distances. Tlie Reverends J. ?>. and Robert R. Mor- 
row and Calib Davis were prominent re\ivalists in earl\- da\'s who 
conducted these camp meetings for a numlier of vears. For a number 
of years the Methodist Episcopal Church. South, Cumberland Presby- 
terians and Metliodists owned what was known as the Chilhowee 
Union Chapel. 

The Methodist f''])iscopal Church. South, was organized here in 
1844. The following are some of the early meml^ers of tliis denomina- 
tion: Jolm I. Culley, John ^\■rigllt. Thomas Cull. Douglas \\'right, 
George Hackiey, William. B. L'arpenter. John Wilson and their fami- 
lies. 

.Among the early-day circuit riders who pre;iched Iiere were T. M. 
Cobl), W. L. King, T. P. Cobb, J. B. H. Woohlridge, W. M. Pitts. 
Thomas Wallace, J. W. Bond, B. Margeson, J. D. ^\■ood and W. S. 
\\'oodard and Re\'. Hadlcy. Otlier Methodist I'.piscopal nn'nislers who 
have preached here were J. Jones, J. IT. Gillespie, J. S. Porter, G. W. 
Houts, A. Anderson and B. F. Januarv. 



HISTORY OF JOIINSOX COUiNTY -'43 

The Protestant Methodist orsanizatitm was organizctl htMc \)v\uv 
to the Civil W'av. 

Second Liliert\- Baptist cliurch was (irganized by W'iUiani Owsley 
in 1849 and some of the early preachers of this denomination here were 
William Owsley, F. M. West. Israel Tompkins. A. M. Cockrell. L. M. 
Horn and Henry Barton. The Pisgah Cumberland Presbyterian church 
was also an early-day organization in this townshii) and was located 
on section 36. 

Cemeteries. — Walnut Cjrove or Carjienter's cemetery, located in sec- 
tion 27. is probahl}- the oldest cemetery in the township. Isaac M. 
Carpenter was the first to be buried here. Chilhowee cemetery is 
located in section 24 just south of old Chilhowee. Hosea Youno- donated 
this ground for free burial purposes in his will. The first to be buried 
here was Mrs. Sallie J. Young;. March 5, 1868. There are some other 
cemeteries in the township, of which little or nothing is known of their 
history. 

Early Schools. — Chilhowee townsliip had its pioneer schools sliortly 
after the first permanent settlement was made. Joseph Cusick. Richard 
Anderson, Abraham Stout. James Blackburn, Mr. Graham and .Mr. 
^^']^ite were among the pioneer teachers. 

Official Records, Statistics. — The justices of the peace of Chilhowee 
township, as far back as the records go. with the dates of their election 
are: 

Justices — 1870. James .\. Bridges. Francis .\. Shoemaker: 1878, 
James .\. Bridges, J. B. Morrow: 1882. J. B. Rosecrans. C. .\. Crum- 
baugh: 1886. J. B. Rosecrans. \\illiam Spohr; 1890. J. \\'. Culley, G. 
R. Hindman:"l892. J. \W Culley. C. C. McCown : 1894. J. W. Culley: 
1898. Charles Kraus. W. R. Friday: IWO. C. C. McCown: 1902. C. A. 
Crumbaugh, J. A. Adcock: 1906. J. C. Murphy: 1908. F. M. Ross: 1910, 
R. D. Hussey. George G. Valentine: 1914. R. D. Hussey. 

County Officers — The following are all the county officers who 
have been elected from the townshiii. since 1882. with the dates of 
their election : 

1882-1884, David M. Raker (Democrat), sherift'. 

1894. George R. Hindnian (Democrat), county judge. 

1900-1902. Dr. R. L. Bills (Democrat), coroner. 

1912. Daniel L. Dav (Democrat), countv judge. 



244 TIISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Population. — Population of Chiliiowee township, by United States 
Census, was: 

White. Colored. Total 1880 1890 1900 1910 

Populatinn__ 1,.U0 22 1.362 1,71.=^ 1.641 1,846 1.964 

Personal Property, Early Products. — Agricultural and personal prop- 
erty statistics, for Chiliiowee township, as given by Missouri state 
i'eports for 1877, and Johnson county assessors" lists for 1896 and 1916 
are: 

1877 1877 

AAheat, bushels 17.917 Horses 963 

Corn, l)ushels 370,620 Mules 209 

Oats, bushels 6.890 Cattle 2.613 

Rye none Sheep -- 1.286 

Barley none Hogs 4,043 

IVilaacco, pounds 21,585 Asses none 

A\'ool, pounds 3.872 

Hay, tons 863 

Molasses, gallons 3.134 • 

Wine, gallons 3 



1896 


1916 


1,139 


1,298 


296 


640 


1,527 


3,014 


27S 


525 


3,817 


4,988 


1 


12 





1881 


1896 


1916 


Xotes and monev . 


$ 51.858 


.$ 46,005 


.SI 02.905 


Bank stock 






23.056 


Other personaltv- 


65,619 


32.729 


51.995 


Al! personalty 


202,502 


149.160 


241.696 



Road Improvements. — County road impnueuicints made 1)y tiie 
township, since this system was estaldished in 1911, were up to January 
1. 1918. twenty-two in nuiubcr and aggregated $1,271. furnisheil l\v 
citizens of the townsliip and $1,175 b_\- the count)-. In tlie amount of 
this work, Chillunvee ranks fourth among the townships of tlie county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organiza- 
tions of every kind in Chiliiowee townshi]-). I'ull details of each organi- 
zation are in this ])ook in sejiarate clia])ters on the different organiza- 
tions : 

Churches — (In Cliilhowee town) — Baptist. Cliristian, Cumlieriand 
Presbyterian, Methodist, Metliodist South. Protestant Metliodist. 

Churchesi — (In country)' — P>ai)tisl ("Pleasant \' alley"). Cumlier- 
iand Presl)yterian ("Pisgah"). Presl)yterian ( Xew Liberty). 



HISTORY OF JOllXSOX COUNTY 245 

Churches — i In Alag-nolia ) — P.aimVt. Metliodist. 

1917 War Organizations — Reil Cross. Chilhowee Branch, Denton 
Branch. MagnoHa Branch. 

Fraternal Organizations — Masons ( Bhie Lodge), luistern Star. 
Ahidern Woodmen. Royal NeighlMirs. 

Business — Bank of Chilhowee. I'\armers Bank of Chilhowee. Bank 
of Magnolia. Chilhowee Mntnal Telephone Company. 

Miscellaneous — ^^'omen's Christian Temperance Union. United 
Danghters of the Confederac}-. Ilomemakers Clul). Locust (iro\-e. 

Total number of organizations in township is twent_\--li\e. The 
township contains a good town. Chilhowee, and two \illages. Magnolia 
and Denton. 

Organizations, Families. — Much township history is that of organi- 
zations and families, and is found in this book under those headings. 
Organizations and families are fu]l\- indexed by names and townships. 

CHILHOWEE. 

Chilhowee Village. ( By William Sweeney. ) The village of Chil- 
howee was an accident. .\ man named James Simpson had bought a 
small frame house from a William Johnson and undertook to mo\-e it to 
a claim that he intended to "enter.'" It was placed upon ox wagons ancT 
was moved to the spot where the old town now is when something broke 
down and the house was then unloaded and Mr. Simpson put in a small 
stock of goods, and it was then called Simpson's store. This was about 
1855 or 1^856. 

Mr. Simpson's brother-in-law. Sanniel McFarland. joined him soon 
and each built residences. They were succeeded by "Uncle Jim" Mor- 
row, .about 1858. 

.\bout that time the place was surveyed by the county surveyor. 
A. M. Perrv, and he being from Tennessee named it Chilhowee. a Cher- 
okee name for the Tennessee, or "Smoky ^Mountains." .After the war 
several different men "kept store": J. \A'. A\'right, J. M. Fulton, Bennie 
Moore. J. W. Cullev. J. R. Johnson and more notable perhaps, J. .\. 
Young. 

AA'hen the Alissouri. Kansas &- Texas railroad was Imilt about one 
and one-half miles south, several of the houses were moved to the new 
town site and the old town became a relic only. 

Chilhowee Town. — The present new town of Chilhowee is one of the 



246 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

tliriving towns of the county on the Rock Ishtnd & Pacific railroad, and 
on the Missouri. Kansas & Texas raih-oad. It was founded in 1895, 
wdien the Missouri. Kansas & Texas railroad was built through this 
section and the town plat was recorded Xo\'emher 4, 1895. and is 
described as land owned by Enoch Barnum in section 24, township 44. 
range 27. 

Chilhowee has had a substantial growth since it started. There 
are now two banks, electric light plant with twenty-four hours" service, 
newspaper, and four churches, one being a union church of two denomi- 
nations, a high school and all branches of mercantile industries are 
well represented. The ])opulation by the 1910 census was four hundred 
twenty-five. 

It was incorporated Feliruary 9, 1907. 

The following is a list of the town officers: 

Chairmen.— 1907. R. F. Salmon, J .E. Cahill : 1908-09. \\'. L. Martin; 
1910. William P. Hunt: 1911. J. M. Books: 1912-14. David Arnott ; 
1915. William l-.nglish : 1916. S. Ray Sweeney: 1917. L. N. Russell. 

Trustees.— 1907. G. A. Estes, S. B. Anderson. C. H. Gaines. J. E. 
Cahill: 1907, G. A. Estes, S. B. Anderson. C. H. Gaines. R. F, Salmon; 

1908. W. E. Jerome. Dennis Day, R. J. Cowden. W. H. Hogemeyer; 

1909. A. P. Franse. Dennis Day. J. L. Wright. D, X. Vount : 1910. Harry 
Gilbert. William Dunn. Ora Moore. J. C. Culley: 1911. George F. Tay- 
lor, E. C. Brown. S. Ray Sweeney, D. E. Snodgrass: 1912. J- ^I- Brooks, 
S. S. Shoemaker. S. Ray Sweeney, M. J. Ream; 1913. J. M. Moore. S. 
S. Shoemaker. S. R. Sweeney. C. R. Stephens; 1914. P. W. Howard, 
William English, S. Ray Sweeney, C. R. Stephens: 1915. P. W. Howard, 
A. E. Conwell S. Ray Sweeney. C. R. Stephens; 1916. L. Davis A. E. 
Conwell. C. H. Gaines. O. L. Dunham; 1917. L. Davis. W. W. Garvey, 
J. S. Strawsburg, A. M. Bills: 1918. (). L. Dunham. W. W. Garvey; 
J. S. Strawsburg. I. S. Dobson. 

Clerk and Collector.— 1907-17. M. J. Ream. 

Treasurers.- 1907-15, R. E. Sweeney; 1916-17. William English. 

Marshals.— 1907. D. E. Snodgrass. E. C. Brnwn : 1908. F.. C. Brown; 
1910-11. Jim Sheitnn; 1912. Bob Loveall ; 1916. A. M. Bills. 1917. Fred 
Landis. 

Street Commissioners. — 1907. D. F.. Snorlgrass. F. C. Brown; 1908, 



HISTORY OF J01I.\?(TX COUXTY 2-|7 

E. C. Brown: 1910. J. C. Cullev: I'M 1-12, D. E. Snodgrass; 1916-17, 
A. yi. Bills. 

Assessor. — 1907, William \'alentine. 

Attorney. — 1907. C. A. Cruinhau,Qh. 

MAGNOLIA AND DENTON. 

Magnolia. — Magnolia is on the Missouri. Kansas & Texas railroad, 
ten miles southeast of Holden. It was laid out May 9, 1896, about the 
time that the railroad was being constructed. W. H. Hogemever was 
the owner of the land upon which the tnwn was platted. It has a bank, 
lumber }'ard, two churches, high school, pinsician and general stores. 

Denton, a station on the Rock Island, is also located in Chilhowee 
township. It was platted June 27. 1905. by Henry Phillips, when the 
railroad was constructed through there. It is located in the western 
part of the township in section 7. It has church, good stores, etc., and 
several residences. 



CHAPTER XXII.— GROVER TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATION, ORGANIZATION. DESCRIPTION— ESTABhlSHMKNT (M'' PRESENT BOUND- 
ARIES — NAMING — GEOGRAPHY — SOILS — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — EARLY 
PHYSICIANS— POSTOFFICE AND POSTMASTERS— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY' 
CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— TEACHERS— OFFICIAL RECORDS— STATIS- 
TICS, JUSTICES— PERSONAL PROPERTY, PRODUCTS— ROAD IMPROVEMENTS 
— POPULATION— ORGANIZATIONS. 

Grover township, whicli occupies the nortlieastern corner of the 
county, was originally a part of Washington township, and at its organi- 
zation, February 9, 1869, included tlie territory which is now Simpson 
township and the northern point of what later became Montserrat 
township. The present boundaries were estalilished January 23i, 1875, 
It was named for Col. Ben. W. Grover. a prominent and able citizen 
of the county of the period before the Civil War. 

Geography. — Area, 48 scpiare miles, or 30.720 acres. Geographically. 
Grover township is divided 1j_\- two streams which make a "T." Black- 
water running east and west at the top and Walnut creek running north 
from the south part of the township into Blackwater. 

Soils. — According to the United States Department of Agriculture's 
Soil Survey of 1914. the townshi]) is chiefly made up as follows: The 
Iwttom lands along the creeks are joined bv a one-eighth to a mile wide 
strip of Boone silt loam ("sandy" soil) on each side and next to that is 
the Summit silt loam ("black limestone" soil), constituting most of 
the upland, while in the northeast corner of the township is a body of 
three or four square miles of Chariton silt loam, or second bottom soil. 

These soils in detail are as follow: 

Summit silt loam, upland. This lies all oxer the township and next 
to the lighter soil adjoining the bottom : about 30 (ler cent, of the 
township. 

Boone silt loam, upland, about 20 per cent. This lies next to the 
bottom land, also occupies an area of about four s(|uare miles in, the 
nortliwest part of the township, and also another of .about three scpiarc 
miles. l)egimiing about one mile west of Dunksburg and running south 
about three miles with a width of aliout one mile. 



lottnm. 


Ml ,,er 


cent. This lies in strips 


e alnng- 


r.hickx 


ater and one-qnarter to 


creek. 






lit <\\t 1< 


am is I 


anked as one of the hest 


the V.-AlL 


s silt 1 


>ani next. The Chariton 


iKuints i 


1 the e 


mnty that it appears not 


)il siir\e 


y. A|) 


])arently, however, from 


ked will 


or al.c 


ve the Summit silt hiam. 


chapters 


in tliis 


hook on .\gricnlture and 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 249 

Chariton silt loam, second hottum. 1(1 per cent. This lies on the 
north side of Blackwater in the northeast corner of the count\- and is 
the largest area of this second hottum soil in the county. 

Bates silt loam, dark gray-brown soil, 10 per cent. This lies scat- 
tered over the south two-fifths of the township. 

Osage silt loam. ordinar\- 1 
of one-eighth to two miles wi(' 
half a mile wide along ^^'alnut 

Of the foregoing, the Sumii 
upland soils in the count}-, with 
silt loam occurs in such small ai 
to have been ranked by the ^( 
the descriptive matter it was rar 

For further soil details see ' 
Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The ]iermanent settlement of this section of 
Johnson county began about 1830. although there were a few here jirior 
to that time. John Leeper, A\'illiam Cheek and A\illiam Marsh.aU came 
here between 1828 and 1830. A\'illiam Marshall settled here in 1830 and 
it is probable that John Leeper came here in 1828, although if he did so he 
did not make permanent settlement that year. He was a hunter and liad 
a cabin on AA'alnut creek probablv as earl\- as 1828, but did not make 
his home here until a A-ear or so later. 

AA'illiam Thornton, a nati\e of \'irginia, came here in 1830 and 
Thomas Marshall, also a A'irginian. settletl here in 1832. Charles 
Thornton and his son-in-law, Larkin llocker, settled in this township 
in 1835. They brought slaves with them and were well to do. 

Charles M. Oglesbv came here from Kentucky in 1834. His native 
state was A'irginia, where he was born. .August 17, 1801. He died here 
September 23. 1861. and was one of the respected pioneers of C,ro\-er 
townslii]i. Charles 'SI. Oglesln-'s niotlier-in-law, Mrs. Jane Gilbert, came 
here with Mr. Oglesb^'s famil\- ;ind was one of the luinored 'lioneer 
women of this section. She died in 1836. Talton A\'. Oglesl>_\- came 
here in 1834 and entered laml. 

AA'illiam Gillum came aliout 1834. 

Jacob Cox located in what is now 6;i-o\er township in ]\larch. 1833. 
He was a A'irginian and came here from Cooper county, to which place 
he had moved in 1831. He was man-ied liere Januarv 13. 184.^. to 



250 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Melimla Senior. He was a blacksmith and Ijrought a blacksmithing 
oiufit with him and opened a shop here which is said to have been the 
first hiacksniith shop within a radius of fifty miles. At that time Salt 
Fork in Saline county was the nearest grist mill. This was forty miles 
distant. 

James Rothwell came here in the fall of 1839. He was a Virginian 
and si)ent the remainder of his life here where he was a useful citizen 
and became very well to do. Another pioneer who came here among 
the first was a Mr. Lewis, who came from Saline county in 1829. He 
entered land from the government but his wife soon afterward became 
dissatisfied with tlie country of ho\\ling woh'es, deer and Indians, and 
the\' sold their farm to William Cheek, taking in exchange for it a 
cow. 

Early Physicians. — Dr. Grandison Thornton, son of Charles Thorn- 
ton, was perhaps the first physician in tliis section. He also kept a 
small drug store at an early day. He left here during the Civil War 
and died near Fort Scott, Kansas, while on his way to the southern 
part of Missouri. 

Dr. B. F. Dunkley settled here in 1846 and is nund^ered among the 
early-day physicians. His practice extended over a large scope of 
sparsely settled country at a time when travel was difticult, there being- 
no roads. He frequently drove an entire day to visit a single patient 
and make the return trip. Speaking of his practice and the condition 
of the countr\- in the early days. Doctor Dunkley is quoted as saying: 
"I found malarial fe\'er very prex'alent, from the simplest chill to the 
most violent congestive forms of fever. As the country settled up. 
malarial fever became milder. I used to keep two good horses, fat 
and in trim, for the malarial season, which generally began with August 
and lasted through September and (October. I would ride to see m\- 
patients on one side, of the creek one day and visit those on the other 
side the next dav." Doctor Dunkley was a capable physician, a good 
citizen, and became very well to do. 

The first wagon road laid out in the township was from Knob 
Noster to Kirkpatrick's mill in 1852. 

Postoffice. — The first postoftnce was 
county line and part of the time was kcjn 
was known as I'ee Branch, named from a li 
min Prigmore was the first postiiiaster. 



hlishe 


d near 


the Pc 


?ttis 


he ad 


joining 


count}-. 


Tt 


creek 


nearin' 


and Be 


nja- 


? first 


postal 


route. 


was 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY _'3 1 

secured tlirough tlie inHuence of Dr. 1!. !•'. Dunklew from ( iLMirocli 'w n 
to Lexington. In 1858 tlie postofticc was chang-ed to Dunkshurg, lau-r 
it was clianged to Siegel. Howexer. that name never liecame jtopular 
and it was known as Dunkshurg. 

Dr. B. F. Dunkley was the second i)t)stmaster, and other early 
postmasters were L. S. Taylor, John Carmach. Joseph liohhitt and 
James Bobbitt. 

Dunkshurg is the only \illage in (inixer township. It is located 
on the Pettis county line on section 1. Doctor l)unklc\- o]>cucd a store 
here in 1858 and the \illage was named for him. 

Early Churches. — Like other sections of Johnson couutv, the cause 
of religion was gi\en earl_\' attention in the pioneer days. 

Alount Zion Church of Christ was the first religious society estab- 
lished in the township. It was organized May 31. 1840. with the fi>l- 
lowing members; Charles Thornton, (Jeorge I'hornton. James W. Jones.* 
Grandison Thornton. Larkin Ilocker, Mary Thornton, Martha C Thorn- 
ton. Amanda W. Huff, Eliza Jane Ilocker. Theodocia Thornton, Xancy 
L. Thornton. Luc}- B. Fu,gua. .Ann luistham. .Sarah l'".asthani. Xancy 
\'igus. Margaret Jones and Rlizabeth Telilts. Colored uKMuber^ of this 
organization were: Charles Thornton's .\ndrew Shepherd and James 
W. Jones' Joseph. The clun-ch was organized at the residence of L. 
Hocker aiul for sex'eral years services were held in private residences 
and in the gro\'es. Thomas Midkey was the first pastor and he \isited 
the congregation monthl}-. The first church which this congregation 
erected was a log structure eighteen by twenty feet. As early as 1845, 
this church had a membership of one hundred, .\bout 1850, the old log 
church became dilapidated and a suitalile fi'.ame l)uildiiig was erected. 
This building was replaced in 1859 b> a more commodious structure. 
Among some of the early pastors of this denomination, who fdled the 
pulpit here were. Thomas Mulkey. Dr. Thomas McBride. Duke Voung, 
Elder Price. Allen Wright, Thomas Hancock, J.ames Randrdl. Joseph 
Wright, C. A. Hedrick. B. C. Stephens and Sanuiel McDauiel. 

Calvary Methodist Episcoi>al church m Dunkshurg was liudl in the 
fall of 1873 and was dedicated bv J. K. Tuttle. Rev. T. S. i'.enfield 
organized the church with the following meml)ership: John Current, 
Martha Current, S. A. Current, .\nnie A. Current, .\lbert (/urrent, .\. 
L. Porter. J. S. Porter. Ruth Porter. S. P. Porter, Nannie IC Porter. 
Lou E. Carter. Lewis Ilavworth. l-.lizal.eth Hayworth. J. P. Hughes, 



2^2 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Mollie Hughes, Mattie Hughes, William Hughes, Xoah Briles, ]\Iary 
Briles, Martha Briles, Ann Lear, Mary Lear. Rol^ert Lear, W. ^^■. Sit- 
ton, Jane Sitton, Philip ^^'heeler, Frances Wheeler, Sarah \\'heeler, 
Riley Wheeler, James Taylor, L. T. Current, Sallie Current, Delia Cur- 
rent and A. M. Current. In 1874 a Sunday school was organized at 
Calvary church with Lewis Hayworth, superintendent. Among the 
early pastors who ser\'ed this church were: T. S. Benfield. J. S. Porter, 
J. M. Kelly, S. Jones, J. C. W. "Jones and S. Ing. 

Union Chapel, Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1870 
by Rev. Stanford Ing. The church was Iniilt in 1876 and dedicated four 
years later by Rev. J. N. Pierce. Among the early pastors here were 
Stanford Lig. P. S. Benefield, J. S. Porter, S. \\\ Jones, C. J. W. Jones 
and the first members were A. Fisher, ^Lartha h^isher, D. T. Fisher, 
Polly .A. Fisher, Nathan Fisher, Elizabeth l<"isher. John Maddox. Mahala 
Maddo.x. H. Brant and Lydia Brant. 

The Cierman Baptist or Dunkard church was located on section 
32. a large brick structure. 

Early Cemeteries. — There are mnnerous cemeteries in Grover 
township. Tebbs" cemetery is located in tlie western part of the town- 
ship. John M. Tebbs was the first to lie buried here. ALarch 4. 1848 
Hocker cemetery is located on what was the old Hocker farm. The 
first person buried here was Harrison Hocker, May 1. 1840, and the 
second was Thomas Huff. Roljinson cemetery is located in the southern 
part of the township near W'alnut creek and is located on an eminence 
or knoll. Joseph Robinson selected this spot for a liurial ground and his 
remains were laid to rest here in 1839. "Old Dick," a colored slave 
\vho lived to be a hundred years old, also sleeps beneath the stars here. 

Oglesby cemetery is a small burial ground and the gra\es herein 
are mostl_\- those of the family whose name the cemeterv liears. Swope 
cemetery is another small burying ground. Marshall cemetery is located 
east of Walnut creek. There are several graves here, the first one being 
that of Mrs. William Cheek, who was buried about 1840. 

Mount Zion cemetery, whicli w.-i-- l.iid out in close proximitv to 
Mount Zion churcli, was used mostl\- for members of that denomination. 
The cemetery was opened coincident with the building of the church. 
A\'ampler cemetery was cpiite a large burying ground and is located in 
tlie western ])art of the township. The cliild of Isa;ic McCoa' was the 
first to be buried here. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COfN I'Y 253 

Payne cemetery bears the name Lit tlie original owner of tlie land 
where it is located. Miss Martha Grice was the first to be interred here 
in 1857. The Rothwell cemetery is a family bnrying ground located on 
section 10. The infant son of j. C. Rntlnvell was the first to be buried 
here in 1854. 

Early Schools. — The early schools of Clrover township were not 
unlike other pioneer settlements, the fir^t schools were of the "sub- 
scription" type. Highland school was the first to be built. The l.)uild- 
ing was a little log hut which stood on an elevation. Later, another 
log cabin was built in the western part of the township. Then a school 
house was built on Blackwater which was known as the Lowland school. 
Other school districts were organized and sciiool Iniildings of a better 
type were erected from time to time, ami kejn pace with the general 
de\-elopment of education. 

Teachers. — Early teachers were poorly paid, although many of 
them possessed qualifications far beyond the measure "of pay which they 
recei\'ed. Among the early teachers were, Mary W'ingfield, Mary .\. 
Ferrell, Jesse Trapp, Frank Payne, A. B. Harrison, L. Delihonte, George 
Furs, Andrew Ramsey, Lucy l\ate. Rev. M. Scruggs, Doc Moore, A. 
Featherman, J. Rogers, ]\Iiss L. D. Mull. Thomas Jones, X. Lowrey 
\\illiam Bothwell, J. Sparrowhawk, L. Hocker, Jr., J. P. Walker, R. W. 
Wade, Mary Hocker, J. F. Robinson, Joe Wheeler, J. C. Wheeler, H. 
F. Triplett, Jennie Stringfield, R. S. Tyler, L. D. Wilson, .\manda 
Wheeler, Thomas J. Wheeler, Mrs. E. D. McCormack, James W. Selby. 
J. Buckmaster, D. Burch, W. 11. James, David Goode, F. Martin, G. 
W. Couch, two terms: A. J. Sparks, S. X. Wheeler, Dolly Stringfield, 
Tennv Leake, W. S. Wlieeler, Alice Langston. W. L. Nelson, Henry 
Park, Joseph Terrington, IMiss ?^Iercer, Mrs. Lesh, W. L. Dixon, 
C. M. McGirk, Mary Budd, I. F. Tanner, Miss Josie Shryack, T. P. Reid, 
J. W. Branch, William Ploger, T. J. Wheeler, S. Flory, Erastus Porter. 
Mrs. S. Bobbitt, J. R. Wade, R. A. S. Wade, William Park, Henry Park, 
]Miss McFarland, R. Ward, E. Ross, W. Bobbitt, Mrs. Sislef, and Miss 
Julia Lutz. 

Official Records, Statistics, Justices. — The justices of the ])eace of 
Grover township, as far l)ack as the records go. with the dates of their 
election, are: 1870, Anthony Fisher: 1878, C. G. Oglesby, Johnson 
Wheeler: 1882, J. W. Rowlett, J. M. Harter: 1886, George Amick, G. 
W. Harter: 1890. John Dittmer. Xathan Fisher: 1894, John Dittmer, 



254 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

J. M. Kinnian; 189S, A\'. H. Petering, J. M. Kinnian : 1902, W. H. Peter- 
ing. J. M. Knn:ian: 1906, J. E. Foster, D. A. Borgstadt ; 1908, Fred W. 
Tebbencanip; 1910, P'red \\'. Tebbencamp, J. E. Foster: 1914. Fred \\'. 
Teljbencamp, J. E. Foster. 

Xo county officers were elected from this township since 1882. 

Personal Property, Products. — Agriculture and personal property 
statistics fur Grover township, as given In' ^lissouri State Reports for 
1877, and Johnson county assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916, are: 





1877 




Wheat, l)uslie]s 


50,548 


Hors( 


Corn, l)ushels 


223,680 


Mule; 


Oats, bushels 


9,263 


Catth 


Barlev, bushels 


none 


Slieei 


Rve. bushels 


____ 532 


Hogs 


Tobacco, pounds 


6,064 


Asses 


Wo<,l, ,,ounds 


2,621 




Hav, tons 


801 




Molasses, gallons 






Wine, gallons 


100 





1877 


1896 


1916 


669 


856 


720 


250 


333 


310 


1,365 


\.\77 


1,579 


1,050 


482 


134 


3,433 


2,(,43 


2,060 


. none 


IIK' 


5 



1896 1916 

Notes and money $27,180 $ 37,485 

Other personalty 13,607 18.965 ■ 

All personalty 95.180 132.015 

Road Improvements. — County road improvements made In- tlie 
)wnshii), since tliis system was established in 1911. were up to Janu- 
ry 1. 1918. twenty-four in number and aggregated $1,515. furnished 
y the citizens of tiie township, and $1,350 furnished 1n- the countv. In 
mount of this work Groxer ranks first among the townsliips of the 
i)unt\'. 



Population. — Po 


pulation of 


Grover t 


ownslii]!. 1 


iy United 


States 


Census, was: 












— 1870— 












Wliite. Colored. 


Total. 


1 880 


1890 


1900 


1910 


1 .204 29 


1,233 


1.188 


1 .026 


1.060 


1 .004 



Organizations. — Complete list of all organizations in the township. 
)etails of all these are in this book in chapters on the separate organi- 
'.ations. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 255 

Churches — Christian. Alt. Zimi; C'lnnlieiiand Presbyterian, Bethel: 
German Lutheran: German Lutheran, Dunkslniro-. 

Fraternal Organizations — .Modern Wniuhiien, Dunkslniro-: Ro\al 
Neighbors, Dunksburg. 

Miscellaneous — Farmers Glub: lldniemakers Club, Lepsidam. 

Total numl)er of organizatinns in tDwnship is eight. 

'Jdiere is one village, Dunksburg, in the township, and also a store 
at tlie German Lutheran church. 

See chapters on Organizations and l<"amilies for much township his- 
tory. 



CHAPTER XXIII.— ROSE HILL TOWNSHIP. 

LOCATION. ORGANIZATION, NAMING— GEOGRAPHY— SOILS— EARLY SETTLEMENTS 
— FIRST MILLS— FIRST ENTERPRISES— FIRST SETTLEMENT— FIRST POST- 
OFFICE — EARLY TOWNS — EARLY' CHURCHES — EARLY' CEMETERIES — 
EARLY SCHOOLS— JUSTICES-COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL 
PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS — COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS — ORGANIZA- 
TIONS. 

Rose Hill township, located in the southwestern corner of Johnson 
county, was originally a part of Madison township when that subdivision 
was organized in 1835 and subsequently was part of Chilhowee town- 
ship, and was organized August 17, 1869, from Chilhowee township. 
It was named from Rose Hill village, and the village is said to have 
been named from the abundance of wild roses that grew on the little 
hillsides of what came to be called Rose hill, and greeted the first set- 
tlers in the spring of 1832. In 1842 the town was laid out by Garrett 
J. Wood ami named Rose Hill. 

Geography. — Area, about 71 square miles, or 46,080 acres. Geo- 
graphically, Rose Hill township is intersected by Big creek running 
from the northwest corner to the southeast corner and by Bear creek, 
a tributary of Big creek, running south on the east side. 

Soils. — According to the Department of Agriculture's Soil Sur- 
vey of 1914, the bulk of the township is composed of a good body of 
"black limestone" soil (Summit silt loam), draining to these creeks, with 
some patches of a scpiare mile or more of "mulatto" soil (Pettis silt 
loam) and "red limestone" soil (Crawford silt loam) in the southwest 
half of the township. 

In detail, these soils are: 

Summit silt loam, upland, comprises about }\2y2 square miles or 
45 per cent, of the township, and is found in a large bodv between the 
two creeks and elsewhere in patches all over the township. 

Bates silt loam, upland, dark, gray-brown soil, about 7j4 
square miles or 10 per cent, of the township. This lies chiefiv in irregu- 
lar strips one-eighth to one-c|uarter mile wide immediateh- adjoining 
the Boone silt loam along Bear creek and Big creel<, north of Latour. 

Crawford silt loam, ui)land, aliout fi\-e square miles or 7 per cent. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 25/ 

This lies in irregular patches over the soutli three-fourths of the town- 
ship. The largest areas are of a1)out one square mile: one lies encircling 
old Rose Hill on the southwest and about one-quarter mile from it 
(one mile east of Latonr ) : the other lies about one mile east and one 
mile north of the southwest corner of the county. 

Boone silt loam, upland, sandy soil, aliout five stjuare miles or 7 
per cent. It lies in one-eighth to half a mile wide strips along most of 
Bear creek bottom and the bottom of tlie east branch of Big creek. 

Pettis silt loam, ui)land. about t^\•o square miles or 3 per cent. This 
lies in a patch about one mile wide and nearly three miles long, begin- 
ning about three-quarters of a mile east and one-eighth mile north of 
the southwest corner of the township, and extenrling east aliout two 
miles and thence northeast one mile. 

Osage silt loam, the common bottom soil, about nine and a quarter 
square miles or 13 per cent. This lies chiefly immediately along the 
two creeks. 

Osage silty clay loam, bottom soil, about five square miles: has 
less silt and sand and more clay than the Osage silt loam: lies lower, 
farther from the creek, and is not so well drained : 7 per cent. This lies 
chiefly in an irregular body about one mile wide and fi\-e miles long 
along the south side of the Frisco railroad beginning about one anfl a 
half miles northwest of Quick City and extending southeast. Another 
patch about half a mile wide extends from about a quarter of a mile 
east of Latour, south for about two miles. 

Osage clay, bottom soil, about three square miles or 4 per cent.; 
has less silt and sand and .still more clay than the Osage silty clay loam, 
lies lower and next to the upland. The chief body of this extends 
from the upland or second bottom to Big creek stream, is about one 
and a half miles long and lies immediately northwest and upstream from 
the main bodv' of the Osage silty clay loam, just before described north- 
west of Quick City. 

Chariton silt loam, second bottom, about three square miles or 
4 per cent. The chief body of this lies in an irregular strip, about 
one-quarter to half a mile wide just southwest of the Osage clay just 
described, and is about two miles long. Quick City is also on an irregu- 
lar shaped patch of this soil, and there are other small patches on Bear 
creek and Big creek. 

Of the foregoing soils, the Summit silt loam, Crawford silt loam 

(9) 



258 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

and Pettis silt loam, are ranked as the best three common upland 
soils in the county, with the Bates silt loam next. 

For further soil details, see chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — The first settlements made in what is now 
Rose Hill township were in 1832. There were two distinct settle- 
ments made in this vicinity at about the same time, one of which was 
known as the Rose Hill settlement and the other the Bear Creek settle- 
ment. 

The following is said to be a complete list of all the settlers before 
1850. Some names are doubtless misspelled: 

Among the early settlers here were Nicholas Turner, Col. Henry 
McCarty and sons, Hiram Helm, Jonas Turner. Daniel Quick, Mr. 
Brumfield, Chesley Quinlan, John, George and James Bradshaw, Wat- 
son Lynch, Obadiah, James and O. W. Strange, Frank and Richard 
Jackson, Aikin, William, Nicholas and John Doak, J. G. Cocke, George 
Burnett, Isaac A. Hanna, William Bigham, Samuel Reid, Arch. Beard, 
Richard Anderson, John S. Anderson. James Dolan, John Scaggs, Daniel 
Scaggs, and Joseph Scaggs, their father; Albert Hall, William Hill, 
Moses, William and Morris Hodges, John Hunt, Samuel Hunt, George 
Hammer, Ike Dunaway, James Ross, John Oldham, James Oldham. 
Henry Gray, Smith and William Phroffit, William Horner, Thomas 
Anderson, R. Scott, Judge Umstadt, Garrett J. Wood, Letch Brooks, 
Sidney and Leonard Scott, Daniel Fisher, Benjamin Derrit, Ike Hines, 
Squire Thompson, Berry Summers, Hansel Green, William Crattic, Jesse 
Dixon, Martin Foster, Perry Foster, James Cox. Squire John Baker, 
Peter and Wilson A. Campbell, Coleman F. Shamlin, John and Watson 
Ham, William Payne, Squire Ashby, George Gilliland, Sloan, Jones 
and Kavanaugh Gilliland, Berry Strange, Maj. William Wood, Alfred 
White, Benjamin McVey, Elder Abraham Stout, William T. Hulse, 
John and Martin Orr, Julius, David, James, Garrett and Wilson Daven- 
port, Z. Moore, Daniel Ramey, John Priestly, Marion, Hannah and 
John Bailey, Harry and Nat Baker, and Elijah Gates. In 1854, C. L. 
Farnsworth came from Tennessee, where he was born May 1, 1829. 
Henry Pemberton, a Virginian, came here in 1843. He had several 
sons, viz: Jerome B., L. W., William A., Thomas H. and John H. 
James Harris, from Tennessee, was also an early settler. 

First Mills. — The first mill within the present borders of what 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 259 

is now Rose Hill township, was owned by Enoch Fedit and located on 
Scaly Bark creek. This was a horse mill. Welcome Scott built the 
first water-power mill. This was located in the western part of the 
township. John Baker purchased thi^- mill from its owner in 184"A 
The mill stood near the old bridge which crossed Big creek about a 
mile west of old Rose Hill. The mill and the bridge were both burned 
by the militia in the Civil War. 

First Enterprises. — Arch H. Gilkerson operated a carding machine 
here at an early day and John Tygert kept a distillery and furnished 
the old settlers with their whiskey without the intervention of the 
middleman. James Bones was the first blacksmith in the vicinity. 

First Settlement. — The old town or Rose Hill, which was one of 
the first settlements in this section, was laid out by Garrett J. Wood, 
who was also one of the first business men in the place. The little town 
grew and prospered until the Civil War. Farmers came from a radius 
of many miles here to mill and also to do their shopping. After the war 
the Pacific railroad was built through Holden, and the rapid development 
of that new railroad town drew the trade from the southwestern part of 
the county and from Rose Hill. In 1881 there were only J. D. Plum, mer- 
hcant; Henry Fort, blacksmith, and J. A. Haller. physician. It is now the 
site of an excellent school and church, but no business buildings are 
there at all. 

First Postoffice. — The first postotTice within the present borders of 
Rose Hill township was established about 1840 under the ofiicial title of 
Big Creek. In 1860. the name was changed to Rose Hill and the first 
office was kept on Scaly Bark creek and Garrett J. Wood was the first 
postmaster. Other early-day postmasters were Henry F. Baker. N. 
Baker, E. R. Ashby, Dr. Charles Thornton, George Hodges, Lon Hunt, 
W. M. Shepherd, James O. George and Mrs. Etta Plum. 

Early Towns. — Rose Hill bears the distinction of having three rail- 
roads, the Missouri, Kansas & Texas; Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific; 
and the St. Louis & San Francisco railroad. The Missouri, Kansas & 
Texas was built across the northwestern corner of the township in 1872. 
The Rock Island, which was constructed under the name of the St. Louis, 
Kansas City & Colorado railroad, was built in 1905. It enters the town- 
ship on the eastern side and runs in a northwesterly direction and out of 
the township about a mile east of the northwestern corner. The St. 



26o HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Louis & San Francisco railroad enters the township near the south- 
eastern corner and runs in a northwesterly direction into Cass county 
about three miles south of the northwestern corner of the township. 
It was built in 1885. 

^^'hen the Missouri, Kansas & Texas road was built a little town 
was started on this line in section 35, in the northwestern part of the 
count}'. The town was named Benton City and the postof^ce was 
named AlcClurg in honor of ex-Governor McClurg. It had several 
stores, but in a few years was abandoned. 

When the Rock Island railroad was constructed, the town of Med- 
ford was established on this line on section 34, township 45, and range 
28. This town was platted by M. R. Snyder and the original plat 
recorded January 31, 1905. 

Latour, a prosperous \'illage on the St. Louis & San Francisco 
railroad, was laid out when that road was built in 1885. This town is 
located on section 3, township 44, range 29. The original site was 
owned by Howard and Emily Stitt and the town plat was recorded 
July 21, 1885. Latour is a prosperous village with one bank, good 
school, church and several stores. 

Quick City, another station on the St. Louis & San Francisco 
railroad, located about a mile from the Henry county line, south of 
the center of the township, was platted by Morris Quick, from whou'i 
it takes its name and the plat was recorded February 3, 1886. It has 
a postofifice, store, school house, two churches and several residences. 

Early Churches. — The early settlers of this section of the county 
took a keen interest in the cause of religion and soon several denomi- 
nations were firmly established. Services at first were held in the 
residences of the pioneers. The Methodists were probably the first to 
have services in this township, which were attended by the early-day 
circuit riders. The Cumberland Presbyterians, Baptists and Christians 
were- also established in this section at an early date. Camp meetings 
were held at an early day on Bear creek near where the church was 
later built. This building was owned jointly by the Cumberland Pres- 
byterians, Baptists, Methodist Episcopal and Christian churches. It 
was a log structure and existed until the time of the Civil \\'ar. Earlv- 
day services were held at the home of Isaac Hanna. Scaly Bark school 
house was used for church services until 1840. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 2DI 

Among the early ministers here were Revs. Daniel Capell, William 
Horn, .Mr. Parker. A. H. Stout, A. A. Aloore, David Hogan. A. \'an 
Ausdol, B. F. Thomas. J. B. Morrow, J. Whitsett, Rev. Hulse. John 
Marr, Thomas Johnson. Robert King, Frank Moore. Mv. Wallace. Mr. 
Leaper and Air. Burgess. 

The Bear Creek Methodist Episcopal Church, South, was organ- 
ized in 1837, at the residence of 01)adiah Strange, with the following 
list of members: Sarah Strange, W. Strange, E. C. Strange, Mary 
Strange, Polly Strange, xMrs. D. F. Profitt. Sarah Profitt, Mr. and Mrs. 
Homer. Services were later held at Union Bear Creek church. Judge 

A. G. Beard, James Strange. Mahala Strange. A. A. Doak. Alary Doak, 
George Barnett, Alar}- F. Barnett. George Strange and Winnie Strange 
were also prominent among the early members. 

Bear Creek Cumberland Presbyterian church worshipped at the 
Union church and was organized at an early day. J. G. Atkins, J. G. 
Cocke and S. \'. Turner and family were early members of this denomi- 
nation. Rev. David Hogan, one of the pioneer ministers of this denomi- 
nation, is said to have preached one year for two dollars and fifty cents 
and to have ridden ten miles to his appointments. 

Bear Creek Christian church was a reorganization of old Lost Creek 
congreg"ation, which was effected in 1860. Among the ]irominent and 
active members of this denomination were Samuel I^eid, .Vljraham Stout, 

B. F. Smith, Richard Anderson, John Graves and Judge C^mstadt. 

The Bear Creek Baptists had an organization in this township 
prior to the war but they later became identified with the organization 
of that denomination in Chilhowee township. Among the members of 
the old Bear Creek Baptist organization were Rev. William Owsley. 
Sally Owsley and Anthony Owsley. 

The Rose Hill Cumberland Presbyterian church had an organiza- 
tion and a church building here, prior to the Ci\il War, and among 
its first members were Leonard Renick, John Xewton, Lloyd Gilliland, 
Dennis Dunham, Mrs. Alelissa Gilliland and Airs. Elizabeth Baker. 
They also organized a Sunday school which flourished for a time. 

The .Methodists and the Cumberland Presbyterians built a church 
in 1881 known as Union chapel. The Cumberland Presbyterians were 
organized here in October, 1880, and among the charter 'members 
appear the following names: B. F. Lewis and wife, Alollie Lewis, New- 



262 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

ton H. Horn and his wife and two daughters. D. L. AY. Baston, Martha 
and Betty Baston. Joel Thomas and wife. John W. McElvaine, Mrs. 
Fannie Hultz. Mrs. Ella Redford and Mrs. Cecil and daughter. 

The Methodist Episcopal church of Union Chapel was organized 
in 1881 and among the early membership we find the names of Bigelow 
Buzzard, L. Gibson and wife, Elbridge Myers and Milton Eaves. This 
congregation was served for a time by Rev. J. Pave, an early-day circuit 
rider. A small class of Methodists met at Mt. Xenia school in tlie Ter- 
rapin Neck district for a time. 

Other later ministers who labored in this township after the Civil 
War were J. H, Houx, M. H. Burnett, A. E. Smith and W. S. Woodard. 

Early Cemeteries. — Among the many small cemeteries of Rose Hill 
township the Strange cemetery is perhaps the oldest, having been estab- 
lished in 1838. Quick cemetery is also an old burial place. Daniel 
Quick. Jr.. was the first buried here. Priestly graveyard is also a family 
burial place, Mrs. Priestly being the first to be interred here. Baston 
cemetery is among the old graveyards of the township and takes its 
name from D. W. L. Baston. who was a prominent pioneer of the 
earlv days. Rose Hill cemetery was established about the time that 
the town of Rose Hill came into existence. The Wall family cemetery 
is located on section 13, and here rest the remains of a number 
of that name. The first to be interred in this burying ground was 
Mildred B. Wall. There are a number of other small burial places and 
graves scattered throughout the township, many of which are unknown. 
It is said that a Mr. Scaggs was the first person to be buried in the 
township. 

Early Schools. — At an early day a log school house was built on 
Bear creek near Bethel church. This was built after the fashion of the 
ordinarv frontier log cabin and a subscription school was taught here 
for several years.. Other log school houses were built in the township 
as the settlers came, and were succeeded by frame buildings. 

Among the old-time teachers, in the early days, were Richard 
Anderson, W. W. Sparks, Abraham Stout, Charles Wingfield, Mr. Brad- 
shaw, Mr. Massey, A. Van Ausdol, M. Palmer, Alfred Hocker, A. B. 
Sanders, Benjamin Howell, George Harrison, William Kirkpatrick, Dr. 
Thomas Jones, Louis McCoy and Benjamin Turner. At Rose Hill school 
were Calvin Reifsnider. William Coates, John Garl, Vincent Jones, .\mos 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 263 

Metzler, William R. Gist, Wilson Naylor. James Stufflebean, Henry 
Wood, H. A. Stitt, S. Cook, Misses Alice Hunt. Kittie Renick, Emma 
Wallis, Delia \\'allis, and Sallie Young, Mrs. Anna Stockell, Misses Belle 
Davis, and Hattie Sheller, X. M. Gloyd, Rew D. H. Craiger. At Quick 
school were \\'. C. Rowland, John Cass. P. Stubblevain, Nannie Metz- 
ler, Nannie Graham, Flora Hall, Airs. Franklin, Mrs. McCrabb, Harriet 
Quick, Cyrus Anderson, \\'illiam Peake, Lucy Umstadt and Fannie Nar- 
ron. 

In addition to the schools named, other early school districts were 
Doak, Seal}' Bark, Boston, Fink and !Mt. Xenia. Among their teach- 
ers were Miss Nora Pemberton, Professor Reynolds, A. J. Sparks, and 
George E. Roff. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far back as the county records show, with dates of their election: 
1870. William R. Littrell; 1878, J. O. George, J. E. Doak; 1880, George 
W. Stith : 1882, J. A. Doak, Robert F. West ; 1886, J. A. Doak, Robert 
F. West: 1890, J. A. Doak, F. H. Anderson: 1892, T. E. Coleman; 1894, 
T. E. Coleman, Homer Anderson, Charles Atkins: 1898, T. E. Coleman, 
Charles Atkins: 1902, T. E. Coleman, Charles Atkins: 1910, John Sheller, 
Charles Atkins: 1912, T. G. Newhill; 1914, D. C. Surber. 

County Officers. — The following are the count\- officers who have 
been elected from the township since 1882, with the dates of their elec- 
tion : 

1880-82 — Harvey Y. Hughes (Democrat), treasurer. 

1884-86 — George R. Hunt (Democrat), treasurer. 

1890-9-1 — Jerome B. Pemberton (Democrat), recorder. 

1902 — I. G. Farnsworth (Democrat), county judge. 

1911-15 — R. H. Boston (Democrat), superintendent of schools. 

1914-16— C. C. Atkins (Democrat), county judge. 

1916 — R. O. Atkins (Democrat), county judge (appointed). 

Population. — Population of Rose Hill township, by United States 
Census, was: 

—1870— 
White. Colored. Total. 1880 1890 1900 1910 

1.400 39 1.430 1.633 1.380 1.385 1.461 

Personal Property and Products. — Agriculture and personal property 



1896 


1916 


1.056 


1,176 


301 


474 


1.536 


2.757 


353 


390 


2.252 


3.320 


2 


18 



264 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

statistics for Rose Hill township, as given b)' Alissouri State Report for 
1877, and Johnson county assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916, are: 

1877 1877 

AVheat, bushels 49,789 Horses 1,858 

Corn, bushels 271,450 Mules 355 

Oats, bushels 9.838 Cattle 2.233 

Rye, bushels 292 Sheep 1,596 

Tobacco, pounds 3,051 Hogs 3.709 

AVool. pounds 2.403 Asses none 

Hay. tons 1.352 

IMolasses, gallons 1.966 

AA^ine. gallons 44 

Notes and money $ 34.580 $ 83.815 

Bank stock 9.280 

Other personalty 23.920 32.600 

All personalty 121.445 253,450 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Rose Hill township since this system was established in 1911. were up 
to January 1, 1918, seventeen in number, aggregating $1,060 furnished 
by the citizens of the township, and $986 furnished bv the county. In 
the amount of this work Rose Hill ranks tenth among the townships of 
the county. 

The following is a complete list of all organizations of e\ery kind 
in Rose Hill township. Full details of each organization are in this 
book in separate chapters on the different organizations. 

Churches — Baptist. Bear Creek: Baptist. Quick City: Baptist, Rose 
Hill; Christian. Quick City: Methodist. South. Medford; Presbyterian, 
Latour: Presbyterian. New Liberty. 

1917 AA/'ar Organizations. — Red Cross, Latour Branch; Red Cross, 
Medford Branch ; Red Cross, Quick City Branch. 

Business. — Bank of Latour. 

Total number of organizations in township is eleven. 



CHAPTER XXIV.— COLUMBUS TOWNSHIP. 

DESCRIPTION*. ORGANIZATION— GEOGRAPHY AND .SOILS— FIRST SETTLERS— FIRST 
MILL — EARLY PHYSICIANS — FIRST COURT — FIRST POSTOFFICE — FIRST 
STORE— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS— JUS- 
TICES— COUNTY^ OFFICERS— PERSONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY' 
ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— POPULATION— ORGANIZATIONS. 

From a historic standpoint Coluiiil)us township is second to none 
in Johnson count)-. Here tiie tirst permanent settlement in Johnson 
county was made in 1828. Columbus township was originally a part of 
Jackson township but was established according to its present boundaries 
May 12, 1870. It was named for Christopher Columbus. 

Geography and Soils. — Area. 42 square miles, or 26,880 acres. Geo- 
graphically, Columljus township is made up of the head waters of ( 1 ) 
Honey creek, (2) the north fork of Blackwater, and (3) the Pittsville 
fork of Blackwater, and of the upland lying between. All these streams 
run from the northwest to the southeast. According to the United 
States Department of Agriculture, Soil Survey of 1914, the chief soils 
of the township are: The ordinary bottom soil (Osage silt loam) run- 
ning along the creeks; next to the bottom soil, the Boone silt loam 
("sandy" soil), an irregular one-quarter to one and a half mile wide 
strip adjoining the bottom; and next. Pettis silt loam ("mulatto" soil) 
composing the upland between the creeks. 

These soils in detail are as follow : 

The Boone silt loam, upland; about 15 square miles or one-third of 
the township. This lies next to the bottom soil. It widens very per- 
ceptibly at the head waters of Honey creek and Xorth Fork of Black- 
water. 

Pettis silt loam, upland, composes about 12 square miles or 30 per 
cent, of the township; this lies in a broad strip from two to three miles 
wide running from northeast to southwest throughout the whole town- 
ship, except where it is cut by Honey creek and Blackwater creek. 

Summit silt loam, upland, "black limestone" soil; about 12 per 
cent, or 5 square miles. This lies scattered all over the township, chiefly 
in the southeast and the southwest. 



266 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Crawford silt loam, "red limestone" soil ; about 4 square miles or 
10 per cent. This lies in scattered patches all over the township. 

Osage silt loam, bottom; about 6 square miles or 15 per cent.; the 
ordinary bottom soil. This lies along the creek and its largest area is 
found on both sides of the North Fork of Blackwater. 

Of the foregoing, the Pettis silt loam, Crawford silt loam and Sum- 
mit silt loam are ranked the best three common upland soils in the 
county, and the Osage silt loam the best bottom soil. The Boone silt 
loam is a lighter "sandy" soil, and is of sandstone origin. 

For further soil details, see chapters in this book on Agriculture 
and Soils. 

First Settlers. — Pleasant Rice or Nicholas Houx was the first per- 
manent white settler in Johnson county. They both settled in what is 
now Columbus township in 1827. See chapter on Early Settlements. 
Pleasant Rice first visited this locality on a hunting expedition in 1818 
and in the fall of 1819, returned on a hunting expedition in company with 
Dangerfield Rice, Capt. Hugh Brown, Hugh Brown, Jr., Cicero Brown 
and John Wallace. They got on this expedition, besides various game 
and fur, two hundred and sixty gallons of wild honey. Mr. Rice stated 
that he found twelve bee trees in one day, from which he took an average 
of sixteen gallons of honey each. Henceforth the little creek along which 
he hunted bees on that occasion was given the name of Honey creek. 
At that time hundreds of Indians had their wigwams along the creeks 
near suitable hunting grounds. Mr. Rice estimated that he saw as 
nianv as two thousand Indians within a radius of four miles of his log 
cabin. He settled with his family on Honey creek in section 10, town- 
ship 47 on a place which is now owned l^y Mrs. Kelly, grandmother of 
Charles L. Gillilan, ex-county assessor. Part of the old building which 
he first erected is still standing. It is fourteen feet square and was cov- 
ered with clapboards and weight poles. The logs were chinked with 
mud and the door swung on wooden hinges and was fastened liy a 
wooden latch, the string of which was always said to hang on the out- 
side. The chimney was built of mud and sticks. This old hut was 
built by Pleasant Rice with the assistance of a negro, and the logs 
used in its construction were of white oak. Since then the old clap- 
boards have been dispensed with. It has a new roof, and the log walls 
have l)een covered by siding, and it is now used as a kitchen. 

Pleasant Rice was born near Nashville, Tennessee. March 7, 1803. 




FIKS 


■ iKM .vi m ii/r 


IN^T < 


»U IN-s. IN WUV 


AB( )1 


T TH]:i;i; .mii.i> 


INAL 


BUILDING IS ( 


WKA' 


■iii:i:in)Ai;i)i:i> 


I.KLI 


A KKI lA 



IN" .lOIINSON ('(irXTY. MlSSorUl I'.V ri.KASANT KICK IN 

r IS NOW ('(ii.r.MKrs Towxsmr. m;ak iioxkv citi'.KK. 

; NOKTII or 'IHE VILLACK OK COI.r.MHI'S. THE OUIC- 
IN THE LEKT IT WAS BUILT OF LOGS AND LATER 
\M> IV STII.I, STAXDIXc;. Xo\V fiCCiriKIi r.V MISS 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 267 

He was of Dutch and Englisli descent. His wife, to whom he was 
married August 26, 1826, bore the maiden name of VirHnda G. Ray. 
She was a daughter of Senator Ray and came from a prominent Kentucky 
family. She was born in \\'arren count}-. Kentucky, May 13, 1809. Mr. 
and Mrs. Rice were the parents of thirteen chibh^en, ten of whom grew 
to maturity, four sons and si.x daughters and many of their descendants 
are now ]i\ing in Johnson county. 

Nicholas Houx was born in Marykind of French and German ances- 
tors. His parents moved from Marykind to Kentucky and he and five 
other sons moved later to Missouri. He married Miss Rachel Maxwell, 
just before leaving Kentucky. He and his l)ride came on horseback to 
^Missouri, bringing all their possessions with them. They lived first at 
Booneville for a few years, then a few years at Lexington, and then 
moved to what is now Columbus township, in Johnson count)-. Pleas- 
ant Rice helped him build his first house. He was a stanch Cum1:)er- 
land Presbyterian, a noted hunter and a successful farmer. He died 
about 1834. at the age of thirty-three, and left two sons and three daugh- 
ters. ( See section on Faniilv Historv for full details of Nicholas Houx 
and his family.) 

The following is a list of early settlers in what is now Columbus 
township: Pleasant Rice. Nicholas Houx. Robert King. Dr. Rol)ert 
^^'. Rankin. John AA'hitsett. Tlnimas Evans, John Evans. Da.vid Norris, 
Samuel Ramsey, John Kelley. Uriel Jackson (who had the first horse- 
mill in the county), JNloses Pinkston. Jesse Marr, Thomas \\'indsor, 
Richard D. Bradley. Sr.. John Furguson, Elmore Douglas, Morgan 
Cockrell, Jonathan Fine. B. H. Fine, Prince L. Hudgins. William Logan, 
Isaac Garrison, James Morrow, LTiel ?^Iurray. David IMorrow. William 
Davidson, Joseph Cockrell (the father of F. M. Cockrell, United States 
Senator), Josiah Beatty. William Kincaid. J. Washam. James C. Francis. 
Col. Ambrose, Toombs. Benjamin Runnels (who was a soldier under 
Gen. A\'. H. Harrison in his Indian campaign). Benjamin Matthews. 
C. D. Cobb. Love S. Cornwell. James Perdee. Robert Craig. N. \\'. Low- 
rey. James C. Strange, a gentleman by the name of Edwards ( who was 
a tailor in the town of Blackwater. and who is the father of Senator 
Edwards, of Lafayette county). Peter Drace. Levi Simpson. William C. 
Baker, T. Simmerman, Jesse Kelley, Robert D. Morrow, \\illiani Horn, 
I. Reese (who was sheriiT at one time), Thomas Claunch. J. H. Miller, 
J. W. Henderson, Dr. E. D. Schreiner. R. R. Daltnn. Abel Gilliland, 



268 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Rev. William Horn, Reason Ofifnit, William E. Cocke, R. Sanders, J. 
P. iVIurray, R. Rudolph, P. H. Drace, John Kitchen, J. Kinder, William 
Ramsey, W. T. Herndon, M. Davis, J. Harner, B. W. Boisseau, J. Fickel, 
C. Gautt, Z. T. Davis and James M. Fnlkerson, the first physician in 
Johnson county. 

The first child born in what is now Columbus township, which was 
also the first birth in the county, was Margaret Ann Rice, daughter of 
Pleasant Rice. She was born April 7, 1829, was reared to maturity, mar- 
ried, and died October 6, 1870. 

The first death was Mrs. Chitwood and the location of her lone 
gra\'e has long since been forgotten. 

First Mill. — The first mill was erected in 1830 by Uriel Jackson. 
It was a two-horse mill and the process of grinding was slow and tedious. 
Later the owner went to the Osage river, where mill stones could be 
cut from the. rock and brought home a pair of burs, after which the 
process of grinding was speeded up in that locality. The second mill 
to be built was Wade's mill on the Blackwater. This was operated by 
water power and was quite a pretentious mill for its day and age. 

Early Physicians. — Dr. James Monroe Fulkerson was the first phy- 
sician of the county. He was born in Lee county, Virginia. His father 
settled in Lafayette county in 1849, when James M. was only eighteen 
years old. Doctor Fulkerson received his medical education at Cincin- 
nati, Ohio. In 1834 he came to Columbus and made his home at the 
residence of Nicholas Houx, and a short time afterwards married Eliza- 
beth C. Houx, daughter of Nicholas Houx. Doctor Fulkerson became 
a very wealthy man and was prominent in the affairs of the county. 
When the Civil War broke out he owned a large number of slaves and 
about three thousand acres of land. He served one term in the state 
Legislature from Johnson county. He served as surgeon in the Osage 
Indian War and was also in the service during the Mormon War of 
1834. 

Doctor Brooks also practiced medicine here at an early day. 

First Court. — The first court met at the residence of Nicholas Houx. 

First Postoffice. — The first postofifice was at the town of Columbus 
in 1832, and the first postmaster was William Kincaid, who served for 
some time. He was followed by Josiah Beatty, Jerry Washam and 
Charles D. Cobb. At one time the cif^ce was kept at Blackwater. 

First Store. — The first store was erected in 1836 by William Beatty. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 269 

Nicholas Houx operated a tannery and P. L. Hndgins kept a whiskey 
shop. Later Hudgins left Cohnnbns and started the town of Blackwa- 
ter, which was laid out in March, 1836. about one mile south of Colum- 
bus, near the creek. Hudgins was afterwards converted, gave up the 
whiskey business, and became a preacher and was regarded as a man 
of some talent. 

Early Churches. — About the time of the first settlement here Rev. 
J. B. jMorrow began preaching. For a time there was preaching in the 
residence of Nicholas Houx. Regular monthly meetings began in 1829. 
The first church, a log structure, was built shortly afterward and camp 
meetings were held in the grove as early as 1831. On this occasion 
Rev. Finis Ewing, great-grandfather of the writer, and Rev. Samuel 
King, founders of the Cumlierland Presbyterian church, were present. 
The Reverends Robert King, J. B. and R. D. Morrow were also there. 
The first Sunday school was organized in 1834. John Harris and James 
;\Iorrow were active in Sunday school work and instrumental in the 
first organization. A preacher's institute was organized here and taught 
by Rev. J. B. Morrow. This school was started in 1834 and aliandoned 
two years later. 

The Cumberland Presbyterian churcli was organized here in 1830 
by Re\'. R. D. Morrow, but they had no building until 1837, when a log 
house was erected. In 1847 they built a brick church. Among the 
early pastors of this church were Reverends Robert D. Morrow, James 
H. Houx, John A. Prather, S. Finis King, A. VanAusdol and A. A. 
;\Ioore. Some of the first members of this congregation were Nicholas 
Houx, Rachel Houx, James B. Harris, A. Harris. Isabelle Foster. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church, South, is prominent among church 
organizations of Columbus towmship. The Methodist church was organ- 
ized here in 1843, and the following ministers seem to have served this 
congregation prior to the Civil War: Thomas T. Ashley, 1843; Daniel 
S. Capell, 1844-3; E. E. Degge, and Silas AVilliams, D. A. Leeper. J. 
Chase, T. C. James, W. M. Pitts, James .\. Cuming. R. A. Foster, A. 
A\'illiams and \\'. M. Pitts, up to 1858-9. Some of the ministers since 
1866 were: H. W. Webster, 1866-7: M. Minshall, H. N. Watts, M. 
Doreen, W. J. Brown, T. P. Cobb, J. C. Daily. E. W'. Woodard, John D. 
AA'ood and J. D. H. Woolridge, 1880-81. 

The Church of Christ was oj-ganized by Elder D. Young. In July, 
1865, this church was reorganized and three years later, a frame build- 



2-0 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUN'JY 

ing erected at a cost of two thousand dollars. Among the early pastors 
of this denomination we find the names of Hiram Bledsoe, C. A. Hed- 
rick, G. W. Longan, D. M. Granfield and E. M. Monsert, E. A. Cheat- 
ham, Samuel B. Stark, James Meyers, W. E. Frakes and Ralph Green- 
well were some of the original members. 

Early Cemeteries. — The cemeteries in Columbus township were 
among the oldest in the county. The first one was at Columbus and 
Nicholas Houx was the first to be buried there. 

Columbus cemetery contains the last resting places of many of 
Johnson county's pioneer citizens and there are numerous tombstones 
in this burial ground bearing the epitaphs of several prominent early 
settlers, among them hundreds of men and women who were identified 
with the early history of this county. Among the countless number 
are the stones bearing the following inscriptions: 

"Nicholas Houx 

Died August 9, 1831 

Aged Forty-two Years." 

The widow of Nicholas Houx afterward married Jonathan Fine 
and a marker at her grave gives the date of her death as December 29, 
1857. 

"Dr. Frederick D. Fulkerson 
Died August 18, 1857." 

"Pleasant Rice 
Born March 7, 1803— Died May 9, 1892." 

Virlinda G., 

Wife of Pleasant Rice, 

Born May 13, 1809— Died June 10, 1890." 

"Reverend Robert D. Morrow, D. D. 
Born December 26, 1796— Died January 23. 1869. 

"Here rest the remains of the first Cumberland Presbyterian missionary 
to the state of Missouri. He was ordained by the Logan Presbytery, 
February, 1819, was an active minister of the Gospel fifty-three years, 
was an humble and devoted Christian, a learned and eminent divine. 
His death was peaceful and triumphant." 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 2/1 

"Elizabeth M.. his wife, born August 7. 1802. Died Deceuilier 
29, 1880." 

"Baxter Ewing Morrow 
Born June 9, 1824— Died July 25. 1890." 

"Ann S. Dinwiddie, 

Wife of Allen Wallace 

1809—1837." 

There are many more stones marking- the graves of scores of 
residents of Columbus and Columbus township, whose names are indel- 
ibly written on the pages of township history. The memorial tablets 
of stone erected long, long ago impress the visitor with the flight of 
time and the older people with a train of reminiscences and memories 
of the days of seventy years ago, when other forms were familiar and 
frequently seen, moving amid the scenes of early pioneer life in John- 
son county. 

Early Schools. — The first school in the township was taught by Z. 
T. Davis at the farmhouse of Robert Craig, in 183,1 Notable among the 
early teachers were Mr. Maum and his wife, Louis McCoy. Joshua 
Rogers, James Francis, Rev. Ben Love, Ben A. Bradley. Rev. R. D. 
Morrow was also a capable teacher of the early days. Among later 
teachers of the township were W. C. DeWitt, John Sarency, C. A. Pot- 
terf, Albert Potterf, Miss Nannie Dalton. Waldon school was estab- 
lished in 1868. The first director was James Middleton. Its early 
teachers were S. M. Corman, Henry Harmon, Mattie Gaskin, Minnie 
Morrow, Maggie Brown, William Cook, D. W. DeWitt, D. B. Longan, 
W. C. Naus, Jennie C. Woolsey, Albert Dunbar, Charles A. Potterf, S. 
P. Culley, Henry C. Potterf. Eula Tracy, and .\. J. Sparks. 

Justices. — The justices of the peace of Columbus township, as far 
back as the records go. with the dates of thei relection are: 1870, C. 
W. Hesser, John B. Edwards; 1878, James Mosby, W. H. Lee: 1882, 
James Mosby, W. H. Lee; 1886, James Mosby, W. T. DeWitt: 1888, 
James A. Anderson: 1890, James Mosby, James Tuttle : 1894, J. M. 
Tuttie. David Braden : 1898. John M. Black, James Mosby: 1900, A. J. 
McMahan: 1902. J. A. Black, W. S. Rankin: 1906, J. A. Black, W. D. 
Grinstead: 1908. W. S. Rankin: 1910, James A. Black, J. W. Hender- 
son : 1914, James A. Black, J. W. Henderson. 

County Officers. — The following are the county officers who have 





1877 


1896 


1916 


Horses 


,___ 626 


671 


756 


Mules 


.___ 240 


302 


310 


Cattle 


____1.226 


1,261 


1,941 


Sheep 


646 


299 


510 


Hogs 


2,976 


2.392 


2,307 


Asses 


none 


14 


9 



272 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

been elected from the township, since 1882, with the dates of their elec- 
tion: 

1882-1886-1890— John M. Rice (Democrat), county clerk. 

1908-1912 — Charles L. Gillilan (Democrat), recorder. 

1890-1892-1894 — James A. Anderson (Democrat), county judge. 

Personal Property and Products. — Agriculture and personal prop- 
erty statistics for Columbus township, as given by Missouri State Reports 
for 1877, and Johnson county assessors' lists for 1881, 1896 and 1916, are: 

1877 

Wheat, bushels 12,515 

Corn, bushels 243,080 

Oats, bushels 6,705 

Rye, bushels 832 

Barley, bushels 80 

Tobacco, pounds 17,250 

Hay, tons 397 

Wool, pounds 2,992 

Molasses, gallons 3,224 

AVine, gallons 22 

1881 1896 1916 

Notes and money $23,304 $20,115 $41,030 

Other personalty 31,415 17.677 19,110 

All personalty 109.214 89.840 143,370 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
the township, since this system was established in 1911, were up to Janu- 
ary 1, 1918, twenty-three in number, and aggregated $1,319.50 furnished 
bv citizens of the township, and $1,250 by the county. In the amount 
of this work Columbus ranks third among the townships of the county. 

Population. — The population of Columbus township, by United 
States Census, was: 

—1870— 
AVhite. Colored. Total. 1880 1890 1900 1910 

1.279 115 1.394 1.307 1.195 1.092 962 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of organizations 
in Columbus township. Full details of each organization are in this 
book in separate chapters of the dififerent organizations: 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 273 

Churches — Baptist, Honey Creek; Catholic; Cumberhind Presbyte- 
rian: Methodist South; Presbyterian, at Coluniljus ; Presbyterian, Jacoby 
Chapel. 

Fraternal Organizations — Modern Woodmen, Royal Neighbors. 

Homemakers Clubs — Greendoor, McCoy. 

Total number of organizations is ten. 



CHAPTER XXV.— KINGSVILLE TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GEOGRAPHY AND SOIL— EARLY SETTLEMENTS— FIRST 
POSTOFFICB— EARLY CHURCHES— EARLY' CEMETERIES— EARLY SCHOOLS- 
EARLY TEACHERS— JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL 
PROPERTY' AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZA- 
TIONS— KINGSVILLE. 

Kings\-ille township was organized May 12, 1870, after the railroad 
had been built. It took its name from Kingsville village, which was 
named for Gen. William King, who laid out the town in 1856. 

Geography and Soil. — Area, 35 square miles, or 22.400 acres. Geo- 
graphically, and according to the United States Department of Agricul- 
ture's Soil Survey of 1914, Kingsville township is a smooth body of good 
upland soil (Summit silt loam, or "black limestone" soil), broken by 
tributaries of Blackwater, south fork in the northeast, with irregular strips 
about one-fourth mile wide, of Boone silt loam ("sandy" soil) adjoining 
the bottom soil, and by the headwaters of Lost creek, a tributary of Big 
creek, in the southwest, with irregular strips also about one-fourth mile 
wide adjoining the bottom soil, of Bates silt loam ( dark, gray-brown 
soil). It is the smallest township in area in the county. 

In detail, these soils are: 

Summit silt loam, upland, "black limestone" soil, about 75 per cent, 
of the township. This lies all over the whole township, and it constitutes 
a larger proportion of the soil of this township and of Madison township 
than any other townships in the county. 

Boone silt loam, upland, "sandy" soil, 10 per cent. This lies chiefly 
in the northeast part of the township, in irregular one-quarter to one- 
half mile wide strips next to the bottom soil of Blackwater tributaries. 

Bates silt loam, upland, dark gray-brown soil, 10 per cent. This 
lies chiefly along the small branches of Lost creek, in the southwest, 
in irregular strips one-quarter to three-fourths mile wide directly ad- 
joining the bottom soil. 

Crawford silt loam, upland, "red limestone" soil, 2 per cent. This 
lies in small patches of one-fourth to one mile wide in the northwest. ■ 

Osage silt loam, ordinary bottom soil, 2 per cent. This lies chiefly 
along Blackwater, south fork, in the northeast. 

Chariton silt loam, second bottom. 1 per cent. This lies in a patch 
of about three-fourths of a square mile in the southwest corner. 



HISTORY OF Jl'>nXSOX COl'XTY 275 

Of the foregoing, the Suniiiiit ^ilt hiani and Crawford silt loam 
are ranked in the best three common uiiland soils of the county, with 
Bates silt loam next. 

For further soil details, refer to chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — It is said that Judge Anderson Smith, son of 
\\'illiam Smith, the second sheriff of this county, was the first settler 
in Kingsville township. He located at Bluff" Spring and built the first 
house there. This was probably about 1835 or 1836. In 1836. he sold 
to Benjamin Longacre, who soon put up a tanyard and tanned skins 
for the settlers for a radius of fifty miles. Henry Colbern, the first sad- 
dler of W'arrensburg, grandfather of John R. Colbern, the stock man. 
came here for his supplies. He also built the first mill in the town- 
ship, which was probably in 1837. Prior to that time the pioneers 
beat their corn in a mortar. A son of Benjamin Longacre. Joseph D.. 
from Tennessee, was also an early settler in this township, coming 
about 1839. He was a soldier in the Mexican War and also served 
in the Confederate army during the Civil War. He and Joe Howard were 
noted wolf hunters and frecjuently hunted together. The first settle- 
ment on Pleasant Run. or Duncan's liranch. was also in 1839. P. W. 
Paul settled here prior to 1840. Samuel Boljack was an early settler 
and in 1844 bought the Longacre mill. At first this grist-mill was a 
two-horse mill of the old fashioned sweep lever type. Later it was 
converted into a two-horse tread mill and operated by Joe Howard. 
This was considered a model modern mill. 

Benjamin F. Lewis settled here in 1853. Dr. William G. King 
came here in 1851. He was born in Independence, Missouri, Decem- 
ber 28, 1831. Prominent among other early settlers of the township 
were Hon. W. F. Ralston, Hon. R. T. Fryer, Josiah Smith and John 
R. French. 

First Postoffice. — The first postoftice was Bluff' Spring and Ben- 
jamin Longacre was the first postmaster. He was succeeded by Samuel 
Boljack. In 1856. the postoiffce was changed to Kingsville. 

In 1860, Dr. W. H. Carpenter built a distillery and carding ma- 
chine, which he operated about a year. It was later destroyed by fire. 

Early Churches. — The first religious denomination to hold services 
in this township was the Methodists. Reverend Lee preached the first 
sermon at the residence of Benjamin Longacre. Soon after this a regu- 
lar Methodist organization was eft'ected here, which continued until 



276 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

the Civil \\'ar broke out. Rev. Daniel K. Pell was in charge of the 
circuit in 1844, and it was at that time that the vote was taken for 
the division of the North and South branches of the Methodist church. 
The congregation at first voted against the division, but they were all 
Southern people and upon reconsideration voted in favor of the division, 
and the church was named Bluff Spring Methodist Episcopal Church, 
South. Some of the early ministers in charge of this circuit prior to 
the time of the division in 1844, were Reverends Lee, Martin 
Paul, AV. Ferrell, McKinney, Thomas Wallace, B. F. Love, George 
W. Love, Maj. Jonathan Fine, Samuel Colbern, Pratt, George W. 
Bewley, Daniel Leaper, Ashby and Daniel K. Pell. Rev. Jesse Greene 
was the first presiding elder of this district. The ministers after the 
division were. Revs. Robert Foster and Warren M. Pitts. There was 
no church building ever erected here. The other early churches were 
in the town of Kingsville, and are given in the history of the town. 

Early Cemeteries. — The oldest cemetery in the township is perhaps 
what is known as Hopper cemetery, located on section 3 in the western 
part of the township. It was the private cemetery of the families of 
William Hopper, Houston Helms and Thomas Savage, early settlers 
here. A blind man, who was accidentally killed, was the first to be 
buried here. 

Major's cemetery is an old burial ground supposed to have been 
laid out in 1837 and was used as early as 1840 as a public cemetery. 
One of the Major family was one of the first to be interred here. It 
is located on East fork of Lost creek in section 13. 

Bluff Spring cemetery is also an old burial ground and was laid out 
by Benjamin Longacre in 1837. It is in section 25, on the ridge 
dividing the Osage and Missouri water sheds. 

Duncan cemetery is located in section 14. The first burial here 
was that of Gideon Cunningham. In 1841 a man named Savage was 
buried here. 

Hornsby cemetery, in section 15, is a family burial ground and 
the first to he interred here was Mrs. Esther Hornsb}', the aunt of 
J. N. Ferguson, old county surveyor, in 1845. 

There are numerous other private burial grounds and many lone 
gra\'es in various parts of the township, the exact location of many 
of which is unknown. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 2// 

Early Schools. — The first schools of Kingsvilie township were lo- 
cated at what was known as Lost creek and Blufif Spring. Hackney 
school house, an old log cabin which stood near Bluff Spring, was 
said to be the oldest school hduse in the township. The second scliool 
house to be built in the township was also a log structure known as 
Hornsby school house and stood in the southwestern part of tlie town- 
ship. 

Early Teachers. — Some of the teacliers who taught in these log 
school houses were Alfred Hawker. James Allen. William \\'. Sparks. 
Joseph Y. Alexander. J. N. Ferguson. A. J. Longacre, Hugh Wallace. 
Ben Howell and R. G. Stokley. Later teachers were, William T. 
Johnson, Thomas McKee. Maggie Duncan. J. K. P. Howe. R. T. Frver. 
P. L. Hyer. Stanley T. Rogers. James A. Wright, T. A. Rcavis. Maggie 
A. Totten, Dora Douthit. C. H. Hartzell, T. X. Haynes. F. E. Meigs, 
A\'illiam L. Xelson. 

Justices. — The justices of the peace of Kingsvilie township as far 
back as the county records show are: 1870, George Monroe, James 
Morrow: 1878, C. A\'. Moss, T. A. Conrad: 1880, John S. Jones; 1882, 
G. G. Valentine, J. R. White: 1886, G. G. Valentine. J. B, Lampkin : 
1890. J. B. Lampkin, Joseph Hobbs : 1894, J. B. Lampkin. P. J. Burnett: 
1898. W^ B. Wallace. W. H. Zion: 1902. W. H. Ragsdale. W. H. Zion: 
1904. Jacob Hobbs: 1906. Jacob Hobbs, A. L. Garvin; 1<.'10. Jacol) 
Hobbs". Charles H. Horsley : 1912. D. .M. Council; 1914, E. B. Maxwell. 
R. A. Berry. 

County Officers. — The county officers of Kingsvilie township, as 
shown in the county records, since 1882. are as follow: 

1S82-84-86— R. T. Fryer (Democrat), presiding judge. 

1890 — \\'. P. Gibson (Democrat), presiding judge. 

1894 — George G. A'alentine ( Democrat^), county clerk. 

1896-98 — John B. Lampkin (Democrat), treasurer. 

Population. — The population of Kingsvilie township, as shown by 
the United States census reports: 

—1870— 

Whhe. Colored. Total. 1880 1890 IQOO 1910 

1.347 13 1,360 1,100 1.090 1.258 1.106 

Personal Property and 'Products. — The agriculture and personal 



1896 
763 


1916 
833 


216 


332 


1.060 


1,202 


170 


225 


1,388 


1,376 


2i 


97 



278 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

property statistics as shown in the Missouri State Census of 1877 and 
Johnson county assessors" lists for 1896 and 1916 are as follow: 

1877 1877 

Wheat, bushels 29,053 Horses 407 

Corn, bushels 184,240 Mules 202 

Oats, bushels 2,016 Cattle 958 

Barley, bushels 87 Sheep 820 

Rye. bushels 1,011 Hogs 2,076 

Tobacco, pounds 9,916 Asses none 

Wool, pounds 1,897 

Hay, tons 881 

Molasses, gallons 1,971 

AA'ine, gallons 6 

Notes and money $ 27,155 $ 66,415 

Other personalty 24,741 24,255 

All personalty 102,575 181,201 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Kingsville township since this system was established in 1911 were, up 
to January 1, 1918, twelve in number, and aggregated $633.75 furnished 
by citizens of the township, and $625 furnished by the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organization.s 
of every kind in Kingsville township. Full details of each organization 
are in separate chapters on the diiiferent organizations. 

Churches — Baptist, Kingsville ; Christian, Kingsville ; Methodist, 
Wesley Chapel : Seventh Day Adventists. 

Fraternal Organizations — Masons, Blue Lodge; Odd Fellows, Mod- 
ern Woodmen, Fastern Star. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross, Kings\ ille Branch. 

Business — Bank of Kingsville. 

Miscellaneous — Valley View Grange. Women's Christian Temper- 
ance Union. Kingsville; Women's Christian Temperance Union. Duncan; 
Homemakers Club, Duncan. 

Total numlier of organizations in townshi]) is fourteen. 

KINGSVILLE. 

Kingsville was laid out in 1856 by General William King, from 
wdiom it takes its name. General King built the first house here in 



HIST(3RY OF JOIIXSON COUNTY 279 

1853 and Samuel Bolejack built a residence here sliortly afterwartl. 

A postoffice was establislied liere in 1856 and Samuel Bolejack 
was the first postmaster, continuing to serve in that capacity until the 
Civil War broke out in 1861. The postofiice was discontinued for a 
time during the Ci\il War but was reestablished in July, 1865 al)out 
the time the Missouri Pacific railroad was built to this point. 

Some of the early plu'sicians who practiced in Kingsville and vicin- 
ity were Dr. James S. Fulkerson. Dr. H. W. King, Dr. W. G. King, 
Dr. B. King, Dr. \\'. H. Carpenter, Dr. T. A. Reed, Dr. J. A Houston, 
Dr. H. D. Douthit and Dr. W. D. Pinkston. 

J. N. Ferguson taught a suljscription school here in the winter 
of 1859-60 and a Mr. Belmont conducted a subscription school some 
time prior to that. Martha Givens and W. H. Duncan also taught school 
here prior to the Civil \\'ar. School was suspended most of the time 
during the war as Kings\ille and vicinity suffered much from devasta- 
tion during that period. Among some of the early day teachers of 
Kingsville who were identified with the schools after the war were W. 
P. Baker, Henry Harmon. J. Kline, J. Johnson, Rev. Isaac X. Newman, 
Maggie M. McCarty. Al^agail Whitson. Rev. R. G. Thompson. William 
P. Hunt. George G. Valentine. Dora Douthit, A. C. Jones. Mollie John- 
son, Maggie Duncan, Lizzie Hamshaw. Carrie Maynard, Mrs. Mattie 
George, Addie Johnson, Laura A. Glasse, George B. Longan, Mrs. 
Emma Longan. F. E. Meigs. John Moran. Sally King, J. D. King. Mrs. 
Adelia S. Boswell. and A. J. Sparks. At the organization of the Kings- 
ville school district in 1868 the first board of directors consisted of the 
following: A. G. French, Jacob Glasse. James Robinson. .\. J. 
Buchanan, John Hickman, .-rnd J. S. Jones. 

Kingsville cemetery is located on Chair Knob, near the village and 
was laid out in 1856 by General William King. He was l)uried here 
July 26, 1870. There is also another cemetery in the vicinity of Kings- 
ville which was formerly known as the People's Public cemetery. The 
Catholic church also has a cemetery here wdfich is located on the west- 
ern slope of Chair Kno1). This property was purchased and first used 
for a cemetery in 1881. 

Kingsville to-day has a bank, high school and stores representing 
the chief lines of business. 

Its population in 1910 was 238. 

It was incorporated ]May 27, 1885. 



CHAPTER XXVI.— CENTERVIEW TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION AND NAMING — GEOGRAPHY, SOILS— EARLY SETTLERS— EARLY 
SCHOOLS— EARLY CHURCHES— OFFICIAL RECORDS, STATISTICS— JUSTICES- 
COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY— ROAD IMPROVE- 
MENTS— ORGANIZATIONS— CENTERVIEW TOWN. 

Centerview was organized by order of the county court, November 
17, 1870, and named from its high and central location. 

Geography, Soils. — Area, 60 square miles, or 38,4000 acres. Accord- 
ing to the Soil Survey of 1914, by the United States Department of 
Agriculture, Centerview township is a smooth body of soil, chiefly black 
limestone, summit silt loam and "mulatto" soil, Pettis silt loams, with 
blackwater bottom across the north end, branches of Post Oak in south- 
east part and of Brush creek in the west central part. 

In detail, the township is divided as follows : Summit silt loam, 
upland ("black limestone" soil), 3d per cent.: black, lying in northeast, 
south of Blackwater, and southwest : Pettis silt loam ; upland "mulatto" 
soil, 15 per cent. It lies around Centerview town on four sides, extend- 
ing about two miles west, one mile north and east, and south three 
miles to a quarter of a mile south of Southern Highway, except for a 
half square mile of Summit silt loam lying about half a mile due south 
of town, and except for a narrow strip of Post Oak creek bottom (Osage 
silt loam) one mile south of town, flanked successively by narrow strips 
of Boone silt loam and Bates silt loam. There is also about one square 
mile of Pettis silt loam in the northwest corner. That around Center- 
view town is one of the largest solid bodies of Pettis silt loam in the 
county. 

Crawford silt loam, upland ("red limestone" soil), 10 per cent. 
It lies in a half mile wide strip of all the upland east of Brush creek from 
its head to Blackwater. and in a quarter to half a mile wide strip along 
the road to Warrensburg from the old Masonic hall in the southeast 
part of the township. 

Boone silt loam, "sandy" upland, 10 per cent. ; gray brown, of sand- 
stone origin. It lies in a narrow strip one-eighth to half a mile wide 
immediately adjoining nearly all the bottom soils in the township. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 281 

Bates silt loam, upland. 5 per cent.; dark gray, brown to black. It 
lies in narrow irregular strips in the southeast, adjoining and just above 
the Boone silt loam. 

Osage silt loam, the ordinary bottom soil. 2? per cent, consists of 
Blackwater and Post Oak creek bottoms. 

Summit. Pettis and Crawford silt loams are ranked the best three 
common upland soils in the county, with Bates silt loam next. Center- 
view township is one of the best bodies of agricultural land in the county, 
and contains probably the largest proportion in the aggregate of Sum- 
mit, Pettis, Crawford and Osage silt loams. 

Early Settlement. — The first permanent settlement in the territory 
now comprising Centerview township was priil)ablv made in 1832. Solo- 
mon Cox, a native of Kentucky, settled on section 1 on the east side 
of Brier creek in 1832, where he built a log cabin, and remained until 
1848. J\Ir. Cox was a ^Missouri pioneer, coming to this state long before 
it was admitted to the Unii.m. He was known as "I'ncle Solomon," 
was a frugal and industrious man and while living in this township he 
accumulated about four hundred acres of land. This he sold at ten 
dollars per acre in 1848. when he left for tlie Pacific coast. He was a 
man of a roving and adventurous nature and thus his onward march 
across the plains and over the mountains. 

Jeremiah Gregg, a native of Kentucky, settled here in 1832. 

jMatthias Houx. a native of Kentucky, came here in 1833. He was 
a successful farmer and stock raiser and became well to do. He spent 
the remainder of his life in this county and lived to a ripe old age. 
His children still live at the old home place. In the early days he was 
a typical frontiersman and a hunter of considerable note. In 1849. dur- 
ing the gold excitement in California, he went to the Pacific coast 
o\'erland. It was truthfullv said of him that on that overland tri]) to 
California he shot nearly exery species of animal to be found 
between Missouri and California, including l)ufl:'alo, elk, deer, panther, 
grizzly l^ear and Indian. He killed hundreds of deer and wohes in 
his time and in his declining years he retained his trusty old muzzle- 
loading rifle and double-barreled shotgun, mute comrades of many 
exciting events in the once wild and unbroken A\'est. 

John Conway, of Tennessee, came here in 1833 and died in 
1842. James Stirling, also a native of that state, came in 1833 and died 
here, ^^"illiam Conwav came from Tennessee in 1833 and later went 



282 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

to Texas, where he spent his life. Jeremiah and Samuel Carmichael 
and \\illiani Cocke, natives of Tennessee, came in 1833; the former 
spent the remainder of his life here and the latter later removed to 
California. Isaac Reese, another Tennesseeian, located here about 1834 
and later went to Kansas, where he died. James Fisher came to this 
section in 1835. He was a native of Mississippi and in 1847 went to 
Texas. 

Philip S. Houx came here in 1838 and died about twenty years 
later. He was a native of Missouri and the father of Rev. James N. 
Houx and grandfather of Charles H. Houx. John Kennedy, a native 
of Tennessee, came here in 1838 and died shortly afterward. 

John G. Graham a Virginian, settled here in 1838 and died in 1878. 
Samuel C. Graham, also of Virginia, settled in this vicinity in 1840. 
The Grahams left numerous descendants, good citizens and men who 
still live in the township. James J. Graham, also a \'irginian, came in 
1850. Samuel T. Thistle settled in this vicinity in 1840 and later moved 
into Rose Hill township, tie was a Virginian. And Gideon Harrison, 
of Alabama, came here in 1842 but soon afterward returned to his 
native state. 

Samuel McFarland. a native of Tennessee, came to the territory 
of Missouri in 1816. Later he lived in Cooper and Lafayette counties 
and in 1843 settled in Centerview township, about two miles east of 
where the village of Centerview now stands. He went to Texas in 
1850 and died there in 1851. His brother, George McFarland, settled 
in Centerview in 1843 in the same locality and spent the remainder of 
his life there. He died prior to the Civil \A'ar. 

Moses G. Mullins was an early settler in this section and for a 
number of years lived in Center\-iew township, two miles southwest of 
the Centerview depot. 

Among other early settlers were William Ramsey, G. Burgess, 
John Combs, Jacob Fetterling, William Marr, J. W. Houx, John R. 
Whitsett. T. C. Chamberlain, James Chamberlain, Elhanen Roop, James 
Stirling, and his son, and P. S. Houx and his two sons. 

George Washington, a pioneer of sterling worth, was the first super- 
visor from Centerview township. He held this office for eighteen 
months, when the law was changed abolishing the office. Later he was 
elected a member of the county court. He was also one of the first 
justices of the peace in the township and was postmaster. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUXTY 2.N3 

Early Schools. — The school system of Centerview township had 
its beginning with the primitive log school house whicli was maintained 
by the settlers and known as "subscription schools."' This was the method 
generally in vogue prior to the public school svstem. Some of the 
first school buildings in Johnson county were erected in Center\-iew 
township. The first log school house erected within the present limits 
of this township was located on the south side of Brier creek, one 
and one-half miles south of the present village of Centerview. prolialiiy 
not later than 1835. There has lu-en no tangible trace of this Iniilding 
for over half a century. 

Another pioneer log school house was built in the same district 
one mile southwest of the one above mentioned several years before 
the Civil \\'ar. perhaps about 1850. This school was known by different 
names but was originally called the Cox school. The Briscoe school and 
the Owings school were also organized before the Civil ^^"ar. The 
former was located in the southern part of the township and the latter 
in the eastern part. The Briscoe school, like many other buildings, was 
burned during the Civil War. During the war all the schools in ^ the 
township were discontinued. 

Some of the pioneer teachers of Centerview township were : Alex- 
ander Gibbs, Addison Van Ausdol. J. J. Graham and ]\loses G. Mullins. 

The Graham school, a prixate institution, supported by subscription, 
was the first school organized after the Ci\'il \\"ar. The house was a 
small frame building erected in 1866 by donations from Samuel C. 
Graham, James Peak and others. G. H. Sack, who afterwards became 
county superintendent of the sciiools of Johnson county, was the teacher. 
This was the only school in the township for some time and pupils 
from a radius of six or seven miles attended school here. In 1868. the 
Centerview school district was organized and purchased tliis private 
school house and J. C. Crawford was employed to teach tlie school, 
being paid from pul^lic funds. In 1872 this school was organized as 
a graded school and remox-ed to tlie town of Centerx'iew. John E. 
Hendrix was the first principal and was followed JDy George Brinker- 
hoff, Mr. Wester, Professor Reynolds, Rev, S. H. McElvaine, H. \V. 
Roop and W. L. Shipp. 

Early Churches. — Centerview township was active in church organi- 
zation during the early pioneer days. 

The old Smyrna churcii, f(.Hir miles southwest of the village of 



2S4 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Centerview, \\as the oldest church iDuilding in tlie township. It was 
a log structure thirty feet square and was known as the Free Church. 
It was built in 1840, and has long since disappeared, but was one of 
the famous churches of the early days. Some of the pioneer preachers 
who helil services here were Joseph A\'hite, A\'illiani P. C. Caldwell, 
Amos Horn, a Baptist minister, J. B. Morrow, of the Cumberland 
Presbyterian church, and Robert Glenn, a Presbyterian minister. 

The Cumberland Presbyterian church was organized in 1833 by 
Rev. J. R. Whitsett and J. B. Morrow. The following were among the 
early pastors to serve this denomination here: Reverends J. R. Whit- 
sett, J. B. Morrow, S. Finis King, A. A. Van Ausdol, J. \V. Means, 
William F. Gordon, Walter Schenck and S. H. McElvaine. Among the 
early members were Philip Houx and family, S. C. Graham and family, 
John S. Graham and family. Rev. J. R. Whitsett and family, James 
J. Graham and family. Pleasant Carmichael and family. 

The Baptist, Brethren, Methodist, Presbyterian and negro Metho- 
dist churches were all organized before 1880 and are still in existence. 
They are covered in the general church chapters in this book. 

Official Records, Statistics, Justices. — The justices of the peace in 
Centerview tnwnshi]i as far back as the records go. with the dates of 
their election, are: 1878, George \A'ashington, J. W. Davenport: 1882, 
AA'. L. Shipp, A. M. Repp: 1886, R. B. Wright, J. W. Davenport; 1890, 
R. B. Wright, R. C. Brownlee: 1892, H. Jackson: 1894. R. B. Wright: 
1896, J. C. Oliver: 1898, R. B. Wright;" 1902, R. B. Wright, A. D. 
Gowans: 1904, V. D. AVashington; 1906, R. B. AA' right, John Smith: 1910, 
A. D. Gowan: 1914. Howard Graham. 

County Officers. — The following county officers have been elected 
from the township since 1882: 1886, AA'illiam A. Porter (Republican), 
recorder: 1898, Robert B. Graham (Democrat), county judge: 1902. 
AA". L. Shipp (Democrat), appointed school superintendent: 1905-1907- 
1909, A\'. L. Ship]) (Democrat), elected school superintendent. 

Population. — United States Census statistics for Centerview town- 
ship are as follow: 

A\-hite. Colored. Total. 1880 1890 1900 1910 
Population __ 1340 22 1362 1583 1622 1540 1396 

Personal Property. — Early ]n-oducts, agriculture and personal jirop- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSOX COUNTY 



erty statistics, as given l:>y 


Missouri 


state re 


)orts for 18 


-7. and I 


o]nis..n 


county assessors' lists for 


18'^6 and 


I'JK) a I 


c: 








1877 




1877 


1896 


1916 


Wheat. l)ushels 


32.200 


Morses 


_-.. 712 


839 


1,107 


Corn, bushels 


_252,7SO 


.Mules 


.— 296 


261 


407 


Oat^ Inishels 


_ '4.4 M 


Cattle 


1.878 


1 .663 


^781 


Barlev bushels 




Sheep 
Hogs . 


1 .039 


843 




Rve. bushels 


- 1.74^) 


3.306 


2,947 


:\372 




'3o 


Asses 




1/2 


15 


\\"ool pounds 


_ 2.451 










_ 1.083 
8^9 














Wine, srallons 


none 











1896 1916 

Notes and money $ 46.679 8105,463 

Bank stock 11.870 13.074 

Other personalty 31.889 70.320 

All personalty 154.735 269.889 

Road Improvements. — Permanent county road improvements made 
by the township since this system was established, up to January 1, 1918, 
were twenty-one in number and aggregated $1,159.50 furnished by the 
citizens of the township, and $1,150 by the county. In the amount of this 
work Centerview ranks eighth among the townships of the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organiza- 
tions of every kind in Centerview township. Full details of each organi- 
zation are in this book in separate chapters on the ditTerent organiza- 
tions: 

Churches— Baptist (\'itae Springs), Brethren. Cumberland Presby- 
terian. Methoflist, Presbyterian. 

Negro Churches — Baptist. Methodist. 

Fraternal Organizations — Modern A\'oodmen. 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross, Centerview Branch. 

Homemakers' Clubs — Briscoe. Glendale. Gowens. Willing Workers. 

Miscellaneous — Clover Leaf Club, Village Improvement Club. 

Business — Bank of Centerview. 

Organizations, Families — Much of the history of the township and 



286 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

many items of general and personal interest are primarily parts of the 
history of the families and organizations of the township and will be 
found in this book under the history of the families and organizations. 
Both are fully indexed by names and townships. 

Total nuniljer of organizations in township is sixteen. 

CENTERVIEW. 

Centerview town is a thriving and progressive village on the Mis- 
souri Pacific railroad between Warernsburg and Holden. It was founded 
in 1865. when the Pacific railroad was built. The postoffice here was 
established with the laying out of the town and Elhanan Roop was the 
first postmaster. 

Centerview is surrounded on its four sides b)' some of the best 
farming and stock raising country in this section. 

It has a bank, high school, four churches, two negro churches and 
houses representing all the leading businesses. 

The town is incorporated and the following are its officers since 
then : 

Chairmen.— 1913-14, A. D. Gowans; 1915-16, C. G. Huggins; 1917- 
18, J. F. Zoucha. 

Trustees.— 1913-14, C. G. Huggins, W. H. Sherrick, E. B. Roop, J. 
R. Bozarth: 1915-16, J. F. Zoucha, A. G. Middleton, R. C. Hull; 1917- 
18, E. C. Smith, A. D. Gowans, Herbert Scott. 

Clerks.— 1913-14, R. C. Hull; 1915-16, E. C. Smith; 1917-18, W. 
B. Gowans. 

Collectors and Treasurers.— 1913-16, E. P. Hering; 1917-18, C 
G. Huggins. 

Marshals.— 1913-14, J. T. Zoucha; 1915-16, W. B. Gowans; 1917- 
18, A. G. Middleton. 



CHAPTER XXVII.— SIMPSON TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION, NAMING — GEOGRAPHY — SOIL — EARLY SETTLEMENTS — EARLY 
PHYSICIANS— EARLY POSTOFFICES— EARLY' SCHOOLS — EARLY CEMETERIES 
—EARLY CHURCHES— JUSTICES — COUNTY OFFICERS — POPULATION — PER- 
SONAL PROPERTY AND PRODUCTS— COUNTY ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— OR- 
GANIZATIONS. 

Simpson townsliip was organized January 23. 1875. It was named 
for James Simpson, one of its early settlers. Some of its territory was 
included in Montserrat township. 

Geography. — Area, about 46^ square miles, or 29,760 acres. Geo- 
graphically, Simpson township is divided by four streams, running nearly 
east and all converging on the eastern side into Blackwater. These 
streams are (Mulkey Creek, Flagstaff. Blackjack, and Blackwater itself. 

Soil. — According to the United States Department of Agriculture's 
Soil Survey of 1914, the chief soils of the township consist of ordinary 
bottom soil (Osage silt loam), along these streams, then on each side 
of the bottom an irregular strip from one-fourth to one mile wide of 
"sandy" soil, and then next to this, "black limestone" soil (Summit silt 
loam) in the regions between Mulkey, Flagstaff and Blackjack, and 
"mulatto" soil (Pettis silt loam 1 on the upland between Blackjack and 
Blackwater. 

These soils, in detail, are: 

Boone silt loam, upland, about 45 per cent, of the township or 20^ 
square miles: lies chiefly next to the bottom, as above indicated. 

Summit silt loam, upland, about 7 square miles or 15 per cent.; 
lies as above indicated, next to and above the Boone silt loam. 

Pettis silt loam, upland, about 5^2 square miles or 12 per cent.; 
lies chiefly in the southwest corner of the township between Blackwater 
and Blackjack. 

Bates silt loam, upland, about one square mile or 2 per cent. ; occu- 
pies an area of about one square mile with its southwest corner at Foster 
school house, in section 7, township 47, range 25. 

Osage silt loam, ordinary bottom soil, about lli/^ square miles 
or 25 per cent. : lies along the four creeks. 



288 HISTORY OF JOHXSON COUNTY 

Miscellaneous, about one square mile or 2 per cent; (1) upland of 
small patches of Crawford silt loam; (2) second bottoms of Chariton 
silt loam, and Roberts\'ille silt loam; and (3) first liottom of Osage silty 
clay loam. 

Of the foregoing, the Summit silt loam, Pettis silt loam and Craw- 
ford silt loam are ranked as the best three common upland soils in the 
county, with the Bates silt loam next, and the Osage silt loam as the 
best first bottom soil. 

For further soil details see chapter on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — Stephen Bleirus is said to have been the first 
settler. He settled about 1830 on Haw branch in the eastern part of 
section 29. He was described as an "unpolished pioneer, full of viva- 
city, who cared little for how the world moved, and was generous and 
kind." 

One of the first settlers of Simpson township was James Simpson, 
from whom it derives its name. He was a native of Virginia and settled 
in what is now Simpson township with his mother, Mrs. Sarah Simpson, 
a widow, in 1832. Simpson was a wealthy man for those times and when 
he and his mother came here they brought with them a number of negro 
slaves. Mr. Simpson entered something over a section of government 
land where he followed farming and stock raising on an extensive scale. 
He was one of the first to introduce fine stock in his neighborhood, which 
he brought from Kentucky. 

Simpson was a bachelor. He was a great reader and his library 
and hunting dogs were his principal sources of amusement. He was 
not the type of pioneer hunter who pursued the chase in the prosaic 
way but he always kept a pack of greyhounds and hunted the deer and 
other wild animals in his own original and exciting way. He died in 
1861 and his mother departed this life the same year. 

Most of the families in this neighborhood were said to be related 
to the Simpsons in various degrees of kinship, .\mong them were the 
Browns, Ramseys, Youngs, Shepherds, Collins, Fosters, Herndons, Rob- 
erts, Roaches. Hanleys, Cheathams, Offetts, Profitts, ]\lulkeys and Col- 
berns. 

William Simpson, a brother of James, was a negro slave dealer in 
Kentucky and was murdered by robbers prior to the Civil War. James 
B. Simpson, a nephew of James Simpson, was a captain in the Con- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 289 

federate army during the Civil War. At tiie close of the war he returned 
to Johnson county and kept a hotel in W'arrensburg for a time. He died 
in Columbus township. 

Judge John Thornton settled here in 1834. He entered government 
land and built a log house, spending the remainder of his life here. He 
died in 1845. He was a substantial citizen and served as one of the 
county judges. 

J. j\I. A\'ood came here in 1834. He died in 1851 and was buried in 
the Thornton cemetery. He married a daughter of Judge Thornton. 
His two living sons are R. H. Wood, former county judge, now living 
in Warrensburg, and W. AA'. \A'ood, former circuit judge, now living 
in Okmulgee, Oklahoma. 

Charles Proctor Collins came here from Iventucky in 1835. He was 
born in Logan county, that state, in 1809. Shortly after coming here 
he entered a thousand acres of land upon which he built a log cabin, 
which remained as a relic of pioneer days for a number of years. He 
was a strong character and a typical frontiersman. 

Alexander Greer settled here in 1838 and he and his brother, Jerome, 
started a store on the Blackwater near what was then Davis' mill. How- 
ever, they soon disposed of this business and engaged e.\tensi\'ely in 
the stock business and at the time of his death, April 10, 1881, Alex- 
ander Greer was one of the well-to-do men of the county. He was a 
native of Berkeley county, Virginia, born August 25, 1810. His wife 
was a Miss Clay, of Alleghenj' county, Maryland, to whom he was mar- 
ried in 1837. They were the parents of fifteen children, ten daughters 
and five sons. At the time of his death he owned three thousand acres 
of land. 

Other early settlers were George P. Angel, who came in 1836, 
from Logan county. Iventucky, and entered considerable land ; James 
S. Brown, who built in 1842; Rev. Amos Horn. Baptist minister and 
first count}' judge ; James M. Foster. Sr. : John Anderson, half brother 
of AV. H. Anderson, who was the father of Dr. James L Anderson; 
James H. Narron and \A^. H. Narron. 

Early Physicians. — Among the early physicians of this township 
was Dr. Hamilton C. Davis. He had a good practice. He also built 
a grist mill, which for a number of years was known as the Davis Mill. 
Later it was purchased by AA^illiam Kirkpatrick and became known as the 

do) 



290 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Kirkpatrick Mill. At first this was a water-power mill, but later was 
converted into a steam mill. Dr. J. T. Case, lately deceased, located in 
the township in 1876. 

Early Postoffices. — Simpson township contains one small village 
which at first was known as Millford, taking its name from a ford across 
the Blackwater near the Dayis mill and was the first postoffice. Later 
the village was known as Grover, and now appears on the map as 
Valley City. Merchants who kept store here from time to time during 
the early days were J. Greer, William Kirkpatrick, Ed. A. Strickland, 

C. Potlett, J. Soister, John Strickland, William Tolbert, William C. Cook, 
T. M. McDonald and Edward Blake. The voting precinct was here 
until 1873, when the new township was created, when the voting place 
of Simpson township was changed to Lynn scliool house. 

A postoffice was established at Millford about 1850, but after the 
Civil War the name was changed to Grover, in honor of Col. Benjamin 
W. Grover, an officer who was mortally wounded in the battle of Lex- 
ington, Missouri. During the Civil War the office was discontinued and 
re-established in 1870 and lasted till general rural service. William 
Kirkpatrick, William Cook and Thomas McDonald were early post- 
masters here. 

Simpson postoffice was established January 16, 1880, at the resi- 
dence of R. H. Wood in the northeast part of section 29 and Mrs. Sarah 

D. Wood served as postmistress until the office was discontinued in 
1881. 

The earliest road in the township was from Knob Noster to Inde- 
pendence and crossed Blackwater at the old Davis mill and then con- 
tinued westward. 

Early Schools. — In Simpson township, the schools probably preceded 
the churches. Perhaps the first school house within the borders of 
what is now Simpson township was a log structure located on Simp- 
son Ridge, near what later was known as the Lynn school house. James 
Simpson, C. P. and Washington Collins lived in this neighborhood. 
Children attended this school from a radius of three to five miles. In 
the early days the school was nicknamed "Flagstafif Academy" by its 
pioneer patrons. Another early-day log school house was built on the 
prairie in section 29. This also was a primitive structure, 16 x 16 feet 
in size with a door which swung on wooden hinges with a wooden 
latch. The benches were made of split logs and light was admitted 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY Jyl 

through a hole in the side of the building and such a thing as window 
glass was unknown. In 1855, a frame building, with two windows anil 
a door, was erected to succeed the old log structure. 

Among the early teachers of this township were Dr. T. Bradford, 
Dave Horn, W. L. Hornbuckle, J. AI. Shepherd, George P. Angel, Z. T. 
Davis, Alexander Marr, A. B. and James Harrison. Later, the following 
school districts were established: 

Alason, in 1868. Teachers were S. Swan, Lot Coffman, S. H. 
McElvaine, J. AL Crutchfield, Alollie Fulton. J. W. AIcGiven, James John- 
son, W. RifTey, A. J. Sparks, Sallie Young, G. AL Shanton, Lizzie 
AlcClung, Peter Lynch. 

Lynn, 1868. Early teachers were J. Smith, Henry Harman, J. 
Pennington, N. AlcPherson, John AI. Christy, Irwin Granger, J. W- 
Branch, Dora Foster, Alary Brown, Laura Lutz. M. B. Cole, R. Reavis, 
A. J. Trapp, T. P. Reid, Laura Graham. 

Alilford, 1875. Early teachers were Ed. Blake, Julia Lutz. Alary 
Carroll, Isham F. Tanner, AI. Fannie Narron, George W. Couch. 

Bowman. 1860. School was burned and rebuilt since the Civil War. 
Early teachers were Major Humphreys, Dr. William Dobson. Jacob 
Alotsinger, Maggie LeMar, L. Rush, Mr. Jones, John W. Christy, 
William Sharp, James AlcCluney, George Amick, James Thomas. 

At Eureka school on Mulkey creek, J. W. Branch. G. M. Shanton 
and Miss Fannie Narron were teachers. 

A negro school was built in 1870. burned in 1874 and rebuilt in 
1878. on Flagstaff creek. 

Early Cemeteries. — The following early cemeteries were located in 
Simpson township: Oak Grove cemetery, which was established in 
1855. John Roberts was the first to be interred here. Foster ceme- 
tery located on section 4. Thornton cemetery, an old family graveyard 
on the Taggart farm. There were other private burial grounds located 
in various sections of the township. 

Early Churches. — There were few religious organizations closely 
following the early settlement of this section of the county. However, 
now and then a circuit rider would preach the gospel in private residences 
at long intervals. Some of these pioneer preachers were \Villiam P. C. 
Caldwell, Robert A. Foster, one of the earlv ministers of the Methodist 



292 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Episcopal Church, South; William Duvall, a Baptist; John White and 
Amos Horn and Reverend Mr. Brooks. John Warder and Robert 
Morrow also preached here at an early day. 

Oak Grove Cumberland Presbyterian church was organized March 
30, 1855, by Rev. J. B. Morrow, and other pioneer ministers who preached 
here were J. H. Houx, Albert A. Moore, J. A. Prather and W. T. Gillam. 
The following were the first members of this organization here : George 
Hoffman, Mary Hoffman, Louisa Hofifman, Bedford Brown, Polly A. 
Brown, Rebecca Walker, Sarah Roberts, John Roberts, James G. Sud- 
dath, Elizabeth Suddath, Elizabeth Roach. Virginia Hargrave, B. F. 
Suddath, Caroline Therrington, Margaret Hanley, Nancy Whitsett, 
Elizabeth Hornbuckle, James S. Brown, John W. Brown and Sarah J. 
Brown. 

The Methodist Episcopal church. South, was organized about 1855, 
with the following members: Mrs. E. Fitzpatrick, John McCluney, 
Charity Atherton, Sarah Simpson, Mrs. S. Brown, Jacob L. Nefif, Cathe- 
rine Nefif, John Atherton and Margaret Dobson. This place was in 
what was known as Columbus circuit as early as 1843, and was one 
of the preaching points of the circuit riders of that day. The following 
are some of the early circuit riders who preached here : Robert A. 
Blakey, W. M. Pitts, Josiah McCary. John Bond, L. P. SicelofY, J. P. 
Gibson, W. S. Woodard, E. W. Woodard, L. Phillips, L. H. Vandiber 
and L. W. Pierce. 

Mount Herman Disciples church was organized in 1878 by C. A. 
Hedrick and the following year the building was dedicated by him. The 
first pastor here was C. A. Hedrick, who visited the place once a month 
for the first year. G. R. Hand, well known in the pioneer days as one 
of the ablest preachers of this section, then took charge. 

The Baptists and Methodist Episcopal church also had small organi- 
zations here in the early days. 

The Disciples organized a Sunday school in 1880. In 1870 a union 
Sunday school was organized in this township. G. W. Shanton. Robert 
Miller, Mr. Wriston, A. J. Sparks, and Martin Huston were superin- 
tendents. 

Lynn School Sunday school was organized in 1876 by A. J. Sparks 
and conducted for two years, with fine results. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far back as the county records show, with dates of their election. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 293 

Earlier justices are said to have been Frank jMcChurey, from 1865 to 
1876; James Simpson, A. Kirkpatrick, E. A. Strickland, and M. E. 
Donaldson; 1878, T. F. :\IcDonaId, William F. Wriston ; 1880. R. 
Stosberg; 1882, A. D. Blake, R. J. Pool; 1886, James Narron, R. J. 
Pool; 1890, William Lazenby, R. J. Pool; 1894, William Lazenby, J. 
H. Narron; 1896, William Lanham; 1898. B. L. Riley, Joe E. Johnson; 
1902, B. L. Riley, Joe E. Johnson; 1904, William Lazenby; 1906, William 
Lazenby, T. J. Foster; 1908. James H. Cantrell, B. L. Riley; 1910. B. 
L. Riley, T. H. Myers; 1912, Ben F. Bell; 1914. J. H. Reggers. T. H. 
Myers. 

County Officers. — The following are the county officers who have 
been elected from the township since 1882, with the dates of their elec- 
tion: 

1890-92— William H. H. Collins (Democrat), sheriff. 

1890 — James H. Parker (Democrat), representative. 

1904-06 — R. H. Wood (Democrat), county judge. 

1916 — R. F. Boone (Democrat), assessor. 

Population. — The population of Simpson township, by L^nited States 
Census, was : 

1880 1890 19(10 1910 

978 1.055 1,127 1,106 

Personal Property and Products. — Agriculture and personal property 
statistics for Simpson township, as given by Alissouri State Report for 
1877. and Johnson county assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916 are: 

1877 1877 1896 1916 

^\•heat. bushels 21.057 Horses 4.59 486 657 

Corn, bushels 100.816 Mules _______ 154 213 395 

Oats, bushels 3.476 Cattle 1.832 1.099 1.691 

Tobacco, pounds 18.142 Sheep 630 47 211 

Wool, pounds 1,328 Hogs 1.761 1.513 2.438 

Hay, tons 276 Asses none 7 11 

Molasses, gallons 18.040 ' 

1896 1916 

Notes and money $ 6,085 $ 27,7.50 

Other personalty 13,010 17,120 

All personalty 1 57,895 124,355 



294 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Simpson township since this system was established in 1911, were up to 
January 1, 1918, eighteen in number, and aggregated $963 furnished by 
citizens of the township, and $940 furnished by the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of every kind in Simpson township. Full details of each organization 
are in separate chapters on the different organizations. 

Churches — Baptist, Mt. Zion ; Christian, Valley City ; Cumberland 
Presbyterian, Oak Grove; Methodist, Oak Grove: Union. Fair Oak; Mt. 
Olive (colored). 

1917 War Organizations — Red Cross, Hoffman Branch. 

Total number of organizations in township is seven. 



CHAPTER XXVIII.— MONTSERRAT TOWNSHIP. 

ORGANIZATION' — GEOGRAPHY — SOIL — EARLY SKTTLEIIENTS — EARLY' CHURCHES 
—EARLY CEMETERIES— EARLY' MILL: GALLAHER'S MILL — EARLY' SCHOOLS 
—JUSTICES— COUNTY OFFICERS— POPULATION— PERSONAL PROPERTY AND 
PRODUCTS— COUNTY' ROAD IMPROVEMENTS— ORGANIZATIONS — MONTSER- 
RAT. 

Montserrat township, the last political subdivision of Johnson county 
to be organized, was created by county court order of August 6, 1890. 
The territory comprising this township was taken chiefly from the town- 
ship of Washington and a small portion from the townships of Simpson 
and Grover. 

Geography. — Area, about 41 square miles, or 26,240 acres. Geo- 
graphically, Montserrat township is composed of the bod}- of upland, 
lying between the two streams of Clear Fork and Bear creek, as both 
flow north toward Blackwater. According to the United States Depart- 
ment of Agriculture's Soil Survey of 1914, the north third of this upland 
is smooth "black limestone" soil (Summit silt loam), extending from 
Montserrat town north to Blackwater bottom. The south two-thirds are 
chiefly broken ridges of "sandy" soil (Boone silt loam), with strips and 
patches of Summit silt loam, Crawford silt loam ("red limestone" soil) 
and Oswego silt loam (gray soil). 

Soil. — The to\vnship's soils in detail are: 

Boone silt loam, upland, of sandstone origin : about 22y2 square 
miles or 55 per cent, of the township: the largest proportion of this soil 
of any township in the county. It lies over the whole township, but 
chiefly in the south two-thirds. 

Summit silt loam, upland : about 8}4 square miles or 20 per cent. 
It lies chiefly in the north third of the township. 

Crawford silt loam, upland: about lj4 square miles or 4 per cent. 
It lies chiefly in a quarter mile wide strip, running about one mile north 
from Bristle Ridge store (which is one-third of a mile west of the south- 
east corner of section 3. township 45. range 27). and in a slightly nar- 
rower strip running from one-half mile southeast of Montserrat town 
southwesterlv about 3 miles. 



296 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Oswego silt loam, upland; about I34 square miles or 3 per cent. It 
lies in an irregular strip about one-quarter mile wide running from one- 
quarter mile south of Bristle Ridge store, south about two miles. 

Osage silt loam, the ordinary bottom ; about 6 square miles or 
15 per cent. It lies chiefly along Clear Fork in the southeast and Bear 
creek in the northwest. 

Chariton silt loam, second bottom ; about three-quarters square mile 
or 2 per cent. ; lies in a body one-half mile wide and about one mile long, 
north and south on west side of Clear Fork, running north from where 
public road crosses Clear Fork about one and a quarter miles northeast 
of Montserrat. 

Miscellaneous, chiefly upland; 1 per cent. This is chiefly Boone 
gravelly loam (rough and gravelly) joining the east side of the Craw- 
ford silt loam strip by Alontserrat and joining both sides of the Craw- 
ford strip by Bristle Ridge store. Aggregates about three-quarters 
square mile. 

Of the foregoing the Summit silt loam and Crawford silt loam are 
ranked in the l)est three common upland soils of the county. 

For further soil details see chapters on Agriculture and Soils. 

Early Settlements. — One of the first settlers in what is now Mont- 
serrat township was John Mayes. He was a Pennsylvanian, born in 
that state December 19, 1791, and in early life removed with his parents, 
to Virginia and later to Kentucky. He settled at what is now Mont- 
serrat town in 1835. No improvements had been made in this section 
of the country up to that time and even the county had not been 
organized. He remained here about three years, during which time 
this county was organized and the county seat located at W'arrensburg. 
In 1838 he went to W'arrensburg, where he operated a wool-carding 
machine for a time, and also conducted a hotel. In 1840 he returned 
to Montserrat township, where he spent the remainder of his life and 
died March 4, 1881. County Judge J. B, Mayes and A. S. Mayes, 
both deceased, were his sons, and Mayor William J. Alayes and Presi- 
dent F. A. Mayes, of the Commercial Bank, are grandsons. He was 
one of the substantial citizens of that section of the county which now 
comprises Montserrat township and bad nnich to do with the develop- 
ment of this part of the county. 

William Gaut was also an earlv settler in the vicinitv of ]\Iont- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 297 

serrat. He became a large landowner and took a prominent part in 
early-day politics. 

Early Churches. — Lea's chapel and Alary's chapel were the two 
earliest churches of this township. Lea's chapel. Methodist Episcopal 
Church, South, was organized in 1840 at the residence of Dr. J. L. 
Lea and in 1861 this organization erected a building about a mile 
south of jMontserrat near where Dr. J. A. Lea resided. The follow- 
ing were some of the pioneer preachers who served this congrega- 
tion: Reverends \\'. M. Protsman, James Porter, Williain Brown, Sice- 
lofY. T. Tolbert, \\'. H. Kelly. L. Pulliam, W. S. \\'oodard. W. M. 
Bewley, and M. Duren. The first members of this congregation were : 
May Hargraves. Robert H. and James E. Lea, VV. H. DeArman, Mar- 
garet Robinson, Dr. J. L. Lea and Mrs. Harriet Lea. 

Mary's Chapel, Cumberland Presbyterian church of Montserrat 
was organized November 5, 1859. by Reverend J. B. Morrow. The 
first church building which was erected shortly after the organization 
stood a few miles southwest of the village of Montserrat. The fol- 
lowing ministers preached here in the pioneer days of this congrega- 
tion: Reverends J. B. ]\Iorrow. J. H. Hou.x, R. S. Reed, \\'. Compton. 
D. M. K. Barnett, S. H. McElvaine, G. D. Gibbons, Levi Henshaw, 
David Hogan, J. R. Whitsett, and J. Cal. Littrell. The original mem- 
bers of this congregation were Jolm iMayes, G. Hugh Robinson, J. T. 
Gillum and J. B. Mayes. 

Early Cemeteries. — Lea's cemetery is located about a mile south 
of the village of ^lontserrat and Thomas J. Lea was buried here 
January 2, 1859, which was the first burial in this cemetery. This 
cemetery originally consisted of one acre which was set apart by order 
of court for burial purposes. It was donated for that purpose by Rev. 
H. R. Lea. Another burying ground is located on the southeast corner 
of section 10, ^Montserrat township and perhaps the first burying ground 
in the present borders of Montserrat township is located near the north- 
west corner of section 25 and was known as the Adams burying ground. 
This ground was used for burial purposes as early as 1844. Mayes' 
cemetery, located on section 23, was a private burial ground. 

Early Mill — Gallaher's Mill. — One of the earliest mills in the county 
was Gallaher's mill on Clear Fork, in section 6, in this township. This 
mill was built by ^^'illiam Cheek in 1830 or 1831 and belonged success- 
ively to James A. Gallaher. Montville Huft" and Colonel Morton Thomp- 



298 ' HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

son. There was a store, mill and gun shop here and it was a favorite 
resort of the pioneers. It was the voting place for Washington town- 
ship before Knob Noster was built. 

Early Schools. — After the days of the pioneer schools in the old 
log cabins, Montserrat school in the village of Montserrat was one of 
the early present schools. It was first erected in 1868. Among the 
pioneer teachers who taught here were John McKeehan Mrs. D. A. 
McCormick, J. P. Wallace, A. J. Sparks and John Bryne. 

Justices. — The following are the justices of the peace of the town- 
ship as far back as the county court records show, with dates of their 
election: 1890, W. H. Anderson, R. O. Hudson; 1892, F. B. Freeman; 
1894, W. H. Anderson, L. J. Hosman; 1896, R. J. Walker; 1898, L. J. 
Hosman, E. B. Rogers; 1902, John O'Connor, John Murphy; 1904, 
Walter Hayes; 1906, Walter Hayes, John T. Dofflemyer; 1910, C. F. 
Scruggs, W. B. Skidmore; 1914, Robert Livergood, Robert Walker. 

County Officers. — The following are the county officers who have 
been elected from the township since its organization in 1890. with 
dates of their election: 

1890-92 — Isaiah Hanna (Democrat), county judge. 

1900-1902— P. D. Fitch (Democrat), county judge. 

1900-1902— R. F. Gillum (Democrat), collector. 

1906 — Eura J. McCormack (Democrat), circuit clerk. 

1914 — Charles G. Goodnight (Democrat), recorder. 

1916 — Joseph F. McGuire (Democrat), surveyor. 

Population. — The population of Montserrat township, by United 
States Census, was: 

1900 1910 

1,183 965 

Personal Property and Products. — Live stock and personal property 
statistics for Montserrat township, as given by the Johnson county 
assessors' lists for 1896 and 1916, are: 

1896 1916 

Horses 576 489 

Mules 218 306 

Cattle 1,132 1,611 

;• Sheep 127 535 

Hogs 1,355 1,013 

Asses 3 9 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 299 

Money and notes $11,653 $ 24.705 

Other personalty 9.655 13.900 

All personalty 59.930 101,885 

County Road Improvements. — County road improvements made by 
Alontserrat township since this system was established in 1911, were up 
to January 1. 1918. fourteen in number, and aggregated $779 furnished 
by the citizens of the township, and $777.50 furnished by the county. 

Organizations. — The following is a complete list of all organizations 
of every kind in Alontserrat township. Full details of each organization 
are in this book in separate chapters on the different organizations. 

Churches — Baptist. IMontserrat : Baptist. Pleasant Point; Baptist, 
New Bethel: Christian, Oak Plill : Cumlierland Preslnterian. Methodist 
South. Montserrat. 

1917 War Organizations — Retl Cross. Montserrat Branch. 

Fraternal Organizations — Modern \\'oodmen. Montserrat. 

Miscellaneous — Homemakers Clul). Oak Grove; Homemakers Club. 
Sunnyside. 

Total number of organizations in township is ten. 

MONTSERRAT. 

"Montserrat" was an old world name given to the town by James 
A. Gallaher wdien he laid it out. The township received the same name. 
Montserrat is on the main line of the Missouri Pacific railroad about 
six miles east of Warrensburg. It is in section 13, township 46. range 
25 and was laid out August 24. 1870, by John A. Gallaher. It is in the 
midst of a valuable coal field and coal has been mined in this vicinity 
for a number of years. Mines were first worked about 1863. the first 
mining being done in drifts along the Clear Fork creek. The first 
shafts were sunk in this vicinity in 1866 by the Missouri Pacific Rail- 
road Coal Company and other companies and private individuals have 
operated here with varying degrees of success for the past fifty years. 
In the earlv historv of the village of ^Montserrat. the following were 
among the first business men: W. H. Anderson, was a carpenter and 
justice of the peace; C. B. Baker kept a saloon, and was also postmaster; 
Thomas Boyd was a merchant and coal operator: John A. Gallaher 
was a coal operator: Dr. John W. Gallaher was a physician: Dr. J. L. 
Lea was also a physician : Lea & Gallaher kept a drug store : Lea & 
Mayes kept a grocery store: S. J. LaRue also kept a grocery store; 
H. B. McCracken was a drayman; and D. S. Williams kept a butcher 



300 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

shop. J. C. Cooper (colored, an ex-Union soldier and a good man) 
was one of the pioneer blacksmiths. There seems to have been a 
surplus of saloons in the town in the early days. In addition to the 
postmaster, John Gibson, George James and George Penn kept saloons 
here at the same time. 

Montserrat now has three churches, one negro church, white and 
negi-o schools, physician, good stores and blacksmith shop. 

Its population in 1910 was 157. 



CHAPTER XXIX.— POLITICAL. 

POLITICAL TEMPERATURE OF JOHNSON COUNTY— BEFORE THE CIVIL WAR- 
CIVIL WAR— AFTER THE CIVIL WAR— SPECIAL SERVICE— DEVELOPMENT. 

The political temperature of Johnson county has passed through 
all degrees of intensity, varying from the heat of war-time days when 
men shot as they thought, politically, to the cool and conservative 
stage of voting for a candidate purely on account of his fitness for 
the office which he sought. 

Before the Civil War. — When Johnson county was organized in 1834 
two great national parties were Democrats and Whigs. The new 
county of Johnson was made up of a majority of Democrats. The 
Democratic and \A'hig parties continued to be the dominant contend- 
ing political forces from the organization of the county until about 
1855. At this time the Know-nothing party became quite a factor 
and in 1856 Thomas P. Akers of Lexington was elected to Congress 
from this district on the Know-nothing ticket, and practically the entire 
Democratic ticket of Johnson county was defeated by the \\nTigs. 

Between 1856 and 1860 the constitutional LTnion party came into 
existence, but never attained any great organization in the county. 
During that period the opposition to the Democratic party in this county 
consisted of a fusion of the old Whig and Know-nothing parties. In the 
election of 1860, the National Democratic party was divided into the 
Douglas and the Breckenridge wings, and the Constitutional Union 
party carried the county. Abraham Lincoln, candidate of the Repub- 
lican party, received two votes for President in Johnson county at 
this election. 

Civil War. — When the Civil War broke out, in 1861, all former 
party lines were obliterated. Some men who had been staunch Demo- 
crats and pro-slavery men became strong Union men and others who 
had been Whigs, many of them from the North, took sides with the 
new Confederacy and became ardent supporters of the South. Even 
brothers differed on the great question which had finally forced itself 



302 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

to an issue. The first election held after the election of Lincoln was 
for the purpose of electing delegates to a state constitutional conven- 
tion to decide whether Missouri should secede from the Union. John- 
son county elected delegates favoring the Union. This election was 
held in February, 1861. 

But still matters were unsettled. After the capture of camp Jack- 
son in May, 1861, many who had supported the cause of the Union 
and voted for the Union delegates in February, immediately became 
ardent supporters of the Confederacy, and after President Lincoln had 
delivered his inaugural address, many who had supported the Southern 
cause up to that time became enthusiastic in their support of the Union. 
What a man's politics had been in the past was no criterion as to what 
position he would take now. Democrats, old line Whigs and Know- 
nothings went side by side into both parties and both armies. 

Shortly after the beginning of the war the Republican party was 
organized in this county. By an act of the Constitutional Convention 
in 1861 and 1862 Confederate sympathizers were prohibited from voting, 
and Union men were elected to all of the county ofifices. Still, there 
was a division between the Unionists and two parties were known as 
the radicals and the conservatives. Their chief contention was as to the 
manner in which the war was to be conducted. The radical element 
was practically made up of Republicans and the conservative element 
up of war Democrats, the name given to Democrats who favored the 
Union. The radicals or the Republicans, owing to the disfranchisement 
of the Southern sympathizers, were largely in a majority during the Civil 
War and for some time afterward, and as a matter of course, held poli- 
cal control over the county. 

After the Civil War. — At the close of the war the revised con- 
stitution of Missouri, July 4, 1865, prohibited voting by those who 
could not take "the ironclad oath." This oath required the subscriber 
to " have always been truly and loyally on the side of the United States." 

Ministers, lawyers, and teachers could not follow their professions 
unless they had subscribed to a copy of the oath and filed it with the 
county clerk. It was also a condition precedent to holding office or 
serving on a jury. 

Some of the most prominent professional men of the county were 
arrested and prosecuted under this law. One notable incident was the 
arrest of Reverend J. H. Houx. He was arrested "for preaching the 



HISTORY OF JOHXSON COUNTY 3O3 

gospel." Mr. Houx was one of the prominent pioneer ministers of the 
county of the Cumberland Presbyterian faith. He was arrested in Sep- 
tember, 1866, and at the April term, 1867 the prosecuting attorney 
entered a nolle prosequi, and thus this case never came to trial . At 
the general election held in November. 1870, tlie liberal Republican move- 
ment for the abolition of the test oath carried in the county and in the 
state and by a proclamation of the go\ernor all disfranchising consti- 
tutional restrictions were removed. 

At the next general election held in Johnson county, in November, 
1872, the entire Democratic ticket of the county was elected over the 
Republicans by majorities ranging from 16 to 300. Since then, with 
scattered exceptions, the Democrats have prevailed. 

Special Service. — In the matter of individual service, the following 
interesting data is obtained from the official records. 

The man who has seen the longest single service, the longest service 
altogether, and been elected the most times, is Lon Hank, of Holden, 
who has been councilman over twenty-five years continuously, and still 
is such. Other long terms have been, as county judges: William Trapp, 
16 years and Uriel Murray, 13 years; as probate judge, W. L. Horn- 
buckle, 16 years; as justices of the peace, R. B. Wright of Centerview, 
24 years, 1886 to 1910, John W. Brown of Warrensburg and J. W. 
Greenwood and W. W. Gaunt of Holden, each twenty years, and J. .\. 
Black of Columbus, 16 years. Messrs. Greenwood and Black are still 
serving. 

The man who seemed to have held the most different of^ces was 
George W. Houts. who was constable from 1846 to 1850, assessor from 
1850 to 1854, sherifif from 1856 to 1860, representative from 1862 to 
1866, and county clerk from 1866 to 1870. He was the father of O. L. 
Houts. Judge N. M. Bradley was city attorney, prosecuting attorney, 
state senator and circuit judge. 

Development. — The chief changes that have occurred in the politics 
of the county have been the weakening of party ties and the growth of 
independent voting, especially in local elections, the decrease of per- 
sonal considerations in voting and the increase of fitness for oiifice, as a 
controlling factor in voting for men, and the increasing weight of moral 
questions in voting for measures and men. Elections are also steadily 
increasing in cleanness and absence of corruption, use of liquor, etc. 



CHAPTER XXX.— MEDICINE. 

WORK OF PHYSICIANS IN DEVELOPMENT OF JOHNSON COUNTY— CHANGES IN 
MEDICAL AND SURGICAL PRACTICES SINCE 1834— NEW METHODS OF COM- 
BATING DISEASES — EARLY PHYSICIANS — THE JOHNSON COUNTY MEDICAL 
ASSOCIATION— HOSPITALS— OSTEOPATHY. 

The physicians of Johnson county have not only devoted themselves 
to their great profession, but they have taken an active part in the 
development of the county. There has hardly been a movement for 
the upbuilding or the betterment of the community in the past in which 
we do not find that a member of the medical profession has been identi- 
fied with it in one way or another. 

In the beginning we find them active in the establishment of the 
early highways, postoffices and roads. We find their influence in the 
establishment of the early schools, churches and lodges, and we find 
them elected to ofifices of trust and responsibility at various times in 
the history of the county. 

Great have been the changes in medicine and surgery since 1834, 
when Johnson county was organized. The science has been revolu- 
tionized, and physicians have had to be students and thinkers to keep 
in touch with this wonderful advancement. The pioneer doctor generally 
rode on horseback to visit his patients, and his "calls" were, as a rule, 
a long distance away, as settlers were few and scattered over a wide 
scope of the then new country. The doctor carried his medicines and 
surgical instruments in the saddle bags. Many long night as well as 
day rides are credited to the pioneer doctor. In severe weather and on 
bad roads they often made long trips to administer to some poor suffer- 
ing pioneer when they knew that remuneration was only a remote 
possibility. 

These trips were made into the country where there were no roads. 
The doctor followed the "trail," and frequently the end of the "trail" 
was reached before the patient was. There was no such a thing as a 
"town or city practice." There were no towns or cities. Later, as 
the country became more thickly settled and roads better, the doctor 



HISTOKY OF .lOIIXSOX COUNTY 3O5 

could drive a team and buggy, and as a rule his drives were not so 
long. Towns became more plentiful and many of them had their doc- 
tors. Yet, the method of travel was "tiresome from slowness" until 
the automobile was introduced, and it is a fact worthy of note that 
physicians were among the first class of men to give the "horseless 
carriage" a practical tryout. The perfection of the automobile has not 
only been a great step in advance for the medical profession as a 
matter of speed and convenience, but it is a godsend to suffering human- 
ity when the aid of a physician is promptly needed in the more remote 
districts. 

W'hh the doctors it has I)een always live and learn. Where the law- 
yers are still following practices that have become a hindrance instead 
of a help to justice, the doctors have changed much of their practice as 
they have learned more from year to year. Some of the old remedies that 
were given most commonly, chiefly calomel and quinine, are still stand- 
ard and well proved. In other matters the practice has been reversed. 
Today, the patient is kept well nourished in all kinds of cases, except 
certain ones involving the alimentary tract, and in most fevers cold 
drinks and ice are freely used. But in the early days one of the old 
sayings was to "feed a cold and starve a fever." Patients wdth fevers 
of all kinds were given the minimum of food, and usually nothing cool- 
ing. 

Frequently the patients rebelled against such unnatural treatment, 
took matters into their own hands, and got well. Mr. John M. Crutch- 
field tells of an aunt with a fever one winter, whose situation was so 
serious that her doctor was to bring back two more physicians the 
next day. During the day she had her family bring her a lot of ice 
from outdoors, which she ate with much relish, and put some of it next 
to her. The next day she hid the ice from the doctors, and when they 
came she was so much improved that the two physicians called congratu- 
lated the family doctor on his treatment. She never told about the ice, 
but continued to use it and was soon well. 

Undoubtedly the greatest advance has been in the discovery of the 
germs and the resulting weapons to combat them. Vaccination for 
smallpox had long ago been proved a sure preventive, but it stood alone. 
Today the various kinds of anti-toxins, vaccines, serums, antiseptics and 
aseptics have saved the lives of literally thousands of Johnson county 
people. This is specially true of diphtheria, tetanus (lockjaw) and all 



306 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

kinds of blood poisoning, and to a less degree of typhoid fever, pneu- 
monia, and whooping cough. In all these matters Johnson county physi- 
cians are steadily going ahead. 

W. B. Moody, one of the prominent early citizens of Warrensburg 
(father of Mel. P. Moody, editor of the "Johnson County Democrat") 
was very sick with typhoid pneuinonia. Old Doctor Pinkston, the family 
physician, said he couldn't possibly live and asked Mrs. Moody to break 
the news to him. She would not, so the doctor himself told Mr. Moody 
his condition and that he had better prepare his affairs accordingly. 
Mr. Moody replied that he was not going to die. Dr. Pinkston said he 
was — he couldn't possibly get well and w^as sure to die. Mr. Moody 
insisted he was not and they had quite an argument. Presently the doctor 
left and Mr. Moody said as long as the doctor had given him up, he was 
going to have that pitcher of cool buttermilk out on the porch that the 
doctor wouldn't let him ha\e. He proceeded to get up out of bed, get 
the buttermilk and drink it. He began to improve and finally recov- 
ered. Mr. Mel. Moody remembers Dr. Pinkston afterward telling it 
around as a great joke on himself that Mr. Moody, Sr. had not treated 
him right and damaged his reputation very seriously by getting well. 

Early Physicians. — Perhaps the first physician to practice in John- 
son county was Dr. J. M. Fulkerson. He located at Columbus in 1834. 
He was a Virginian. l)orn in Lee county, March IS. 1811. Shortly after 
the War of 1812 the Fulkerson family removed to Tennessee . In 1829 
they came to Missouri, settling in Ray county, near what was then the 
Cherokee Nation. Doctor Fulkerson attended medical college at Cin- 
cinnati, Ohio, in 1831-32. 

When Doctor Fulkerson located at Columbus he made his home 
with Nicholas Houx, and on January 5, 1836, he was united in marriage 
with Elizabeth C, daughter of Nicholas Houx. To this union were born 
six children, who lived to maturity. 

Doctor Fulkerson accumulated considerable wealth during his time 
and when the Civil War broke out he was the owner of over three 
thousand acres of land and a number of slaves. He was active in early 
politics and was a recognized leader in the Democratic party until 1876, 
when he became a green-backer. He served one term in the state 
Legislature and three years as commissioner in bankruptcy. He served 
as surgeon in the Osage Indian War and in the Mormon War. He 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 307 

practiced his profession until he reached cpiite an advanced age. He 
spent the last few years of his life at Warrensburg in retirement. 

Dr. A\'illiam Calhoun, one of the pioneers, practiced his profession 
for many years at Warrensburg. He was not only a successful physi- 
cian but prominent in the early affairs of the county. 

Doctor Calhoun was a native of Ireland. His parents died in their 
native land when the Doctor was quite }'oung. and he came to America 
to live with an uncle, who was an extensive stock dealer and merchant. 
Doctor Calhoun was an exceptionally well-educated man. having received 
a university education before taking up the study of medicine. In 1837 
he went to Lexington, Kentucky, and was engaged in the hospital work 
for two years, and in 1839 he came to Missouri, locating at Warrens- 
burg. He immediately engaged in the practice of medicine and was 
considered a very successful physician. He took an active part in poli- 
tics. He was a member of the first city council of Warrensburg. after 
the town was incorporated in 1856. In 1844 he was elected state senator 
from the district composed of Lafayette and Johnson counties. .At the 
close of his first term he was re-elected, serving two terms. He had 
an active career. He was widely known for his honesty, integrity and 
broad charity. The last few years of his life were spent in retirement 
from active professional work. He never married. 

Dr. J- H. Warren was an early-day physician of the county. He 
was a native of Lee county. \'irginia. born Deceml)er 27. 1818. a son 
of Martin and Nancy (Hubbard) \\'arren. both natives of Virginia. 
The Warren family came to Missouri in 1819. when the doctor was 
about one year old. In 1832 they came to what is now Johnson county, 
settling on Clear Fork, where the father improved a farm, wliere he 
remained until his death in 1840. Doctor AWarren's grandfather. Martin 
Warren, was one of the first settlers on the present site of Warrens- 
burg, and the city took its name from him. 

Dr. T- H. AVarren was one of the pioneer teachers of Johnson county, 
following that vocation for three years. He then read medicine under 
Dr. William Calhoun, and later graduated from the St. Louis Medical 
College. In 1848 he practiced in Cass county. :Missouri. where he 
remained until the Civil War broke out. He then entered the Union 
army as surgeon of the Fifth Missouri State Militia, and served until 
1863. He then engaged in the practice at Knob Noster. 

Doctor Warren was twice married, his first wife being Miss Sarah. 



30S HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

daughter of John Warren, of Lafa3-ette county. His second wife bore 
the maiden name of Sue Young. Doctor \\'arren was a capable physi- 
cian and a highly respected citizen. 

Dr. B. F. Dunkley practiced medicine at an early day in Grover 
township. He settled on section 1, township 47. in 1846. In 1848 he 
started a store in connection with his profession and this was the found- 
ing of the town of Dunksburg, which took its name from Doctor Dunk- 
ley. 

Doctor Dunkley was a native of London. England, born February 
26, 1809, and when a boy his parents immigrated to America, settling 
in Washington, D. C. Here he received both his preparatory and medi- 
cal education. He went from Washington to Ohio, and in 1846 came 
to Johnson county. During the war he continued to practice medicine 
at Dunksburg, and was the only physician for a radius of several miles. 
He married a Miss Porter, of Tennessee, and they were the parents of 
three chihlren. Dr. Dunkley was successful in a financial way and was 
actively engaged in the practice of his profession until within a few 
years of his death. 

Dr. J. L. Lee was a pioneer doctor. He came here in 1844 and 
practiced at Montserrat, where he spent the remainder of his life. He 
was a nati\'e of Tennessee, born in 1829. His father. Rev. Robert H. 
Lee. was a native of North Carolina. 

Doctor Lee married Miss Tandy, a daughter of Roger Tandy, of 
Virginia, and three children, who grew to maturity, were born to this 
union: Mary Jane, married Mr. Tandy: Mrs. W. J- Mayes, of War- 
rensburg, Missouri, and Mrs. John S. Mayes. 

Doctor Lee was a member of the Methodist church and one of John- 
son county's substantial citizens. He was a successful physician and 
followed his profession until he reached cjuite an advanced age. 

Dr. C. L. Carter was the first physician to locate in the town of 
Holden. He was a native of Missouri, born in Ray county, March 1, 
1832. He began his career as a teacher. In 1851 he settled in Cass 
county and later entered the St. Louis Medical College, where he was 
graduated with honors. He settled in Holden in 1858 and erected the 
first frame residence in that town. In 1862 he entered the army as a 
surgeon. 

Doctor Carter was a successful physician and accumulated quite a 
comfortable fortune. He contributed a great many scientific articles to 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 3O9 

the leading medical journals of his time, and shortly after the war wrote 
a treatise on pathology. 

Dr. R. L. Bolton was the second i)hysician to locate in H olden, 
coming there in 1860. He was a native of North Carolina, born in 1830. 
He was a graduate of the Eclectic Medical School at Cincinnati, Ohio. 
He came to Missouri with his parents in 1831. 

Doctor Bolton was united in marriage with Miss Bradley, a daugh- 
ter of R. D. Bradley, a Johnson county pioneer. 

Dr. I. P. Randall also practiced in Holden. about 1S70. locating 
there after the Civil War. He was a native of Auburn, Xew York. 
and was reared in Ohio. He was educated in the old W'illoughljy Medi- 
cal College, located near Cleveland, Ohio, and later he attended the 
Chicago Medical College, where he was graduated. 

Dr. W. H. Carpenter, a native of Fleming county, Kentuckv, born 
July 8. 1821. began to practice in this county about 1852. He was one 
of the early physicians of Kingsville. He graduated from the Cincin- 
nati Medical College in the class of 1849. 

Dr. L. C. Miller, a native of Callaway county. Missouri, born Octo- 
ber 29. 1836. engaged in the practice at Knob Xoster in 1876. He gradu- 
ated from the JefYerson Medical College at Philadelphia. Pennsylvania, 
in the class of 1857. and was engaged in the practice of his profession 
in Shelby county prior to coming to this state. 

Dr. Sainuel Day, one of the early physicians of the county, was a 
native of Licking county, Ohio. He came to this county shortly after 
the war and engaged in the practice of his profession at Pitts\-ille. In 
1880 he located at Holden. 

Dr. J. M. Ward, for a number of years engaged in the practice of 
his profession at Cornelia, was a nati\-e of New York, born near Utica 
March 21. 1829. He was educated at tlie Collegiate Institute, Clinton. 
New York, and Harvard University. After serving two years in the 
United States navy, he entered the St. Louis Medical College, where he 
was graduated in 1856. 

Doctor A\'ard practiced in partnership with Dr. James T. Hill for 
a time and later he was associated with Dr. Lee D. Ewing. 

Dr. Lee D. Ewing was born at Lexington. Missouri. July 24, 1848. 
of Kentucky parents. His father. W. P. Ewing, was a Santa Fe trader. 

Doctor Ewing enlisted in the Thirty-second Texas Volunteers in 
1862 and served until the close of the war. Later he entered the St. 



310 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Louis Medical College, where he was graduated in 1870. In 1871 he 
engaged in the practice of his profession at Rose Hill. A year later he 
removed to Post Oak township and practiced there many years. He 
moved to Texas, where he is now living. 

Dr. Edward Schreiner, a native of Georgia, was a pioneer physician 
of Johnson county. When Doctor Schreiner was a child his parents 
removed to Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He received his preliminary 
education in that city and was graduated from the Jefferson Medical 
Institute there. In 1842 he came to Johnson county and afterward went 
to Kentucky, where he took a course in the Kentucky Medical Institute. 
He married Emily Jane Houx, a member of one of Johnson county's 
pioneer families. 

Doctor Schreiner was probably the first to undertake the organiza- 
tion of a medical association in Johnson county. However, his efforts 
in that direction were of no avail, as he perhaps was ahead of his time. 

Dr. \\'. D. Pinkston settled in this county about 1850. He was a 
Southern sympathizer and wdien the Civil War broke out he left this 
section of the county. Plowever, after the war was closed he returned 
and practiced for a time at Kingsville and later came to Warrensburg. 

Dr. R. Z. R. ^^'all, a native of Rockingham county. North Caro- 
lina, born March 29, 1810, was also an early-day physician of Johnson 
county. He received his medical education in the University of Penn- 
sylvania, and after receiving his degree from that institution returned to 
his native state. He practiced there until 1837, when he came to Mis- 
souri, locating in Henry county, and in 1840 came to Johnson county, 
locating on what was known as Bear creek. He practiced in this county 
until 1865, when he retired on account of his advanced age and was 
succeeded in his practice 1>y his nephew. Dr. R. H. Howerton. 

Doctor Wall became very well to do and at one time was the owner 
of over five thousand acres of land, most of which he divided among his 
children before his death. 

Doctor Dobbins was one of the early physicians of the county. 

Dr. C. W. Robinson and Dr. George Hunt practiced in \\'arrensburg 
after the war. 

Doctor Dunbar was also among the early physicians here. His 
widow now lives in Kansas City at the age of ninety-eight years. 

Dr. J. B. AIcGirk and Drs. Duncan and Morrison practiced in Chil- 
howee township at an early day. 

Dr. .\. W. Reese, a native of Indiana and a graduate of the Ken- 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 3II 

tucky School of Medicine, eng-aged in the practice in litis county quite 
early. He came to Missouri in 1855 and engaged in the practice of 
his profession and in 1858 went td Saline county. \\"hen the Civil War 
broke out he was appointed surgeon of the Thirty-first Missouri Infantry. 
In the capacity of army surgeon, he came to W'arrensburg in 1864 to 
take charge of the United States Military Hospital. At the expiration 
of his military service he engaged in the practice of his profession again. 

Dr. John L. Gregg came to Johnson county, Missouri in 1857. He 
was the father of L. L. Gregg, of Jackson township. He died in 1896. 

The foregoing includes all the early doctors of which information 
could be obtained, and it is hoi)ed that the omissions mav be few. 

The Johnson County Medical Association. — The Johnson County 
Medical Association is affiliated with and a subordinate part of the 
Missouri State Medical Association and the American Medical Asso- 
ciation. It was organized in 1902. and is one of the live progressive 
medical societies of the state. 

The first record of this organization is dated XovemI)er 14. 1902, 
and is as follows: "Pursuant to a call signed by a majority of the physi- 
cians of Johnson county the following physicians met at the court 
house at W'arrensburg, November 14, 1902, and formed a temporary 
organization of the physicians of the count}- by electing J. I. Ander- 
son, chairman, and Dr. E. H. Gilbert, secretary. Physicians present 
were: \\'arrensburg, Dr. L. J. Schofield, J. I. Anderson, E. H. Gilbert, 
W. E. Johnson, T. L. Bradley, C. O. Ozias ; L. C. Johnson, Centerview; 
W. H. Aber, :Montserrat : H. L. George, Pittsxille: R. C. Schooley, Rob- 
bins. A committee was appointed to notify all the physicians in 
Johnson county of the time and place of the next meeting. 

The next meeting was held December 11. 1902. Dr. L. F. Murray 
of Holden was elected temporary chairman and Dr. K. H. Gill)ert, tem- 
porary secretary. 

The following physicians were present and became charter mem- 
bers of the organization : J. A. B. .\dcock. James Anderson. T. L. Brad- 
ley. E. H. Gilbert, O. B. Hall, W. E. Johnson. L. J. Schofield, Z. Case, 
all of W'arrensburg; L. E. Murray. W. G. Thompson, Holden; D. E. 
Shy, Knob Noster : C. O. Ozias, Kansas City: R. C. Schooley, Rob- 
bins: M. L. Eishback, Eayetteville ; G. H. Kingoun. Centerview: W. H. 
Aber, Alontserrat : J. R. Bozarth, Centerview. 

The first officers were J. I. .\nderson. president: L. F. Murray, 
vice-president ; D. E. Shy. second vice-president ; J. A. B. Adcock, 



312 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 



treasurer; E. H. Gilbert, secretar)-. 

Members of the county organization now automatically become 
members of the state association and American Medical Association. 

The present ofificers are Dr. S. A. Murray, president; Dr. James 
P. McCann, vice-president ; Dr. O. B. Hall, secretary and treasurer. 
The following are the members in good standing January, 1918: 

J. A. B. Adcock, James I. Anderson, John T. Anderson, J. W. Bol- 
ton, T. J. Draper, O. B. Hall, A. W. Harrison, W. E. Johnson, James 
P. McCann, Harry F. Parker, Wm. R. Patterson, John A. Powers, L. 
J. Schofield, all of Warrensburg; S. A. Murray, J. T. Simpson, Emory 
Thompson and W. G. Thompson, of Holden; Henry Park, J. E. Porter, 
D. E. Shy, of Knob Noster; B. E. Morrow, Columbus; C. O. Ozias, 
Kansas City; George Osborne, Lone Jack, and E. Y. Pare, Leeton. 

There are excellent hospitals in Warrensburg and Holden. The 
one in Warrensburg was founded by Dr. H. F. Parker in 1910, has 
accommodations for ten patients at a time and has Ijeen much used 
and appreciated. The one in Holden is conducted b}- Dr. W. G. 
Thompson, and has been there for some years. 

Osteopathy is represented by Drs. J. H. B. Hoefner and wife, and 
Forrest C. Allen, athletic director of the normal school, all of whom 
have been established in Warrensburg for some time. 



I 
I 



CHAPTER XXXI.— BENCH AND BAR. 

FIRST SESSION OF CIRCUIT COURT— FIRST RHCORU.S— Fl RST CASF— FIRST AR- 
REST—FIRST SESSIONS -VT WARRENSBURG— JOHN F. RYLAND— RUSSELL. 
HICKS— FIRST LAWYERS— FEW RESIDENT LAWYERS IN EARLY DAYS- 
LEGAL BUSINESS BEFORE CIVIL W.A.R— SAVING RECORDS DURING WAR- 
LEGAL BUSINESS AFTER THE CIVIL WAR— PERSONNEL OF LOCAL BAR IN 
ANTE-BELLUM PERIOD— GENERATIONS OF ATTORNEYS— PRACTICING ATTOR- 
NEY'S OF JOHNSON COUNTY'- COURT STENOGRAPHERS— LITIGATION SINCE 
18(;5_"THE OLD COURT HOUSE" (By llel. P. Moody)— THE TRUE STORY OF 
-OLD DRUM.- 

The first session of the Circuit Court held in Johnson county was 
convened in the residence of Nicholas Houx at Columbus on the 6th 
day of August, 1835. Johnson county was then in the Fifth Judicial 
District and John F. Ryland was the judge of this district and presided 
at this first court. J. H. Townsend was clerk. 

The following is the first record: Joseph Cockrell, the first sheriff 
"returned unto the Court the names of the Grand Jury whereupon the 
following persons were sworn in to compose that body, viz: Robert 
Graham. Foreman: Wesley Pinkston : Elmer Douglass; William Davis; 
John Winser; Jester Cocke; William H. Tombs; Joseph H. Harrison; 
Nathaniel Lowery ; Samuel Brown; Isaac Anderson; John McHarris; 
Levi Whitsett; Jake Harrison; Henry Colbern; John Eppes ; John 
Grant; Caswell Davis; James Grant; James C. Strange; and Jesse Marr, 
eighteen good and lawful men. who after being duly sworn and after 
having received their charge from the Court, retired (under a tree) to 
consider of their presentments. 

"The Grand Jury came into Court, having no bills to present, and 
nothing to offer to the court, were discharged. 

"Henderson Young Esq. and Eldridge Barden, Esq. were upon 
motion, permitted to practice as Attorney's and Councellors in this 
Court. Ordered Court adjourned. Signed John F. Ryland, Judge." 

The next session of the Circuit Court was held at the same place, 
December 10, 1835. The only change in the officers was that James 



314 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

D. Warren was clerk. The grand jury at this time also reported no 
true bills. 

The first case which appears on the record of Johnson county was 
that of Joel H. Greene vs. Moses Pinkston, which was argued at this 
term of court, in the form of a motion to dissolve an injunction which 
had been granted the plaintiff, restraining the defendants from removing 
certain negro slaves out of the jurisdiction of this court. After hear- 
ing the argument Judge Ryland dissolved the injunction and ordered 
the plaintiff to pay the costs. 

The first person arrested, there being no jail, was confined under 
a wagon box over night. 

Two other sessions of the Circuit Court were held at the Nicholas 
Houx residence, at Columbus, on April 7, 1836, and the other (which 
was the last time that the Circuit Court convened in Columbus) was 
on December 8, 1836. 

By this time VVarrensburg had been formally selected as the county 
seat and the next court was held in Old Town, March 27, 1837 at 
the residence of Henry Colbern. The next session was at Y. E. W. 
Berry's and court continued to be held in various places until a court 
house was built. The court house was begun at Old Town in 1838, 
and completed in July, 1842. A brick building for clerk's office was 
built in 1862. 

When the court house was moved to New Town, a frame building 
which stood where the present court house does was donated to the 
county by the citizens of Warrensburg. This building was also inade- 
quate and it was necessary to rent offices for the various county offi- 
cials. The frame court house was destroyed by fire in 1895, and in 
1896 the present court house was built at a cost of $50,000. The old 
court house still stands in Old Town in good condition and is now 
used as the private residence of W. O. Davis. 

As above stated, John F. Ryland was the first judge of the circuit 
court of the judicial district to which Johnson count}^ belonged. He 
served until 1849. (For the judges and court officers see chapter on 
Organization and Officers.) 

One of the famous early judges was Russell Hicks. In 1859, he 
was presiding at the trial of a murder case in Saline county which was 
at that time a part of this judicial district, \\4iile the trial was proceed- 
ing, a mob gathered, overpowered the officers and took the prisoner 



of the mob sc 


) incensed 


the bencli anc 


returned 


ot humiliate 


liniself l)y 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 315 

out and lianged him. This action on tiie par 

the judge that he immediateh- resigned fron 

to private practice. He said that he woidd 

trying to serve as judge for people who liad so little regard for law 

and order. 

The first lawyers to locate permanently in Johnson county were 
Major Nathaniel B. Holden and Thomas W'yatt. Holden did not follow 
the practice of law very much, owing to the fact that his private affairs 
became so extensive that he had little time to devote to other people's 
troubles. He owned a large portion of the land upon which the city 
of W'arrensburg now stands and was also an extensive land owner 
throughout Johnson and other western Missouri counties. C. O. Silli- 
man was a well known lawyer here before the war but left during the 
war. He was a partner of F. M. Cockrell. Major M. C. Goodlett was 
also an able ante-bellum attorney, who went to Tennessee during the 
war and died there. 

For a number of years after the organization of Johnson county 
there were few resident lawyers here, much of the legal business being 
attended to by attorneys from adjoining counties. Among the attor- 
neys who resided outside of the county and of whom it might be sai<l 
were regular attendants of the circuit court in this county, were Russell 
Hicks, John F. Ryland, Samuel S. Sawyer. \\'illiam Crissman, John 
F. Phillips, George G. Vest. Henry ^^'allace, W. C. Xapton and many 
others. Of these only Judge Phillips survives. 

The legal business of Johnson county did not develo]) much prior 
to the Civil War. The country had been struggling with pioneer con- 
ditions, there was little criminal practice and business interests had 
not become extensive or important enough to justify much civil 
business. 

One interesting incident of the war was the saving of the county 
records. From December. 1861 until July 20, 1865, the Johnson county 
records were concealed in a thick growth of underbrush about nine 
miles west of Warrensburg. 

When the Civil \\'ar broke out Colonel James ]\IcCowan was 
recorder and circuit clerk of Johnson county. He entered the Con- 
federate army under General Sterling Price and was in camp near the 
Osage river when it occurred to him that as county recorder and cir- 
cuit clerk he was the responsible custodian of the records of those 



3l6 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

offices and he determined to take steps to preserve them. Accordingly 
he sent A. M. Perry, who was deputy circuit clerk under McCowaii 
and was also in Price's army, to Warrensburg. Perry came to War- 
rensburg and with a few trusted friends met at the court house about 
midnight, loaded the records in a wagon and got away from the court 
house undiscovered. They took them to the home of "Aunt Polly" Hill. 
^^'ith her son, she concealed them in a thicket close to her house. 

Here they remained until after the war. The few people who 
knew where these records were kept it a secret. There were many wild 
rumors as to the fate of the records during that time. 

When peace was restored Aunt Polly went to the home of Moses 
G. Mullins, a man in whom she placed great confidence, and told him 
she had accidentally discovered what she believed to be the long lost 
county records. Mr. Mullins hurried to Warrensburg and reported 
his information to Circuit Clerk Captain M. U. Foster, who sent for 
the records and on July 20, 1865, they were in their proper place at 
the county seat. 

Immediately following the war there was a great deal of legal 
business in the county. The war had broken up the country and for 
four years had left affairs in an unsettled state. The estates of south- 
ern men, who had gone South during the war. were sold under execu- 
tion for debts, bogus or otherwise. The purchasers held the legal title 
and the owners upon their return at the close of the war brought suit 
for the restitution of their property. There was also much immigra- 
tion and new business. The collection business of the lawyers was 
quite remunerative then. This was an active period in the practice of 
law and Johnson county lawyers had all they could do. The terms 
of the circuit court, whicl: previously had been held only twice a year, 
were changed to ever}' four months, a court of common pleas was 
established and to relieve both the circuit and common pleas courts 
a criminal court was established. 

The local bar was strong in numbers and aliility during this period. 
The following attorneys practiced here during that period: J. M. 
Shepherd; A. W. Rogers; G. N. Elliott; Wells H. Blodgett; T. T. 
Crittenden; F. M. Cockrell ; C. E. Moorman; \\''illiam P. Asbury; 
Roderick Baldwin; John \\'. Brown; A. M. Greer; .\. B. Jetmore; 
Edmond A. Nickerson ; Aikman \\'elch; A. R. Conkiin and several 
others from Knnb Noster and Holden. 




<i:.\AT(>l; FKANTIS .M. COCKKl 



HISTUKY OF JOUXSHX COL'NTV 3I7 

Then came a younger generation, Oliver Lee Honts; John M. 
Crutchfield, who were students in tlie oftice of Crittenden and Cock- 
rell; A. B. Logan, Samuel P. Sparks; G. W. Harrison; Garrett Laml; 
W. H. Brinker: W. W. Woods; R. Al. Robertson; John J. Cockrell : 
and James W. Suddath. 

Of the first generation, Messrs. Xickerson. Greer, Brown and 
Blodgett, and of their successors, Messrs. Crutchfield, Harrison and 
Robertson are still living. 

Aikman Welch was a native Alissourian and came to Warrens- 
burg a few 3'ears prior to the Civil \\ar. He was one of the alilest 
advocates ever at the Warrensburg bar. In 1861 he was elected as a 
Union man to the constitutional convention of Missouri, defeating X. 
W. Perry, the secession candidate. Jle served as attorney general of 
Missouri in 1862 and 1863. He died in Jefferson City, Missouri in 1864. 

James M. Shepherd was born in Virginia in 1822 and came to 
Johnson county in 1845. He taught subscription schools up to 1839 
and was once county superintendent. He was admitted to the bar in 
1859 and practiced until his death June 20, 1896. He was an active 
L'nion Democrat and afterward Rcpuldican. He had a general prac- 
tice and was specially good as a trial lawyer. 

A. R. Conklin came from New York about 1866. He had been 
judge advocate in the Union army and began to practice here in War- 
rensburg. He became judge of the court of common pleas and moved 
about 1875 to California. 

F. M. Cockrell was born October 1, 1834 in the county. He began 
practicing law with C. O. Silliman about 1855, served throughout the 
war in the Confederate army, becoming brigadier general, and resumed 
his practice after the war in partnership with T. T. Crittenden, who 
had been a colonel in the Union army. 

Thomas T. Crittenden was a nephew of John J. Crittenden, of 
Kentucky. He was admitted to the bar in Kentucky. In 1862 he 
became lieutenant colonel in the Union army and served until 1865. 
In 1865, he came to Warrensburg and opened a law of^ce there, and 
in 1866 became law partner of General F. M. Cockrell. He became 
Governor of Missouri, then removed to Kansas City, wliere he died 
a few years ago. 

Colonel Wells H. Blodgett was born in Illinois in 1839. He served 
in the Union army during the Civil War. was admitted to the bar in 



3lS HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Chicago and came to Warrensburg from there, in 1865. He became 
a law partner of Colonel G. N. Elliott and practiced until 1873, when 
he removed to St. Louis, Missouri. He became general attorney of the 
Wabash railroad in 1875. He resigned his position on the Wabash in 
1917 and opened a law office in St. Louis, and is now living and prac- 
ticing law there. 

George N. Elliott was a native of Ohio and served in the Union 
army and at the close of the war came to \Varrensburg. He served 
as judge of the common pleas court. He removed many years ago 
to Topeka, Kansas, practiced law there and died there. 

A. B. Jetmore came to Warrensburg after the Civil War from 
Indiana and after the removal of Colonel Blodgett to St. Louis became 
a law partner of Colonel G. N. Elliott. He then removed to Kansas, 
and became attorney general of that state. He died in Kansas 
several years ago. 

W. P. Asbury came to Warrensburg from Lafayette county, Mis- 
souri, after the Ci\'il War. He was a merchant and served a term as 
justice of the peace. He died in Warrensburg several years ago. 

C. E. Moorman came shortly after the war and practiced here 
about ten years and removed to New Mexico. He was in the abstract 
business with A\'. C. Rowland and gave most of his attention to real 
estate. 

Captain Albert B. Logan was born in Ohio, served in the Union 
army throughout the Civil War in the Twenty-third Ohio Lifantry. 
This regiment had two colonels, one, Rutherford B. Hayes, who became 
President of the United States, another, Stanley Matthews, who became 
a justice of the Supreme Court of the United States, and its major 
was William McKinley, who was President of the United States. Cap- 
tain Logan married a daughter of George Cress, in Ohio studied law 
and was admitted to the bar there. He came to Warrensburg and 
practiced law until his death here, several years ago. He was also 
general attorney of the St. Louis, Kansas City & Northern railway 
under Colonel Blodgett in 1876 and 1877. 

Colonel Andrew W. Rogers came to Warrensburg from Bloom- 
ington, Illinois at the close of the Civil War. He was a college grad- 
uate and a native of Ohio. He was a colonel in the Union army, a 
good lawyer and a man of high character. He died some years ago 
in Warrensburg. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY jly 

W. H. Brinker I)egan practicino- here in the seventies, was ener- 
getic and able and had considerable practice. He removed to New Mexico 
in the eighties and became United States district attorney there. 

W. W. Wood was born in the county, began practicing about 
1870, became prosecuting attorney and circuit judge and then moved 
to Okmulgee, Oklahoma, where he now is. 

Garrett Land was a native of Illinois, came to W'arrensburg with 
his father. Captain Nathan Land, and practiced law here several vears. 
He was never married and died in W'arrensburg some years ago. 

Samuel P. Sparks was born in Johnson county, Missouri, was a 
graduate of McKendree College in Lel)anon, Illinois, and was a class- 
mate of Garrett Land. He was admitted to the !)ar in W'arrensburg 
and began practice here. He served as county clerk and state senator. 
He died in W'arrensburg over twenty years ago. He was a skilful and 
energetic lawyer. 

Oliver Lee Houts was born in Johnson coimty and he was a grad- 
uate of the State University Law School. He practiced in W'arrens- 
burg all his life. He was twice married, the first wife l)eing Miss Elifie 
Hale, a daughter of H. C. Hale, of W'arrensburg, and the second Miss 
Fanita Baldwin, a daughter of Major Roderick Baldwin, who is now 
living in Warrensburg. He was a very successful lawyer and one of 
the leaders of this bar. 

John J. Cockrell was born in this county in 1855, was admitted to 
the bar and succeetled his father, F. M. Cockrell. in partner- 
ship with Colonel T. T. Crittenden until the latter was elected Gov- 
ernor, when he and J. W. Suddath became partners. He was said to- 
have been a lawyer of unusual ability. He moved to New Mexico in- 
1885 and died in 1892. 

James W. Suddath was born jNIay 12, 1857, in Jackson county, 
graduated frotn the State Normal School here, was admitted to the 
bar in 1882 and became a partner with John J. Cockrell, his first cousin,, 
on his mother's side. He served two terms as prosecuting attorney, 
was a Presidential elector in 1892. and for many years was one of the 
most active and elifective Deinocratic campaign speakers. For several 
years before his death he had the largest practice of any one at this 
bar and was one of the best all around lawyers in the state. He died 
in 1917. 

G. W. Harrison came here in the seventies from a farm south of. 



320 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Knob Noster. He studied law, was admitted to the bar and has been 
living here ever since. 

R. M. Robertson came here from Hickory county and was admitted 
to the bar in 1878. He was active in Republican politics and was one 
of the few Republicans elected to office in the county. He was city 
attorney ten years, then prosecuting attorney and representative and 
is still practicing. 

J. M. Crutchfield was born in Missouri, admitted to the bar in 
1884, after having been several years a school teacher. He read law 
in office of Crittenden and Cockrell. He was energetic and had an 
active practice. He has been practicing law ever since and is still 
active. 

John W. Brown came soon after the war and was early prominent 
in Republican politics. He was county attorney in 1870 and later 
became postmaster. Subsequently he became justice of the peace, serv- 
ing as such twenty years. Lawyers of all parties regarded him as one 
of the best justices ever in the county. He is still living. 

E. A. Nickerson came here in 1866 and was one of the prominent 
and best educated lawyers of his day. He handled no collection busi- 
ness and limited himself to selected cases. He was a delegate to the 
constitutional convention of 1875, which framed our present constitu- 
tion. He is still living and of active intelligence and ability. 

Captain A. M. Greer served the Union throughout the Civil War 
in Illinois troops, enlisted as private and successively was promoted 
until he commanded a company for the last year and a half. He came 
to Knob Noster in 1869, was elected prosecuting attorney in 1872 and 
lias been in active practice ever since. He has also helped many soldiers 
in pension cases. Of late years he has given most of his time to 
probate business, has the largest practice of this kind of any lawyer 
here and in it has also given to many widows and orphans much needed 
help of which the world knew nothing. 

The next generation of lawyers now practicing in the county are: 
Warrensburg, Max D. Aber, Nick M. Bradley, S. J. Caudle. W. L. 
Chaney, W. C. McDonald, J. R. Rothwell, William E. Suddath, all 
of Warrensburg: Holden, A. Musser, L. B. Sturgis ; Knob Noster, E. 
C. Littlef^eld. 

The complete list of court stenographers in the order of their 
service is: W. A. Morrow, Miss Eda Vernaz, Alf Fidler. M. D. Aber. 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUXTY 



321 



J. D. Dunlop, R. E. Jones, Charles Sadler and Charles W. Fnlkerson. 

Since the Civil ^^'ar there has been in g^eneral a steady decrease 
in litigation. This has been dne to matters becoming more settled, 
to the people learning the law, and to the generally prevalent and excel- 
lent quality of the bar of the county to settle matters without suit, as 
far as possible. The following table shows the average number of 
cases on the docket for one term during the years given. The increase 
in "quiet title" cases is not on account of contests but chiefly to increased 
technical requirements by title examiners, which can be met only by 
these suits. 

Average number of cases at a term: 



Other 



Civi 



Total Crimi- 



"THE OLD COURT HOUSE.' 

(By Mel. P. Moody.) 

The old Court House, its glory gone. 
Yields not to gloom, nor swift decay. 
Courageously it still holds on. 
And renders service every day. 

Content it stands upon its hill, 
B}^ court deserted yet not by man. 
Beneath its roof it shelters still. 
The home, where order first began. 



Total 





Quiet 




Court 


Jury 


Civil 


nal 


All 


Year 


Title 


Di\orce 


Cases 


Cases 


Cases 


Cases 


Case 


1867 










191 


126 


317 


1877 


4 


21 






247 


47 


294 


1887 


1 


12 






179 


25 


204 


1897 


1 


13 


37 


40 


91 


18 


109 


1907 


6 


16 


32 


39 


93 


40 


133 


1917 


15 


16 


37 


23 


91 


18 


109 



Once in its walls was heard the tongue, 
Of eloquent impassioned plea. 
Here tears were shed and hearts were wrung 
By olden judges' stern decree. 



(11) 



322 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Strange, that of these wondrous pleas, 
And decisions of judicial sense. 
All have perished with their fees, 
Save the story of a dog's defense. 

In the old court house in Warrensburg Senator George G. Vest 
delivered his famous eulogy of the dog. A bronze tablet upon its walls 
commemorates this event. 

THE TRUE STORY OF "OLD DRUM." 

(By Walter L. Chaney.) 

[An account of Missouri's most famous "dog case" and of Senator 
Vest's world-famous tribute to the canine fidelity presented for the 
first time, from original court records.] 

During the autumn of 1869, five miles southwest of Kingsville, 
lived Leonidas Hornsby, and a mile south of him lived his neighbor, 
Charles Burden. At this time there was still wild game. Men kept 
hounds for the chase. Charles Burden kept a pack. Wolves had 
multiplied, there were still some deer in western Missouri, the raccoon 
was plentiful, and foxes and other wild anmials were still to be found. 
The hunters learned by the baying of the dogs and the direction and 
manner of the chase what sort of game was being followed. Some 
of the dogs were better than others at telling the story to their hunter 
owners ; some dogs "never lied ;" some dogs sometimes failed and other 
dogs could never be depended upon. 

There was one dog in Charles Burden's pack that "never lied." 
He was supposed to be about five years old; in color he was black 
and tan, with black body, tan legs and muzzle. This mighty hunter 
was named "Old Drum." His owner believed he had some bloodhound 
in him. He would trail a man and was good for wolves, "varmints," 
and the like. Charles Burden regarded him as the best deer dog he 
had ever owned. He said that money would not buy "Drum." 

Burden was a hunter and had crossed the plains many times. He 
was a strong character, six feet tall, with blue eyes and light hair, with 
a magnificent physique, and an iron constitution. He was ready to 
fight for his own, either dog or man. Burden lived in a two-room 
log house with a shed on the north side, down in the second bottom 
of Big creek. 



i 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 323 

Lon Hornsby had gathered sheep and cattle, hogs and horses, 
and was doing his best to farm. Hornsln- was a small, wiry man with 
flaming red hair, and, as they say, "he was set in his way." During 
the summer and fall of '69 Hornsby had lost more than one hundred 
sheep, killed by prowling dogs. In an unadvised moment, he made 
a vow that he would kill the first dog that he found on his place. 
Hornsby did not believe that all dogs were bad, for he had sometimes 
hunted with his neighbors' dogs, and had repeatedly hunted with "Old 
Drum." But he had made the vow, and in his way of seeing things he 
would keep it. 

On the morning of October 28. 1869, Charles Burden took his 
way north and east, passed Leonidas Hornsby's house to Kingsville, 
attended to his business there and came home. Shortly after his return, 
"Old Drum" started on a trail, off up the creek, in a northeast direc- 
tion. Burden and his brother-in-law and Frank Hornsby sat around 
the house smoking until about eight o'clock, when they heard the report 
of a gun, from the direction of Lon Hornsby's. No more shots were 
heard. But Burden was fearful that they had killed one of his dogs. 
He went out to listen but could hear nothing. He blew his hunting 
horn for the dogs, and all came up but "Old Drum." Again and again 
called the old horn, but "Old Drum" did not answer, nor did he come. 
No more would "Old Drum" answer Burden's hunting horn. 

On this autumn day Lon Hornsby and Dick Ferguson had been 
hunting. After they returned home about eight o'clock someone said 
that a dog was in the yard. Lon Hornsby told Dick to get the gun 
and shoot the dog. He went and got the gun. Dick stepped out 
doors; there was no moon; a dark dog was in the shadow of a tree 
some thirty steps away. There was a report of the gun fire, and then 
the yelping and howling of a dog mortally wounded. He ran south- 
west and jumped over the style-block. The crying of the wounded 
dog grew weaker and fainter until it died away, and then the silence 
of a dark night brooded over the land. 

Next morning Charles Burden began the search for his dog. When 
he came to the home of Lon Hornsby, Hornsby said that Dick had 
shot a dog; that he thought it was Davenport's dog. Dick showed 
Burden where the dog was when he shot him. Burden looked for traces 
of blood and found none. They then came back and Burden said to 



324 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Hornsby, "I'll go and see; it may be my dog. If it ain't it's all right; 
if it is, it's all wrong, and I'll have satisfaction at the cost of my life." 

On this morning of October 29, "Old Drum" was found just a 
few feet above the ford on Big creek, below Haymaker's Mill, dead, 
lying with his head in the water, his feet toward the dam, lying on his 
left side, filled with shot of different sizes, but no shot had passed 
through his body. Apparently "Old Drum" had been carried or 
dragged to this place; for there was mud on his underside; his hair 
was "ruiifled up," and there were sorrel hairs, thought to be horse hairs, 
under him. Lon Hornsby owned a sorrel mule. The whole neighbor- 
hood seemed to have been alive around Haymaker's Mill that night of 
October 28. There were campers at the ford, two large families mov- 
ing; then two families lived within about a thousand yards of the ford; 
these people had heard nothing. 

Burden decided that the law should vindicate him and avenge "Old 
Drum." Shortly he went to Kingsville and employed an attorney to 
bring suit. Suit was filed before Justice of the Peace Monroe, of Madi- 
son township, and the case was set for trial November 25. Thomas S. 
Jones was attorney for Burden and Nation & Allen for Hornsby, and 
with a cloud of witnesses in attendance, the case went to trial. The 
jury failed to agree, were discharged by the justice, and the case was 
set for trial on the justice's next "law day," December 23. Many threats 
were made and much bitterness was shown by the partisans at this 
first trial, but all went off without anyone being wounded or crippled. 

In January the case went to trial, and after a heated session, was 
given to the jury, who found in favor of Burden in the sum of twenty- 
five dollars. Hornsby appealed to the Johnson County Court of Com- 
mon Pleas, where it was set down for trial in March, 1870. The whole 
neighborhood, at least the men, moved upon Warrensburg en-masse. 
New lawyers had been retained by both the appellant and appellee, 
Crittenden & Cockrell for Hornsby, and Elliott & Blodgett for Burden. 
At this trial Hornsby received a verdict in his favor. 

Burden still sought satisfaction and after his first trial he retained 
more legal talent, securing Phillips & Vest from Sedalia. A motion 
for a new trial was filed, alleging error and setting up that the plain- 
tiff. Burden, had discovered new evidence. The motion was sustained 
and a new trial granted. 

So in October in the old court house in Old Town this case went 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 325 

to trial for the fourth time, with the counsel table crowded with attor- 
neys on both sides, and the Burden and Hornsby clans out in full force. 
Burden and his friends proved the facts already stated. Hornsby by 
himself and his witnesses showed the shooting of a dog, but denied 
it was "Old Drum" that was shot. He and Dick Ferguson claimed 
they had gone down to "Old Drum's" body and taken out lead bullets, 
and that the dog shot at Hornsby's was with a gun loaded with grains 
of corn. There was evidence that "Old Drum" was shot close to the 
mill where he was found and other evidence that no shot had been 
hred near the mill. 

After all the evidence was in, the argument was made by the attor- 
neys. What all these lawyers said is not remembered. But one speech 
made to the jury is preserved to all posterity, because of its uni- 
versality of application to all dogs and their masters. It will forever 
be a monument to "Old Drum." 

George G. A^est made the closing argument for his client and old 
Drum. Here is old Drum's monument and Senator Vest's plea; 

"Gentlemen of the Jur_\-: The best friend a man has in this world 
may turn against him and become his enemy. His son or daughter 
that he has reared with loving care may prove ungrateful. Those who 
are nearest and dearest to us? those whom we trust with our happi- 
ness and our good name, may become traitors to their faith. Tlie 
money that a man has he may lose. It flies away from him perhajjs 
when he needs it most. A man's reputation may be sacrificed in a 
moment of ill considered action. The people wdio are prone to fall on 
tlieir knees to do us honor when success is with us, may be the first 
to thrown the stone of malice when failure settles its cloud upon our 
heads. The one absolutely unselfisli friend that a man can have in this 
selfish world, the one that never deserts him, the one that never proves 
ungrateful or treacherous, is his dog. Gentlemen of the Jury, a man's 
dog stands by him in prosperity and in poverty, in health and in sick- 
ness. He will sleep on the cold ground where the wintry winds blow 
and the snow drives fierce if only he may be near his master's side. 
He will kiss the hand that has no food to of¥er : he will lick the wounds 
and sores that come from encounter with the roughness of the world. 
He guards the sleep of his pauper master as if he were a prince. \\'hen 
all other friends desert he remains. When riches take wing and repu- 
tation falls to pieces, he is as constant in his love as the sun in its 



326 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

journey through the heavens. If fortune drives the master forth an 
outcast in the world, friendless and homeless, the faithful dog asks no 
higher privilege than that of its company to guard against danger, to 
fight against his enemies, and when the last scene' of all comes, and 
death takes the master in his embrace and his body is laid away in the 
cold ground, no matter if all other friends pursue their way, there by 
his graveside will the noble dog be found, his head between his paws, 
his eyes sad but open in alert watchfulness, faithful and true even in 
death." 

In a few moments the jur}' returned a verdict for Burden. 

The end was not yet. Hornsby's attorneys appealed the case to 
the Supreme Court of Missouri. This court, however, afifirmed the 
judgment of the lower court, affirmed that Dick Ferguson, by the 
direction and command of Lon Hornsby, killed old Drum, and gave 
Charles Burden satisfaction. The case brought a lightening of the 
purses of the litigants; a feast of fees for the attorneys; an enduring 
tribute to the fidelity and faith of the dog. and more particularly, 
undying fame for the memory of old Drum, "the dog that never lied." 

[The report of this case. Charles Burden vs. Leonidas Hornsby, is 
in 50 Mo. 238.] 

Out of this list of nine attorneys in this case, more than half 
achieved some measure of fame. 

"Dave" Nation, one of the first attorneys, did not attain any degree 
of fame, outside of his own village, yet fame was his in a vicarious sort, 
for he was the husband of Carrie Nation, the woman with the hatchet. 
Allen was familiarly known as Captain Allen and was a maker of busi- 
ness, a breeder of lawsuits. The firm of Nation & Allen kept things 
moving, where they went along in the town of Holden. Jones lived 
in Kingsville, practiced law there and bore the name of "BuiTalo Jones," 
from his drinking of what was known as "bufifalo bitters." 

Of the six attorneys wdiose names appear in the report of the 
case in the Supreme Court, all attained distinction. Elliott became 
judge of the court of common pleas in Johnson county. T. T. Crit- 
tenden became Governor of Missouri. Francis M. Cockrell was tliirty 
years a United States Senator from Missouri, and afterwards a mem- 
ber of the Interstate Commerce Commission. John F. Phillips was made 
a commissioner of the Supreme Court of Missouri, and then judge 
of the United States District Court for the western district of Mis- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 327 

souri. George G. Vest was United States Senator from Missouri for 
many years and died while a member of that body. Wells Blodgett 
was a state senator in Missouri, afterward became vice-president and 
general solicitor for the Wabash railroad. 

Charles Burden died a few years ago in Holden: Hornsby is dead. 
Of the nine lawyers, only Blodgett is li\ing. In the bottom lands 
along Big creek and Lost creek, where Old Drum gave tongue as he 
led the baying pack, there now echo the rumble and roar of run- 
ning trains, the shriek of whistles and the bang of bells of locomoti\es 
of four great railroads. In the autumn the frost king still makes a 
riot of color along the creeks in what little woodland still stands, the 
blue haze of the Indian summers hangs over the fertile fields of a pros- 
perous people, and the fidelity of the faithful dog to his thoughtless 
master is the same. But old Drum lives only as a memory. 



CHAPTER XXXII.— BANKS AND BANKING. 

IN EARLY DAYS— EARLY WARRENSBURG BANKS— EARLY' KNOB NOSTER BANKS 
-EARLY HOLDEN BANKS— BANKS TODAY— BANK OF HOLDEN— BANK OF 
KNOB NOSTER— FARMERS & COMMERCIAL BANK— CITIZENS BANK— BANK 
OF KINGSVILLE— BANK OF CENTERVIEW— PEOPLES NATIONAL BANK— BANK 
OF LATOUR — BANK OF LEBTON— COMMERCIAL BANTv- CHILHOWEE BANK- 
BANK OF MAGNOLIA— FARMERS BANK OF CHILHOWEE— AMERICAN TRUST 
COMPANY'— PEOPLES STATE BANK- FARMERS BANK OF LEETON— FIRST 
NATIONAL BANK— SUMMARY. 

In the early days there were no banks in Johnson county. The 
pioneers invariably carried what money they had on their person and 
all transactions in the early days were carried on by the payment of 
currency, or by barter and trade. 

Early Warrensburg Banks. — In July, 1858, the Union Bank of Mis- 
souri organized a branch bank at Warrensburg. This was the first 
bank in Johnson county. The officers were, W. H. Colbern, president; 
W. H. Anderson, cashier, and S. P. Williams, bookkeeper. The bank 
was organized with a capital of $100,000 and it did a large volume of 
business from the start. At that time there was active business going 
on in the county and much speculation in land. The bank loaned con- 
siderable money on real estate, receiving usually not less than twelve 
per cent, interest per annum. 

When the Civil War came on it in a measure paralyzed the busi- 
ness of this section and not only made the banking business uncertain 
but the threatened invasion of either the Union or Confederate army, 
or both of them, created a condition which made unsafe even the money 
in the vaults of the bank. In June, 1861, indications were that one 
of the two armies would soon invade W^arrensburg, and the officers 
of the bank decided that the safe thing to do was to hide the bank's 
money. They accordingly arranged with a man named John Parr, who 
lived two and one-half miles south of Warrensburg, to Iniry the money 
under his hearthstone. At midnight Dr. William Callioun. W. T. Logan, 
W. S. Hume and W. H. Anderson took the money, which amounted 
to seventv-five thousand dollars, to Parr's residence. He liad made 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 329 

preparations for hiding the treasure, l)y sending awav his slaves and his 
children so that no one but himself and wife and the parties who 
brought the money out would know of its hiding place. The money 
was placed in five strong wooden boxes, each containing fifteen thousand 
dollars, and placed under the hearthstone, where it remained from 
June until October. In the meantime the Confederate army under 
General Sterling Price, and the Federals, under Colonel Dare, of Illi- 
nois, had passed through \\'arrensburg and taken all the money that 
they could find. In October the cashier of the Union Bank of Missouri. 
St. Louis, Missouri, of which the Warrensburg institution was a branch, 
went to John Parr's place with the local officers of the bank and got 
their money and took it to St. Louis. After this money was hidden, 
the branch bank was suspended at Warrensburg, but the L^nion Bank 
of Missouri at St. Louis settled with the customers of the Warrensburg 
bank. 

\\'. H. and G. ^\^ Colhern carried on a small private banking busi- 
ness in ^^'arrensburg during the sixties. In 1869 Cruce & Colhern 
engaged in the private banking business in \\'arrensburg with a capital 
stock of about twenty thousand dollars. This partnership was the 
forerunner of the Johnson County Savings Bank which was organized 
in 1872. of which George ^^^ Colhern was president and W. H. Ander- 
son, cashier. The bank was organized with a capital of about fifty 
thousand dollars. It closed in July. 1893 ; was reopened for about a year, 
and again finally closed. F. G. Lunbeck and L. S. Hickman were 
appointed receivers for it and wound up its business. 

In 1866, shortly after the close of the Civil War, the A. \\'. Ridings 
& Co. Bank was organized, with a capital stock of $31,000. A. W. 
Ridings was president and James Ward, cashier. In 1869 this bank 
was reorganized, becoming a national bank, with a capita! stock of 
$100,000. It failed in 1878. Its creditors were paid, and the stock- 
holders were the only losers. 

The Warrensburg Savings Bank was established July 28. 1871. 
with a capital stock of $55,000. This bank suspended business in 1879. 
liquidating all claims and paying all depositors. 

Early Knob Noster Banks. (By J. M. Kendrick.) 

[Editor's Note : Mr. Kendrick is one of the oldest and most 
experienced bankers in the county, and can speak authoritati\'eh-. ] 

The Knob Noster Savings Bank was the first bank organized in 



330 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Knob Noster. I do not find the first records, but it was organized in 1868. 
The first record I find is February 2, 1869. It was organized by Curtis 
Field, Samuel Workman, A. L. Churchill, W. H. Wells, Benton P. Taylor, 
Peter Sullivan, John N. Owsley, L. C. Littlefield, William Thornton, W. 
A. Wortham, Thomas F. Melvin and others. This bank ran until Sep- 
tember 8, 1871, when the First National Bank of Knob Noster was 
organized with the following stockholders: Curtis Field, Ransom Wells, 
L. C. Littlefield, W. A. Wortham, W. H. Wells, A. L. Churhill, Thomas 
F. Melvin, Julia A. Fisker, G. H. Perkins and A. Case. Capital stock, 
$50,000. The first board of directors was Curtis Field, president ; A. 
Case, vice-president; Thomas F. Melvin, cashier; Ransom Wells, L. C. 
Littlefield, W. A. Wortham, W. H. Wells, A. L. Churchill, and G. H. 
Perkins. The board met every day and passed on notes offered for 
discount. Curtis Field continued as president and Thomas F. Melvin, 
as cashier during the life of the First National Bank. On May 29, 
1875. it was voted that the First National Bank go into liquidation and 
the Bank of Knob Noster was organized in its place under state laws 
May 29, 1875. 

Deposits in the early history of the bank were small, there were many 
days in which only a half dozen checks would pass over the counter and 
now it is not unusual for 300 to pass over the counters. In its early his- 
tory the board met every day to pass on discounts. Later a discount 
board consisting of three members was appointed to pass on discounts. 
Now the board meets once a month to pass on them. 

Early Holden Banks. — The early Holden banks are still in existence, 
and are described hereafter. 

Banks Today .^There are now seventeen substantial banks in John- 
son county. Two are national banks and the others state banks. The 
following is a sketch of each one arranged in order of establishment. 

Bank of Holden. — The Bank of Holden is the oldest of the present 
Johnson county banks. It was organized ]\Iay 13, 1872. under charter 
No. 69, with a capital stock of $50,000, which was increased to $100,000 
August 1, 1878. The first officers of the bank were: Lewis Chaney, 
president, and I. M. Smith, cashier and secretary, and W. .\. Campbell, 
T. J. Allison, I. Starkey, J. G. Cope and Charles Rluhm. directors. The 
capital stock was reduced to $50,000 again June 1, 1900. The pres- 
ent officers of this bank are: H. R. AlcCutcheon, president: W. F. 
McCutcheon, cashier, and the board of directors consists of H. R- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 331 

McCutcheon, W. F. McCutcheon, B. Plessncr. J. M. DeMasters, O. R. 
Rogers, C. C. Little, M. R. Snydej, \V. B. Wallace and J. H. Zehr. 
This bank has passed safely through all the periods of financial stress 
for almost half a century. 

Bank of Knob Noster. — The second liank in the county is the Bank 
of Knob Noster. The .following is a complete sketch and is written by 
J. M. Kendrick: The first board of directors for the Bank of Knob 
Noster was, Curtis Field, T. F. Melvin, Gordon Hardey, Ransom Wells, 
C. B. Littlefield, Samuel Workman and A. C. Case. Curtis Field 
was made president and T. F. Melvin, cashier. Capital stock. $50,000. 
The board of directors met twice a week. T. F. Alelvin continued as 
cashier until July, 1876, \\hen C. B. Littlefield was elected cashier, 
which he held for thirty years, until July. 1906. when J. M. Kendrick 
was elected cashier and has continued as such. From 1867 to 1917 the 
bank has had three cashiers. C. B. Littlefield is the only one living 
of the first board of directors. Judge J. G. Senior has been continuously 
director in the bank for forty years. The first bank and its successors 
have had a number of presidents since its organization in 1867: Curtis 
Field, Gordon Hardey, John N. Kimzey. George O. Talpey, Samuel G. 
Kelly, John G. Senior. W. S. Shoemaker. W. D. Carpenter. John T. 
Lay and B. F. Summers. The capital stock was originally $50,000, 
was reduced to $30,000, then increased to $40,000, and then decreased 
to $30,000, the present capital stock. The first board of directors con- 
sisted of seven members, has varied a number of times, has been thirteen, 
then reduced to nine, and then increased to eleven, the present number. 
It went through the panics of 1873. 1893 and 1907 all right. It has paid 
interest on time deposits, from its organization, in the early years paying 
six per cent, and reducing the rate with the trend of the times. The 
present board of directors, B. F. Summers. W. R. Clark. \\'. D. Carpenter, 
J. H. Rothwell. James Hogan, P. G. Utley, C. W. Weidman, W. L. 
Charles. J. B. ^^'ampler. J. G. Senior and J. M. Kendrick. B. F. Sum- 
mers, president: J. G. Senior, vice-president; J. M. Kendrick, cashier: 
V. B. Shepherd, assistant cashier: L. P. Lay, bookkeeper. 

Farmers & Commercial Bank. — The Farmers & Commercial 
Bank of Holden. the third Johnson county liank. was organized March 
17, 1881, with a capital stock of $25,000. The first officers were: W. M. 
Steele, president: George S. Young, vice-president, and Z. T. Miller, 
cashier. The original stockholders were: W. M. Steele, G. S. Young, 



2,2,2 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Z. T. Miller. D. C. Quick, J. S. Johnson, Richard M. Simpson, H. D. 
Smithson, J. C. Creighton and S. H. Farrar. This bank now has a 
capital stock paid in of $30,000, with a surplus fund of $30,000 and undi- 
vided profits of $20,000. So strong was the personality and control 
of William Steele, the deceased chief organizer of this bank and for a 
long time Holden's first citizen, that for years it has been much better 
known as "Bill Steele's Bank" than by its real name. One of his 
definite policies was always to keep on hand an unusually large amount 
of cash. Even in the 1907 panic, it is said the bank always paid its 
depositors cash on their checks if requested. The following are the 
present officers of the bank: I. G. Farnsworth, president; R. L. Jackson, 
vice-president; W. W. Morhart, cashier; F. R. Huber. assistant cashier. 
The directors are Messrs. Jackson, Farnsworth and Morhart and E. 
K. Steele, son of William Steele, the founder, Mr. C. Bell, John A. Doak, 
S. A. Murray, R. L. Miller and Sam C. Day. 

Citizens Bank. — The Citizens Bank, the oldest bank in \\'arrens- 
burg, was organized October 18, 1888, with a capital stock of $25,000, 
under charter No. 524. The first officers were: J. T. Cheatham, presi- 
dent; Marcus Youngs, vice-president; O. S. Wadell. cashier; J. T. 
Cheatham, Dr. C. W. Robinson, W. H. Hartman, J. A. Stewart, O. S. 
Wadell, Marcus Youngs, J. D. Eads, and E. N. Johnson, directors. 
On March 22, 1911, the capital stock was increased by a cash dividend 
of $75,000, making the capital stock $100,000, the present capital stock. 
The bank has a surplus of $25,000 and undivided profits of $23,000. It 
has paid $78,000 in cash dividends since its organization. The present 
ofiiicials are: Marcus Youngs, president; T. E. Cheatham, vice-presi- 
dent; W. H. Cheatham, second vice-president; J. V. Murray, cashier; 
A. Lee Smiser, assistant cashier; J. A. Stewart, G. A. Lobban, T. E. 
Cheatham, W. H. Cheatham, W. D. Faulkner, J. V. Murray, and Marcus 
Youngs, directors. Of the original directors of the bank three have died : 
J. T. Cheatham, W. B. Drummond, and O. S. Wadell. 

Bank of Kingsville. — The Bank of Kingsville, Kingsville, Missouri, 
was organized June 18, 1890. The officers are: W. W. Messick, presi- 
dent; R. T. Fryer, vice-president; Joseph Greaves, cashier, and the 
directors are: W. W. Messick, R. T. Fryer, S. P. Gibson, ^^■. B. Wal- 
lace and S. W. Jones. The paid-up capital stock is $10,000, and surplns. 
$20,000. 

Bank of Centerview. — The Bank of Cemterview. Missouri, was 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 333 

organized in 1891. under charter No. 796. dated October 8, 1891. The 
following are the officers: C. H. Houx. president; J. R. Bozarth, vice- 
president: R. C. Hull, cashier, and John DeLaney, G. W. Eppright. S. 
O. Ball, J. S. Graham. C. H. Houx. J. R. Bozarth and R. C. Hull directors. 
The paid-in capital stock is $15,000. with a surplus of $15,000. 

Peoples National Bank. — The Peoples National Bank is a result of 
the Peoples Savings Bank. This was opened as a private bank in a 
drug store by E. N. Johnson, sole owner, in 1890. with a capital of $5,000. 
As owner, E. N. Johnson continued the bank until the 20th of Julv. 
1892, at which time a charter was taken as a state bank, with capital 
of $15,500. On March 16, 1897. tlie capital stock w^s increased to 
$25,000, a dividend of $9,500 being declared and stock issued therefor. 
On August 10, 1897, the Peoples Savings Bank purchased the Bank of 
Warrensburg, consolidating the business of tlie two tianks and liqui- 
dating the bank of Warrensburg. In 1900 J. D. Eads was electetl cashier, 
holding it for some time. Novem1)er 28, 1898. the capital stock was 
increased to $50,000 and a national charter taken out. In 1907 the 
Peoples National Bank declared an extra dividend of 50 per cent., 
increasing the capital stock to $75,000. the present capital stock. The 
surplus is $15,000: undivided profits. $20,000. The present officers are: 
E. N. Johnson, president: L. J. Schofield. \-ice-president : J. D. Eads, 
cashier; other directors are, E. E. Tracy, C. H. Dutcher. W. O. Red- 
ford, G. A. Gilbert. 

Bank of Latour. — The Bank of Latour. Latour, Missouri, was char- 
tered June 1, 1895: charter number 931. The officers of this bank are: 
Jesse Elliott, president: Taylor Deatley. vice-president: C. A. Doven- 
spike, cashier: and A. L. Feeback. assistant cashier. The directors are: 
Jesse Elliott, Taylor Deatley, C. L. Deatley, A. L. Feeback. J. E. Stitt. 
J. H. Eeebee, N. R. Dovenspike and C. A. Dovenspike. In 1917 the 
paid-up capital was $11,000. Surplus and profits, $9,780. 

Bank of Leeton. — The Bank of Leeton was organized in 1896 and 
chartered September 14 of that year, under charter number 966. The 
officers are: H. E. Eewel, president; A. B. Venable, vice-president; 
C. D. Johnson, cashier: J. T. Kennedy, assistant cashier. The directors 
are: H. E. Eewel, A. B. Venable, C. D. Johnson, E. E. Wall, Rolla 
Stacy, C. M. Greer. J. J. Lee. J. R. Grinstead and J. T. Kennedy. The 
paid-up capital of the Bank of Leeton is $12,500; surplus and profits, 
$32,000. 

Commercial Bank. — The Commercial Bank of Warrensburg was 



334 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

organized in 1897, under charter No. 992. The following were the first 
officers of this institution: Dr. W. L. Hedges, president; A. S. Mayes, 
vice-president; F. L. Mayes, cashier, and the first directors were: Dr. 
W. L. Hedges, A. S. Mayes, F. L. Mayes, Isaac Markward, George W. 
Houts. James H. Parker and J. D. Eads. The capital stock was $25,000, 
which was later increased to $50,000. with a surplus of $50,000. The 
present officers are F. L. Mayes, president ; W. L. Hedges, vice-presi- 
dent ; W. S. Clark, second vice-president; H. F. Berkley, cashier; A. 
H. Gilkeson, assistant cashier, and the directors are: F. L. Mayes, 
W. L. Hedges, W. S. Clark. H. F. Berkley, James H. Parker. George 
W. Houts and "W. J. Mayes. Messrs. Parker, Hedges, Houts and F. L. 
Mayes have been members of the board of directors since the organi- 
zation of the bank. 

Chilhowee Bank. — The Chilhowee Bank. Chilhowee. ^Missouri, was 
chartered June 29, 1901, under charter number 1086, with a capital 
stock of $10,000. The officers are: William P. Hunt, president; William 
Sweeney, vice-president; R. E. Sweeney, cashier; H. R. Butcher, assist- 
ant cashier, and the directors are : Lewis Corson. William P. Hunt. 
S. Ella Hunt. E. S. James, Charles H. McElwee, William Sweeney 
and R. E. Sweeney. In 1917 the surplus fund was $11,400. 

Bank of Magnolia. — The Bank of Magnolia. Magnolia. Missouri, was 
chartered January 18. 1905. under charter No. 1327. The officers are: 
George D. Graham, president ; F. P. Parrott. vice-president ; G. V. Raker, 
cashier, and J. C. McDougal. assistant cashier. The directors are: 
R. T. McDougal, John Witteman. J. C. McDougal, George B. Graham. 
J. C. Raker, G. V. Raker and F. P. Parrott. The paid-up capital stock 
is $10,000. and the surplus is $2,000. 

Farmers Bank of Chilhowee. — The Farmers Bank of Chilhowee 
was organized in 1907. Its charter number is 1565. dated October 10, 
1907. The officers of this institution in 1917 were: F. M. Gray, presi- 
dent ; C. H. Gaines, vice-president ; ^^Mlliam Inglish. cashier, and the 
directors are : F. M. Gray, C. H. Gaines, \\\ R. Carr, D. L. Day, S. W. 
Paul. G. L. Park and William Inglish. Tlie paid-up capital stock is 
$10,000. Surplus and profits, $9,500. 

American Trust Company. — The American Trust Company is the 
outgrowth of the consolidation of the Johnson County Trust Company 
witii tlie American Bank. Tlie Johnson County Trust Company was 
organized in 1908 and the American Bank in 1905 and in 1913 the two 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 335 

became the American Trust Company. The capital stock of the Ameri- 
can Trust Company is $50,000, with a surplus fund of $25,000. The 
deposits on March 5, 1917, amounted to $240,000. The present officers 
of the bank are: C. A. Harrison, president; George W. Lemmon, vice- 
president; C. L. Gillilan, secretary and treasurer; W. E. Crissey, gen- 
eral manager; R. L. Campbell, P. D. Fitch, C. A. Shepard, T. H. Doolin, 
T. B. Montgomery, C. J. Rucker, Nick M. Bradley, and William Shockey, 
directors. 

Peoples State Bank. — The Peoples State Bank of Knob Noster is 
authorized under charter number 1767, and was chartered February 25, 
1911. The following are the officers: R. M. Jenks, president; O. N. 
Whitsel, vice-president ; Frank Jenks, cashier. 

Farmers Bank of Leeton. — The Farmers Bank of Leeton was char- 
tered May 12. 1911, under charter No. 1773. The officers are: A. C. 
Todd, president; W. T. Baker, first vice-president; Guilford Morris, 
second vice-president; J. O. Reynolds, secretary and cashier; Henley 
Stacy, assistant cashier. The directors are G. L. Hall, L. C. Abbington, 
J. W. Shoemaker, A. C. Todd, W. F. Reynolds, J. H. Boone, S. R. 
Miller, W. T. Baker, Moses Nehr, F. G. Cooper, William Hinton, Guil- 
ford Morris. W. T. DesCombes, Henley Stacy and J. O. Reynolds. 
The paid-up capital stock of this bank is $20,000; surplus and profits, 
$7,510. 

First National Bank. — The First National Bank of Holden is the 
baby bank of the county. It was organized under the national banking 
laws in 1913, with a capital stock of $30,000 and a surplus of $10,000. 
The first officers were I. G. Farnsworth, president; C. C. Teyis, vice- 
president; and J. H. Tevis, cashier. These, with R. L. WHiitsett, Samuel 
Raber, Samuel Sankey and R. F. Tevis were the first directors. There 
were about thirty-three stockhodlers, and $25,000 deposits the first day. 
The present officers are : C. C. Tevis. president; R. L. Whitsett, vice- 
president; A. A. Searle, cashier, and William S. Farnsworth, assistant 
cashier. The directors are : S. R. Sankey, R. L. Whitsett, R. F. Tevis, 
W. S. Farnsworth, S. R. Raber, C. C. Tevis and A. A. Searle. 

The following is a complete statement of all the Johnson county 
banks for March, 1918. 

Summary. — The distinguishing features of the banking business in 
early times and today are as follow: 

(1) When banks were established in the county little business was 



336 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

done through them at first, the number of checks given was very small 
and the work of bank officers was very light. Today, business done 
through checks has increased enormously and the banks' work corre- 
spondingly. 

(2) Many more loans were made on personal endorsements in 
early times than today. Neighbors and friends endorsed each other's 
notes, often when not financially justified in doing so. This practice has 
almost entirely ceased now, and most bank loans are made on the worth 
or credit of the borrower himself. There has been a great increase in 
loans on chattel mortgages or live stock (cattle, horses and mules). 
Missouri has an excellent chattel mortgage law, and these loans are a 
great aid to agriculture. 

(3) Money was scarce, and interest rates were always ten per cent, 
or more, as the law allowed. Today, interest rates are chiefly six to 
eight per cent. 

(4) Interest on time deposits was never paid generally until recent 
times. Some banks paid such interest early and some started and then 
abandoned it. Now all the banks pay such interest, usually three per 
cent. There were no savings accounts at all in the early days. Today 
these have been increasing, are of great value to those that keep them. 
Savings accounts today total many hundred dollars. 

(5) Losses to the banks on bad loans are much less today than 
ever before. This is due to the fact that the bank officers are better 
trained and more capable men, and to the efficient system of bank inspec- 
tion that has been established chiefly in the past twenty-five to thirty 
years. This requires good banking and prevents bad. 

(6) The sources of income to the bank have been always about the 
same — namely, interest on loans. The Johnson county banks have 
practically always furnished exchange to their customers without charge. 

(7) The best characteristic feature of the banks today is their 
increasing interest and leadership in things for the general good of the 
community. They have become liberal contributors to and helpers in 
movements for better farming, good roads, agricultural fairs and meet- 
ings, etc. And their work in the great World War going on is very 
important and increasing monthly. 



CHAPTER XXXIII.— JOHNSON COUNTY NEWSPAPERS. 

(By Mel. P. Moody.) 

FIRST ATTEMPTS AT JOURNALISM IN JOHNSON COUNTY— "STANDARD-HERALD," 
ISCo— "STAR JOURNAL". 1S65— "HOLDEN ENTERPRISE", 1867— "KNOB NOSTER 
GEM", 1S78— "CHILHOWEE BLADE", 1S94— "LEETON TIMES", 1897— "HOLDEN 
PROGRESS", 1903— "NORMAL STUDENT". 1911— "JOHNSON COUNTY DEMO- 
CRAT". 1913— JOHNSON COUNTY NEWSPAPER FILES— OLD PAPERS. 

[Editor's Note: Mel P. Moody, though still distinctly one of the 
"younger set" of Warrensburg. is one of the oldest newspaper men of 
Johnson county. He has been connected with the printing business all 
his life and has a viewpoint that is live and discriminating. In the 
following article, Mr. Moody has modestly not given the news- 
papers of the county credit for what they are doing today. For 
city, town, village and farm — in the material, intellectual and spiritual 
betterment of our people — generously and in every way tl^ey can, these 
newspapers are, day by day, doing a work that no other agency is 
doing, or can do.] 

The history of the newspaper is largely the history of modern civili- 
zation and freedom, as no other factor has filled a more important role in 
human progress. As soon as the race emerged from savagery, tribe 
and community sought communication. At first came the rude pic- 
tures upon the rocks, finally growing into an alphabet and then came 
the printing press and knowledge began to run to and fro upon the 
earth. 

The influence of the early .\nierican papers was even greater than 
today, though they were few in number. Their editors were looked up 
to and weight was given to their opinions, while now the people take 
them as the ideas only of ordinary men, and indeed some go so far 
as to doubt the integrity of newspaper men and inquire how much 
they get for such and such an editorial. 

The old-time country paper was but little different from those of 
today, but their similarity of make-up was because of entirely different 
reasons. Then news was difficult to get. There were no telegraph lines 
and it took a long time for information to travel over the country, 



338 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

consequently the contents of the papers consisted of country gossip, 
agricultural advice, stories and the profound impressions of the editors 
usually very forcibly expressed. 

Today the country paper is about the same, excepting that the 
tone of the editor is more polite, having been tempered by libel law. 
It is now too much news facility that devotes the country paper to 
local gossip. The great metropolitan dailies are sown broadcast over 
the land, making the state, national and foreign news of the country 
weekly, "old stuff." 

The first attempt at a paper in Johnson county was the "Warrens- 
burg Clipper," edited by ^^'illiam Stephenson, known as "Uncle Billy." 
It was written by hand, five or six copies, and posted in the show win- 
dows of the prominent stores. Uncle Billy depended upon advertising 
to pay him for his labor and in that day the unregenerate ancestors of 
modern non-advertisers flourished, So Uncle Billy, like the poor editor of 
today, had some difficulty in making ends ineet. One firm, Pinkston 
& Calhoun, druggists, were so particularly averse to inserting a 25-cent 
weekly ad., that Uncle Billy in disgust decided to give them a free 
advertisemeiTt. He drew a picture of their store with the sign, Pinks- 
ton & Calhoun, Druggists, very prominent. In front of the store stood 
a man bended doubled with his hands upon his stomach, unloading all 
that he had eaten for a month. The legend froin his mouth was, "Damn 
your stuff." We do not know whether this converted the firm or not, 
but we note that in a paper of 1858 they were liberal advertisers. 

The two important papers prior to the Civil ^^'ar were the "Western 
Missourian," edited by Marsh Foster, and the "Signal," we do not know 
by whom edited, but C. A. Middleton, one of our citizens still living, was 
connected with it — and by the way, he is now the oldest printer in the 
state. It was in this office that we first got smeared with printer's ink 
and paid the penalty by being licked at home. 

As we have hinted above, the language of ante-bellum editors would 
hardly be acceptable in a prayer meeting. Here is a mild sample clipped 
from a paper of 1857. It seems that the editor failed to appreciate the 
sentiments of a communication signed "Knob Noster," and pays his 
respects as follow: "We have applied for the author of 'Knob Noster' 
but it is not forthcoming, but we know him by his ear-marks and we 
know him not only to be a dirty Black Republican of the Fremont stripe. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUXTY 3_V') 

at heart, but a black-hearted scoun(h-el and liar, a traitor to the insti- 
tutions of the state that gave him birth and a pest to the community 
that now gives him bread. He lives in \\"arrensburg.'" For this frank 
opinion the editor was a few days later compelled to take a pistol away 
from "Knob Noster" and throw him down stairs. In those days there 
were not so many decorous libel suits. l)ut gun-play was one of the 
popular amusements. 

With the breaking out of the war the newspaper business stopped 
short. If it had been a gun-powder proposition before it was now a 
dynamite venture. There are now nine papers published in Johnson 
county, affording e\'ery facilit}- for starting a controversy, expressing 
any variety of political opinion or placing advertising before the public. 
We have the "Star-Journal." "Standard-Herald." "Holden Progress." 
"Holden Enterprise," "Knob Noster Gem," "Chilhowee Blade," "Leeton 
Times," "Normal Student," and the "Johnson County Democrat." In 
order of their foundation, they are as follow: 

"Standard-Herald," 1865. — The first paper published after the war 
was the "Warrensburg Standard." now the "Standard-Herald." The 
"Warrensburg Standard" was started in 1865 by N. B. Klaine and S. 
K. Hall. In 1880 Hall sold his interest to Roderick Baldwin and in 
1877 Klaine sold to George A. Richards, later Richards sold to Van 
Matre. After the death of Major Baldwin, his son, Mark Baldwin, 
succeeded him until he sold his interest to J. M. Shepherd, who bought 
out Van Matre. Shepherd sold to C. M. Jaqua, the present editor 
and proprietor. The hyphenated name came from the aljsorption of 
the "Daily Herald," published by ^^'ill Carr. The paper is the only 
torch-bearer of the Republican party in Johnson county, and is ably 
edited. 

"Star-Journal," 1865. — The "Star-Journal" is the largest jiaper in 
the county and has a plant worthy of a metropolis. It is a combination 
of the "Star" and the "Journal-Democrat." which was a consolidation 
of two of the oldest papers in the county, the "Journal," established in 
1865 by J. D. Eads. father of J. D. Eads, a popular Warrensburg banker, 
and the "Democrat." founded by Julian & Conklin in 1871. The "Star- 
Journal" is owned bv a stock company, the largest stockholders being 
Wallace Crossley, now lieutenant governor of Missouri, and W. C. 
Kapp, a veteran newspaper man who has editorial charge. A daily 
edition and a semi-weeklv edition are issued. 



340 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

"Holden Enterprise," 1867. — The "Holden Enterprise" was estab- 
lisheil in August. 1867, and since that time has had several changes in 
its ownership. It is at present conducted and edited by Richard H. 
Tatlow. It is Democratic in politics and is well supported by the 
western section of the county. Judge Tatlow was former county judge 
and has conducted the paper now for a long time. 

"Knob Noster Gem," 1878. — The "Knob Xoster Gem" was estab- 
lished by Harris and McFarland in 1878. Shortly afterward, Will D. 
Carr and J. P. Johnston took charge, and in 1879 Johnston sold his 
interest to E. B. Earley, and a few months later Carr became sole 
proprietor. In February, 1889. Carr sold to E. D. Crawford, and in 
No\ember of same year Crawford sold back again to Carr and brother. 
The Carrs afterward sold out to George J. Taylor, who conducted it 
for sixteen years. It was then sold to a company and conducted by 
O. A. Palmer, then sold to Houston Harte, and now belongs to E. T. 
Hodges. It is independent in politics. The press upon which the 
"Gem" was first printed was the one carried by General Fremont in 
his famous Rocky Mountain tour. 

"Chilhowee Blade," 1894.— The "Chilhowee Blade" was established 
as the "Chilhowee News" by Tol McGrew, twenty-three years ago. 
Afterward it was conducted by a company of Chilhowee citizens, then 
sold to Stuart Lewis, and is now owned and conducted by Don H. 
Wimmer as an independent paper. 

"Leeton Times," 1897. — The "Leeton Times" is a well-edited, 
newsy paper published in the growing town of Leeton, in southern 
Johnson county, and was established in 1897. J. R. Bradley is editor 
and publisher and he puts his personality into his publication. 

"Holden Progress," 1903.— The "Holden Progress," published at 
Holden, Missouri, is true to its name and is a progressive, aggressive 
journal edited by a live wire. The paper is fourteen years old and has 
been owned by its present editor, C. L. Hobart, for twelve years, in 
whicli time the prestige of the paper has increased and its circulation 
grown rapidly. The plant has been improved until it is first class in 
every particular. The paper is independent in politics. 

"Normal Student," 1911. — The "Normal Student" is a school paper 
and was started in 1911. 

"Johnson County Democrat," 1913. — The "Johnson County Demo- 
crat" was estal)lished in 1913 by Mel. P. Moody, the writer of this sketch. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON CorNTV 34I 

It is a great paper, but the editor has some difficulty in convincing tiie 
people of this fact so apparent to himself. 

Newspaper Files. — Johnson county newspaper files running back over 
fifty years may be consulted at Columbia, Alissouri. The State Historical 
Association there has the following: 

"Warrensburg Journal." 1865 to 1876; "Johnson County Weekly 
Democrat," 1871 to 1876, name changed December 18, 1874, to "\\ar- 
rensburg Democrat" December 23. 1874, to April 14, 1876. "Journal- 
Democrat," and "Star-Journal," 1876 to present time. 

The writer has before him two interesting publications belonging 
to ;\Irs. Joseph Dixon. 

Old Papers. — One is "James K. DufTfield's Land Bulletin," published 
in November, 1867. (Mr. Duffield was Mrs. Dixon's father.) It lists 212 
farms and 40 town properties for sale, at prices of $5 to $50 an acre for 
farms and $150 to $5,500 for town properties. It gives a short sketch of 
Missouri and its advantages, tells about Johnson county and its resources 
and conditions. It emphasizes the fact that peaceful conditions exist, and 
states that "people are as safe in person and property as they would be in 
Ohio or Illinois. * * * The Sabbath is duly observed and divine worship 
is held in ever\- part of the county. '•' * * \\'arrensburg is certainly 
as cjuiet and orderl\- as towns in New ^'ork or Pennsylvania: and society, 
with regard to culture and refinement, compares fa\'orably with that 
of Eastern towns." ( Mr. Duftield's solicitude that the seeker for a 
peaceful and prosperous home in our county should realize its good 
character as a law-abiding community, is somewhat explained b}- the 
fact that in the nine months immediately preceding nine men had been 
hanged or shot by a vigilance committee in order to bring almut this 
happy and peaceful condition. The last one was hanged two months 
before the "Bulletin" appeared. The results of these ministrations 
by the committee to the spiritual needs of the community fully justi- 
fied Mr. Duffield's statements. At that time the most exemplary lives 
were being led bv those whose previous reputations had been even 
slightly doubtful.) 

The "Bulletin" also contains an advertisement of the "\\'arrensburg 
and Clinton State Line." which states that it "connects with stages at 
Clinton for Osceola, Ft. Scott and other points south and west. Also 
at Warrensburg the Lexington for otiier points north," and that "This 
line has just been refitted with new four-liorse coaches. The most 



342 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

careful drivers and the best horses. Office under Ming's Hotel near 
the depot. No. 1 Holden street." (This was the first house north 
of the railroad on the east side.) 

Mrs. Dixon also owns a copy of the "Daily Standard" of March 
25, 1886. In it appear the following advertisements, all of well-known 
Warrensbnrg people of today : 

"Spiess and Beardslee. Dealers in Staple and Fancy Groceries." 

"Stewart and Cheatham, Groceries and Provisions." (John T. 
Cheatham and Joseph A. Stewart.) 

"Mother Hubbard, Trimmed with Hamburg Insertion and Edging, 
and Clusters of Fine Tucks. 95 cents. Well worth $1.25. J. A. 
Christopher & Co." ("Co." was Charles A. Shepard, who came here 
with Mr. Christopher in 1875, and is still in business.) 

"Crissey and Stevenson, Abstracts of Title." 

"Fred F. Miller, Druggist and Apothecary." 

"Buckwheat flour and rye flour at Magnolia Mills." 

"W. L. Hickman and Co., Groceries. 

"Griggs and Cress, Resident Dentists." 

"Jacob Heberling. Special Attention Paid to the Manufacture 
of Boots and Shoes." 



CHAPTER XXXIV.— AGRICULTURE. 

CLIMATE— WEATHER— METHODS OF SOH. CULTn'ATlON DETERMINED BY EARI.Y 
CONDITIONS— ADAPTATION TO NEW CONDITIONS— RELATION OF STOCK 
RAISING TO GRAIN PRODUCTION— CORN— WHEAT— OATS— RYE— HAY— AL- 
FALFA— SWEET CLOVER— SORGHUM— TOBACCO— FRUIT— NUTS— IRISH PO- 
TATOES, STRAWBERRIES, ONIONS, TOMATOES— LIVE STOCK— CREAMERIES 
—HORSES AND MULES— HOGS— SHEEP— POULTRY— PREVAILING SYSTEM OP 
LAND TENURE — DAMS AND TILE DRAINS— AVERAGE SIZE AND VALUE OF 
FARMS— FARM LABOR— GENERAL PROSPERITY— CO-OPERATION— DAT.V ON 
AGRICULTURAL CONDITIONS IN 1910 — EXPORTS — HORTICULTURE. 

Climate. — Johnson county lias the typical "continental" climate of 
the central part of the country, normal moderate temperatures at the 
different seasons, broken by excessive periods of heat, cold, drouth and 
rainfall lasting from a day to a whole season. The following are authori- 
tative accounts from the Agricultural Department's Survey of 1914 and 
by George Collins, in charge of the United States weather station : 

"Climate. (Department of Agriculture Survey.) The winters 
are mild and short,, and periods of extremely cold weather usually are 
of only a few days' duration. The falls are characterized by long periods 
of warm open weather, which often continues to the middle of 
December. 

"The mean annual rainfall, although less than the rainfall in the 
eastern part of the state, is sufficient for the successful production of 
corn and other crops if the soil moisture is properly conserved. The 
average rainfall within the growing season is about twice as heavy as 
in the other months of the year. Droughts of four to six weeks" dura- 
tion sometimes occur in summer. 

"Fruit is sometimes injured by late spring frosts. Such frosts are 
especially injurious to peaches . Frequently there are periods of wet 
weather in the spring which delay tlie planting and cultivation of crops, 
particularlv on the soils where drainage is deficient. The climate as a 
whole, however, is well suited to general farming." 

Weather. (By George Collins.). 

(Note. — Mr. Collins has lieen for many years in charge of the 



344 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

United States Weather Station at Warrenshurg and has all the records.) 
Weather. Johnson county is located in that section of the state 
classified by the weather bureau as the southwest plain, and has an 
average elevation of 880 feet above sea level. The first recorded weather 
records were made in 1868. fifty years ago, and this is one of the oldest 
established stations in Missouri. There were some breaks in the rec- 
ords however, until 1878. when the station was regularly established 
and continuous records have been kept from that date to the present 
time. 

This forty year period serves to give a reliable general average of 
the conditions in the county as to mean temperature, maximum and 
minimum readings, average monthly rainfall, dates of earliest killing 
frost in fall and latest in spring, with average dates for both, number 
of days in each month with .01 or more precipitation with the yearly 
average. 

The dryest summer on record was that of 1901, which was also 
one of the warmest. The highest temperature recorded that year was 
110 on July 26. Other years in which there was a marked deficiency 
of rainfall were 1886-87, 1897 and 1917. The average yearly rainfall 
covering the entire period of observation is 36.50. while in 1886 but 
20.66 inches fell and in 1887 only 26.68. In 1901 there was 24.20. and 
in 1917, 28.42. On the other hand 1904 was the wettest on record, the 
annual rainfall being 61.12 inches, while in 1915, 56.43 fell and in 1908, 
53.09. The greatest continuous rainfall recorded was on May 26. 1915. 
when 7 inches fell from 1 :00 P. M. to 2 A. M. of the 27th. 

The monthly average rainfall for the period of fifty years follows: 

Jan. Feb. March April j\Iay June 

1.79 2.03 2.51 3.01 4.75 5.14 

July August Sept. Oct. Nov. Dec. 

4.23 3.64 3.17 2.47 1.93 1.85 

The average number of days in each month having .01 or more 
precipitation for the same period: 

Jan. Feb. March April ]May June 

6 6 7 8 lo' " 8 

July August Sept. Oct. Nov. Dec. 

8 7 7 6 6 6 

Annual average 8.2. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSOX COUNTY 345 

The annual mean temperature is 54.7 and the highest maximum 
110 on July 26, 1901 while the minimum is — 26 degrees recorded on 
February 14, 1889, and again on February 20, 1905. The coldest win- 
ters were those of 1899 and 1905. In 1899 the thermometer recorded 
zero or below for a period of 26 days, and in 1905 for 19 days. The 
warmest summer was that of 1901 when a maximum of 100 or higher 
was recorded for 32 days. 



The montlily average follows 










Tan. Feb. 


-March 




April 


May 


June 


28.0 30.3 


42.7 




53.9 


65.2 


"73.9 


July August 


Sept. 




Oct. 


Nov. 


Dec. 


78.5 76.6 


60.6 




57.9 


43.9 


33.9 


Tlie highest temperatures reco 


-dec 


by nu 


mth are as follow: 




Jan. Feb. 


March 




April 


May 


June 


'77 76 


91 




92 


92 


103 


July August 


Sept. 




Oct. 


Nov. 


Dec. 


110 104 


100 




94 


79 


68 


While the lowest 


by months 


are 








Jan. Feb. 


March 




April 


^lay 


June 


—20 —26 


7 




17 


28 


45 


July August 


Sept. 




Oct. 


Nov. 


Dec. 


51 43 


30 




26 


9 


—14 



The coldest summer on record is that of 1915, when low records 
were made for June, July and August. 

The earliest killing frost in the fall was on September 29, 1898, 
and the latest spring ]\Iay 4, 1909. The average date of killing frost in 
fall is October 17, and in spring April 18, giving an average growing 
season of 182 days. 

For many years the agriculture of Johnson County was directly 
determined by pioneer conditions, even long after these conditions had 
disappeared. Soil waste and continued cropping without rotation or 
rest were common. Originall}- land was the cheapest and easiest thing 
to get, of all the needs for a crop. Machinery, labor, fences were all 
relatively scarce and land abundant. .-\nd when these conditions 
ceased to exist and land became dear, the methods of cultivation that 
had been established when land was cheap, continued, naturally, to 
prevail for some time. 



346 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Since al)out 1895, however, there has been a general and systematic 
developnient and adaptation to new conditions until today, Johnson 
County is agriculturally one of the distinctly progressive counties. 

An authoritative and accurate account of our agriculture is given 
by the Department of Agriculture in its Soil Survey of 1914. This has 
been summarized and brought down to date by the editor and is now 
given. 

"The extensive range lands of the county made the raising of 
live stock profitable from the beginning. In later years the feeding 
of hogs and cattle for market was undertaken and developed rapidly 
into a profitable industry. This combination of the live-stock industry 
and grain production is the prevailing type of agriculture in the county 
at the present time, differing from the earlier form only in that it 
includes the production of a greater variety of grain and hay crops 
and more systematic methods of handling the stock, ^^'ith the excep- 
tion of wheat, practically all the crops grown in the county are fed 
to stock. 

Corn is the most important crop. The 1910 census reports a total 
of 133,995 acres in corn in 1909, with a production of 3,957,990 bushels. 
In 1912, according to the Missouri Crop Review, published by the 
Missouri State Board of Agriculture, the total' area in corn was 136.861 
acres, with a total production of 5,200,718 bushels. The acreage in 
corn has increased in recent years, owing partly to the extensive re- 
clamation of bottom lands along Blackwater River and other streams. 
Of the white varieties of corn the Boone County White and Johnson 
County White have been found by the State experiment station to 
do best in this locality, while of the yellow varieties Reids Yellow Dent 
and Leaming are preferred. The Boone County \^'hite and Learning 
are large-growing varieties and seem to be best adapted to the liottom 
lands. 

Next to corn, wheat is the most important crop. In 1909, accord- 
ing to the census, a total of 27.808 acres was sowed to wheat, produc- 
ing 365,063 Inishels. In 1912 the Missouri Crop Review reports 27.245 
acres, with a production of 463,165 bushels. In 1913 a total of 508.351 
bushels was reported from 29,943 acres. The \Aheat is of good milling 
quality. 

Oats were grown on 20,397 acres, with a production of 466.609 



IIISTOUY Ol- JOHNSON COUNTY ,:!47 

bushels. in 1909, according to the census. The area in oats in 1912 
is reported by the Missouri Crop Review as 15,298 acres, with a pro- 
duction of 566,026 bushels. The prtitits from this crop vary widely. 
In some years it is an almost comiilete faihn-e, largely on account of 
injury from rust. Smut is also injurious at times. Through the intro- 
duction of hardier varieties, better yields are now obtained. The crop 
is used largely for home feed. It is important as a nurse crop. The 
Texas Red Rustproof and Kherson varieties do best. 

Rye was grown in 1909 on 241 acres, with a production of 2,422 
bushels. Kafir and milo were grown on 551 acres, producing 12,206 
bushels. Little barley is grown in the county. 

The production of hay is an important industry. According to 
the census, 63,592 tons were produced on 56,657 acres in 1909. Of 
this quantity 24,018 tons were timothy and 32,214 tons timothy and 
clover mixed. Timothy is extensively grown on all the soils of the 
county. It does especially well on the Summit silt loam. According 
to the census, red clover was grown on 4,652 acres in 1909, with a pro- 
duction of 5,320 tons of hay. In addition there were 28,910 acres of 
mixed clover and timothy. In the last few years the production of 
cowpeas has received considerable attention. This crop is grown to 
a greater or less extent in all parts of the county and produces good 
yields. ■\Iany farmers drill the seed with the corn and use the vines 
either for ensilage with the corn or for pasturage or hay. On Blackwater 
bottom cowpeas planted in hills with the corn have been harvested for 
hay after the corn was cut up and yielded 1 3-4 tons of hay per acre. 

The 1910 census reports 3?2 acres in alfalfa, with a production 
of 970 tons of hay. The acreage has increased considerably since that 
time. This crop can be grown successfull}- on a wide range of soils. 
pro\'ided they are well drained, well supplied with plant food, and in 
good tilth. Liming is frequently necessary. The alfalfa is grown 
mainly on the alluvial soils, where it does particularly well. 

Increasing attention is being given to the production of sweet 
clover. This crop supplies a cheap and efficient means of increasing 
the organic-matter and nitrogen content of the soils. It is also valuable 
in preventing washing and gullying on hillsides, as it has a \'ery deep 
root system, which penetrates the heavy subsoils. 

According to the census, sorghum was grown on 802 acres, with 



348 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

a production of 3,627 tons, in 1909. Tobacco was grown on 10 acres, 
producing 5.340 pounds. 

Little fruit is grown on a commercial scale, although there are 
some successful commercial orchards. The local demand for fruit is 
largely supplied within the county. There are good markets for fruit, 
but the climatic conditions are not particularly favorable to its success- 
ful production on a large scale, the frequent occurrence of late spring 
frosts following warm periods l^eing very damaging, particularly to 
peaciies. Formerly little systematic care was given to tlie small orchards, 
and insect pests and fungous diseases are quite prevalent. According 
to the census, 100,223 bushels of apples and 10,198 bushels of peaches 
and nectarines were produced in 1909. The value of all fruits and nuts 
produced in that year is given as $80,969. In 1917 a number of orchards 
were systematically sprayed, with highly profitable results. 

Irish potatoes were grown on 1,150 acres, producing 109,000 bush- 
els, and sweet potatoes and yams on 35 acres, producing 4,073 bushels, 
in 1909. Strawberries, onions, tomatoes, and other truck crops are 
grown in small patches and do well. 

The annual value of live stock sold or slaughtered and live-stock 
products sold is reported in the 1910 census as $3,418,250. The census 
reports a total of 21,437 cattle, 5,902 horses and mules, 89,852 hogs, 
and 12,552 sheep and goats sold or slaughtered. Besides the large 
number of cattle raised each year, many feeders are shipped in and 
fattened for market. The quality of the cattle is generally good. There 
are many herds of purebred beef cattle. Herefords and Shorthorns 
predominating. 

Creameries have been established at Holden and Warrensburg and 
the marketing of dairy products receives consideral^le attention. There 
are some dairy herds in the county in which the Jersey breed predomi- 
nates, as w-ell as several purebred Jersey herds. The greater part of 
the milk, however, is produced from grade beef cows. The excellent 
bluegrass pastures, the abundance of fresh water, the absence of danger 
from disease, the low cost of providing buildings and feed, and good 
markets favor the development of the dairy industry. To-day dairying 
is increasing rapidly. Since 1915, 25 to 30 dairymen have begun to 
ship "A" grade milk to Kansas City from Warrensburg. 

Practically all the farmers have a few horses and mules for sale 
each year. The mules are of good size and command high prices. The 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 349 

horses are not so good as the mules, althougli purebred stalhons are 
being introduced and the grade is l)eing niateriallv improved. 

Hog raising is a very important 1)ranch of tlie Hve-stock industry. 
Large numbers of hogs are kept in conjunction with beef cattle. Many 
purebred hogs are kept and the stock as a whole is of good quality. 
Poland China, Duroc Jersey, and Chester White are the most important 
breeds. The development of hog raising has been seriously retarded 
by the prevalance of cholera and much attention is now given to inocu- 
lation and other measures for combating this disease. 

There are several flocks of sheep in the county and thev are in- 
creasing rapidly. Recent price increases (1918) have been remarka1)le. 
At a public sale March 1, 1918. 25 ewes averaged over $31.00 each. 

Poultry is kept on all the farms and constitutes an important source 
of income. Large flocks of turkeys and some ducks and geese are kept. 
There is a good local demand for poultry products, and much attention 
is given to the improvement of poultry breeds. 

According to the census of 1910, only 65 per cent, of the farms in 
the county are operated by owners. Recent studies by the Department 
of Farm Management of the Missouri Agricultural Experiment Station 
in four townships in the western part of the county show that owners 
of farms grow less grain and devote more land to pasture and hay pro- 
duction than part owner and tenants. The tenant devotes 50 per cent. 
more land to corn than the owner and nearly twice as much land to 
wheat and oats. The yield of corn is about 15 per cent, lower on the 
tenant farms than on farms operated b}^ the owners, with a smaller 
difference in the wheat yield, and the yield of oats is a1)out one-thirrl 
lower. In general the farm owner derives one-fourth of his income 
from the sale of crops and three-fourths from live stock, while the re- 
turns to the tenant from the two are about equal. The owners buy hack 
in the form of feed about one-half the quantity of the crops sold, while 
the tenants buy back about one-sixth. The prevailing system of land 
tenure is not such as tends to bring about a general improvement in 
the productiveness of the soils. Rents range from $3 to $8 an acre, 
depending on the location and productiveness of the land. When land 
is worked on shares the owner usually receives one-third to one-half of 
the crops. 

"With the formation of gullies tlic prevention of erosion becomes 
more difficult. A method employed with consirleralile success in this 



350 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

county consists of building a clam of earth or stone across the gully 
in the lower part of the field to hold the surface run-off. A pipe passes 
through the dam and connects with an upright pipe on the upper side 
to conduct the water away after it reaches the height of the vertical 
pipe. The sediment is checked by the dam and soon fills the depression. 
Sometimes several dams are constructed along the course of a single 
gully. A tile drain is usually so placed as to dispose of the water left 
standing below the upright pipe. 

The average size of the farms is reported by the census of 1910 as 
132.6 acres and 87 per cent, of the land in farms is reported as improved. 
Land values range from $10 to $150 an acre, depending mainly on loca- 
tion. Over a large part of the county land sells for $60 to $70 an acre. 

Farm labor is difificult to obtain. Monthly wages range from $25 
to $40, with board and lodging. Day laborers receive from $1.50 to 
$2 a day. Labor-saving machinery is in general use. 

A condition of general prosperity prevails throughout the county. 
The organization of rural districts for the purposes of cooperative l)uy- 
ing and selling and the promotion of agricultural enterprises, such as 
cooperati\e live-stock breeding and the pre\ention of live-stock diseases, 
is receiving attention in dift'erent parts of the county. One of the first 
rural high school in the state was estaljlished in Johnson county. A 
county farm adviser is employed to study the agricultural conditions of 
the county with a view to their improvement. The general tendency 
is toward a more permanent and scientific system of agriculture." 

The Lfnited States Government collected a great deal of interesting 
and valuable data on agricultural conditions in 1910. This information 
for Johnson county has been compiled in the following tables: 

Johnson County Agriculture, U. S. Census, 1910. 

Population 26.3^7 Number of Farms Classified by 

Population, 1900 27.^4i Size. 

Number of all farms 3.685 Under 3 acres 1 

Number of all farms in 1900 3.869 3 to 9 acres 90 

10 to 19 acres 109 

Color and Nativity of Farmers. 20 to 49 acres 551 

Native white 3.470 50 to 99 acres 995 

Foreign born white 128 100 to 174 acres 1,093 

Negro ^7 ]75 to 259 acres 473 



HISTORY OF JC 

260 to 499 acres 312 

500 to 999 acre? 32 

1.000 acres and over '' 

Land and Farm Area. 

Acres 

Approximate land area 531,840 

Land in farms 488,623 

Land in farms in 1900 .__488,131 
Improved land in farms __425.151 
Lnproved land in farms 

in 1900 411,544 

Woodland in farms 52,899 

Other unimproved land in 

farms 10,573 

Per cent, of land area in 

farms 91.9 

Per cent, of land area im- 
proved 87.0 

Average acres per farm 132.6 

Average improved acres per 
farni 115.4 

Value of Farm Property. 

All farm property 332,624,413 

All farm property in 

1910 15,372,688 

Per cent, increase 1900-1910 112.2 

Land $22,801,934 

Land in 1900 10.431,130 

Buildings 4,101,345 

Buildings in 1900 2.158,150 

Lnplements and ma- 
chinery 757.818 

Implements and ma- 
chinery in 1900 415.610 

Domestic animals, poul- 

trv and bees 4.963.316 



ixsox COUNTY 351 

Domestic animals, poul- 
try and l)ees in 1900_. 2,367,798 

Per Cent, of Value of All Farm 

Property. 
Land 69.9 

Buildings 12.6 

Implements and macliinery __ 2.5 
Domestic animals, poultry and 
Iiees 1 15.2 

Average Values. 

.\11 property per farm $8,853 

Land and Iniildings per farm_ 7.301 

Land per acre 46.67 

Land per acre in 1900 21.37 

Farms Operated by Owners. 

Number of farms 2.395 

Number of farms in 1900 2,443 

Per cent, of all farms 65.0 

Per cent, of all farms in 1910 — 63.1 

Land in farms 325.784 

Imi)ro\'ed land in farms __284.031 
\'alue of land and build- 
ings $18,265,457 

Degree of Ownership. 
Farms consisting of owned 

land only 1.650 

Farms consisting of owned 

and liired lar.d 745 

Color and Nativity of Owners. 

Native white 2.247 

Foreign born white lOJ? 

Negro 39 

Farms Operated by Tenants. 

Number of farms 1,250 

Number of farms in 1900 1.409 



352 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 



Per cent, of all farms 33.9 

Per cent, of all farms in 1900__36.4 

Land in farms 152,315 

Improved land in farms __ 132,479 
Value of land and build- 
ings „ $8,049,946 

Form of Tenancy. 
Share tenants 590 

Share cash tenants 415 

Cash tenants 2^3 

Tenure not specified 12 

Color and Nativity of Tenants. 

Native white 1.190 

Foreign born white 19 

Negro 41 

Farms Operated by Managers. 

Number of farms 40 

Nuinber of farms in 1900 17 

Land in farms 10,524 

Improved land in farms 8641 

Value of land and build- 
ings $587,876 

Mortgage Debt Reports. 
For all farms operated by owners. 
Number free from mortgage 

debt 1,178 

Number with mortgage debt. 1,201 
Number with no mortgage 

report 16 

For farms consisting of owned land 

only. 



Number reporting debt and 
amount 764 

Value of their land and 

buildings $5,271,113 

Amount of mortgage 

debt 1,480,641 

Per cent, of value of land 

and buildings 28.1 

[No mortgage reports for farms 
operated by tenants and man- 
agers.] 

Selected Farm Expenses. 
Labor: 

Farms reporting 1,746 

Cash expended $180,128 

Rent and board furnished- 48,626 
Fertilizer: 

Farms reporting 23 

Amount expended $643 

Feed : 

Farms reporting 1,698 

Amount expended $328,320 

Receipts from sale of feed- 
able crops $367,037 

Value of All Crops. 

Total $3,376,512 

Cereals 2,559,778 

Other grains and seeds _ 18,882 

Hay and forage 469,737 

Vegetables 154,923 

Fruit and nuts 80,969 

.Ml other crops 92,223 



Selected Crops. 

Cereals Acres Bushels 

Totals 183,097 4,805,573 

Corn 133,995 3,957,990 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY ■ 353 

Oats 20,397 466,669 

Wheat 27,808 365,063 

Emmer and spelt 85 1,023 

Barley 10 100 

Rye 241 2,422 

Kaffir corn and mile maize 551 12,206 

Other Grains and Seeds. 

Dry Peas 5 35 

Flaxseed 223 1,486 

Hay and Forage. 

Acres Tons 

Total 59.367 68,974 

All tame or cultivated grasses 56,657 63,592 

Timothy alone 22,022 24,018 

Timothy and clover mixed 28,910 32.214 

Clover alone 4,652 5,320 

Alfalfa 352 970 

Millet or Hungarian grass 611 933 

Other tame or cultivated grasses . 110 137 

^\'ild, salt or prairie grasses 681 1,074 

Grains cut green 298 374 

Coarse forage 1.731 3,934 

Special Crops, 

Acres Bushels 

Potatoes 1.150 109,000 

Sweet potatoes and yams 35 4,073 

All other vegetables 1,404 

Tobacco 10 5,340 lbs. 

Cane, sorghum 802 3,627 tons 

Syrup (made) 29,370 gals. 

Fruits and Nuts. 

Orchard Fruits Trees Bushels 

Total 184,206 112,888 

Apples 120,603 100,223 



354 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Peaches and nectarines 44,184 10.198 

Pears 5.720 1,009 

Plums and Prunes 7.855 798 

Cherries 5,542 637 

Vines Pounds 

Grapes 25,623 277,298 

Small Fruits. 

Acres Quarts 

Total 106 132.096 

Strawberries 34 51.017 

Blackberries and dewberries 58 71,854 

Nuts 118 trees 3,375 pounds 

Domestic Animals. Value $804,043 

Farms reporting domestic ani- Asses and burros: 

mals 3,637 Number 297 

Value of domestic ani- Value $80,443 

mals $4,726,393 Swine: 

Total number 82,215 



Mature hoes 48,384 



Cattle : 

Total number 40.629 ^ . . 

T-. • 1101- Spriup- pip-s 33.831 

Dairv cows 11.81/ , ' . ^ ' * ^,,. „_. 



Other cows 5,382 

Yearling heifers 4,629 

Calves 4,709 



Value $605,871 

Sheep: 

Total number 29,202 

Ram, ewes and wethers__ 17,281 



\earlmg steers and bulls __ 5.01. „ . , , ^_, 

^ , , , , ,, r^ r^"- Sprmg landjs 11.921 

Other steels and bulls 9.0/0 ,. . ^ _,, 



Value $1,199,964 



Value $130,260 

Goats : 
Horses : Number 889 

Total number 17,883 Value S3.C«3 

Mature horses 15.492 Poultry and Bees: 

Yearling colts 1,685 Number of poultry of all 

Spring colts 706 kinds 369,917 

Value $1,904,120 Value $226,261 

Mules: Number of colonies of bees 3,994 

Total number 6,506 Value $ 10.662 

^[ature mules 4,625 Number and Value of Do- 
Yearling cnlts 1.463 mestic Animals Not on 

Spring colts 418 Farms: 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 



355 



Inclosiires reporting do- Pdultrv Products: 

mestic animals 931 Puidtry raised, number- 505,658 

Value of domestic animals_$166,.-)S4 Poultry sold, number 170,412 

<^^"'e- Eggs produced, dozens... 1,606,120 

Total number 778 Eggs sohl, dozens 1,153,700 

Value $ 16,053 \'ahie of poultry and eggs 

Number of dairy cows 578 produced $535,783 

Horses: Receipts from sale of 

Total number 1,087 poultrv and eggs $315,684 

Value $111,609 Ronev and Wax r 

Number of mature borses_ 1,040 l|,,ncy pro.luced, pounds. 21,076 

Mules, Asses and Burros: \\ ax produced, pounds... 883 

Total number 90 A'ajue of bonev and wax. $4,133 

Vak,e $ 15,410 ^Vool. Alobair and Goat 

Number of mature mules. 53 Tlnir- 

Swine: win , 

W ool. Heeces shorn, num- 

Total number 881 i ,. i , -q;, 

Value $7,815 ,, , . " ""'" 

c-, , ^ Mohan- and goat ban-. 

bheep and Goats: 

T, ^ , , ^ fleeces sliorn, number.. 214 

lotal number 6 ,. , , 

,. , .,. , \' auie o\ wool and moban- 

Value $18 , , ^^ . 

T^ . TD , , ^ produced $26,.'.63 

Dan-v Products: 

Dairy cows on farms re- Domestic Animals Sold or 

porting dairy products. 10,908 Slaughtered: 

Dairy cows on farms re- ^'"^'^'^^ ^"'^' "'' ''^"-'^- 

porting milk produced. ^^'■^''' "^""'^*^'' -'"^ 

Milk produced, gallons. ..2,554.535 '^f'^'-^'' cattle sold or 

Milk sold, gallons 22,109 slaughtered, number.. 18.660 

Cream sold, gallons 18,837 Horses, mules, asses and 

Butter fat sold, pounds.. 162,849 burros sold, number.. 5,902 

Butter produced, pounds. 543,489 Swine sold or slaugh- 

Butter sold, pounds 188,481 tered. number 89.852 

Cheese produced, pounds. 330 Sheep and goats sold or 

\'alue of dairy products slaughtered, number.. 12.552 

including home use of Receipts from sale of ani- 

milk and cream $179,586 mals $2,459,619 

'Receipts from sale of dairy Value of animals slaugh- 

products $102,584 tered $ 216,699 



356 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Exports of agricultural products from the county have steadily 
increased in value. But a much larger proportion of such shipments are 
in live stock nov\^ and much less in grain than formerly. (The live- 
stock business is such that frequently grain for feed is shipped into 
the county.) The following are the shipments for the year 1917 through 
the ^\'arrensburg railway station alone, as compiled by T. J. Bunn, 
cashier Missouri Pacific Railway Company freight office, in a report 
to the United States Government: 

From January 1, 1917, to December 31. 1917, 119 cars of cattle, 
the total weight of which was 2,861.000 pounds, were shipped; 121 cars 
of horses and mules, weight 2,891,000 pounds: 63 cars of hogs, weight 
1,742,000 pounds: 12 cars of sheep, 610.000 pounds; 26 cars of walnut 
logs, total weight 1,300,000 pounds; 48 cars of junk, weight 2,880,000 
pounds; 3 cars of eggs, equaling 1.218 cases or 64,554 pounds; one 
car of wool, weight 36,000 pounds; 26 cars of hay, aggregating 572,000 
pounds; 32 cars of flour, or 1,881,600 pounds: 12 cars of corn, 480,000 
pounds, and 3 cars of dressed poultry, 66,000 pounds. 

These shipments did not include those in less than carload lots. 

Horticulture.— (By Prof. C. H. Butcher.) 

One of the earliest agricultural products of this county was the 
Huntsman's Favorite apple. This is a standard variety of today. The 
following interesting account of its origin was given by Judge Harvey 
Harrison to Mr. W. E. Crissey, in 1889: 

"About 1831-32 or '33, John Huntsman entered eighty acres of land 
west of where Fayetteville now is in this county. He and George 
McMahan and Joseph Hobson went to John Ingram's place about ten 
miles north of Lexington and bought each of them one hundred seed- 
ling apple trees and set them out on their farms. In John Huntsman's, 
farm or orchard, there was the Huntsman's Favorite. This was the 
tree at the north end of the orchard near the barn. 

"Ingram's nursery was in a pawpaw patch, or thicket, and my theory 
is that this particular young tree grew on the root of a pawpaw tree 
and mixed and gave it the choice flavor of the Huntsman's Favorite 
apple." 

Samuel Workman, of Washington township, had an early orchard. 
As late as 1840, the young trees were destroyed by the deer. Another 
early orchard was put out by the father of A. H. Gilkeson in 1839. This 
was located just west of Warrensburg. By 1840 he had a good neigh- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 357 

borhood orchard, using only apple sprouts cut from the roots of the trees. 

The earliest commercial orchard in the county was that of Mr. 
Mock, who is shown by the records to have had an orchard here in 
1850. This and the Park orchard in Clay county were the earliest two 
in western Missouri. From them 'and their successors went wagon loads 
of young trees to all eastern Kansas and Arkansas. 

Mr. Gilkeson, Sr., got young trees from Mock and set them out 
in 1855, and part of these trees w^ere in good condition as late as 1894. 

A. H. Gilkeson set out his first orchard just at the east edge of W'ar- 
rensburg, in 1873. beginning with ten acres, and increasing to seventy- 
three acres. 

Some of the early varieties of apples were: Maiden Blush, Missouri 
Pippin, Limber Twig, Willow Twig. June Apple. Geniton. Large Roman- 
ite. Rambo. Pekin. Russet, and the Greening. The Ben Davis came in 
later but since then has always remained a leading variety on account 
of its looks and keeping qualities. (This apple has had twenty-three 
different names in different states before the present name was fixed.) 

Early orchard yields were uniformly greater. This was due to the 
absence of orchard enemies. With the increase of all fruits has come 
an increase in all of its enemies, until now spraying is absolutely neces- 
sary. 

The chief essentials of successful production today are continuous 
cultivation, insect fighting, and thinning. Successful marketing has 
not yet been solved. 

The chief obstacle in this county to successful growing is change- 
able weather. (See chapter on climate. — Editor.) 

The fruits best adapted to this county are apples and cherries. The 
best paying varieties are the Ben Davis, Gano, York. Imperial, and Jona- 
than apples, and Richmond cherry. There is no strictly commercial 
orchard in the county. There are many good home orchards, and the 
product of these is increasing. Spraying and insect control has come 
into the county generally only in the last year through the efforts of 
County Agent Gougler. The results are most apparent and from now 
on yields will be much better. 



CHAPTER XXXV.— LIVE STOCK. 

DEVELOPMENT OF LIVE STOCK INTERESTS— REGISTERED LIVE STOCK BREED- 
ERS' ASSOCIATION— NUMBER OF BREEDERS AND POULTRYMBN— MEMBER- 
SHIP AND OFFICERS OP ASSOCIATION— SHORTHORNS— HEREFORDS— PO- 
LAND CHINAS— BREEDING IN JOHNSON COUNTY— MULES— JACKS. 

The live stock interests of the county have become very large and 
also every year more varied. Their condition is best shown l))- the 
Live Stock Breeders' Association and an account of this follows. The 
largest interests in importance and distinction are Shorthorn and 
Hereford cattle, Poland China hogs and mules and jacks and special 
short articles on these follow. Horses are numerous and valuable and 
include some fine saddle and draft animals, but they are not specially 
distinctive, as compared to other communities and periods. 

Registered Live Stock Breeders' Association. 

Was organized in August, 1916, by F. A. Gougler, county agent, 
with 86 charter members. The first meeting was at the county agent's 
off\ce and the first officers were: President, George L. Russell; vice- 
president, Erskine McClean ; secretary-treasurer, F. A. Gougler. 

The chief objects are the extension of good live stock breeding 
and the marketing to best advantage of the stock of tiie members. Each 
member's stock for sale is listed with the secretary and car lots are 
thus readily made up. Five carloads of cattle have so far been shipped 
through the work of the association. A complete directory and also 
large posters with names and addresses of all breeders are distributed 
throughout the community and result in many local sales. The associa- 
tion directory lists the following number of lireeders of stock and poultry; 

Cattle. Angus 5 

Shorthorn 31 Dairy ( all Jersey) 6 

Hereford 22 Red Polled 1 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 



359 



Hogs. 

Poland China 17 

Duroc 5 

Hampshire 2 

O. I. C. 2 

Berkshire 2 



Jacks 



Jacks. 
Sheep. 



Shropshire 2 

Hampshire 1 

Cotswold 1 

Horses. 

Percheron 2 

Denmark 1 

Saddle and combination 1 

Light 1 

Chickens. 

Barred Plymonth Rocks 8 

Bnff Plymouth Rocks 1 



White Plymouth Rocks 1 

S. C. \\hite Leghorns 3 

R. C. \\hite Leghorns 1 

S. C. Brown Leghorns 2 

S. C. Rhode Lsland Reds 3 

R. C. Rhode Lsland Reds 1 

Buff Orpingtons 4 

White Orpingtons 2 

White Wyandottes 2 

Golden Wyandottes 1 

Siher Laced Wyandottes 1 

Black Langshans 2 

Turkeys. 

Bronze 3 

White Holland 1 

Bourled Red 1 



Ducks. 



Peki 



Geese. 

White Chinese 1 

The present membership of the association is 82. The present 
officers (for 1918) are: President. F. A. McWethy, Holden ; vice-presi- 
dent. Erskine R. McClean, \\'arrensburg: secretary. F. A. Gougler, 
Warrensburg; treasurer, A. Lee Smizer, Warrensburg. 



Directors. 



Herefords. 

W. B. ^\■allace Holden 

D. E. Powell Windsor 

Aberdeen Angus. 

C. T. Burris Centerview 

J. B. Wampler Knob Noster 

Shorthorns. 



T. E. Rice 



.Pitts 



Dairy Cattle. 

William Sisk Kingsville 

M. L. Golladay Holden 

Duroc Jersey Hogs. 

George Russell Chilhowee 

N. J. Bush Warrensburg 

Poland China Hogs. 



lie G. M. Curnutt IMontserrat 



Elmer Atkins Warrenslnirg j. H. I'itzger 



.Kiui 



ille 



360 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Sheep. Theo. Funk Warrensburg 

Chris. Funk Holden 

Ernest Lee ___ Columbus Poultry. 

Light Horses. {" ^^^- ,^"*'^I^".^°" Kingsville 

W. C. Shepherd ..___Chilhowee ^^''- J"''" Trmimger _____Holden 

A. Lee Smeiser AVarrensburg j , 

Draft Horses. Dr. T. L. Bradley Warrensburg 

James Shoemaker Chilhowee J. C. A\"ilkinson Bates City 

Shorthorn Cattle. 

The largest number of cattle in Johnson county of any one kind are 
Shorthorns. The registered breeders listed for 1918 in the Breeders' 
Association's directory number thirty-one. Three of these keep the 
Polled Durhams. Several owners keep fifty head or more of registered 
animals. The oldest herd is probably the McClean herd. 

In 1868 William McClean, father of Erskine McClean, brought to 
Johnson county "Cherokee," a red bull, registered, number 6536. and 
"Highland Belle." a pure-bred red cow and became one of the first 
successful breeders in the county. From 1868 until his death in 1902, 
he also bought other animals. He sold all his stock at private sale, and 
though in the early seventies prices were very low, he kept up his herd. 
To-day his son, Erskine McClean. and son-in-law, J. B. Elliott, have 
succeeded him. 

L. L. Gregg and F. A. McWethy each have consideral)le herds. 
Mr. Gregg in 1888 began and has continued ever since with Scotch 
Cruikshank bulls. He first kept reds and now has roans. He has had 
as many as ninety head, and now has forty to fifty. 

F. A. McWethy, of Holden, advertises fifty head in his herd with 
representatives of "Orange Blossom" and other good families and 
headed by a son of "Choice of All." Otiiers may ha\e even larger lierds, 
but these illustrate the condition and development of the Shortliorn 
cattle in the county to-day. Sale prices average about $75 to $300 
and have ke])t steady for many years. 

Tlie Shorthorn breeders are satisfied tliey have the best all-around 
beef and milk animals adapted to more farms and farmers than any 
other lireed. 



I 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 3U I 

Herefords. 
(By W. B. \\'allace. Holden, Missouri.) 

The Herefords here in Johnson county are raised and bred Iiy 
cattle men — men who have been in the cattle business from their youlii 
to the present time and who have therefore had time to satisfy them- 
selves as to what in their judgment was the best beef cattle to breed. 

The number of registered Herefords in Johnson county is about 
1.500 head. Among the more extensive breeders are W. B. Wallace, 
Millard Hobbs, R. L. Whitsett, and J. E. Terrell, of Holden, Missouri.. 
Levi McMurphy of W'arrensburg. and the Lee Brothers, of Columbus. 

Originally developed to meet the demand for a medium for con- 
verting the luxuriant grasses antl abundance of forage of the west of 
England into high class beef, the Hereford is recognized today, as it 
was a century ago as the premier grazing animal, attaining a higher 
finish and producing a better quality of beef, on grass alone, than an\- 
other beef animal. 

Seventy-five per cent, of the top sales made at the market centers 
the past year have been cattle showing a preponderance of Hereford 
blood. This applies to drylot baby beeves, grainfed medium and heavy 
beeves and grass beeves. 

The demand for bulls from the great cattle-growing sections of the 
Northwest. \\'est and Southwest, where registered Hereford bulls are 
used on most of the herds affords a ready market for the surplus of the 
Hereford breeding herds in this community. The demand for breeding 
females is in excess of the supply. 

Several car loads of registered Herefords have been shipped from 
Johnson county to Ivansas, Nebraska, Mississippi, and Texas and sev- 
eral smaller shipments to other states. Some cars averaged as high as 
$400.00 per head, while some individual animals have been sold for 
much higher prices. 

Poland China Hogs; Origin in Johnson County. 

(By J. A. Slifer.) 

I think I brought the first to the county in September. 1867. from 
Champaign county. Ohio. They were known as the "Magee" hog, 
the "Polands." the "Big China" and other names and they were white 
and black spotted, wliite predominating with occasionally one of a sandy 



362 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

complexion. Later when the "Ohio," the first Poland China record, 
was founded they adopted the name "Poland China" and color black 
with white points as preferable. A part of those I brought were for 
John Rowland, of Chilhowee township. We sold some of the offspring 
for breeders but raised them principally for the market as many of the 
old settlers declared they would not give fifteen dollars for any pig 
they ever saw and this when our currency was inflated. 

Breeding in Johnson County. 

(By R. S. Fisher.) 

Mr. Fisher is one of the largest and most successful breeders of 
these hogs in the county, and one of the best known in the state. 

Henry Russell, one of Johnson county's pioneers, commenced 
breeding the Poland China northwest of Warrensburg. At that time 
there were but few farmers in the country that knew anything about 
pure-breds. As soon as people ascertained the great improvement the 
pure-breds made over the scrubs, they secured from Henry a few of 
his pigs and new herds started throughout the county. The most 
prominent were those of W. P. Gibson and \V. \\'. ^^'allace, Kingsville : 
D. T. Boisseau, of Elm: C. T. Meyers, of Centerview: and R. S. Fisher, 
of Holden. The only survivor of the group that is still breeding the 
Poland China is R. S. Fisher, now of Denton, Missouri. 

The Poland China has become so popular that today nearly every 
school district in Johnson county has a breeder of pure-breds. This 
hog is the most economical machine for converting the products of 
the farm into the highest quality of human food. While the highest 
possible development of the Poland China may not have been, and 
probably has not been reached, whatever further improvement is made 
must be made with a view to increasing its efficiency as the great gen- 
eral purpose utility hog. 

In 1915, 1916 and 1917, an inquiry sent out to over a hundred 
breeders showed that the total average on one hundred Polan.' China 
sows was nine and three-quarters farrows to the litter. 

While Johnson county can duly Ix.ast of a very few $1,000 hogs, 
yet they do exist in our county at tlie present time. 

Johnson county is especially adapted to the raising of the Poland 
China, on account of it being a great clover county and hogs thrive 
as well on red clover, or better, than any other kind of grass. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 363 

Mules and Jacks. 

The jack and mule business in Joluison countv is one of its best 
known specialties in agriculture or live stock. For many years l)ack, 
the county has had some good jacks, and the production of mules lias 
been steadily increasing. About twenty to twenty-five years ago. spe- 
cial attention began to be paid to these two lines. 

Mules. — John T. Cheatham. .\]cx. Mcl'dvaine, John W. Stone and 
A. J. Redford were the chief mule buyers at tliis time. They shipped 
chiefly to the South, with some to the East. Prices were forty dollars 
to seventy-five dollars for small cotton mules, and from seventy-five dol- 
lars to one hundred thirty-five dollars for sugar nudes. An extra good 
span sold by Mr. McElvaine brought tliree luuidred dollars. Tliere were 
very few jacks in the county then and averaged fifteen to thirty miles 
apart. 

The great impetus to the mule business was the Boer War. Mule 
men say that the demand for mules in this war at least doubled the 
price in this county. From that time on prices kept up or slowly 
increased until the present world war. when they increased since 1914 
from twenty-five dollars to fifty dollars a liead. Cotton mules now sell 
for one hundred dollars to three hundred dollars. They have so much 
improved in quality that they now are in the same class with sugar 
nudes, and the top ones bring tlie same prices. 

Aside from the production of mules in Johnson county, it has devel- 
oped remarkably as a mule market. Our buyers now buy in and ship 
from as far as southeast Kansas and northeast Oklahoma and over six 
to eight counties in iNIissouri. It is said that over ten times as luany 
mules are handled here as were twenty years ago. Seven firms make 
it their main business and buy all the time. 

In prize mules. Johnson county has an unusual record. .\t the 
\\'orld"s Fair at St. Louis in 1904, Ed Kendrick. of Knob Noster. with 
two mules took a number of prizes, while Larkin H. Blackburn and 
Walter L. Jones showed fifteen mules and took forty-five prizes, including 
twelve first and fourteen second prizes, amounting to S3. 230 cash, and 
took as many prizes on mules as all the other contestants put together. 
(They showed fifteen mules, including two in every class.) 

The highest known price paid for a span of mules was S900 for 
a pair of Blackburn & Jones show mules. The highest price paid for 



364 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COaNTY 

a span of regular work mules was $775 for a pair of cotton mules 
bought March 21, 1918, by W. L. Jones and shipped to Atlanta, Georgia. 

Jacks. — From the time of the first settlers in Johnson county, there 
have always been jacks in the county. Until comparatively recently, 
however, the number was very small, and averaged, it is said, fifteen 
to thirty miles apart. 

About 1900, with the development of the mule business came the 
beginning of what is now one of Johnson county's best businesses. 
There are to-day good jacks all over the county, and one firm, Bradley 
Brothers, have a state and national reputation, keep on hand an aver- 
age of forty jacks and fifty jennets and advertise that "we have more 
big black registered jacks and jennets than any firm in the United 
States we know of." 

The markets for the jacks that are shipped from here are chiefly in 
Kansas, Texas, Oklahoma and Nebraska, and about one hundred are 
shipped out yearly. The prices are high for the good ones. Bradley 
Brothers' sale of March 4. 1918 disposed of twenty-four jacks for an 
average of $651 a head. The highest priced jack ever sold in the county 
was at this sale for $1,660, and the highest price for a yearling was 
$1,250 at the same sale. 

The demand is increasing for size with cpiality. A good jack four- 
teen and one-half hands high will bring $400, fifteen hands S800, and 
fifteen and one-half hands $1,000 to $1,200, if all of the same quality. 



CHAPTER XXXVI.— SOILS. 

GENERAL GEOGRAPHY — CLASS] FICATION OF SOILS — AREAS OF DIFFERENT 
SOILS— SUMMIT SILT LOAM— SUMMIT SILTY CLAY LOAM— PETTIS SERIES— 
PETTIS SILT LOAM— CRAWFORD SERIES— CRAWFORD SILT LOAM— CRAW- 
FORD STONY LOAM — BOONE SERIES — BOONE SILT LOAM — BOONE FINE 
SANDY LOAM — BOONE GRAVELLY LOAM — BATES SERIES — BATES SILT LOAM 
—OSWEGO SILT LOAM— CHEROKEE SILT LOAM— OSAGE SERIES — OSAGE SILT 
—LOAM— OSAGE SILTY CLAY LOAM— OSAGE CLAY— CHARITON SILT LOAM— 
ROBERTSVILLE SILT LOAM. 

General Geography. — Jolmson county is situated in the residual 
prairie section of tlie Great Plains region. Tlie county is roughly 
rectangular in outline and has a length from east to west of 3>3 miles 
and a width from nortii to south of 25 miles. Its area is 831 square 
miles, or 531,840 acres. 

Johnson county comprises two physiographic ili\isions — the upland 
and the lowland. The upland comprises about nine-tenths of the area 
of the county. Topographically, it is rolling ratlier than level or undu- 
lating, althougii areas of considerable extent are comparatively le\el. 

A central belt and the southeastern and soutliwestern parts of tlie 
county are somewhat smoother than the remainder. The central belt 
includes the immediate valley of Blackwater river and a lowland belt 
adjacent to it, especially the country lying northeast of Warrensburg. 
The lowland belt is developed on a bed of soft shales lying beneath a 
series of more resistant limestones which form the adjoining higher 
country to the south, the limestone outcropping along the southern 
l)order of the lowland at the top of a low but well-defined escarpment. 
The soutliwestern smooth area is likewise developed on a bed of soft 
shales, which is higher than that forming tlie central belt. It lies 
in front of an escarpment which liarely enters the western part of tiie 
county, and which constitutes the eastern boundary of a high plateau 
in Jackson and Cass counties. The smooth area in the southeastern 
part of the county extends over a series of limestone beds. It is a 
low plateau, over somewhat resistant limestone, which has not yet 
been dissected. 



366 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

The soils of Johnson county are classed in two general groups, 
upland soils and lowland soils. 

The upland soils are of residual origin and are derived from the 
immediately underlying rocks, which belong to the Pennsyh'ania divi- 
sion of the Carboniferous and consist of alternating strata of lime- 
stone, shale, and sandstone. Geologically the county is made up of 
the Cherokee shales and sandstones, the Henrietta limestones and shales, 
the Pleasanton shales, the Bethany Falls limestone, and the ^^'arrens- 
burg sandstone. 

The Cherokee shale lies in the extreme southeastern part of the 
county and in the Blackwater lowland belt and consists chiefly of shale 
and sandstone. The shale of this formation gives rise to the Oswego 
and Cherokee soils. 

The Henrietta limestone occurs in the southeastern part of the 
county west of the area of Cherokee shale. It forms conspicuous 
ledges in that vicinity. The limestone gives rise to the Crawford soils. 

The Pleasanton shale is the surface formation in the western part 
of the county. The formation consists of about 175 feet of shale and 
sandstone, with one or two thin beds of limestone. The shale gives 
rise to the Summit soils. The Pettis silt loam is derived partly from 
the interbedded limestone and shale of this formation. 

The Bethany Falls limestone occurs in the northwestern part of 
the county, forming a distinct but ragged escarpment along the streams. 
It gives rise to the Crawford and Pettis soils, the former being derived 
exclusively from limestone, while the latter contains considerable 
material derived from shale. 

Sixteen soil types, representing 10 series, are mapped in Johnson 
county. The residual or upland soils comprise about 85 per cent, of 
the total area of the county and include the Summit, Pettis, Crawford, 
Boone, Bates, Oswego, and Cherokee series. The soil material in 
some places has a depth of 30 feet or more, the greatest thickness 
occurring where the softer shales underlie the surface. The Summit, 
Oswego, and Cherokee soils are residual largely from shale, which is 
calcareous in case of much of the Summit: the Crawford and Pettis 
soils are residual from limestone, with some shale material in the case 
of the Pettis; the Boone soils are residual from sandstone and shale, 
and the Bates soils from shale and interbedded sandstone and limestone. 

The lowland or alluvial soils arc grouped into three series, the 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 36/ 

Osage (first-bottom) soils and tlie Cliariton and Robertsville (second- 
bottom or terrace) soils. In subsecjucnt cliajiters the diiTerent soil 
types are described in detail. 

The following table gives the names and the actual and relative 
extent of the various soil types mapped in Johnson countv: 

Areas of Different Soils. 

Soils. Acres. Per cent. 

Summit silt loam 146.240 27.5 

Boone silt loam 142,848 26.9 

Osage silt loam 65.088 12.2 

Bates silt loam 58,816 11.1 

Oswego silt loam 35,328 6.6 

Pettis silt loam 29.312 5.5 

Crawford silt loam 23.680 4.4 

Boone fine sandy loam 9,408 1.8 

Chariton silt loam 5.312 1.0 

Osage silty clay loam 4.672 0.9 

Summit silty clay loam 3.648 .7 

Cherokee silt loam 1.920 .4 

Osage clay 1.792 .3 

Robertsville silt loam 1.728 .3 

Boone gravelly loam 1.152 .2 

Crawford stony loam 896 .2 

Total 531.840 

Following are brief descriptions of Summit series: 
These soils are residual in origin and are derived from shales and 
limestones. The drainage is good and the topography smooth to undu- 
lating. In Johnson county two types of this series are recognized, the 
silt loam and the silty clay loam. 

Summit Silt Loam. — The surface soil of the Summit silt loam, where 
typically developed, consists of a black silt loam to a depth of 15 inches, 
below which it grades into a silty clay loam of a somewhat lighter color. 
The subsoil, beginning at a depth of 24 to 26 inches, is a heavy clay 
of dark-drab color. The line of demarcation between the surface and 
subsurface soil is rather indistinct, but the gradation into the clay sub- 
soil is usually sharp. 



368 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

To the south of Holdeii a heavy to impervious subsoil is encoun- 
tered in this type belowr about 25 inches. 

Small eroded areas of the Summit silt loam occur in a few places 
in the northwestern part of the county. They are locally spoken of as 
"deer licks," and support little or no vegetation. 

This is the most important and most extensively developed soil 
tvpe in the county, covering an area of 228.5 square miles. It occurs 
mainly in the vicinity of Kingsville and in the northern half of the 
county. 

In general the Summit silt loam occupies the smoother areas of the 
county. It occurs on the tops of ridges and on lower level stretches 
surrounded by escarpments of limestone outcrop. It is generally suffi- 
ciently rolling to have good surface drainage, although the character 
of the subsoil does not permit a maximum absorption of water. It is 
locally referred to as "black limestone land," probably because of the 
frequent outcrops of thin limestone beds along streams. 

Practically all the type is under cultivation. It was originally 
prairie and was very rich in organic matter when first cultivated, owing 
to the heavy growth of prairie grasses that had covered it. 

Owing to the plastic character of the subsoil, this type is rather 
cold and wet in the spring, and on this account the seeding of crops 
is frequently delayed. While most of the type is in fair physical condi- 
tion, continuous cropping without adequate provision for the mainten- 
ance of the organic matter has brought about a condition of poor tilth 
and a decrease in crop yields on many farms. 

Summit Silty Clay Loam. — In its typical development the surface 
soil of the Summit silty clay loam is a dark-gray to blackish silty clay 
loam, black when wet. This grades at about 15 to 18 inches into a 
drab to grayish-brown claj^ In many places the type occurs in narrow 
strips at the foot of elevations, sometimes extending considerable 
distances up the slopes. Usually such areas are poorly drained, and the 
soil approaches a clay loam in texture, frequently being referred to as 
"gumbo" land. 

Pettis Series. — The soils of the Pettis series are brown to dark 
brown in color. These soils are residual from shales and the topog- 
raphy is smooth to undulating. One type, the Pettis silt loam, is recog- 
nized in Tohnson countv. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 369 

Pettis Silt Loam. — The Pettis silt loam typically is a very dark 
brown to black, mellow silt loam to a depth of aljout 18 inches, Ijelow 
which it grades into a slightly lieavier silt loam of dark reddish l)rown 
color. At 25 inclies the subsoil is a l)rown silt loam to silty clay loam, 
which continues to a depth of 36 inches, becoming slightly heavier in 
the lower part of the three-foot section. It occupies the level tops of 
ridges, the topography being more rolling than that of the Summit silt 
loam. This type differs from the Summit silt loam in having a much 
more friable subsoil and a lighter color. The tvpe is spoken of locally 
as "mulatto land." It is considered one of the most productive soils 
in the county. Its deep, porous nature makes it especially drought 
resistant, and it is easily maintained in a condition of good tiitli. 

Crawford Series. — The Crawford series comprises residual lime- 
stone soils of the prairie regions. They are derived from limestones, 
often with more or less material from shales. In this county only two 
members of the series are recognized, the Crawford silt loam and stony 
loam. 

Crawford Silt Loam. — The Crawford silt loam consists of a red or 
reddish-brown to brown silt loam, underlain at depths of 12 to 18 
inches by a reddish-brown silty clay loam. .At a depth of about 27 
inches the subsoil grades into a red, crumbly clay, whicii extends to a 
deptli of 36 inches or more. In places along slopes l^edrock is encountered 
within the three-foot section. 

This' soil is found in practically all parts of the county, but there 
are no extensive single areas. It occurs on the tops of ridges underlain 
by limestones. 

Crawford Stony Loam. — The surface soil of the Crawford stony 
loam is a dark reddish brown loam, usually e.xtending to a depth of 
about si.x inclies. The subsoil is a reddish-brown to red clay extending 
to a depth of 36 inches or more or to the underlying limestone. 

The Crawford stony loam occurs along steep slopes and along the 
outcrop of the Bethany Falls limestone in the western part of the 
county and that of the Henrietta limestone through the eastern part 
of the county. 

Most of the type is unfit for cultivation, but much of it supports 
a good growth of bluegrass and makes good pasture land. 

Boone Series. — The soils of this series are of residual origin, being 
derived from sandstones and shales, principally of Carboniferous age. 



370 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

The topography is roUing to steeply sloping. The Boone soils are closely 
associated with the Bates, but differ from them in containing less organic 
matter and in being consequently lighter in color. In this county three 
types of this series are mapped — the Boone silt loam, fine sandy loam, 
and gravelly loam. 

Boone Silt Loam. — The Boone silt loam consists of a grayish-brown 
silt loam, underlain at a depth of 5 or 6 inches by a layer of gray silt 
loam. At 15 to 18 inches a yellow-gray to grayish-brown silty clay 
loam is encountered, and this grades at about 2S inches into a friable 
clay. This soil is quite variable in texture, especially where it grades into 
the fine sandy loam. 

The Boone silt loam has a wide distribution, occurring along all 
the streams of the county. It is extensively developed from the vicin- 
ity of Warrensburg to Knob Noster and Henrietta. The topography 
is rolling to hilly along some of the streams, notably along Clear creek. 

All of this type was originallv covered with a forest growth. It is 
estimated that about 85 per cent, of the type is in cultivation, the 
remainder being in forest and pasture. 

While the type is of lower agricultural value than the soils of the 
Summit, Pettis, and Crawford series, it can easih- be inn)ro\-ed. It 
is naturally low in organic matter and is greatly benefited by the plow- 
ing under of stable manure or leguminous crops, such as clover, soy 
beans, and cowpeas, and by applications of ground limestone. 

Boone Fine Sandy Loam. — Typically the Boone fine sandy loam 
is a yellowish-gray to yellowish-brown fine sandy loam, underlain at 
about 18 inches by a loam stratum, below which the soil usually is a 
yellowish-brown sandy clay loam, becoming slightly heavier with depth 
and having a reddish shade in places. 

This soil has its most extensive development in a belt about three 
miles wide extending from Fayetteville to Post Oak. It occurs along 
the slopes of streams running through the Warrensburg sandstone area. 

Most of this soil is in cultivation. It is deficient in organic mat- 
ter, and less productive than the heavier soils. It is warm and porous, 
however, and with liberal applications of manure, or with crop rota- 
tions including leguminous crops, produces good yields of small fruits 
and fair yields of corn and wheat. 

Boone Gravelly Loam. — The surface soil of the Boone gravelly 
loam is a vcllowish-grav silt loam to siltv clav loam, carrving about 10 



HISTORY OF JOHXSnX COrXTY 3/1 

to 20 per cent, of gravel derived from shales. It is underlaid by a clay 
loam to clay, generally of a grayish to mottled yellow and gra\' color. 

This type occurs principally in the section to the south of Mont- 
serrat, occupying steep slopes along the creeks and ravines. It sup- 
ports a good growth of grass. Little of the type can be culti\ated. on 
account of its rough topograpliw It is of practically no agricultural 
importance. 

Bates Series. — The soils of the Rates series are dark gray. The 
series is of residual origin, and is derived from sandstone and shale with 
interbedded limestones. The soils of this series are distinguished from 
those of the associated Oswego series by their pervious subsoils and 
from the Boone series by the darker color of the surface soils. In 
Johnson county the series is represented by a single type, the Bates 
silt loam. 

Bates Silt Loam. — The Bates silt loam is typically a dark grayish 
brown to black silt loam, grading at about 15 inches into a brown to 
grayish-brown silty clay loam mottled with yellow. The subsoil below 
about 25 inches is a brown to yellow-brown silty clay loam or clay loam, 
with yellow and red spots in the lower part of the 3-foot section. 

The type has its most extensive distribution in the x'icinit}- of 
Leeton and Chilhowee. Its topography, except along the slopes of 
creeks, is smooth to rolling. It is one of the most productive in the 
county when properly managed. The subsoil is such that the type is 
especially drought resistant, and the material is sufficiently porous to 
permit an extensive root development. Excepting the Pettis and Craw- 
ford silt loams, this type has the best physical structure of any residual 
soil in the county. Its organic-matter content on many farms is rather 
low, however, owing to the continuous production of grain crops with- 
out adequate provision for the supplying of manure to the land. 

Oswego Silt Loam. — The soil of the Oswego silt loam is a dark- 
gray to gravish-brown silt loam, which becomes somewhat lighter in 
color at a depth of about 10 inches. At about 15 inches a chocolate- 
brown to drab-colored, heavy silty clay loam is encountered, and at 
18 to 27 inches the subsoil is a brownish to dral). imper\ious, heavy 
clay which becomes mottled yellow, gray, and brown in color. When 
dry the surface soil is light gray. The soil is very deficient in organic 
matter and of low moisture-holding capacity. 



372 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

The Oswego silt loam has an extensive distribution in the extreme 
southeastern part of the county. The topography varies from flat to 
gently undulating. Subdrainage is generally deficient, owing to the 
impervious character of the subsoil, which in places approaches the 
structure of hardpan, and crops sufi'er from drought. Much of the type 
is locally called "hardpan land." 

Cherokee Silt Loam. — The Cherokee silt loam is light brown to 
brown in color with gray subsurface material. The subsoil, beginning 
abruptly at 12 to 20 inches, is a heavy, plastic clay. Below 24 to 30 
inches the material is often lighter in both color and texture and more 
friable in structure. 

The Cherokee silt loam is inextensive, occurring in the southeastern 
part of the county along Muddy creek and other small streams south- 
east of Knob Noster. The topography is smooth. The soil is poorly 
drained, owing to its subsoil structure and its topographic position. 
]\Iost of it is in pasture. Its agricultural value is rather low. 

Osage Series. — The Osage series consist of dark-gray to almost 
black soils composed of alluvial wash from the sandstone and shale 
soils of the prairie regions. Three types, the Osage silt loam, silty 
clay loam, and clay, are recognized in Johnson county. 

Osage Silt Loam. — The Osage silt loam is variable in color and 
texture. Predominantly, it is a dark-gray to brownish-black, mellow 
silt loam to a depth of about 16 inches, below which the color is lighter 
gray to grayish drab. At about 20 inches the material is a silty clay 
loam, which grades below into a drab clay. 

Along many small streams of the county this t_\'pe has a surface 
layer of colkndal material from tlie Boone silt loam. 

Along Blackwater creek, particularly north of W'arrensburg. the 
soil below 12 inches is much heax'ier than usual, being a hea\'y silt 
loam. The subsoil of such areas usually is a drab-colored, tenacious 
clay to clay loam in the lower part of the three-foot section. 

The material of the Osage silt loam consists of allu\'ium dcri\-ed 
from the residual soils of the uplands. In areas of the Crawford and 
Boone soils the border of the bottom is usually marked by a sharp 
escarpment, whereas in areas of the Summit soils the rise from the 
valley to the upland is usually gradual. 

The Osage silt loam occupies stream bottoms varying in width 
from a few rods to a mile or more. The topography is smooth. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON" COUNTY ^7;; 

This soil is mucli more easil}- maintained in a proiluctive condition 
than the upland types because of the deposition of material rich in 
plant food by the occasional overflows. The porous nature of the soil 
and subsoil favors good drainage and the soil is ready for cultivation 
soon after overflows. It is a better drained soil than either the Osage 
silty clay loam or clay. 

The agricultural value of this type, as well as that of the other 
first-bottom soils, has been greatly enhanced in recent vears bv the 
construction of an extensive system of drainage ditches. 

Osage Silty Clay Loam. — The surface soil of the Osage silty clav 
loam is a dark-gray to almost black silty clav loam, underlain at IS 
to 20 inches by a drab to black clay loam, which changes into a drab, 
heavy, plastic clay in the lower part of the three-foot section. Brown 
and gray mottlings sometimes appear in the lower sulisoil. 

The type occurs in close association with the Osage silt loam. It 
is a first-bottom soil derived from the upland soils of the Summit, Bates. 
Oswego, Crawford, Pettis, and Boone series. It has its most extensive 
distribution along Big creek in the southwestern part of the countv, 
although other important areas are found along Blackwater creek and 
other streams. 

The type is generally best developed near the outer margin of the 
bottoms. Although its position is lower than that of the silt loam, the 
difYerence in elevation is not marked by terraces; the slope to the silt 
loam is almost imperceptible. 

The type is subject to overflow from the streams along which it 
occurs. It is not so well drained as the silt loam, and on account of 
its hea\-ier texture is not so easily worked. It is greatly benefited by 
fall plowing and the incorporation of large quantities of organic matter. 

Osage Clay. — The Osage clay consists of a black, hea\'y, ])lastic clay 
or clay loam, grading at about 12 inches into a bluish-black to drab- 
colored plastic clay, which continues throughout the three-foot section. 
It has been formed by deposition from overflows and backwater, the 
currents of which carry only the clay and finer silt particles. 

This type is inextensive and occupies depressed areas in the bot- 
toms of Big creek and Blackwater creek, which usually occur away 
from the channels of the streams at the foot of the upland. 

Chariton Silt Loam. — Typically, the Chariton silt loam is a dark- 
grav to black silt loam, underlain at aliout 12 inches b\- a gra_\-ish-brown 



374 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

silt loam to silty day loam, which grades at a depth of about 18 inches 
into a dark-grayish or brownish-drab mottled with brown, compact 
silty clay loam or clay. 

The Chariton silt loam is a terrace or second-bottom soil occurring 
along the various creeks of the county, and occupying former flood 
plains of the streams. The largest area of the type occurs along Black- 
water creek, in the extreme northeastern part of the county. Many 
smaller areas occur in other sections. The topography is flat. The 
type has an elevation generally of 15 to 20 feet above the level of the 
first bottom, and only a small part of it is subject to overflow. In some 
places, however, the difference in elevation is not over 5 or 6 feet as 
shown at the margin of the terrace. 

This soil is very productive, and more drought resistant than the 
upland types. AVith proper management, including the frequent work- 
ing of the surface soil in order to conserve the moisture, this type is 
easily maintained in a high state of productiveness. 

Robertsville Silt Loam. — The soil of the Robertsville silt loam is 
an ashy-gray silt loam, grading at a depth of aliout IS inches into a 
grayish-brown, compact silty clay loam. At about 25 inches a brown- 
ish, heavy, plastic clay, containing mottlings of gra}' and yellow, is 
encountered. 

This is a terrace or second-bottom soil occurring along the creeks 
of the county. It usually occupies a lower level than the Chariton soils. 
Parts of it are subject to occasional overflow. It is derived from wash 
from the upland soils and, like the associated Chariton series, repre- 
sents abandoned flood plains. 

The topography is flat, except wdiere there are slight undulations 
that represent old stream or overflow channels. Most of the type is 
poorly drained, and the establishment of artificial drainage is difticult. 

The Summit and Pettis soils, derived from shale and limestone, 
represent the black prairie soils. They include the best land in the 
county, are very productive, and are suited to all the staple crops, 
of which corn, wheat, and grass are the most important. 

The Crawford soils comprise the red limestone land, and are char- 
acterized by their reddish color and mellow structure. They are natur- 
ally productive, and well adapted to wheat, clover, and fruit. 

.Shale and sandstone give rise to the Boone and Bates series. These 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 375 

soils are used for the production of staple crops, but ret|uire careful 
farming in order to produce large yields. 

The Oswego and Cherokee soils, derived from shale, are charac- 
terized by light-colored surface soils and compact subsoils. They are 
somewhat inferior agriculturally to the black prairie soils. 

The lowland or alluvial soils are composed of alluvium from the 
uplands. They are grouped in three series, the Osage (first-bottom) 
soils and the Chariton and Robertsville (second-bottom) soils. The 
first-bottom soils are generally subject to overflow, but comprise some 
of the most productive land in the county. They are used largely for 
corn and grass. The second-bottom soils of the Chariton series are 
characteristically black as distinguished from the gray second-bottom 
soils included in the Robertsville series. The black soils are above 
ordinary high water and are highly productive. The gray soils are 
mostly above overflow. It requires more careful methods of manage- 
ment to maintain them in a productive state. 



CHAPTER XXXVIL— CHURCHES. 

CHRISTIAN— BAPTIST— METHODIST EPISCOPAL— BRETHREN— THE REORGANIZED 
CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF LATTER DAY SAINTS— CUMBERLAND PRES- 
BYTBRIAN- PRESBYTERIAN— METHODIST EPISCOPAL. SOUTH— CATHOLIC— 
MISCELLANEOUS— GERMAN LUTHERAN— NEGRO. 

CHRISTIAN. 

There are twelve churclies in Johnson county, with about 2,122 
members. There are thirteen Sunday Schools, with 1,230 members. 

Mount Zion Christian church was organized May 31, 1840. The 
charter members were: Charles Thornton, George Thornton, Grandi- 
son Thornton, Mary Thornton, M. G. Thornton, Theodocia Thornton, 
Nancy L. Thornton, James W. Jones, Margaret Jones, Larkin Hooker, 
Eliza Jane Hocker, A. W. Hufif, Lucy B. Fuqua, Ann Eastham, Sarah 
Eastham, Nancy Vigus, Elizabeth Tebbs, and two colored men — Charles 
Thornton's Andrew and James W. Jones' Joseph. In 1845. there were 
upward of one hundred communicants. About 1850, the church build- 
ing became unsuitable for use and this congregation and the Baptist 
worshipped in a house, partly log and partly frame, until 1858, when 
the Mount Zion church building was erected. Some of the early minis- 
ters were : Thomas Mulkey, Thomas McBride, Duke Young, Elder 
Price, Allen Wright, Thomas Hancock, James Randall, C. A. Hedrick, 
B. C. Stephens, and Samuel McDaniel. Since 1881 the ministers are 
as follow: J. B. Wright, J. C. Reynolds, Adam Wright, J. H. Crutcher. 
Phil Stark, "Old Brother Stark," C. W. West, W. M. Thomas, W. S. 
Trader, L. B. Coggins, Rev. Heins, J. W. Fewel, R. M. Shelton, A. E. 
Hervey. and R. E. Alexander. The present membership is 155. There 
has been a Sunday School in connection with the church since 1881, tiie 
attendance averaging sixty members. 

The Christian church at Fayetteville was organized aliout 1842. .\. 
frame building was erected in 1846. The following is a list of the 
pastors: Hiram Bledsoe, James Randall, D. M. Grandfield. (;. W . 
Longan, William Jarrett, G. R. Hand, W^illiam Roe, C. A. Hedrick, and 
Sanniel McDaniel. 'i"he church was reorganized proliably in 187() with 



HISTORY OF .TOHXSOX COUNTY 377 

the following charter members: William Trapp, John Trapp, Jesse 
Trapp, M. Trapp, Thomas Collins, Elijah Young, John Seigfield, Hiram 
Kelso. William Jones. William Lemmon, Samuel Guinslead, Noah Dyer. 
The present membership is fifty. The superintendent of the Sunday 
School is Elmer Pollock. There are tliirtv mendjers. 

Warrensburg Christian church. ( By Mrs. Virginia Gilkeson 
Hedges). The organization of the Christian church in W'arrensljurg 
was efifected in 1855. This congregation built a large brick church 
structure in 1859. During the Civil War the members were scattered. 
A. H. Gilkeson and J. P. Henshaw were among the few remaining 
together, wdio, with others, who moved here after the war. met at the 
home of A. H. Gilkeson. January 11. 1806. and reorganized. A. H. 
Gilkeson bought and donated a lot on the south side of Gay street. It 
was during the pastorate of J. .-V. Lord, that the l)uilding now owned 
and occupied was built. It was dedicated January \2. 1890. W. L. 
Hedges was chairman of the official board and of the soliciting com- 
mittee and he. A. C. Griggs and .A.. H. Gilkeson led in the work of 
raising funds for the new l:>uilding. The following pastors ha\e served 
this church: David Nation. George W\ Longan, John R. Reavis, J. 
M. Lennison. J. W. Monser. Joseph H. Foy, J. H. Hughes. John .\. 
Brooks, J. .\. Lord. S. M. McDaniel. A. W. Davis. J. J. ^kirgan, H. A. 
'Denton, W. N. Briney. J. T. McGarvey, George B. Stewart, S. B. 
]\Ioore, Charles A. Jackson. George M Prewitt. the present pastor, has 
been serving since February 24. 1918. The present membership is 
nearly 700. The Bible School's enrollment is 400. Professor E. B. 
Brown is superintendent. 

Holden Christian church. (By ^h's. Walter Wallace.) The First 
Christian church of Holden was organized l^eliruary 9, 1869. The 
church building was erected in 1870 with the following charter mem- 
bers: Mr. and Mrs. J, W. C. Hulse. Mr. and AL-s. J. W. Gaunt, Mr. 
and :\L-s. ^Lartin [Nlize. Mr. and Mrs. B. Hulett, Mrs. Pruitt. Robert 
Pruitt, Mr. and Mrs. Charles Wilkerson. Mrs. W. F. Flynn. AL-s. L. 
Barnes, Mr. and Mrs. Paul Hulse. and Alisses ^iLattie and Sallie Hulse. 
The ministers have been: G. W. Longan, Elder Smart, James Randall, 
J. A. Lord, A. F. Smith, F. E. Meigs. Elder Mitchell, S. G. Clay, D. C. 
Peters. J. W. Boulton. H. F. Burns. S. PL Givelor, R. H. Murphy, George 
E. Dew, F. H. DeVol. Dean W. H. Llamon. H. L. Davenport, G. S. 
Birkhead. B. D. Gillispie began his work with this church in January, 



378 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

1917. There are 280 members of the church. 

Knob Noster Christian church. (By W. C. Knaus. ) The Chris- 
tian church was organized at Knob Noster in 1866 by Elder James A. 
Randall. The first church building was erected in 1870, in spite of 
embarrassing difficulties. The charter members were: Dr. J. H. 
\^'arren, Sarah Warren, George Courtney, Sarah Courtney, Polly A. 
Carpenter, Colonel R. Wells, Lucinda McAdoo, Sarah Wells, Margaret 
Oglesby, Mrs. M. Southey, Margaret Carpenter, Sophia Knaus, \\'. C. 
Knaus, W. D. Carpenter, and Adam Carpenter. The ministers have 
been: J. H. Randall, O. Spencer, C. A. Hedrick, Robert Dorsey. 
Charles Laycock, J. H. Vance, John Claypool, A. Stirling. The present 
pastor, in 1918, is J. M. Harris. Sunday School was organized in 1881 
with Mr. Schultz as superintendent. A. M. Craig is now superintendent 
and the enrollment is 160. The church membership is 307. The church 
at Knob Noster experienced many bitter and trying trials in the early 
days and it was with much difficulty a church building was at last obtained. 
A brick structure, erected at a cost of $15,000, has supplanted the old 
frame house and the church is now in a most prosperous condition. 

Prairie View Christian church was organized in 1872 and a church 
building was built very soon afterward and the original Iniilding is still 
occupied by this congregation. The chief organizers were: Marion 
Todd, Mr. and Mrs. John Barnett, Mr. and Mrs. Reavis, Mr. and Mrs. 
William Wiley, Mr. and Mrs. T. B. Marr, Mr. and Mrs. John C. Jones. 
Mr. and Mrs. Nash, Dr. Ward, and his son, James. The first minister 
was Reverend Marion Todd and the first services were held at Reavis 
school house. After Reverend Todd, the ministers were: George W. 
Longan, Ben Stephens, Blaylock, Burnett, Birge, Meigs, Reid, Creager, 
Garrett, Faught, Smith, Ford, Trundle, Coftee, Gilbert Park, G. W. 
Phillips, A. Stiriing, J. W. Fewel, Allen Bridges, A. Stiriing, C. W. 
West, R. Wilson, R. M. McCormick, Coggins, C. W. West, Kinney. R. 
M. McCormick, — the last named being the present pastor, in 1018. 
The first Sunday School was held in 1884 and 1885. The present enroll- 
ment is forty-two and the church membership is fifty-eight. 

Cedar Grove Christian church. (By N. T. Collins.) The Chris- 
tian church at Cedar Grove was organized in 1874. The organizer.'; 
were: Reverend N. M. Hendrickson. Noah T. Collins, and H. T. 
Anderson. Tlie charter members were: Noah T. Collins. 11. T. .\nder- 
son, Mrs. Martha Dalhousc, Mrs. Rebecca Duchanan, W;irren .Vnder- 



son, Mr. and Airs. James Matthews, and .Mrs. Xancy Myers. Tlie min- 
isters liave been; Reverend Meigs. Reverend Dawson, Reverend 
Jarrett, E. Wilkes, J. E. Dejarnett, W. W. Blaylock, Robert Howell, 
Alonzo Stirling, OUie Davis, J. I. Orrison, Ed. \\'ilkes, L. B. Coggins, 
J. E. Dejarnett. L. B. Coggins, Charley West, and Egan Herndon, the 
last named having been pastor from 1912 until the present time, in 1918, 
and is still serving this congregation. The present church structure 
was erected in 1883 and dedicated in June, 1884. There are now 107 
members of this church. 

Valley City (formerly Mount Harmon) Christian church was 
organized in 1878 by C. A. Hcdrick. Some of the first members were: 
George Marshall and family, ^^^ S. Foster and family, Mr. and Mrs. 
Isham, F. Tammer, A. J. Bozarth and family, and \\'illiam Foster (the 
last named a colored man). The ministers since 1901 ha\-e been: C. 
AW West, Alva Blaylock, A. Stirling, J. H. Shelton. The present pastor 
is C. \A'. \\'est and the church membership is now 150. Some of the 
Sunday School superintendents have been: G. W. Shanton, Robert 
\\'illes, Mr. Wriston, and Alartin Houston. The present Sunday school 
superintendent is Everett Davis and the enrollment at the time of this 
writing is seventy-five. 

Quick City Christian church. ( By M. Quick. ) The Christian 
church at Quick City was organized about 1887 at Pleasant Ridge by 
Reverend Morrison. The chief organizers were: Reverend Morrison, 
P. G. Sanders, J. C. Solomon, M. Quick, F. N. .\nderson. John Graves, 
and J. \\\ Fort. The charter members were: J. C. Solomon, Mrs. J. 
C. Solomon, Mr. and Mrs. J. W. Fort, Mr. and Airs. F. H. .Anderson, 
Air. and Airs. John Graves, Airs. Susan Ham and daughter, Sallie Ham, 
Air. and Airs. G. W. Hodges, and Air. and Airs. P. J. Underwood. The 
first meeting was held at Pleasant Ridge school house. .A church build- 
ing was built in 1891 on land donated by Air. Quick and the Railroad 
Town Lot Company. The ministers since the erection of the church 
building have been : W. S. Trader, Elder \\'ebb. .A. C. Layman, Stacy 
Phillips, A^■. C. ^^"est, AIouzo Stirling, Elder Hood, Elder Pfost, T. 
Crutcher, I. J. Kinney, and the present pastor, E. ^^'. Gillum. Sunday 
School was organized at Pleasant Ridge school house and in recent 
years has been held at the Baptist church. Since January 1, 1918, 
church services are held t\\ice monthly. 

Leeton Christian church wa> organized in .\pril, 1907. Elder J. 



380 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

H. Allen was chosen pastor. There were twent3'-three charter mem- 
bers: J. H. \\'alters. Mrs. J. H. Walters, A. S. Lowry, Mrs. Cassie 
Lowry. Mrs. Viola M. Jones, Estill R. Jones, Mrs. Maggie Mohler, Miss 
Florence Lowry, James Christian, Mrs. Emily Christian, J. M. Lowry, 
Mrs. Rebecca Lowry, Miss Myrtle Wyatt, Mrs. Margaret Wyatt, Mrs. 
Will Harris, Mrs. Annie Taylor, Mrs. Addie Epperson, Mrs. Marie 
Stacy, Mrs. Etta Stacy, Mrs. Annie Boone, Mrs. Lillie Cox, Mrs. Lula 
Wash, and Mrs. Ella Todd. The church building was built in 1910 
and dedicated in the fall of 1913. The present church membership is 
eighty-five. The Christian Endeavor Society has a total membership 
of thirty and the Bible School has sixty members. 

Oak Hill Christian church was organized November 21, 1910. 
The following were charter members: Mrs. Serena Brown, Mrs. Anna 
Brown, Roy and Oscar Brant, Frank Coleman, Chas. Crowley, Mrs. 
Emma Clear, Mrs. Myrtle Clear, C. Driscoll. Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Davis, 
Mr. and Mrs. Carl Davis, Mr. and Mrs. Chas. S Hunter, Wm. Heard, 
Mr. and Mrs. J. H. Judd and daughter, Mrs. A. L. Hosman Mrs. Mar- 
tha McCurdy and son, Budd, Mrs. Nettie Rogers, Mrs. Mary Shumate, 
Mr. and Mrs. T. B. Skidmore, Alice and Eliza Thompson, Miles Thomas, 
Mr. and Mrs. H. W. Zumbrun and daughter, Elva. Tlie site of the 
church structure was donated by Mr. and Mrs. John \\'. Dawson. The 
following ministers have served this congregation: Elders C. W. West, 
A. L. Hosman, I. J. Kinney, and R. E. Alexander, Elder Donald is 
now officiating. A Imilding was erected at a cost of $2,000 and dedi- 
cated in June, 1911. The church membership is fifty. 

BAPTIST. 

There are twenty-three Baptist churches in Johnson county, with 
a membership of 2,729 and eighteen Sunday Schools, with a memlier- 
ship of 1,072. 

High Point Baptist church. (By Mrs. Lorena Cooper.) The Bap- 
tist church was organized at High Point in 1832 by F.lders Simpson 
and John T. Rickets. The original members were: Mr. and Mrs. Benja- 
min Snelling, Mr. and Mrs. Vincent Snelling, ]\lr. and Mrs. John Draper, 
Mr. and Mrs. Anthony Owsley, Ann White, and Mr. and Mrs. Jolm T. 
Rickets. The early ministers were: Elders Simpson, John T. Rick- 
ets, W. P. C. Caldwell, B. F. Goodwin. A. Horn. A. ^\. Cookroll, and 
T. J. Nevellc. The following is a list of pastors from 1881 until l')l,S: 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY ^8 1 

Reverend R. H. Harris, J. S. Denton, A. D. Cooper, "Tommie" Smith, 
C, F. Whitlock, J. S. Denton, G. W. Duncan, S. Al. Petty. George Bar- 
ton, D. W. Williams, Walter Davenport, A. K. Lewis, and T. G. Hen- 
dricks. T. G. Hendricks has been pastor of High Point Baptist church 
since February, 1918. As far back as 1881, tliere was a Sunday school 
organized, with Hon. Wni. P. Greenlee, superintendent. The fol- 
lowing is a partial list of superintendents of the Sunday School: W. F. 
Cooper, R. P. Perry, O. Hall, Robert Douglass, Chas. Miller, P. J. 
Bollinger, \\\ L. Perry, and S. L, Miller. Mr. Miller is the present super- 
intendent. The church membership is 23i3. The members of the Sun- 
day School are active in mission and benevolent works. 

Liberty Baptist church. (By Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Gott. ) The 
Baptist church at Liberty was organized Maw 1836, with ten members, 
as follow: Air. and Mrs. John Thornton, Joshua Adams and wife, Mr. 
and Airs. Tarleton Oglesby, Mr. and Airs. W'm. Thornton, Air. and Airs. 
Leroy Barton, Air. and Airs. Joel \\'alker, Richard Huntsman and wife, 
Susan Collins and Ann Blevins. The pastors of this church hax'e 1)een: 
Joseph W^hite, A. Horn, David Johnson, William Kelly, Henry Farmer, 
Reverend Gentry, P. C. Caldwell, Jonathan Gott (father of W. L. Gott ), 
Amos Horn, Edward Roth, R. H. Harris, A. Barton, each of whom 
served this congregation during the years following organization until 
1878. The following is a list of pastors from 1878 until January, 1918: 
J. A. Carmichael, A. M. Cockrell, A. Barton, J. AI. Jones, J. T. Osborne, 
James Carmichael, William Tipton, C. F. \\'hitlock, R. P. Harris, J. T. 
Osborne, Edward James, John Odom. T. AI. F.stes, S. C. \\'illiamson, T. 
C. Brammer. J. K. Harris. The old church building was a "double- 
loghouse." During the Civil \\'ar, this fell down and in Alarch, 1865, 
the members of the church again met to discuss business matters. In 
1878, the present church structure was erected. The church member- 
ship is now 101. The first Sunday School was organized in 1872. Cleo 
Pollock is the present superintendent. W^ L. Gott has been and is now 
instructor of the Bible Class and with the exception of five years, dur- 
ing which time W. A. Grififin was the teacher, has taught the class since 
1872. 

Vitae Springs Baptist church was organized in 1836 and is one of 
the oldest churches in the county. Alost of the original meml)ers have 
either died or moved away but the church organization still includes 
twentv-one members. 



382 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Providence Baptist church. (By J. J. Davis.) This church was or- 
ganized in April, 1846, by Elder \\'m. P. C. Caldwell. The charter 
members ^\•ere ; Samuel and Anna E\'ans, Benjamin and ^lalinda Chil- 
dres, Wm. B. and Sina Compton, Lewis and Sarah McComb. and An- 
drew J. Bell. The pastors, who have served this congregation are: 
Brothers Tompkins, J. Osborne, Tate, Chas. Miller, Elemer, G. L. 
Newkirk. The first Sunday School was held in 1877 and the present 
enrollment is sixty-five members. The church membership is 150 and 
Rev. G. L. Newkirk is pastor. 

Knob Noster First Baptist church was organized in Old Town in 
1856. The following were charter members: W. A. Wortham, J. C. 
Corum, Ellen B. Corum, Jas. R. Johnson, E. M. Johnson, John A. Pigg, 
Sr., Ellen Z. Littlefield, G. C. Reese, Mary V. Reese, and Sarah A. 
Wyatt. The church was reorganized in 1867. The following have 
served as pastor since 1886: S. M. Victor, E. M. Wadley. Wm. Tipton. 

B. L. Mitchell, Edward James, J. S. Denton, J. ^^■. Beville, C. E. D. 
Arnold. H. C. Barton, W. G. Patterson, Thomas Potter. S. M. Victor. 
T. P. Staiiford. Raymond H. Palmer. Reverend Palmer became pastor 
in April, 1916. and is ofificiating at the time of this writing in 1918. 
During the last twenty-nine years, there have been four Sunday school 
superintendents: C. Cobb. J. C. Winkler, L. E. Meador .and S. W. 
A\'enger. The average attendance at Sunday School is forty-four and 
the clnu"cli mend:)ership is ninety-eight. 

Bear Creek Baptist church was organized June, 1857, by Reverend 
Wm. Owsley, Sally Owsley, and Anthony Owsley. A small organiza- 
tion still flourishes, consisting of -fourteen members. They have a Sun- 
day School, with an average attendance of twenty-eight. Reverend H. 

C. Rice is pastor at the time of this writing in 1918. 

Kingsville Baptist church was organized in 1860 with the follow- 
ing original members: George Minton, Gross Gesterton, E. G. George. 
Andrew and Sarah Worth, Rufus \\'ise, John, Marinda, and Lucretia 
Wooton, Rosanna M. Johnson. J. Hunt, Martha Hunt, and Mary Byers- 
ly. The members were scattered during the Civil War. but in .\ugust. 
1866, the church was reorganized. Reverend George Minton was the 
first pastor. Other early ministers were: M. Brown. Jas. Gabriel. 
Reverend Longfellow, J. G. Marr. J. W. Williams, L N. Newman, and 
J. L. Carmichael. The present pastor is Reverend J. A. Bryson. The 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUXTY 383 

church membership is 177. The superintendent of the Sunday School 
is W. \\'. Alessick and the nverage attendance is tliirty. 

Elm Springs Baptist church. (By Molhe E. Pitts Shafer.) This 
churck was organized in July, 1800, by Elders A<lams and George Min- 
ton, with fifteen members, namely: David and Lydia Hunter, Isabclle 
Hunter, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Martin, Jane Martin, James Martin, John 
and Jane Winfrey, Wm. F. Snow and wife, George and Eunice Colbert, 
Nicholas Williams, and Mary Cox. The first church building was erect- 
ed in the spring of 1869. The present structure on the same site was 
built in 1896. The pastors wdio have servetl this church are: George 
Minton, Henry Farmer, Isaac Crow, J. ^^^ Williams, Isaac Newman, 
J. B. Jackson, Frank West, J. B. Jackson, J. T. Osborne, F. P. Davidson, 
L. E. Marvin, W. F. Wisdom, \\'alter Davenport, and J. A. Bryson. 
Reverend Bryson is the present pastor. The church membership is 150. 

Honey Creek Baptist church was organized during the Civil War 
by Brothers Ross, D. B. Wilson, John Kelly and G. .\. Estes, who were 
among the charter members. At the close of the war, they disbanded 
and moved to Columbus. The church was reorganized in 1878, with 
the following and the original charter members: W. M. Utt, J. B. 
Jackson, David Sanders, B. S. West, and H. Adams. These members 
built the present Honey Creek church building in 1881. The pastor now 
is Roy Porter and the church membership is twelve. 

The First Baptist church of Warrensburg was organized .\ugust 
17, 1867. Among the charter memliers were: W. B. Moody, James 
D. Smith, Mr. and Mrs. Tomlin, Mr. and Mrs. D. M. Johnson, Mr. and 
Mrs. Z. H. Emerson, J. H. Denton, Juliette Denton, Millard Hyatt, 
Mordecai M. Gladdish, Samuel Y. Harris, and Malinda Harris, W. H. 
Yarborough, John M. Claunch, Mary H. Heath. Clara M. Crutchfield, 
Marie H. Wilkerson, Mary O'Dair, and Mrs. Mary S. Claunch. The 
pastors since organization have been: Reverends Jerry Farmer, \\". P. 
C. Caldwell, George Minton, J. H. Denton, .\. P. Williams, Pool, Gallop, 
Manion, Dean, Cole, J. E. Welch, S. D. Fulton, M. L. Bil)b, L. AI. Berry, 
W. R. Painter, H. A. Slaughter, B. G. Maynard, F. Y. Campbell, George 
Hale, J. O. Staples, C. C. Cunningham, and Rev. Hampton, the present 
pastor. The officers of the First Baptist church are at the time of this 
writing: Dr. Rev. Hampton, pastor; Jesse Gulp, superintendent of the 
Sunday School; Tom Cheatham, treasurer; and Miss Bessie Chaney, 
secretary. The church membership is 707 and the Sunday School has 
an average attendance of 224. 



I 

384 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY I 

Enon Baptist church of Pittsville. (By I\Irs. T. E. Rice.) This 1 

church was organized July 25, 1868. There were then twenty-two mem- | 

hers, nearly all Warfords and Crows. For a few months, services were 1 

held in ]\Iiller school house, but in March, 1869, the members of Enon 't 

Baptist church moved to a new church building located in Pittsville. 1 

The present church structure was erected in 1894 on the site of the i 

old one. The following ministers have been pastors of this church : 1 

Abram Weaver, G. W. Smith, I. N. Newman, J. B. Jackson, Alex Bar- | 

ton, P. M. Best, J. M. Jones, A. T. Jones, Wm. Portwood, M. T. John- j 

son, J. L. Carmichael, J. S. Denton, W. T. Russell, F. P. Davidson, A. M. j 

Cockrell, J. W. Cunningham, A. VV. Urquhart, and Thomas Powell, the ! 

present pastor. The Sunday School was organized about 1870. T. E. ] 

Rice is now superintendent. The church membership is at the time of I 

this writing 100. 

Pleasant Point Baptist church. (By Mr. and Mrs. John Dilling- | 

ham.) The Baptist church was organized at this place on August 31. 
1869. The charter members were: Robert Ellis, Emma Ellis. Thomas . 

McDaniel, Sallie McDaniel, Susan McDaniel, Elizabeth Harding, and ! 

E. H. Burchfield. The pastors, since 1894, are as follow: L. Hayworth, 
T. R. White, L. White, W. F. Wisdom, R. A. Brown, J. M. Tate, \\". 
R. Yokely, A. M. Cockrell, John Odom, V. H. Harrell, and George 
Dillingham, the present pastor. The church has now seventy-seven 
members and the Sunday School enrollment is forty. 

First Baptist church of Holden. (By Reverend F. L. Alexander.) 
The Baptist church was organized at Holden on March 23, 1878. The 
chapter members were as follow: C. N. Webster. R. B. Johnson, Mary 
S. Johnson, Mamie Johnson, T. H. Miller, Elizabeth E. Miller. T. J. 
Allison, Mecca Miller, Willis Teft, Sarah Teft, Jacob Parkhurst, ]\Iillard 
Parkhurst, Seth Cook, Mary Garnett. and Rebecca Lane. In 1879, the 
church members erected their first building, on the site of the present 
church building. The early structure was burned earh- in the year 1898. 
and the present edifice erected. The pastors, who ha\'e served this 
church, are: C. N. Wester, I. N. Inman, C. N. Wester, B. G. Maynard, 
W. H. Williams, F. M. Wadley, B. G. Maynard, Edward James, Samuel 
E. Ewing, Vinton C. Northup, W. T. Russell, J. W. Beville, T. L. 
Powell, R. T. Nevins, J. L. Harris, J. M. Daniel, C. W. Furgeson. George 
Borham and Ferd L. Alexander. Reverend Alexander is the present 
pastor. Tlie church membership is 325. A. B. Coy is treasurer, G. \\'. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 3S5 

Estes is clerk, and C. L. Strange, T. H. Miller and W. W. Dishman 
are trustees. 

Harmony Baptist church was organized in July. 1881. by Reverend 

A. M. Cockrell and a frame building was built in the same year. The 
first pastor was Reverend Cockrell. The charter members were : T. J. 
Caldwell, Martha Caldwell. L. Caldwell, Wm. A. Caldwell, Ida Cald- 
well, B. A. Holmes, Mary J. \\'all. B. F. Holmes, Nannie R. Holmes, 

B. F. Wall, Ehza Wall. Cora F. Wall. James Greer, :Martha Greer. Silas 
P. Greer. Jas. T. Greer. M. Greer. L. B. Dudley. Clarinda Dudley. Sam- 
uel Hibbs. Louisa Hibbs, Bettie Hibbs. Hannah Hibbs. J. T. Williams, 
Lizzie Williams, Ella \A'illiams. Sciotha \\'allace, Robert Wall, Adelia 
Hohnes, B. F. Dudley and wife, and James Hering and wife. The pas- 
tors, who have served this congregation are: A. M. Cockrell, J. T. 
Neville, J. S. Denton, A. M. Cockrell, R. H. Harris. J. S. Denton. J. T. 
Cowan, H. D. Hughes, W. H. Scott. J. T. Cowan. J. B. Dotson, S. U. 
Mohler. S. M. Victor. J. S. Price. J. T. Osborne. G. N. Neafus. W. C. 
Ferguson James Shacklette. C. J. ]\liller, H. C. Eleena. Leb Thomas, 
and J. A. Dewitt. the present pastor. The church membership in 1918 
is eighty. The first Sunday School was held in 1882 and the present 
enrollment is fifty. Harvey Swearingen is superintendent. In 1891 
Harmony church was moved from the original location to the present 
site one and a half miles southwest of it. 

New Bethel Baptist church. (By Roy ^^^ Porter.) On Septem1)er 
25. 1883. this church was organized by Reverend A. M. Cockrell. Wm. 
Gowin, Rebecca Gowin, Lewis Hosman, Mary J. Hosman. Winnie 
Hazelwood, Elisha Smith Reverend John Adams, and Mary Lydel. The 
charter deacons were: W^n. Gowin and Lewis Hosman. The present 
Sunday School was organized in August. 1917. with Melvin Simons, 
superintendent. The pastors who have served are: Reverends A. M. 
Cockrell. R. A. Brown, J. W. Mohler. W^ H. Scott. A. L. Manis, L. Hay- 
worth. R. P. Harris. S. Mohler, R. P. Harris. R. A. Brown. Wisdom, 
R. P. Harris. J. T. Osborne. J. M. Tate. W. R. Yokley, D. B. Wilcox. 
Lee Lamb. R. H. Parker, L. R. Lamb, G. C. Brennaman, A. T. Wilkin- 
son, and Roy W. Porter, the present pastor in 1918. There have been 
about 320 members in the New Bethel church since the organization. 

Rose Hill Baptist church. (By Paul Hammontree.) The Baptist 
church was organized at Rose Hill in 1889. The church house was 
built in Rose Hill, then a countrv village. Reverend M. D. Eubank 

(13) 



38t) HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Avas the first pastor of the church, succeeded by Reverends J. S. Price, 
M. L. Ingram, Pierce Ingram, and L. E. Marvin. The ministers who 
have served since 1910, are: W. J. Matherly, O. W. Stanbraugh, U. T. 
Cheek, and F. L. Alexander, the present pastor. In September, 1917, 
Brother Alexander held a meeting which resulted in nineteen additions 
to the church and the Sunday School was reorganized. Paul D. Ham- 
montree has been superintendent of the Sunday School for a number of 
years. The church membership is now sixty-six. 

Mount Zion Baptist church. (By Mrs. J. R. Wheeldon.) This 
church was organized August 3, 1887, by Brothers Thomas L. Powell 
and Osborne. The charter members were : Wm. Graves, Ned Corder, 
and Polly Cofifman. The following is a partial list of pastors who have 
served this congregation: Reverends Harris, T. L. Powell, \\'. J. 
Scott, W. F. Wisdom, A. L. Manis, H. D. Hader, J. M. Tate. John 
Odom, W. R. Yokley, C. C. Brennaman, H. V. Harrell, and R. W. Por- 
ter, the last named being the present pastor. The church membership 
is thirty-six. 

Quick City Baptist church was organized October 10, 1892, by 
Reverend T. L. Powell with the following charter members: H. A. 
Smith, Nannie Smith, J. W. Stout, Addie Stout. 'Sla.ry Stout, Annie 
Chitwood, W. A. Carter, C. A. Carter, F. P. Hargis, Annie Hargis. C. 
A. Brown, Mary Tannihill, C. L. Farnsworth, J- D. Brown, Sarah Sat- 
terwhite, Sallie Satterwhite, Nannie Stout, Ellen George, W. N. George, 
Lillie George, Henry Carter, Virginia Carter, Sister Chitwood, Fannie 
Brooks, Laura Brooks, Birdie Smith, S. A. Farnsworth, Curni Duck, 
Oliver Tannihill, and John Chambers. The old school house was for 
a long time used as a place of worship. In the fall of 1895, negotiations 
were begun for the purchase of the building at Old Index, which was 
purchased and moved to Quick City. The following is a list of pastors 
who have served this church: Reverends Dean, McGraw, Jenkins, B. B. 
Russell, Walter Davenport, McCoy, U. T. Cheek, the present pastor, 
in 1918. The enrollment of the church members is 193 and of the Sun- 
day School forty-one. M. F. Ball is superintendent of the Sunday 
School. 

Montserrat Baptist church was organized in 1895. The charter 
members were: J. F. Lawson, S. A. Lawson, J. W. Manis. E. Manis. 
James Evans, N. E. Comins, Annie McCart, and Belle Lewis. .\ Sun- 
day school was organized in 1896 and the present enrollment is thirty. 



HISTORY OF J011XSt)X COUXTY :;87 

Some of the pastors have been: J. R. White. A. S. Manis, Ernest Hos- 
man. Reverend Burchfield. Harry Hader. A. M. Cockrell, John Odom. 
Reverend Hodges, and the present pastor, R. W. Porter. The present 
membership is twenty-two. 

Pleasant Valley Baptist church. (By Mrs. Katie Carder.) On 
October 24, 1896, the church at Pleasant Valley was organized at Hazel 
Mound school house by Reverends Thomas Brown, Wm. Faverty, W. T. 
Bowen, T. Morris, and J. Cox. There were eleven charter members, as 
follow: R. A. Brown M. Brown. Robbie Brown, Z. T. Kitterman, Mack 
Birnel, George Kitterman, Diltha Brown. Belle Kitterman, Alice Bir- 
nel, Nellie Kitterman, and Joseph Moore. Reverend R. A. Brown was 
the first minister and J. C. Moon, T. Bayless, and Z. T. Kitterman were 
the first ordained deacons. A church building was erected on ground 
donated by A. E. Boland. A Sunday School was organized, the present 
membership of which is seventy-five. Brother Fielden M. Carder is 
superintendent in 1918. The list of ministers of this congregation fol- 
lows; R. A. Brown, W. E. Wisdom, J. M. Tate. A. M. Cockrell. John 
Odom, J. M. Ramsey, J. T. Cowan, John Clark, and J. S. Price. The 
church membership is at present eighty-three. 

Magnolia Baptist church. (By J. H. Baker.) The Baptist church 
was organized at Magnolia on Eebruary 5, 1898. The charter members 
were: Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Raker, :Mr. and Mrs. J. L. Carmichael, Mrs. 
Chas. Howard, I\lr. and Mrs. J. \V Logan, Oliver C. Logan. Wylie 
Logan, Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Raker. Mrs. Sarah Raker, and Miss Mary 
Raker. Reverend S. C. Ewing was first moderator. During the past 
twenty years, the following ministers have served this church: Rev- 
erends Lowe, A. D. Cooper, Edward James, I. M. Victor, Earl Riney. 
Fields, Roy McGraw, Miller, O. W. Stanbraugh, Neafus, Briggs, Zeh 
Thomas, G. L. Newkirk, A. K. Lewis, the present pastor. The church 
officers in 1918 are as follow: A. K. Lewis, moderator; J. H. Raker, 
clerk; G. Y. Raker, treasurer; T. D. Barbee. J. F. Raker, J. F. Mansfield, 
S. L. Wilson, T. F. Dunn, G- V. Raker, and J. H. Raker, deacons. The 
church membership is at present seventy-nine. 

The Baptist church of Chilhowee. (By Mrs. W. L. Hunt.) The 
Baptist church was organized at Chilhowee November 28, 1898. The 
charter members were: Thomas Bayless, Lydia Bayless, F. K. Chipley, 
Mary S. Chipley, Samuel Greever. Nannie Greever. John Bayless, Or- 



388 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

ville Bayless, Wm. Hancock, and Lizzie Hancock. A. M. Cockrell was 
the first minister. Other pastors have been : M. L. Ingram, G. N. 
Neafus, Reverend Bond, C. S. Tunnell, J. H. Clark, and J. K. Harris is 
the present minister in 1918. The church has a membership of seventy- 
eight. The first Sunday School was organized August 20, 1904, with A. 
L. Hosman as superintendent. The present enrollment is seventy and 
Brother Journey is superintendent. The first church building owned 
by the Baptists was moved from Blairstown and dedicated in 1907. This 
structure was remodeled and rededicated in 1913. 

The First Baptist church of Leeton was organized in May, 1905. 
The chief organizers were: Mr. and Mrs. R. N. Hobson, Mr. and Major 
M. E. Hocker, Mrs. H. E. Fewel. Dr. L. W. Fowler, Mr. and Mrs. 
George Stone, Mr. and Mrs. E. E. Wall and Mr. and Mrs. A. A. Doug- 
lass. The first Sunday School was held in June, 1906, with Wm. Stew- 
art, superintendent. The present enrollment is fifty-two and William 
Cox is superintendent. The church membership is 121 and Reverend 
R. H. Palmer is pastor. The ministers of this congregation have been: 
G. W. Duncan, J. M. Measus, J. D. Chapelle, Reverend Tunnell, Rever- 
end Stigers, Herbert Satterfield, and G. L. Newkirk. A new church 
building was completed in 1905. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL. 

There are eleven churches of this denomination in Johnson county, 
with a church membership of 1.003. There are ten Sunday Schools, with 
an enrollment of 1,029. 

Houts' Chapel Methodist Episcopal church was organized at the 
home of George Wilson Houts. Mr. Houts came here in 1839 and was 
an active Method'ist and after the division of the church into the North- 
ern and Southern branches in 1844, he was one of the few in Johnson 
county to ally himself with the Northern branch. After the division, he 
formed a class at his home and a church organization was effected which 
has existed to this day. He was class leader, steward, and in other ways 
active in church work. The present stewards are: Wm. Camp1)ell. 
George Orme, Robert Huffey, and O. J. Bush, the last named also 
superintendent of the Sunday school. The church has sixty-five nioni- 
bers and the Sunday School has ninety. A new church building will be 
dedicated June 16, 1918, by Bishop Ouayle. of fvansas City. 

Warrensburg Methodist Episcopal church. (By \\'m. E. Crissey. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY ^^89 

Recording Steward from 1870 to present time. 1918.) On August 3. 
1865, the church known as the Market Street Methodist Episcopal 
church, because of its location, was organized. Reverend T. H. Hag- 
erty and J. \\'esley Johnson were in cliarge and the latter preached liis 
first sermon July 7, 1865, the organization being completed on the above 
given date. Thomas Kirkpatrick, G. W. Houts, G. N. Elliott C. E. 
^Moorman, S. M. Fitch were stewards, and James Gillilan, C. E. Moor- 
man, G. N. Elliott, :\I. U. Eoster, Robert A. Eoster, G. Wilson llouts. 
Thomas W. Williams, and W'm. Hoiiandsworth were trustees. • The 
Sunday School was organized the same day with Lewis Scluiiidlapp, 
superintendent. The following preachers have been in charge: J. W. 
Johnson. J. "\\'. Newcomb. Henry Minard. E. S. Beggs, G. W. Durment, 
J. N. Pierce. W. K. Marshall. H. R. Miller. O. M. Stewart. S. R. Reese. 
P. McNutt. B. R. Wilburn. D. T. Mattison. L, A. Markham. W. T. 
Lewis. W. V. Hamil. B. E. Crissman. W. C. Coleman. G. E. Hunt, Perry 
E. Pierce, C. C. James, and the present pastor. J. C. Gilbreath. 

Knob Noster Methodist Episcopal church was organized b\ Rev- 
erend C. E. Carpenter in 1865. .\ partial list of the charter members 
follows: Samuel Workman. Sarah Workman, Geo. W. Lutz. and Chris- 
tina Lutz. Some of the ministers' names are given, namely: George 
McKee. W. W. Powell. J. R. Sasseen. Sanford Ing. T. S. Benefield. John 
H. Lea. Wm. DeMott, C. J. W. Jones, and Jas. S. Porter. Tlie church 
building was built in 1870. The ministers since 1906 are: Reverends 
Boyd. Wagner, Still, Wright, Hull. Osment. Mason. Dail. and O. W. 
Ereeman. the present pastor. In 1881. there were eighty-eight mem- 
bers of the Sunday School, of which John A. Colb'ns was superintendent. 
The present Sunday School enrollment is 102 and J. J. Hughes is super- 
intendent. The church membership is 107. 

New Hope Methodist Episcopal church. (By Miss S. E. Adams.) 
A community organization, organized as a i\letiiodist Episcopal cluu-ch 
in June, 1866, existed liere since 1852. and was known as "Bear Creek 
Meetin' House." The chief organizers were: Re\'erends ^^^ K. Glass 
and G. H. Reed. The charter members were: .\mos ^McDaniel. Diana 
McDaniel, Sarali and Frances McDaniel. John J. and Elizabeth Corbut, 
T. R. Adams, and John Bell. The first ministers were: W. K. Glass. 
G. H. Reed. N. H. Mitchell. J. K. Gardiner, Geo. W. Houts. H. Trel- 
fall, J. C. Berry, AVm. INIcCready, J. W. Grant, Isaac Entwistle, A. An- 
derson, B. E. January, and J. H. Gillispie. The first Sunday School was 
held May. 1866. with Daniel Adams, as superintendent. Tlie present 



390 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

average attendance at Sunday School is thirty-five, and Z. L. Barnes is 
superintendent and John T. Dofflemyer, assistant superintendent. J. 

B. Wayman was a faithful superintendent of the Sunday School for 
probably eight years. In 1884, a church building was erected and 
named "New Hope" by Daniel Adams. Some of the pastors since the 
erection of the church structure are : J- H. GilHspie James Pine, W. T. 
Pyles, Wm. Bennett, J. S. Porter, A. Finley, J. C. Brigham, A. M. Lehr. 
J. H. Hurly, Harmel, A. C. Boyd, Julius Wagener, J. C. Stille, Wright, 

C. C. Hull, J. M. Mason, and O. W. Freeman . 

Methodist Episcopal Church of Holden. (By A. M. Dixon. ) The 
Methodist church was organized at Holden in 1867 by Reverend George 
H. Reed, who formed a class of fifteen members. The charter members 
were namely: Mr. and Mrs. M. H. Coburn, Mr. and Mrs. Griffith, Mr. 
and Mrs. James Moore, Mr. and Mrs. Wm. A. Wise, Mr. and Mrs. 
John E. Long, Mr. and Mrs. Shultz, Wm. Cass. Mr. Harrison. A. Pettis, 
Wm. Coventry, Moses Franklin. Miss Mary Terrell, Miss Sallie Hank, 
Miss Frances Givens, J. P. Orr, Mrs. E. L. Beebe, and R. M. Burris. A 
Sunday School was organized by Mrs. Gardner. The church building 
was completed on July 31, 1869. The list of pastors, who have served 
this congregation, follows: George H. Reed, Mitchell, Gardner. .A. X. 
Fields, N. Jewett, J. H. Lea, R. R. Pierce, J, K. Tuttle. W. M. Stephens. 
S. H. Martland, Patch, C. J. W. Jones, S. R. Reese, Job Ingram, E. J. 
Hunt, S. Warner, I. J. R. Linnbeck, H. M. Hockney. Albert Jump, Chas. 
McCord, J. J. Martin, J. W. Coontz, George A. Glenn, T. H. Cockrell. 
R. B. Templeton, \\\ L. Gray, W. S. Smith, J. C. Kirk. R. C. Luckie. 
and the present pastor, A. M. Dixon. The church membership is 240 
and the Sunday School enrollment is 226. 

The Methodist Episcopal Church of Chilhowee was organized in the 
old town of Chilhowee in 1869 with two members, Enoch Barnum and 
his wife, Hannah Barnum, by Reverend Henry Threlfall. Among the 
early pastors of this churcli were: Reverends G. ^^'. Houts. J. Jones, 
J. H. GilHspie, J. S. Porter, .A., .\nderson, and B. F. January. The pres- 
ent pastor is Reverend Philip Schneider. The Iioard of stewards is. 
namely: S. Y. Kern, J. Osborne. Mrs. John Holt, and Mr. Kern is trus- 
tee. The old Union church was erected in 1877 by John Latimer and 
Hathaway Johnson, carpenters, and in the process of erection was twice 
blown down. Tt has been supplanted by a remodeled structure ded- 
icated by Finis King. 



1 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 391 

Wesley Chapel of Kingsville township was organized in 1870, with 
twenty-five charter members. In 1880 a frame building was erected. 
In 1881 Miss Long was superintendent of the Sunday School. Some of 
the ministers who have served this cluirch. are: Reverends Harwood, 
Moore, Case, Stephens, Molesworth, Anderson, and \\'oolrev. The Sun- 
day School superintendent is Basil ^^'est and the enrollment is from fiftv 
to sixty. The church membersliip is thirty. 

Kingsville Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1890. The 
charter members who are now living are: Mrs. Dobratz and Mrs. Belle 
Garrison. Reverend Molesworth was the first pastor. This church has 
thirty-eight members. Tlie last minister was the late Reverend T. J. 
Benson. 

Centerview Methodist Episcopal church was organized in 1871 l)v 
Reverend S. F. Beggs. The cliarter members were: Mr. and Mrs. 
Samuel Porter, Mr. and ]\lrs. ^^'illiam Dunnavant, Mr. and ^Irs. .Alfred 
Denger, David Bowdel, jMrs. Hall, and George Grif^th. Some of the 
ministers have been : Reverends Grant, Enthwhistle, G. W. Houts, An- 
derson, and Pogue. The present pastor is Reverend Beard. The Sun- 
day School superintendent is Mr. Zouclia and the enrollment is sevent\-- 
five. The church membership is seventy-one. 

Methodist Episcopal church in Leeton. ( By Mr. and ^Nlrs. 
James Boone. ) This church was built in 1897. The charter members 
were: Mr. and Mrs. W. T. Baker, Mr. and Mrs. W. L. Berry, Mr. and 
Mrs. George Brannon. A. C. Yeck, Mrs. J. J. Lee, Mrs. J. T. Nelson. 
Mr. and Mrs. A. D. Tanver and daughter, and others, of whom there 
is no record. The first pastor was Reverend Beatty. Other ministers, 
who have been pastors of this church, are: Reverends Finlay, Peter 
House. Laban, Anderson. G. B. A^anbuskirk, Mack Still, Caleb Kirk, Mc- 
Lean, Rector. Foster. A\'illiams. Jas. IMurdock, J. C. Dail, and Zed 
Wright, the present minister. The church membership is sixty. 

First Methodist Episcopal church of Magnolia. (By J. C. Blocher. 
recording secretary. ) The Alethodist church was organized at Magnolia 
on January 24, 1908. The cliarter members were: James Morrison, 
Mrs. :\Iadie Morrison. Mrs. Alice Slifer. Mrs. Hattie Parrott. Frank 
Parrott, Mrs. Zeralda F. Adcock. ^liss Laura Pittser. Mrs. M. F. Kis- 
singer. Miss Pansy Morrison. Miss Etta Sharp, and J. .\. Adcock. Pas- 
tors have served this congregation, as follow: W. H. Leaf. Rowland 
Hill. Warren Fourpaw. M. F. :\lurphy. R. O. Williams, J. C. Kirk. 



392 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Thomas Martin, J. C. Lee, H. M. Shirk, Roy Nolte, Philip Schneider, 
who is the present pastor in 1918. The present membership of the church 
is fifty-three. The Sunday School superintendent for the past three 
years has been Clarence Yoder and the enrollment is fifty-six. 

BRETHREN. 

There are five congregations in Johnson county, having a member- 
ship of ill, and five Sunday Schools, having an enrollment of 356. 

Mineral Creek Church of the Brethren. (By J. M. Mohler.) The 
Mineral Creek church (Dunkard) was organized January 25, 1869, by 
a body of ten members, namely: S. S. Mohler and wife, John Harshey 
and wife, Daniel Mohler and wife, Samuel Fulkerson and wife, and 
Ephraim Mohler and wife. John Harshey was chosen Elder in Charge, 
with S. S. Mohler, as assistant in the ministry. In 1871, arrangements 
were made for the building of a church building and the first meeting 
was held in the new house on December 24, 1871. The membership of 
this congregation has been between 150 and 200 for forty-one years. In 
1911, a new church structure was erected. This church has now had six 
presiding elders: John Harshey. S. S. Mohler, Fred Culp, John M. 
Mohler, Jas. M. Mohler, D. L. Mohler. Jas. M. Mohler is elder in 
charge at the present time. Elder John M. Mohler has held member- 
ship in the church for forty-seven years and served in the ministry for- 
ty-four years. Daniel Neher, aged ninety-one years, has held member- 
ship and served the church as deacon continuously for nearly forty-nine 
years. The present church membership is 217. .\s early as the second 
year of the organization, a Sunday School \vas maintained and tlie total 
enrollment in all departments is 205. 

Clearfork Congregation Church of the Brethren. (By D. L. 
Mohler.) This locality had been a mission for nearly thirty years before 
an independent congregation was organized. Regular preaching ser- 
vices were held at Alound school house l\v Elder S. S. and John M. 
Mohler. about 1880. Elder S. S. Mohler came aliout 1885. There have 
been no local ministers in the congregation. The niini-;try lias Itoon sup- 
plied from the church at Leeton. This congregation organized in June, 
1906, and the meeting house was built at the same time. Tlu-re were 
twenty charter members, as follow: Eliza T,aughni;ui. Tlionias J. ^^'ill- 
ianis, Enuna J. \\'illiams, John Sproat. Einnie Sjiroat, Eoroy Slusher. 



I 



HISTORY l)F JDHNSOX CdfNTY 303 

Mrs. Leroy Slasher. Wm. Phillips, Lucy Phillips. Susan Long-, Mack 
Asberry, :\Irs. ^lack Asberry. Robert Cox. Mrs. Robert Cox, I\Irs. Flora 
Howe. Mrs. Zetta Howe, Mary Laughman. Isaac Reynolds, and Dais}- 
Reynolds. The church membership is at present thirty-three and the 
Sunday School enrollment is sixty-six. 

Centerview Congregation Church of the Brethren. ( Cy Chas. W. 
Repp.) This congregation was organized about 1870 by A. Creager, A. 
Stoner. and E. B, Repp. Other charter members were: Peter Kinzer, 
Thomas Allen. A. Hutchinson. J. Strawsburg. with their wives and the 
daughters of Joseph Royer. The present elder in charge is James Hol- 
loway. There are twenty-five members of the congregation and about 
the same number in the Sunday School. Aaron Rupert. P. Burgard. and 
C. W. Repp are the present trustees in 1918. 

Warrensburg Congregation Church of the Brethren, South was or- 
ganized August 3, 1880. by Elders A. Hutchinson and S. S. Mohler. with 
the following charter members; John Bowman. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas 
Adams, ^^'m. Mohler, J. E. Lightner, Dr. and Mrs. Reese. Lucinda Bow- 
man, Salina Lewis. Barbara Leary. Lizzie Newcomb. Mrs. S. L. Baile, 
Mrs. N. J. Roop. Anna Bowman, and Elizabeth D. Mohler . The first 
elder in charge was A. \\'. Reese, and others who have served this con- 
gregation, are: Abram Weaver. D. M. Mohler. John Leather- 
man. S. S. Mohler, J. \A'. Brooks. Levi :\Iohler. John E. ^lohler. H. H. 
Mohler. Jesse D. Mohler. The first Sunday School was held in March. 
1888, with John Brooks, superintendent. There are forty-nine members 
enrolled in the Sunday School and the church membership is forty-seven. 

Clark Avenue Congregation Church of the Brethren was organized 
in 1914 with thirtv-se\en members, who at once began the building of 
a brick church house on Clark a\enue. E. A. Markey was chosen pastor 
and the charter members were as follow: Mv. and Mrs. E. A. Markey. 
IMr. and Mrs. Katherman. Mr. and Mrs. David Mohler. Mr. and Mrs. 
J. J. Wampler, Mr. and Mrs. D. \\'. Boyer. Mr. and Mrs. Daniel Laugh- 
man. Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Maxwell. Mr. and Mrs. James Blaine. Mr. 
and Mrs. Dave Maness. Mr. and Mrs. Jas. Cantrell. Mr. and Mrs. S. W. 
Miller. Mr. and ]\Trs. D. M. Miller, Zura Maxwell. .\nna Miller. Lizzie 
Culp. Marv Anna Culp. ]\Iary Hyder. Effie House. Anna Knaus, Mary 
Cox, Minnie Sheridan. John Plager. and John Holloway. The church 
has fiftv members and a Sundav School attendance of fortv-five. 



394 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

THE REORGANIZED CHURCH OF JESUS CHRIST OF 
LATTER DAY SAINTS. 

Johnson county was for a number of years in the Independence 
Stake of this denomination. The increase of membership made it neces- 
sary to form a new Stake, known as the Holden Stake, with Holden as 
headquarters. The present ofificers of the Stake are: David J. Krahl, 
Holden, president; Frederick A. McWethy, Holden, counselor to pres- 
ident; a High Council composed of the following: Dr. Emery Thomp* 
son (present mayor of Holden), C. F. ScarclifY, Barnard P. Thompson, 
J. E. Johnson, E. E. Fender, and H. E. Mohler, of Holden; Wm. Hart- 
nell, of Post Oak; Frederick A. Cool, of Warrensburg; Robert E. Bur- 
gess and Washington S. Macrae, of Knob Noster; Chas. A. Gaither, of 
Lexington; and a Bishopric composed of Chas. J. Hunt, of Independence 
and J. W. A. Bailey and Isaac M. Ross, of Holden. 

Holden Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints was estab- 
lished through the efiforts of Henry Scarcliff and family. In the early 
seventies, there were six charter members: Elder Frank P. Scarcliff 
being the first pastor. Prominent among the pioneer members were 
the families of Henry Scarcliff and John Johnson. C. F. Scarcliff was 
pastor for eight years and he is still superintendent of the Sunday School 
and has been for many years. The present church building was erected 
in 1905. The following have served as pastors of this branch of the 
Church of Jesus Christ: Henry Resch, C. F. Scarcliff, .\. L. Gurwell, 
A. H. Parsons, C. E. Hand, James Mohler, J. W. Layton. At the pres- 
ent time, in 1918, the local church work is in charge of the Stake Presi- 
dency, David J. Krahl and F. A. McWethy. For the accommodation 
of the aged members of the church, the church authorized the State 
Presidency and Bishopric to purchase the St. Cecelia Academy for a 
Home for the Aged. The building was at once repaired and fitted out 
to be used as a Home for the Aged Saints. There are eighty rooms in 
the building, which is strictly modern. .\ Sunday School was organized 
about 1890 with twenty-six members. The present enrollment is 210. 
The church membership is 482. 

Warrensburg Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. ( Ih- 
Elder F. .A.. Cool, Warrensburg, IMissouri.) .\n organization known as 
the Pleasant View Branch was effected at the home of Elijah and Sarah 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 395 

Baggs seven miles northwest of \A\irrensburg by Bishop Roderick May 
and Elder W. T. Bozarth on February 21, 1893, with Martin Cain as 
president and Charles H. Overton, secretary. The following were among 
the charter members: Mr. and Mrs. Martin Cain, Mr. and Mrs. J. P. 

B. Shepherd, Mr. and Mrs. Geo. W. Overton, Mr. and Mrs. Elijah 
Baggs, and Chas. H. Overton. On December 8, 1905, Mr. and Mrs. 
Nels Abrahams associated themselves with the organization, and on July 
5, 1896, Elder Abrahams was chosen presiding elder of the branch, which 
office he held until its consolidatoin with the Warrensburg Branch. 
The organization of a branch was made May 30, 1909, by Apostle I. N. 
White, President G. E. Harrington, and Bishop Roderick Mav. EUler 
Bailey was selected as presiding elder, Bessie Cargyle, clerk. At a 
meeting held in June of the same year a committee of five was selected 
to locate and purchase a site for the erection of a church building, which 
was dedicated May 7, 1916. Those who have served as presidents of the 
branch since its organization are : J. W. A. Bailey, J. T. Hackett, S. C. 
Andes, G. W. Hancock, and the present presiding officer. Elder Fred- 
erick A. Cool. Membership of the local organization is 138. 

Knob Noster Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. (By 
Elder W. S. Macrae.) The Knob Noster Branch was organized May 
26, 1889. The first officers of the branch were Elder J. H. \\'ells, i)res- 
ident. John Ivaler, Gomer Wells, A. E. AA'eidman, Perry O. Wells acted 
as clerk. The charter members were John H. Wells, Jane Wells, Gomcr 
R. Wells, Logan R. Wells, Perry O. Wells, Mary L. Wells, John Kaler, 
Aaron E. Weidman, Chas. Babbit, Minnie Babbit, Minnie Grier, Abijah 

C. Spake. William McMillian. A building was erected in 1890. The 
presidents of the branch since its organization are: J. H. Wells, A. E. 
Weidman, W. S. Macrae. J. E. Bozarth, J. F. Grimes, R. E. Burgess. 
W. S. Macrae is president at the present time, being under General 
Conference appointment. The membership of the branch at the present 
time is 259. 

Post Oak Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints. ( By Pres- 
ident James Duft'ey. ) The Post Oak Branch of the church was organ- 
ized November 1, 1901, by George H. Hulmes and \\'. H. Garrett, of 
the Independence Stake Presidency, and Elder S. J. Madden. In 1913 
they erected a verv neat church. The present membership is 128. The 
present officers are : John Miller, president ; W. T. Beckett, Francis Smith, 



396 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

James Duffey, and Elva Raveill, secretary. The following have occu- 
pied as presidents: S. J. Madden, Henry Houts, T. W. Raveill, ^^'m. 
Hartnell, James Duffey and John A. Miller. 

CUMBERLAND PRESBYTERIAN. 

There are fifteen churches in Johnson county of this denomination, 
with 721 members and ten Sunday Schools, with 569 members. There 
are three Union Sunday Schools, with 316 members. 

Columbus Cumberland Presbyterian church was organized in 1830 
by Reverend R. D. Morrow. The charter members were: Nicholas 
Houx, Rachel Houx, James B. Harris, A. Harris, and Isabelle Foster. 
The first service was held at the residence of Nicholas Houx. about 
1829. The first Sunday School was held at Columbus in 1834. There 
are now twenty-six members of the church. Ministers who have served 
this church are: R. D. Morrow. James Houx, John Prather. Finis King. 
C. L. Coleman, A. VanAusdol, A. A. Moore. 

Shiloh Cumberland Presbyterian church was organized in 1834 by 
Reverend R. D. King. The ruling elders were John Foster and James 
B. Harris. One charter member is still living, Mrs. Adams. The church 
building was erected in 1836 and some of the ministers of this congre- 
gation-have been: Reverends Compton, Thomas, Smith, \^'hitsett, 
Ridley, S. Finis King. Z. T. Orr, Matthews, W. Whitsett, J. H. Houx, 
G. W. Petty, and T. A. Bozarth. The present church membership is 
thirty-five and there are seventy-five Union Sunday School members. 
The present superintendent is Silas Shannon. 

Rock Spring Cumberland Presbyterian church. (By Miss ]\Iay 
Windsor, of Holden, Missouri.) This church was organized May 1, 
1837, with the following charter members: Lazarus Masterson E^liza- 
beth Masterson, Deborah Masterson, Samuel E. Rowden, Nancy Row- 
den, Wm. Bigham (Sr.), Lydia Bigham, Jane Bigham. James Givens. 
Martin Forgeson, Mary Ann Forgeson. Robert M. \\'hite. Jane White. 
Jane Brooks, Elizabeth Bigham, Samuel K. White. In 1843, the name 
of "New Hope Congregation" was changed to "Rock Spring." In Aug- 
ust, 1848, the church members obtained the present tract of land and 
a stone church building was erected. It was destroyed in 1861, although 
the walls remained standing and on September 14, 1869, the slructme 
was rebuilt and in 1870 was dedicated. This church building was torn 
down in 1891 and the ])resent frame structure erected and dedicatctl in 



HISTORY OF JOHXSON COUNTY 397 

:May, 1892. The following is the list of pastors since the year 1869: 
Reverends A. A'anAusdol. J. Cal. Littrell. S. G. Givens. Frank Russell, S. 
D. Givens, C. P. Duval, C. C. McConnell. G. W. Mathis, P. McCluney, 
Wm. Gillum, T. B. Rice, H. C. Sharp. S. D. Givens, J. H. Houx. T. B. 
Rice, F. E. Duncan, Z. T. Orr, S. H. AlcElvaine, F. P. Baxter, S. H. Mc- 
Elvaine, N. J. Salver, L. B. Crawford, W. II. Peek. 

Cumberland Presbjrterian church of Centerview. (By R. M. King.) 
This church was organized and built in 1840 as a union church the first 
one in Centerview township, and was named Smyrna. It was organ- 
ized at the residence of Philip S. Houx by Rev. J. B. Morrow. It was 
reorganized June 2, 1866, by Rev. J. B. ]\lorrow at the residence of Sam- 
uel C. Graham. The first elders were Samuel C. Graham, Robert B. 
Graham and Joseph Peak. The charter members were Samuel C. Gra- 
ham and wife, Rol^ert B. Graham and wife, Joseph Peak and wife, Jas. 
Graham and wife, Jas. Sluder, ]\largaret Houx, Robert W. Houx, Miss 
Margaret Whitsett. The present cluirch house was built in 1872. In 
1873 the name of the church was changed to the First Cumberland Pres- 
byterian church of Centerview. The ministers who have served this 
church as pastors: Rev. Addison, Van Ausdol, Rev. S. Finis King, Rev. 
W. F. Gordon, Rev. J. W. Means, Rev. Walter Schenck, Rev. S. H. 
McElvaine, Rev. Frank Russell, Rev. G. W. Math'is, Rev. I. G. Thomp- 
son, Rev. A. B. Johnson, Rev. J. W. Sullivan, Rev. M. R. Daugherty. H. 
Clay Yates, D. D., Rev. T. A. De\'ore, Rev. C. D. Gartner and Rev. 

F. P. Baxter. 

Bethel church. (By J. E. Foster.) Organized and built 
in 1883, by Rev. G. W. :\Iathis, pastor, with sixty mem- 
bers. This congregation has been served by ministers as follow: Rev. 

G. W. Mathis, Rev. Y. W. Whitsett, Rev. William Stackinger, Rev. W. 
T. Gillum, Rev. J. Cal. Littrell, Rev. J. A. Pateet, Rev. Frank Russell, 
Rev. A. R. McClelland, Rev. J. G. West, Rev. S. R. Shull, Reverend 
Black, Rev. R. M. Hudson, Rev. S. H. McElvaine, Rev. Levi Henshaw, 
Rev. G. W. Petty, and Rev. L. B. Crawford, the present pastor. The 
Sunday School has fifty members. E. E. Reynolds is the superintendent. 
The church has twenty members. 

Pleasant Grove church was organized in 1853-54 by John B. Mor- 
row. The building was erected in 1861. Some of the original members 
were: William Geery and wife. Daniel Adams, Susan Adams, Isaiah 
Kimzev and wife, and C. P. Phillips. Pastors who served the church 



3g8 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

in early times were W. Gillum, W. Compton. J- B. Morrow, J. \\'hitsett, 
and J. T. A. Henderson. The membership is about sixty, with about 
thirty in the Sunday School. 

Oak Grove church was organized March 30, 1855, by Rev. J. B. 
Morrow with the following members: George Hoffman, Mary Hoff- 
man, Louisa Hoffman, Bedford Brown, Polly A. Brown, Rebecca Walker, 
Sarah Roberts, John Roberts, James G. Suddath, Elizabeth Suddath, 
Elizabeth Roach, Virginia Hargrave, B. F. Suddath, Caroline Tharing- 
ton, Margaret Hanley, Nancy Whitsett, Elizabeth Hornbuckle, James 
S. Brown, John W. Brown, Sarah J. Brown. The following pastors 
have served: Revs. J. B. Morrow, J. H. Houx, Albert A. Moore, J. 

A. Prather, and W. T. Gillum. This building is owned by the Cumber- 
land Presbyterians and Southern Methodists. The church member- 
ship is about fifteen. A union Sunday School was organized in 1876. 
The present membership is about seventy. 

Montserrat church was organized in 1859, by Rev. J. B. Morrow. 
The charter members were James Mayes, John Robinson, John T. Gil- 
lum, J. B. Mayes, John E. Robinson, John M. Houx, Nancy M. Houx, 
Mary C. Mayes, Louise H. Robinson, Julia A. Robinson, Martha A. 
Mayes, Margaret A. Gillum, Elizabeth Box, and Richard Box. The 
ruling elders appointed at the meeting were : John Robinson, John B. 
Mayes and John T. Gillum. The church was built one and a quarter 
miles northwest of town by John Mayes, John B. Mayes, Jehu Robinson, 
John T. Gillum and others. The ministers were as follow: J. B. !\Ior- 
row, J. H. Houx, W. S. Reed. J. Cal. Littrell, D. M. K. Barnett, S. H. 
McElvaine, G. D. Givens, Levi Henshaw, David Hogan, J. R. Whitsett, 
Y. W. Whitsett, Elbert Hefner, Ben Thomas, S. B. Zaricor, R. M. Hud- 
son. The church building was moved to Montserrat about 1876. The 
church has forty members. The Sunday School was organized by J. 

B. Mayes and is a union one, with a membership of ninety-five. 

Mount Moriah Cumberland Presbyterian church. (By Mrs. \\'. B. 
Parsons.) Organized February 2, 1861. The charter members 
were: William Stockton, Sarah Stockton, William McMahan. Rachel 

C. McMahan, Mary E. Stockton, Andrew J. Stockton, Mary A. Stock- 
ton, Jane Whitted, William G. Stockton, Nancy F. Poague, Sena Bran- 
don, Elizabeth N. Martin, Harvey Harrison, Zilphia Harrison, Caroline 
Shackleford, Isaac M. Stockton. Frank ^^^ Stockton, Luvena Redford, 
Martha Riddle. A frame building was built soon after the war and 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 399 

is Still in use. The following ministers have served: Reverends G. \'. 
Ridley, S. D. Givens. H. R. Smith, W. T. Gorden, John A. Prather. 
Levi Henshaw, J. Gal Littrell, A. :\I. Buchanan, G. W. Mathis, Frank 
Russell, J. H. Houx, A. R. AlcClellan, James A. West, A. N. McGam- 
mon. Rev. Elbert Hefner. S. B. Zorecor, J. E. Cortner, Fred C. Hughes, 
L. C. Sharp and H. C. Sharp. The membership is forty. The Sunda_\- 
School was organized at the beginning of the church. William McMahan 
was the first superintendent. The present pastor is Rev. H. C. Sharp. 

Pisgah Cumberland Presbyterian church. (By Mrs. S. A. Catlin.) 
Organized and the old church house was built in 1860. There were about 
twenty-five charter members including the Littrells, Peaks, Taylors, 
Oglesbys, Morrows, Farrs, Hogans and Guthries. Rev. J. B. ^Morrow 
was the first pastor. Others were: S. Finis King, J. H. Houx, L. T. 
Clemmons, S. H. McElvaine, David Hogan, T. M. Gillum, W. B. Farr, 
R. M. Hudson, J. A. Bozarth, L. C. Sharp, and N. J. Salyer. T. E. 
Thompson is superintendent of the Sunday School. A new church was 
built in 1897. There are thirty members. 

Cumberland Presb3^erian Church of Warrensburg was organ- 
ized in 1866. The charter members were: Roliert McFarland, Eliza- 
beth McFarland, A. W. Ridings, Mary J. Ridings, L. Murphy, William 
P. Granger, F. M. Granger, Miss U. Granger, Eliza Granger, F .V. 
Knight, Rachel Brownlee, Joseph Brownlee, W. S. and J. H. Warnick, 
Jane Berry, E. M. Cockrell, B. E. Morrow, Henry Neill, Sarah A. Neill. 
L. A. Ward, Emily Edwards, Miss S. M. Lewis, Mary J. Morrow, A. 
C. McFarland, Margaret Knight, Susan Bradley, James and S. P. War- 
nick, Sina E. and Margaret Warnick. The ministers have been: Rev- 
erends J. B. Morrow, J. H. Houx, J. E. Sharp, A. L. Barr. S. Finis King, 
M. B. Irvin, ^A". C. Denson. Dan D. Bushnell, Samuel Garvin. H. C. 
Yates. T. A. Devon, L S. Sproul, A. C. Biddle. 

Salem Cumberland Presbs^erian church. (By T. E. Williams.) 
Organized in September. 1870 with the following charter members: 
John H. Smith. Charles E. Miller, John N. Allworth, Andrew Mathews, 
Mrs. Anna Allworth, Miss Jane Buchanan, L. W. Clark. Henry W. 
Clark, Aaron H. Campbell, Miss Mattie Coleman. Miss Sallie Dixon. 
John J. Earner, :\lrs. Louisa Earner, !\Iiss Nancy J. Fitzgerald, ]\Iiss 
Hanna Frost, Lsaac Green, Mrs. Fannie Green, Miss Josephine Hager, 
Miss Alice A. Hager, ^liss Mary Kelley, IMiss Susan Kelley, Elijah 
Miller, George A. Miller. ]\Iiss Mary :\liller, George W. Miller, Mrs. 



400 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Lydia Rubison, Mrs. Lavinia Redford, Miss Ellen Redford, Mrs. Martha 
A. Riley, Mrs. Ella Smith, Eli B. Stewart, Mrs. Mary E. Stewart, Mrs. 
Margaret Smith, Miss Martha Smith, and Mrs. Julia A. Taylor. In 
1883, John H. Smith donated one acre of ground for a building site 
where the church now stands. A Sunday School was organized in 1872. 
The ministers who have been here are : William F. Gorden, A. 
A. Moore, J. A. Prather, B. F. Thomas, William T. Gillum, Y. W. Whit- 
sett, G. W. Matthews, T. B. Rice, H. C. Sharp, A. B. McClellan, W. A. 
McCammen, James West, Elbert Hefner, Reverend Gross, G. B. Zari- 
cor, J. E. Courtner, F. C. Hughes, the present pastor. There are 
eighty members. 

Mt. Zion Cumberland Presbyterian church. (By J. E. Eberts.) 
This church is six miles south of Warrensburg. On August 6, 1871, 
the present organization was effected by Rev. W. Benton Farr, D. D., 
and named Mt. Zion. The charter members were: Robert N. Warnick, 
James H. Warnick, Pat H. Alexander, Alex. C. Scott, David Marr, J. 
W. Marr, J. T. Marr, David A. Marr, George P. Greer, John P. Warnick, 
Rev. Len F. Clemens, Garrett J. Littrell, Robert Littrell, Charles F. 
Littrell, John Silvey, Sanford F. Warnick, Valentine Ewing, Stephen 
Williams, George C. Prigmore, Ben. G. Woodford, John F. Woodford, 
Thornton T. Woodford, James Warnick, Asa Woodford, Hugh R. War- 
nick, John M. Warnick, Geo. W. Warnick, Wm. S. Warnick, Mary E. 
Alexander, Mary Greer, Catherme Marr, Jane Berry, Amanda M. Lit- 
trell, Mary M. Littrell, Matilda Littrell, Mary J. Clemens, Mary E. 
Townsley, Sarah E. Scott, Mary E. Marshall, Sallie A. Warnick, Mary B. 
Woodford, Julia E. Woodford, Susan M. Littrell, Nancy C. Marr, Louisa 
J. Wallace, S. C. Wheatley, Mary E. Marshall, Margaret Woodford, 
Susan F. Woodford, Arthusa A. Woodford, Amanda J. Warnick. Sina 
E. Warnick, Nancy J. Warnick, Sina P. Warnick. The present house 
of worship was built in 1871. The ministers have been: Revs. M. F. 
Gordon, F. P. Witherspoon, S. Finis King, J. H. Houx. W. T. Gil- 
lum, G. W. Petty, W. S. Winkler, F. P. Baxter, L. F. Clemens, Miss 
Birdie Lee Pallette, present pastor. John Fickas and L. E. Musser are 
the present deacons. The first clerk of the board of elders was Robert 
Littrell. Robert N. Warnick was clerk for about fifteen years. The 
present clerk is J. E. Eberts. The present membership is about eightw 
This church has had a Sunday School since 1875. The first superinten- 
dent was Robert N. Warnick. There are about sixty members of this 
school. 



IIISTdRY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 4OI 

Cumberland Presbyterian church of Holden. ( By Mrs. Geo. W. 
Redford.) In March 1883, Rev. W. B. Farr, S. F. King and A. L. Barr 
visited Holden, and with resident meml)ers organized this congregation. 
A lot was purchased on the corner of Seventh and Main streets, and by 
1884 the house was completed. The following pastors have served this 
church: J. W. Duvall AV. E. Snider, Frank Russel, A. H. Kelso, W. 
T. Gillum. R. B. Ward. E. B. Johnson. Frank Russell, J. F. Goodwin, 
and A. L. Odell. On September 9, 1905. the congregation met and a 
majority declared in fa\-or of union witii the Presbyterian church. March 
15, 1918. there are only se\en loyal members of the Cumberland Presby- 
terians of Holden. Missouri. 

Chilhowee Cumberland Presbyterian church was organized June 22, 
1884, with sixty-five charter members. I'he ruling elders were Alex. 
McLin. G. T. Stark, Frank Sharp. The ministers have been: Revs. 
G. Whitsett, C. C. McConnell, P. McCluney, J. H. Houx, Newman. 
Geo. Petty, E. R. Duggins. McElvaine, Winkler. C. D. Gartner, and 
R. M. Hudson. The present officers are John C. Culley, S. I. Dol)son, 
Sam Pemberton. R. F. Graham. C. C. Ridley, clerk. Present meml)er- 
ship is about thirty-five. In 1915 a federation was arranged with the 
Christian and Protestant ]\Iethodist congregations. In 1917 the Chris- 
tians withdrew. The union Sunday school has a membership of 151. 

PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES. 

There are eight Presbyterian churches in the county with 1.277 
members and seven Sunday Schools with 836 members. 

Warrensburg First Presbyterian church. (By Lizzie F. Grover.) 
One of the early pioneers of the Presbyterian church was Rev. Mr. 
Bradshaw sent out by a board of home missions who held meetings at- 
tended by a few Presbyterians in A\'arrensburg in 1851. The First Pres- 
byterian church was organized May 30, 1852. by Rev. A. Y. C. Schenk 
and Elder L. Green. The members received by certificate at that time 
were Elias Ogden. Mrs. Maria Louise Ogden. Miss Mary Ogden, Mrs. 
Deborah Silliman, Mrs. Elizabeth Armstrong. Belia P. Evans. Miss Lucy 
H. Evans. Mr. John Cummins. Jesse Brown. Mrs. Kitty Brown. Dr. 
WiUiam Calhoun, Love S. Cornwall. Mrs. Martha S. Cornwall ,and Mrs. 
Agnes Woods. The elders elected were Mr. Elias Ogden, Mr. P. P. 
Evans, and Dr. William Calhoun. The first regular pastor was Mr. 
James S. Lapslev, who supplied AA'arrensburg and Knob Noster churches 



402 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

alternately in 1857-58. This church was the only church in the Presb}'- 
tery that remained loyal to the Presbyterian Church, U. S. A., during 
the Civil War. The regular ministers of the church since organization 
have been: James S. Lapsley, Revs. Mr. Coulter, R. S. Symington, Rob- 
ert Reese, Eben Muse, J. H. Clark, William H. Hillis, Farel Hai-t, Charles 
Fueller, George M. Caldwell, Dwnght K. Steele, Frederick W. Hinitt, 
Edward W. Clippenger, J. M. Ross, Dr. R. Neale, Edward H. Gelvin, 
Samuel Garvin, Benjamin E. Wallace, Edward H. Gelvin. Elbert Hef- 
ner is the present pastor. The union of the Cumljerland Presbyterian 
church and the First Presbyterian church was effected July 11. 1906. 
The women of the church have three organizations for service, the 
Missionary Society, Mrs. W. A. Stephens, president; Ladies' Aid Society, 
Mrs. C. T. Oglesby, president; Young Women's Church Improvement 
Society, Mrs. Ross McVey, president. The Men's Brotherhood of the 
congregation is organized for Bible study, fellowship, and social service, 
Charles Goodnight, president. The president of the Young Peoples 
Christian Endeavor Society is Helen Smith. The present membership 
of the church is 425. 

Latour Presb}rterian church was organized before the war as the 
Rose Hill Cumberland Presbyterian church. Some of the old members 
were: Leonard Renick, John Newton, George Gilliland, Dennis Dun- 
ham, Mrs. Melissa. Gilliland, and Mrs. Elizabeth Baker. They have 
had a Sunday School since 1872. After the union of the Cumberland 
Presbyterian and Presbyterian churches, the church was moved from 
Rose Hill to Latour. The last minister was Rev. E. L. Trepp. He was 
preceded by Dr. A. D. Wolf. The membership is 130. 

Presbyterian church of Knob Noster. (By Ed. S. Harte.) 
There were Presbyterians in this vinicity "before the war" and 
a church organization existed; the earliest record showing that a ses- 
sion meeting was held on Sabbath. July 29, 1860. Services were held 
over a store during the winter of 1867-68. The organization was effected 
May 21, 1867, by Rev. J. H. Byers and a building erected. It was dedi- 
cated March 22, 1868. The annual report of 1869 gives forty-two 
mmbers and a Sabbath School of fifty; 1870 reports, fifty-seven mem- 
bers and sixty in Sabbath School. The names of Cunningham, Black- 
stalk, Sevier, Thornton, Utley, VanAusdol, McCorniack. Latin, Work- 
man, Butterfield, Hardey, Talpey, Crutchfield, Thompson, Shafcr. Ward, 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON- COUNTY 4O3 

Hogan. Stringfield and Beatty appeared as officers or members prior lo 
1875. In 1885, a new chapel was built on the corner of the lot where 
the manse now stands and in 1895 an addition was built. The union of 
the Cumberland Presbyterian and Presbyterian churches was effected 
in 1906 and a new edifice was erected in 1911. Two of the charter mem- 
bers of the Presbyterian churcii are still living: Mr. Thomas Mahin. 
who resides in Lodi. California; and Mrs. Mary Young, who has for 
fifty years been a faithful member of the church. Seventeen pastors 
have served this congregation, Rev. N. M. ^^'hite serving at the present 
time, with 103 members enrolled, an active Sunday school, Christian 
Endeavor, missionary and Ladies' Aid Societies. 

First Presbyterian church of Holden was organized in November. 
1866, by Rev. S. C. Clark, with the following charter members: Jonas 
Houghton, Mary Jane Houghton. Mrs. William Powell. Mrs. Anna C. 
Powell, Miss Janett E. Powell, J. R. Peet, Mrs. Xancy W. Peet. .\ frame 
church building was erected in 1867. which was replaced liy a brick- 
building. In August of 1916. the Cumberland church of Holden unitei! 
with the Presbyterian. The membership is 225. The following have 
been ministers : Revs. C. S. Clark, H. H. Hill. W. J. Lea, J. R. Hender- 
son, L. J. Drake. W. T. Wardel, O. G. Morton, R. Cooper Bailey. J. T. 
Boyer, J. O. Hough. C. W. Sample, A. B. Appleby, A. F. Gordon Mackay. 
G. P. Keeling and E. ^^^ Akers. the present pastor. Sunday school 
superintendents have been: Chris. Mertz, Rev. W. J. Lea, Dr. M. \'. 
Johnson, W. H. Craig, T. J. Halsey. H. R. McCutcheon. O. F. \\elch. 
Dr. E. Andruss, H. J. Scheer. The Sunday School membership is 128. 

Presb5rterian church of Centerview. (By H. S. Coudit.) 
Organized February 8, 1874, by Rev. J. W. Allen. The following 
were charter members: Thomas W. ]\lcConnell. Catherine McConncll, 
Oliver T. McConnell, Hattie McConnell, Mary E. Foote, Ross C. Hull. 
Hugh Larimer, Hugh E. Larimer. Isaac Larimer. Robert Dyer. Amelia 
Dyer, Frank Dyer. Elsa Dyer. Robert Kiddoo, Jennie Kiddoo. Mary 
Withrow, Isabella Huggins, Jane Trimble. Alice Trimble. The minis- 
ters have been Revs. W. H. Hillis, J. S. Poage. L. Railsback. D. R. 
Crockett. Joseph May, William Coleman. A. E. \"anorden. R. Cooper 
Bailey, H. C. W'hite. G. J. Donnell. and E. W. Haymaker. January 20. 
1907, the Presbyterian church of Centerview and the Cumberland Pres- 
bvterian church of Centerview were united. Since the union the church 



404 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

has been served by the following ministers: Revs. AI. Brooks, N. N. 
Tatum, J. R. Burchfield, and H. S. Condit, the latter being the present 
pastor. D. F. Halcomb is superintendent of the Sunday School. There 
are 189 members with a Sabbath School of 175. 

New Liberty church was organized September 13, 1885, by Ben 
Thomas, G. T. Hughes, Gary Elliott, G. W. Elliott, A. M. Garter, W. 
T. Roberts, G. N. Atkins, R. \\-. R. Wall, George Hindman, Hubert 
Elliott, W. H. AIcLin. There were in all, forty charter members. The 
church was dedicated December 25, 1885, by Rev. J. H. Houx. The 
ministers have been Revs. Ben Thomas, G. G. McGonnell, Sam Givans, 
B. McGluney, J. C. Worley, Lee T. Orr, L. F. Goodwin, S. E. McGluney, 
Joseph Warnick, J. G. West, George Talbott, Howard Talbott, H. B. 
White, who is now in charge. There are ninety members. The Sun- 
day School was organized in 1885. J. T. Hughes served as superintendent 
for ten }-ears. The present superintendent is Miss Bernice Atkins. 
Tiiere are sixty members. 

Columbus church was organized in 1906 at the time of the 
union of the Gumberland Presbyterian and Presbyterian churches. The 
minister for the last two years has been Rev. Dein. There is a 
union Sunday School with the Ghristian Sunday School. The superin- 
tendent is Jesse Ramsey. There are about thirty members. 

Jacoby Chapel church. (By Isaiah Jacoby.) On July 4, 1872, 
Elias Jacoby donated one and one-fourth acres of land to be used for a 
cemetery and church site to the first denomination of either Methodist, 
Presbyterian, United Brethren, German Reform or Lutheran churches 
that availed itself of the offer. No attempt was made to build a church 
on this site until the spring of 1906, when Isaiah Jacoby, a son of Elias 
Jacoby, circulated a subscription. He and George A. Middleton raised 
almost two thousand dollars. The church was built and the congrega- 
tion was organized that year. The following ministers have been pas- 
tors: Revs. P. A. Groves, Shepherd, Cordray. J. H. Woodard, A. K. 
Price, C. W. Smith, W. L. Logan, E. Moneymaker. L. H. Lakes, B. 
F. Rostock, W. M. White. The present officers are: Elders, W. L. 
Bethel, Isaiah Jacoby, Logan Davis, Tompkins Rice, and Joseph Sim- 
merman; deacons, Irwin K. Ramsey, Glen Buthe, ^^■ilber T. Parsons 
and Loy Stump; trustees, John E. Parsons, Lyle C. Jacoby, and Ken- 
neth Middleton. Church treasurer is George A. Middleton. There are 
eighty-five members. A Sunday School was organized in December. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY ^Q:; 

1906, with J. A. \\'ebb. superintendent. ']"here are scventy-tive mem- 
bers, and \\'. L. Bethel is superintendent. 

METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH, SOUTH. 

There are ten churclies in tiie county, and ''25 members. Tiiere are 
ten Stmday Schools and 687 members. 

Blackwater M. E. church. South. ( By Rev. Thomas P. Cobb, of 
Lexington.) Tiiis is the ohlest rehgious organization in the countv. 
During the Christmas hohdays of 1829, a series of meetings were liekl 
and Rev. Edward T. Peery organized a class with the following charter 
inembers: Rev. G. Fine. Mrs. F. Fine, Xarcissa Fine, Thomas Winsor. 
Rebecca \\'insor. Sr.. Rebecca Winsor. Jr.. Julia \\'insor, Frances Win- 
sor, Levi Simpson. Susan Simpson. I. Riser. Richard Bradley. Abadiah 
Bradley, James Bradley. Lacy Bradley, Tompkins Bradley, Mary Brad- 
ley. Ciena Bradley. Z. T. Darris. E. E. Darris, W. Cox. Rev. \\'. Redman 
was the first Presbyterian elder. The first regular preacher was Benja- 
min Franklin Johnson, who joined the conference in 1830. Other earlv 
pastors were : Thomas ^^'allace, Thomas G. Ashlev. G. \\'. Bew- 
ley. Daniel A. Leeper. Jesse Green. D. S. Capell. E. E. Degge. Silas 
Williams. J. Chase. T. C. James. A\'. M. Pitts. James A. Gumming. R. A. 
Foster. H. W. Webster. R. Minshall. H. N. Watts. M. Buren, AW J. 
Brown. T. P. Cobb. J. C. Daily. E. \A'. \A'oodard. John D. Wood, and 
J. D. H. W'ooldridge. The first church was a log building, built in 
1834. Camp meetings were held regularly e\-ery August for about 
twenty-five years. A frame house was built in the forties. Thi.s 
house was burned by Federal soldiers during the war. After the 
war. a big revival meeting was held in Miller school house, after which, 
in 1868 or 1869. the present building was erected. Of that charter 
membership of the old church. Tompkins Bradley was the chorister. 
There were no instruments in those days, but his trumpet-like voice 
was sufficient for pioneer worship. The ministers since 1881 have been: 
N. M. Dowdy. A\'. F. AA'agoner. C. W. \\'right. T. C. Pucket. S. P. Green- 
ing. W. T. Eastwood. T. D. Payne. L. L. Pinnell. T. P. Cobb. C. Bruner. 
the latter being the present pastor. J. W. Craig is superintendent of 
the Sunday School. 

Basin Knob M. E. church. South. ( By .Vlma Wilkinson. Mrs. Harvey 
Phillips. Rev. L. M. Starkey. ) In an old log school house on the 
Reuben Fulkerson farm, the Basin f\nob church began its career in 



406 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

1837. Billy Hayes. Jackson Longacre, Johnnie Longacre, Phoebe Long- 
acre, Peter Hall, Maria Hall, Sammy Lundy, Jimmy Sanders and family, 
Moses Mullins, Mrs. Reuben Fulkerson, and Betsy Crisp were among 
the charter members. Thomas Ashby and Daniel Leeper were prob- 
ably the earliest ministers. Sunday School was also conducted. Jackson 
Longacre was the first superintendent. A few years previous to the 
Civil War a church was built. In 1867, Barnaby reorganized the church 
from tlie chaos inflicted during the war. On June 23, 1869, the church 
was burned. In the spring of 1870 they began work on tlie present 
church, which was dedicated in 1884. The first one to preach in this 
church was Peter Cobb. Former pastors were: H. \V. Banner, W. 
M. Pitts, T. P. Cobb, J. C. Daily, R. A. Allen, T. P. Cobb. W. S. Wood- 
ard, J. M. Johnson, H. F. Harris, W. F. Briggs, L N. Watts, H. C. 
Meredith, H. S. Mobley, A. C. Briggs, L. H. Davis, N. A. Auld, \\'. T. 
Gill, W. M. Crutsinger, J. J. Keller, S. G. Keyes, C. C. Berry, W. H. 
Neslar. L P. Cobb. J. B. Swinney, L E. Wood, W. H. Smith, McMurry, 
E. W. Bartley, W. W. Garrett, W. E. Tull. L. M. Starkey. The oldest 
members are Mrs. Moses Ferguson, and Mrs. Felicia Wall, who is over 
90. In 1908, the church was remodeled as it appears today. The mem- 
bership of the church is about ninety, and si.xty-five" in Sunday school. 

Warrensburg M. E. church. South. — Preaching commenced in about 

1838. The first society was probably organized by Rev. James Porter, 
and services were held in the old log court house. Some of the earliest 
members were Elizabeth Granger, Isaac Grangr, Z. T. Davis, Elizabeth 
E. Davis, Sarah Colburn, Nancy Dyer, Mary Davis, Adkins Power. W. 
H. Anderson and Col. James McCowan. The first building was erected 
in 1853 east of the old cemetery in Old Town. This was burned in 1864. 
Then another one was built in 1867. In 1884 a new site was secured and 
a building erected. In 1903, fire again destroyed the parsonage and dam- 
aged the church until it was thought best to abandon the property. The 
present site was secured and work began in September, 1906. The 
building was completed and dedicated August 9, 1908. The ministers 
have been: Revs. David McAnally, Geo. W. Love, J. L. Porter, S. S. 
Colbcrn, Thos. B. Ruble, R. A. Foster, W. R. Babcock, Daniel A. Leeper, 
John C. Shackleford, C. C. Wood, John S. Scurlock, B. A. Holloway, 
S. S. Bryant, J. C. Daily, Dr. W. M. Prottsman, Joali Spencer. W. A. 
Matthews, E. A. Keith, Pugsley, B. V. Alton, E. K. Wolf, W. M. Rader, 
O. E. Vivian, J. H. Cleaves, W. H. Comer, J. R. Strong, C. L. Stauflfer, 



HISTORY 01 



407 



and R. M. Hawkins, the present pastor. The present membership is 
265. Prof. W. W. Parker is superintendent. Enrolhnent is 135. 

Montserrat M. E. church, South, (formerly Lea's Chapel) was or- 
ganized at the residence of Dr. J. L. Lea, about 1840. The original mem- 
bers were Dr. J. L. Lea. Airs. Harriet Lea. Robert H. and Jane D. Lea, 
Mary Hargraves, W. H. DeAnian. Margaret Robinson, Josiah Harper 
and Welcome McCart. The first church was built near the residence of 
Doctor Lea, in 1861. This building was later sold and the funds used in 
the present building in Montserrat, which was finished in 1833. The pres- 
ent membership is thirty-eight: there are thirty-two in the Sunday 
school. Ernest Norman is tiie present sui)erintendent. 

Oak Grove M. E. church. South. (By W. H. Driver.) This 
church was organized about 1852. Tlie charter memliers were: Mrs. 
E. Fitzpatrick, Sarah Simpson. Catherine Xeff. Dr. T. P. McClunew 
Mrs. ]\lary \\\ Youngs, Rev. and Airs. John McChme}', Mrs. S. Brown, 
John Atiierton. \\'illiam McCluney, Mrs. Bradley. Charity Atlierton. 
Jacob L. Neff, Margaret Dobson. Clara McCluney. Mr. and Mrs. Jolm 
Xeff. The circuit riders were: Robert A, Biakely, L. P. Siceloft". L. 
Phillips. W. M. Pitts, J. P. Gibson. L. H. Vandiber. Josiah AlcCary. W. 
S. Woodard, L. W. Pearce, John Bond, E. W. Woodward. The minis- 
ters ha\e been Revs. Bedsworth, Peter Col)b, W. J. Snow, Mr. Bruner, 
J. R. Hedges, Mr. Suddath. Mr. Swanson, Mr. Larkin, Air. Rainey. Mr. 
Johnson, Air. Barrett. G. R. Wright. F. Pryer and J. A. Jared. There 
in a union Sunday School. 

Chilhowee M. E. church, South was organized in 1836. The older 
members were: George Douglass Wright. John A. Wright. John Wil- 
son, with their families. Airs. Abner Steward, Airs. James Steward, 
and Airs. Joseph Steward. During the Civil War the organization was 
broken up. In 1868, some of the meml)ers organized a class in the 
school house in old Chilhowee. The charter members were: George 
D. Wright and wife. Elizabeth: Airs. Eliza ^^■right, Dr. T. J. Wright 
and wife, Annie: Aliss Almanza Cull, Aliss Polly Cull, James I. Culley, 
The pastors have been: J. P. Barnaby. J. B. H. A\'ooldridge, John C. 
Alurphv, B. Alargerson, A\'ilbur King. The Alethodist Episcopal church. 
South, C. P. X. E. churcli, and Protestant Alethodist, built a union church 
in 1878. Other pastors were: T. P. Cobb, W. S. Woodard, J. Y. Busliy. 
A. L. Houston, J. J. Hill, V. Al. Crutsinger. Lewis. N. Al. Dowdy, A. G. 
Aloore, ]. P. Caldwell, T. B. Harris, and G. H. Green. The new church 



408 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUXTY 

was completed m 1897. J. W. Patison came as pastor in October, 1898; 
next, J. J. Keller, Dewitt Beery, E. T. Raiiey, \\'. W. Alexander, G. 
L. Cottman, A. S. Swanson, A. Snowden, \\'. H. Hesler, R. W. Shem- 
well, H. G. Gatlin, J. R. Scott, and G. B. Snapp. The membership is 
115, and 114 in Sunday School. In 1907, the old parsonage which had 
been moved from Old Town was sold, and a new one built. Rev. Snapp 
is the present pastor. 

Cornelia M. E. church, South. (By C. M. Taylor.) , It 
Avas organized about 1853 by Rev. Warren Pitts. Some of the charter 
members were: Daniel Cecil, Charity Cecil, James Hackler, Elizabeth 
Hackler, Melvina Hackler, Lucy Taylor, Doctor Love, Cornelia Love, 
Mark Shumate, Charlotte Shumate. There are now about thirty-five 
members. The Sunday School was organized at the same time and has 
thirty members. Mark Shumate was active in building up the church, 
and afterward became a minister. The present minister is the Rev. Mr. 
Cox. The Sunday School superintendent is C. M. Taylor. 

Wood's Chapel M. E. church, South was organized July 
13, 1884. The following constituted the first officiary: C. C. 
Woods, presiding elder; L. W. Pearce. (who built the chapel), pastor; 
John W. Wagoner, steward; James Flenniken, class leader; Chas. C. 
Smith, Sunday School superintendent ; J. ^\'. Wagoner, C. C. Smith, 
Isaac McNeel, trustees. Charter members: C. C. Smith and wife, J. W. 
Wagoner and wife, R. A. Hampton and wife, J. A. Flenniken and wife, 
Mrs. S. F. Maxwell, W. A. Merrill and Isaac McNeel. eleven in all. The 
pastors were as follow: L. W. Pearce, deceased; T. D. Payne. Blue 
Springs, Missouri; W. T. Eastwood, Florida; L. M. Phillips, deceased; 
N. M. Dowdy, Green Ridge, Missouri; J. R. Hedges, Miami, Missouri; 
V. M. Crutsinger, Victoria, Texas; J. H. Denny; G. R. Wright; E. T. 
Rainey, Harrisonville ; T. P. Cobb, deceased; (Crutsinger. Dowdy and 
Hedges served the congregation a second time); H. R. Rutledge. Oak 
Grove, Missouri ; J. A. Greening, Lexington. Tennessee ; and C. Brnner, 
in charge now. Dr. C. C. Woods, editor of the Christian Advocate, deili- 
cated the church in 1884 and it was named in his honor. There are 113 
members and the Sunday School has seventy. 

Mount Zion M. E. church, South. (By Mrs. Ed. Phillips.) It is 
located in the northwest corner of Johnson county, and was built in 
1888, on a lot donated by Uncle Jimmy Wilkinson. The charter mem- 
bers were: Uncle Jimmy Wilkinson, Alex, ^^'ilkinson and wife, John 
W. Wilkinson, Dr. Henrv Dean. Hewlett Tucker and wife, James John- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 4O9 

son and wife. A. X. Spainhowe and wife, H. C. Xolette and wife, S. C. 
McGlathery and wife, M. Fitzgerald, wife and family, and Will Fitz- 
gerald and wife. Revs. A. F. Briggs, Gill, and Anld were some of the 
first ministers. The present minister is Rev. L. AL Starkey. The mem- 
bership is about fifty. The Sunday School superintendent is J. \\'. Wat- 
son, and the membership is fifty-five. 

Medford M. E. church, South. (By R. A. Wooldridge.) Organ- 
ized under the pastorate of Rev. G. F. Coffman. The charter members 
were: F. M. Wooldridge, Ella Wooldridge, his wife and his son, Tavlor 
Wooldridge; R. A. ^^'ooldridge, wife, Mary V. \\'ooldridge : and Miss 
Lena Wooldridge, the daughter of R. A. ^^^1oldridge, and Miss Alice 
Smith. F. M. Wooldridge headed the list for the church build- 
ing with $500. The church was built in 1906. The ministers have been: 
Revs. Swanson, Alexander, Snowden, Hessler. Hargis, Jackson, Fluffin. 
and F. L. Hunt, the present pastor. The clun-ch membcrslii]i is 
about seventy. 

CATHOLIC CHURCHES. 

There are in Johnson county four parishes and about ?i77 mendjers. 

Sacred Heart Parish, Warrensburg. (By Father F. S. McCardle.) 
Father Hammil was probably the first priest to offer Holy Sacrifice of 
the Mass in Johnson county. This pioneer priest, about 1859 or 1860, 
rode over from Lexington, Missouri, on horseback and said the first 
mass at Ambrose Daly's residence in Old Town. In 1863, Father Cal- 
mar located here and held his first mass at the home of John Kline. In 
1864 or 1865, the foundation of an adobe church was laid. The first 
mass in the new church was in 1866. Fathers ]\Iurray. Mackin. Dunn, 
Swift and Fberhardt, O. S. B., served in succession. Then Father James 
Phelan and Father .\rcheri serxed. During this time the first church 
was condenmed and mass was held in a hall over the Gilkeson store. 
Father W'illiam Sherry came in 1885. The fall of 1886, the present brick 
edifice, Sacred Heart church, was completed. The following priests 
have served here : \^ery Rev. A. G. Clohes.sy. Father John Hogan, 
Father James L Walsli. Father George B. Curry, Father Thomas Pen- 
dergast. Father Rilkinny, Father O. Driscoil, Father Lyons and Father 
F. S. ]\IcCardle. a sketch of whom appears in this volume. He is the 
present incumbent. There are 150 members. 

Knob Noster Catholic church was organized in Old Knob Xoster 
shortly after the war. The original members were: Peter and John 



^lO HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Guihen. Pat Connor, Pat Ouinn, John McGrath, and Mike Donnelly. 
The first priest was Father Murray, and services were held in Peter 
Sullivan's hall until the church was built. The priest at present is 
Father McCardle. The membership numbers seventy-two. Mrs. Page 
is superintendent of the Catechism. 

St. Patrick's church, Holden. (By Father Ryan.) During the 
closing days of the Civil War, St. Patrick's parish came into existence. 
At first Father Kennedy, of Independence, Father Murray and Father 
Swift attended to the spiritual wants, but in 1869 Father Mackin was 
sent to organize a parish and build a church. A loan of $1,500 was 
secured on the newly acquired ground at Seventh and Olive streets and 
a church, St. Patrick's, built thereon. Father Mackin left in 1873 and 
was succeeded by Father Phelan. During this time and for many years 
to come the priest at Holden attended Pleasant Hill. Harrisonville 
and Warrensburg. While Father Phelan was pastor, a new parochial 
residence was built and a cemetery was dedicated by Mr. King, of 
Kingsville. Father Archeri succeeded Father Phelan in 1882 and 
remained until 1895. He was responsible for the coming of the sisters 
to Holden, having built an academy for them, which building is now 
used as a part of the high school in Holden. Mt. Calvary cemetery, east 
of town, was bought. In 1895 Father Ryan succeeded Father Archeri. 
He left in 1904 and the parish was attended for a short time by the 
Franciscans, of Kansas City. St. Cecilia Academy did not continue 
prosperous, so in 1908 the academy was abandoned and the sisters 
moved away. The priest at present is Father Ryan. 

St. John's church, Blackwater. (By Father Ryan.) The early 
Catholic settlers of the northwest part of the county attended divine 
service either at Holden or Warrensburg. But with their increasing 
families and better prospects they decided to have a church closer 
home, and so, receiving a grant of land from S. W. Rankin and being 
ably seconded by their own Catholic neighbors, they erected a modest 
frame structure that has served the purpose since. The ground was 
given in October, 1889, and the church was erected during a vacation 
and visit of Father Archeri to his nati\e land. The people have since 
been attended by the pastor of St. Patrick's church, Holden. People 
more intelligent, industrious or hospitable are hard to find, nor will it 
be easy to find a place wdiere neighborly co-operation is practiced to 
such a degree, irrcsiiecti\e of race, creed or color. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSOX COUNTY 4II 

MISCELLANEOUS CHURCHES. 

'i'here are in Johnson county six denominations, which have onlv 
one or two congregations each in the county. There are seven such 
congregations with about 400 members and six Sunday Schools, with 
about 160 members. 

Episcopal church of Warrensburg. — Fifty-two years ago the hrst 
Episcopal church services were held in Warrensburg by the Reverend 
George K. Dunlap. In Alay, 1868 the parish was admitted into the 
Diocese of Missouri. The first vestry was composed of Dr. C. W. 
Robinson, Senior Warden; John O. DeGarmo, Junior Warden; S. H. 
Moore, B. C. Holmes. The first church building, a neat frame, was 
erected in the spring of 1871 and occupied until 1893. The stone church 
building was completed in 1900. The Reverend Mr. H. E. Martin has 
charge in connection with Sedalia. The following ministers have 
served: Rev. D'Estaing Jennings, Rev. J. H. Eichbaum; Rev. Abiel 
Leonard, Rev. A. T. Sharpe, Rev. C. A. Foster, Rev. B. H. Latrobe, 
Rev. E. DeWolf, Rev. D. C. Gaynor. Rev. J. K. Dunn. Rev. W. A. 
Pearman, Rev. E. H. Eckel, Jr. Sunday School has been continuous 
all during this period. There are now twenty members. At present 
Charles A. Shepard is superintendent. 

The Christian Science Society was organized at Warrensburg in 
1912. The first readers were Mrs. E. \\'. Cassingham, Mrs. Luc_\' 
Berke and Miss Julia Carpenter. The present readers are Chester 
Cassingham and Miss Julia Carpenter. The trustees are Mrs. Cassing- 
ham, Stover, Hoftman, Osborne and Stockton. There are thirty mem- 
bers. Sunday School and two church services are held each Sunday. 

Sardis Bethlehem church, Primitive Baptists. (By :Mrs. A. B. 
Harris.) Sardis church was organized in 1839. An old log school 
house on Tebo Creek was the first place of worship. In the fall of 
1915 a new house was built, but at Leeton. The first meeting was held 
in the new house in January. 1916. The church has at present thirty- 
seven members. Among the original members of this church was 
Elder Henry Averv. one of the first preachers in Henry county. Walter 
Cash is the present pastor. Sardis church and Bethlehem church were 
united and in 1856 a house was built in what is now North Tebo town- 
ship in Henry county. 

Crab Orchard church. — This church seems to be in a class by 



412 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

itself and is one of the most distinctive known to the editor. It is 
not a denominational church, because no denominations founded, own 
or control it. It is not a union church of denominations, because there 
are no congregations or denominations organized and using it. All 
that can be said is that it is a church, a representative of the church 
that Christ established for all who want to worship Him in it or follow 
Him out of it, regardless of any belief, doctrine, creed or conduct except 
that they believe in Him and want to follow Him. 

This church was organized in 1915. The deed to the land on 
which it stands was signed by Charles R. and Ada E. Johnson, his 
wife, recorded in Book 187, page 120, and is to the trustees named 
therein for a church "to be a union and undenominational church, 
open to every denomination that will stay on the Bible lines." The 
management is left entirely "to said trustees and their successors," who 
are named by themselves. 

The chief organizers were Leonard Clear, Ivy \\'eir, George 
McCannon and Charles Giilock. The whole neighborhood contributed, 
also people in \\'arrensburg, Leeton and Knob Noster. 

Preaching is by ministers of different denominations, who are 
invited there by members who prefer them. Services are usually twice 
a month, and the church is filled. The denominations represented by 
the preachers have been Baptist, Missionary Baptist, Latter Day Saints. 
Brethren, Methodist, and Holiness, or Church of God. 

Sunday School superintendent is William Hythecker. 

Fair Oak church. (By Judge R. H. Wood.) Built in the fall 
of 1887. The money for the building was largely given by persons of 
no denomination and was to be a union church. Tiie first class was 
organized l)y M. E. church, South. The clnircii has continued as a 
union church ever since. To-day the Methodists and Christians and 
others join in services and securing ministers. In 1917 a Methodist 
minister held services, and in 1918 a Christian minister. Rev. E. H. 
Williamson, of Sedalia, is holding services. 

The Federated or Community church of Chilhowee was organized 
July 1, 1915. These organizations formed the federation: Cumlier- 
land Presbyterian, the Protestant Methodist and the Christian churches. 
The charter members included fifteen Christians, twenty Cumberland 
Presbyterians, four Protestant Methodists and eight memliers of the 
cliurch in general. These churches 'had always occupied the same 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 4I3 

building and for these two years, until the Christians withdrew in 
October, 1917, they all had the same preacher, Rev. H. M. Burr. The 
first board consisted of P. H. Marshall, S. S. Shoemaker, chairman; 
William Carr, William Inglish. John Culley, C. C. Ridley, secretary; 
Lewis Day and Dr. Stevens. The preacher is Rev. Harold F. Branch. 
The Christians continue to hold services each fourth Sunday in the 
union church. Rev. Air. Alexander is preacher. S. S. Shoemaker has 
always been superintendent of the union Sunday School. 

The Evangelical church of Warrensburg was organized in 1870. 
The charter members were the following families: Burkarth. Kemnicrlv. 
Smith, Scheidenberger. VoUmer. The following is a complete list of 
ministers that have served here: M. Alsbach, William Folgate, 
F. Harder, C. Ehrhart, H. Koepsel. F. Shafer. C. W. Snyder. C. Brant, 
D. R. Zellner, S. Luchring. H. W. Hartman. C. Meeder, H. E. Bower, 
J. W. Reiser, S. Breithaupt, F. F. Linden. B. H. Hobbs. E. J. Feitz. 
C. H. Hartman, S. A. Burgert. J. AI. Fricker, J. R. Xaminga. There 
are about sixty members in the church and about sixty in the Sunday 
School. 

GERMAN LUTHERAN CHURCHES. 

There are two German Lutheran churches in the county, with a 
voting membership of about fifty-five and an attendance of about 200. 

Knob Noster Immanuel church was organized about 1905 with 
about eight to ten charter voting members. The first minister was 
Mr. Kuntzman. There are about twenty-five voting members, and 
the actual attendance is about 150. There is also a parochial school 
conducted by the church at the church building. 

Dunksburg church was organized about 1907, with about eight to 
ten charter voting members. It has had the same ministers as the 
Knob Noster church and has the same kind of parochial school. 

Seventh Day Adventists church (Jackson township). In 1873 a 
church of thirty-six members was organized by Elders J. D. Roberts 
and J. Cook. Some of the men who have preached to this congrega- 
tion are: R. S. Donald. Brother Chafifey, R. S. Porter and E. J. 
Farnsworth. The deacons at present are Jacob Hobbs. Ham C. Jones, 
and L. S. Leech. Joseph Dock is the Sabbath School superintendent. 

NEGRO CHURCHES. 

There are twelve negro churches in the county with 437 members 



414 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

and ten Sunday Schools with 217 members. These are as follow: 

Methodist. 

Date 
Name Organized Alembers 

Warrensburg- 1870 30 

Centerview 1871 15 

Holden 1874 20 

Knob Noster 1875 40 

Mt. Olive 1875 28 

Methodist Episcopal. 

Date 
Name Organized Members 

Warrensburg 1866 78 

African Methodist. 

Date 
Name Organized Members 

Warrensburg 1886 15 

Baptist. 

Date 
Name Organized Members 

Holden 1874 15 

A¥arrensburg _' 1880 79 

Knob Noster 1890 30 

Montserrat 1890-95 47 

Centerview Mt. Zion 1895 40 



! 



CHAPTER XXXVIII— LODGES AND OTHER ORGANIZATIONS. 

MASOXS— ORDER OF EASTKRN STAR — KNKIHTS OF m'THIAS — MODERN WOOD- 
MEN OF AMERICA— THE ROYAL NEIGHBORS— ODD FELLOWS— REBEKAHS— 
THE BENEVOLENT AND PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS — OTHER FRATERNAL 
ORGANIZATIONS— WOMEN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION— CIVIL WAR 
ORGANIZATIONS. 

MASONS. 

There are in the count}-, one commandery, witli fifty meml)ers: two 
chapters, with one hundred fifty members ; and six lodges, with six 
hinidred twenty members. 

Mary Commandery, Knights Templar No. 19 was organized Octo- 
ber 8, 1872. The officers were: George R. Hunt, eminent commander; 
Curtis Field, generalissimo; C. Clay King, captain general. The pres- 
ent officers are: C. L. Johnson, commander; Theo. S. Shock, general- 
issimo: Chet. A. Danner, captain general. Membership is fifty. 

The De Molay Chapter No. 26, Royal Arch Masons was chartered 
October 10, 1867. The officers were: George R. Hunt, high priest; 
John A. McSpadden, king; John Davis, scribe. The present officers 
are: L. J. Schofield. high priest; C. L. Johnson, king; Theo. Hyatt, 
scribe. Membership is one hundred. 

Haggai Chapter, Holden, was organized in Kingsville, June 13, 
1870. The first officers were : A. A. Hulett, high priest ; N. G. Cooley, 
king; W. D. Pinkston, scribe; W. P. Hunt, secretary. The present offi- 
cers are: M. L. Golladay, high priest: W. B. Wallace, king; H. S. 
Little, scribe. 

Warrensburg Lodge No. 135 was chartered in 1867. The first offi- 
cers were: Louis Schmidlapp, worshipful master: B. E. Alorrow, sen- 
ior warden; Ingram Starkey, junior warden. It surrendered its charter 
and the members united with Corinthian Lodge, March 4, 1889. 

Corinthian Lodge No. 265, A. F. & A. M., was chartered October 
5, 1868. The first officers were: George R. Hunt, worshipful master: 
J. A. McSpadden, senior warden ; A. J. V. Wadell, junior warden. The 
present officers are: M. D. Aber, worshipful master; G. F. Wilson. 



416 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

senior warden ; O. W. Greer, junior warden. The present membership 
is about 250. 

Knob Noster Lodge No. 245, A. F. & A. M.— Before the Civil War, 
a lodge of Masons was organized and met on petition of eleven Master 
Masons, but the members went into the army and the lodge was dis- 
banded. A charter was granted March 29, 1865, to Lodge No. 245. 
A. F. & A. M. Its first officers were: J. B. Harris, worshipful master; 
J. H. Warren, senior warden; Lewis T. Hufif, junior warden. Its pres- 
ent officers are: Frank Jenks, worshipful master; C. L. Saults, senior 
warden ; Walter Sibert, junior warden. 

Holden Lodge No. 262, A. F. & A. M., was instituted December 
18, 1867, and received its charter on October 15, 1868. The charter 
members were: Ingram Starkey, William Miller, S. H. Moseley, David 
Nation, F. J. Tygard, J. S. Peer, Jacob Jewel, George N. Moore, Charles 
Gloyd, R. W. Farley. The first officers were: Charles Gloyd, worship- 
ful master; Ingram Starkey, senior warden; S. H. Moseley, junior 
warden; David Nation, treasurer; J. S. Peer, senior deacon; Jacob Jewel, 
junior deacon, and G. N. Moore, Tyler. The principal officers for 1918 
are: L. H. Rose, worshipful master; E. L. GoUaday, senior warden. 
There are eighty-six members. 

Cold Spring Lodge No. 274, Leeton, Missouri, was organized Octo- 
ber 16, 1879. The charter members were: T. J. Caldwell, J. F. Rob- 
ertson, George Allen, Mr. Irvin and Mr. Polter. The worshipful 
masters of the lodge were: S. O. ^^'allace, L. D. Ewing, A. A. Doug- 
lass, J. M. Caldwell, T. L. Kimzey, W. T. Wilson, J. R. Grinstead, S. 
H. Elliott, R. L. Wall, C. F. Gilchrist, W. H. Walker, J. C. Burk, 
R. E. Hobson, L. W. Harris. The present officers are: L. W. Harris, 
master; C. P. Helphrey, secretary. Membership is about fifty. 

Pittsville Lodge No. 428 was organized October 19, 1898, with 
fifteen charter members. Following is the list of masters: J. P. Burks. 
W. G. Shafer, J. N. Hutchinson, F. E. Rice, J. S. Fortney, C. S. Smith, 
A. C. Crank, O. C. Morrow. R. S. Rice, J. L. Patterson, W. G. Shafer, 
Walter S. Raker. 

Chilhowee Lodge No. 487, A. F. & A. M., was organized June 24. 
1906. The following officers were appointed : William P. Hunt, wor- 
shipful master: R. E. Sweeney, senior warden; H. L. Reed, junior 
warden. Chilhowee Lodge has a membership of 108. The officers are: 
W. L. Alartin, worshipful master; Glenn W. Scott, senior warden. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 417 

The Lodge of Peace No. 280, was organized in 1868. in Chilhowee 
township. It was one of the best known lodges in the county and its 
hall is still a land-mark. 

ORDER OF EASTERN STAR. 

There are six chapters in Johnson county, with 536 members. It 
is auxiliary to the Masons and is social and benevolent in purpose. 

Holden Chapter. — The first chapter of the Order of Eastern Star 
in Johnson county was instituted in Holden about 1873. Some of the 
early members now living are : Mr. and Mrs. O. R. Rogers, of Holden ; 
Mrs. I. Starkey, of Holden: Mrs. Mattie Bowers Young, of Holden; 
Mrs. Mattie Jacquith Cass, of Holden: and Mr. Evans and daughter. The 
present Holden Chapter No. 171 was instituted October 18, 1901. There 
were twenty-one charter members. The number of members is now 
sixty-three. 

Warrensburg Chapter. (By Miss Bertha Loebenstein, district 
deputy grand matron.) On December 27, 1900, the first meeting of 
Warrensburg Chapter was held. At this meeting, forty-four petitions 
were received. The first candidates to receive the degrees were Mrs. 
E. A. Baldwin, Mrs. Mary Duncan and Miss Mary Hillhouse. Warrens- 
burg Chapter No. 3 has 175 members. The present officers are: Mrs. 
Ella Kapp, worthy matron; Dr. C. C. James, worthy patron; Mrs. Ora 
McMeekin, secretary. 

Knob Knoster Chapter. (By Lillie Overby.) Organized March 
24, 1899. There were twenty-three charter members. The 
first chief officers were: Belle Kelly, worthy matron; Ed. S. Harte, 
worthy patron; and A. M. Craig, secretary. The present officers are: 
Carrie Jenks, worthy matron; Earnest Adams, worthy patron; Lillie 
Overbey, secretary. The present membership is forty-eight. 

Leeton Chapter No. 200 was organized October 1, 1901. There 
were twenty-four charter members. The first officers were: Mrs. Anna 
Mohler, worthv matron ; S. N. Mohler, worthy patron. The present 
chief officers are: Mrs. Ruth Shoemaker, worthy matron; Elmer Hob- 
son, worthy patron; Mrs. Eva Gunser, secretary. The number of 
membership is now sixty-nine. 

Chilhowee Chapter No. 121 was instituted at Chilhowee, June 23, 
1902. There were twenty-one charter members. The first chief officers 
were: Mrs. Ida \^ Tankee, worthy matron; Mr. David H. Tankee, 

(14) 



4IO HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

secretary. The present matron is Mrs. Dora Sharp; present patron. 
Mr. C. C. Ridley. Membership, 132. 

Kingsville Chapter was instituted February 24, 1914. There were 
twenty-five charter members. The present officers are : worthy matron, 
Fannie Jones; worthy patron, Elmer L. Angell; secretary, Georgie 
Johnson. It has forty-nine members. 

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 

There are three lodges in the county with 243 members. 

Alma Lodge No. 26, Holden, was instituted August 14, 1872, with 
ten charter members. Re-organized January 31, 1877, by Charles D. 
Lucas. John D. Shaw, W. C. ; Charles L. Carter, V. C. ; T. Dudley, 
recording secretary, were the first officers. It has at present seventy- 
five members and the present officers are: A. Musser, C. C. ; M. R. 
Snow, V. C. ; George Estes, K. of R. and S. 

Harmony Lodge No. 215, Warrensburg, was instituted September 
1, 1891. The charter was granted October 21, 1891. There were forty- 
two charter members. The officers were : George Peak, C. C. ; E. H. 
Faulkner, V. C. ; R. E. Walbridge, K. of R. and S. There are at present 
about 100 members. 

Twin Mound Lodge No. 273, Knob Noster, was instituted May 16, 
1893. Charter was granted October 18, 1893. There were thirty-five 
charter members. The present officers are: Dr. D. E. Shy, C. C. ; C. 
W. Weidman, V. C. ; A. M. Craig, K. of R. and S. The number of 
members is sixty-eight. 

MODERN WOODMEN OF AMERICA. 

There are sixteen camps in the county. The objects of the order 
are: "The receiving to membership of persons between the ages of 
seventen and forty-five years of age, who apply for and are granted 
fraternal life insurance for the benefit of members of the family or 
dependent persons." 

Warrensburg Camp No. 2087. (By S. H. Coleman.) The camp 
was organized at Warrensburg October 6, 1893, with twenty-eight 
charter members. The first officers were: J. A. Hancock, consul: J. 
R. Ramsay, clerk; M. B. Merly, banker. The present membership 
is 248. The officers are: John A. Reed, consul; S. H. Coleman, clerk: 
John F. Vollmer, banker. This is the largest camp in Johnson county. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 4I9 

Knob Noster Camp No. 2172. Charter was issued March 1, 1894. 
There were eleven charter members. The first officers were: Consul, 
C. A. Davis; clerk, W. M. Elliott; banker, P. D. Hanna. The present 
officers are: Consul, E. A. Sappington; clerk, A. S. Adcock; banker, 
A. M. Craig. 

Pittsville Camp No, 3475. The date of charter is January 8, 1896. 
There were sixteen charter members. The first officers were: Consul, 
O. E. Wallace; clerk, Ernest G. Rush; physician. Dr. O. E. Wallace. 
The present officers are: Consul. J. L. Hill, clerk, C. M. Gillner; banker, 
J. H. Dean. 

Columbus Camp No. 4779 w-as chartered May 25, 1897; organized 
May 31, 1897. There were thirteen charter members. The first officers 
were: Consul, H. C. King; banker, Henry Violett ; clerk, W. D. Rush. 
The present officers are: Consul, J. E. Brockman; clerk, Ered Speaker; 
banker, J. C. Wilhoff. 

Holden Camp No. 5834 was chartered November 8, 1898, and organ- 
ized November 12, 1898. There were twenty-five charter members. 
The first officers were: Consul, L. W. Mosher; clerk, G. W. Harris; 
The present officers are: Consul, H. W. Long; clerk, A. E. Mahew; 
banker, E. Andruss. 

Hoffman Camp No. 5906 was chartered December 5, 1898. and 
organized December 8, 1898, by L. Pierce. There were sixteen charter 
members. The first officers were: Consul. J. B. Shackelford; clerk, 
W. J. Dyer; banker, J. C. Turley. The present officers are: Consul, 
J. M. Downing; clerk, A. J. Dyer; banker, C. M. Dyer. 

Leeton Camp No. 6223 was chartered March 6. 1899 and 
organized March 18, 1899. There were thirty-four charter members. 
The first officers were: Consul, S. N. :\Ioh!er; banker, Charles Lee; 
clerk, J. F. Nelson. The present officers are: Consul, J. W. Brooks; 
clerk, L. M. Plummer; banker, W. D. DesCombes. 

Centerview Camp No. 6532 was chartered May 10, 1899, and organ- 
ized May 17. 1899. There were twenty-three charter members. The 
first meeting was Alay 17, 1899 at Centerview. The first officers were: 
Consul, W. H. Baird: banker. H. Poage; clerk, W. Shipp. The pres- 
ent officers are: Consul, C. G. Huggins : clerk, J. F. Zaucho: banker, 
J. N. Whitsett. 

Dunksburg Camp No. 6697 was chartered June 15, 1899 and organ- 



420 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

ized June 17, 1899. There were sixteen charter members. The first 
officers were: Consul, R. C. Park; banker, Henry Park; clerk, C. C. 
Curnutt. The present officers are: Consul, O. C. Forsyth; clerk, Lee 
Ernest; banker, J. W. Winston. 

Kingsville Camp No. 3916 was chartered August 7, 1899 and organ- 
ized August 10, 1899. There were twenty-two charter members. The 
first officers were: Consul, W. H. Ragsdale; banker, C. J. Reaves; 
clerk, S. J. Smith ; physician, G. N. Bennett. The present officers are : 
Consul, J. F. Luton; clerk, C. M. Horsley; banker, J. W. Howard. 

Fayetteville Camp No. 7148. Chartered October 27, 1899 and 
organized October 30, 1899. There were fifteen charter members. 
The first officers were: Consul, T. H. Doolin; banker, W. H. Seigfreid; 
clerk, C. F. Adams ; ph3'sician. Dr. E. H. Sulil. The present officers 
are: Consul, E. L. Shackelford; clerk, E. M. Stockton; banker, C. S. 
Cobb. 

Owsley Camp. (By C. H. Allen.) It was organized November 21, 
1899. There were fifteen charter members. The first officers were: 
V. C, Thomas Roberts; banker, T. L. Cooper; clerk, Dr. T. J- Draper. 
The present officers are: V. C, Oliver Egbert; banker, G. R. Allen; 
clerk, C. H. Allen. The camp had at one time sixty-six members. 

Chilhowee Camp No. 3586 was organized December 12, 1899. There 
were twenty-one charter members. The present officers are: Claud 
Scott, consul; William Inglish, banker; O. H. Cook, clerk. There are 
127 members. 

Sutherland Camp No. 8181 was organized June 20, 1900 with 
the following officers: H. H. Hudson, consul; G. L. Booth, banker; 
Frank Hudson, clerk. The membership has since grown to fifty-six. 

Cornelia Camp No. 9691 was chartered May 23, 1901 and organized 
May 25, 1901. There were twenty-two charter members. The first 
officers were: Consul, J. V. Lykins; banker, R. J- Gladden: clerk, J- 
clerk, J. V. Lykins. The present officers are : Consul, C. H. Under- 
wood ; clerk. T. A. McCormack; banker, H. H. Howard. 

Post Oak Camp No. 11202 was chartered April 22, 1903 and organ- 
ized April 25, 1903. There were thirteen charter members. The first 
officers were: Consul, J. V. Lykins; banker, R. J. Gladden; clerk, J- 
L. Thomas. The present officers are: Consul, J. E. Caldwell: clerk, 
J. F. Maise: banker, George Tracy. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 421 

THE ROYAL NEIGHBORS. 

There are nine camps in the county with 402 members. It is 
auxihary to the Modern Woodmen and is a fraternal, beneficial society. 
It is said to be the largest fraternal insurance organization in the world 
governed entirely by women. 

Opal Maurine Camp No. 3097, Holden, was organized in March, 

1906. There were nineteen charter members. The Holden camp is 
the oldest in Johnson county. Ossie Hagemeyer was first Oracle. At 
last state camp held at Chillicothe, Missouri, Nellie Nawgel was elected 
State Vice Oracle. F. May Andruss has been appointed deputy of John- 
son county. There are seventy-one members. 

Content Camp No. 4711, Columbus, was organized February 13, 

1907. There were twenty-three charter members. The first chief offi- 
cers were: Oracle, Lillie Rice; Vice Oracle, Juliet McMahan; Past 
Oracle, Clara Halley; Chancellor, Mahala Phillips. The present officers 
are: Oracle, Roberta Simmerman; Vice Oracle. Annie G. Hale; Past 
Oracle, Edna WelhofT ; Chancellor, Edna Welhofif. There are nineteen 
members. 

Royal Neighbors of Knob Noster was organized May 4, 1907. There 
were thirty-two charter members. The first officers were: Eva Shy, 
Oracle: Mary Dow, Vice Oracle; Anna Hogan. Chancellor; Jennie 
Macrae, Secretary. The present officers are: Eliza Sappington, Oracle; 
Frances Dow, Vice Oracle; Anna Dudley, Past Oracle; Anna Hogan, 
Chancellor. 

Calista Camp No. 6060, Pittsville, was organized November 4, 1909. 
There w^ere twenty-five charter members. There are now thirty-three 
members. Nellie Robey, the present Oracle, is serving her fifth year. 
Hattie E. Giltner was elected first Recorder and has served in that 
office ever since. 

Cornelia Camp No. 6175 was organized January 31, 1910, with a 
charter membership of thirty-one. The first chief officer^ elected were: 
Mary B. Greer, Oracle; Mattie Gardner, Vice Oracle: Nora E. McCar- 
mack. Past Oracle; Rebecca Woodyard, Chancellor. On July 30, 1910, 
Sunset Camp No. 4150, of Post Oak, Missouri, was consolidated with 
Cornelia Camp. Chief officers for 1918 are: Ida V. Scott. Oracle; Ida 
B. West, Vice Oracle: Una L. Smith, Past Oracle: Mary J. Speechly, 
Chancellor. There are thirty-eight members. 

Chilhowee Camp No. 6211 was organized March 31, 1910. There 



422 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

were fifteen charter members. The first officers were : Oracle, Miss 
Mary Kern; Vice Oracle, Mrs. Mabel Bishop; Past Oracle, Mrs. Susan 
Cowden; Chancellor, Mrs. Mary Dunn. The present officers are: 
Oracle, Mrs. Laura Quillen; Vice Oracle, Mrs. Belle Doak; Past Oracle, 
Mrs. Mary Wright; Chancellor, Mrs. Susan Robinson. There are now 
thirty members. 

Leeton Camp No. 6201 was organized February 10, 1910. There 
were twenty-one charter members. The first officers were: Oracle, 
Florence Burke; Vice Oracle, Maggie Mohler; Chancellor, Eva Sturgis, 
Past Oracle, Nora Muick; Recorder, Lillian M. Cox. The present offi- 
cers are: Oracle, Mabel King; Vice Oracle, Mattie Weiss; Chancellor, 
Mattie Wisdom; Past Oracle, Maggie Mohler. The number of mem- 
bers is fifteen. 

Easter Lily Camp No. 6932 was organized in April, 1911. There 
were twenty-six charter members. First officers were : Oracle. Mrs. 
Minnie E. Smith; Past Oracle, Msr. Lura Killion ; Chancellor, Mrs. 
Naomi Meiley; Recorder, Mrs. Nannie Taylor. There are ninety-four 
beneficial and ten social members. The officers for 1918 are: Oracle, 
Mrs. Lucy J. Shirley; Vice Oracle, Mrs. Ora Shryack; Past Oracle, Mrs. 
Etta Lyons; Chancellor, Mrs. Evelyn Swain. 

Rosebud Camp No. 7829. (By Fannie W. Carter.) Organized 
November 17, 1915, with twenty-two members. First chief ofYicers 
were: Oracle, Stella Forsyth; Vice Oracle, Maude Bradshaw; Past 
Oracle, Cora Carter. The chief officers at present are : Oracle, Bertha 
Winston ; Vice Oracle, Maud Bradshaw. There are thirty-nine members, 
members. 

ODD FELLOWS. 

There are four lodges in the county with about 395 members. 

The Eureka Lodge No. 88 was instituted at Warrensburg on the 
21st day of May, 1856. The remnant of Odd Fellowship that had sur- 
vived the war made its appearance as an independent order. The pres- 
ent officers are: Noble Grand, C. H. Thornton; Vice Grand. Robert 
A. Brown; Recording Secretary, R. L. Howard: Financial Secretary, 
Forest Hunter. There are 172 members. 

Paola Lodge No. 147, Knob Noster, Missouri, was organized and 
charter granted on May 22, 1861. John Doniplian was Grand Master: 
Charles C. Archer, Grand Sovereign. Tiie charter members were: C. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 423 

J. Page, D. M. Greenlee, A. Kirkpatrick, T. I. Miserey, J. L. Lee. There 
are sixty-nine members. The present chief officers are as follow: John 
Olvis, Noble Grand; Thomas Redd, Vice Grand; F. E. Thurston, 
Secretary. 

Holden Lodge No. 184, I. O. O. F. (By W. H. Craig.) It was 
organized in 1868. B. A. Crum was probably the first Noble Grand. 
The officers are: Lon Hauk, Noble Grand; John Zehr, Vice Grand; 
R. C. Six, Recording Secretary; F. G. Haisey, Financial Secretary. 
There are 124 members. 

Pittsville Lodge No. 595 was organized May 3, 1873. The first 
officers were: S. IM. Logan, Noble Grand; M. Rice, Vice Grand; J. H. 
Dean, Secretary. There are now thirty members. Jesse Beamer is 
Noble Grand: Dr. W. B. Turnbow, \'ice Grand: H. J. Hughes, Secretary. 

REBEKAHS. 

There are two lodges in the county and about 220 members. This 
lodge is auxiliary to the I. O. O. F. 

Orphan Home Rebekah Lodge No. 135 was organized on June 18, 
1894. There were twenty-seven charter members. The lodge later 
disbanded but on April 2, 1900 re-organized. The officers were: Mrs. 
Caroline E. ^^'inters. Noble Grand; Mrs. Ida Malone, Vice Grand; 
Mrs. Lizzie Ozias. Secretary. The membership is 152. 

Rebekahs of Holden. Organized in October. 1905 with fifteen 
charter members. The first officers were: Mrs. J. \\'. [Merrell, 
Noble Grand: Miss Sallie Hauk. \"ice Grand: Mrs. Edward Andruss. 
Secretary. The present officers are: ]\Irs. Lucy Pemberton, Noble 
Grand: Mrs. Edgar Golladaw A'ice Grand: Mrs. Anna W'nolf. Secretary. 

THE BENEVOLENT AND PROTECTIVE ORDER OF ELKS. 

(By Rudolph Loebenstein. ) 
Warrensburg Lodge No. 673 was instituted on April 11. 1901. The 
First set of officers were: Exalted Ruler, Dr. James I. Anderson; 
Esteemed Leading Knight, G. A. Landes; Esteemed Loyal Knight. 
A\'. A. Porter; Esteemed Lecturing Knight, C. A. Shepard ; Secretary, 
H. A. Cress: Treasurer. E. N. Johnson: Esquire. ;\Iose Cohn : Tyler, 
Moses Wiley: Inner Guard. Land Markward : Chaplain. P. C. V^n 
Matre: Trustees, I. W. Rogers. J. \'. Murray, A\'. R. DeLaney. The 
following are the present officers: Exalted Ruler, Harry R. Garrison; 



424 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Esteemed Leading Knight, N. E. Greim ; Esteemed Loyal Knight, E. 
L. Thurber; Esteemed Lecturing Knight. Gael Carmack; Secretary, 
Henry Blood Smyth; Treasurer, F. L. Mayes; Esquire, Mr. W. C. 
Morris; Tyler, Mose Wiley; Inner Guard, Lee Katherman; Chaplain, 
C. W. Fulkerson; Trustees, E. N. Johnson, Ben T. Sams and L W. 
Rogers.. 

OTHER FRATERNAL ORGANIZATIONS. 
There are in the county ten lodges of the following orders, with 
951 members: 

Date of Mem- 
Order. Organization, bers. 

Maccabees, Holden 1885 29 

Maccabees, Warrensburg 1893 111 

Woodmen of the World, Holden 1892 99 

Knights and Ladies of Security, AVarrensl)urg 1893 125 

Degree of Honor, Warrensburg 1894 43 

Mystic Workers of the World, Knob Noster 1896 101 

Elks, Warrensburg 1901 275 

Modern Brotherhood of America, Hazel Hill Township 1909 15 

Yeomen, Warrensburg 1910 125 

Yeomen, Holden 1910 28 

WOMEN'S CHRISTIAN TEMPERANCE UNION. 

There are seven Unions in the county with a1)out 223 members. 

Warrensburg W. C. T. U. was organized November 12. 1878 and 
reorganized in 1884. The first president was Mrs. Hedges. The pres- 
ent membership is about 100 and the officers are: Mrs. Townsend, 
President; Mrs. Rice, Secretary. 

The Holden W. C. T. U. was organized about 1880. For many 
years Mrs. M. L. GoUaday was the active leader of its work and its ■ 
president until her death. Mrs. King is President. Tlie niem1iership 
is thirteen. 

Kingsville W. C. T. U. was organized September 12, 1884. There 
were eighteen charter members and they now have thirty-one. 

The Centerview W. C. T. U. was organized in 1914 witli thirteen 
members. The officers were Miss Katherine F.astliam. President: Mrs. 
James Gofifameyer, Treasurer and Secretary. The jircsent officers are: 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 425 

Mrs. Ed Spence, President; Mrs. James Zoucha, Treasurer and 
Secretary. 

The Duncan W. C. T. U. was organized September 4, 1915. There 
were eight charter members. The first officers were Mrs. Mary F. 
Clifford, President; Martha Duncan, Secretary. The present officers 
are: Mrs. Ehzabeth Benjamin, President; Martha Duncan, Secretary. 

Hazel Hill W. C. T. U. was organized June 30, 1916. There 
were eleven charter members. The first officers were: Mrs. J. M. 
Gilkeson, President; Miss Pearl Miller, Secretary. Mrs. J. M. Gilke- 
son is President and Miss Helen Redford, Secretary. There are thirty- 
five members. 

Pleasant Valley W. C. T. U. was organized in June, 1915. There 
were sixteen charter members and the first officers were: Mrs. Nora 
Johnson, President ; Mrs. Montie Best, Secretary. The present officers 
are: Mrs. Iva Shore, President: Miss Ota Taylor, Secretary and Treas- 
urer. There are sixteen members. 

CIVIL WAR ORGANIZATIONS. 

There are two G. A. R. Posts in the county with fifty-six members, 
two women's auxiliaries with fifty members, one camp of United Con- 
federate Veterans with twenty-one members and two chapters of the 
U. D. C. with ninety members. The total number of members in all 
these organizations is 217. The objects of these organizations are 
historical, social and benevolent. 

Colonel Grover Post Grand Army of the Republic was organized 
May 24, 1883 at W'arrensburg. There are sixty-one charter members. 
The first Post Commander was George N. Richards. C. J. Matthews 
is the present Post Commander. During its existence there were 315 
members enrolled. The membership is now sixteen. 

Johnson County Post No. 594, G. A. R. was organized October 8, 
1914 at \\'arrensburg. Missouri. The charter members were about 
thirty-five. The first officers: Commander, David Aber; Senior Vice- 
Commander, Nathan Shaneyfelt : Junior Vice-Commander, James Eyer ; 
and the present officers are the same. There are forty members. 

Colonel Grover Relief Corps No. 20, auxiliary to the Colonel Grover 
Post, was organized in 1885 with forty-seven charter members and the 
following officers elected: Mrs. E. A. Baldwin, President: Mrs. Jennie 
Snow, Senior Vice-President ; Mrs. Anna D. Houts, Secretarv. The 



426 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

officers are: Mrs. Marie Osborne, President; ]\Irs. Ida Lazenby, Treas- 
urer; Mrs. Elmer Julian, Secretary. The present membership is 
twenty-seven. 

Johnson County Circle, Ladies of G. A. R. was organized January 
21, 1915, with twenty-two charter members. Mrs. C. E. Winters was 
the first President. There are twenty-three members and the officers 
are: President, Emma McKee; Secretary, Eva Ireland. 

M. M. Parsons Camp No. 735, United Confederate Veterans. (By 
D. P. Woodruff.) The camp was organized September 14, 1895. There 
were twenty charter members. The first chief officers were: W. P. 
Gibson, Commander; J. E. Robinson, Lieutenant Commander; D. P. 
Woodruff, Adjutant. The present Commander is J. W. McFarland. 
There are twenty-one members. 

United Daughters of the Confederacy, F. M. Cockrell Chapter, 
Warrensburg. The first meeting was held September 9, 1897. The 
first officers were: President, Mrs. John B. Clark: First Vice-Presi- 
dent, Mrs. J. A. Houston; Recording Secretary, Miss Mary Parker. 
There were fifty-three charter members. On July 1. 1901 the D. O. C. 
were merged into the U. D. C. and the name of the ^^'arrensburg 
Chapter was changed from "Johnson County D. O. C." to the "Francis 
Marion Cockrell Chapter U. D. C." There are now seventy-two mem- 
bers. The present officers are: Miss Woodruff, President; Miss Eunice 
Yankee. Recording Secretary; Miss Frances McFarland, Correspond- 
ing Secretary. This lodge has contributed to innumerable Confederate 
monuments and memorials as well as to charity. 

William Sweeney Chapter, Chilhowee. It was organized March 
2, 1917. The first meeting was held April 25. 1917. The first officers 
were: Mrs. Ida B. Howard, President; Mrs. Ora Moore, Vice-Presi- 
dent; Bessie Dillard McElwee, Secretary. The present officers are: 
President, Mrs. Ida B. Howard; Treasurer. C. C. Ridley; Recording 
Secretary, Bessie Dillard McElwee. There are eighteen members. 



CHAPTER XXXIX.— MISCELLANEOUS ORGANIZATIONS. 

THE HO-Mi': MAKER.^' CI.rBS— FA l;.M KKS' ell :( JA.VIZATIONS— JOHNSON COUNTY 
FARM BUREAU— C0MJH;NITY WORK CLUBS. 

THE HOME MAKERS' CLUBS. 

These clubs are organized to make good homes, and tliey do it. 
Their objects in detail are best expressed as follow: 

"Through the medium of these clubs, the Extension Department 
of the University of Missouri could use the money appropriated by 
the Smith-Lever bill for the betterment of the farm woman to greater 
advantage. Our aim has been to improve our homemaking qualities 
and foster community social life." — Mrs. \\'ill Redford. 

"We work in cooperation with the College of Agriculture at 
Columbia. They help us in our studies and outline our programs for 
our meetings.'' — Mrs. L. L. Burris. 

There are fifteen of these clubs in the county with a total member- 
ship of abotit 335. 

Duncan Home Makers' Club was organized July 11. 1917. Mrs. 
H. J. Benjamin is presi<lent and Mrs. Robert Davis, secretary. 

Oak Grove Home Makers' Club, Montserrat township, was organ- 
ized July 10. 1917. Miss Leta Dawes is president and Mrs. William 
Goodnight, secretary and treasurer. 

Clover Heights Home Makers' Club, Center\iew townshiii. was 
organized July 5. 1917. Mrs. Joe Hunt is president and Mrs. Clair 
Shrader, secretary and treasurer. 

Glendale Home Makers' Club, Centerview township, was organized 
June 6. 1917. Mrs. George Haun is president and Mrs. Benton .\dair 
is secretary and treasurer. 

Hepsidam Home Makers' Club, Grover township was organized 
June 12, 1917. Mrs. J. B. Wampler is president and Mrs. C. D. HuLse 
is secretary and treasurer. 

Locust Grove Home Makers' Club, Chilhowee township was organ- 
ized May 17. 1917. Mrs. Henry Godde is president and Mrs. Frank 
Easterwood is secretary and treasurer. 



428 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Gowans Home Makers' Club, Centerview township was organized 
February 16, 1917. Mrs. Ed Spence is president and Miss Jessie All- 
good is secretary and treasurer. 

Sunnyside Home Makers' Club, Warrensburg township was organ- 
ized February 9, 1917. Mrs. W. C. Burns is president and Mrs. E. J. 
McCormack is secretary and treasurer. 

McCoy Home Makers' Club, Columbus township was organized 
July 5, 1916. Mrs. L. L. Burris is president and Mrs. J. T. Dalton is 
secretary and treasurer. 

Prairie View Home Makers' Club, Warrensburg township was 
organized June 2, 1916. Mrs. J. L. EiUott is president and Miss Frieda 
Tenipel is secretary and treasurer. 

Willing Workers Home Makers' Club, Centerview township was 
organized June 3, 1916. Mrs. E. J. Ozias was the first president and 
Miss Maud Repp was the secretary and treasurer. 

Hickory Grove Home Makers' Club, Post Oak township was 
organized in October, 1915. Mrs. Martin Abrahams is the president 
and Mrs. J. D. Cecil is secretary and treasurer. 

Salem Home Makers' Club, Hazel Hill township was organized 
July 13, 1915. Mrs. Will Redford is president and Mrs. Bert Bracken 
is secretary and treasurer. 

Fayetteville Home Makers' Club, Hazel Hill township was organ- 
ized December 4. 1914. This was the first Home Makers' Club to be 
organized in Johnson county. The first president was Mrs. C. S. Cobb 
and Alpha Cleveland was secretary. 

Good Neighbors Home Makers' Club, \\'arrensburg township, was 
organized July 7. 1915. Mrs. George Lunn is president and Mrs. Ada 
Armstrong is secretary and treasurer. 

FARMERS' ORGANIZATIONS. 
Farmers' Organizations. — There are five farmers' clul)s in the county, 
with about 976 members, besides the Blackwater drainage district land- 
owners, as follow : 

Date Mem- 

Club. Organized. I)ers. 

Blackwater Drainage District, Blackwater Creek 1908 

Farm Bureau, whole county 1913 6tX) 

Equity Society, Warrensburg 1914 164 

Co-operative l*".Ic\ator Company, Lecton 1917 7S 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON' COUNTY 429 

Fanners' Club. Grover Township 1917 lil 

Farmers' Community Club, Hazel Hill Township,. 1917 100 

JOHNSON COUNTY FARM BUREAU. 

(By J. C. Christo])her. ) 

[Editor's Note: Mr. Christopher has lived in this county over forty 
years, been active in its affairs, and has been secretary of the Farm 
Bureau practically from its beginning.] 

The bureau was first organized as the Johnson County Bureau of 
Agriculture about February, 1913. in the Commercial Club rooms at War- 
rensburg. Charles H. Houx and W. C. Knapp were elected temporary 
president and secretary. A constitution drafted by A. M. Craig, of Knob 
Noster, T. J. Halsey, of Holden. and James B. Miller, of Warrens- 
burg, was adopted at once. Under it the following advisory council 
was elected, composed of two members from each township: 

Centerview: E. J. Ozias, Wm. A. Porter. Chilhowee: D. L. Albin, 
Ben Howerton. Columbus: A. C. Fitch, E. W. Henry. Grover: John 
F. House, W. E. Knaus. Hazel Hill: Wm. L. Robbins, F. N. Ames. 
Jackson: J. M. Rice, Jas. L. Ferguson. Jefferson: Wm. F. Cooper, 
Jas. O. Sutherland. Kingsville: F. G. Baker, C. L. Duncan. Madi- 
son: R. L. Whitsett, F. A. McWethy. Montserrat: G. M. Curnutt, 
F.E.Mayes. Post Oak: J. M. Ward. J. M. Mohler. Rose Hill: J. A. 
Haller, C. C. Atkins. Simpson: C. .\. Kanoy. J. Cliff Long. Warrens- 
burg: Jesse Mohler. W. H. Clark. Washington: J. B. Wampler, H. 
Wimer. 

This council then elected the following permanent ofificers: Presi- 
dent, Chas. H. Houx; 1st vice-president, W. B. Wallace; 2nd vice-presi- 
dent, B. F. Summers; secretary. E. W. Cassingham ; treasurer, Ben. T. 
Sams. Executive committee: Jesse Mohler, J. B. Wampler. F. A. 
McWethy. 

On April 29, 1913, Mr. Cassingham resigned as secretary, and J. 
C. Christopher was elected in his place. 

The chief work of the bureau was to secure and keep in the county 
a county farm agent, for the benefit of agriculture in all its forms. 
At that time, these agents were just being established in the county. 
Private citizens, supposed to be the owners of Sears, Roebuck & Com- 
pany, in Chicago, offered $1,000 cash to each county that would first 
employ such an agent. The United States Department of Agriculture 



430 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

and the Missouri State University also contributed, and all each county 
had to do was to raise a part of the money to pay the agent and the 
expenses of the work. The outside funds for this purpose were about 
exhausted, and to get the benefit of them for this county, action had to 
be taken before a farmers' organization could be perfected. This was 
done by a number of private citizens signing a personal guarantee to 
insure our county's part. These guarantors were : Charles H. Houx, 
Ben T. Sams, J. H. Scarborough, E. W. Cassingham, T. E. Cheatham, 
C. A. Shepard, T. J. Halsey, W. A. Porter, W. L. Hedges, Christopher 
L. Johnson, Dr. James I. Anderson, Jas. B. Miller. Walter L. Jones & 
Brother, J. H. Lampkin and Robert Sorency. 

After the organization, money was raised to maintain the county 
agent for three years, and C. M. Long was selected. He resigned in 
March, 1916, and F. A. Gougler was selected in his place, and is now 
serving. The work is now carried out wholly by the county court, 
representing the county as a whole, the Missouri State University and 
the United States Department of Agriculture. 

Much opposition was encountered in having a farm agent at all. This 
came chiefly from some farmers, and the Farm Bureau carried on for a 
long time the educational work of showing the good and the need of 
the county agent. Today, his position seems to be assured and to meet 
the approval of practically everybody. 

In 1918, through the efforts of the women of the county and the 
Commercial Club at Warrensburg, a home demonstration agent was 
secured for the county. Miss Mary Moreland was selected. Her work, 
just now beginning, is to help any women in the county in any brancli 
of home economics. It will be carried on personally and by community 
work. 

Organization of Executive Committee. — A meeting was held at the 
court house Thursday, February 28, for the purpose of electing an 
executive committee to the Johnson County Farm Bureau. Both the 
county agent work and the home demonstration agent work come 
under the executive committee .of this bureau. The joint nicnihcrsliip 
in March, 1918, of both men and women in Johnson county now num- 
bers about 600, there being about 350 women and 250 men. .\t the 
meeting a County Farm Bureau executive committee was organized, 
electing Mr. F. A. McWethy, a prominent farmer and Shorthorn breeder 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 43 1 

of Holden. as president of the bureau. Air. C. H. Houx, former presi- 
dent, retired from the service. Tlie following is the full committee: 
President, F. A. McWethy, Holden; vice-president, N. J. Bush. War- 
rensburg: treasurer, \\'. O. Redford, Fayetteville : secretary, R. L. Whit- 
sett, Holden: horticulture, Lyle Jacob)-, Centerview; dairying, Jesse 
Mohler, A\'arrensburg; soil demonstration, Ivan Phillips; wheat demon- 
stration, Ernest Douglas; poultry, C. II. Funk, Holden; corn demonstra- 
tion, Elmer Ozias; beef and pork production, Clif? Baile; legume crops, 
J. B. Wampler; boys and girls, R. H. Boston: women's organizations, 
Mrs. W. O. Redford, Fayetteville; food conservation, Mrs. W. R. Cocke- 
fair; household conveniences, Mrs. C. Cobb; clothing, Mrs. L. C. Pember- 
ton, Holden ; recreation, Mrs. T. E. Cheatham. 

In March, 1918, the "Johnson County Farm Bureau News" was 
established and is being issued monthly for the benefit of the members 
of the bureau. The editorial committee is: R. L. Whitsett, Mary More- 
land, R. H. Boston and F. A. Gougler. 

Blackwater Drainage District Number 1 was organized under the 
laws of Missouri by decree of the Johnson Circuit Court, May 21, 1908. 
The first meeting of the land owners was held June 6, 1908, at the 
Pfefi^er bridge on Blackwater to elect a board of five supervisors. Harvey 
Russell was elected chairman and R. J. Grover, secretary of the meeting. 
The supervisors elected were J. M. Fitch, T. A. Sollars, J. H. Christo- 
pher, J. Henry Kuhlman, and Ewing Cockrell, who had been chiefly 
interested in organizing the district. Mr. Fitch was elected chairman; 
Mr. Sollars, secretary: R. J. Grover, assistant secretary; and J. W. Sud- 
dath, appointed attorney. The amount of land in the district is 23,053 
acres, of which 16,714.29 acres is bottom land, and the balance upland 
contiguous to it, and in the same legal subdivisions. 

Contract was let March 21, 1910, to G. A. and R. H. McWilliams to 
construct dredged ditches, and August 20, 1910, to C. Frank Roberts 
for the lateral ditches. Settlement was made with the contractor April 
25, 1914, though most of the ditches had been built the first two to three 
years after contract. The main ditch is twenty-seven miles, and the 
laterals twenty-two miles long. 

The work was done through the proceeds of bonds which were issued 
February 21, 1910, for $190,000 at 6 per cent., maturing annually after 
five years, the last maturity being 1928. W. R. Compton Bond and 



432 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Mortgage Company, of St. Louis, were the purchasers. $27,000 of the 
bonds have been paid, and there is a surplus on hand of about $20,000. 
which will be used in the purchase of bonds before maturity. 

The same officers have been re-elected and served continuously ever 
since except that in 1915, J. H. Christopher moved away and resigned, 
and was succeeded by J. H. Borgstadt, and in 1917, Mr. Kuhlman died. 
Mr. Suddath remained attorney till his death in 1917. 

The ditches constitute a complete drainage system, and have prac- 
tically eliminated any material damage from the customary former over- 
flows. The fall averages three feet to the mile in the main ditch. It 
has nearly doubled in size since first built and is increasing rapidly 
every year, slightly in depth and much in width. It is many times 
shorter and correspondingly swifter than the old Blackwater creek, 
which it practically replaces, and all rainfalls are carried off very rapidly. 

COMMUNITY WORK CLUBS. 

There are eleven clubs in the county whose aim either solely or 
largely is community work of various kinds. Their total membership 
is 524. The clubs are as follow: 

Warrensburg. Holden. 

Date or- Mem- Date or- Mem- 
Name, ganized. bers. Name. ganized. hers. 

Relief Society 1881 24 Benevolent Society. 1897 12 

Commercial Club— 1894 100 Shakespeare Club_- 1905 20 

Arts, Book, Crafts Civic Society 1906 46 

Club 1907 60 Centerview. 

Political Equality Village Improve- 

Club 1911 80 ment Club 1906 2-' 

P. E. O. Chapter___ 1914 20 Hazel Hill Township. 

Automobile Club-__ 1917 112 Busv Bee Club 1915 2'^ 



CHAPTER XL.— THE WORLD WAR. 

EFFECTIVE WORK DONE IN JOHNSON COUNT V—RKGUSTRATION BOARD— COUNTY 
COUNCIL, OF DEFENSE— THIRD LIBERTY IX)AN ORGANIZATION— SPEAKERS' 
ORGANIZATIONS— THE HOME GUARDS— AMERICAN RED CROSS— JUNIOR RED 
CROSS— WORK OF THE RED CROSS IN JOHNSON COUNTY. 

The World War, into which the United States entered April 6, 
1917, has been gradually dominating more and more of the life of John- 
son county. When it began, comparatively few of us realized how 
vitally it concerned us. Many of us questioned the necessity of propriety 
of our entry into it, and were at least lukewarm in our support. 

But every day we have learned things about the war that we did 
not even dream of before. By Christmas, when the Red Cross organi- 
zation of the county was perfected, the number of its members became 
thousands, where earlier it would have been hundreds. In the spring 
of 1918, when the Third Liberty Loan campaign was carried out. it was 
backed by practically the whole county, with their words, their works, 
and their money, and with unexpectedly great results. 

A great deal of effective war work has been done up to this time 
by patriotic people throughout the county from the very beginning of 
the war. It is impossible to give all this individual or loosely organized 
work in this book, despite its large amount, simply because there is 
no way to get at it, and all that can be given is the work of complete 
permanent organizations. These are the County Council of Defense, tiie 
Registration Board, the Home Guards, tlie Red Cross, and Speakers' 
Organization, including Four Minute Men. and the Third Liberty Loan 
Organization. The Y. M. C. A. campaign, the First Liberty Loan cam- 
paigns, and the War Savings Stamps campaign were carried on by 
practically the same men and women as managed the Red Cross and 
Third Liberty Loan. 

The Registration Board. — The registration board has been the 
representatives and officers of the Government in the registration, exami- 
nation, classification and calling of men for the army. The members 



434 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

were: lolin F. Norman, sherifl', chairman: ^\^ A. Porter, secretary: and 
Dr. James I. Anderson. 

The following has been the chief work of the board : 

It registered all men in the county between ages of 21 and 31. The 
number was 1,839. It made out lists and cards of these, and then called 
for physical examination 590 men, who were examined by Drs. James 
I. Anderson. J. R. Bozarth, H. P. Gilkeson. and W'm. E. Johnson. 

Johnson county's first quota in the draft was 208. which was reduced 
by enlistments to 177, and this number was sent in from this county on 
the first draft. 

The board sent, as its next work, questionaires to 1,713 men, 
completed these and by volunteers from without the board (especially 
Messrs. S. H. Coleman, A. J. Hutchinson, Judge W. A. Stephens and 
G. P. Schooling), made out occupation cards, as required. 

The total men who would serve under the draft from the first group 
to be called are 424. The recorded enlistments in addition to these 
are 82, and there are probably 18 more unrecorded enlistments. 

The Medical Advisory Board, which examined all non-residents, 
is composed of L. J. Scofield, chairman ; \\'. R. Patterson, secretary : 
J. A. B. Adcock, W. G. Thompson, D. E. Shy. and J. D. Peak. 

The Legal Advisory Board, which with 60 associate members, 
helped fill out questionaires, is composed of X. M. Bradley, chair- 
man ; W. E. Suddath and A. Musser. 

The County Council of Defense was appointed by the Missouri 
Council of Defense and organized July 2, 1917. The members are: 
F. A. Gougler, county farm agent, chairman ; W. O. Redford. James 
J. Haller and Charles H. Houx, farmers; O. G. Boisseau, real estate 
and insurance agent; Wallace Crossley, lieutenant governor: Ed. S. 
Harte, miller; and Ewing Cockrell, circuit judge. Charles ^^^ Fulker- 
son, court stenographer, has been secretary. 

The following has been the chief work of the council: (\) Organ- 
ized work to have cultivated in town and country, especially in 1917, 
all available ground: (2) campaign to increase wheat seeding in 1917. 
and provide seed therefor; (3) organization of three home guard com- 
panies in the county; and (4) miscellaneous work, especially that not 
provided for b\- other organizations, including entertainments and meet- 
ings for boys who left for the army, food conservation displays, and 
help in securing woman county demonstrator in the spring of 1918. 



HISTORY OF JOIIXSOX COUNTY 435 

The Third Liberty Loan Organization. — This organization was 
started in February, 1918. to prepare for the Lilierty Bond campaign to 
begin April 6, 1918. It is one of the most complete and thorough war 
organizations that has been made. 

Definite work was assigned to each director and his division, and 
this work was organized in detail before a move was made to sell a 
bond. The township committee listed every man in their township 
who was potentially a bond buyer, and ascertained his financial ability 
to buy, and other information for tlie bond salesmen. The speakers' 
Organization, composed of the Four Minute Men. the \\'omen's Bureau 
of Speakers of the County Council of Defense, then sent men and women 
speakers, and volunteer musicians, to numerous school houses and church 
meetings, before the campaign in each township started. The salesmen 
then made personal house-to-liouse visits to every possible bu3-er. The 
results were larger than anything that ever before had been accom- 
plished in the same kind of work. 

Speakers' Organizations. — The official speakers' bodies in the county 
are the Four Minute Men and the Women Speakers' Bureau of the 
County Council of Defense. The Four Minute Men act under author- 
ity from the National Four Minute Men Organization at A\'ashington, 
and are the official and authorized spokesmen for the Government for 
such messages as the Government transmits to them to deliver. 

The County Council of Defense women speakers act under their 
director whenever tlieir services are desired. 

In March. 1918, these organizations united in their work, and also 
provided a permanent war singers' force, automobile company, and 
newspaper publicity department. 

The Four Minute Men began work February 10, 1918, and since 
then have delivered about 25 speeches weekly in Warrensburg city, in 
eight Sunday schools, ten churches, seven public schools, the State Nor- 
mal School, moving picture theatre, and at all public gatherings. They 
reach weekly audiences of about 2,200 different people in Warrensburg. 

The United Speakers Organization began work April 6. 1918. in the 
Third Liberty Loan campaign, and in the first week covered 25 meet- 
ings of all kinds, over the county, with twenty-two speakers and about 
twenty singers and musicians. 

The following are the officers of this organization: chair- 



436 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY I 

man of Four AJinnte ]\Ien and director of speakers. Ewing Cock- \ 
rell; director of women speakers. Council of Defense, and director of | 

singers;. Mrs. E. L. Hendricks, with Misses Josephine Dixon and Mil- \ 

dred Morrow, assistants; director of newspaper publicity, W. W. Parker; ! 

director of automobiles, Christopher L. Johnson ; chairman of appoint- 1 

nients. W. R. Hardy. i 

The Home Guards. — The Home Guards of [Missouri were organized 1 

by a call of the governor through the County Councils of Defense. The 1 

Johnson county committee were organized by the Home Guards com- j 

mittee of the county council, composed of Ewing Cockrell. Chairman; j 

O. G. Boisseau and Ed. S. Harte. ! 

Two companies were organized in Warrensburg and one in Holden j 

in August and September, 1917. They drilled steadily twice a week, I 

all fall, found out the men who would stick, and then asked to be mus- | 

tered in. The Warrensburg companies are, one of town men and the ' 

other of the Normal School students and faculty. The Holden com- ; 

pany is composed of town men and the older high school students. '■ 

Both ^^"arrensburg companies were mustered November 27. 1917, and ! 

the Holden company December 6, 1917. ; 

On March 23, 1918, the three Johnson county companies and the 
company at Jefferson City, were organized by order of the governor, | 

through Adjutant General H. C. Clark, into the second separate battalion. I 

On the same date, a battalian officers' school was also provided. The 1 

officers have given special attention to their work, and all the com- ; 

panies have drilled faithfully and are unusually efficient, for the amount \ 

of training they have had. The officers are as follow: Major George ' 

P. Player, signal corps, Jefiferson City, Missouri, temporary battalion 
commander; Ewing Cockrell, adjutant. Company A (Warrensburg 
town") : Captain. Thos. B. Lanham ; 1st lieutenant, H. Newkirk ; 2nd 
lieutenant, Curtis Doolin. Company B (Normal School): Captain, C. 
H. McClure; 1st lieutenant, Hardie Wray; 2nd lieutenant, F. C. Allen. 
Company D (Holden): Captain. Lucien C. Snyder; 1st lieutenant, E. E. 
Weeks; 2nd lieutenant, J. E. Murray. 

American Red Cross. (By Charles A. Shepard and J. H. Scar- 
borough.) [Editor's Note: The Red Cross was organized and the 
first campaign conducted by Lieutenant Governor Wallace Crossley, 
personally. Since Lieutenant Governor Crossley has been serving as 
state fuel administrator away from the county, Mr. Shepard, as chairman 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 437 

of the executive committee, has been in charge of the whole work. Pro- 
fessor Scarborough was one of the organizers of the chapter and secre- 
tary from the beginning.] 

When Johnson county was called upon to raise monev for the Red 
Cross, Messrs. Charles A. Shepard. J. R. Scarborough and T. E. Cheat- 
ham called eighteen men together at tlie Commercial Club rooms in 
Warrensburg one Saturday night. They appointed a committee of about 
forty men; elected ^^'allace Crossley chairman and J. H. Scarborough 
secretary; divided the town into districts; designated men to each terri- 
tor}- and provided for an intensive campaign. 

The following Sunday, all arrangements were completed and on 

the next day, Monday, the Warrensburg territory was canvassed and 

the quota assigned for the town was exceeded by nearly 100 per cent. 

After that, similar organizations worked in Hazel Hill, Knob Noster, 

Centerview, Kingsville, Jackson township, Holden, and Medford. 

This organization was made the permanent Red Cross organiza- 
tion and is such today, and co\"ers the whole countv. Previous to its 
organization societies of women under the French Surgical Dressings 
Society had been working throughout the count}' for many months. 

Upon the organization of the American Red Cross, these societies 
gradually went into it. The Red Cross organization in this countv 
now consists of the ^^'arrensburg Chapter and sixteen branches, each 
branch doing the same work as the chapter. 

There are eighteen organizations in the county, including \\'ar- 
rensburg, and the Junior Red Cross. The membership, exclusive of 
the Junior Red Cross, is 5,089. 

Junior Red Cross. — The Junior Red Cross organization was made 
early in 1918. The officers are the following executive committee: 
Chairman, \\'alter L. Chaney ; treasurer, H. F. Berkley; Miss Cora Rice; 
Miss Gladys Anderson; Edward Beatty; R. H. Boston; James Robeson. 
The object of this organization is to enroll all the schools of the 
county as auxiliaries to the regular chapter. Each school must con- 
tribute 25 cents per capita to become enrolled. This money is then 
used to do any work that seems most advantageous. They have already 
rendered some material service in the sales of thrift stamps in the 
schools. Up to ^larch 1, 1918, the total amount of money collected by 
the whole countv organization, with all the branches amounted to 
about $20,000. The total number of members in the county at that 



438 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

date was 5,089. The number of members is increasing all the time. 

Centerview Branch. — The surgical dressings work of Centerview 
was started by the Village Improvement Club, the officers of the club 
becoming also officers of the surgical dressings committee. They raised 
$400 in money, outside of donations, shipped 4.500 surgical dressings 
and 210 rest pillows to national headquarters, and received the com- 
pliment of "beautiful work." Centerview became a branch of the Red 
Cross March 1, 1918. In the organization of the Red Cross, the follow- 
ing officers were chosen: Mrs. Jno. Delaney, chairman; Mrs. J. R. 
Bozarth, vice-chairman; Mrs. Ed. Spence, secretary; Mr. E. B. Repp, 
treasurer. There are 350 members. 

Chilhowee Branch. (By Mrs. Leslie McElwee. ) Organized 
December 19, 1918, with the following officers: Mrs. Leslie ]\lcElwee, 
chairman; Mrs. W. L. Marten, vice-chairman; Mrs. Wm. P. Hunt, treas- 
urer; Miss Grace Turner, secretary. Later, Mrs. L. R. Crumbaugh was 
elected secretary. They have shipped eight large boxes of rest pillows 
and French surgical dressings to New York. There are 450 members. 

Denton Branch was organized January 30. The officers are: Mrs. 
S. R. Hindman. chairman ; Mrs. Frank Behm. vice-president ; Miss Pearl 
Witteman, treasurer; Miss Lorene Hughes, secretary. The surgical 
dressings organized sometime in August. They sent out nearly 1,000 
pieces of bandages, and took in about $100. Since being recognized as 
a branch of the American Red Cross, they have completed about 100 
pieces of surgical dressings and taken in about twenty-five dollars. 

Hazel Hill Branch. (By Mrs. W. E. All worth.) Organized 
August 18, 1917. The officers are: Mr. W. E. Allworth, chairman; 
Mr. W. L. Gott, vice-chairman; Mr. Lee Wyre, treasurer; Mrs. W. O. 
Redford, secretary. There are sixty-eight members. 

Salem and Fayetteville Homemakers' Clubs have made trench pil- 
lows, pillow cases, cup covers, gave old linen and rags to the surgical 
dressings committee of Warrensburg, also furnished a number of knit- 
ted garments at own expense. 

Hoffman Branch was organized December 5, 1917. The chief 
organizers were Mrs. W. W. Parker and Mrs. Merritt Poague. There 
were eleven charter members. The officers are: Mrs. B. F. Bell, chair- 
man; Mrs. Merritt Poague, vice-chairman; Miss Mary Fit/.patrick, 
treasurer, and Mrs. Clarence Fitzpatrick. secretary. They have fur- 
nished 565 bandages and 79 knitted garments. 



HISTORY OF JOUXSOX COUNTY 4,^9 

Holden Branch. (By Rev. r,en. I). Ciillispie. ) Organized 
December 16, 1917, with fifteen charter nienil)ers. The officers are: 
T, J. Halsey, chairman; ]\Irs. Etta Ball, vice-chairman; Mrs. Kate Hnber, 
treasurer; Ben D. Gillispie, secretary: D. X. Danielson, additional mem- 
ber executive committee. 5,000 pieces were completed and sent to 
surgical dressings' liead<|uaners, lieforc organization of the l)ranch, 
Since then 5,440 pieces have been sent. Knitting is also an important 
part of the work of tiiis branch. Present memlierslii]) in liranch, ()fif>. 

Kingsville Branch was organized November 22. 1917. Chairman, 
J. A. Bryson : vice-chairman. INlrs. F. .\. .Milbard: secretary, Mrs. 
Reavis. Executive committee: Mrs. Creel. Mrs. M. L. Fis]i))ack. Mrs. 
D. D. Jones, Mrs. R. A. Berry, Mrs. D. M. ConncH. Mrs. F. A. Milhard. 
There are 349 members. 

Quick City Branch was organized January 4, 1918. January 10, 
1918, the following officers were elected: Chairman, C. W. Yoder: vice- 
chairman, Mrs. A. Salmon: secretary, Lena Farnsworth : treasurer, Mrs. 
Fred Ball. Inside of a month the}' made 170 jjieces of surgical dress- 
ings and a number of pillows. They work in the Red Cross rooms Mon- 
days and Thursdays making surgical dressings and hospital garments. 
Membership, 100. 

Knob Noster Branch, organized January 3, 1918. There are 26 
charter members. The officers are: Dr. D. E. Shy, chairman: Mrs. J. 
M. Kendrick, vice-chairman: Mrs. Ed. S. Harte, secretary; J. M. Kcn- 
drick, treasurer. They have had a surgical dressing organization since. 
June, 1917, and have sent 6,500 surgical dressings and 150 knitted articles. 

Latour Branch. ( B\- Anna Coleman.) Organized January 
15, 1918. There were 179 charter members. The first officers were: 
Henry Shaw, chairman ; J. E. Stitt, vice-chairman ; Miss Anna Coleman, 
secretary and treasurer. The present officers are: Henry Shaw, chair- 
man; Mrs. John Truninger, vice-chairman; Miss Anna Coleman, secre- 
tary; D. W. Hampton, treasurer: J. .\. Hallar, the fiftli member. 

Leeton Branch was organized July 14, 1917. There were 61 char- 
ter members. The present officers are: Chairman, Mrs. Mary Bassett 
Hamacher; first vice-chairman, ]\Irs. Flora Stacy: second vice-chair- 
man, Mrs. Mildred Perdue: third vice-chairman. Miss Myrtle Cdaze- 
brook; secretary, Mrs. Eva Gunser; treasurer, Mrs. W. F. Reynolds. 
Mrs. Mary Townsley is supervisor of knitting department and has sent 
to headquarters 137 garments. The number of garments is 225. 



440 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Magnolia Branch was organized July 19, 1917. There were 21 
members. Tlie first officers were: Mrs. R. L. Bills, president; Mrs. Rex 
Powers, treasurer; Miss Morrison, secretary. The present offi- 
cers are: Mrs. R. L. Bills, president; Mrs. Arthur Elliott, vice-president; 
Mrs. Rex Powers, treasurer; Miss Alice Parrott, secretary. They have 
sent several shipments to headquarters, consisting of all necessary 
dressings pertaining to Red Cross work. There are 110 members. 

Medford Branch was organized December 20, 1917, with 140 char- 
ter members. The present officers are: Chairman, R. S. Howeth ; vice- 
chairman, Mrs. J. S. Raber; treasurer, Mrs. A. M. Cason; chairman of 
finance, A. M. Cason; secretary. Miss Clarice Wittenberg. The surgi- 
cal dressings committee was organized June. 1917. 

Montserrat Branch was organized December 4. 1917. Mrs. M. A. 
Cope was elected president; Mrs. Geo. iMurley. vice-president; Mrs. 
Leonard Drinkwater, secretary, and Mrs. Geo. Hanna, treasurer. There 
were nineteen charter members. There are now 87. They have made 
about 290 bandages. Mrs. G. M. Curnutt is president, and Mrs. Garrett 
is treasurer. 

Sutherland Branch was organized July 6, 1917 with twelve 
charter members. The first officers were: Mrs. T. L. Cooper, cliair- 
man ; Mrs. Lee Miller, vice-chairman; Mrs. Vest Cooper, secretary: 
Mrs. P. B. Murray, treasurer. The present officers are: Airs. T. L. 
Cooper, chairman; Mrs. Lee Miller, vice-chairman; Mrs. \'est Cooper, 
secretary; Mrs. George Myers, assistant secretary; Mrs. W. W. 
Draper, treasurer. 

Pittsville Branch was organized in December, 1917. There were 
nineteen charter members. The first meeting was at the Pittsville 
lodge room. The officers elected were: Mrs. Elsa Henderson, Presi- 
dent; Mrs. Jim Hutchinson, Vice-President; Mrs. Lucy Miller, Secre- 
tary; Mr. Tom Rice, Treasurer. 



CHAPTER XLL— BIOGRAPHICAL. 

Wm. J. Mayes, tlie well-known and highly respected mayor of 
Warrensburg, was born May 7, 1847. in W arrensburg township, just 
east of Pertle Springs, in Johnson connty. .Missonri. He is the son 
of John B. and ^Martha A. ( Gillnni ) Mayes. John B. Mayes was born 
December 11, 1821, in Green connty. Kentnck}'. He was the son of 
John and Xancy (Berry) Mayes, who came from Kentncky to Missouri 
in 1834, and after a x'ear spent in Lafayette count}- settled in Warrens- 
burg, where he conducted a hotel and operated a cariling machine. Later 
he removed to Alontserrat township, Johnson count}-. 

John Mayes was born in Pemisylvania and with his parents moved 
to Virginia, and later to Kentuck}-. \\\ March, 1834, John and Xancy 
Mayes came to Missouri to make their home in the then thinly settled 
West. Both are now interred in the family cemeter}- near Montserrat. 

John B. Mayes came to Missouri with his parents in 1834. January 
14, 1844, he was united in marriage with Martha A. Gilium in Grover 
township and to this union was born Win. J., the subject of this review. 
John B. Mayes w-as reared on the farn-i and his entire life was devoted 
to farming and stock raising in Montserrat tow-nship. where he also 
for many years conducted a general store. He was justice of the peace 
in Montserrat township from 18.S0 to 1861 and county judge for twelve 
years, taking the office in 1871. He died June 12, 1905, at Montserrat 
and his widow now resides in Kansas City. Missouri, with her young- 
est daughter, Mrs. ]\Iinnie Gott. ]\Irs. ]\Iayes was ninety years of age 
June 22, 1917. 

^^'m. J. Maves attended the public schools of Johnson count}-. At 
the age of fourteen years he began life for himself, working as a hired 
hand on a farm. The Slaves family moved to Illinois in 1863. They 
returned to Missouri in 1865. Prior to 1872, Wm. J. Mayes was employed 
as cowboy in Texas and X'ew Mexico. 

In 1872. Wni. J. ^layes and Anna J. Lee, daughter of Dr. J. L. 
Lee of Montserrat to\\-nshi]). and a ]3ioneer physician of Johnson county. 
were united in niarriage. l\Ir. and Mrs. Mayes are the parents of 
the follow-ing children: Mrs. Kula G. Lyons. Birmingham, .\labania: 
Finis E., who lives on the grandfather's farm in Montserrat township; 



442 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Roy B.. who is a farmer living in Montserrat township; Elta Lee, at 
home; \\'m. Ray, who is a farmer in Montserrat township; and John 
Jesse, who is employed as bookkeeper at Knob Noster for the Knob 
Noster Brick Plant. 

Mr. Mayes was elected mayor of W'arrensburg in .\pril. 1913. He 
was re-elected in 1915 and again in 1917 and is now serving his third 
term in office. He has always known Ewing Cockrell. the author of 
tills volume. In addition to the manifold duties of his office, Air. Mayes 
de\otes some attention to his splendid farm of fifteen hundred acres 
in Montserrat township. He is one of the most successful farmers and 
stockmen of Johnson county and has been an extensive stockman all 
his life. At present he has two hundred head of young cattle on his 
farm, which is one of the best in the state. 

Mr. Mayes is a mend^er of the Benevolent and Protecti\"e Order 
of Elks, Warrensburg Lodge Nund)er 673. He is a director of the 
Commercial Bank of \\'arrensburg. of which he was one of the organ- 
izers, and be is president of the Home 1>leplu)ne Compan_\'. He is 
also president of the Knob Noster Brick and Tile Company. He is a 
man of unusual activity and has never taken a vacation in his life. 
He is a quiet, unassuming man. public-spirited and one of the leading 
business men of the county. 

Marcus Youngs, president of the Citizens Bank of Warrensburg. 
is a native of Missouri. He was born in 1<S56 in Lafayette county, son 
of Edgar and Mary (Mock) Youngs. Edgar Youngs was born in 
Newark, New Jersey, in 1828, the son of Joseph L. Youngs. Joseph 
L. Youngs and his son moved from New Jersey to St. Louis, Mis^^ouri, 
about 1846. A few years later, they moved to Lafayette county, where 
the son, Edgar, ]mrchased a farm in 18.^1. His father mo\ed to Loiieka. 
Kansas, about 1860, and there his death occurred. Mary ( Mock) ^'ouiigs 
was a native of Xorth Carolina. The marriage of Edgar ^'oungs and 
.Mary Mock occurred in Lafayette county about 1851 aud to this union 
were born nine children: George, Eayetteville, Missouri: William E.. 
deceased: Marcus, suliject of this review: Mrs. Emma Eoster. deceased: 
Mrs. Mollie dreer, Higginsville, iMissoiu'i : Theodore, Sharji, Ne\-ada; 
IMrs. .\nnic Parker, Warrensburg: Mrs. Mattie Houston. decea--ed ; ;ind 
Mrs, I'annie Purnell, Higginsville, Missouri. I'.dgar Youngs <lie<l on bis 
farm in Lafayette conntv in \'H0 and bis remains were interred in Oak 
firo\e cemeter\- in Tohnson counlw 



HISTORY OF JIUIXSON COUNTY 443 

Marcus Youngs attended tlie pulilic scliools of Lafa\otte county, 
the State University at Cohunbia, .Missouri, and Spalding's Commercial 
College at Kansas City, Missouri. I'ntil he was twenty-one years of 
age he followed farming as his vocation. In 1877 Mr. Youngs came 
to Warrensburg as bookkeeper for the old Johnson County Savings 
Bank and remained in their employ for eleven years. When the Citizens 
Bank was organized in 1888 Mr. Youngs was elected vice-president and 
he has been with the bank continuously since that time. Mr. Youngs 
was largely instrumental in the organization of the bank. 

The Citizens Bank of \A'arrensburg, Missouri, was organized Octo- 
ber 18. 1888, with a capital stock of twenty-five thousand dollars. The 
first officers were: J. T. Cheatham, president: Marcus \'oungs. \ice- 
president: O. S. ^\■adell, cashier: j, T. Cheatham. Dr. C. W. Robinson. 
\V. H. Hartman. J. A. Stewart, (J. S. Wadell. Marcus Youngs, G. 
A. Lobban. J. D. Eads. and K. X. Johnson, directors. March 
22, 1911. the capital stock was increased liy a cash dividend of 
seventv-five thousand dollars, making the capital stDck one hundred 
thousand dollars, the present capital stock. The bank has a surplus of 
twenty-five thousand dollars and undi\-ided profits amounting to twenty- 
three thousand dollars. The Citizens Bank has paid seventy-eight 
thousand dollars in cash divitlends since its organization. The deposits 
at the time of this writing amount to four hundred twenty-five thou- 
sand dollars. The ])resent officials are: Marcus Youngs, president; 
T. E. Cheatham, vice-president: ^^'. H. Cheatham, second vice-president: 
J. V. Murra}-. cashier: A. Lee Sniiser. assistant cashier: J. A. Stewart. 
G. A. Lobban. T. E. Cheatham. W. H. Cheatham. W. D. Faulkner. J. 
V. Murray, and Marcus Youngs, directors. The Citizens Bank gives 
special attention to farmers and stockmen. Of the original oi^cers of 
the bank three have died: J. T. Cheatham, W". B. Drummond. and 
O. S. Wadell. 

Marcus Youngs has been closely identified with .the Inisiness and 
financial interests of Johnson county for forty \ears and there is per- 
haps no better informed man in the countv on all matters relative to 
finance. The noteworthy success of the Citizens Bank has been largely 
due to his excellent judgment, keen foresight, and marked executive 
ability. 

E. N. Wamick, hardware merchant, of the E. X. \\'arnick i^v Son 
Hardware Company of \\'arrensburg. was born seven miles south of 



444 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Warrensburg, September 24, 1866, son of R. X. Warnick and Amanda 
(Oglesbv) Warnick. R. N. Warnick was born in Tennessee in 1824. 
He came to Johnson county with his parents in 1834 and they settled 
seven miles south of Warrensburg. Amanda (Oglesby) Warnick was 
a native of Missouri. R. X. Warnick served as probate judge of John- 
son county from 1886 to 1894. He died in A\'arrensburg in 1895 and 
his remains were interred in Shiloh cemetery. His wife died at \\'ar- 
rensburg in 1891. R. X. and Amanda Warnick were the parents of 
the following children: Mrs. Susan F. Woodford, deceased; S. F. 
Warnick. a farmer near ^\'arrensburg: E. X. Warnick. subject of this 
review; and Mrs. R. L. Denton, wife of R. L. Denton, a wholesale 
grocer at Parsons. Kansas. 

E. N. Warnick received his education in the schools of Johnson 
county and the State Xormal School of \\'arrensburg. He attended the 
State Xormal School two years. Mr. Warnick began life for himself 
in 1891. but for five years prior to that time he clerked in the hardware 
store of G. K. Christopher, of Warrensburg. E. X. Warnick's store 
was first located on the corner of Holden and First streets. In 1899 
he moved to his present location. He began business with a capital 
of four thousand dollars. At present Mr. Warnick carries a stock 
valued at fifteen thousand dollars. He handles a complete line of 
hardware and also has the agency for Buick automobiles. 

In 1891, E. X'. \\'arnick was united in marriage with Emma J. 
Whittaker. daughter of Joseph Whittaker. who came to Johnson 
county from Illinois about 1868. Emma J. (Whittaker) W^arnick was 
born in Johnson county. Her parents are deceased. Mr. and Mrs. 
Warnick are the parents of the following children: Raymond X'., who 
is in partnership with his father; ]Mabel. the wife of Clayton Bruce 
who is associated with Mr. Warnick and son in the hardware business; 
and Robert E., a Junior student in the Warrensburg High School. 

Mr. Warnick is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and the Mod- 
ern Woodmen of America. He is highly respected among the busi- 
ness men of Johnson county and he and Mrs. Warnick have a wide 
circle of friends. 

F. L. Mayes, president of the Commercial Bank of Warrensburg, 
was born near Montserrat, Johnson county. .April 2?. 1873, son of .A. 
S. Mayes and Xancy J. CRothwelD Mayes, natives of Johnson county. 
A. S. Mayes was the son of John Mayes, a native of Pennsylvania. The 



HISTOSY OF jOHXSOX COL'XTY 4.:: 

father of John Mayes was a native of Ireland who immigrated to 
America and settled at an early day in Pennsylvania and there his son. 
John, was born December 19. 1791. The Mayes family moved from 
Pennsylvania to Virginia and later to Kentucky- and in the sunny south- 
land John Mayes grew to manhood- December 19. 1817 he was united 
in marriage with Xancy H. Berrv" in Green counr\-. Kentucky, and to 
this union was bom A. S. Mayes, the father of the subject of this re- 
\-iew. A. S. Mayes was bom in Johnson county. Missouri in 1844. John 
and Xancy H. ( Berr>- 1 Mayes came from Kentucky to Missouri in 
1835 and for a short time lived in Lafayerre countv. John Maves en- 
tered government land near Montserra: to which place he moved and 
which he improved, making of the land a splendid farm. The Mayes 
family settled at Montserrat before Johnson county- was organized. In 
1838. leaving the farm. John Mayes built and operated the brst wool 
carding machine in Warrensburg. He also kept the first hotel for two 
years. He returned then to the farm and there resided, a quiet, unob- 
trusive, peace Io%-ing citizen. Throughout the Ci^Tl war he remained 
upon his farm. He had united with the Presb^-terian church at the age 
of eighteen and in 1843 joined the Cumberland Presb\-terian church. 
John Mayes was a charter member of the Bethel congregation and was 
instmmental in the building of Mar}-'s chapel, which was first located 
two miles northeast of Montserrat and later moved to Montserrat. His 
death occurred March 4. 1881 when he was eighty-nine years of age 
and his remains were interred in the family cemetery near Montserrat. 
John Mayes was one of the honored pioneers of Johnson county, who 
spent almost a half century assisting in its growth and upbuilding. 

A. S. Mayes, father of the subject of this re\-iew. was reared on 
the farm near Montserrat. His life was devoted to agricultural pur- 
suits and he was one of the best known and most highly respected 
farmers and stockmen of Johnson county. His home was in Montserrat 
township. He was united in marriage with Xancy J. Rothwell. daugh- 
ter of James C. RothwelL of Grover township, who came from \'ir- 
ginia to Missouri. Xancy J. Rothwell was bom in Johnson countj- in 
1850. To A. S. and Xancy ]^Iayes were bom the following children: 
F. L.. subject of this sketch: Mrs. Stella Jones. Warrensburg: James 
C.. Montserrat: Mrs. Wallace Werner. Kansas City. Missouri: and 
Charles S.. Montserrat. In 1890 the mother died. A. S. Mayes was 
united in marriage \s-irh Mauie B. Rothwell. a sister of the deceased 



446 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

wife, and to this union were 1iorn two cliildren. Xellie and Edwin A., 
who reside in Warrensburg with their mother. The father died at 
the age of nearly seventy-one years and is interred in the family ceme- 
tery near Montserrat. 

V. L. Mayes, the subject of this sketch, spent the days of his boy- 
liood on his fatiier's farm in Montserrat township assisting his father 
witli the work and attending the district schooL He was given good 
educational advantages and he made the most of his opportunities. He 
attended the State Normal School at Warrensburg and Gem City 
Business College at Ouincy, Illinois, graduating from the latter in- 
stitution in the class of 1892. In 1897 F. L. Mayes and Margaret L. 
Fryer, daughter of Judge R. T. Fryer, of Johnson county, were united 
in marriage. JMr. and Mrs. Mayes are the parents of two children: 
Harland I''., a graduate of the ^^'arrensburg High School in the class 
of 1917; and Margaret Frances. 

From 1893 to 1897, F. L. Mayes served as deputy county collector 
of Johnson county. In 1897 the Commercial Bank of Warrensburg 
was organized and Mr. Mayes has been connected with that institu- 
tion since its organization, serving as cashier until January, 1917 when 
he was elected president. 

The Commercial Bank of Warrensburg was organized September 
1, 1897, with the following officers : W. L. Hedges, president: A. S. 
Mayes, vice-president; F. L. Mayes, cashier; W. L. Hedges, A. S. 
Mayes, F. L. Mayes, Isaac Markward, George AV. Houts, James H. 
Parker, and J. D. Fads, directors and with a capital stock of twenty- 
five thousand dollars. At the time of the organization the bank was 
located at 122 West Pine street. In 1900, J. D. Eads accepted the 
position of cashier with the Peoples Bank and AA'. S. Clark was elected 
to fill the vacancy on the board of directors. The present officers are: 
F. L. Mayes, president; W. L. Hedges, vice-president; W. S. Clark. 
second vice-president; H. F. Berkley, cashier; A. H. Gilkeson, assistant 
cashier; F. L, Mayes, \N . L. Hedges, W. S. Clark, H. F. Berkley, 
James H. Parker, George W. Houts, and W. J. Mayes, directors. James 
H. Parker, AA'. L. Hedges. F. L. Mayes, and George A\'. Houts have 
been on the board since the organization of the bank in 18')7. The 
present capital stock of this s])lendidly and carefully managed bank is 
fifty thousand dollars with a surplus of fifty thousand and deposits of 
three humlred eightv thousand dollars at the time of this writing. The 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 447 

bank purchased their present Iniilding in 1912 and remodeled it. Tiiey 
still own the original bank building on West Pine street. The Com- 
mercial Bank of Warrensburg is and has always been conducted along 
conservative lines and all business exceedingly well managed. Mr. 
Mayes has reasons to be proud of the institution whose success has 
been in a large measure due to his tireless efforts and efficient man- 
agement. 

Melville P. Moody was born in Warrensburg in 1854. His father, 
W. B. Moody, was born in Kentucky, his family coming to Missouri 
when he was four years of age. He was a pioneer citizen of Warrens- 
burg and figured largely in its growth and business life. Mr. Moody's 
mother was a daughter of Major .\nderson of Henrv count\- who was 
also a native of Kentucky, his family ha\ing immigrated to that state 
with Daniel Boone, so Mr. Moody comes of .\merican pioneer stock. 

Mr. Moody received a common school education and began his 
business life as one of the firm of W. B. Moodv & Son. Upon the 
failure of the firm caused b\- the panic of 1873, Mr. Moody secured a 
position with the St. Louis liouse of the American Baptist Publication 
Society, of Philadelphia and ser\e(l it for twent\- years as assistant and 
manager of its St. Louis and Dallas, Texas houses. He left this society 
to take charge of a charitable tuberculosis sanatorium \enture at .\la- 
mogordo. New Mexico. The institution l^eing- destroyed by fire, he 
returned to Warrensburg and served upon the "Star" until the consoli- 
dation of that paper with the "Journal-Democrat." In IQl.i Mr. Moody 
started the "Johnson County Democrat." 

Mr. Moody has all his life liad a predeliction for newspaper work 
and as a side line has served several papers as correspondent, reporter 
and miscellaneous writer, his specialty Iieing semi-humornus para- 
graphing and verse. 

Mr. Aloodv was married in early manhood to Miss Xancy Floyd. 
of Illinois and thev have two children: W. B. Moo<ly. a successful mer- 
chant of Greeley. Colorado: and Mrs. Frank A. Plumer. of Seattle. 
Washington. 

In 1915 Mr. Moodv was appointed Circuit Clerk of Johnson county 
by Governor Major to fill vacancy and in 1917, he was appointed liy 
Governor Gardner, as one of tlie inspectors of the State Food and 
Drug Commission — for a term of four years. 



448 HISTORV OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

William E. Crissey, a member of the board of directors of the 
American Trust Company of Warrensburg, Missouri, has been actively 
identified with the business and commercial interests of Warrensburg 
for the past fifty-two years. Mr. Crissey was born February 27, 1840, 
in New York. He is the son of Theodore and Lydia Ann (Abbot) 
Crissey, natives of Connecticut. Theodore Crissey was born in 1812, 
a direct descendant of the Crisseys, who settled in the colony of Connecti- 
cut in 1635. The Crissey family is of English lineage. Two brothers, 
William and Mighill Crissey, emigrated from England and came to 
America in the early days of colonization, locating in Massachusetts 
and Connecticut colonies. From these two brothers the Crisseys in 
America have descended. Lydia Ann (Abbot) Crissey was born in 
February, 1819. in Fairfield county, Connecticut. To Theodore and 
Lydia Ann Crissey were born the following children: Edward S., a 
sketch and water color artist, who died in 1860 at the age of twenty-two 
years; William E., the subject of this review; Theodoret W., Midland, 
Michigan; and Samuel N. and Mary, twins, deceased. Theodore Cris- 
sey moved from Connecticut to Michigan in 1845 and settled near 
Battle Creek, where his death occurred December 12, 1867, at the 
age of fifty-five years. 

William E. Crissey received his education in the schools of Michi- 
gan. At the age of twenty-one he enlisted in the Civil War, serving 
in Company H, Second Missouri cavalry. Mr. Crissey enlisted at Battle 
Creek, Michigan, when the second call for volunteers came and served 
throughout the war. His regiment operated in Missouri and Arkansas, 
taking a prominent part in the battles of Little Fobi River, in north- 
ern Missouri, Little Rock, Arkansas, and Jenkins' Ferry. Arkansas, 
besides engaging in numerous skirmishes. William E. Crissey was 
associated with John D. Haskell in the quartermaster's department, hav- 
ing been placed in charge of one department. During all his service 
in the war, Mr. Crissey was wounded but once. July 18, 1862, he was 
shot in the thigh, but as it was merely a flesh wound, Mr. Crissey 
has not been handicapped seriously by it in his later life. In 1864. 
William E. Crissey was mustered out and honorably discharged at 
St. Louis, Missouri. 

For some time after receiving his discharge, Mr. Crissey resided 
in Little Rock, .\rkansas. \\'hen the war closed, he came to Johnson 




WILLIAM K. CKISSKV 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 449 

county, Missouri, and October 5, 1865, located in Warrensburg, where 
he entered the mercantile business. He was thus engaged until 1870, 
when he entered the abstract and title business. When Mr. Crissey 
came to Warrensburg in 1865, the present Market street was a corn 
field and stump-covered land. A hedge ran north and south through 
the site of the Lobban buildings to Grover street and thence along the 
south side of that street. The present well-kept Normal grounds were 
then covered with timber. 

May 1, 1866, William E. Crissey was united in marriage with Mary 
E. Doty, the daughter of Daniel C. and Mary E. Doty, of Battle Creek, 
Michigan. Mary E. (Doty) Crissey was a lineal descendant of one 
of the Pilgrims, who landed on Plymouth Rock, December 16, 1620. 
William E. and Mary E. Crissey were the parents of six children: 
William M., who died in infancy; Maud D., who died at the age of 
twenty-eight years; Leila May, who died in infancy; Nellie D., the 
wife of Charles W. McCaskill, who is a Methodist Episcopal minister 
now of University Place, near Lincoln, Nebraska; Mary Eliza, who 
died in the fall of 1910; and Ethel D., who resides at home with her 
father. May 1, 1916, Mr. and Mrs. Crissey celebrated their golden 
wedding anniversary and in October of the same year the death of Mrs. 
Crissey occurred. She and Mr. Crissey had been companions and co- 
partners for more than fifty years. 

William E. Crissey was a member of the city council of Warrens- 
burg, Missouri in 1882 and 1883. He was a member of the school board 
for twelve years, from 1887 until 1899, and for many years was the 
president of the board. The Johnson County Trust Company was 
organized in 1908 and at the time of organization Mr. Crissey was 
elected member of the board of directors. In December. 1913, the 
company was reorganized as the x\merican Trust Company and Mr. 
Crissey was elected as director, a position he now occupies. Though 
he has long passed the three score years and ten, William E. Crissey 
is active and alert, still giving the same thoughtful, conscientious care 
and attention to business duties, working in his office every day, as 
he was want twenty-five years ago. 

Politically, Mr. Crissey is and has always been affiliated with the 
Republican party, which, upon numerous occasions has honored him 
with nominations. 

(15) 



450 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Mr. Crissey is a thinker and reader. He sums up life In the fol- 
lowing lines: 

"The faint light of the morning of life scarce dawns upon us 
ere its mid-day sun bids us assume its cares and while we turn to obey 
the command, the lengthening shadows tell us the day is ending and 
with the sinking sun, we step into another existence with little or noth- 
ing done for this." 

Charles G. Goodnight, registrar of deeds of Johnson county, was 
born December 8, 1869 on his father's farm near Montserrat. He is 
the son of George G. Goodnight and Sarah E. (Campbell) Goodnight. 
George G. Goodnight is a native of Kentucky. He was born Decem- 
ber 26, 1841 in Frankfort, and when he was eight years of age came 
to Johnson county with his father, Thomas Goodnight, who located 
near Knob Noster in 1849, where he entered land from the government. 
Thomas Goodnight died on his farm near Knob Noster and his remains 
were interred in Thompson cemetery. Sarah E. (Campbell) Good- 
night was born in Johnson county in 1843, the daughter of Squire 
Campbell, an honored and beloved pioneer of Warrensburg township. 
To George G. and Sarah E. Goodnight were born the following chil- 
dren: Lulu, who died in infancy; Thomas C, manager of the Star 
Theater of Warrensburg; Chas. G., subject of this review; William M., 
a well-known farmer and stockman, Montserrat township; Mrs. Mamie 
E. Williamson, Oxnard, California; Mrs. Alma P. Craig. Sedalia, Mis- 
souri; and Mrs. Zella Stormout, Centralia, Missouri. 

George G. Goodnight and wife are still living upon the farm near 
Montserrat which he purchased in 1865. This farm originally included 
five hundred acres in sections 36, 47, and 25 but Mr. Goodnight has 
divided a part of it among his children and now owns three hundred 
seventeen acres. At the time of this writing he is seventy-five years 
of age and still as active as many men twenty years his junior. He is 
engaged in farming and stock raising and attends to the feeding of all 
the cattle. Mrs. Goodnight is as alert as her huslxind, pliysically and 
mentally, and both are enjoying good healtli. 

Charles G. Goodnight attended the public schools of Johnson 
county and the State Normal School of \\'arrensburg. He was in at- 
tendance at the State Normal two years, 1889 to 1891. He returned 
to the farm and for twenty-two years operated a steam threshing out- 
fit in connection with his work on the farm. Mr. Goodnight was 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 45 1 

elected registrar of deeds of Johnson county in the fail of 1914 and 
is now serving his lirst term in ofifice. 

October 6, 1904, Charles G. Goodnight was united in marriage 
with Fannie M. Gallaher, daughter of George T. Gallaher, ex-county 
surveyor of Johnson county. Mr. Gallaher was county surveyor for 
twelve years. His death occurred in 1913 and his last resting place is 
at Knob Xoster. His widow, Mary C. (Knaus) Gallaher, makes her 
home with her daughter, Mrs. Goodnight. To Charles G. and Fannie 
Goodnight have been born the following children: John G., Charles 
G., George R., and Mary Elizabeth. The Goodnight family has always 
been held in the highest esteem in Johnson county. 

M. D. Aber, a prominent attorney of \\'arrensburg, is a member 
of a pioneer family of Johnson county. He was born in Ashland 
county, Ohio, April 22, 1867, son of David and Eliza (Shoup) Aber. 
David Aber was born in Carroll county, Ohio, January 9, 1843. He 
came to Knob Noster, Missouri, in the spring of 1869 and located on a 
prairie farm, four miles southeast of Knob Noster. The Aber family 
lived on this farm until 1883 when they moved to Warrensljurg in 
order that tlie children miglit have better school facilities. Eliza 
(Shoup) Aber was born in Penns3dvania in September, 1842, daughter 
of Henry Shoup, who was a pioneer of Johnson county. Henry Shoup 
died March 12, 1875 at Knob Noster. To David and Eliza Aber were 
born eight children: M. D., the subject of this review; William H., the 
widely known physician of Aullville. Missouri; David A., a carpenter 
and contractor, Warrensburg; Samuel W., farmer, Warrensburg town- 
ship; Leah, lives with her parents; Airs. Alma Wliitten, Jackson coun- 
ty, Missouri; James F., a teacher at Buckley, Missouri; and John H., 
died in infancy. Mrs. Aber, the mother of the subject of this review, 
is still enjoying excellent health. She is the only survivor of a family 
of twelve children. 

David Aber enlisted in the Civil War with Company K. Eighty- 
second Ohio Infantry in 1861. He enlisted in Ashland county, Ohio, 
and was mustered out at Indianapolis, Indiana in 1865, having been in 
the service nearly four years. At the battle of Gettysburg he was shot 
through the body and for six months was confined in an army hospital. 
When he had recovered sufficiently he returned to his company and 
served tliroughout the remainder of the war. David Aber now lives 



452 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

in Warrensburg and, though he has passed the seventy-fourth mile- 
stone, he is more active than many younger men. 

M. D. Aber received his early education in the country school. He 
is a graduate of the Warrensburg State Normal, class of 1888, and of 
De Pauw^ University, Greencastle, Indiana, class of 1894. After leav- 
ing the university, Air. Aber was employed as court reporter, from 
1894 to 1897. He was admitted to the bar and has been practicing 
law at Warrensburg since that time. For more than three years he 
was assistant superintendent in the State Insurance Department under 
the administration of Governors Hadley and Major. 

November 17, 1897, M. D. Aber and Mary Wright were united in 
marriage at Marion, Indiana. The friendship which culminated in mar- 
riage began at De Pauw University where both were students. Mary 
(Wright) Aber is a daughter of Jesse D. and Caroline (Sears) Wright, 
of Marion, Indiana. Mrs. Wright died Setpember 4, 1905. Mr. Wright 
still makes his home in Marion. To M. D. and Mary (Wright) Aber 
have been born two daughters : Caroline and Mary Wright, both stu- 
dents in the Warrensburg State Normal. 

Both Mr. and Mrs. Aber trace their lineage back to colonial an- 
cestors. James Aber, an ancestor of M. D. Aber, came to America 
from Scotland in 1750 and settled at Morristown, New Jersey on a 
land grant which his father had procured from King George. Paul 
Sears, an ancestor of Mary (Wright) Aber emigrated from England 
to France and from France to Virginia about 1730 or 1735. 

During the grasshopper devastation of 1874 the Aber family were 
living in Washington township. The grasshoppers left just enough 
corn in the Aber field to fill a wagon bed. It is impossible for words 
to depict the havoc wrought by the destroyers or the suffering caused 
by their raid. By means of a letter written to his father in Ohio, 
David Aber was instrumental in aiding many of the needy settlers 
in that never-to-be-forgotten spring of 1875. The letter was received 
by his father who immediately secured donations from members of his 
church by reading the message to them. The letter pictured so clearly 
the wretched condition of the stricken settlers that when the call for 
help was read at the church a substantial sum was raised and forwarded 
to David Aber, who purchased flour and other necessities and saw that 
it was wisely and properly distributed. 

Politically, M. D. Aber is a liberal Democrat, one who stands firmly 
for principles which seem to him to be right. He is a strong supporter 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 453 

of President Wilson. Mr. Aber has a broad perspective of life and it 
is a pleasure to discuss leading issues with him and to obtain his view- 
point on current events. He has marked ability as an attorney, pos- 
sessing a splendidly trained legal mind and keen reasoning powers, 
and he is regarded highly by members of the legal fraternity. M. D. 
Aber stands high among the best lawyers of the state of Missouri. He 
has been affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons for 
twenty-three years. He is a member of the Knights Templar, the 
Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Protestant Episcopal 
church. He is one of the vestry of his church. 

Robert L. Howard, county treasurer of Johnson county, was born 
in Kingsville township. June 9, 1869, the son of J. P. and Ruthie E. 
(Lundy) Howard. J. P. Howard was born January 16, 1842 on the 
same section of land in Kingsville township, Johnson county where his 
son, Robert L., was born twenty-seven years later. J. P. Howard is 
the son of Joseph Howard, who was born in 1816 in Surry county, 
North Carolina. He came to Johnson county in 1837 and settled in 
Kingsville township where he entered land from the government. Jos- 
eph Howard was the owner at one time of more than thirteen hundred 
acres of land. He frequently saw prairie land in Madison and Kingsville 
townships sell for twelve and a half cents an acre. He operated a tread 
grist mill in the early days and later a steam mill for sawing and grind- 
ing which cost him more than eleven thousand dollars. His wife, the 
mother of J. P., died when her baby son was but si.x weeks old. The 
child was reared by his uncle, David Edwards, in Johnson and Bates 
counties and in Kansas City, Missouri. 

J. P. Howard was the youngest of three children left motherless 
by the death of Mrs. Howard in 1842, the other two being as follow: 
Miriam, who was reared to maturity, married W. P. Gibson, and is 
now deceased; and Jordan J., deceased. Joseph Howard was later 
united in marriage with Amanda Simcox and to them were born eight 
children, of whom Frank is the only one surviving. Frank Howard 
resides at Fort Scott, Kansas. After the death of .\manda (Simcox) 
Howard, Joseph Howard was united in marriage with Lydia Tillbury. 
Her death occurred about 1889. Joseph Howard died on his farm in 
Kingsville township in 1908 and his last resting place is in the family 
cemetery on the home place. 

After the Civil War. J. P. Howard, father of the subject of this 



454 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

review, returned to Kingsville township, Johnson county in 1866 and 
he has Hved on the home place since that time. In 1867 he was united 
in marriage with Ruthie E. Lundy, who was born and reared in Jack- 
son township, Johnson county on the place now owned by her son, 
Robert L. J. P. and Ruthie E. Howard were the parents of the fol- 
lowing children: Robert L., the subject of this review; a daughter, 
died in infancy; Emmet M., farming the home place with his father; 
Mrs. Minnie M. Ferguson, wife of Newland Ferguson of Jackson 
township; and Mrs. Grace M. Karr, wife of Ralph Karr of Jackson 
township. Mrs. Howard died in 1907 and is interred in the Howard 
cemetery. Mr. Howard still follows farming and stock raising on the 
home place in Kingsville township where he lives with his son, 
Emmet M. 

Robert L. Howard received his primary education in the public 
schools of Johnson county. He attended Odessa College and com- 
pleted his schooling in the Warrensburg State Normal, which he at- 
tended one year. After leaving school he returned to the farm and 
was engaged in the pursuits of agriculture until his appointment as 
deputv county clerk under Theodore Hyatt. In November, 1916 Robert 
L. Howard was elected treasurer of Johnson county and he is now 
serving with satisfaction to his constituents. Mr. Howard possesses 
a pleasing personality and genial manners which make for him count- 
less friends. 

In 1895. Robert L. Howard and Maude M. Kinney were united 
in marriage. Maude M. (Kinney) Howard is the daughter of John 
R. Kinney, of Polk township, Cass county. Her mother died when 
Mrs. Howard was but a child. Mr. Kinney is at present in Tennessee. 
To Robert L. and Maude M. Howard has been born one daughter, 
Ruth L., who is a graduate of the Warrensburg High School, class of 
1917 and is now a student in the State Normal School, Warrensburg. 

C. L. Gillilan, secretarv of the American Trust Company. War- 
rensburg, is a native of Johnson county and a member of a prominent 
pioneer family of Columbus township where he was born January 2, 
1880, the son of John M. and Rachel Ruth (KelhO Gillilan. John 
M. Gillilan was born June 16, 1837 in West Virginia, the son of George 
Gillilan, with whom he came to Missouri. John M. Gillilan was fif- 
teen years of age when he came to Missouri with his father in 1852 
and located on the farm in Columbus township, Jolmson county, where 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 455 

twenty-eight years later his son, C. L., the subject of this review, was 
born. George GiHllan died shortly after coming West and his remains 
were interred in Mt. Tabor cemetery in Lafayette county. This ceme- 
tery is one of the oldest in Missouri and was laid out by John McNeel, 
an uncle of C. L. Gillilan. Rachel Ruth (Kelly) Gillilan was born 
March 1, 1842 in Columbus township, Johnson county within two and 
a half miles of her present home. She is the daughter of Captain 
John Kelly, who received his title while in service in the Mormon 
war. His wife's maiden name was Ray and Ray county, Missouri 
was named in honor of her father. Both parents of Mrs. Gillilan are 
now deceased and their remains were buried in the Kelly cemetery 
on the old homestead in Columbus township. To John M. and Rachel 
Ruth Gillilan were born the following children : Mrs. Martha Grinstead, 
wife of W. D. Grinstead, who resides near Holden, Missouri; W. P., de- 
ceased; Mrs. Anna F. Van Meter, wife of Joseph A. Van Meter of 
Odessa, Missouri; Mrs. Lydia C. Violet, who was the wife of Harry 
Violet, who is now deceased, and she resides at Fayetteville ; J. G., Co- 
lumbus; R. R., Odessa, Missouri; Beatrice, Centerview; Mrs. Gertrude 
Anderson, wife of Leonard Anderson of Odessa, Missouri : C. L., the 
subject of this sketch: Ethel, Centerview: C. G.. Centerview: and \V. 
R., deceased. John M. Gillilan is a well-known and highly respected 
farmer and stockman of Columi^us township. He was eighty }-ears 
of age June 16, 1917. For sixt3'-fi\e years he has lived in Joiuison 
county and he has nobly clone his part in aiding the development of 
his township and count}'. 

C. L. Gillilan attended the public schools of Johnson county. His 
boyhood was spent on the farm and until he was twenty-one years of 
age he was engaged in the pursuits of agriculture. In 1902 he was 
appointed deputy assessor and served under T. J. Summers for seven 
years. In the election of 1908 C. L. Gillilan was elected county assessor 
of Johnson county and in 1912 was reelected, liis term of office expiring 
June 1, 1917. Mr. Gillilan has been elected secretary of the American 
Trust Company of Warrensburg. a position whicli he now holds. He 
is unmarried. 

The American Trust Company of \\"arrensburg was organized in 
1908 and was known as the Johnson County Trust Company. In 1913 
the Johnson County Trust Company consolidated with the .\merican 
Bank and the name was changed to American Trust Company. Tiie 



456 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

present capital stock is fifty thousand dollars with a surplus fund of 
twenty-five thousand dollars. The deposits on March 5, 1917 amounted 
to two hundred forty thousand dollars. The present officials of 
the bank are: C. A. Harrison, president; George W. Lemmon, vice- 
president; C. L. Gillilan, secretary and treasurer; W. E. Crissey, gen- 
eral manager; R. L. Campbell, P. D. Fitch, C. A. Shepard, T. H. 
Doolin, T. B. Montgomery, C. J. Rucker, Nick M. Bradley, and Wm. 
Shockey, directors. The American Trust Company is one of the best 
managed and soundest financial institutions in Johnson county. 

E. F. Tracy, presiding judge of Johnson county, Missouri, was born 
in Lafayette county, Missouri, November 23, 1855. He is the son of 
William F. and Sarah L. (Atkinson) Tracy, natives of Kentucky. Will- 
iam F. Tracy was born November 22, 1827, in Montgomery county 
near Mt. Sterling. He was the son of Noland Tracy, who came to Mis- 
souri in 1835 or 1836, when his son, W^illiam F., was about eight years 
of age, and settled on a farm in Lafayette county, near the present 
Johnson county line. Noland Tracy resided on his farm in Lafayette 
county the remainder of his life. His son, William F., was reared on 
his father's farm and when he had attained maturity purchased a farm 
near his father's place, on Davis creek. Sarah L. (Atkinson) Tracy was 
born in Kentucky in 1825. William F. and Sarah L. Tracy were the 
parents of four children: E. F., the subject of this review; Anna C. 
who married Monroe Fox, now deceased, and she is now the wife of 
Alfred Bishop, of Odessa. Missouri, where they are at present residing 
although their home is near Mt. Tabor: Theodore, who died in infancy; 
and one child, who died in infancy. In 1899. William F. Tracy died 
at the age of seventy-two years. Interment was made in the cemetery 
at Mt. Tabor. He was followed in death by his wife in 1900. She 
was seventy-four years of age. Her remains were also interred in the 
Mt. Tabor cemetery. 

E. F. Tracy received his eflucation in tlie public schools of Lafayette 
county. Missouri. He was reared on tlie farm and practically all his 
life lias been engaged in agricultural pursuits. I'ntil lie bad attained 
his majority lie was emploved in farming in Lafayette county. When 
he became of age he moved to Johnson county and located in Hazel 
Hill township, where he purchased a farm, after he had farmed the 
place for three years, and lived on that place for twenty-five years. This 
farm comprised two hundred twenty acres and upon it Judge Tracy 




JUDGE E. E. XUACY 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 457 

raised cattle and hogs, following the business of feeding and shipping, 
in which he has ever since been engaged, and while he lives in Warrens- 
burg he continues to direct the operation of the place. For the past 
ten years he has handled mules. He now owns four hundred ninety 
acres of land in Hazel Hill township, Johnson county. 

In 1905 Judge Tracy moved from his farm to Warrensburg, where 
he purchased property at 208 Broad street. He has since rebuilt the 
home. He was elected judge of the county court in 1910 and re-elected 
in 1914, and is the presiding judge at the present time. Judge Tracy 
is a man of marked ability and he has filled the office of county judge 
with great credit to himself and satisfaction to his constituents. During 
his incumbency, he has given special attention to culverts, bridges, and 
roads and as a result a fine system of permanent roads will be covering 
Johnson county. Judge Tracy is very careful in the expenditure of 
money. The county is at the present time spending about seventy 
thousand dollars annually on roads. A bonus is given to the district 
which raises the half, or fifty per cent, of the required sum, by town- 
ship or private donations. 

October 28, 1879, E. F. Tracy and Mary L. Redford were united 
in marriage. Mary L. (Redford) Tracy is the daughter of A. J. and 
Margaret E. (Harrison) Redford. A. J. Redford was born in 1827 in 
North Carolina. He came to Missouri when a boy and located in Moni- 
teau county. He later moved to Johnson county, where he settled tempo- 
rarily in Hazel Hill township. About 1870 he moved to Warrensburg. 
A. J. Redford was a prominent and influential stockman in the early 
days, his sales and purchases covering all Johnson county. He drove 
stock to Sedalia. Missouri, and shipped them from that place. He was 
also an early-day teamster, working between Warrensburg and Lexing- 
ton. Margaret E. (Harrison) Redford was born in Alabama. Mr. and 
Mrs. Redford were the parents of the following children: J. E., who 
resides in Hazel Hill township: Mrs. Phoebe A. Frost, Warrensburg, 
Missouri: Mrs. E. F. Tracy, wife of the subject of this review; Mrs. 
E. N. Johnson, Warrensburg, Missouri ; Mrs. N. M. Naylor, Springfield, 
Missouri: and W. O.. who resides in Hazel Hill township. In 1911, A. J. 
Redford died and his remains were interred in the cemetery at War- 
rensburg. Three vears later he was followed in death by his wife, her 
death occurring in 1914, and she was also buried in the Warrensburg 
cemetery. 



458 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Judge Tracy is of pioneer lineage. His maternal grandfather, John 
Atkinson, came to Missouri in a "prairie schooner," and settled in John- 
son county in the early thirties. The "schooner" traveled the Warrens- 
burg-Lexington road. 

Walter R. Greim, the manager of the City Steam Laundry, War- 
rensburg, is a native of Johnson county. He was born at 116 Broad 
street, Warrensurg. in the home which his father built when he was mar- 
ried. He is the son of Henry N. and Margaret (Reichle) Greim, both 
natives of Germany. Henry N. Greim was born September 22, 1840, in 
Bavaria, Germany. In 1853 he immigrated to America when he was four- 
teen years of age and in 1855 came to Warrensburg, where he began 
as a laborer. Before the Civil War he drove a stage from Warrensburg 
to Lexington and after the war engaged in the harness business in 
Warrensburg. 

Henry N. Greim opened his harness shop February 11, 1867 on 
Holden street where the Commercial Bank of Warrensburg is now 
located. He was in the harness business for more tlian thirtv years. 
During the Civil War he enlisted in Company E, First Missouri Cavalry 
under Colonel Fuller. Mr. Greim took active part in the battles of 
Prairie Grove and Little Rock. He was mustered out of service at 
Little Rock, Arkansas in June, 1865. [Margaret (Reichle) Greim was 
born in Stuttgart, Germany. She came to America with her parents 
when she was eleven years of age. They settled in Fayette county, 
Ohio and there the daughter, Margaret, was reared to maturitv and 
educated. She moved to Warrensburg with her parents in 1868 and 
was married the following year to Henry N. Greim, in 1869. Both 
parents of Margaret (Reichle") Greim, Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Reichle, 
were natives of Germany. They are interred in Adams cemeterv. 

Henry N. and Margaret Greim were the parents of four children: 
Arch J., Warrensburg; Walter R., the subject of this review: Lula M.. 
Warrensburg; and Nicholas E., in the employ of Citizens Bank of 
Warrensburg. Henry N. Greim died April 5, 1897. His wife died 
August 10, 1895. They are buried in the Warrensburg cemeterv. Mr. 
Greim was an industrious, capable business man. and one of John- 
son county's most substantial citizens. 

Walter R. Greim received his education in the \\'arrcnslnirg 
schools and in the State Normal. He was in attendance at the State 
Normal one year. March 1. 190.^, lie opened a steam laundry on Cul- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 459 

ton Street and two years later moved to his present location on the 
corner of Holden and Grover streets where he has continued in busi- 
ness for the past thirteen years. The City Steam Laundry is the only 
steam laundry in the city and does excellent work. Mr. Greim em- 
ploys ten people and all work is given the most careful and prompt 
attention. 

In 1910, Walter R. Greim was united in marriage with Ida Mc- 
Clelland, daughter of George B. McClelland, a farmer near Holden, 
Missouri. Mrs. Greim's mother is deceased . Air. and Mrs. Greim re- 
side at 116 Broad street in the home which Mr. Greim's father built 
when he started housekeeping in 1869, the birthplace of Walter R. 
When the Greim home was built there were not half a dozen houses 
south of the railroad in Warrensl)urg. Tiie house was remodeled in 
1910. Mr. and Mrs. Greim are widely known in Johnson county and 
have many friends. 

R. F. Renick, a Civil War veteran and one of the pioneers of John- 
son county, was born January 15, 1837 in Lafayette county, J^lissouri. 
He is the son of Andrew E. and Sabina (Livesay) Renick, who came 
to Missouri in the early part of the nineteenth century. Andrew E. 
Renick was a native of Ohio, born in 1809 near Springfield, Clark 
county. In early manhood he left Ohio and went to Virginia and after 
a year or two came to Lafayette county, Missouri in 1830, and locat- 
ed near Wellington. He remained there for about five years when he 
moved to Johnson county. Sabina (Livesay) Renick was a native of 
Virginia. Her parents came to Missouri about 1825. The marriage 
of R. F. Renick's father and mother was solemnized in Lexington, Mis- 
souri, by Reverend John \\'order. Andrew E. and Sabina Renick 
were the parents of the following children: William, who is living at 
the age of eightv-three years in Garden City, Kansas; R. F., subject 
of this review; Mrs. Mary R. Creasy, deceased; ]\Irs. Isabell Goodwin, 
deceased; Emma, deceased; James W., Odessa, Alissouri ; Mrs. Amanda 
Patterson, deceased; and ]\Irs. Josie Goodwin, deceased. Andrew E. 
Renick died July 3, 1852 at St. Charles, Missouri and is buried there. 

R. F. Renick attended school in Wellington, Missouri. At the age 
of twenty vears he entered tlie government service in Kansas, herding 
cattle on the plains. For a number of years he was assistant wagon 
boss of a train of twenty-six wagons which made the trip from Ft. 
Leavenworth, Kansas to Ft. Laramie, Wyoming in thirty-five days. 



460 ' HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

The return trip was made in twenty days when the wagons were 
empty. At different times Mr. Renick was associated with Sitting 
Bull's Indians. He has in his possession a coat made by Sitting Bull's 
squaw. This coat is an extremely interesting relic, made of buckskin 
or black tailed deerskin. Prior to the war Mr. Renick made four trips 
to St. Louis on horseback, driving stock. 

In 1861, R. F. Renick enlisted at Columbus, Missouri with Captain 
Newton's company, Hurst's regiment. He and Senator Francis M. 
Cockrell were in the same company and saw active service in the same 
battles. The first year Mr. Renick was in Missouri with his company 
and the second year took part in the southern campaign with General 
Price in Mississippi, Tennessee, and Arkansas. R. F. Renick took an 
active and prominent part in the battles of Springfield, Missouri; Elk- 
horn Tavern, Arkansas; Corinth, Mississippi and luka, Mississippi. At 
the seige of Vicksburg, which was captured July 3, 1862, Mr. Renick 
fired the last gun. He was in the Georgia campaign, which was an 
almost continual fight and a series of steady and hard-won successes, 
taking part in the battles of Altoona Mountain, Georgia; Franklin, 
Tennessee ; and many minor skirmishes. He was taken prisoner at 
Franklin, Tennessee and when the war closed was in prison at Ft. 
Delaware. Eight different times Mr. Renick was wounded, four times 
in the left leg, once in the right, twice in the right shoulder and once 
in the back of the head. A spyglass was shot out of his hand at one 
time and another out of his pocket. His saber was shot and broken 
in two once when he had it unsheathed. While in prison Mr. Renick 
almost reached the place where he could hear the "last taps" sound, 
for gangrene started in his wound. As it was feared the disease would 
spread he was placed in a tent alone. Mr. Renick entered the service 
as a private and shortly afterward was elected lieutenant of his com- 
pany, Company H, Fourth Missouri Infantry. Captain Norville 
Spangler of this company was killed at Baker's Creek, Mississippi, and 
Lieutenant Renick succeeded to the captaincy of the company and 
served in that capacity three years, or during the remainder of liis 
military career. 

After the war closed, Mr. Renick returned to liis farm in ColumlMis 
township. This is a fine place consisting of two hundred forty acres 
of some of the best land in the county. In 1868 he was married to 
Mary Wallace, daughter of Allen and Anna Wallace, pioneers of Co- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 461 

lumbus township. Allen Wallace died in Illinois and his remains were 
buried there. His wife died in Columbus township and is buried there. 
To R. F. and Mary Renick were born two daughters: Fannie, the wife 
of Dr. T. L. Bradley, a sketch of whom appears in this volume; and 
Annie, the wife of Dr. Baxter Morrow, Columbus, Missouri. Both 
sons-in-law of Mr. Renick are Johnson county boys and were reared 
near Columbus. Mrs. Renick died November, 1912, at the age of 
seventy-two years. She was laid to rest in the Warrensburg cemetery. 
Mr. Renick makes his home with his two daughters in Columbus and 
Warrensburg. He is still active for one of his years, having passed his 
eightieth birthday, and were it not for the old wound in the left leg 
Mr. Renick would be able to put to shame many men a score of years 
younger than he. He can however do much work as it is. It has been 
a pleasure to find such a man still with us. The ranks of the brave 
pioneers and Civil War veterans are too rapidly thinning. 

Dr. T. L. Bradley, successful physician of Warrensburg, was born 
August 26, 1870, near Columbus, Missouri. He is a member of a well- 
known pioneer family of Johnson county. His father, Gafiford Bradley, 
is a native of Johnson county, born in 1846 at Pittsville. Gafiford Brad- 
ley is the son of Dickey Bradley, Jr., who came to Johnson county 
about 1830. Dickey Bradley, Jr. was the son of Dickey Bradley, Sr. 
and he and his wife came to Johnson county a few years after their 
son had located on a farm near Pittsville. Dickey Bradley, Sr. was 
a veteran of the War of 1812. He was with General Jackson in the 
siege of New Orleans. He died in Johnson county in 1838 and was 
laid in his last resting place in Blackwater cemetery, the first to be 
buried in that historic place. The Blackwater Methodist church was 
the first Methodist church to be organized in Johnson county and it 
was organized with twenty-one members, six of whom were Bradleys. 
Dickey Bradley, Jr., was a highly respected farmer near Pittsville. He 
reared to maturity a large family. August 26, 1870, he died on the 
farm where he had resided for forty years and his remains were in- 
terred in Blackwater cemetery. Elizabeth (Fulkerson) Bradley, 
mother of the subject of this review, was the daughter of Dr. Monroe 
and Elizabeth (Houx) Fulkerson. Dr. Monroe Fulkerson is one of the 
early settlers of Johnson county and an esteemed pioneer physician 
residing two miles southwest of Columbus, Missouri. His family of 
boys served bravely in the Southern army during the Civil War. Eliza- 



462 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

beth (Houx) Fulkerson is the daughter of Nicholas Houx, one of the 
.first four settlers in Johnson county. Nicholas Houx settled at Co- 
lumbus, Missouri and the first court held in Johnson county was held 
at his home under an elm tree. Mr. and Mrs. Nicholas Houx have 
long been deceased and their remains rest in the Columbus cemetery. 
To Gafiford and Elizabeth Bradley were born two sons: Judge Nick 
M., who is a prominent attorney of Warrensburg, Missouri: and Dr. 
T. L., the subject of this review. Gafiford Bradley died in Warrens- 
burg in 1900 and his wife passed away in 1904 and their remains are 
both buried in the Warrensburg cemetery. 

Dr. T. L. Bradley attended the public schools of Warrensburg. 
He is a graduate of the State Normal School of Warrensburg and of 
the St. Louis Medical College, class of 1896. Dr. Bradley was the 
first student from Johnson county to graduate from the St. Louis Med- 
ical College and the first from Johnson county to receive an interne 
appointment in the City Hospital. He served as interne one year. In 
1897 Dr. Bradley began the practice of medicine at Warrensburg. His 
ofifice was located at that time in the old Montgomery building on the 
corner of Holden and Pine streets. He has since moved his office to 
the present location at 103 West Pine street. Dr. Bradley has an ex- 
cellent practice. 

In 1898, Dr. Bradley was united in marriage with Fannie Renick, 
the daughter of R. F. and Mary (Wallace) Renick of Columbus town- 
ship, a sketch of whom appears in this volume. Mary (Wallace) 
Renick was born, reared, married, reared her family, and died in 
the same house. She died at the age of seventy-two years. The house 
still stands on the farm one and a half miles northeast of Columbus, 
Missouri. Dr. and Mrs. Bradley reside in Warrensburg on the corner 
of Broad and McGuire streets. 

J. Ransom Grinstead. ex-county clerk of Johnson county, was liorn 
April 9, 1862 in Post Oak township, Johnson county. He is a son of 
Abner and Charity A. (Wells) Grinstead. Abner Grinstead was born in 
1829 near Richmond, Kentucky, son of Jesse Grinsted. When Abner 
Grinstead was four years of age his father moved with his family to 
Pettis county, Missouri, in 1833. Jesse Grinstead was a native of Vir- 
ginia. He was born in 1796 and he took an active and prominent part 
in the War of 1812 and subsequent Indian wars in which lie served 
as colonel. He died in Pettis countv at the age of eighty-six years on 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 463 

the farm which he had pre-empted and Iiis remains were buried in the 
family cemetery near Longwood. Abner Grinstead was reared on his 
father's farm in Pettis county. In early manhood he came to John- 
son county and located in Post Oak township in 1854 where he entered 
land from the government. In 1854 Al)ner Grinstead and Charity A. 
\\'ells, daughter of Colonel Ransom Wells, a pioneer of Washington 
township, Johnson county, were united in marriage and to them were 
born three children: Mrs. Alice Henshaw. Rinehart, Missouri; J. Ran- 
som, the subject of this review: and A. Rector, A\'ichita, Kansas. Abner 
Grinstead was a well-known and highly respected farmer and stockman 
of Post Oak township where he lived for more than half a century 
on his farm of four hundred acres of splendid farm land. He died 
January 1. 1917 aged nearly eighty-eight years. His wife died in 1904 
and the remains of both father and mother were buried in the Knob 
Noster cemeterj'. 

J. Ransom Grinstead attended the public schools of Johnson 
county and the Warrensburg State Normal School, graduating from 
the latter institution in the class of 1881. After leaving college Mr. 
Grinstead entered the teaching profession and, having secured a state 
certificate, was engaged in teaching for four years. Mr. Grinstead 
was reared on his father's farm in Post Oak township and has all his 
life been engaged in farming and stock raising. He taught school in 
addition to the work on the farm. In 1895 Mr. Grinstead, John J. Lee, 
and Henry E. Fewel purchased the townsite of Leeton, consisting of 
one hundred forty acres and platted the original town which has 
since grown into a prosperous town of six hundred inhabitants. Mr. 
Grinstead still holds valuable property interests in Leeton. For about 
seven years he was in the real estate, loan and insurance business at 
Leeton, Missouri, prior to his election as county clerk in 1906. Mr. 
Grinstead served two terms in the ofifice of county clerk of Johnson 
county, being reelected in 1910. It was during Mr. Grinstead's term 
of office when David Mohler was highway engineer that he, Mr. Moh- 
ler, and the county court put in operation the county highway plan of 
making good dirt roads. This plan involves the making of roads at 
the rate of sixty miles a year for five years and has proven to be a 
great success. Three hundred miles of the best dirt roads were made 
at a cost of one hundred to four hundred dollars a mile, making a 
network connecting all the important trade centers of the county. The 



464 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

construction of more than a thousand concrete culverts was a part 
of the plan. 

April 2, 1891, J. Ransom Grinstead was united in marriage with 
Josie Hall, the daughter of G. G. Hall and Lucy (Mitchell) Hall, of 
Jefiferson township, Johnson county. Both parents of Mrs. Grinstead 
are deceased and they were placed in their last resting places in High 
Point cemetery in Jefiferson township. To J. Ransom and Josie (Hall) 
Grinstead have been born three sons, all of whom are graduates of 
the Warrensburg State Normal School and now engaged in teaching: 
Lawrence H., superintendent of schools in Cole Camp, Missouri; 
Roland W., has charge of the history department and is coach of 
athletics in the Warrensburg High School ; and Noel B., teacher of 
Manual Training and coach of athletics in the Nevada High School, 
Nevada, Missouri. The year previous he was engaged in teaching in 
the Windsor High School, Windsor, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Grin- 
stead's home in Warrensburg is located at 410 South Holden street. 

J. Ransom Grinstead is owner of more than a thousand acres of 
land in Post Oak and Warrensburg townships, Johnson county and in 
addition to supervising his own business affairs he is manager of Black- 
water Company's land, which includes more than a thousand acres. 
Mr. Grinstead is of pioneer lineage and one of Johnson county's pros- 
perous and influential citizens. 

James I. Anderson, M. D., one of the best-known practitioners in 
Johnson county, is a member of a highly respected pioneer family, who 
were prominently connected with the early history of both Johnson 
and Henry counties. Doctor Anderson was born in 1859 in Warrens- 
burg, Missouri the son of William Harrison and Mary (Davis) Ander- 
son. William Harrison Anderson was born in 1813 in Campbell county, 
Kentucky. He was the son of John H. Anderson, a native of Virginia. 
John H. Anderson's father, John Anderson, came with General Brad- 
dock from England to Virginia in March, 1755. John H. Anderson was 
a veteran of the Revolutionary War. He came to Missouri and settled 
in Johnson county after his sons had located here. His death occurred 
in Hazel Hill or Simpson township when he was one hundred three 
years of age. William Harrison Anderson came to Johnson county, 
Missouri from Tennessee in 1833. He first located north of Warrens- 
burg on a farm. This was before the town of Warrensburg was laid 
out or the county of Johnson established. In 1838 he moved to War- 




;. .TAMKS I. A.VliKRSO.N. 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 465 

rensburg and there filled the offices of deputy sheriff, tax collector, and 
later treasurer of Johnson county. 

For several years William Harrison Anderson was employed as 
clerk in the different stores, working at one time in the employ of a 
country merchant named Gallaher and subsequently in the first store 
in Warrensburg. In the early forties he entered the mercantile busi- 
ness for himself in Warrensburg and was thus engaged until 1857, at 
which time the St. Louis Union Bank established a branch bank in 
Warrensburg and William Harrison Anderson was employed as cash- 
ier. The bank in Warrensburg was organized in July, 1858, and con- 
tinued in business until 1862, when the unsettled condition of affairs 
due to war times obliged the bank to close its doors. 

At the time Mr. Anderson was cashier, the railroad had been built 
west only as far as Sedalia, Missouri. Fearing the bank might be 
looted, he placed seventy-five tliousand dollars of the bank funds in five 
boxes, containing fifteen thousand dollars each, and hauled the boxes 
to the farm home of John Parr in June, 1861. The boxes were stored 
beneath the hearthstone of tiie fireplace in the Parr home and remained 
there in safety until the ensuing autumn, when the St. Louis bank 
sent their cashier in October for the funds. He, Mr. Anderson, and 
Mr. Parr loaded the five boxes upon a wagon and the two cashiers 
hauled them to Sedalia, from whence they were shipped to St. Louis. 
The thoughtfulness and precaution of the young cashier undoubtedly 
saved the bank's money, for Warrensburg was visited by both armies 
that summer. Colonel Dare, with his Federal troops, and General 
Sterling Price, with the Confederates, confiscated everything they could 
find of value belonging to the enemy. From 1862 to 1869 the Ander- 
son family resided in St. Louis. Missouri. They returned to Wav- 
rensburg in 1869 or 1870 and ]\lr. Anderson assisted in the organization 
of the Johnson County Savings Bank. He then entered the mercantile 
business, in which he was engaged for many years. 

James Isaac Anderson is one of ten children born to William 
Harrison and Mary (Davis) Anderson, who were as follow: John 
D., who died in Nashville, Tennessee; Sarah, who died in childhood; 
Zachary T.. whose death occurred about ten years ago in Nashville, 
Tennessee: Henry B., who died in Warrensburg, Missouri, about 1892: 
Alice, who died in childhood: William Harrison, Jr., who resides in 
Helena, Arkansas; James Isaac, the subject of this review; Mary, for- 



466 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

merly the wife of Charles Davis of Helena, Arkansas, who is deceased, 
and she is now the wife of Reuben Reeves, of Warrensburg, Missouri; 
and Charles, Statesville. North Carolina. One child, Robert, died in 
infancy. The father died in 1892 in Warrensburg, Missouri. 

Mary (Davis) Anderson was born at Bowling Green, Kentucky, 
Slie came to Johnson county, Missouri, with her parents when she was 
a child three years of age. She was the daughter of Zachary T. and 
Elizabeth (Bradley) Davis. Zachary T. Davis was one of the first 
county officers of Johnson county. Both parents of Mrs. Anderson were 
interred in the cemetery at Lees Summit, Missouri. 

Doctor Anderson received his early education in the public schools 
of Warrensburg, Missouri. He later attended the Warrensburg State 
Normal School, Vandiver University of Nashville, Tennessee, and the 
New York Polyclinic at New York City. Thirty-five years ago he 
opened his office in Warrensburg, Missouri, on the corner of Pine and 
Holden streets, where he has ever since remained, enjoying one of the 
most extensive practices in the city. 

In 1890, James Isaac Anderson was united in marriage with Eliza- 
beth Plumer, the daughter of M. A. and Sarah Plumer. of Warrensburg, 
Missouri. The parents of Mrs. Anderson came to Johnson county, 
Missouri, about 1870. Both are now deceased and their remains rest 
in the Warrensburg cemetery. To Dr. and Mrs. Anderson have been 
born four children: Gladys, who is a graduate of Pratt Institute, New 
York City and now supervisor of art in the \\'arrensburg State Normal 
School ; A. P., who is a graduate of the Pratt Institute in the class of 
1915 and is now employed as chemist for the Dupont Powder Com- 
pany in Virginia; Caroline, a graduate of the \\^arrensburg State Nor- 
mal School and now teaching in the Warrensburg schools : and Albert, 
who is employed in Helena, Arkansas, by the Pendergrass Cotton Com- 
pany. 

David Mohler, ex-county surveyor and president of the Johnson 
County Mutual Insurance Association, is a native of Oliio. He was 
born in 1852 in Miami county, Ohio, a son of Ephraim and Anna (Xill) 
Mohler. Ephraim Mohler was born in 1826 in Pennsylvania where 
he was reared and educated. When he attained maturity he left 
Pennsylvania and moved to Ohio. In 1869, when his son, David, was 
seventeen years of age, Ephraim Mohler came to Missouri with his 
family and settled in Johnson county on a farm twelve miles south 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 467 

of \\'arrensbui-g. Anna (Kill) Moliler, the mother of tlie subject of 
this review, was a native of Germany. She was born in 1826 and with 
her parents immigrated to America when she was six years of age, about 
1832. Ephraim and Anna Mohler were the parents of the following 
children: Mrs. Mary Wenrick, Leeton, Missouri; George, Pleasant 
Hill, Ohio; J. B., Cleveland. Ohio: David, the subject of this sketch: 
R. D., Warrensburg; Ephraim S., Covington, Ohio; John, who died 
at Gallipolis, Ohio: Mrs. Ennna Colbert, Covington, Ohio; Mrs. Ida 
Coppock. Mechanicsburg, Ohio; and S. N., a Baptist minister, St. 
Louis, Missouri. Ephraim Mohler returned to Ohio at one time and 
remained in that state ten years when he came back to Johnson county. 
He was one of the charter members of the Brethren church of Leeton, 
which was organized about 1871. His death occurred in 1906 and he 
and his wife, who died the next }-ear, were buried in the cemetery at 
Leeton. 

David Mohler attended the public schools of Johnson county and 
the Warrensburg State Normal School. He took the two years' course 
at the State Normal and after he left college was engaged in teaching 
for fourteen years. In the summers he was employed in farming. In 
1907 he moved to Leeton, Missouri when he was appointed road com- 
missioner and surveyor of Johnson county. Mr. Mohler served in this 
capacity ten years, his term of office expiring in February, 1917. Dur- 
ing his administration as surveyor the county road system was devel- 
oped and put successfullv in operation. He, in connection with J. 
Ransom Grinstead, county clerk, and the county court, seriously con- 
sidered the need of a system of good roads and in 1909 built two 
concrete culverts to ascertain the cost as well as the durability. A cry 
was raised throughout the county against this innovation on account 
of the cost, but the builders proceeded undauntedly and the following 
year let the contract for sixty four-foot culverts and two crews were 
employed making culverts and placing from six to eight in each town- 
ship. In 1912 three crews of seven teams and ten men were employed 
in grading the roads. Sixty miles each year were completed at an 
average cost of about two hundred dollars a mile, not including the 
cost of the culverts. To-day, Johnson county has three hundred miles 
of good roads with splendid culverts, numbering more than a thou- 
sand on the different highways. All the roads were completed iin 
the fall of 1916 and the people of the county are now unanimous in 



468 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

their approval. They have seen the wisdom and foresight of the 
county surveyor, clerk, and county judges. The judges who were as- 
sociated with Mr. Mohler in the work were : W. A. Stevens, R. H. 
Wood, W. B. Pemberton, E. F. Tracy, B. F. Summers, D. L. Day, E. 
S. Harte, and C. C. Atkins. 

In 1878, David Mohler and Anna M. Davis were united in mar- 
riage. Anna M. (Davis) Mohler is the daughter of E. A. and Caroline 
Davis, of Leeton, Missouri. Both father and mother of Mrs. Mohler 
are now deceased and they are interred in Roop cemetery. To David 
H. and Anna M. Mohler have been born four children: Lee, Leeton, 
Missouri; Nellie, the wife of J. H. Duckwall of Warrensburg; Maurice, 
who is in charge of the Manual Training department in the schools of 
Pittsburg, Pennsylvania; and Flora, the wife of W. H. Stacy of Leeton, 
Missouri. 

Mr. Mohler was one of the organizers of the Johnson County 
Mutual Insurance Association. This company began with risks 
amounting to two hundred fifty thousand dollars and at present carries 
risks amounting to more than six million dollars. Mr. Mohler has 
been president of the company for the past twelve years. Losses are 
always promptly paid and the sound, prosperous condition of the as- 
sociation is principally due to the president's executive ability, keen 
business judgment, and initiative. 

J. Wesley Harrison, a retired farmer and capitalist of Warrens- 
burg, is of noble pioneer lineage and a native of Johnson county. He 
was born February 28, 1838, six miles north of Warrensburg in Hazel 
Hill township. He is the son of Harvey and Zilphia (Bell) Harrison, 
natives of Tennessee. Harvey Harrison was born in Blount county, 
Tennessee, March 7, 1806 and Zilphia (Bell) Harrison was born in 
Davidson county, Tennessee, October 16, 1803. They were united 
in marriage November 28. 1824 arkd in 1829 or 1830 came in a one 
horse cart to Missouri and located near Dover in Lafayette county, 
where they remained for a few years when they moved to Hazel Hill 
township, Johnson county and settled on a farm of more than three 
hundred acres, a part of which Harvey Harrison had entered from the 
government. Several brothers of Harvey Harrison came to Missouri 
with him. He resided on his farm in Hazel Hill township until the 
Civil War when he moved to Warrensburg and for many years served 
as justice of peace and judge of the county court. ?Iarvey and Zilphia 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 469 

Harrison were the parents of thirteen children : Hugh Bell, who was 
born November 25, 1825 in Limestone county, Alabama; William 
Craig, born May 19, 1827 in Limestone county, Alabama; Margaret C, 
who was born February 16, 1829 in Limestone county, Alabama; 
Joseph Patton, who was born August 8, 1830 in Lafayette county, Mis- 
souri; Alfred Bell, who was born March 26, 1832 in Johnson county; 
Robert Donell, who was born March 7, 1833 in Johnson county; Harvey 
White, who was born March 13, 1835 in Johnson county; Andrew 
Jackson, who was born January 17, 1837 in Johnson county; John 
Wesley, the subject of this review; George Washingtton, who was 
born April 9, 1840 in Johnson county; Nancy Elizabeth, who was born 
September 26, 1842 in Johnson county ; James K. Polk, who was born 
February 10, 1846 in Johnson county; and one child, a son, died in 
infancy. Harvey Harrison was prominent in the public aftairs of his 
day and he always took an acti\e part in the politics of his county. 
He was a member of the Republican party. His death occurred March 
7, 1890. His wife preceded him in death, having departed this life 
June 12, 1889. Both father and mother were interred in the Warrens- 
burg cemetery. At the time of their death Harvey Harrison and his 
wife had forty-eight grandchildren, forty-five great-grandchildren, and 
one great-great-grandchild, Isaac Seamonds. Their first grandchild 
was Zilphia Isabel Eagan. the daughter of Margaret C. (Harrison) 
Eagan. She was Ijorn September 10, 1845. 

J. W^esley Harrison was reared on his father's farm in Hazel Hill 
township and educated in the public schools of Johnson county. His 
boyhood was spent much as is the early life of the average boy on 
the farm and until he was seventeen years of age he remained at home 
with his parents. He then began life for himself driving ox teams 
across the plains for Russell Majors. Daniel White, and Mr. \\'adell. 
Mr. Harrison recalls a blinding snowstorm which occurred May 3, 
1856, the day the train started from Old Westport, Missouri for Ft. 
Union, New Mexico. At the time the Mountain Meadow massacre 
happened, his train was within forty miles of the train which was in 
the massacre. Mr. Harrison made these trips across the plains prior 
to the Civil War. During the war he lived in Leavenworth county, 
Kansas. After the war he returned to Johnson countj% in 1865, and 
lived on the farm for about four years. He opened a livery stable, 
which he conducted in connection with farming. Mr. Harrison was 



4/0 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

thus engaged for about thirteen years. He erected a business house 
on Holden street in Warrensburg, and in addition to his city resi- 
dence, which he purchased in 1904 and remodeled, owns a fine farm 
of several hundred acres in Warrensburg and Hazel Hill townships. 
His time is spent looking after his farming interests and managing 
his city property. 

J. Wesley Harrison was united in marriage with Eliza C. Ovens 
in 1859 by Reverend Jonathan Gott in Hazel Hill township. To J. 
Wesley and Eliza C. (Ovens) Harrison were born four children: Mrs. 
Emma Zilphia Shryack, Kirksville, Missouri: Charles Harvey, War- 
rensburg; Lee, died at the age of ten years; and Ada, died at the age 
of five years. Mrs. Harrison died in 1901. In 1904 Mr. Harrison mar- 
ried Georgia Dennis, daughter of George H. and Ann R. (Osborne) 
Dennis, of Monmouth, Illinois. George H. Dennis was engaged in the 
harness business in Monmouth. He and Mrs. Dennis were the parents 
of the following children: Mrs. T. B. Montgomery, Warrensburg; Mrs. 
Ella Carrigan, Calumet, Oklahoma; and Mrs. J. Wesley Harrison, the 
wife of the subject of this review. 

Mr. Harrison has in his possession a Seth Thomas clock, which 
was purchased prior to 1846 by his father, Harvey Harrison. The clock 
is not only priceless as a relic but is still valuable as a timepiece, al- 
ways keeping good time. This clock has brass parts and old-fashioned 
weights that must be wound every twenty-four hours. He also has 
another relic of the days long gone b}', a highly valued heirloom. This 
is an embroidered counterpane, made by his mother, Zilphia (Bell) 
Harrison, in 1818. She was then but a girl of fifteen years and the 
counterpane is the product of careful labor and much time, for the 
cotton seed was planted and the plants raised and later spun, woven, 
and the cloth made into the beautiful, old-fashioned bedspread and em- 
broidered, all by the hand of the young Zilphia. This precious relic 
tells, as pen cannot, of the painstaking care, application, and skill of 
a girl in her early teens a century ago, when each of the family had 
assigned duties and manual training was taught in the home. 

John Adam Zimmerman, the veteran jewelryman of Warrensburg, 
Missouri, was born April 20, 1863 in Harrisburg. Pennsylvania. He is 
the son of Alfred F. and Isabella Fearon ('Hill) Zimmerman, both 
natives of Pennsylvania. Alfred F. Zimmerman sold nut his jewelry 
store at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania on account of failing health and 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 47I 

came witli his family to Alissouri and located on a farm in Johnson 
county, five miles southeast of Warrenslnn-g'. John Adam Zimmerman 
was a child of three years when he came with liis parents to Missouri. 
The mother, Isabella Fearon (Hill) Zimmerman, was born April 15, 
1832, in Pennsylvania. To Alfred l*". and Isabella Zimmerman were 
born the following children: Mollie, who died at the age of ten years; 
Anna Kate, married B. F. ^^'ood. and died in 1915 in Tennessee; John 
Adam, the subject of this review; Xettie. wife of Will Beacon, Har- 
risonville, Missouri; Frederick, died unmarried, in 1899; and Albert, 
died unmarried in September. 1898 as the result of fever contracted 
while on a vacation. 

Alfred F. Zimmerman remained on the farm near Warrensburg, 
until 1870. when he moved to ^^'arrensbnrg. He opened a grocery 
store on the corner of Culton and Holden streets, which store he con- 
ducted for two years when lie purchased the jewelry stock of H. J. 
Ruthrauf. and engaged in the jewelry business. The Ruthrauf store 
was located on the east side of Holden street and Mr. Zimmerman con- 
tinued the business there until 1886 when he moved to the present 
location of the Zinmierman Jewelry Company. In 1897 his sons. John 
Adam and Albert, purchased the store and Alfred F. Zimmerman retired 
from business. 

August 16. 1897. the death of ^Irs. Zimmerman occurred and her 
husband died November 16. 1902. Their remains rest in the \\'arrens- 
burg cemetery. 

John Adam Zimmerman received his education in the \\'arrens- 
burg schools and the State Normal School. After leaving school he was 
associated with his father in the jewelry business from 1879 until 1897. 
In 1897. he and his brother, Albert, purchased the store, and Mr. Zim- 
merman has continued the business for the past thirty-eight years. The 
Zimmerman store, which is located at 121 Holden street, was tlie first 
store in the city of Warrensburg carrying their line of goods. Mr. Zim- 
merman has an attractive, well-kept store and he handles only the best 
articles, keeping his stock clean, new. and up-to-date. 

In 1890. Mr. Zimmerman was united in marriage with Flla J. Rob- 
inson, the daughter of Dr. C. ^^^ Robinson, a prominent pioneer physi- 
cian of Warrensburg, Missouri. Dr. Robinson was practicing medicine 
in Warrensburg during the Civil \\'ar days. :Mrs. Zimmerman's mother, 
Lisette RobinSon, lives with her daughter since the death of Dr. Rob- 



472 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

inson. To Mr. and Mrs. Zimmerman have been born three children: 
Adehne, Frances, and Ella. 

Mr. Zimmerman remembers how Warrensburg looked in the early 
days when the site south of the present depot was covered with timber 
and .court held its sessions in the old town. He recalls an amusing 
incident of the early days, relative to road work in the vicinity of his 
father's farm southeast of Warrensburg. The men had been noti- 
fied in the neighborhood to report for work on the roads and Tater 
Wiley, an "old timer", had but a faint conception of what was required 
of him but he was ready and willing to "do his bit". He showed up 
right on time carrying a pitchfork on his shoulder. 

Mr. and Mrs. Zimmerman are widely known and respected in 
Johnson county. They are numl^ered among the county's best and 
most substantial citizens. 

Mrs. J. H. Houx, widow of the late Reverend J. H. Houx, one of 
the pioneer ministers of Johnson county, was born in Kanawha county, 
Virginia, now West Virginia, in 1838, l)ut was reared and educated in 
Henry county, Missouri, to which county her parents had moved when 
she was three years of age. Mrs. Houx is the daughter of James R. 
and Susan (Everett) Wilson. James R. Wilson was born in 1803 in 
Maysville, Kentucky. With his parents he moved to Virginia, in which 
state he grew to maturity. In Virginia, James R. Wilson and Susan 
Everett were united in marriage and in 1841 they came to Henry 
county, Missouri, where Mr. Wilson entered land from the govern- 
ment. He built the frame house for their home in 1849. Hard oak 
and walnut lumber were used for the floors and made by hand into 
doors and window-sashes. James R. Wilson increased his holdings 
by purchase and at one time was owner of more than a thousand 
acres of land in Henry county. James R. and Susan (Everett) Wilson 
were the parents of the following children: John M., whose death 
occurred aliout 1914 at El Paso, Texas: Mary E., the widow of Reverend 
J. H. Houx, the subject of this review; Joseph H., Montrose, Missouri: 
Edwin, who died in Austin, Texas, in 1910: Susan E., Montrose, Mis- 
souri : William W., Montrose, Missouri : and Richard B., who is post- 
master at Montrose, Missouri. Mr. Wilson died in 1898. Mrs. Wil- 
son had preceded him in death twenty-three years, her death occurring 
in 1875. Both parents of Mrs. Houx are interred in the family ceme- 
tery in Bates county, which is known as the Stratton cemetery and is 




JAMES H. HOUX. 



HISTORY OF JOHXSOX COUNTY 



473 



now owned by the Methodist church. South, to which both Mr. and Mrs. 
Wilson belonged. 

Mary E. (Wilson) Houx received her education in the Chapel Hill 
College and Independence Female College of Missouri. In 1861, J. 
H. Houx and Mary E. Wilson were united in marriage in Henry 
county, Missouri, at the Wilson home place. Reverend J. H. Houx was 
born April 7, 1827, in Lafayette county, Missouri, the son of Philip S. 
and Margaret (Morrow) Houx. The Houx family were honored and 
beloved pioneers of Johnson county, where they settled in 1837. coming 
from Lafayette county where they had resided since 1817. 

Rev. J. H. Houx attended Chapel Hill College and he and Senator 
Francis M. Cockrell were room-mates. Mr. Houx was an earnest and 
devout Christian, a member of the Cumberland Presbyterian church. 
His first pastorate was at Independence, Missouri. Later he was engaged 
in Mission work in St. Clair, Bates, and Henry counties from 1866 
to 1867. Reverend Houx liad many thrilling experiences, for at that 
time the heat of the Civil War had not yet subsided and he preached 
to congregations during his career which were "armed to the teeth." 
as it were. From 1867 to 1875. J. H. Houx was pastor of the Warrens- 
burg Cumberland church. In 1875 he took up work for the endowment 
of the Missouri Valley College at Marshall, Missouri, and in 1880 was 
made chairman of the board of that institution, a position he held for 
five years, until 1885. To J. H. and Mary E. Houx were born seven 
children, six of whom lived to maturity: Charles Henry, who married 
Ethel Clark and resides in Warrensburg. Missouri : Edwin W., who 
married Mrs. Lucy (W'harton) Rucker and resides in Kansas City, 
Missouri; Susan Elizabeth, who is the wife of Weaker S. Williams of 
Columbia, Missouri ; Albert B., who died in childhood at the age of 
seven years; Mary M., who was the wife of J. K. Tuttie and is now 
deceased, her death occurring at the age of forty years; Roberta M., who 
is the wife of Henry H. Edmiston of St. Louis, Missouri; and Samuel 
B., who married Louise Patterson and is now residing in Houston. 
Texas. At the age of seventy-six. Reverend Houx was still active 
and of remarkable endurance. He often would ride ten and twenty miles 
in severe weather to fill appointments. His death occurred April 10. 
1903, as the result of an accident which happened three weeks before. 
His last resting place is in the Warrensburg cemetery. Reverend J. 
H. Houx was a gentleman of the old school, a man beloved by all 



474 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

who knew him. He spent his Hfe in the cause of Christianity and the 
world is better because he lived in it. He left as a precious legacy 
to his children a noble name, that "which is rather to be chosen than 
great riches." 

Mrs. Houx is a descendant of colonial ancestors. Her great-grand- 
father, Samuel Bailey, was killed by the Indians thirty miles from Mays- 
ville, Kentucky, when he was on his way to see a large tract of land 
he had purchased from Simon Kenton. His widow exchanged the 
land for a farm near Maysville and as the children were heirs she 
could not give a good title to the land. She promised to see to it that 
the title was made good when the children became of age, and she 
kept her word. She gave her word of honor that her children would 
never disturb the title and they never did. 

The grounds of the Houx home are located on South Holden street 
in Warrensburg, Missouri. Mr. Houx erected the residence in 1869 
and remodeled it in 1892. Tlie grounds originally included fifteen acres, 
and there are seven acres at present of lieautifully wooded land surround- 
ing tlie residence, which is one of the attractive homes of Johnson 
county. 

Adam Vernaz, a prominent citizen of A\'arrens1)urg, Missouri, is of 
Swiss descent. He was born Octol:>er 3, 1863 in St. Louis, Missouri, 
son of Pierre and Callette (Pithoud) \'ernaz. natives of Switzerland. 
Pierre Vernaz was born in Decem1)er, 1823 and Callette (Pithoud) 
Vernaz was born in 1828. They were united in marriage in BuUe, 
Switzerland, and about 1844, when Pierre Vernaz was twenty-one years 
of age, emigrated from Switzerland to .\merica. Tliey came to Ameri- 
ca on a sailing boat and were thirty-one days on tlie wa\-. ]Mr. Jaccard, 
of the Jaccard Jewelry Company, of Ivansas City, ]\Iissouri. came to 
America from Switzerland on the same l)oat. To Pierre and Callette 
Vernaz were liorn tlie following children: E\'a. Dwiglit. Oklahoma; 
Adam, the subject of this review: Mrs. V:\n Meter. Dwight, Oklahoma; 
and Mrs. \Y. W. Scott, Darlington, Oklahoma. Her liusband is Indian 
agent there. J. C. Vernaz, the fourth son of Pierre and Callette \'ernaz, 
died in Warrensburg, Missouri in 1906. 

After the Civil War Pierre Vernaz went west with a government 
train and when near Ft. Laramie, Wyoming, was attacked 1\\- tlio Indians. 
Mr. Vernaz was shot through the left Iiand, criiijiling him for life. He 
had no way of procuring medical attention imtil lie returned to St. 
Louis, Missoiu-i, and when he went to the Iiospital it was too late to 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 471^ 

cure the wound. Prior to the accident, Pierre \'ernaz liad lieen a tailor. 
but he was obliged to give up his trade because of the crippled hand. His 
death occurred in December, 1906, at ^^'arrenslnn■g, and in 1907 his 
wife died. 

Adam Vernaz came to Warrensburg with his parents in 1867, when 
he was four years of age. The Vernaz family located in the old town, 
Adam receiving his education in the village school. After leaving school 
he entered the employ of Baldwin & Richards, proprietors of the War- 
rensburg "Standard." Later he was employed at the "Journal-Demo- 
crat" ofifice. In 1904 he went into partnership with his brother, Julius 
C, who for about eight years had been in the drug business. In 1907 
the death of Julius C. Vernaz dissolved the partnership and Adam 
Vernaz has continued the business alone. He carries a splendid and 
complete line of drugs and the basement of the building, which is 
located at 116 W'est Pine street, is well stocked with oils and dry paints. 

January 10, 1887, Adam Vernaz and Fannie O'Brien were united 
in marriage. Fannie (O'Brien) Vernaz is the daughter of James and 
Rebecca (Swan) O'Brien, of Sedalia, Missouri. She was born in Canada. 
Mr. O'Brien died about 1903 in Sedalia, Missouri, and his remains are 
interred in the cemetery at Sedalia. His widow sur\-i\es him and resides 
at Sedalia. To Adam and I<"annie Vernaz have Ijeen born three daugh- 
ters, all of whom are engaged in teaching: Juanita, a teacher in the 
public schools of Warrensburg; Lucille, who is teaching in the Home 
Economics department in the schools of Bolivia, Missouri; and Mercedes, 
who specialized in music at the Warrensburg State Normal and is now 
supervisor of music in the Kirkwood public schools, Kirkwood, Mis- 
souri. Mr. and Mrs. Vernaz reside in their home at 109 \\''est Russell 
avenue, in Warrensburg. where the\' are held in high esteem and 
have countless friends. 

J. G. Orsborn, a well-known citizen of \\'arrens]nn-g and Civil War 
veteran, was born in Fayette county. Pennsylvania, in 1843. the son of 
Joseph and Charity Orsborn. natives of Pennsylvania. In 1856 the Ors- 
born family moved to Ohio and located in Xoble county. To Joseph 
and Charity Orsborn were born ten children: Mrs. Louisa Thomas, 
Marion, Kansas: Mrs. Mary (Morton) Kelly, died in Noble county, 
Ohio, in 1916: J. G., the subject of this review: John H., was killed at 
Brigham, Utah, twenty-five miles from Salt Lake City, in 1870: E. G., 
a Civil War \-eteran. ser\ing in the Thirtieth Ohio Infantry, and whose 



476 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

death occurred in 1902; Elizabeth H., wife of Mr. Kent, resides in 
Indiana; Mrs. Sarah Jane Morrison, died in Noble county, Ohio; Fran- 
cis Marion, was killed in early manhood in a railroad accident in Vir- 
ginia; Rachel Melvina Harper, resides in Guernsey county, Ohio; and 
Samuel B., died in Noble county, Ohio. Both father and mother died 
in Noble county, Ohio. 

J. G. Orsborn attended school in Noble county, Ohio. When he 
was nineteen years of age he enlisted in the Civil War in Noble county, 
Ohio, August 13, 1862, and was in the service for three years. He was 
mustered out June 26, 1865, at Washington, D. C. His regiment was 
in the Kanawha campaign of 1862. Mr. Orsborn was detailed by 
Major-General Sherman to the navy, in which he served twenty-two 
months on the Mississippi and Florida coasts and the Caribbean sea. 
He took part in the battle of Nashville, Tennessee, and then joined his 
regiment three days before Sherman arrived at Columbia, South Caro- 
lina, and he was with Sherman from that time until the war closed, 
taking part in the Grand Review at Washington. Fifty years later, 
in 1915, he took part in the National Encampment of the Grand Army 
of the Republic and marched over the identical streets in the Capital 
City. 

After the Civil War, J. G. Orsborn returned to his home in Noble 
county, Ohio, and for a number of years he was in the oil-drilling busi- 
ness. In August, 1867, he came to Johnson county, Missouri and for 
about one year and a half remained in Warrensburg and Holden. As 
there was no railroad at that time by which connections could be made 
with Ft. Scott, Kansas, Mr. Orsborn made the trip there in his spring 
wagon, taking with him some people from Holden. When he was ready 
to return three persons from Baxter Springs. Kansas accosted him, 
wishing to know how they could get to the railroad by Sunday. They 
remarked that they would gladly give sixty dollars if they could get 
to the train by Sunday and a bargain was immediately made whereby 
they were to pay Mr. Orsborn the above stated sum if he made the 
desired connection and twenty dollars if he missed the train. They 
made the trip in one day and arrived in Holden one hour before the 
departure of the train, and he received the sixty dollars. Mr. Orsborn 
returned to Ohio in 1869. 

March 2.^. 1871. J. G. Orsborn and Maria J. Toland were united in 
marriage at Zancsville. Ohio. Maria J. (Toiand) Orsborn is the daugh- 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 477 

ter of Willis and Arminta Tolaml. She was reared and educated in 
Muskingum county, Ohio, and there both her father and mother died. 
Their remains are interred in Duncan Falls cemetery in Muskingum 
county, Ohio. To J. G. and Maria J. Orsborn have been born the fol- 
lowing children: Harry, who is an ordained minister of the Baptist 
church and began his ministerial work at Blackwater in Johnson county, 
Missouri, and is now a professor in the Minneapolis High School, Min- 
neapolis, Minnesota; Lura M., who was the wife of Professor Emery 
Killion, a member of the Missouri Legislature, whose death occurred 
at Sweet Springs, Missouri, and she later married Miner Lewis and 
now resides at Roundup, Montana, where her husband is a prominent 
merchant; Herbert C, who was a soldier in the Spanish-American War, 
serving in the Fifth Missouri Infantry, and in 1906, while engaged in 
electrical engineering at Warrensburg, was accidentally killed by a 
train on the Missouri Pacific railway; Orville J., who was the organizer 
of the first teachers' agency west of the Mississippi, which was known 
as the Midland Teachers' Agency, and is now in the United States mail 
service in Salt Lake City, Utah, after working out of Warrensburg 
for a number of years; Dr. George E. Orsborn, who is a graduate of 
the Warrensburg State Normal and later took a course in the Minne- 
sota State Normal, was engaged in teaching in Ivnob Noster for two 
years and in the Philippine Lslands, where, at the age of twenty-one, 
he was superintendent of one hundred seventy schools and post- 
master in a city having a population of twenty thousand, now, a gradu- 
ate of the Kansas City and Denver medical schools, was assistant surgeon 
at St. Luke's Hospital in Denver, Colorado, and is now a brigade 
surgeon in the national army, with rank of major; and Ernest C, who 
for ten years was employed as telegrapher and auditor by the Great 
Northern Railroad Company and is now manager of the Roundup Taxi 
Company, Roundup, Montana. Mr. and Mrs. Orsborn devoted their 
lives to the welfare of their children rather than to the accumulation 
of wealth. They always kept the children in school and gave each a 
good education, that which no one can take from them. Mrs. Orsborn 
has a sister, Elizabeth, residing in Warrensburg. 

Mr. Orsborn remained in Ohio from 1869 until 1885, when he 
came back to Missouri and located at Holden, where he resided for 
three years. He was appointed engineer and custodian of the State 
Normal building and grounds and for three years resided in Warrens- 



4/8 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

burg. He then moved to Kansas City, Missouri, where he was employed 
as engineer for the Kansas City Cable Company. For three years Mr. 
Orsborn was at Liberty, Missouri and from there returned to Warrens- 
burg, where he took charge of the electric light plant at Pertle Springs. 
Later he put in operation a new plant at Warrensburg. For eight 
hundred seventy-eight nights Mr. Orsborn was on duty at the War- 
rensburg plant and never missed a night. He was employed as engineer 
at Columbia, Missouri, for three years and after leaving Columbia 
entered the employ of the Mohler Brothers' Nursery Company, with 
whom he remained four years. For some time Mr. Orsborn was engaged 
in the real estate business. In 1905 he and his family moved to Minne- 
sota on land in the Chippewa Indian reservation, which Mr. Orsborn 
entered from the government. After he had proven his claim they 
returned to Warrensburg. He has in his possession many fine specimens 
which he has collected while on hunting and fishing trips in various 
parts of the countr}'. A splendid astronomical telescope containing a 
lens which cost five hundred dollars was until recently the property 
of J. G. Orsborn, who used it in connection with a lecture given on 
astronomy. He sold the telescope to the Warrensburg State Normal 
School. 

James Theodore Drummond, a citizen of Johnson county, Mis- 
souri, worthy of great consideration, was born in McKeesport, Penn- 
sylvania, April 5, 1847, the son of Samuel B. and Sarah E. (Tingle) 
Drummond, natives of Pennsylvania. He is one of eight children born 
to his parents as follow: Rowena; John A., Warrensburg; James 
Theodore, the subject of this review; Rhoda; J. H.; William T. ; Mrs. 
Sarah E. Rucker, Warrensburg; and Edwin, a civil engineer. Phoenix, 
Arizona. 

Samuel B. Drummond came from Pennsylvania to Missouri in the 
fall of 1867 and located on a farm of eighty acres, three miles south 
of Warrensburg, paying seven dollars and fifty cents an acre for the 
land. He died on the farm, which had been his home for eleven years, 
his death occurring about 1878. He was a member of the Mt. Zion 
Cumberland Presbyterian church and his remains were interred in the 
cemetery at Mt. Zion. Sarah E. (Tingle) Drummond died in Cali- 
fornia while on the way to visit her daughter, Rhoda. She was buried 
at San Diego. California. 

James Theodore and lohn A. Drunmiond received their education 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 479 

in the public schools of Ohio. In the spring of 1867 they together came 
to Missouri. They spent their first night in Missouri at the Western 
Hotel in Warrensburg. This hotel was located on the site of the pres- 
ent Young Women's Christian Association Iniilding. The following 
morning the two brothers saw a large number of people going and 
coming along the railroad rig'ht-of-way east of the hotel and they 
inquired of the proprietor what the attraction might be to cause so 
many people to be going and coming. The proprietor answered, "Go 
and see. You will find something interesting." The boys followed 
the crowd and saw suspended from the end of a rope, which was attached 
to the limb of a tree growing- near the right-of-way. a victim of the 
early vigilance committee. The committee liad finished their work 
that night. 

The first work wliich James Theodore Drumniond diil in Missouri 
consisted in cutting timl^er. \\'hen the Drummonds came to Missouri 
lumber was hauled from \\'arrensl)urg to Clinton and Mr. Drummond 
paid for the lumber in the first home he built in Warrensburg by haul- 
ing lumber to Clinton. Cameron Moore & Company were the pioneer 
lumber dealers. The Drummond brothers were engaged in the sawmill 
business for some time and then in the business of well-drilling. They 
had been employeil in tliis work in Ohio previous to coming to ^Missouri 
and they shipped their outfit west. 

In 1868, James Theodore Drummond and Georgeanna Gilliland, 
the daughter of Harvey Gilliland, were united in marriage. Mrs. Drum- 
mond was a niece of James Gilliland, of Warrensburg. Two children 
born to James Theodore and Georgeanna Drummond are now living: 
Elza H.. a graduate of the Warrensburg State Normal School and is 
now in the employ of tlie Crane Company in Salt Lake City, Utah ; 
and Ernest T.. a prosperous ranchman of A\'atsonville. California. He 
owns a beautiful home near the Pacific coast. 

The Drummond brothers engaged in well-drilling until 187v^. when 
James T. entered the feed and coal business, in which he is still engaged. 
About 1878 the Drummond brothers purchased the old fair grounds 
and there raised strawberries for the market and also put in operation 
a syrup factory, making sorghum molasses. The government offered 
at that time a premium of twelve hundred dollars for the best report 
on steam, fire, train, or open farm work. The Drummond brothers won 
the premium on the latter. AA'hen the land became valuable, James 



480 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

T. platted his portion of the ground and sold it. On the plat of the 
city this is known as the "Drummond Addition." Mr. Drummond then 
purchased one hundred feet of ground on South Holden street and 
erected the brick building. 25x70 feet in dimensions, on the second 
floor of which is his home. He is also the owner of another brick build- 
ing located at 206 Holden street, which is occupied by a bakery, the 
Air Dome, which is located between the above mentioned properties, 
and a farm, comprising forty-eight acres four miles south of Warrens- 
burg. Mr. Drummond takes great pleasure in gardening a small part 
of his farm, raising enough vegetables for their own use. 

In 1896, James T. Drummond and Mary E. Greim, a niece of 
Nicholas Greim, a pioneer of Warrensburg, were united in marriage. 
To James T. and Mary E. (Greim) Drummond have been born the 
following children: Clyde and Ruby, both graduates of the Warrens- 
burg High School who reside with their parents. Mr. and Mrs. Drum- 
mond reside at 200 South Holden street in Warrensburg. They are 
numbered among Johnson county's most substantial citizens. 

Charles Houx, a prominent stockman of Centerview township, is 
a native of Johnson county and a member of a worthy pioneer family. 
He was born on the Philip Houx farm, the son of James H. Houx and 
the grandson of Philip Houx, who came from Kentucky to Missouri. 
About 1834 he settled on a farm in Centerview township. Philip Houx 
first located in Lafayette county upon coming from the South and 
later, when his son, James H., was seven years of age moved to John- 
son county, where he lived the remainder of his life. His death occurred 
about 1854 and he was interred in the family cemetery. Charles Houx 
is one of seven children born to James H. and Mary Everett (Wilson) 
Houx, as follow: Charles H., the subject of this review; Edwin W. ; 
Mrs. Susan Elizabeth Williams, Columbia, Missouri ; Marie, who died 
in 1911; Albert, who died from drowning when seven years of age; 
Mrs. Roberta Edmiston, St. Louis. Missouri; and Samuel B., Houston, 
Texas. The mother, Mary Everett (Wilson) Houx, is a native of 
Virginia. She came to Missouri when about four 3'^ears of age, with 
her parents, who settled in Henry county. A sketch of Mrs. James 
H. Houx appears in this volume. James H. Houx died in 1903 and 
interment was made in the Warrensburg cemetery. 

Charles H. Houx attended the city schools of Warrensburg, Mis- 
souri, and the Warrensburg State Normal School for two years. He was 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 481 

reared on the farm in Centerview township and nntil twenty-one years 
of age remained at home, assisting with the work of the farm. He then 
went to Colorado and for six years was engaged in the cattle business 
in that state, following ranch work. Wlien he returned to Johnson 
county he entered the stock business Jiere and has been thus engaged 
ever since. In 1900 Mr. Houx also became interested in a cattle ranch 
in New iVIexico. He is associated with the Felix Cattle Company in 
this connection and has at present five thousand cattle on the ranch, 
which is devoted exclusively to the breeding of white-face Herefords. 
At the present time Mr. Houx in addition ships to the market about 
twenty cars of cattle and hogs from Johnson county. 

In 1907, Charles H. Houx was united in marriage with Ethel Clark, 
the daughter of H. F. and Rosa (Goff) Clark, of Warrensburg, Mis- 
souri, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. To Charles 
H. and Ethel (Clark) Houx have been born two children: Charles, Jr., 
and Edwin. 

Mr. Houx has been director of the Bank of Centerview since its 
organization in 1893 and the president since 1900. The Bank of Center- 
view has at present a capital stock of fifteen thousand dollars and a 
surplus fund of fifteen thousand with deposits at the time of this 
writing amounting to one hundred thousand dollars. This bank is 
one of the soundest institutions of its size in the state. Mr. Houx 
is a charter member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
No. 673, of \\^arrensburg. Missouri. He is a fine, capable, promising 
young man who in a quiet and unassuming way is making a splendid 
success of life. i\Ir. Houx is the son of an old schoolmate of Senator 
Francis M. Cockrell. when he was a boy at Chapel Hill College. 

R. H. Wood, ex-judge of Johnson county and a member of a pioneer 
familv, is a citizen of real worth. He was born March 22, 1841, in 
what is now Simpson township, Johnson county. He is the son of 
James M. and Angeline (Thornton) \\'ood, natives of Virginia. James 
M. Wood was born January 8, 1812. He came from Virginia to Mis- 
souri in 1831 and located temporarily in Saline county. In 1833 he 
moved to Johnson county and settled on a farm of eighty acres eighty 
miles north of Warrensburg, which land he entered from the govern- 
ment. This farm is now owned by his son, R. H. Wood, the subject 
of this review. Angeline (Thornton) Wood was born in 1817 in Orange 
(i6) 



482 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

county, Virginia, and when she was six years of age came with her 
parents, John and Ehzabeth Thornton, to Missouri. In 1833. 
they settled in Johnson county. Mrs. Wood was a writer of literary 
ability and in an article written relative to life in Missouri in the early 
days states that her father and mother ]i\ed in a tent on their land, 
which they entered from the government, until the double log cabin 
was built. James M. and Angeline (Thornton) Wood were the parents 
of eight children: Mary Susan, died at the age of twelve years; John 
William, died in infancy; Thomas, died at Virginia City, Montana; 
George Lewis, died in infancy; R. H.. the subject of this sketch; Benja- 
min, died in the Confederate service at Springfield, Missouri; James 
Leonidas, died in infancy; and W. W., a graduate of the Lexington 
Law School, Lexington, Kentucky, attorney, Okmulgee, Oklahoma. 
The death of James M. Wood occurred in 1851 and interment was made 
in a private cemetery belonging to John Thornton, the father of Mrs. 
Wood. She survived her husband forty-seven years, and died January 8, 
1908, at the age of ninety-one years. Her remains were interred in the 
Warrensburg cemetery. 

R. H. Wood attended the public schools of Johnson county. .At 
the age of twenty years he enlisted in the Confederate army with a 
company formed at Lonejack which went south under the leadersiiip 
of Colonel Cockrell, and which was reorganized at McKittrick Springs. 
Arkansas, August 16, 1862, and served throughout the remainder of 
the war in Captain Crispin's company. Colonel Gordon's regiment and 
General Shelby's brigade. His regiment took an active part in the 
battles of Prairie Grove, Shelby's Ridge, Mark's Mill, and Saline river, 
Arkansas. They were after General Steel on his raid and participated 
in many skirmishes. Mr. Wood was in Louisiana when the war ended. 

After the war closed, R. H. Wood returned to Saline county, Mis- 
souri, and at the expiration of two years returned to Johnson county 
and engaged in farming in Simpson township, where he resided until 
ten years ago, when he moved to Warrensburg. He was elected county 
judge of Johnson county, from the eastern district, and served two 
terms at the time Judge Stevens was the presiding judge, with I. G. 
Farnsworth as associate. During his term in office, the first concrete 
culverts were built in Johnson county. One culvert nurth and one 
south of Warrensburg were built to test their durability and to ascertain 
the cost. The experiment proved so satisfactory that no other kind 
are now built and the county road plan was adopted whereby three 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 483 

hundred miles of good roads were built and more than a thousand 
concrete culverts on the different highways. 

December 3, 1867, R. H. Wood was united in marriage with Sarah 
D. Pemberton, of Saline county, Missouri. To this union were born 
seven children: James Madison, died in infancy; Edward R., resides in 
Colorado; ]\Irs. Sarah A. Foster. W'arrensburg; R. H., Jr., farmer in 
Simpson township; Thomas P., Parkin, Arkansas; James Madison, 
farmer, Simpson township; and Leslie M., Birmingham, Alabama. May 
24, 1887, Mrs. Wood's death occurred and Inirial was made at Fair 
Oak cemetery. Later, R. H. Wood was married to Mrs. Agnes J. Fos- 
ter, of Simpson township. She is a native of Indiana and was reared 
and educated in Iowa. Mrs. Wood attended the public schools of Ft. 
Madison, Iowa, and the Congregational Church school at Denmark, 
Iowa. By her former marriage, she has four children now living: Mrs. 
James R. Brown, Chickasha, Oklahoma; Mrs. Minnie Fryrear, Simp- 
son township; D. E. Foster, Los Angeles. California; and Mrs. Nannie 
Taggart. Two children are deceased: James M., and George S. Mr. 
and Mrs. W^ood reside in W'arrensburg in their home, on Grover street, 
which they purchased in 1911 from Judge Bradley. Besides the city 
residence, Mr. Wood is owner of the home place of eighty acVes of land 
in Simpson township and an adjoining farm, comprising four hundred 
twenty acres in all. Mrs. Nannie Taggart is a resident of Simpson 
township. 

For seventy-six years, R. H. A\'ood has been a resident of John- 
son county. He has seen all the changes incident to the growth and 
development of the county and has always done his part in advancing 
the interests of his county and state. No man in Johnson county is 
more deeply interested than he in movements which have for their 
object public improvement and moral uplift and to them he has ever 
given his most earnest support and encouragement. Mr. Wood is a 
fine conversationalist, possessing a fund of interesting stories of pioneer 
and war days. He recalls the time when but two residences were 
between his old home and Warrensburg, a distance of eight miles, and 
there were only two stores in tlie old town, one of wliich was conducted 
by Mr. Tilford. In the early days, every country store kept a barrel 
of whiskev in stock as one of the staple articles and retailed it from 
the barrel by the drink, pint, quart, or gallon. The sales were almost 
invariably made in quantities, for if a man just wished a drink he helped 
himself or was invited bv the merchant to take one. 



484 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Benoia Scott, a veteran of the Civil War and prominent citizen of 
Johnson county, is a resident of Warrensburg of real v^'orth. He was 
born August 13, 1844, in Illinois, the son of Robert and Mary (McGin- 
nis I Scott. Robert Scott was a native of Indiana and Mary (McGinnis) 
Scott was a native of Virginia. The Scott family moved to Illinois and 
located in Macoupin county, near Scottville, which was named in honor 
of Robert Scott. When Benoia Scott was a child two years of age, his 
mother died and two years later the death of his father occurred in 
Bloomington, Illinois, leaving four small children to be separated and 
reared by strangers. The children of Robert and Mary Scott are: 
Thomas, who was reared in Pike county. Illinois, and now resides in 
Montana, Kansas; John W., who was reared by James Moore in John- 
son county, Missouri, and now resides in Laidlaw. Oregon; Benoia, sub- 
ject of this review: and Eliza Ann, who graduated from the Jackson- 
ville Female Seminary and later married John W. Morgan and whose 
address is now unknown. 

The three Scott brothers enlisted in the Union army during the 
Civil War: Thomas W., in Company D. One Hundred Nineteenth 
Illinois Infantry; John W., in Company G, One Hundred First Illinois 
Infantry; and Benoia, in Company B. One Hundred Twenty-second Illi- 
nois Infantry. After the war had ended, Benoia Scott visited his grand- 
mother, who informed him of the enlistment of each of his brothers 
and of their services in the Union army. Until that time not one of the 
brothers knew of the enlistment of the others nor, in fact, anything 
about them. The three brothers met for the first time, within their 
recollection, in October, 1865. 

August 4, 1865, Benoia Scott received his honorable discharge at 
Springfield, Illinois. He served faithfully throughout the war and while 
he never missed a march, skirmish, or battle, in which his cc^mpany was 
engaged, Mr. Scott was never confined in the hospital and prac- 
tically went through the war unscathed. A slight wound in the left 
hand, received at Ft. Blakely, April 9. 1865, where General Francis M. 
Cockrell's brigade surrendered, was the only injury he ever receixcd. 

General John B. Stone, of Kansas City, Missouri, who was presi- 
dent of the Ex-confederate Organization of Missouri, and Benoia Scott 
are the best and closest of friends and yet the first time they met was 
when tlicy faced each other in the trenches in April, 1865, at Ft. Blakely. 
Alabama. Stone proposed an armistice one day when the troops lay on 
their arms and Scott agreed. The two captains met between lines for 



HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 485 

a few nionients and agreed to give thirty minutes' notice before liring 
should begin on either side up to a certain point on the line. The 
Yankees were shy on tobacco, the Rebels on coffee. Why not swap? 
They did, and in the trying hours which followed the Union boys enjoyed 
some good smokes while the Confederates were drinking fine, old, black 
cofifee. \\'hen the attack came, it sci Iiappened that John B. .Stone was 
made prisoner by Scott's men and the sword of Stone delivered l)y him 
to Scott. At Mr. Scott's recjuest, a parole was given John B. Stone. 
Before leaving Alabama, Mr. Scott was a guest of the Stone family, and 
father, mother, and sisters united in giving him a pleasant welcome, 
treating him with true Southern hospitality, "i'ears afterwards. Colonel 
Bob Dalton one day mentioned John B. Stone in a conversation held 
in Warrensburg. 'T wonder." said Benoia Scott, "if he might be John B. 
Stone whom I met at Ft. Blakeh'?" Dalton promised to find out, and an 
invitation to Kansas City, Missouri, for a visit with his old friend was 
the result. Benoia Scott accepted the invitation not once but many 
times and the Kansas City papers have repeatedly told of their meet- 
ings and of the handgrasp they now give one another and of the stories 
they tell of other days. Mr. Scott has in his possession many newspaper 
clippings of these comments and "writeups," which include pictures of 
both men. When the Confederate Reunion was held in Warrensburg, 
John B. Stone was the guest of Benoia Scott. The story of the "cement- 
ing of the Union" is no better illustrated than with the friendship of 
Benoia Scott and John B. Stone, wdio at one time faced each other in 
opposition at the battle's front. All honor and praise to them! 

March 29, 1866, Benoia Scott came to Hickory county, ^Missouri, 
from Scottville, Illinois. lie purchased sixty acres of land in Hickory 
county and built a cabin home. For thirty-two years he remained there 
and gradually increased his holdings, until he at one time was owner 
of six hundred acres of land there. In September, 1898, he left Hickory 
county and moved to AVarrensburg. 

November 11, 1866, Benoia Scott was united in marriage with Mary 
Annes Estes, the daughter of Elisha and Mary Estes, of Hickory county, 
Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Scott are the parents of seven children: Dr. 
W. C. Scott, Afton, Oklahoma: Dr. J. O. Scott. Holland. Michigan: 
Mrs. Bertha May Brown, who died in Hickory county, ^Missouri, and 
is interred in Cross Timbers cemetery: Dr. N. E. Scott, who is now state 
manager for the Tvansas City Eife Insurance Company in the state of 



486 HISTORY OF JOHNSON COUNTY 

Washington and resides in Walla Walla, Washington; Ora Annas, 
Seattle, Washington; Mrs. Mary Gertrude Hemphill, Joplin, Missouri; 
and Benoia Beatrice, who will graduate from the Warrensburg State 
Normal School in the class of 1918 and she resides at home with her 
parents. Though Mr. and Mrs. Scott resided on the farm, each of 
their children was given the best of educational advantages. All have 
collegiate educations and all, with the exception of the youngest, Benoia 
Beatrice, have been teachers. Mr. and Mrs. Scott celebrated their fiftieth 
wedding anniversary November 11, 1916, at their home at 614 Highland 
avenue in Warrensburg. 

Jacob Heberling, a leading merchant of W^arrensburg and a pioneer 
of Johnson county worthy of the highest esteem, is a native of Germany. 
He was born in 1841, the son of John and Margareta (Piskato) Heber- 
ling, who were the parents of the following children: John, who immi- 
grated to America in 1835 and located in Ohio for two years when 
he came to Missouri in 1857 and entered the meat business as butcher 
in Warrensburg, in which business he was employed for more than 
forty years, when his death occurred, April 20, 1917, at the age of 
eighty-one years and twenty days, in Warrensburg; Jacob, the subject 
of this review; Fred, a retired merchant of Chicago, Illinois; Mrs. Kate 
Ringer, Chicago, Illinois ; and William, a prominent stockman of War- 
rensburg, who for years was engaged in the meat business as butcher. 

Jacob Heberling immigrated to America in the spring of 1868 and 
located in Warrensburg, where he and his brother, Fred, opened a small 
boot and shoe factory. Later Jacob Heberling engaged in the manu- 
facture of shoes alone. This factor}^ at one time made a thousand pairs 
of shoes a day . Both boots and shoes were made in the factory, which 
was located on the square in Warrensburg. One building was situ- 
ated on Culton street. Jacob Heberling discontinued his business in 
1891 when he moved the factory to Ft. Smith. Arkansas. Later, he 
sold his interest in the factory at Ft